728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 9 in. 79 cc Gas Walk-Behind Edger

9 in. 79 cc Gas Walk-Behind Edger

The Powermate 79 cc Gas Walk Behind Edger will give your lawn a professional look by easily and efficiently maneuvering along driveways, sidewalks and gardens. An efficient 4-stroke OHV engine, offers diligent performance and an easy startup thanks to the manual recoil system. The edger features a 3-point triangular blade that can be adjusted to allow for bevel edging and a more accommodating cut. The versatile cutting power of this edger ensures the job will be done right the first time, providing you a perfect lawn in less time. The curb hopping feature allows the front and rear tires to drop for a clean edge.
Overall rating:
3.218 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
(55 reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
68%of customersrecommend this product36 of 53reviews
Rating Breakdown 55 reviews
3.2 out of 5
5
(10)
4
(22)
3
(6)
2
(4)
1
(13)
Features 
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
Quality 
3.5 out of 5
3.5 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Value 
3.5 out of 5
3.5 out of 5
68%of customersrecommend this product36 of 53reviews
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer reviews for 9 in. 79 cc Gas Walk-Behind Edger
Review 1 for 9 in. 79 cc Gas Walk-Behind Edger
from Wausau, WI
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Precise Edger With Height and Bevel Adjustments, Quiet Engine, Stores Easily

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
This Powermate Lawn Edger is what you need when you want to give your lawn that picture perfect line any time your turf meets a hard surface.
After unboxing the edger, you'll need to assemble the handle, connect the dead man switch wiring, connect the depth adjustment handle to the swing arm and bolt on the wheels. That's it for assembly. It doesn't take much. The belt, blade and swing arm are all attached and adjusted at the factory.
The edger's chassis, swing arm, handles, depth lever, pretty much the entire machine aside from the wheels is made of thick steel with a nice coat of orange and black paint. There is no plastic to break or wear through. It has a nice rubber mudflap behind the blade to stop debris from flying up at you.The handle is thickly padded and the wheels, while firm, are made of a flexible rubber that minimizes vibration.
The "Quick Start" page they include is lacking in good detail. Instead, use the much larger operation manual that they include and assembly will take less than 30 minutes, similar to other Powermate products. The parts manual may be downloaded at Powermate's website if you like having one around for maintenance.
Fill the engine with the included 10w30 oil where marked and fill with regular gas. Even though it's a small sized engine, this is a four cycle so you do not mix oil and gas. Set the choke lever, hold the dead man lever (just like the engine kill lever on your mower) and give it a few swift pulls. Once the engine is purring, pull the choke lever back to open, let the engine warm up for about a minute and then begin edging. It's that simple.
Like most edgers in this price range and of this design, when you run the engine, the blade is spinning at all times. My Dad has an edger similar to this by a bigger name company, and his does exactly the same thing. I've had lots of experience borrowing his and know what to expect. This is completely normal, but may be a bit off putting to those that have never used an edger this size or type. The engine kill lever ensures you can't leave it running with the blade spinning while making adjustments. It's there for your safety.
The edger has five settings for depth adjustment and a three setting bevel adjustment. You always start at the highest depth setting, and then move down with successive cuts. Dropping the blade all the way down, or even half way down into anything but the loosest soil will cause the engine to stall. If you attempt to work in very wet or rock hard soil or an area with lots of roots, you will have to proceed slower to avoid stalling the engine. When you want to add a beveled look to your lawn, simply move the lever to the angle you want. It pulls out and resets at the new bevel degree easily and the angles are clearly marked.
Since the engine on this model is 79cc, compared to the average 140-150cc size engines used on other models in this category, you'll have to walk slower when making cuts. Take your time, get a good edge and you won't have the engine stall often. If you edge once a week like you would with this type of larger machine, you'll notice a lot less stalling once you have an established line to cut on.
If you have to edge along a street or border, this edger lets you drop the right side wheels on the road and lets the blade and left wheel sit on the top side of the curb for perfect edging and no precarious balancing of the machine is needed. Adjusting the wheels for curb hopping is as simple as loosening and then tightening two knobs where you want the wheels to be. You can even adjust the front wheel in towards the blade or away depending on where you need it to make your cuts.
I looked at replacement blades and the belt and you can buy the same belts and 9 inch blades that fit other larger name edgers, making them affordable and very easy to find.
I do have some issues with this machine. One, I want a bigger engine. 150cc would be ideal. 79cc is really pushing the engine and this machine will stall more often than the larger engines on the same jobs. You'll need to walk slower and recut some areas to achieve the final depth if you want a deep cut.
Two, the gas cap on this machine is not vented. Combine that with a metal gas tank sitting above the engine, and that causes a good amount of pressure to build up. Sometimes when it's hot and then shut off, the tank pressure will force a small gas leak from the carburetor. Each time you shut it off, you need to open the gas cap and let the pressure out. That is simply unacceptable and unsafe. It needs a gas cap with a small vent like every other machine. Those issues have caused me to give it a three star rating. If they increase the engine size, and vent that gas cap, this machine is five stars all day long.
Overall, it's a very nice edger but lacks in the power category. High quality built machine with all steel compnents, numerous adjustments for depth, bevel and easy curb hopping settings. It just needs a bigger engine to go with the excellent chassis and adjustment capability.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Light Weight, Easy to Store
Cons: engine too small, no vent on gas cap!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+39points
41out of 43found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 9 in. 79 cc Gas Walk-Behind Edger
from North West, Loudoun Virginia
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Received free product:Yes

