728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 9 in. 79 cc Gas Walk-Behind Edger

9 in. 79 cc Gas Walk-Behind Edger

The Powermate 79 cc Gas Walk Behind Edger will give your lawn a professional look by easily and efficiently maneuvering along driveways, sidewalks and gardens. An efficient 4-stroke OHV engine, offers diligent performance and an easy startup thanks to the manual recoil system. The edger features a 3-point triangular blade that can be adjusted to allow for bevel edging and a more accommodating cut. The versatile cutting power of this edger ensures the job will be done right the first time, providing you a perfect lawn in less time. The curb hopping feature allows the front and rear tires to drop for a clean edge.
Overall rating:
3.194 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
(36 reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
71%of customersrecommend this product24 of 34reviews
Rating Breakdown 36 reviews
3.2 out of 5.0
5
(6)
4
(14)
3
(5)
2
(3)
1
(8)
Features 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Quality 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Value 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
71%of customersrecommend this product24 of 34reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer reviews for 9 in. 79 cc Gas Walk-Behind Edger
Review 1 for 9 in. 79 cc Gas Walk-Behind Edger
from Wausau, WI
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Precise Edger With Height and Bevel Adjustments, Quiet Engine, Stores Easily

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This Powermate Lawn Edger is what you need when you want to give your lawn that picture perfect line any time your turf meets a hard surface.
After unboxing the edger, you'll need to assemble the handle, connect the dead man switch wiring, connect the depth adjustment handle to the swing arm and bolt on the wheels. That's it for assembly. It doesn't take much. The belt, blade and swing arm are all attached and adjusted at the factory.
The edger's chassis, swing arm, handles, depth lever, pretty much the entire machine aside from the wheels is made of thick steel with a nice coat of orange and black paint. There is no plastic to break or wear through. It has a nice rubber mudflap behind the blade to stop debris from flying up at you.The handle is thickly padded and the wheels, while firm, are made of a flexible rubber that minimizes vibration.
The "Quick Start" page they include is lacking in good detail. Instead, use the much larger operation manual that they include and assembly will take less than 30 minutes, similar to other Powermate products. The parts manual may be downloaded at Powermate's website if you like having one around for maintenance.
Fill the engine with the included 10w30 oil where marked and fill with regular gas. Even though it's a small sized engine, this is a four cycle so you do not mix oil and gas. Set the choke lever, hold the dead man lever (just like the engine kill lever on your mower) and give it a few swift pulls. Once the engine is purring, pull the choke lever back to open, let the engine warm up for about a minute and then begin edging. It's that simple.
Like most edgers in this price range and of this design, when you run the engine, the blade is spinning at all times. My Dad has an edger similar to this by a bigger name company, and his does exactly the same thing. I've had lots of experience borrowing his and know what to expect. This is completely normal, but may be a bit off putting to those that have never used an edger this size or type. The engine kill lever ensures you can't leave it running with the blade spinning while making adjustments. It's there for your safety.
The edger has five settings for depth adjustment and a three setting bevel adjustment. You always start at the highest depth setting, and then move down with successive cuts. Dropping the blade all the way down, or even half way down into anything but the loosest soil will cause the engine to stall. If you attempt to work in very wet or rock hard soil or an area with lots of roots, you will have to proceed slower to avoid stalling the engine. When you want to add a beveled look to your lawn, simply move the lever to the angle you want. It pulls out and resets at the new bevel degree easily and the angles are clearly marked.
Since the engine on this model is 79cc, compared to the average 140-150cc size engines used on other models in this category, you'll have to walk slower when making cuts. Take your time, get a good edge and you won't have the engine stall often. If you edge once a week like you would with this type of larger machine, you'll notice a lot less stalling once you have an established line to cut on.
If you have to edge along a street or border, this edger lets you drop the right side wheels on the road and lets the blade and left wheel sit on the top side of the curb for perfect edging and no precarious balancing of the machine is needed. Adjusting the wheels for curb hopping is as simple as loosening and then tightening two knobs where you want the wheels to be. You can even adjust the front wheel in towards the blade or away depending on where you need it to make your cuts.
I looked at replacement blades and the belt and you can buy the same belts and 9 inch blades that fit other larger name edgers, making them affordable and very easy to find.
I do have some issues with this machine. One, I want a bigger engine. 150cc would be ideal. 79cc is really pushing the engine and this machine will stall more often than the larger engines on the same jobs. You'll need to walk slower and recut some areas to achieve the final depth if you want a deep cut.
Two, the gas cap on this machine is not vented. Combine that with a metal gas tank sitting above the engine, and that causes a good amount of pressure to build up. Sometimes when it's hot and then shut off, the tank pressure will force a small gas leak from the carburetor. Each time you shut it off, you need to open the gas cap and let the pressure out. That is simply unacceptable and unsafe. It needs a gas cap with a small vent like every other machine. Those issues have caused me to give it a three star rating. If they increase the engine size, and vent that gas cap, this machine is five stars all day long.
Overall, it's a very nice edger but lacks in the power category. High quality built machine with all steel compnents, numerous adjustments for depth, bevel and easy curb hopping settings. It just needs a bigger engine to go with the excellent chassis and adjustment capability.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Light Weight, Easy to Store
Cons: engine too small, no vent on gas cap!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+35points
36out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 9 in. 79 cc Gas Walk-Behind Edger
from Virginia, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works well for me

