728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Resilient Vinyl Planks or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 7.5 in. x 47.6 in. Red Mahogany Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (19.8 sq. ft./case)

7.5 in. x 47.6 in. Red Mahogany Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (19.8 sq. ft./case)

Allure Ultra gives you the richness and deep texture of hardwood flooring with luxurious embossing for a beautiful look and feel. Dramatic 7.5 in. x 48 in. planks are quiet under foot, easy to maintain and offer state of the art Uniclic installation technology. Allure Ultra's simple angle-slide-lock installation system allows for easier, no-glue installation, saving time, effort and money. Plus, a commercial grade wear layer gives Allure Ultra superior durability that can stand up to heavy traffic at home or in your office. With Allure Ultra, you can transform any room in your home quickly and easily, saving you time, effort and money.
Overall rating:
4.438 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
81%of customersrecommend this product13 of 16reviews
Rating Breakdown 16 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(11)
4
(2)
3
(2)
2
(1)
1
(0)
Appearance 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
81%of customersrecommend this product13 of 16reviews
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer reviews for 7.5 in. x 47.6 in. Red Mahogany Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (19.8 sq. ft./case)
Review 1 for 7.5 in. x 47.6 in. Red Mahogany Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (19.8 sq. ft./case)
from New Albany, OH, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is a great flooring product

PostedJuly 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have spent over $70,000 on my basement man cave and the flooring was the last step were I didn't want to cut corners. I originally wanted laminate but the concrete flooring was too uneven. I ended up going with the Allure Ultra where price was actualy more and I had concerns since it was vinyl and thinner. However, after getting it installed I am extremely pleased. The floor looks great and friends & family love it.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Looks Like Wood, Sturdy, Looks Great, Looks High End
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 7.5 in. x 47.6 in. Red Mahogany Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (19.8 sq. ft./case)
from Baltimore, MD, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very beautiful floor, but...

PostedNovember 21, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have now laid about 900 square feet of this flooring across 4 rooms and the entry of my home's ground floor. I've done it all alone and it's taken me about 5 weekends, so far, including laying new sub-floor in two of the rooms. Except for those two rooms, the rest of the flooring has been laid directly on top of an old, cracked ceramic tile floor without any underlayment.
The floors are absolutely gorgeous and the new material is much warmer and quieter than the old. It's also soft and "cushiony", which is a very nice change.
The vinyl material is easily worked with my standard construction knife, but I've gone through 3 full packages of replacement blades. The boxes of planks come with plain paper between them which make very handy templates for problem areas like door jambs. I really like the fact that I can sit and whittle the planks with the knife around problems for a custom fit. It sure beats having to go to a saw to make all the cuts like with hardwood or ceramic.
I cannot make any firm judgement on the durability yet as it's not even 2 months old. I did have to replace several planks, not once but twice, because the refrigerator scratched them when trying to get it back in its hole. We have had to install felt pads on the bottoms of every chair and table leg in the house.
The planks are not too hard to install, but they aren't quite as easy as the ads would suggest. The locking feature is NOT as positive as I could wish and I can see many areas where the joints have relaxed to the point that I can see the gray of the material in the joints rather than the brown of the surface pattern. My wife and others who have seen the floor all love the appearance and don't mention these flaws, so I am not considering ripping them out and redoing them, but I am somewhat disappointed in that aspect of the floor.
I did use an installation kit (intended for laminate or hardwood flooring) that a friend loaned me and I seriously recommend it to others. The kit has a hard rubber block with various ledges running lengthwise on it. The installer places the appropriate ledge against the outside edge of the newly installed plank and then uses a hammer to try to finalize the lock with the previous row. There's also a metal bar with hooked ends that is useful when you get to a wall and can't get directly to the outside edge to hit it. The installation instructions that come with this flooring do NOT mention the need for any extra tools, but it is a LOT easier to install if you have that kit.
One other issue I have with this flooring is that they do not offer any accessories, like thresholds, for finishing the rooms. I have taken great care to try to line things up at the exposed edges, but they don't really look properly finished. Another problem is with trying to find something to use to clean it. You cannot use a regular upright vacuum cleaner on it and they warn you not to use regular cleaning liquids, either. They recommend some biodegradable stuff that you can supposedly buy at Home Depot, but the ones in Maryland don't carry any of it. So far we've been limited to a broom and plain water with a sponge.
So, I guess my final word on this flooring is this: it is beautiful and relatively easy to install (compared to hard wood) and I love the fact that the "Ultra" flooring is 100% waterproof (do be careful not to accidentally buy the non-Ultra, adhesive-bonded stuff, which isn't). I am somewhat disappointed with the locking feature, but I don't know that anybody else's system would be any better. I was more than a little annoyed when my fridge tore it up twice, but it has held up well other than that, although that has only been a matter of weeks, not years.
I will attach a couple photos so folks can judge for yourselves how it looks in my case. Sorry about the ones that are upside-down. I've removed and reloaded them 4 times, but the server keeps inverting them for some reason.
Pros: Feels Like Wood, High Quality of Material, Looks Like Wood, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Comfortable, Great Accent, Looks High End
Cons: Difficult to Clean, needs much precautionary effort to avoid damage
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+28points
30out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 7.5 in. x 47.6 in. Red Mahogany Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (19.8 sq. ft./case)
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Run Fast. Run Far.