Well made, performs great with pro results

PostedMarch 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It needs an easy assembly of 15 minutes and a single person can easily task it. No mixing of gas/oil, just pour the gas and set the chock to start, it’s that simple. Entire body is solid steel and will last years.
The unit starts easy, operation is very straight forward and it does a nice job edging the grass encroachments.
Side walk or curb edging, it has full capability to deliver results just as the lawn service pros. Any DIYers with no prior experience can easily operate it. The depth handle that controls the blade edging depth is at your fingertips and allows the operator to adjust depth while the unit is in operation. There are 5 depth settings and the blade can go 2.5” deep at the highest depth. The top hole is used for storage/mobility and every subsequent depth hole adds ½” to the equation.
Just follow the great tips included in the User Manual and this tool will deliver 100 percent. Pick a day when the sun is high and the soil is dry and edge in increments of ½” (drop the handle to each hole per pass) and go slow.
It edged my front yard to perfection and the compliments keep coming. I love the results it produced.
Safety glasses and outdoor graded boots is a must when operating it. Replacement blades are cheap and easy to find so recurring cost is at the minimal.
All in all, it’s a great machine for homeowners and you sure enjoy working with it.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 9 in. 79 cc Gas Walk-Behind Edger
from Cleveland, OH, USA
Received free product:Yes

Great residential grade edger

PostedMarch 2, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Right from the box it was easy to install and started up very easily.
I like that it came stock with an upgraded 3 edged blade instead of the cheap 2 edged
Thick paint and heavy gauge steel makes it feel quality
Thick padding on handle is comfortable. The rubber flap behind cutting wheel prevents debris from shooting back at you.
5 depth settings is enough to match any project and having multiple angles is a great feature too.
The gas cap is still not vented causing flooding issues.
As a residential grade unit, the 79cc does leave you wanting more power. You will need to take a little more time. It will get the job done effectively, but it will not chew through grass and weeds at a fast pace. A little patience is required.
Storage is very easy with a small footprint.
Overall a nicely featured residential grade edger
Pros: Easy to Store, starts up fast, high end stock blade
Cons: engine on the weaker side
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 9 in. 79 cc Gas Walk-Behind Edger
from Knoxville, TN, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good But Could Be Better

