728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Garage Door Openers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for SilentMax 1000 3/4 HPc DC Motor Belt Drive Garage Door Opener, Revolution Series

SilentMax 1000 3/4 HPc DC Motor Belt Drive Garage Door Opener, Revolution Series

The SilentMax 3/4 HPc* DC Motor Belt Drive Garage Door Opener, Revolution Series, features quiet and smooth operation. 140-volt DC motor uses standard electrical connection and delivers 3/4 hp for operating heavy doors. The belt is reinforced with steel for durability, and lighting is directed to the rear of the garage where it is most needed. Genie Revolution Series operator allows for technology system upgrades.
Overall rating:
4.255 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(235 reviews) 235
Open Ratings Snapshot
85%of customersrecommend this product189 of 223reviews
Rating Breakdown 235 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(150)
4
(49)
3
(7)
2
(4)
1
(25)
Appearance 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
85%of customersrecommend this product189 of 223reviews
Customer questions and answers:
14 Questions | 85 Answers
Customer reviews for SilentMax 1000 3/4 HPc DC Motor Belt Drive Garage Door Opener, Revolution Series
Review 1 for SilentMax 1000 3/4 HPc DC Motor Belt Drive Garage Door Opener, Revolution Series
from Chicago area
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Delivers on the promise

PostedDecember 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great product. I have an oversized, heavy two bay garage door; this product replaced a 25-year old 1/3-hp chain drive opener that finally died. I had to buy the extension kit which includes an additional section of channel/rail and an entire new (longer) cogged belt. (The OEM shorter belt gets thrown away, which is kind of a waste, but with the belt design there is really no other option.) It took a little while to replace the belt, but the directions were good if you read them carefully.
It took two of us about 7 hours to install, but we worked slow and tried to do things right the first time. We were able to pretty much re-use the mounting hardware for the previous opener to install the new Genie. The clear directions and color-coded hardware bags were a great help. As you see in one of the photos, I bought a surge protector to protect the sensitive and complex electronics in this new unit and ensure a long life.
As far as performance, the unit seems very rugged and is extremely quiet as others have said. The door still makes noise when opening, but now all you hear is the hinges, rollers and creaks from the door itself. I particularly like the "slow start" feature that is built into the DC-motor.
The unit was very easy to program (clickers, limit switches) and really pretty much works as advertised. This is a great product and Genie has burnished their image a lot in my book. I had an earlier "Chain Glide" Genie unit that I took out and threw away after a couple years of recurring breakdowns, so this one marks a complete turnaround in their brand image for me.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Well Made, High Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+38points
38out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 2 for SilentMax 1000 3/4 HPc DC Motor Belt Drive Garage Door Opener, Revolution Series
from Oviedo, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very quiet and smooth

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This was probably the easiest Garage opener I have ever installed. It was easy to program and runs very smooth and quietly.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Easy to Install, Well Made, High Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for SilentMax 1000 3/4 HPc DC Motor Belt Drive Garage Door Opener, Revolution Series
from Northern New York
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product let down by errors in installation instructions

PostedMarch 9, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
After a Genie screw drive unit failed after ~6 years of service, I was a bit hesitant to replace it with another from the same manufacture (only 6 years?) However, the root problem of the failure was the screw drive which was due to the very cold temperatures around here. Perhaps the screw drive unit just wasn't the right unit for the job.
What was needed was something with a belt drive and more motor power. This unit appeared to be a fit.
My father in-law and I are mechanically inclined and have installed many garage doors and openers before. It was easy to figure out what was correct by looking at the markings on the parts. However, they sometimes didn't agree with the installation instructions.
After ~60 minutes the unit was installed and didn't work. The next error in the installation instructions was found: The wiring in the instructions was incorrect but was correct in the trouble shooting guide. A simple change in wiring and the unit was working.
The unit is quite and smooth even with a large, heavy insulated door. It works well even at -25F below, which is something the screw drive unit didn't do.
Pros: Functional, quite, smooth operation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 4 for SilentMax 1000 3/4 HPc DC Motor Belt Drive Garage Door Opener, Revolution Series
Age Range:35 to 44

