728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Lawn Mowers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Evolution 18 in. Easy-Push Reel Mower with Adjustable Grass Management System-DISCONTINUED

Evolution 18 in. Easy-Push Reel Mower with Adjustable Grass Management System-DISCONTINUED

The Ellison 18 in. Evolution Reel Mower features an Easy-Push cutting system that makes mowing easier and more enjoyable. Cutting height can be adjusted from 1 - 4 in. quickly and easily using a one-touch knob which keeps hands away from the blades. Hardened steel blades stay sharp so seasonal sharpening is not needed. Adjustable Grass Management System with position able grass deflector and oversized grass bag allows for the greatest control over grass clippings during both bagging and mulching modes.
Overall rating:
3.54 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(100 reviews) 100
Open Ratings Snapshot
67%of customersrecommend this product63 of 94reviews
Rating Breakdown 100 reviews
3.5 out of 5.0
5
(39)
4
(16)
3
(18)
2
(14)
1
(13)
Features 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
Quality 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.3 out of 5.0
3.3 out of 5
Value 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
67%of customersrecommend this product63 of 94reviews
Customer reviews for Evolution 18 in. Easy-Push Reel Mower with Adjustable Grass Management System-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for Evolution 18 in. Easy-Push Reel Mower with Adjustable Grass Management System-DISCONTINUED
from Arlington, MA

Gas vs. Ellison Manual

PostedJuly 17, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I live in an urban neighborhood with a relatively small grass lot. My gas mower recently died, and I thought I should give the manual version a try. For me the decision came down to reducing my carbon footprint, and minimizing the space in my already cramped shed. I must say at first I was skeptical about the performance of the Ellison manual mower. For me, time in the yard is time that I could be using for much more enjoyable activities. Half expecting that mowing with the Ellison would take longer than my prior gas mower, I thought there was a chance that I'd need to return this product after the trial run. I am happy to report back that I'll be hanging on to this little guy and tossing out the old gas guzzler. I was pleasantly surprised with the first spin through the yard for several reasons:
1) I was expecting a full workout with the manual mower. But the drive system is very smooth and requires less effort than was required for my gas mower. This is likely due to the fact that the Ellison Mower is very lightweight and has smooth bearings. 2) Cornering is a cinch. I used to chew up my yard with the gas mower when turning and reversing directions. The Ellison mower steers very smoothly and doesn't shred the turf. 3) Blade adjustability works great. I tried out a couple of height settings with the blade adjustment mechanism and found that my sweet spot is setting number 2. Setting 1 got stuck in high spots on the yard, and setting 3 was a bit higher than I prefer. It's very easy to switch between these settings. 4) The grass clipping bag works great for emptying your clippings into a yard waste bag. There are small hook features that are sized perfectly to keep the yard waste bag open when emptying in the clippings (see related pic).
The one downside to this type of mower is that it seems harder to achieve the mowing "lines" that you can get with heavier gas machines. For me though, this is a very minor tradeoff, since my mowing lines have never been very good anyway. Overall, I am very pleased with this purchase, and I would highly recommend it to others with a small yard looking for a compact, eco-friendly and functional mower.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+61points
61out of 61found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Evolution 18 in. Easy-Push Reel Mower with Adjustable Grass Management System-DISCONTINUED
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I couldn't be happier

PostedFebruary 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This mower has been a pleasant surprise in every respect. Came out of the box and went together in seconds. No tools required. At only about 30 pounds, it is so light and easy to maneuver. Yet it is very rigid and strong when you need to bare down on it. Cuts my lawn great and does it without all the noise, fumes and a cloud of dust. The grass bag is oversized and there is a positionable panel that you adjust to make sure the clippings go in the bag. You can also remove the bag and mulch, using the adjustable panel to direct clippings down into the lawn. Reel mowers probably aren’t for everyone, but I am hooked. I love the sound of mowing!
+41points
41out of 41found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Evolution 18 in. Easy-Push Reel Mower with Adjustable Grass Management System-DISCONTINUED
from GA

It is great for females!