PostedJune 17, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This product does do what it says it will do - it starts quickly & consistently & when used with the proper amount of patience, it will produce a nice clean edge around driveways, sidewalks, etc. However, some simple fixes on Powermate's end would require a lot less patience on the user's end.
First, a blade guide would be really, really helpful. It takes a whole of of practicing & nicking the curb before you have a good feel for how to judge this thing.
Second, a way to disengage the blade without having to turn the machine off & restart it would be a major timesaver. The curb-hoping feature is nice, albeit somewhat cumbersome, but unless you have a perfectly level yard, you'll find yourself adjusting the wheels quite frequently, and every time you do, you'll have to stop & restart the machine. You also must stop it to reset the angle of the blade, but you can at least adjust the depth of the cut without stopping the engine (and other reviewers are correct - you have to start shallow & make another pass or two to get it deeper or the engine will stall).
Lastly, and I'm not sure what the quick fix on this is, but they need to come up with a way to make this piece of machinery a little less awkward. First, I finally mastered the straight line cuts, but it's incredibly difficult to get a smooth cut around a curve. Not a sharp curve either - just a rounded elbow corner of a sidewalk, for instance. Second, this thing has tipped on me twice. Not all the way over & not while in use, mind you, but while I've been trying to transport it from the front of the house to the back. Both times, it caused the engine to flood, meaning it wouldn't crank for 15 - 20 minutes. The three wheel design obviously makes it lopsided & no, you're not usually edging on uneven ground, but you do sometimes have to at least be able to push it through an area in order to use it where you want to use it. I understand that all edgers have to be a little awkward just b/c of the nature of what they do, but it seems like there has to be ways to make this a little easier to maneuver.
So, bottom line - I can easily recommend this product for anyone with a small to medium sized yard that's mostly level with lots of straight lines. If that's not you - I'm not saying don't buy it, I'm just saying be prepared to be patient & to invest some time in figuring out how to get the best results.
Pros: Cuts Well, Sturdy, Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 9 in. 79 cc Gas Walk-Behind Edger
from Virginia, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works well for me

PostedJune 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The edger requires a 10 minutes easy assembly of 3 wheels and a handle. Wheels assembly would be easier if you place the unit on top of a 1 square foot solid box/table. First time start was quick then I powered it off to scale the area I was supposed to edge. When I ran it in a test area which had a bit hard/wet clay soil, the engine stalled within a minute. Same time, a good amount of gasoline started to leak from the carburetor. Just like other reviewers mentioned, the gas cap requires a vent which is missing by design, causing the pressure to build up, resulting the gas spill. After the spill, it took some time to start again. That’s when I read the Manual to see what am I doing wrong. Manual says not to go too deep too fast which I did. It says to edge when soil is dry but I tried it few hours after the rain and soil was wet. For deeper edge, you have to make multiple passes, start with shallow depth and slowly move to deeper depth. When I followed the edging tips from the Manual, it worked quite well. So, first read the manual so you know what it does and how it does in certain conditions. Keep in mind that you are looking at a 79cc engine, so don’t expect that it will edge through everything in its way on first pass.
Mostly, I would be edging the front yard sidewalk which I had been edging using the trimmer that had always done the job but never gave a professional and even edge.
Now, edging the sidewalk/curb gave me no troubles of stalling or spilling but you do need to follow a technique to make an even edge without damaging the blade. Start from the top depth setting and then bring the depth control lever to a lower setting slowly until you think you reached the depth you desire. Once the depth is set then walk slowly and just follow the line/pattern. When edging sidewalk, blade might grind with the concrete, that’s normal.
5 depth adjustments and 3 bevel adjustments are very convenient. Edger provides the capability to adjust the rear and front wheel height to edge the curb side and I find it extremely useful. It does not acquire much space so storage is easy.
For sidewalks, driveways and curbs, it will work just fine and since I only plan to use it on sidewalk and curb only, it works well for me.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+50points
52out of 54found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 9 in. 79 cc Gas Walk-Behind Edger
from Sugar Hill, GA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Received free product:Yes