So far so good

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy instal only 45 min. Very quiet and smooth operation. Looks really nice and is very light compared to my old opener. Overall very happy so far. Can't really say anything to reliability due to ownership <1month.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functional
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for SilentMax 1000 3/4 HPc DC Motor Belt Drive Garage Door Opener, Revolution Series
from San Jose, CA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pretty good imo

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It took me approx 5 hours to remove my old opener and install the Genie SilentMax opener by myself. Compared to my basic blue max old unit, this one makes less noise, has better safety features, and wireless keypad is nice. So far I see no issues opening and closing with a 2 car wood roll up door. I did the install solo, but I needed two ladders to mount the unit.
A few issues with install. The instructions were not correct or the color coded bags had the parts mixed up. Either way some of the parts were supposed be in the orange bag I found in the blue bag. Not a big deal, but it annoyed me that they spent so much time making the color coding the bags to easily find parts only to find that it wasn't correct and I had to check all the bags.
Another problem I had during the install was the bolt that connects the rail to the wall near the garage door uses some kind of push nut metal piece to secure a long smooth bolt instead of a screw or cotter pin. This snap on piece was impossible to put on. I had to pound the thing on an on with my vise and bent part out of shape which weaken the snap on thing to allow me to put it on. Once on its very difficult to remove. There are many other ways to do this better. (A cotter pin or bolt bolt /w lock washer, etc...
The other potential issue was the mounting hardware to the ceiling is not complete. They provide bendable metal rails and two screws to mount the unit, depending how you will mount the head unit you will need some lag screws, and maybe a cross piece. I used my old unit mounting hardware and screws to install the new unit, however if this was a new install I would have to go back to hw store to complete the install.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+11points
14out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 6 for SilentMax 1000 3/4 HPc DC Motor Belt Drive Garage Door Opener, Revolution Series
from Trophy Club, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Garage Door Opener

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the quietest garage door opener I have ever owned. Your crew came out and installed it and the original opener we brought home had been opened and parts missing. Home Depot sent out one of their sales people to deliver the part and our garage door opener was installed and running. So glad we didn't have to wait another few days for a new part.
We love Home Depot!
Trophy Club, TX 76262
Pros: Energy Efficient, Great Value
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for SilentMax 1000 3/4 HPc DC Motor Belt Drive Garage Door Opener, Revolution Series
from Valencia, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Wow, what a difference....

PostedSeptember 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Replaced my builder installed 1/3 hp LiftMaster with this unit. Put it in by myself. It took a couple hours but if you go slow and follow the instructions its not that difficult to do. Used a 6 ft ladder, socket set,strewdrivers and a level. Much, much quieter then the screw drive unit I had. Nice tight closing and easy to program. Easily tied it into both of our Nissans (instructions were in the car's owners manual) freeing up the controller for a spare and my sons vehicle. Love the wireless exterior control as well. My old unit didn't have one.
Pros: Easy to Install, High Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for SilentMax 1000 3/4 HPc DC Motor Belt Drive Garage Door Opener, Revolution Series
from Phoenix, AZ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Poor circuit board

PostedDecember 27, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The cost was very reasonable and the opener was sent in a timely manner.
The installer installed the opener with ease (thanks A-1 Garage Doors) but then came the problem.
After having no luck with programming the opener; a call was placed to Genie. The representative stated the circuit board has been problematic and I could take down the head unit , and "sometimes" Home Depot replaces the head unit. She also said they could send another circuit board out and it would arrive in six days..
I would think that if Genie has a known problem with one of their systems it would advise the consumer. I also feel if Genie has to replace a circuit board they should send it overnight; not six days.
Cons: not functional
+33points
36out of 39found this review helpful.
Review 9 for SilentMax 1000 3/4 HPc DC Motor Belt Drive Garage Door Opener, Revolution Series
from colorado
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Very happy with this purchase worth every cent

PostedJuly 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this gem today at my home depot. i installed a screw drive type genie opener about 7-8 years ago at my house and decided that it was too loud. I researched a lot and decided that this opener was perfect for my 2 car door with insulation. The opener is extremely quiet the only noise I can hear is that of the rollers on my door, it was a night and day difference from the old screw drive. The remotes work up to 30 yards away and were extremely easy to program. Their was only a couple of cons I could think of, first the installation instructions are not exactly step by step and at times a little confusing nothing the average person can't handle though (when programming travel limits ensure that belt tension stays around 1/8'' above rail, if this does not happen the belt will fall under the railing and will cause some problems if you don't catch it). The light cover is not a perfect fit either it fits, but it's a garage door opener so no biggie. That said I will use this product for my remaining garage doors and would recommend it to anyone, genie has come a long way and delivers a great product for the money!!!!
Pros: Great Value, Functional, Well Made, Good Size & Fit, High Quality
Cons: Appearance, instructions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for SilentMax 1000 3/4 HPc DC Motor Belt Drive Garage Door Opener, Revolution Series
from Becker, MN

Not bad to set-up!