PostedApril 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Love the ease of putting it together and using it. My grass was high when I first used it so I did have to go over the grass twice on different heights. After getting the grass under control I am able to do the whole yard in less than 20 mins. I love it because as a female I did not want to have to deal with gas or anything. Good for the environment.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+40points
55out of 70found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Evolution 18 in. Easy-Push Reel Mower with Adjustable Grass Management System-DISCONTINUED
from Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

LOVE IT !

PostedFebruary 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Having mostly St. Augustine grass and weeds, I was discouraged by many to not buy a reel mower, but had to give this a try because of the reviews previously posted. Out of the box, and together in a snap, no tools required. I have a 50'x150' piece of property and did 1/2 the back yard in 30 minutes! it cuts like a hot knife through butter, even tackled the weeds and extra long grass. So easy to push, and the grass catcher really catches all the grass! It's extra large so I don't have to dump it every pass of the yard. I have limited mobility on my one shoulder, so starting a regular gas mower is out of the question. With this, I just have to walk. What a great product.
+53points
55out of 57found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Evolution 18 in. Easy-Push Reel Mower with Adjustable Grass Management System-DISCONTINUED
from Corpus Christi, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for small yard.

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This mower was perfect for the size yard I've got. It was really easy to set up, tune, and use. As other reviewers have noted, the bag didn't stay attached. I just took it off and found the clippings were not a big deal. I paired this with an 18V cordless trimmer to "go green" and I am very happy with this purchase.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Accurate, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
12out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Evolution 18 in. Easy-Push Reel Mower with Adjustable Grass Management System-DISCONTINUED
from St Louis, MO, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A better way to mow

PostedFebruary 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Was WAY skeptical of reverting to an old school mower like this, even after seeing my neighbors use them. Definitely do your research, they're not created equally. The Ellison has better gearing and pushes a lot easier and gives a cleaner cut. My back yard is small, but uneven and it powered through and looked well manicured when it was done. It also has a grass bag - key! Lots of the others don't. I actually look forward to mowing now. No fumes, no noise, no raking. Awesome product. Would definitely recommend.
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Evolution 18 in. Easy-Push Reel Mower with Adjustable Grass Management System-DISCONTINUED
from Gary
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The best I've used

PostedFebruary 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I’m kind of a lawn geek, so I know I am more into these things than most people. I am totally into how much better a reel mower cut is for the health of your grass, and I like not having the mess of gas and oil. So I have had two previous reel mowers, but I have been most impressed with this one. First, I can’t live without a grass bag and this one is the best I’ve seen. It has an extra large bag with an adjustable deflector that works to make sure the grass goes into the bag instead of all over you. During the dry season, when my grass is growing slower, I can also position this shield for mulching. The main structural member of the mower is an aluminum extrusion, so it is very strong, yet it is very light weight to push around. The 1-touch height adjustment is nice, and the handle is solid and comfortable. I don't really have any negatives to report. The mower is well built overall and I have been very happy with it so far. I think my lawn is happy too.
+32points
32out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Evolution 18 in. Easy-Push Reel Mower with Adjustable Grass Management System-DISCONTINUED

Not your daddy's pushmower

PostedAugust 31, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Unable to pull-start my power mower due to a shoulder injury, I opted for the Ellison push mower to cut my
St. Augustine grass yard. It's light and well-made and has a grass catcher. It does a respectable job so long as the grass is not too tall, as I found out when the first time I used the mower and the grass was almost 8 inches tall. I had to go over the lawn two or three times that day. When the grass has grown 1-2 inches, it works pretty well with one pass. It's not perfect, but it does a pretty good job overall. Also, it's not too heavy and it provides a pretty good cardiovascular workout.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Evolution 18 in. Easy-Push Reel Mower with Adjustable Grass Management System-DISCONTINUED
from Charlotte, NC

Really pleased! Very lightweight and easily mows through overgrown thick grass.