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Whoever said this was the easiest floor to install needs to be slapped. Seriously, there is nothing easy about this floor. It isn't durable either. It was scratched during installation. The part that isn't scratched looks nice but it was not worth the money or the time it took to install.
Cons: Difficult to Install, Scratches Easily
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 7.5 in. x 47.6 in. Red Mahogany Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (19.8 sq. ft./case)

Product "looks" good, but... doesn't stay put.

PostedAugust 1, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We installed the Allure Ultra Plank flooring and within a matter of weeks it started separating. Pulled up the flooring and reinstalled and once again, in a matter of weeks it separated. Contacted the manufacturer and was told to install a new subfloor. Although we had a flat clean subfloor we installed another layer just to criss cross any seams. Installed the floor again, within a matter of weeks it separated. We fixed the area that separated and NAILED IT DOWN....now another area is separating. Four times of having to install is more than one can tolerate. Not sure what product I will installed next....but it will not be this.
Pros: Looks Great, Easy to Clean
Cons: does not stay together
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 7.5 in. x 47.6 in. Red Mahogany Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (19.8 sq. ft./case)
from Olympia, WA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fantasically easy to install but scratched the first day

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Fantastically easy to install using a chop saw, table saw and scroll saw - no idea how they do it with just a utility knife. Love the way it looks but terribly disappointed in the durability. It already has 4 scratches in it and it's only day two. We didn't drag anything over it so I can't imagine what caused the scratches and in several different places. I'm hoping that i can use a marker or something to fill in the white left behind.
Pros: Looks Like Wood, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern
Cons: Scratches Easily
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 7.5 in. x 47.6 in. Red Mahogany Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (19.8 sq. ft./case)
from Frederick, Md
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Sample took a beating

PostedMay 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have a rental that had bad tenants and actually burnt holes in my carpet throughout my house. So I decided no more carpet. I also have a restaurant and was looking for new flooring for it. I need something that would stand up to high traffic and spills, carpet is just to hard to clean and maintain, and I have a nice restaurant and want a flooring that looks great, is easy to clean and wont need to be replaced in a few years. I got a sample and took a blow torch to it, took knifes to it and beat it with a hammer, boiled it and froze it. When it held up I ordered it for my townhouse....installation was difficult at first to say the least then we got the hang of it and it went much faster....now it looks awesome, and now after 4 months in the rental I am going to install it in my restaurant dining area and bar. I think the struggle getting it installed will be well worth it when it outlasts other flooring. I am confident it will hold up great. I only wish they made stair pieces that matched. Lastly, I have been very critical of other products so it is rare I find a product I like as much as this one.
+11points
14out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 7.5 in. x 47.6 in. Red Mahogany Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (19.8 sq. ft./case)

