728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Garage Door Openers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for SilentMax 1000 3/4 HPc DC Motor Belt Drive Garage Door Opener, Revolution Series

SilentMax 1000 3/4 HPc DC Motor Belt Drive Garage Door Opener, Revolution Series

The SilentMax 3/4 HPc* DC Motor Belt Drive Garage Door Opener, Revolution Series, features quiet and smooth operation. 140-volt DC motor uses standard electrical connection and delivers 3/4 hp for operating heavy doors. The belt is reinforced with steel for durability, and lighting is directed to the rear of the garage where it is most needed. Genie Revolution Series operator allows for technology system upgrades.
Overall rating:
4.215 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(205 reviews) 205
Open Ratings Snapshot
84%of customersrecommend this product162 of 193reviews
Rating Breakdown 205 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(126)
4
(47)
3
(5)
2
(4)
1
(23)
Appearance 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
84%of customersrecommend this product162 of 193reviews
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 37 Answers
Customer reviews for SilentMax 1000 3/4 HPc DC Motor Belt Drive Garage Door Opener, Revolution Series
Review 1 for SilentMax 1000 3/4 HPc DC Motor Belt Drive Garage Door Opener, Revolution Series
DJTWIN
from Oviedo, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very quiet and smooth

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This was probably the easiest Garage opener I have ever installed. It was easy to program and runs very smooth and quietly.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Easy to Install, Well Made, High Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for SilentMax 1000 3/4 HPc DC Motor Belt Drive Garage Door Opener, Revolution Series
Ken408
from San Jose, CA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pretty good imo

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It took me approx 5 hours to remove my old opener and install the Genie SilentMax opener by myself. Compared to my basic blue max old unit, this one makes less noise, has better safety features, and wireless keypad is nice. So far I see no issues opening and closing with a 2 car wood roll up door. I did the install solo, but I needed two ladders to mount the unit.
A few issues with install. The instructions were not correct or the color coded bags had the parts mixed up. Either way some of the parts were supposed be in the orange bag I found in the blue bag. Not a big deal, but it annoyed me that they spent so much time making the color coding the bags to easily find parts only to find that it wasn't correct and I had to check all the bags.
Another problem I had during the install was the bolt that connects the rail to the wall near the garage door uses some kind of push nut metal piece to secure a long smooth bolt instead of a screw or cotter pin. This snap on piece was impossible to put on. I had to pound the thing on an on with my vise and bent part out of shape which weaken the snap on thing to allow me to put it on. Once on its very difficult to remove. There are many other ways to do this better. (A cotter pin or bolt bolt /w lock washer, etc...
The other potential issue was the mounting hardware to the ceiling is not complete. They provide bendable metal rails and two screws to mount the unit, depending how you will mount the head unit you will need some lag screws, and maybe a cross piece. I used my old unit mounting hardware and screws to install the new unit, however if this was a new install I would have to go back to hw store to complete the install.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 3 for SilentMax 1000 3/4 HPc DC Motor Belt Drive Garage Door Opener, Revolution Series
esscargo55
from Chicago area
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Delivers on the promise

PostedDecember 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great product. I have an oversized, heavy two bay garage door; this product replaced a 25-year old 1/3-hp chain drive opener that finally died. I had to buy the extension kit which includes an additional section of channel/rail and an entire new (longer) cogged belt. (The OEM shorter belt gets thrown away, which is kind of a waste, but with the belt design there is really no other option.) It took a little while to replace the belt, but the directions were good if you read them carefully.
It took two of us about 7 hours to install, but we worked slow and tried to do things right the first time. We were able to pretty much re-use the mounting hardware for the previous opener to install the new Genie. The clear directions and color-coded hardware bags were a great help. As you see in one of the photos, I bought a surge protector to protect the sensitive and complex electronics in this new unit and ensure a long life.
As far as performance, the unit seems very rugged and is extremely quiet as others have said. The door still makes noise when opening, but now all you hear is the hinges, rollers and creaks from the door itself. I particularly like the "slow start" feature that is built into the DC-motor.
The unit was very easy to program (clickers, limit switches) and really pretty much works as advertised. This is a great product and Genie has burnished their image a lot in my book. I had an earlier "Chain Glide" Genie unit that I took out and threw away after a couple years of recurring breakdowns, so this one marks a complete turnaround in their brand image for me.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Well Made, High Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+37points
37out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 4 for SilentMax 1000 3/4 HPc DC Motor Belt Drive Garage Door Opener, Revolution Series
Roma
Age Range:35 to 44

So far so good

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy instal only 45 min. Very quiet and smooth operation. Looks really nice and is very light compared to my old opener. Overall very happy so far. Can't really say anything to reliability due to ownership <1month.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functional
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for SilentMax 1000 3/4 HPc DC Motor Belt Drive Garage Door Opener, Revolution Series
DIYKevin
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Exactly what I was looking for!