Almost Too Many Adjustments

PostedApril 22, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
It took me several times using this before I came around and started liking it. I was very used to the controls and adjustments on our old edger, and this Powermate edger is very different. Ultimately, it can do more, but is difficult to adjust perfectly.
The adjustment mechanisms to get the perfect cutting angle are the front wheel, the back right wheel, and the blade. The front wheel slides side to side and can be raised or lowered by rotating the axel. The right rear wheel can be raised or lowered. The blade can be tilted 15 degrees left or right of center, and then there are several cutting depths to choose from.
My biggest complaint is definitely that the blade is always spinning when the engine is running. Our old edger disengaged the blade when it was raised all the way up, and that makes on-the-fly adjustments much quicker and easier. However the engine easily starts back on the first pull every time, so this is a minor inconvenience once you adjust to it.
It is worth noting that the rear wheel height is very difficult to adjust, and I have had it slide while cutting a few times because my hand is too large to get a good grip on the handle to tighten it completely. I also miss the 5 degree cutting bevel increments on my old unit. 15 degrees is too much, but a slight bevel looks much better than a straight cut.
I noticed some other reviews mention the engine being underpowered or stalling, but I have not experienced this a single time. I do notice that selecting the 2nd or 3rd cutting depth is equivalent to the deepest cut on our old edger, so perhaps selecting a very deep cut could cause issues with blade rotation. If I go past the 3rd notch, I start hitting rocks and roots that make the edger difficult to control, so I would never cut that deep. Until I get that deep it handles the Georgia red clay like a champ though.
Now that I've used it a few dozen times, I think it is a very capable and versatile edger. The trick is to know which adjustments to make and how to minimize the need to stop and make adjustments. It isn't perfect, and I am sure there are more powerful and easier to use options. However this is a good value and really does meet most edging needs, though perhaps in a somewhat cumbersome manner.
Pros: Cuts Well, Accurate
Cons: Difficult to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 9 in. 79 cc Gas Walk-Behind Edger
from Sterling, CO
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Okay if you have loose soil

PostedJune 17, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We used this unit in both our front yard, and the back. Our backyard has a much harder clay mix soil, while our front yard is mostly sand. This unit worked okay in the loose sandy soil in the front yard, but I had to go VERY slowly and carefully in the backyard to keep it from bogging down in the harder soil, and definitely couldn't use the deep setting until I had made a pass with a shallower setting. I feel like this unit should work better in the clay soil, but it just didn't feel like it had enough power to really do a good job. On the plus side it was very easy to assemble, and started on the second pull. But overal disppointed with the power. Would only recommend if you have only loose, sandy doil on your property.
Pros: Small Turn Radius, Easy to Store
Cons: underpowered
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 9 in. 79 cc Gas Walk-Behind Edger
from United States
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

CLEAN CUT AND EASY TO USE!

PostedSeptember 16, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have used several edgers before this one and they have always been very difficult to start. Not this one!
The initial assembly was simple and done in just under 10 minutes. I found this edge make a clean cut and built to last.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Durable, Powerful
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 9 in. 79 cc Gas Walk-Behind Edger
from GA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Received free product:Yes

Solid Edger & Works Well..

PostedMarch 2, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This walk behind edger is a solid and good quality piece of equipment. It is well made and works well. It delivers clean edges. Minimal assembly is needed for the wheels & handle. The 79cc engine is not the most powerful but the solid chassis and adjustability of the depth, bevel & wheel height make this a good edger. It has a small footprint so it can be easily stored.
Pros: Durable, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 9 in. 79 cc Gas Walk-Behind Edger
from Louisburg, KS 66053, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Makes the yard looks like a professional is taking care of it for you.

PostedMay 21, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Some assembly is required, pretty straight forward directions to attach the handle and the wheels no brainer so follow the instructions. This edger does not require you to mix the oil and gas which is a nice feature because it is a 4 stroke. Makes easy work that would normally be time consuming and strenuous. The blade is adjustable, tilts left or right with depth control. This edger is the perfect size and does not take up much room in the garage. It seems to be well thought out. Normally I would never had bought one but now that I have used it I would never want to live without it.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 9 in. 79 cc Gas Walk-Behind Edger
from West Chester, PA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

uselessly underpowered

PostedMay 26, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had coincidentally finished half the edging that needed to be done with a manual edger just before I was sent this item to review. To give an idea of my grading curve: I have two blown discs and would still give the manual edger 5 stars -- even if they sold it at this price.
This unit, however, is simply underpowered. It works wonderfully, but at way too shallow a cut on each pass; any deeper and you will stall -- and "any deeper" is still way too shallow. Even if it got the job done in one pass, there are design "features" that would rate it as marginal: you cannot disengage the blade while the engine is running, and as you'll likely want to re-adjust the multiple options for setting the wheels and blade as you work, you have to allow the engine to stop cold each time. Added to the guarantee of stalling every few feet due to the underpowered engine, you can expect something to fatally fail after manually restarting the thing every few minutes -- more like once a minute, unless you have a perfectly level area you're edging. It took me over five times as long to do the same area I covered with the manual edger, and I'm going to have to go over it again manually anyway.
I was suspicious when I read the manual start and the engine size were both "features:" the engine is sold as a balance between power and economy; for yard work, there's no such thing: either it can get the job done or it can't; beyond that it's conceivable you might run into a fair-priced machine with a much too powerful engine, but that hasn't happened to me yet.
There are a few trillion ways to level this unbelievably lightweight machine, it instantly breaks down to a ridiculously small storage footprint, and I never had a problem restarting it -- which is too bad as all that design and engineering effort is ultimately wasted on a machine that doesn't work.
Pros: Light Weight, Easy to Store, many adjustment options
Cons: underpowered
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 9 in. 79 cc Gas Walk-Behind Edger
from Westminster, MD, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Received free product:Yes