PostedJune 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The edger requires a 10 minutes easy assembly of 3 wheels and a handle. Wheels assembly would be easier if you place the unit on top of a 1 square foot solid box/table. First time start was quick then I powered it off to scale the area I was supposed to edge. When I ran it in a test area which had a bit hard/wet clay soil, the engine stalled within a minute. Same time, a good amount of gasoline started to leak from the carburetor. Just like other reviewers mentioned, the gas cap requires a vent which is missing by design, causing the pressure to build up, resulting the gas spill. After the spill, it took some time to start again. That’s when I read the Manual to see what am I doing wrong. Manual says not to go too deep too fast which I did. It says to edge when soil is dry but I tried it few hours after the rain and soil was wet. For deeper edge, you have to make multiple passes, start with shallow depth and slowly move to deeper depth. When I followed the edging tips from the Manual, it worked quite well. So, first read the manual so you know what it does and how it does in certain conditions. Keep in mind that you are looking at a 79cc engine, so don’t expect that it will edge through everything in its way on first pass.
Mostly, I would be edging the front yard sidewalk which I had been edging using the trimmer that had always done the job but never gave a professional and even edge.
Now, edging the sidewalk/curb gave me no troubles of stalling or spilling but you do need to follow a technique to make an even edge without damaging the blade. Start from the top depth setting and then bring the depth control lever to a lower setting slowly until you think you reached the depth you desire. Once the depth is set then walk slowly and just follow the line/pattern. When edging sidewalk, blade might grind with the concrete, that’s normal.
5 depth adjustments and 3 bevel adjustments are very convenient. Edger provides the capability to adjust the rear and front wheel height to edge the curb side and I find it extremely useful. It does not acquire much space so storage is easy.
For sidewalks, driveways and curbs, it will work just fine and since I only plan to use it on sidewalk and curb only, it works well for me.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
+35points
35out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 9 in. 79 cc Gas Walk-Behind Edger
from Knoxville, TN, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good But Could Be Better

PostedJune 17, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This product does do what it says it will do - it starts quickly & consistently & when used with the proper amount of patience, it will produce a nice clean edge around driveways, sidewalks, etc. However, some simple fixes on Powermate's end would require a lot less patience on the user's end.
First, a blade guide would be really, really helpful. It takes a whole of of practicing & nicking the curb before you have a good feel for how to judge this thing.
Second, a way to disengage the blade without having to turn the machine off & restart it would be a major timesaver. The curb-hoping feature is nice, albeit somewhat cumbersome, but unless you have a perfectly level yard, you'll find yourself adjusting the wheels quite frequently, and every time you do, you'll have to stop & restart the machine. You also must stop it to reset the angle of the blade, but you can at least adjust the depth of the cut without stopping the engine (and other reviewers are correct - you have to start shallow & make another pass or two to get it deeper or the engine will stall).
Lastly, and I'm not sure what the quick fix on this is, but they need to come up with a way to make this piece of machinery a little less awkward. First, I finally mastered the straight line cuts, but it's incredibly difficult to get a smooth cut around a curve. Not a sharp curve either - just a rounded elbow corner of a sidewalk, for instance. Second, this thing has tipped on me twice. Not all the way over & not while in use, mind you, but while I've been trying to transport it from the front of the house to the back. Both times, it caused the engine to flood, meaning it wouldn't crank for 15 - 20 minutes. The three wheel design obviously makes it lopsided & no, you're not usually edging on uneven ground, but you do sometimes have to at least be able to push it through an area in order to use it where you want to use it. I understand that all edgers have to be a little awkward just b/c of the nature of what they do, but it seems like there has to be ways to make this a little easier to maneuver.
So, bottom line - I can easily recommend this product for anyone with a small to medium sized yard that's mostly level with lots of straight lines. If that's not you - I'm not saying don't buy it, I'm just saying be prepared to be patient & to invest some time in figuring out how to get the best results.
Pros: Cuts Well, Sturdy, Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 9 in. 79 cc Gas Walk-Behind Edger
from Sterling, CO
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Okay if you have loose soil

