728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Shower Stalls & Kits or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Quick-Pitch Standard Shower Kit

Quick-Pitch Standard Shower Kit

Mark E Industries, Inc. the inventor of the tile industry leading least expensive shower pan, tile ready shower base installation system manufactured in the USA introduces Goof Proof Showers.. With our system one can construct any size or shape shower base and shower pan with single or multiple shower curb thresholds, left, right or centered drain, wheelchair accessible and ADA compliant tile ready showers. All kits have the built in code required slope and can be used with any shower base pan liner system currently on the market today. Quick-Pitch Standard Kit permits construction of a standard 36 in. x 60 in. shower areas with a centered drain, or custom shower areas where the drain is within 36 in. of each wall.Included in each package is one each Center Ring and 6 each Standard Float Sticks (1 in. to 1 3/4 in. taper x 36 in. length) that attach in any of the 24 slots on the Center Ring.
Overall rating:
4.333 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(33 reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product26 of 29reviews
Rating Breakdown 33 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(22)
4
(6)
3
(1)
2
(2)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product26 of 29reviews
Customer reviews for Quick-Pitch Standard Shower Kit
Review 1 for Quick-Pitch Standard Shower Kit
from Knoxville, TN, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good for First-timers

PostedAugust 14, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Having never laid a shower pan before and with very little deck mud experience, I opted to spring for the Pre-Pitch and Quick Pitch systems. They definitely made the process much easier & I'm confident improved my end result. The system is very easy to use & there are great videos on the company’s website that detail how the product should be installed. Once you’ve measured and cut your float sticks (I used a circular saw to cut mine but they’re just PVC, so they’re pretty easy to cut), they press into the ring & sit over your drain & you just fill one cell at a time, screeding the deck mud until it’s even with the top of the sticks. It’s important to note that because it sits over the drain screws, it adds an additional ¼ of an inch to the height of the shower base. Initially, I was judging where the shower floor would line up off the height of the sticks, but it ended up being slightly higher (not a big deal unless you’re pushing the minimum 2” interior curb height above your drain).
My only complaint is that most showers, if done as they suggest, will require 8 sticks and they only give you 6. I feel like at this price, the customer deserves a full 8 sticks without having to purchase an add-on. With that said, I didn’t purchase additional sticks and still made it work. It was a little trickier in the two wider cells, but nothing too bad.
All in all, it’s a major timesaver & it’s easy to use. I definitely recommend both the Pre Pitch & the Quick Pitch to anyone who’s even a little unsure about their ability to evenly lay a shower pan at the correct pitch.
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Quick-Pitch Standard Shower Kit
from Winters, CA 95694, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product was easy to use

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a variety of previous experience doing home remodel and repair, however this was the first time doing a shower pan. I used the Goof Proof slope sticks to help define a smooth, even, surface for the shower floor, prior to tile. The slope sticks worked out really well!!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Quick-Pitch Standard Shower Kit
from Santa Fe, NM
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Do not leave in the sun!

PostedAugust 8, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The issue was I staged these materials on our back patio and sun exposure ruined these. They are totally unusable now. I had no idea the plastic was of such a delicate nature. $80 down the drain. I will build the base the old fashioned way.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
Cons: Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-10points
0out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Quick-Pitch Standard Shower Kit
from Houston, TX
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked well

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I liked the features of having the predetermined slope, as well as the holes to allow mortar to easily pass through the guide rails. It allowed me to have an accurate slope of my shower pan. I wish it had more rails. I had a 36" shower pan with offset drain. I wanted to have rail at each corner, as well as a guide rail in between. This would have allowed my trowel to touch a guide as I was screeding and finishing the bed. The description said it was made for my size pan, Maybe it works fine for others with the given number of rails, but I still would have liked the extra rails. When I buy the kit again, I will buy two. I liked the idea. On all the Goof Proof models, it was easier for my to use a Fein-type saw.
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: not enough rails
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Quick-Pitch Standard Shower Kit
from Rural Hall, NC, USA

Excellant Product

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've been in the tile trade for 30+ years and still enjoy the ease of this product to do quick slopes for custom made shower pans. You may wish to obtain 2 extra sticks so you can get a complete "asteric" on the floor.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, no brainer
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
11out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Quick-Pitch Standard Shower Kit
from Seabrook, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

A must for custom showers

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I have used this product many times and will continue to use it as it make the job a lot easier and gives you a finished product that the customer loves.
Pros: Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Quick-Pitch Standard Shower Kit
from langhorne pa
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good tool for proper shower float

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Worked well. Would use quick pitch again. Need to order another pack to make work so they were not further then the recommend distance apart.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Quick-Pitch Standard Shower Kit
from New Orleans
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Use every time!

