728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Snow Equipment or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Power Clear 621E 21 in. Single-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower

Power Clear 621E 21 in. Single-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower

Use Toro Power Clear 621E Single-Stage 21 in. Gas Snow Blower for a 21 in. clearing width and powerful snow-throwing potential, launching snow up to 35 ft. away to put it where you want to. A Power Curve rotor system cleans down to the pavement clearing compacted snow for optimal snow removal. The blower features a key system to put you in control of its operation and an operator bail out shuts down the tool once the key is removed for added precaution.
Overall rating:
4.572 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(332 reviews) 332
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product310 of 326reviews
Rating Breakdown 332 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(239)
4
(64)
3
(16)
2
(6)
1
(7)
Features 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product310 of 326reviews
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 60 Answers
Customer reviews for Power Clear 621E 21 in. Single-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
Review 1 for Power Clear 621E 21 in. Single-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
MsFixIt
from Swedesboro, NJ 08085, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great,

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is written by a female used to assembling and repairing around the house.
It took a little time to read thru instructions for assembly. Then used it on 3rd snow of the season which was about eight inches of a fluffy snow... Not too much moisture. Using blower, it took me 20-30 minutes to clear sidewalks and two car drive way. Only problem was the shifting wind which made it difficult to stay clear of shute. By comparison, it took me 2-3 hours clearing an earlier snowfall this year of six inches.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Power Clear 621E 21 in. Single-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
Andy
from Indiana, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Time-saving and back-saving product

PostedJanuary 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The Toro snow thrower does a great job clearing snow from concrete and asphalt surfaces, even a wooden deck. The unit is designed to operate on flat surfaces, not gravel. The electric start and pull start both work like a charm. We have owned this unit for one month and it has already saved a lot of time and physical energy. Operating this snow thrower is similar to a push lawnmower. This model has a manual handle to aim the snow chute, you have to reach down to move it.
Pros: Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Power Clear 621E 21 in. Single-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
DON1943
from Westerville, OH, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Outstanding performance and easy to use

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought for my wife as I can no longer do these chores with the limited use of my legs. She is petite and was scared of the machine. Machine is so easy to use with the electric start and self propelled features. Now, she actually looks forward to the snow as she has so much fun with her new snow blower.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Self-Propelled, Small Turn Radius, Easy to Store
Cons: i have no con to use - all pros.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Power Clear 621E 21 in. Single-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
czech
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

electric start and because it runs with straight gas and no oil /gas mixture is good

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
went thru 15 inches of snow like a hot butter knife thru butter, was a back saver and a time saver
Pros: Great Engine, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Power Clear 621E 21 in. Single-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
Dbachled88
from Allen Park, MI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love the electric start

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Its a hard working machine. I wish you didn' need an extension cord to start it. Other than that I'm very happy with the product.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Power Clear 621E 21 in. Single-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
SXA01
from Columbia, MO
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Last minute purchase...worked perfectly!

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Procrastinating left me looking for a blower the day of a storm. Last one. Assembled by Home Depot so just put handle in place and oiled/gassed the blower. Used pull start only which worked on first try. Amazingly effective in light 6" powder. Very easy to maneuver and rotate around driveway (3-car). Chute has to be manually rotated but not a problem as I have to turn the blower around anyway. Had originally planned to purchase a much larger 24" two-stage machine but glad I didn't. This is all I need...plus even wife could use it...if she actually wanted too!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accurate, Self-Propelled, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Power Clear 621E 21 in. Single-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
LetItSnow
from CT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Should have purchased this sooner- first snow blower and easy to use

PostedJanuary 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased this on Black Friday after being stranded last year having difficulty finding someone to plow me out. This was easy to assemble and starts immediately using the electric starter. I have a long, wide driveway on an incline and the snow clears with ease. Shifting the direction of the chute is not difficult; the power propel helps pull the blower through the snow- this helps going up hill but it can pick up a little speed going down hill so wear sturdy boots. The 21 inches is perfect for my driveway and it has never cut out. It clears the apron of the driveway after the town throws snow on it quickly involving no effort. I wanted to try how it would work without the electric starter and it started up immediately. Being a single woman I would highly recommend this model and machine; the weight and size are very manageable and perfect for me. I have used it four times on both wet and dry snow clearing at least 6 inches. I look forward to snow storms!
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Self-Propelled, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Power Clear 621E 21 in. Single-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
OhioSnowbound
from Ohio
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

That was fun! Love this thing.

