728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Tile Tools & Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Quick-Pitch Standard Shower Kit

Quick-Pitch Standard Shower Kit

Mark E Industries, Inc. the inventor of the tile industry leading least expensive shower pan, tile ready shower base installation system manufactured in the USA introduces Goof Proof Showers. With our system one can construct any size or shape shower base and shower pan with single or multiple shower curb thresholds, left, right or centered drain, wheelchair accessible and ADA compliant tile ready showers. All kits have the built in code required slope and can be used with any shower base pan liner system currently on the market today. Quick-Pitch Standard Kit permits construction of a standard 36 in. x 60 in. shower areas with a centered drain, or custom shower areas where the drain is within 36 in. of each wall.Included in each package is one each Center Ring and 6 each Standard Float Sticks (1 in. to 1 3/4 in. taper x 36 in. length) that attach in any of the 24 slots on the Center Ring.
Overall rating:
4.302 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(43 reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product34 of 37reviews
Rating Breakdown 43 reviews
4.3 out of 5
5
(26)
4
(11)
3
(1)
2
(3)
1
(2)
Appearance 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Quality 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
92%of customersrecommend this product34 of 37reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for Quick-Pitch Standard Shower Kit
Review 1 for Quick-Pitch Standard Shower Kit
from Knoxville, TN, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good for First-timers

PostedAugust 14, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Having never laid a shower pan before and with very little deck mud experience, I opted to spring for the Pre-Pitch and Quick Pitch systems. They definitely made the process much easier & I'm confident improved my end result. The system is very easy to use & there are great videos on the company’s website that detail how the product should be installed. Once you’ve measured and cut your float sticks (I used a circular saw to cut mine but they’re just PVC, so they’re pretty easy to cut), they press into the ring & sit over your drain & you just fill one cell at a time, screeding the deck mud until it’s even with the top of the sticks. It’s important to note that because it sits over the drain screws, it adds an additional ¼ of an inch to the height of the shower base. Initially, I was judging where the shower floor would line up off the height of the sticks, but it ended up being slightly higher (not a big deal unless you’re pushing the minimum 2” interior curb height above your drain).
My only complaint is that most showers, if done as they suggest, will require 8 sticks and they only give you 6. I feel like at this price, the customer deserves a full 8 sticks without having to purchase an add-on. With that said, I didn’t purchase additional sticks and still made it work. It was a little trickier in the two wider cells, but nothing too bad.
All in all, it’s a major timesaver & it’s easy to use. I definitely recommend both the Pre Pitch & the Quick Pitch to anyone who’s even a little unsure about their ability to evenly lay a shower pan at the correct pitch.
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Quick-Pitch Standard Shower Kit
from Woodstock, IL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Well thought out product

PostedFebruary 16, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
After 30 years of installing shower pans it took me a couple tries at this product before it sold me. I can use this with any drain, but I do have a preferred chrome drain that is thinner than most of the cheaper plastic drains that most plumbers leave me. The best part of this pitch kit is the opening that is left at the drain that allows the secondary drain holes at the liner clamp to be open and free of concrete or pea gravel that usually would hamper the draining of water that soaks past the grout.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Quick-Pitch Standard Shower Kit
from Winters, CA 95694, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product was easy to use

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have a variety of previous experience doing home remodel and repair, however this was the first time doing a shower pan. I used the Goof Proof slope sticks to help define a smooth, even, surface for the shower floor, prior to tile. The slope sticks worked out really well!!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Quick-Pitch Standard Shower Kit
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good quality not right for my install. Returned

PostedJune 24, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This product seem good to use after using the pre pitch system which worked great, but the drain did not want sit low enough and it would have made my shower slope really high towards my step in part of the shower. This is why I returned. If ring was about half the size it probably would have been a perfect product
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Quick-Pitch Standard Shower Kit
from Rural Hall, NC, USA

Excellant Product

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've been in the tile trade for 30+ years and still enjoy the ease of this product to do quick slopes for custom made shower pans. You may wish to obtain 2 extra sticks so you can get a complete "asteric" on the floor.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, no brainer
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
11out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Quick-Pitch Standard Shower Kit
from Seabrook, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

A must for custom showers

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I have used this product many times and will continue to use it as it make the job a lot easier and gives you a finished product that the customer loves.
Pros: Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Quick-Pitch Standard Shower Kit
from Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No brainer

PostedMarch 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I'm a wannabe remodeler. I'm remodeling my seventh house and this was my third custom shower. Piece of cake. Make sure whatever model drain and its associated drain flange you use is good and level and the top of the flange is at or near your rough floor height, glued in and set with a level mortar/bedding sand mix base, etc. Set the goof proof ring on the flange bolts and follow the rest of the easy directions. My only complaint is I wish the kit came with eight sticks instead of six to make troweling in the bedding sand mix a little easier between the sticks.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Quick-Pitch Standard Shower Kit
from Blue Ridge, GA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good Product for beginners.