Great appearance, installation not as easy as video

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Installed 500 square feet of Allure Ultra in a basement. Really like the appearance - as close to real wood as you're going to get. The installation is not as easy as the video, but do-able. If one row is just a little off, the entire alignment will be difficult. Best to align the first few rows away from the walls, because walls probably aren't exactly straight, and then slide those first few rows into place.
Pros: Looks Like Wood, Looks Great, Easy to Clean
Cons: Difficult to Install
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 7.5 in. x 47.6 in. Red Mahogany Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (19.8 sq. ft./case)
from Jefferson City, MO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent quality flooring was installed in one day by a friend of ours who lays flooring. It looks exquisite!

PostedJuly 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Superior product, easy installation. We had my study at home installed in one day; an 20' x 28' room. Looks amazing. Delivered to our door, 12 months - no interest. It couldn't be easier.
One important suggestion/consumer need: Offer bull-nose step strips and thresholds to match and I'd put it everywhere in my home.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Looks Like Wood, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Looks High End, installs quickly
Cons: no bull nose ends available for steps, no thresholds strips available.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 7.5 in. x 47.6 in. Red Mahogany Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (19.8 sq. ft./case)
from Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Looking Flooring

PostedJanuary 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product was easy to install-the strips will click together so you know they are locked- and gives you a really durable flooring.Plus if a strip gets damaged you can replace it-nice feature.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Looks Like Wood, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Easy to Install, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 7.5 in. x 47.6 in. Red Mahogany Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (19.8 sq. ft./case)

installation

PostedJuly 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
the flooring is advertised as the easiest floor yet or something to that effect---not-not- not. This is the third floor I have put down in these rooms and this one is by far the hardest to instal. it looks really good and I hope this is the last time I have to do this. But if I do it again it will not be with this product. Not because I don't like it but it is just too hard to get down right.
My opinion for whatever its' worth
+7points
15out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 7.5 in. x 47.6 in. Red Mahogany Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (19.8 sq. ft./case)

The product was easy to install after a learning curve.

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It was as advertised I was looking for a good look and something that was a good price.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Great Instructions, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 7.5 in. x 47.6 in. Red Mahogany Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (19.8 sq. ft./case)

Excellent product

PostedJanuary 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this product was very easy to use. Installation was simple,it cut very easily and if you made a mistake you could take it apart and redo it. I installed it before the holidays and it only took two days (very large room 17 x 25).extremely affordable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 7.5 in. x 47.6 in. Red Mahogany Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (19.8 sq. ft./case)
from Ocean Shores, WA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Installation takes very little time, clip together feature is great....

PostedApril 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Replaced the carpet in my 5th wheel RV with this product. Looks like a million bucks. A very practical, clean and durable for this application. The ease of installation and the fact it's water proof make this product perfect...
Pros: High Quality of Material, Looks Like Wood, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Modern, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Looks High End, Effective
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 7.5 in. x 47.6 in. Red Mahogany Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (19.8 sq. ft./case)

The floors is great

PostedJune 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Got for kids and love it. Easy to clean and great with pets.
Pros: Feels Like Wood, Looks Like Wood, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Modern, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Looks High End, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 7.5 in. x 47.6 in. Red Mahogany Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (19.8 sq. ft./case)
from Merrick, New York, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

I'm pleased with the floor. I think it was a good value, but I'm not really sure.

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I'm pleased with the product and it's features. It's too soon for me to judge it's performance.
Pros: Looks Like Wood, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Modern, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Looks High End, Effective
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 7.5 in. x 47.6 in. Red Mahogany Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (19.8 sq. ft./case)

Love this floor!!

PostedOctober 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The installation takes a little getting used to but once you are under way it goes fast! It looks amazing. I'm blown away by how good this stuff looks once it's down. I'm ready to order more to put in another room... hopefully it will be back in stock soon!
Pros: High Quality of Material, Looks Like Wood, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Modern, Easy to Clean, Looks High End, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.