728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 18.1 cu. ft. 28 in. Wide Top Freezer Refrigerator in White

18.1 cu. ft. 28 in. Wide Top Freezer Refrigerator in White

GE appliances provide up-to-date technology and exceptional quality to simplify the way you live. With a timeless appearance, this family of appliances is ideal for your family. And, coming from one of the most trusted names in America, you know that this entire selection of appliances is as advanced as it is practical.
Overall rating:
4.378 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(111 reviews) 111
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product91 of 98reviews
Rating Breakdown 111 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(61)
4
(38)
3
(7)
2
(3)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product91 of 98reviews
Customer questions and answers:
33 Questions | 43 Answers
Customer reviews for 18.1 cu. ft. 28 in. Wide Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
Review 1 for 18.1 cu. ft. 28 in. Wide Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
Dave

Super high efficiency refrigerator!

PostedAugust 19, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
You wouldn't know it reading the description page but if you look up this refrigerator or any refrigerator with the model #GTH18EBC, you're looking at the most efficient refrigerator in its class! It's rated at only 311KWH per year and is 35% more efficient than the federal standard. To compare, an energy star refrigerator is only 20% more efficient than the federal standard.
I was pleasantly surprised to find this refrigerator on sale at Home Depot and couldn't believe they didn't advertise that this is the most efficient refrigerator on the market today. I definitely recommend this and any other refrigerator with the model #GTH18EBC if this is the size you're looking for.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 18.1 cu. ft. 28 in. Wide Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
CSLA71HomeEcomonist
from Eagle Rock, CA

Super efficient, etc...

PostedSeptember 5, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We purchased this mid July 2011. We put our WattsUp meter on it for 5 weeks. For 2 person use and computing at TIER 1 cost of $ .143 per kWt is averages to $ 3.09 per month to run.
Freezer at factory setting is between 0-10* F and the refrigerator is between 38-42*. Can't ask for anything better. When the condenser is on and fan running it is exceptionally quiet.
Since it's so efficient to run my husband is considering a second on to use as a root cellar or for all those fruits and veggies I stock up on when I do my monthly shopping at Costco. When we get the second one I plan on getting extra shelves to customize the space a tad bit better.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 18.1 cu. ft. 28 in. Wide Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
W321

This product is not fancy but is good with low price

PostedJuly 25, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I like the product. It is energy efficient and spacious for small family. Nice and clean looking. Pretty quiet.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 18.1 cu. ft. 28 in. Wide Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
Fred

This product is well made.

PostedAugust 6, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was looking for a 2nd refrigerator for my basement. Reviewed many refrigerators and this one stood up. This is a sturdy and well-made refrigerator at a great price, which came with free delivery. The guys at the home depot were very professional and delivered this to my basement without a scratch. The shelves and compartments are not as comfortable and spacious as my main refrigerator, but this is a great 2nd refrigerator for me and I am happy with the selection.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 18.1 cu. ft. 28 in. Wide Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
Anonymous
from zelienople,pa

energy star rated> real value

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this refrigerator was the best rated for efficiency in any size- Home depot had the best price- by far- on this unit. my electic company had a rebate on recycling old refrigerators-
it is a basic unit- but does have glass shelves and all the usual flexible shelves and drawers.
deliverery was on time and well done.
very good experience
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 18.1 cu. ft. 28 in. Wide Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
Bman
from Los Angeles,
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A terrific value for a very efficient fridge

PostedSeptember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
A simple refrigerator for small families. Large amounts of space in the door, very quiet, tremendously efficient. We're using it outside in our garage for some extra space. Ordered it on line one night and had it installed two days later!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 18.1 cu. ft. 28 in. Wide Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
KMAM

The Refrigerator is great for its price.

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I needed a second basic refrigerator and the GE refrigerator is great. It is quiet, cools quickly and is roomy.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 18.1 cu. ft. 28 in. Wide Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
Terri

Great product and value

PostedSeptember 28, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is my first new refrigerator and I am very happy with the overall performance and design. The split center shelves are a nice feature. The bottom veg drawer could slide a bit more smoothly but not a huge negative. The door shelves are wide and fit all those smaller items which take up space otherwise. The freezer is very cold and the smaller top shelf for ice cube trays is great. Overall, I would recommend this product and am please with my purchase.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 18.1 cu. ft. 28 in. Wide Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
Dave
from Sun Prairie, WI

Simple but does a great job!