PostedJuly 14, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought the Ellison mower that came in yesterday. I’ve never had a manual mower before but wanted a lightweight, eco-friendly mower that I could use to mow our hill-y front yard. I’ve always struggled with starting up a gas mower. I’m a lady that goes to the gym but I guess my cord-pulling muscles aren’t as strong as I’d like them to be. Not knowing what to expect, I’m quite pleased with the Ellison mower. It’s very lightweight, I can easily push it up hill, and I really like the mesh clipping catcher on the back. The clipping catcher is easily removed for dumping. Since I don’t get around to mowing as often as I should, much to the chagrin of my neighbors, I have a seriously overgrown lawn. I was surprised at the ease in which the mower went through my jungle of a backyard. Only in a couple of small areas, where there is a weird feathery grass, did I have to go over it twice. The only other problem that I had with the mower was that I ran over some hefty sticks and twice they got caught in the blades. All I had to do was reach down and pull them out, so that was no problem. After trying out the Ellison manual mower, I’m definitely a fan, and solemnly swear to cut my lawn more frequently. I was less tired after mowing the lawn, probably due to the mower’s lightweight design, and ease of cutting though grass. Goodbye gas mower!
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Evolution 18 in. Easy-Push Reel Mower with Adjustable Grass Management System-DISCONTINUED
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female

Great Eco-Friendly Option

PostedMay 11, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a small flat lot and always found it to be a struggle to operate my old gas powered mower.
Thats why after reading some reviews on this one, I purchased it. I was more than pleasantly surprised!
Assembly was simple and required no tools. The different height selections are really convenient.
The mower is super easy to operate and isn't more difficult than pushing a shopping cart. I just finished mowing the grass in less time than it took with my old traditional mower.
There are some areas of my yard where I do go over twice but I think that is due to the grass type I have. I would recommend this mower to anyone!
All and all its a fantastic product!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Evolution 18 in. Easy-Push Reel Mower with Adjustable Grass Management System-DISCONTINUED

Overall a very good product, but be aware of the limits of reel mowers

PostedMay 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Pros
- Easy to assemble and I like that the blade has a fine grained adjustment
- The grass catcher catches about as much as my gas powered mower did, but is much quicker to empty
- My gas powered mower wasn't self propelled, so this is about as difficult to push as my old mower
- I really like not having to mess with gas and oil, also my gas powered mower kicked up a lot of dust and mulched grass that got all over my legs and arms. This mower is much cleaner.
- The end result of mowing is about on par with a gas powered and takes only marginaly longer.
Cons (Most of these are true of all reel mowers, not just this model):
- It doesn't suck up fallen leaves and seed pods the way a gas mower does. I end up raking after I'm done (not a huge deal to me)
- The mower has a hard time mowing long grass. 6 inches is the max, but it can bog down in grass less than 6 inches. It will still mow, just may take a bit more effort.
- Even a small stick will stop the blades. We have several large trees in our yard and I have to stop maybe 3-4 times. Clearing the sticks out is easy.
- The grass catcher has to be emptied when it is only 1/3 full
- Theoretically the blade never needs sharpening, but if it does, the manual reccomends taking it to a certified repair shop. I doubt there are too many service companies that specialize in reel mowers, so let's hope the blade doesn't go bad!
As long as you are aware of the limits of reel mower technology, this is a great product and works as advertised.
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Evolution 18 in. Easy-Push Reel Mower with Adjustable Grass Management System-DISCONTINUED

Good mower

PostedJuly 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just wanted to share some feedback on the Ellison mower I bought. I had not used a manual push mower since I was about 10 years old (and I think the mower weighed more than I did), so I had no idea what to expect, but I must say I was very impressed.
First of all, it comes out of the box pretty much ready to roll. Literally just one bolt, and a hand knob so you don’t need any tools at all. The grass bag just slips into two slots, and that’s it.
The first thing I noticed is how lightweight the mower is, which makes it really easy to push. It’s way lighter than my old power mower and I know it is lighter than at least one other push mower I was looking at. The height adjustment goes up to 4 inches, so that has worked out well when I let the grass get longer than I should have. For a while, that was happening every week. The height is adjusted with one spring lever, so switching to different heights is no big deal.
The grass bag has a really tall back so grass can’t shoot past it, which I like. When my grass is long, I like to bag it because I hate clumps of grass all over the lawn when I am done and I don’t want to rake the whole yard after I just got done mowing. The mower also has a movable flap at the back that can be adjusted to aim the clippings into the bag. Now that we have hit a dry spell and the grass is shorter, I have removed the bag and I put the grass flap all the way down to just put the clippings back into the lawn. This seems to work really well.
Overall I give it 5 stars for sure. It seems like it was well thought-out and pretty well built.
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Evolution 18 in. Easy-Push Reel Mower with Adjustable Grass Management System-DISCONTINUED
from Rockwood, TN, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Really happy with my purchase so far