PostedOctober 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am a remodeler in the New Orleans area and started using the quick pitch system about a year ago. I've used it 6 times already and order one every time a make a shower. Gets the right pitch fast and easy!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Quick-Pitch Standard Shower Kit
from Redmond, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Saved my Bacon

PostedFebruary 28, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I'd heard about these online, but was unable to find locally (Seattle area) -- not even at Home Depot. Allowed me to easily set the final slope for my shower.
Note that you need both pre-pitch and quick-pitch for a complete solution: this was not clear in the write-ups that I found online.
My two complaints: (a) very expensive for a few hunks of plastic, and (b) could do with at least 2 more angled rails (they ship 6, really needs 8).
And to this point I have both a complaint (just voiced) and a rave. I completed pouring the floor late on a Sunday: late enough that the final batch of mix was done in the dark. You know how it goes when you're in a hurry -- not so well. And in this case I wound up with a low spot in between widely spaced rails that I didn't notice for 24 hours. Some online research indicated that the only correct fix is to remove the concrete and re-pour. That turned out to be easy, and because the quick-pitch defines a clean zone, it was easy to re-pour and get the slope right. I have a friend who, after two attempts (literally two floors poured on top of each other), still has a low spot. He poured without this aid.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Quick-Pitch Standard Shower Kit
from Staten Island, NY, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellant

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
First time DIY or Pro's this and the the other products are the best. Makes the job much easier
Pros: Performs Well, Looks Great
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Quick-Pitch Standard Shower Kit
from Arkansas, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Little Product For The Amateur Or Pro!

PostedMarch 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had never build my own shower pan before but when I saw this device on line I thought I could do it. My shower pan turned out beautifully. Now I have a perfect shower and the satisfaction of doing it myself. With this device, YOU CAN DO IT. Whether you have never built your own shower pan or have done several, this great little tool will help make you job easier.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Quick-Pitch Standard Shower Kit
from Magnolia, NC 28453, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

GREAT PRODUCT TO USE

PostedApril 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
SIMPLE QUICK TO INSTALL FOR THE DIY PERSON WITH NO SKILL IN FLOOR LEVELING.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Quick-Pitch Standard Shower Kit
from tucson, as

Overall a great idea and makes it easier

PostedMarch 7, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
My only advice is to make sure you pack in the mortor in and around the sticks really well.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Quick-Pitch Standard Shower Kit
from Redlands,Ca. USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

easy to install

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just watch the vedio-easy to install-goes together easy-trim any excess and your on your way. I great customer service with question that I had about the Quick Pitch Shower Kit.
I ordered the kit and was told it would take 5 to 7 working days. I picked it up from Home Depot on the 4th day.
Home Depot take good care of their customers. Thank You
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Quick-Pitch Standard Shower Kit
from Alabama
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to use.

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy to use and install. Directions were self explanatory.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Quick-Pitch Standard Shower Kit
from Texas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Product

PostedMarch 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this product so I could remodel my Master Bathroom. Great product, the only flaw I found was this universal center ring will not work with square drains. If you plan on installing a square drain order Model # QPUCR-108.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Quick-Pitch Standard Shower Kit
from North Florida
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great idea. You still need some basic skills!

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Item is straight forward and easy to assemble giving you proper slope. Now, that being said, don't think you can just flow into your shower and magically get a perfect slope with mud. There is a some skill needed to screed the mud slope correct in between the struts. Just be sure you are confident with the process prior to beginning. Great item all in all.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Looks Great, Great Value
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Quick-Pitch Standard Shower Kit
from Inverness, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

goof proof..fool proof

PostedAugust 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is an awesome product! The tapered sticks took all the guesswork out of the floor slope. I wont ever try another shower pan without them.
Pros: Easy to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Quick-Pitch Standard Shower Kit
from Ohio, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

I think it is the best easy to use.

PostedDecember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It's a great product and needs to be made easy to find in your website for the due it yourselfers.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good for All Surfaces, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Quick-Pitch Standard Shower Kit
from Fort Myers, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product!!!!!

PostedApril 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Having never installed a shower floor, this product made it so easy. The slope is perfect and even. If you have to do a shower floor, you need this!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>