728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Snow Equipment or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Power Clear 621E 21 in. Single-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower

Power Clear 621E 21 in. Single-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower

Use Toro Power Clear 621E Single-Stage 21 in. Gas Snow Blower for a 21 in. clearing width and powerful snow-throwing potential, launching snow up to 35 ft. away to put it where you want to. A Power Curve rotor system cleans down to the pavement clearing compacted snow for optimal snow removal. The blower features a key system to put you in control of its operation and an operator bail out shuts down the tool once the key is removed for added precaution.
Overall rating:
4.561 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(337 reviews) 337
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product313 of 331reviews
Rating Breakdown 337 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(240)
4
(66)
3
(18)
2
(6)
1
(7)
Features 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product313 of 331reviews
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 66 Answers
Customer reviews for Power Clear 621E 21 in. Single-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
Review 1 for Power Clear 621E 21 in. Single-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Swedesboro, NJ 08085, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great,

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is written by a female used to assembling and repairing around the house.
It took a little time to read thru instructions for assembly. Then used it on 3rd snow of the season which was about eight inches of a fluffy snow... Not too much moisture. Using blower, it took me 20-30 minutes to clear sidewalks and two car drive way. Only problem was the shifting wind which made it difficult to stay clear of shute. By comparison, it took me 2-3 hours clearing an earlier snowfall this year of six inches.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Power Clear 621E 21 in. Single-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Westerville, OH, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Outstanding performance and easy to use

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought for my wife as I can no longer do these chores with the limited use of my legs. She is petite and was scared of the machine. Machine is so easy to use with the electric start and self propelled features. Now, she actually looks forward to the snow as she has so much fun with her new snow blower.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Self-Propelled, Small Turn Radius, Easy to Store
Cons: i have no con to use - all pros.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Power Clear 621E 21 in. Single-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Indiana, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Time-saving and back-saving product

PostedJanuary 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The Toro snow thrower does a great job clearing snow from concrete and asphalt surfaces, even a wooden deck. The unit is designed to operate on flat surfaces, not gravel. The electric start and pull start both work like a charm. We have owned this unit for one month and it has already saved a lot of time and physical energy. Operating this snow thrower is similar to a push lawnmower. This model has a manual handle to aim the snow chute, you have to reach down to move it.
Pros: Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Power Clear 621E 21 in. Single-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Ohio
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

That was fun! Love this thing.

PostedDecember 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My husbands first words after using this machine: That was fun, love this thing.
The first time we used it, the driveway was clear in no time. Plowed right thorough the 6-8" of snow in our large concrete driveway (35' x 125'). Easy to steer, little effort needed, great for anyone with back issues. Loved the electric start, with no battery to ever need replaced. You literally just plug into any extension cord or outlet you have in the garage, push the electric start , then unplug, and go get the job done. The rubber paddles on this model are great, much better than metal paddles on other models. Folds down for easy storage when not in use.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Great Engine, Easy to Store
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Power Clear 621E 21 in. Single-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

electric start and because it runs with straight gas and no oil /gas mixture is good

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
went thru 15 inches of snow like a hot butter knife thru butter, was a back saver and a time saver
Pros: Great Engine, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Power Clear 621E 21 in. Single-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Allen Park, MI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love the electric start

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Its a hard working machine. I wish you didn' need an extension cord to start it. Other than that I'm very happy with the product.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Power Clear 621E 21 in. Single-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Columbia, MO
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Last minute purchase...worked perfectly!

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Procrastinating left me looking for a blower the day of a storm. Last one. Assembled by Home Depot so just put handle in place and oiled/gassed the blower. Used pull start only which worked on first try. Amazingly effective in light 6" powder. Very easy to maneuver and rotate around driveway (3-car). Chute has to be manually rotated but not a problem as I have to turn the blower around anyway. Had originally planned to purchase a much larger 24" two-stage machine but glad I didn't. This is all I need...plus even wife could use it...if she actually wanted too!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accurate, Self-Propelled, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Power Clear 621E 21 in. Single-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from CT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Should have purchased this sooner- first snow blower and easy to use

PostedJanuary 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased this on Black Friday after being stranded last year having difficulty finding someone to plow me out. This was easy to assemble and starts immediately using the electric starter. I have a long, wide driveway on an incline and the snow clears with ease. Shifting the direction of the chute is not difficult; the power propel helps pull the blower through the snow- this helps going up hill but it can pick up a little speed going down hill so wear sturdy boots. The 21 inches is perfect for my driveway and it has never cut out. It clears the apron of the driveway after the town throws snow on it quickly involving no effort. I wanted to try how it would work without the electric starter and it started up immediately. Being a single woman I would highly recommend this model and machine; the weight and size are very manageable and perfect for me. I have used it four times on both wet and dry snow clearing at least 6 inches. I look forward to snow storms!
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Self-Propelled, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Power Clear 621E 21 in. Single-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Montville, NJ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

For 3 - 9" of Snow, It does a good job.