Invaluable for lawn maintenance

PostedApril 5, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Assembly was simple out of the box, following the easy to follow included instructions. I was so glad to see that the parts that would have been most difficult were already assembled. This is a very well-made, sturdy piece of equipment. One that appears to be made to last.
Since I had no previous experience using an edger, I wanted to be sure of the proper operation before my initial use. After thoroughly reading the instruction booklet, I felt confident to power up and edge my lawn for the very first time. I was surprised at how easy it was to start and to operate, and I was actually shocked at how nice my lawn looked after my first attempt. I am proud to say I have become more accomplished with each use, and I have only experienced difficulty turning corners. I'm confident that with time, I will master those also. I most likely just need more experience. The straight areas look absolutely amazing. The difference this has edger has made in the appearance of my lawn is unbelievable.
If you want a lawn that is the envy of all your neighbors, this is something you will definitely want to purchase.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 9 in. 79 cc Gas Walk-Behind Edger
from Central, CT
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Average At Best

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Assembly was pretty easy. I just followed the manual step by step and was done within 30 minutes. Attaching the wheels was not in the manual, however, it was easy to figure out and did not really add to the assembly time drastically. Why that's not in the manual is beyond me though.
I like that the manufacturer included the oil in the box. That made it easy just to start edging right away.
The unit started on the first pull and has ever since, and that's with very little effort too. That might be the best thing about this edger.
Like most edgers there are a few different depth settings that allow the user to customize his/her edge. It can even tilt which is a nice feature, but once again not unique. It doesn't have a line over the edge guard showing where the blade is. This helps with accuracy. I had to create one with a little strip of electrical tape.
Finally, it is very underpowered. I have had experience with several different types of edgers over the past few years. I have had an older 15 year old edger similar in design to this one and another 11 year old stick edger that is a part of a combination string trimmer/edger; both are way more powerful than this unit. The only other edger that I can compare this to is one that I bought only 2 years ago. It was branded with a different manufacturer, but was way underpowered like this unit. Like this unit, the engine did not have a throttle. As a result of it being underpowered, it will not create a new edge along a flower bed because the engine will stall. However, if the only thing you need is to edge a side walk, which is what I have mainly used it for, it's great.....as long as you don't set the depth too deep.
In the end, I would only recommend this if you have light edging around the driveway, walks, or sidewalks. It cannot handle anything else, however, at this price point these days that's about all you can expect.
Pros: All In One, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 9 in. 79 cc Gas Walk-Behind Edger
from Elkridge, MD, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Received free product:Yes

Great edger, easy to use. Just takes up some space in my garage...

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I think this edger is probably best suited to someone with a lot of sidewalk, a lot of curb or someone who does lawn work professionally. Since it's a walk behind and gas powered, it is fairly large. It takes up some space in my garage. A smaller edger would probably fit better.
However, it does a good job edging and has a number of adjustments. The blade will bevel 15-degrees, and the wheels can be adjusted in order to edge along a curb. It has a four cycle engine, which I personally like. The engine is not terribly powerful, and I noticed it a few times edging new sections for the first time. The slow-downs were momentary, however, and it always cleaned it up on a second pass.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 9 in. 79 cc Gas Walk-Behind Edger
from Rochester Hills, MI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Received free product:Yes

Cuts your edging time in half. Very good quality

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have always used an electric edger that it seemed like took me forever to edge my lawn.
I can now edge my lawn in half the time without the work it used to take me as this edger slices right through with little effort.
I am very pleased with how easy and faster I can edge my lawn now.
The assembly is very easy and then just add the gas and you are ready to go. It started the first pull for me which is great.
You do need to get used to the depth you want to set your blade at so it takes a little bit of practice but once set you are good to go.
Really enjoy and I now look forward to edging my lawn.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 9 in. 79 cc Gas Walk-Behind Edger
from gb
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Received free product:Yes