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to install and set up. Very quiet compared to chain drive openers. We live a rural area where the power goes out occasionally so the battery backup is nice to have. All in all this is a great opener.
Pros: Functional, Well Made, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for SilentMax 1000 3/4 HPc DC Motor Belt Drive Garage Door Opener, Revolution Series
MrMoose
from Northern New York
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product let down by errors in installation instructions

PostedMarch 9, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
After a Genie screw drive unit failed after ~6 years of service, I was a bit hesitant to replace it with another from the same manufacture (only 6 years?) However, the root problem of the failure was the screw drive which was due to the very cold temperatures around here. Perhaps the screw drive unit just wasn't the right unit for the job.
What was needed was something with a belt drive and more motor power. This unit appeared to be a fit.
My father in-law and I are mechanically inclined and have installed many garage doors and openers before. It was easy to figure out what was correct by looking at the markings on the parts. However, they sometimes didn't agree with the installation instructions.
After ~60 minutes the unit was installed and didn't work. The next error in the installation instructions was found: The wiring in the instructions was incorrect but was correct in the trouble shooting guide. A simple change in wiring and the unit was working.
The unit is quite and smooth even with a large, heavy insulated door. It works well even at -25F below, which is something the screw drive unit didn't do.
Pros: Functional, quite, smooth operation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 7 for SilentMax 1000 3/4 HPc DC Motor Belt Drive Garage Door Opener, Revolution Series
Mike
from Phoenix, AZ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Poor circuit board

PostedDecember 27, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The cost was very reasonable and the opener was sent in a timely manner.
The installer installed the opener with ease (thanks A-1 Garage Doors) but then came the problem.
After having no luck with programming the opener; a call was placed to Genie. The representative stated the circuit board has been problematic and I could take down the head unit , and "sometimes" Home Depot replaces the head unit. She also said they could send another circuit board out and it would arrive in six days..
I would think that if Genie has a known problem with one of their systems it would advise the consumer. I also feel if Genie has to replace a circuit board they should send it overnight; not six days.
Cons: not functional
+30points
33out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 8 for SilentMax 1000 3/4 HPc DC Motor Belt Drive Garage Door Opener, Revolution Series
Snowbird
from Murrieta, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The product appears to be good value; longevity will be the key.

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Installation instructions are satisfactory. Initial programming is cumbersome; however, it only has to be done once. Programming an automobile built in remote control is even more cumbersome.
The unit is quiet and has good features such as D.C. motor, lockout and remote keypad entry. As for any consumer product, the unanswered question is lifespan.
Pros: Lots of Features, Quiet
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for SilentMax 1000 3/4 HPc DC Motor Belt Drive Garage Door Opener, Revolution Series
emmagirl

This garage door opener is so quiet!

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I replaced my 20 year old garage door opener and couldn't believe how quiet this new one is. I've actually gone out to check and see if it really went down! My old opener was very noisy not very dependable. It is so nice to know I now have one that is quiet AND very dependable!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for SilentMax 1000 3/4 HPc DC Motor Belt Drive Garage Door Opener, Revolution Series
fan70

This opener is a quality product! We love it-

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We hired an installer through the Home Depot store who arrived on time, assembled and attached the belt drive garage door opener perfectly, then cleaned up all materials! There was some difficulty with programming the door, but he made it happen. It runs so smooth and quietly compared to the chain drive we had before. Genie works with our car's Home-Link system and we are very happy overall.
Pros: Sturdy, Great Value, Well Made, High Quality
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for SilentMax 1000 3/4 HPc DC Motor Belt Drive Garage Door Opener, Revolution Series
Andy
from Becker, MN

Not bad to set-up!

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this unit because it had a better warranty than the Chamberlin belt drive, though it was the same price. This opener took me 6 hours to complete by myself and this included taking out the old Craftsman and running all new wire. The programming of this opener was also the easiest I've ever seen! This unit also runs so quiet, my garage door is the only thing making noise! The C-channel track is also a lot sturdier than the old Craftsman. I don't know of anyone who has a Genie but I'd sure recommend it any day of the week!
+38points
38out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 12 for SilentMax 1000 3/4 HPc DC Motor Belt Drive Garage Door Opener, Revolution Series
ric0927

Very quiet!