PostedAugust 31, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Never had to leave my home to shop for a new frig. HD delivered it 24 hrs. after I ordered it online. The delivery was smooth and the they put the product right where I asked. The delivery personnel were great. They also took my old frig. free of charge. Couldn't ask for a better transaction. The price was great also. It was on sale for $50 less than retail and there was another $50 credit for ordering online.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 18.1 cu. ft. 28 in. Wide Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
alikjones

Excellent 'no-frills' fridge

PostedNovember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We live in a share house of three and were very happy when our landlord agreed to purchase this as our new refrigerator. Shelving is ample and sensibly designed in both the top freezer and main space, the fridge is quiet and appears to do the job well so far at least!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 18.1 cu. ft. 28 in. Wide Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
jeeonline
from San Luis Obispo, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Nice refrigerator. Just right size.

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Needed backup refrigerator for large house, and this one's great - just the right size and price point (best of ones considered in similar price range.) Glass shelves are a plus. Drawers are plastic, but fine for the price. Good room in the freezer though only one small shelf. Holds temperature well and does not come on often. Delivery service was fast and excellent. Original refrigerator came with small dent on face... brand new replacement was brought within a couple days. Have used the refrigerator for two months - very happy with purchase so far.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 18.1 cu. ft. 28 in. Wide Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
KingArt
from Bedford HIlls, NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Performs as Expected

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After owning for 2 1/2 weeks the refrigerator runs flawlessly, as expected. We selected the GE unit due to its reputation and competitive price. Plenty of drawers and adjustable shelving. Delivery was made on time and installed perfectly. Of course a follow up reivew is necessary. Check back in one year.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 18.1 cu. ft. 28 in. Wide Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
Merri
from Portland, OR, USA
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

wise purchase

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We are very happy with this purchase. It has been much quieter than our old one, the door feels more substantial, the arrangement of the shelves works well for us, and the freezer is bigger than our previous same-size fridge -- and it feels great knowing that we are using much less electricity than before. One of the vegie drawers does not open with perfect ease, and I wish the "butter compartment" was clear so we could see inside without opening. I highly recommend this fridge!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 18.1 cu. ft. 28 in. Wide Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
newhomeowner
from Parkersburg, WV, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

decent fridge

PostedJanuary 6, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
For the price it's a decent fridge. Freezer is kind of small, and with the way it's designed its hard to fit boxed things in there. We run out of space in the freezer easily. Great refrigerator space, spillproof shelves and gallon door storage.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 18.1 cu. ft. 28 in. Wide Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
John

good product, good price, excellent delevery

PostedSeptember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is for a rental, so the size of the refrig was important. works great, delivery was exactly when promised, professionally delivered, they made my tenant feel like a VIP! This is the fifth refrig for the building and each has been exactly as ordered. The delivery/installation was the icing that make my tenants feel important. Thank you!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 18.1 cu. ft. 28 in. Wide Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
Joe1

Door Seal Hangs up on Skin

PostedSeptember 1, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This particular refrigerator has a frame that does not completely touch the skin of the refrigerator creating a small gap on which the refrigerator door seal hangs up and then doesn't want to close properly. Over all, size and features are an average refrigerator, price competitively, good for a second refrigerator or an apartment unit.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 18.1 cu. ft. 28 in. Wide Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
YVFrank

18.1 GE

PostedSeptember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the way to go. I have bought one of these about one year ago. Now see how much energy saving I bought another to keep cupboard goodies such as sugar, and flour in. They work for me much better than French door, bottom freezer ever did.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 18.1 cu. ft. 28 in. Wide Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
jordano
from Illinois
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Exelent for the price

PostedNovember 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Good refrigerator for the price,very nice, not noisi.
there is enough place for everithing.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 18.1 cu. ft. 28 in. Wide Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
mommyof3

Good value

PostedOctober 18, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Nice appliance for the money - on time delivery - thanks for the phone calls ahead of delivery
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 18.1 cu. ft. 28 in. Wide Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
philster

great refrig glass shelves and ample freezer space

PostedOctober 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Makes a great Beer frig and overflow from main frig.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>