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a Toro 2 stage snowthrower I bought in 1997. It does an excellent job, but it's big and heavy at 10hp, 28" width and 397 lbs. I wanted something smaller and lighter to handle 3 - 9" of snow. We just had a 5" snowfall and this handled the snow with ease and cut my time in half compared to my 2 stage Toro. The only drawback I saw was that I have a pretty steep driveway and since the 621E is self propelled, it started to pick up speed on the way down the driveway. So if you have a steep driveway you may be better off with a small two stage snowthrower. You can control the speed with these. Also, I spent a little more for an electric start. If the rope on the recoil start on your snowthrower ever breaks, you will always have the electric start, to back you up.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Power Clear 621E 21 in. Single-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from connecticut
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Space Saver

PostedFebruary 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Okay, so I don't submit review often, but looking at other reviews, and I don't see a critical point being made, , so I wanted to chime in. Having to pick and choose what to buy and store in a small footprint area isn't easy. I have a single car garage with just a 100 square feet of added storage (behind wifes car) to manage bicycles, mower, tools, and my beloved vespa. Really, the theme I want to get across here is STORAGE. Lets face it, a snow blower here in southern new england is quite necessary, but for only about 4 months a year. Doing some quick math here, the other 8 months a year it's a concrete paper weight. The ability to fold down the handle means It fits perfectly under my work bench, and into my seasonal garage system whereby the mower and toro blower share the same space. This thing is easily picked up and carried down and up stairs with two adults. Try that with a two stage blower! of course you have to plan a bit, and remember to drain gas and oil before going indoors. I would highly recommend this system to anyone with space issues. Oh yeah, almost forgot to mention- it works well too.
Pros: Easy to Store
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Power Clear 621E 21 in. Single-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Roseville, MI, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It really blows!

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The snow blower works well. With all the snow we've had this month (Jan 2014) in the Detroit area, I was surprisingly pleased with its performance. Fuel efficiency is great. The unit seems to "prefer" at least 3-4 inches for optimum performance (throwing snow) but it works well on 1-2 inches. It is light and easy to maneuver. The electric starter works well,although a little awkward to hook up. Usually I just pull-start it and it starts with one pull most of the time. I call it semi-self-propelled because the impeller must be turning for it to go forward otherwise, you are moving it on its wheels.
I have a twelve year old BIG snow blower that is currently out of commission that would do my sidewalks in two passes; the Toro takes 3-4 passes, but, I can do 3-4 faster than with the big one. And don't even ask about getting the BIG one started. I HAVE to use the electric starter on it, especially when it's cold. (Have you ever tried pull-starting a 10 horsepower engine?)
All in all, I love this Toro unit.
Pros: Powerful, Great Engine, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Small Turn Radius, Easy to Store, Light Weight, semi-self-propelled
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Power Clear 621E 21 in. Single-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from chicago
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

clears snow easily, starts easily,hard to assemble,directional chute could be better,rattles

PostedApril 30, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It clears a good depth of snow easily and starts easily without the electric start. More than big enough for a city lot/alley/drive. The adjustable chute was difficult to assemble. It was very hard to get the nuts and bolts aligned properly. Adding the oil was hard as well as the angle to the oil fill is poorly designed. The instructions say to tilt the unit, not easy by yourself. It runs well, but you have to bend down to re direct the directional chute which is annnoying. I wish it had an extension handle to move the chute direction as some models do. The clutch handle, to engage the auger, is flimsy and sometimes pops out of the slots in the handle. The handle rattles and vibrates when not engaged as well. Otherwise it does the job and looks good, but it could be designed better. I think it is expensive as well for a simple engine. The 4 cycle engine is a plus over one which you have to mix oil and gas.
Pros: Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Limited Features, Difficult to Use, flimsy parts, difficult assembly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Power Clear 621E 21 in. Single-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Hinsdale, Illinois
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Like dating an actress...