PostedSeptember 14, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I replaced a genie screw drive that was about 10 years old. I have also installed a few openers for friends and family in the last few years so i am pretty familiar with installs and functionality. Overall I am very impressed with how quiet it is. The set up is relatively straightforward as well and the lack of open and close switches and self adjusting force control was really nice. As with any opener if you don't have a really good tool set and and some better than average DIY skills it might be easier to pay a pro to do the install. This one in particular needs a better instruction booklet. Other than that, no complaints.
Pros: Sturdy, Functional, Well Made, Good Size & Fit
+21points
24out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 13 for SilentMax 1000 3/4 HPc DC Motor Belt Drive Garage Door Opener, Revolution Series
Bigbear
from San Tan Valley, AZ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Purchase

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Fairly easy installation, can be done by one person. Was a replacement so was able to use some of the old hardware that was attached to garage door. Programming was very easy to accomplish. operating very smooth and very little noise.
Pros: Great Value, Well Made, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for SilentMax 1000 3/4 HPc DC Motor Belt Drive Garage Door Opener, Revolution Series
caldea429
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great product.

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The unit operates smoothly and is very quiet. I am very happy with it, so far. The installation instructions are good and should be followed step by step.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for SilentMax 1000 3/4 HPc DC Motor Belt Drive Garage Door Opener, Revolution Series
Calhiker
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

90 days old and 2 warranty claims

PostedApril 5, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this in store and installed fairly easily. However within the 1st 60 days the motherboard went out and the manufacturer sent a new one out no charge. Roughly 30 days from there the wall switch went out. I could lock, unlock and turn light on & off, but not open the door. It did work with remotes though, but took me a little while to realize this. Genie sent me a new wall unit, but said future claims i would pay for shipping. I told him on the next issue its going back to the depot. On my parents genie, it has lasted 20 years (3 issues with keypad) and a lifetime warranty, new models are 15 years warranty.
Pros: Beautiful Appearance, Easy to Install
Cons: not functional
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 16 for SilentMax 1000 3/4 HPc DC Motor Belt Drive Garage Door Opener, Revolution Series
Tiffniffer
from Tacoma, WA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female

Pain In The Butt To Install But Good

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Hubby took about 1 full day putting this together alone. Kind of a pain but good product. We had one at our old house that worked without a hitch for 2 years of daily use.
Pros: Well Made
Cons: installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for SilentMax 1000 3/4 HPc DC Motor Belt Drive Garage Door Opener, Revolution Series
Smitty
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Meets our needs! Directions?

PostedJuly 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After reading many reviews, we chose this model Genie opener. We wanted stick with Genie as we did not want to buy extra remotes. Everything needed was in the box, but I did use some of my own nuts and bolts as recommended by other reviewers. It took about 3 1/2 hours to complete the install by myself. The directions and accompanying pictures were at times difficult to follow. Setting the stops for open and close were a snap! Programming the remotes and keypad were very easy to do do as well. At this point, we are satisfied with the way it operates and is so quiet I have to look at it. Some reviewers complained about its speed, but I find it is just right for us. Still have to figure out how the light switch on the wall pad works. Very pleased so far with its operation.
Pros: Great Value, Functional, meets our needs
Cons: directions muddled at times
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for SilentMax 1000 3/4 HPc DC Motor Belt Drive Garage Door Opener, Revolution Series
Gary
from Medway, MA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

They Don't Tell You That 20amps is required

PostedAugust 8, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Needed a replacement for a failed, 6-year-old Genie Genie DirectLift Plus (3060-L). Bought and installed the unit in accordance with instructions, went to perform the programming steps and it repeated caused the 15amp GCFI circuit breaker to pop. After hours on the phone, Genie sent a replacement circuit board. Installed that and had the same symptoms. Genie then indicated that a 20-amp circuit breaker was required. They admitted that there is nothing in the instructions or marketing material indicating that is a requirement. They also did not ask whether the house wiring was rated to 20-amps. This is the last Genie product I will buy.
Pros: quiet (supposedly)
Cons: not functional
+2points
10out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 19 for SilentMax 1000 3/4 HPc DC Motor Belt Drive Garage Door Opener, Revolution Series
Richard
from Central Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A Piece Of Cake...without the frosting!

PostedJuly 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This unit replaced an existing noisy, clunky chain-drive dinosaur. Two guys and two hours later we were done. Installation was a piece of cake. When it came time to program all the wireless devices the instructions were not the frosting on the cake we were expecting. However, the toll-free number to customer service was invaluable. One call and all was well.
The unit is super quiet, been running now for two months without a hitch. Best one on the market.
Pros: Great Value, Well Made, High Quality
Cons: confusing instructions
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 20 for SilentMax 1000 3/4 HPc DC Motor Belt Drive Garage Door Opener, Revolution Series
shermanator
from Antioch,Tn.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

i love my new garage door opener

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had a screen type and it went bonkers so I bought the belt driven and I'm loving it.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Great Value, Functional, Well Made, Multi Use, Beautiful Appearance, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Sturdy, Good Size & Fit, High Quality, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 11 >>