Nice product but assembly was a hassle

PostedMarch 5, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Taking this out of the box it took me a while to assemble. Be sure to follow the directions very closely. Sometimes the interpretations can be hard to figure out. I am not that mechanically inclined. When I did start the edger and used it the edger was so simple to use and I am very happy with the way my lawn looked compared to the hand tool that I have.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Accurate, Self-Propelled
Cons: difficult instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 9 in. 79 cc Gas Walk-Behind Edger

Easy to Assemble, Easy to Use, Ready to Go Edger

PostedJune 9, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The Powermate Walk Behind Gas Edger is a great edger and comes almost ready to go. Just a few simple steps - like attaching the wheels and handle - and you're ready to edge. The edger blade is adjustable to 15 degrees in either direction, which is handy. It's also cool that it's easy to use - to the point that it almost feels self propelled. It performed well and readily cleaned up areas that hadn't been edged in...well, ever. Components feel high quality, and I would expect that it will run well for a long time. Looking forward to all of the clean lines in my landscape!
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Self-Propelled
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 9 in. 79 cc Gas Walk-Behind Edger
from nj
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Received free product:Yes

makes the job much easier

PostedMarch 30, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I can compare this edger to what I used to use for edging: a weed-whacker, either with a string head or a dedicated edger attachment. Wow !!! This is so much easier - you basically just walk behind, guiding it, while the machine does all the work, and much faster than the weed-whacker as well. What a revelation!
The photo shows my first test of it - kind of a tough test too - a little path made of pavers, with gaps between and some snaky curves, that was badly overgrown. As you can see, the job is a little ragged on the curves, but that's probably more my inexperience handling it than the machine itself. It made short work of the job without nicking-up the pavers. I find the results are entirely acceptable, especially for a first try. That mid-March day just kept getting colder, and I called it quits, quite satisfied with what I'd done.
The edger has all sorts of useful adjustments - two of the wheels can be adjusted to for any kind of uneven situation, and there are five depth settings. Assembly is easy - wheels, handle, a few connections, add oil ( it comes with a starter bottle ) and gas, and it started easily.
This is very much a homeowner-grade machine. The engine is a rather small, and bogs down sometimes when you push it too hard. I think perhaps tweaking the throttle setting up a bit might help with that. Still, it's twice the engine of the weed-whacker.
If you are a landscaping service, you will definitely want something with more power to stand up to constant heavy use. But for a homeowner's infrequent light use, this machine does the job, without breaking the bank, or your back.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
Cons: somewhat underpowered
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 9 in. 79 cc Gas Walk-Behind Edger
from Lake Charles, LA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Received free product:Yes

THE MOST POPULAR NEIGHBOR

PostedApril 1, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
As soon as I start to use the Walk-Behind Edger, a couple of neighbor's started to watch me.
The machine was so easy to use, and offered me the ability to make my yard look great.
By the time I was done with my yard, which was not long with this machine. I had a crowd of people gathered around looking over the Edger.
The best compliment I had was from the wife, who said " It looks like a Golf Course"
One tip-This requires (2) 14mm sockets to install the rear wheels, I unfortunately only had 1 on hand, no big deal though, it gave me another reason to shop at Home Depot.
Pros: Durable, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Store
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 9 in. 79 cc Gas Walk-Behind Edger
from Litchfield, MI 49252, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Homeowner's Edge for manicured property!

PostedJune 7, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The edger comes partially assembled and the rest is easy. The engine oil comes with the unit and the engine uses regular gasoline.
The edger has adjustable height wheels so it may be used along a city curb next to a grass area. I have not used that feature because we live in an area that does not have curbs. That adjustment looks simple to do.
The edger goes best in a straight line. When used on a curved walk or driveway, the groove the cutting wheel makes will be wider because the diameter of the cutting wheel forms a chord of the arc. The adjustment for cutting depth is a very easy to operate lever. It is nice to outline a flower garden area.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable, Powerful, Easy to Store
Cons: oil overflow on initial setup.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>