PostedJune 17, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We used this unit in both our front yard, and the back. Our backyard has a much harder clay mix soil, while our front yard is mostly sand. This unit worked okay in the loose sandy soil in the front yard, but I had to go VERY slowly and carefully in the backyard to keep it from bogging down in the harder soil, and definitely couldn't use the deep setting until I had made a pass with a shallower setting. I feel like this unit should work better in the clay soil, but it just didn't feel like it had enough power to really do a good job. On the plus side it was very easy to assemble, and started on the second pull. But overal disppointed with the power. Would only recommend if you have only loose, sandy doil on your property.
Pros: Small Turn Radius, Easy to Store
Cons: underpowered
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 9 in. 79 cc Gas Walk-Behind Edger
from United States
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

CLEAN CUT AND EASY TO USE!

PostedSeptember 16, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used several edgers before this one and they have always been very difficult to start. Not this one!
The initial assembly was simple and done in just under 10 minutes. I found this edge make a clean cut and built to last.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Durable, Powerful
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 9 in. 79 cc Gas Walk-Behind Edger
from Louisburg, KS 66053, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Makes the yard looks like a professional is taking care of it for you.

PostedMay 21, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Some assembly is required, pretty straight forward directions to attach the handle and the wheels no brainer so follow the instructions. This edger does not require you to mix the oil and gas which is a nice feature because it is a 4 stroke. Makes easy work that would normally be time consuming and strenuous. The blade is adjustable, tilts left or right with depth control. This edger is the perfect size and does not take up much room in the garage. It seems to be well thought out. Normally I would never had bought one but now that I have used it I would never want to live without it.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 9 in. 79 cc Gas Walk-Behind Edger
from West Chester, PA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

uselessly underpowered

PostedMay 26, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had coincidentally finished half the edging that needed to be done with a manual edger just before I was sent this item to review. To give an idea of my grading curve: I have two blown discs and would still give the manual edger 5 stars -- even if they sold it at this price.
This unit, however, is simply underpowered. It works wonderfully, but at way too shallow a cut on each pass; any deeper and you will stall -- and "any deeper" is still way too shallow. Even if it got the job done in one pass, there are design "features" that would rate it as marginal: you cannot disengage the blade while the engine is running, and as you'll likely want to re-adjust the multiple options for setting the wheels and blade as you work, you have to allow the engine to stop cold each time. Added to the guarantee of stalling every few feet due to the underpowered engine, you can expect something to fatally fail after manually restarting the thing every few minutes -- more like once a minute, unless you have a perfectly level area you're edging. It took me over five times as long to do the same area I covered with the manual edger, and I'm going to have to go over it again manually anyway.
I was suspicious when I read the manual start and the engine size were both "features:" the engine is sold as a balance between power and economy; for yard work, there's no such thing: either it can get the job done or it can't; beyond that it's conceivable you might run into a fair-priced machine with a much too powerful engine, but that hasn't happened to me yet.
There are a few trillion ways to level this unbelievably lightweight machine, it instantly breaks down to a ridiculously small storage footprint, and I never had a problem restarting it -- which is too bad as all that design and engineering effort is ultimately wasted on a machine that doesn't work.
Pros: Light Weight, Easy to Store, many adjustment options
Cons: underpowered
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 9 in. 79 cc Gas Walk-Behind Edger
from Central, CT
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Average At Best