PostedMarch 2, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a great snowblower. I use this blower all of the time, it has held up well for the first 4 years. I am now on year 5, and I hate the darn thing. The blower takes 10 some-odd pulls to start (my electric start quit at the beginning of the season), I am lucky to throw 5 feet. I am not kidding about the 5 feet either, in 4 inches of light fluffy snow I only get three feet. The blower now guzzles gas (about one tank per driveway). Also bear in mind you will get a lot of spit-back: Snow will fly at your feet from underneath the scrapper bar.
Also prepare to replace the paddles and scrapper bar every year and a half. But if you don't mind buying one every half decade, it is a great blower.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Small Turn Radius
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Power Clear 621E 21 in. Single-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Elmhurst
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Snowblower Maintenance Nightmare

PostedMay 2, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The Toro 621e is three years old and the the blower starts first or second pull, easy enough to disregard the electric start feature. The 621e has to be plugged in to use the electric start anyway and Toro does not include the cord so I find that inconvenient. It blows snow up to 20' when snow is powdery and less if wet. Heavy wet snow will clog the shute but not stall the motor. The swivel for the discharge shute is adjusted with a lever that is difficult to reach and for someone who is of smaller stature may be darn near impossible. The oil fill port is down low on the rear of the motor and is accessed by getting down on your hands and knees! Not very user friendly.
The snow fall last winter was record breaking and the Toro performed very well so yesterday I decided to order a belt, paddles and scraper bar at my local Toro dealer for a total of $90. To my surprise they had them all in stock so I decided to install them and do an oil change. If you plan on doing this be advised you will need an assortment of metric and SAE sockets, two size phillips head screwdrivers, a small Torx and needle nose pliers. I won't get into details but the maintenance is definitely not user friendly. To start with the entire cover has to be removed in order to remove the spark plug wire necessary in order to avoid an accidental turn over while working on the paddle replacement. Depending on your skill level and assortment of tools be prepared to bust your knuckles and spare at least two hours.
Good luck!
Pros: Reliable
Cons: maintaining is a pain
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Power Clear 621E 21 in. Single-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from IL
Gender:Male

HELPFUL HINT

PostedDecember 21, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
I can't review the unit yet, no snow, HOWEVER, I can say they need to tell -sell you (or have one handy) a long flexible neck funnel to get the oil in this thing. It is one of the most ridiculous flaws I have seen in design.
It seems like it is sturdy unit and will update if it ever snows!
HD sales folks, please sell or suggest the funnel to future customers!
Pros: Sturdy
Cons: adding checking the oil!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Power Clear 621E 21 in. Single-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Reston virginia
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Stop! Buyer beware

PostedDecember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After the first use the bolt holding the chute on the machine came loose. Toro will not provide a live person to order a replacement part. They referred me to a Toro dealer who didn't have the part. They will only help by email. I have asked for the part four times and they would not provide it. I can't use the machine now so I am returning it.
Cons: Difficult to Use, can't order replacement parts
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Power Clear 621E 21 in. Single-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Pontiac, MI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Handled this week's blizzard with ease.

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am an older guy. I had a smaller MTD blower that worked well for the past 10 years. No complaints but the auger finally gave out. I searched for a new blower this fall wanting a little more power and ease of use. I looked at the 2 stage blowers but the price and their bulk concerned me. I found this blower and I am pleased with my purchase. It handled all the snow, 12+ inches, that the storm ION dropped on us. It was easy to start and handle and cleaned down to the pavement. I cleaned my 2 neighbors sidewalks as well. It did the work of blowers costing twice as much.
After its hard use I will change the oil this weekend and get ready for the next storm.
Pros: Powerful, Great Engine, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Power Clear 621E 21 in. Single-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Dale City, VA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Dissappointed.

PostedMarch 24, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this snow blower because of the name, Toro. It worked well the first time we had snow. The second snowfall this unit started slowing down and sputtering. After I cleaned my driveway and sidewalk, I was going to let the gas run dry but the snow blower stopped.
I followed the instructions on how to clear a flooded engine but to no avail. This snow worked well when it worked but it didn't work long enough.
Pros: Easy to Use, Light Weight
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Power Clear 621E 21 in. Single-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Elgin, IL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Definitely worth the money

PostedFebruary 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Although this was a light winter in Elgin, I have to say that this machine was well worth the price. The electric start is a must and definitely worth the extra cost. Starts like a charm. This machine will actually pull you as you as clearing the path. You literally do not have to push it whatsoever. Great great great. The only hang up I have is the difficulty assembling the chute. They really need to come up with an easier way to assemble. Otherwise, a great machine.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Power Clear 621E 21 in. Single-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower
from Cincinnati, OH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Performs Well

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've always had good luck with Toro products, and that is why I purchased this model when I moved back to Ohio from the south. It starts right up and sometimes the electric start feature isn't needed. It does a great job of cleaning snow. I was able to remove snow that had drifted in my driveway to over a foot deep, although I had go a lot slower. I wish it had a handle mounted switch to rotate the chute. Overall I am very pleased with this model but I think it is somewhat pricy for a medium duty single stage unit.
Pros: Great Engine, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight, Long-Lasting, easy to start
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>