728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Seeds & Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Digital Moisture Meter Plus

Digital Moisture Meter Plus

A new digital technology that takes the guess work out of determining the water needs for lawns, flowers, shrubs and houseplants.
Overall rating:
2.556 / 5
2.6
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
44%of customersrecommend this product4 of 9reviews
Rating Breakdown 9 reviews
2.6 out of 5.0
5
(1)
4
(3)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(4)
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.7 out of 5.0
2.7 out of 5
44%of customersrecommend this product4 of 9reviews
Customer reviews for Digital Moisture Meter Plus
Review 1 for Digital Moisture Meter Plus
from Post Falls, ID
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Reassuring support for new gardeners

PostedApril 16, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm brand new to gardening, but love it. Last season our cucumbers got stressed because of too little water and were bitter as a result, so I bought this beauty to help me judge when I needed more water. It works great. I would like to say that another reviewer immersed the probe in water and got a reading of 4.5 out of 9. I did the same thing and it got me thinking. The meter probably measures conductivity through the soil which is directly a function of the moisture present. Distilled water contains no electrolytes to conduct electricity, so that would probably give you a reading of zero. The soil is crammed with atoms that aid the conduction of electricity, so that is why you could get higher readings in soil than in tap water. One warning; do not lose the chart. I can't find mine, and so far haven't been able to locate the information online.
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Functionality, Good Shape
Cons: no reference ranges printed on the unit itself
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Digital Moisture Meter Plus
from Appletoln, Wisconsin
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Worst purchase ever

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product is a piece of junk and useless. The digital read out is VERY DIFFICULT to read. The only way I can get a reading at all is to put the probe directly into water. The reading is then only 4.5 to 5 and the highest reading is a 9.0..... so how can that be?
Worst purchase ever made at Home Depot..... and I love that store!
Pros: none
Cons: doesn't work at all.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Digital Moisture Meter Plus
from Dumont,NJ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Digital Moisture Meter

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Product does what it is designed to do superbly. The digital readout is too small for elderly eyes to see clearly. The built in plant library is limited but could be suplimented by a small booklet categorizing plant types and their requirements.
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Install, Functionality, Stylish, Good Shape, Durable, Easy to Clean, Strong, Great Quality
Cons: read out too small need reference booklet.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Digital Moisture Meter Plus
from Owosso, MI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product

PostedFebruary 28, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy to use. Makes taking care of all my plants a breeze. The digital display is easy to read. I think for this price it should have also had the ph feature. Otherwise a great product.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Digital Moisture Meter Plus
from Mass.
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Can't trust it.

PostedApril 20, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
A glass of water has a moisture level between 6 and 7 and the screen is hard to see. Returned it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Digital Moisture Meter Plus
from Tampa Bay Florida
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

EXCELLENT PRODUCT!

PostedApril 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The moisture meter is a tremendous help besides being a great product. No more overwatering plants. Also, I am having fun using it. I definitely recommend it.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Digital Moisture Meter Plus
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

just ok

PostedMay 31, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I just purchased this meter yesterday. When I opened it to test ot on my houseplants, the display was very hard to read. I went to my local cvs and purchased new batteries, but the display is still very hard to see. I will be returning it and trying another to see f its any better. On another note the batteries are 3.99 a piece a d the unit requires 3 of them.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Digital Moisture Meter Plus

Did not work

PostedJune 24, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Item would not turn on, returned immediately. I tried to use as soon as I got the product home.
Cons: does not work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Digital Moisture Meter Plus
from California
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Batteries dead in meter

PostedJuly 15, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Batteries included are dead. Had to take two back.
-7points
1out of 9found this review helpful.