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Assembly was pretty easy. I just followed the manual step by step and was done within 30 minutes. Attaching the wheels was not in the manual, however, it was easy to figure out and did not really add to the assembly time drastically. Why that's not in the manual is beyond me though.
I like that the manufacturer included the oil in the box. That made it easy just to start edging right away.
The unit started on the first pull and has ever since, and that's with very little effort too. That might be the best thing about this edger.
Like most edgers there are a few different depth settings that allow the user to customize his/her edge. It can even tilt which is a nice feature, but once again not unique. It doesn't have a line over the edge guard showing where the blade is. This helps with accuracy. I had to create one with a little strip of electrical tape.
Finally, it is very underpowered. I have had experience with several different types of edgers over the past few years. I have had an older 15 year old edger similar in design to this one and another 11 year old stick edger that is a part of a combination string trimmer/edger; both are way more powerful than this unit. The only other edger that I can compare this to is one that I bought only 2 years ago. It was branded with a different manufacturer, but was way underpowered like this unit. Like this unit, the engine did not have a throttle. As a result of it being underpowered, it will not create a new edge along a flower bed because the engine will stall. However, if the only thing you need is to edge a side walk, which is what I have mainly used it for, it's great.....as long as you don't set the depth too deep.
In the end, I would only recommend this if you have light edging around the driveway, walks, or sidewalks. It cannot handle anything else, however, at this price point these days that's about all you can expect.
Pros: All In One, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 9 in. 79 cc Gas Walk-Behind Edger

Easy to Assemble, Easy to Use, Ready to Go Edger

PostedJune 9, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Powermate Walk Behind Gas Edger is a great edger and comes almost ready to go. Just a few simple steps - like attaching the wheels and handle - and you're ready to edge. The edger blade is adjustable to 15 degrees in either direction, which is handy. It's also cool that it's easy to use - to the point that it almost feels self propelled. It performed well and readily cleaned up areas that hadn't been edged in...well, ever. Components feel high quality, and I would expect that it will run well for a long time. Looking forward to all of the clean lines in my landscape!
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Self-Propelled
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 9 in. 79 cc Gas Walk-Behind Edger
from Baton Rouge, LA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Disappointing

PostedApril 9, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
I didn't think that my 30+ year-old gas edger was worth getting fixed, so I decided it was time to buy a new one. This Powermate, though, doesn't provide the level of performance or features that I would expect for the price; my old one was just so much better. For one thing, there is no blade guard so I'm constantly scraping the blade against the sidewalks and driveway. I had thought that ALL gas trimmers would come with this important feature. Also, there is no throttle control, just a manual choke. If your lawn is particularly dense/thick, you will want to go VERY slowly or you risk continual stalls.
I would recommend it only with reservations. If my local Home Depot stocked the more expensive ones found on their website I would have elected to go for one of the ones with more features and capabilities.
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 9 in. 79 cc Gas Walk-Behind Edger
from Pearl River, LA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Bought today, returning today

PostedMay 7, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It isn't worth the price. Assembly wasn't bad and starting the first time was great. If you walk slow it edges good but with no blade guide you keep hitting the concrete and when working around my tile sidewalk it chipped the tiles. After turning it off to move to the back yard it won't start so after I cool of with a glass of tea the edger and box are going back to Home Depot. Definately not a quality machine.
-3points
2out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 9 in. 79 cc Gas Walk-Behind Edger
from Puyallup
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Well

PostedJune 3, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Edger assemblys easily. filled oil and gas and started on first pull, After 3 to 5 secs move choke to run position.
When unit warm it starts on first pull also..
I've used it about 6 times and it still starts on first pull either warm or cold.
There is a small learning curve to learn how to balance the machine on uneven terrain but sidewalk edging is a breeze but you must pay attention to the front adjustable wheel placement on uneven ground as it adjusts either right or left. for the best balance..
The machine does not have a blade guide for sidewalk but looking down the center of the blade cover helps you stay in the correct grove.. i've found that an occasional light scraping of the edge of the sidewalk helps to keep the edge straight.
Trying to cut to deep an edge the first time will result in engine stalls as manuel explains.
The curb hopping feature does a great job but again is a little awkward on the first use and requires you pay attention where your left rear wheel and blade is positioned next to the curb and on the top of the curb but again after one or two uses it's fairly easy.
The index cutting to 15 degrees appears to work good but i've only used it once..
There is a few negatives, the oil fill hole is awkward to fill and requires a funnel to not spill oil. .
The right wheel curb hopping adjustment screw is awkward to loosen and tighten after set to the right height to keep the edger level. My final comment would be to pay attention at all times when your at the end of the sidewalk as to not damage driveway etc.
The build quality appears fairly robust for a made in china product, the welds appear quite strong and the construction is as good as any edger in this price range.
I've never heard of the engine manf, so time will tell about the longevitity but on a side note homelite,southland and airstream companys use this same model in their edger lines....................YMMV.............
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 9 in. 79 cc Gas Walk-Behind Edger
from florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