PostedApril 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had read good things about the new zero-contact reel mowers and so I wanted to try one. I’ve now been using the Ellison for about 4 weeks and so far I have to say I’m pretty impressed. The zero-contact blades definitely seem to cut the grass more cleanly than my old mower and it also seems easier to push. The main structure of the mower is aluminum instead of steel, so I think the lighter weight also makes it easier over the course of my lawn. I also like the grass bag. It is much taller in the back and this seems to help make sure the grass ends up in the bag and also lets me pile it up longer as I go. I’ll try to report back again at the end of the summer, but so far I have to say I am extremely satisfied with my purchase.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Evolution 18 in. Easy-Push Reel Mower with Adjustable Grass Management System-DISCONTINUED

Will get Stuck!

PostedMay 21, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Will trim if the grass is sparse. Very patchy performance on Augustine grass. Misses thicker shoots.
Pros: Easy to Store
Cons: Difficult to Use, patchy performance
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Evolution 18 in. Easy-Push Reel Mower with Adjustable Grass Management System-DISCONTINUED

Just like I remembered but much better.

PostedJuly 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I remember using a reel mower from when I a was kid, and this was way different , but in a good way.
First of all the mower came almost fully assembled right out of the box. I think it took about 8 minutesto get it up and running. The instruction are pretty simple and you don't need tools to put it together. The mower comes with a small allen wrench to adjust the blade if need be. I had gotten use to using my gas mower to cut grass with, but was shock how the Ellison cut right out of the box, clean and crisp.
The mower is very easy to push and light weight, its not like the old heavy mower of days gone by. I remember using our old mower and grass would fly all over the place and cover your legs, but this mower has a nice little deflector shield that directs clipping back into the lawn. I will say the mower cut so well that it fills the grass catcher up toward the front pretty fast. This is not a problem because you can empty it really easy and fast, but I usaully just mulch my clipping back into the lawn.
All in all it's a great mower for the price with lots of features.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Evolution 18 in. Easy-Push Reel Mower with Adjustable Grass Management System-DISCONTINUED
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great, quiet mower

PostedApril 18, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Well made mower, easy to assemble. It takes a bit to learn to keep it going, but once you do, it's really easy to use! It makes this great, quiet, snickety-snickety sound instead of that obnoxious roar. And no more repeated re-starts with a cranky engine. Our lawn is a bit bumpy in spots, but we have not had any problems.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Evolution 18 in. Easy-Push Reel Mower with Adjustable Grass Management System-DISCONTINUED
from Burnsville, MN

Great Value. Smart Design.

PostedJuly 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've been in the market for a reel mower to use in my medium sized back yard for quite some time. I had purchased a used reel mower last year and was shocked at the price to sharpen the blades which is why I was so interested in the Ellison mower's Easy Push Blade design that eliminates the need for seasonal sharpening. That alone makes this the best value around because the mower will soon pay for itself with the savings from not having to do seasonal sharpening! I was a little skeptical at how well it would cut because the blades to not actually touch but after getting a few feet into my lawn I was completely sold on it's performance. I really felt confident that I made the right purchase decision and I still feel that way many mowings later. I also love how easy it was to put together, the ease of height adjustment and the 1-4" range (I need that because I tend to let my grass get long!), the bagging or mulching modes, and it looks and feels like a quality product. It's easy to see that Ellison brand has really thought through both the product and mowing experience with a reel mower. If they put this much thought into other products then I may be one of their first loyal consumers. I'm looking forward to more products from Ellison Tools!
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Evolution 18 in. Easy-Push Reel Mower with Adjustable Grass Management System-DISCONTINUED
from South Dakota
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Interesting fun option

