728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Seeds & Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Digital pH Meter

Digital pH Meter

Plants need the correct pH (acidity/alkalinity) level which control how well plants utilize the nutrients available in your soil. This meter will help determine your soil pH level.
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
21%of customersrecommend this product3 of 14reviews
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
2.0 out of 5.0
5
(2)
4
(0)
3
(2)
2
(3)
1
(8)
Quality 
1.9 out of 5.0
1.9 out of 5
Value 
2.1 out of 5.0
2.1 out of 5
21%of customersrecommend this product3 of 14reviews
Customer reviews for Digital pH Meter
Review 1 for Digital pH Meter
CAPTAINJOE
from Virginia Beach, VA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great concept, however it doesn't work!!

PostedFebruary 25, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Stays at 7.0, regardless where in the garden/yard that the tested was done. I returned my first ph meter at the recommendation of the manufacturer, only to get a second one that also failed to move off 7.0. I suggest the store remove this brand of ph meter from their shelves.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Digital pH Meter
Gardening101
from Marysville, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Reads everything at 7.0

PostedApril 17, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
As others have noted, this inexpensive meter reads everything at 7.0. Such unreliability calls to question other Ferry Morris products although I must admit their seeds have performed well.
Cons: unreliable
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Digital pH Meter
NoNICK

everything reads 7.0

PostedMarch 16, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
What a peice of junk.
It reads everything at 7.0.
Yes it changes for a second either up or down then bang right back to 7.
4 types of soil mix 7.
Acid fert added to soil 7.
Coffee grounds 7.
Cola 7. most colas are 3 to 4.....
+15points
16out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Digital pH Meter
MDGardener

Does not Function - Complete Waste of Money

PostedApril 30, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
As noted by other reviews, everything reads as a "7" on this non-functional piece of garbage, regardless of the actual pH. I tried this on a number of things with know pH and it invariably does not change from "7".
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Digital pH Meter
Wferry
from Youngtown,Ohio
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product anybody that can read directions should own one

PostedAugust 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
When I first got it I was confused on how to use the meter diections not so good but I found great direction's on-line and it's been working great for me the garden and the yard. I use it everywhere I might have a soil isue and Pretty much if I do what I'm supose to it is a great tool to own.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Functionality, Great Quality
Cons: directions not so good on pakage
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Digital pH Meter
Jimmy
from San Francisco Bay, California, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

may need to calibrate

PostedAugust 20, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Mine also reads 7.0 no mater what test. However, I was told at the local Hydroponics store you have to calibrate them (buy a set of solutions) I no longer have the paper work that came with the meter to verify. Maybe none of us read the instructions.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Digital pH Meter
birdchic
from al
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

14 dollar lesson

PostedJuly 4, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
7.0 - wherever I put it, how can this be?
nuff said.
Cons: it's stuck!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Digital pH Meter
James17
from Highlands, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

digital ph meter

PostedMay 15, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The first ph meter I purchased did not function, but it was easily replaced with one that did work. I have had no problem with this product.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Digital pH Meter
samb
from Long Island, New York, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

not satisfactory

PostedApril 16, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
i bought this from home depot
does not give any readings
i am very disappointed
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Digital pH Meter
Victoria

Dead on Arrival

PostedFebruary 29, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The product would only turn on for half a second and would then shut off. Verry disappointed.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Digital pH Meter
Nanome

Research before buying

PostedApril 19, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I needed a pH meter in order to test out the pH of liquid products. However, if I had read any of the reviews beforehand I would not have made the purchase. I tested products whose pH were known ( vinegar, aloe vera, conditioners) and the readings were all improper...
Ive defintely learned that patience is a virtue....should have used amazon. I am returning it now.
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Digital pH Meter
ACinSC
from South Carolina
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female

Great time saver

PostedApril 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
There was a time, when planning your garden, that you needed to take samples to the local extension office so you could correct the soil. Now, a quick check with your meter allows you to make the necessary corrections right away. Also, if you take a cutting from one of your favorite plants that thrives in one corner of the yard and find it just keels over dead in the new plot, it could be the conditions are not right. Again, a very quick check tells you either to amend the soil or plant something else and treasure the little corner of the yard where your plant does grow. Glad this handy tool is now in my arsenal.
-9points
1out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Digital pH Meter
RonP
from Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not so Easy to Use -- if you read instructions

PostedDecember 30, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The back of the package says, "Easy to Use.....". But, if you read the instruction sheet, it gets very very complicated. The Ferry-Morse web-site does not even know the product exists.
Doubt if I will try it before I return it unless I get a response from Ferry-Morse.
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Digital pH Meter
7224Joe

good for it's price,

PostedFebruary 28, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
not so sure about the accuracy. but probably will work better on a liquid solution
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Digital pH Meter
Marc

Does the job!

PostedFebruary 14, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The item does the job well. The product finish feels kind of cheap though.
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.