not pleased with this unit

PostedJune 22, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
as long as you dont need a carb. for this, because the only ones are overseas. this edger is a piece of junk
-3points
4out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 9 in. 79 cc Gas Walk-Behind Edger
from Central Valley, California, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does the job

PostedSeptember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Coming from northern Wisconsin to CA, we've never had reason to use a lawn edger in the past, so it has been something of a steep learning curve to figure out how best to utilize this machine. At first I was disappointed in my results but have now learned to make a couple passes and make a somewhat wider swath between the grass and the edging. The Powermate machine seems up to the task but is a bit underpowered when you set the blade at its deepest level. To compensate, one needs to slow down their "push" rate and let the engine come back up to speed.
I picked this machine over a couple of less expensive models for the features it has and I'm glad I did. The blade not only adjusts up and down to allow plenty of variation in cutting depth but it also tilts 15 degrees in either direction. The right rear wheel easily adjusts up and down to keep your machine vertical on sloping terrain or high curbs. The front wheel adjusts left to right so that you can keep the machine well balanced and pervent it from getting "tippy".
My review may be of limited value since I have no prior experience or other machines to compare this to, but so far I am happy with the Powermate 79cc and would recommend it based on the features it provides at a relatively low cost.
Pros: good value for the money
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 9 in. 79 cc Gas Walk-Behind Edger
from Roseville, MI, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This product appears to be built to last

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This product was easy to assemble and store. It gets the job done with a lot less effort than the other types of edgers. It is durable and built to last, with an engine that has enough power to do the job right.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Light Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 9 in. 79 cc Gas Walk-Behind Edger
from Clive, IA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Product lacks quality controls. Purchased one with damaged gas container, the second leaked gas. Didn't exchange for 3rd

PostedMay 14, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Product was easy to assemble and easy to use. First purchase was damaged at manufacturer, exchanged for another but it leaked gas. Did not purchase a 3rd.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 9 in. 79 cc Gas Walk-Behind Edger
from Anaheim
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

lasted 1 year,, then it would not start,,, took it in,, unfixable

PostedMay 22, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
You get what you pay for,, engine is made in china,, do not
buy this product
Cons: Not Durable
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 9 in. 79 cc Gas Walk-Behind Edger
from Marion, IL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Difficult, no impossible to start

PostedMay 26, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Assembly was easy. Took about 10 pulls to start. This weekend wanted to use and after 100+ pulls will not start.
Cons: can not get to work, service hours are only mon - fri - daytime
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 9 in. 79 cc Gas Walk-Behind Edger
from Bonaire, GA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

For it's size, this edger is a litttle go-getter.

PostedJune 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The only criticism I have for this unit is it doesn't offer as great a slant to the edger's cut. I wanted a steeper angle on the cutting path. Otherwise this is a great little piece of equipment. The unit was easy to assemble and place in service.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 9 in. 79 cc Gas Walk-Behind Edger
from Litchfield, MI 49252, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Homeowner's Edge for manicured property!

PostedJune 7, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The edger comes partially assembled and the rest is easy. The engine oil comes with the unit and the engine uses regular gasoline.
The edger has adjustable height wheels so it may be used along a city curb next to a grass area. I have not used that feature because we live in an area that does not have curbs. That adjustment looks simple to do.
The edger goes best in a straight line. When used on a curved walk or driveway, the groove the cutting wheel makes will be wider because the diameter of the cutting wheel forms a chord of the arc. The adjustment for cutting depth is a very easy to operate lever. It is nice to outline a flower garden area.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable, Powerful, Easy to Store
Cons: oil overflow on initial setup.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>