PostedApril 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
So, I wanted something different. I looked at a lot of different reel mowers, and this one was on the shortlist of options that had the zero friction blades. That means that the blades don't actually touch each other as they bypass and cut the grass. There are other reel mowers with this option such as a fiskars model and a brill I believe, and there is nothing wrong with these, but to me the fiskars seemed a little laden with bells and whistles. The Brill was a bit spendy. Long story short I choose this one. The mower came in a very nice fancy looking box. It was all printed with color and taped up securely... good presentation. Inside the box it was packaged very securely and everything was there, including the only tool needed (for adjustment). The mower goes together very easily with a couple plastic nuts. The handle then snaps into the main head. The grass catcher slides easily into the frame if you want to use it. I have only used the mower once so far and it was on a 1/4 acre lot that the grass wasn't super thick in yet. First I adjusted the blades per the instructions, and they sliced paper nicely just as the instructions said they should. I wouldn't expect them to show up perfectly adjusted, as the level of precision required is pretty intense. I do industrial maintenance, and I'm guessing that the distance between the moving blades and the bed knife is one thousandth of an inch or less. I'm curious to see how often it needs adjusted. It is important to keep it adjusted so your not pointlessly wearing out the blades.
All that being said, it mows real nice, and pushes super easy. I have a bumpy lawn, so it bounces along as I walk, but still does a fine job. If you have done any research yet you would know that it doesn't mow down really tall weeds well or grass over 6 inches, so I didn't expect it to. I haven't tried it yet, but I doubt it will anyhow.
It does have a fair bit of plastic parts, and the little adjuster door on the back seems a little flimsy, but if you don't adjust it with your foot, you will probably be fine. Also I would be careful about tightening the handle nuts like he-man.
I would also like to add that I have never used this type of mower before so I have nothing to compare it to, but I have had other people try it that had used them, "back in the day" and they were pretty impressed with it.
I'm not sure if I will remember to , but if I do, I will come back after a bunch of use, and do an update to my review. At this point I would say it is a winner.
Chris
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Evolution 18 in. Easy-Push Reel Mower with Adjustable Grass Management System-DISCONTINUED
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

It does what I expected

PostedMay 1, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I bought this mower against the advice of nearly everyone since my lawn is a half acre, but I didn't want to bother with gas cans and oil changes, and if I weren't pushing a mower I would be sweating at the gym anyway and probably ignoring the yard work. I like being able to mow early in the morning, and even listen to music or books while doing it.
I chose this particular model because it said no tools were required to assemble it or to adjust the cutting height, and because the cutting height can be adjusted all the way up to 4". It was very easy to assemble, and is easy to push as long as the yard is in good condition. It doesn't tolerate twigs, pine cones, mole dirt mounds, leaves, etc.but after I raked it did pretty well. I do wish the wheels were positioned to allow the blade to get closer to trees and edgings, but that would probably be true with a power mower too. It is easy to push through most of the yard, but it doesn't do well on very thick grasses. Zoysia is very hard to push through.
If a person has a small yard, this is definitely the way to go, and would be a real money-saver over maintaining a gas machine or paying someone to cut grass. If I can do it anyone can, since I had never mowed my own grass before.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Evolution 18 in. Easy-Push Reel Mower with Adjustable Grass Management System-DISCONTINUED
from Carbondale, IL

Great little mower!

PostedJuly 18, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I ordered the Ellison Mower on Friday and it arrived promptly and in good shape. I actually had assumed that some hardware was missing from the box as it only had a single bolt in the kit, but as it turns out that is all it takes! Definitely not the Ikea experience!
Anyway, I bought this mower more out of curiosity than anything else- I've never used a push-reel mower before, so I was interested to determine why they seem to be becoming popular again. I had low expectations initially, so I was impressed to see it actually mow my tall grass rather easily. It would occasionally get caught on sticks or dog toys, but jams were quickly and easily cleared up. The grass catcher is nice to have for the times when the grass clippings are really long and not good to leave on the lawn.
The lightweight design makes it easy to maneuver up/down/around contours in your lawn, and of course the simple design means you don't have to worry about fuel, or engine breakdowns/maintenance. I've only had it a week so I can't speak to its durability or longevity but my first impression is a good one.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>