PostedDecember 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My husbands first words after using this machine: That was fun, love this thing.
The first time we used it, the driveway was clear in no time. Plowed right thorough the 6-8" of snow in our large concrete driveway (35' x 125'). Easy to steer, little effort needed, great for anyone with back issues. Loved the electric start, with no battery to ever need replaced. You literally just plug into any extension cord or outlet you have in the garage, push the electric start , then unplug, and go get the job done. The rubber paddles on this model are great, much better than metal paddles on other models. Folds down for easy storage when not in use.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Great Engine, Easy to Store
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Power Clear 621E 21 in. Single-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
doitnow
from connecticut
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Space Saver

PostedFebruary 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Okay, so I don't submit review often, but looking at other reviews, and I don't see a critical point being made, , so I wanted to chime in. Having to pick and choose what to buy and store in a small footprint area isn't easy. I have a single car garage with just a 100 square feet of added storage (behind wifes car) to manage bicycles, mower, tools, and my beloved vespa. Really, the theme I want to get across here is STORAGE. Lets face it, a snow blower here in southern new england is quite necessary, but for only about 4 months a year. Doing some quick math here, the other 8 months a year it's a concrete paper weight. The ability to fold down the handle means It fits perfectly under my work bench, and into my seasonal garage system whereby the mower and toro blower share the same space. This thing is easily picked up and carried down and up stairs with two adults. Try that with a two stage blower! of course you have to plan a bit, and remember to drain gas and oil before going indoors. I would highly recommend this system to anyone with space issues. Oh yeah, almost forgot to mention- it works well too.
Pros: Easy to Store
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Power Clear 621E 21 in. Single-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
cfdumon
from Hinsdale, Illinois
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Like dating an actress...

PostedMarch 2, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a great snowblower. I use this blower all of the time, it has held up well for the first 4 years. I am now on year 5, and I hate the darn thing. The blower takes 10 some-odd pulls to start (my electric start quit at the beginning of the season), I am lucky to throw 5 feet. I am not kidding about the 5 feet either, in 4 inches of light fluffy snow I only get three feet. The blower now guzzles gas (about one tank per driveway). Also bear in mind you will get a lot of spit-back: Snow will fly at your feet from underneath the scrapper bar.
Also prepare to replace the paddles and scrapper bar every year and a half. But if you don't mind buying one every half decade, it is a great blower.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Small Turn Radius
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Power Clear 621E 21 in. Single-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
Onenemesis
from Roseville, MI, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It really blows!

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The snow blower works well. With all the snow we've had this month (Jan 2014) in the Detroit area, I was surprisingly pleased with its performance. Fuel efficiency is great. The unit seems to "prefer" at least 3-4 inches for optimum performance (throwing snow) but it works well on 1-2 inches. It is light and easy to maneuver. The electric starter works well,although a little awkward to hook up. Usually I just pull-start it and it starts with one pull most of the time. I call it semi-self-propelled because the impeller must be turning for it to go forward otherwise, you are moving it on its wheels.
I have a twelve year old BIG snow blower that is currently out of commission that would do my sidewalks in two passes; the Toro takes 3-4 passes, but, I can do 3-4 faster than with the big one. And don't even ask about getting the BIG one started. I HAVE to use the electric starter on it, especially when it's cold. (Have you ever tried pull-starting a 10 horsepower engine?)
All in all, I love this Toro unit.
Pros: Powerful, Great Engine, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Small Turn Radius, Easy to Store, Light Weight, semi-self-propelled
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Power Clear 621E 21 in. Single-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
Reggie
from Dale City, VA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Dissappointed.

PostedMarch 24, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this snow blower because of the name, Toro. It worked well the first time we had snow. The second snowfall this unit started slowing down and sputtering. After I cleaned my driveway and sidewalk, I was going to let the gas run dry but the snow blower stopped.
I followed the instructions on how to clear a flooded engine but to no avail. This snow worked well when it worked but it didn't work long enough.
Pros: Easy to Use, Light Weight
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Power Clear 621E 21 in. Single-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
cadman
from Johnston, Rhode Island
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So good I bought 2