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this unit because it had a better warranty than the Chamberlin belt drive, though it was the same price. This opener took me 6 hours to complete by myself and this included taking out the old Craftsman and running all new wire. The programming of this opener was also the easiest I've ever seen! This unit also runs so quiet, my garage door is the only thing making noise! The C-channel track is also a lot sturdier than the old Craftsman. I don't know of anyone who has a Genie but I'd sure recommend it any day of the week!
+38points
38out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 11 for SilentMax 1000 3/4 HPc DC Motor Belt Drive Garage Door Opener, Revolution Series
from Cedar Park, Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great product

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The opener went up easy and is very quite, I am very happy with this Genie product/
Pros: Easy to Install, High Quality, Great Detail
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for SilentMax 1000 3/4 HPc DC Motor Belt Drive Garage Door Opener, Revolution Series
from Lakewood, CO

Very Well Designed

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased this unit about a week ago. I was very impressed with the directions and how easily it was setup and installed. It took me about 2 hours by myself to remove the old one and install this new one (including the eyes, wireless pad, and the main opener). The remotes come pre-programmed.
This unit is very quite, even more so than our neighbors new Chamberlain WhisperDrive.
My only complaint is that the track seems a bit flimsy in the mid point but it looks like it will hold up and does the job well.
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Value, Well Made, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for SilentMax 1000 3/4 HPc DC Motor Belt Drive Garage Door Opener, Revolution Series
from Livonia, MI

Surprisingly easy to install

PostedNovember 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The unit is a little too "plastic" for me - curvy lines, ribbed light cutouts, etc, but it was surprisingly easy to install - I did it myself (used a step ladder where I needed to lean one end on something while I held the other), and had it all in in about an hour and a half, then spend half an hour for cable clean up.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functional, Good Size & Fit
Cons: Appearance
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for SilentMax 1000 3/4 HPc DC Motor Belt Drive Garage Door Opener, Revolution Series
from texas
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

good, but the belt snapped after 3 months after having it professionaly installed

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
we recentely purchased this model and had it professionally installed and after 3 months of light use the belt snapped and when trying to contact customer service (genie company) i been placed on hold for 15 mins before i hung up. very irriated about contacting them for warranty repair. still till this day i can't anybody on the phone. other then that works great and very quite and strong.
Pros: Functional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for SilentMax 1000 3/4 HPc DC Motor Belt Drive Garage Door Opener, Revolution Series

Very quiet!

PostedSeptember 14, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I replaced a genie screw drive that was about 10 years old. I have also installed a few openers for friends and family in the last few years so i am pretty familiar with installs and functionality. Overall I am very impressed with how quiet it is. The set up is relatively straightforward as well and the lack of open and close switches and self adjusting force control was really nice. As with any opener if you don't have a really good tool set and and some better than average DIY skills it might be easier to pay a pro to do the install. This one in particular needs a better instruction booklet. Other than that, no complaints.
Pros: Sturdy, Functional, Well Made, Good Size & Fit
+22points
25out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 16 for SilentMax 1000 3/4 HPc DC Motor Belt Drive Garage Door Opener, Revolution Series
from Southern California
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Opener I Have Owned Yet