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Helps insure the pitch is correct for the beginner. It requires more mortar than normal for it builds it up to 1 1/2" at center.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Quick-Pitch Standard Shower Kit
from Santa Fe, NM
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Do not leave in the sun!

PostedAugust 8, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The issue was I staged these materials on our back patio and sun exposure ruined these. They are totally unusable now. I had no idea the plastic was of such a delicate nature. $80 down the drain. I will build the base the old fashioned way.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
Cons: Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-23points
0out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Quick-Pitch Standard Shower Kit
from Omaha, NE
Gender:Male

Easy to install

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've never done any shower base before. This product made it extremely easy!
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Quick-Pitch Standard Shower Kit
from Salem, oregon
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A good timesaver

PostedDecember 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
It was easy to use and helped get the slope just right.
Pros: Easy to Install, Effective
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Quick-Pitch Standard Shower Kit
from Redmond, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Saved my Bacon

PostedFebruary 28, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I'd heard about these online, but was unable to find locally (Seattle area) -- not even at Home Depot. Allowed me to easily set the final slope for my shower.
Note that you need both pre-pitch and quick-pitch for a complete solution: this was not clear in the write-ups that I found online.
My two complaints: (a) very expensive for a few hunks of plastic, and (b) could do with at least 2 more angled rails (they ship 6, really needs 8).
And to this point I have both a complaint (just voiced) and a rave. I completed pouring the floor late on a Sunday: late enough that the final batch of mix was done in the dark. You know how it goes when you're in a hurry -- not so well. And in this case I wound up with a low spot in between widely spaced rails that I didn't notice for 24 hours. Some online research indicated that the only correct fix is to remove the concrete and re-pour. That turned out to be easy, and because the quick-pitch defines a clean zone, it was easy to re-pour and get the slope right. I have a friend who, after two attempts (literally two floors poured on top of each other), still has a low spot. He poured without this aid.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Quick-Pitch Standard Shower Kit
from Michigan
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Saves Headaches

PostedNovember 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The quick pitch system is simple to use and the regular kit did my shower floor. Unrelated to the product is the fact that I used the Kerdi Drain System which I rested on top of the quick pitch sticks. This threw off the slope a bit . So if you are using the kerdi system along with quick pitch, cut the sticks short, so they just come up to the lip of the kerdi drain instead of under the drain. Overall it worked well.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Quick-Pitch Standard Shower Kit
from Erie, PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great do-it-yourself tool

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Easy to use product that makes creating a tile ready shower basin simple. Instructions were easy to follow and I was able to create a shower basin at a fraction of the cost of a pre-made basin. I am a first time user and will use this product again when I remodel.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Quick-Pitch Standard Shower Kit
from New Orleans
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Use every time!

PostedOctober 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am a remodeler in the New Orleans area and started using the quick pitch system about a year ago. I've used it 6 times already and order one every time a make a shower. Gets the right pitch fast and easy!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Quick-Pitch Standard Shower Kit
from Texas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Product

PostedMarch 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I bought this product so I could remodel my Master Bathroom. Great product, the only flaw I found was this universal center ring will not work with square drains. If you plan on installing a square drain order Model # QPUCR-108.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Quick-Pitch Standard Shower Kit
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked well.

PostedJanuary 9, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
It worked well, but I would like two more legs to ensure slope is consistent. The included legs worked fine; the spacing between two of the legs were greater than my trowel. In the future, I will buy an extra kit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Quick-Pitch Standard Shower Kit
from Las Vegas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quick-Pitch Standard Shower Kit

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product made building my shower pan fast and very easy
Pros: Great Instructions, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Quick-Pitch Standard Shower Kit
from Arkansas, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Little Product For The Amateur Or Pro!

PostedMarch 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had never build my own shower pan before but when I saw this device on line I thought I could do it. My shower pan turned out beautifully. Now I have a perfect shower and the satisfaction of doing it myself. With this device, YOU CAN DO IT. Whether you have never built your own shower pan or have done several, this great little tool will help make you job easier.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Quick-Pitch Standard Shower Kit
from tucson, as

Overall a great idea and makes it easier

PostedMarch 7, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
My only advice is to make sure you pack in the mortor in and around the sticks really well.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>