PostedMarch 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I live in Rhode Island and have a small driveway that fits 3 cars. I bought my Toro 621e before a blizzard last year that dropped over one foot of snow. Not knowing how it would handle deep snow, I kept up with the storm blowing 6 to 8 inches at one time. It was effortless. It is great for small amounts too. It's not like you are using a big piece of equipment. Used gas stabilizer and it started with no problem the beginning of this year. I end up doing all my neighbors driveways as well.
Wanted to buy one for my girlfriend's house before the big storm of 2014. She has a 150 ft. Long driveway plus an area of 40 ft. X 60 ft. near the house. I called several store's on that Saturday and all they had was the larger Poulan blowers. Gave up and headed to her house at the beginning of the storm. Decided to stop by the Home Depot in Somerset on the way. Amazingly, they had one Toro 621e left along with a few larger Poulans. It was meant to be. Scouped that baby up and used it the next day to clear 12 inches of snow. FInished in 1.5 hours. This blower is amazing. Easy to use and very efficient. HIghly recommend. NO need for those big units unless you plan to chop ice. This will move some packed snow left by the plows but you should not use after it freezes.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Self-Propelled, Good Size & Weight, Small Turn Radius, Easy to Store, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Power Clear 621E 21 in. Single-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
MuffinMan
from Cincinnati, OH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Performs Well

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've always had good luck with Toro products, and that is why I purchased this model when I moved back to Ohio from the south. It starts right up and sometimes the electric start feature isn't needed. It does a great job of cleaning snow. I was able to remove snow that had drifted in my driveway to over a foot deep, although I had go a lot slower. I wish it had a handle mounted switch to rotate the chute. Overall I am very pleased with this model but I think it is somewhat pricy for a medium duty single stage unit.
Pros: Great Engine, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight, Long-Lasting, easy to start
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Power Clear 621E 21 in. Single-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
SKAREM
from Oxford CT
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wish i had this 10 years ago

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
SO glad i purchased this machine. it has handled the CT winter without issue...easily moves 8" of snow without a problem. Can't say enough good things about it...more powerful than i expected.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Power Clear 621E 21 in. Single-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
Paul
from Pontiac, MI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Handled this week's blizzard with ease.

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am an older guy. I had a smaller MTD blower that worked well for the past 10 years. No complaints but the auger finally gave out. I searched for a new blower this fall wanting a little more power and ease of use. I looked at the 2 stage blowers but the price and their bulk concerned me. I found this blower and I am pleased with my purchase. It handled all the snow, 12+ inches, that the storm ION dropped on us. It was easy to start and handle and cleaned down to the pavement. I cleaned my 2 neighbors sidewalks as well. It did the work of blowers costing twice as much.
After its hard use I will change the oil this weekend and get ready for the next storm.
Pros: Powerful, Great Engine, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Power Clear 621E 21 in. Single-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
DocEd
from Littleton, CO, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product, had one before.

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ordered over the phone, employees very helpful and courteous. Great store.
Pros: Durable, Great Engine, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Self-Propelled, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Power Clear 621E 21 in. Single-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
maestro1210
from Media, PA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Powerful and easy to use, throws snow a mile!!!

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am soooo glad I upgraded my old 2-stage snowblower with this single-stage Toro. My neighbor has one, and for years he has been clearing his snow better and way faster than me. I finally decided to bite the bullet and spring for the Toro, and I only wish I had done it sooner. This thing can handle anything - the wettest snow and slush, and even the boulders of plow rubble at the end of the driveway (just take it slow and nibble at it from the side about 6" at a time). I got the electric start model, but have yet to need it. This thing starts on the first or second pull, even in freezing cold weather. But it's nice to know that it's there if I need it. Single stage is the ticket -- clears all the way down to the driveway, and can handle anything.
Pros: Powerful, Great Engine, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight, great in wet snow, throws snow really far
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Power Clear 621E 21 in. Single-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
Beginner
from Illinois, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Power Clear 621E 21 in. Single-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
When I first use it it worked great but the second time I started it it started just fine for about five minutes then it turned off and hasn't started up since Home Depot didn't offer a service contract so I haven't got it serviced yet cause I don't have a truck I have a small car and can't take it in to get it serviced anywhere and it's going to be costly to have someone pick it up and bring it back I would recommend it only if they offer a service contract on it, it is a nice snow blower it hard for me to do anything because I have a bad back and can not pick this up by myself with no one to help my relative help me bring it to my home but haven't heard or seen them since they lead busy lives...
Pros: Self-Propelled, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Power Clear 621E 21 in. Single-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
Mike

Excellent Product

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this for my wife for its easy to use weight and size and electric start ! Should have purchased this product along time ago !
The only con about this product is that it would be nice to have a turning rotating shoot adjustment to throw snow on the fly in any direction during operation.
Pros: Great Engine, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: needs a rotating shoot adjustment from handle
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>