PostedNovember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the third Genie Opener I have owned. The last two I owned were screw drive 1/2 HP. The screw drives lasted about 6 1/2 years each trouble free. I bought a new garage door at HD and it came with a free Genie so I have been using ever since. I think they would last longer but I have a habit of using my garage door as the entrance to the house so I use the opener more. I decided to buy the belt drive Genie this time because it was on sale and quieter than screw drives. I installed it by myself taking the old Genie down and installing the new belt drive took about 7 hours as I took my time and some breaks. Installation was easier than the screw drive models and went smoothly. All parts are marked and instructions are clear and easy to follow. Once installed I liked the way the belt drive programs upper and lower (Open and Close) limits with the opener vice using a limit switch. And is very quiet much quitter than chain or screw drives. No lubrication needed on the belt. I programmed the first remote control quickly but the second took about 1/2 hour. I realized that I needed to close the garage door to program maybe that would work better and it did programmed in about a minute as well as an opener from the screw drive to use in my third car. It worked with the new belt drive opener. The remotes are much more sensitive and long range than the screw drive they open the door with a slight touch. The screw drive openers I have to be about 10 feet from the door to open them and had to press several times to get them opener to work. The warranty seems to cover the motor and parts. The belt drive opens and closes the garage door faster and has smooth starts and stops. I suspect due to being a 3/4 HP motor not a 1/2 HP. The box says this opener was assembled in America which is a sales point to me. And takes incandescent, florescent and LED light bulbs. I purchased the opener at HD on sale so the price was low about the same I paid for the screw drive opener 6 1/2 years ago. I hear HD gives a 10% discount to Veterans as well.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Well Made, Lots of Features, Good Size & Fit
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for SilentMax 1000 3/4 HPc DC Motor Belt Drive Garage Door Opener, Revolution Series
from Salt Lake City, Utah
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worth the Money and Won't Disappoint

PostedSeptember 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Rarely do I write reviews but this one is worthy of a review.
Summary: 1.5 hours to install, very quiet, good up/down performance, and decent price.
Bought yesterday as a replacement to a 14 year old craftsman chain opener that had the worm drive and sprocket break. I decided to buy this BELT opener as a replacement due to them having much less noise then the chain openers. This unit is so QUIET... it is amazing.
Compared BELT openers at Sears, Lowes, and Home Depot. Lowes and HD has the same price on the basically the same 3/4 HP unit... different part number and box for each store (but same unit). Sears has some Belt Drive openers but wanted much more money. I also looked at the Chamberlain BELT openers at HD and Lowes... about the same price (tad cheaper) but it was for a 1/2 HP unit versus a 3/4 unit.
Installation took just under 1.5 hours. I have an 8ft door so I needed the extension kit. Rail and extension build kit took the longest, but was not hard at all. Used existing wiring for control panel and safety sensors. This was the easiest unit to program and adjust -- cannot believe how easy is to program the controls (up/down height, speed, and remote units) compared to my old Sears Craftsman. I used the same brackets from the ceiling joist. If this was not a replacement and a new install, I would add another hour or so to the install (due to putting in the ceiling brackets and running the wiring).
I hope it has some reliability and last 10 to 15 years... I figured my last until got at least 10,000 up/down cycles.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Good Size & Fit
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for SilentMax 1000 3/4 HPc DC Motor Belt Drive Garage Door Opener, Revolution Series
from north carolina
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

garage door opener

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
love the garage door opener very quite and not hard to install.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for SilentMax 1000 3/4 HPc DC Motor Belt Drive Garage Door Opener, Revolution Series
from Central Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A Piece Of Cake...without the frosting!

PostedJuly 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This unit replaced an existing noisy, clunky chain-drive dinosaur. Two guys and two hours later we were done. Installation was a piece of cake. When it came time to program all the wireless devices the instructions were not the frosting on the cake we were expecting. However, the toll-free number to customer service was invaluable. One call and all was well.
The unit is super quiet, been running now for two months without a hitch. Best one on the market.
Pros: Great Value, Well Made, High Quality
Cons: confusing instructions
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 20 for SilentMax 1000 3/4 HPc DC Motor Belt Drive Garage Door Opener, Revolution Series
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

90 days old and 2 warranty claims

PostedApril 5, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this in store and installed fairly easily. However within the 1st 60 days the motherboard went out and the manufacturer sent a new one out no charge. Roughly 30 days from there the wall switch went out. I could lock, unlock and turn light on & off, but not open the door. It did work with remotes though, but took me a little while to realize this. Genie sent me a new wall unit, but said future claims i would pay for shipping. I told him on the next issue its going back to the depot. On my parents genie, it has lasted 20 years (3 issues with keypad) and a lifetime warranty, new models are 15 years warranty.
Pros: Beautiful Appearance, Easy to Install
Cons: not functional
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 12 >>