728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop French Door Refrigerators or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 30.7 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel, ENERGY STAR

30.7 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel, ENERGY STAR

With a generous 30.7 cu. ft. capacity, this LG 3-door refrigerator not only has the features to keep your food fresh, it's got the room to store it all. LG food preservation technology keeps temperature and humidity right where it's best for your food, and a Fresh Air Filter keeps the air around your food from getting stale. And with its Smart Pull Handle and 3-Tier Organization using the freezer and keeping it organized are a breeze.
Overall rating:
4.235 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(553 reviews) 542
Open Ratings Snapshot
83%of customersrecommend this product446 of 539reviews
Rating Breakdown 553 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(382)
4
(72)
3
(17)
2
(11)
1
(71)
Features 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
83%of customersrecommend this product446 of 539reviews
Customer questions and answers:
77 Questions | 147 Answers
Customer reviews for 30.7 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel, ENERGY STAR
Review 1 for 30.7 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel, ENERGY STAR
from Medford LI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent refrigerator

PostedMarch 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After purchasing this fridge I read the the reviews and wanted to cancel my purchase, i decided not to and I am happy I bought it. The fridge is quiet and spacious.. The ice maker which was often complained about in the reviews gave me no problem and works like a charm, I have plenty of ice in the storage bin.I love that it's in the door and gives more space in the fridge. I am happy with this fridge and I recommend it if you are looking for more space. I have a large kitchen and I wish it was even bigger. Great job LG.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 30.7 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel, ENERGY STAR
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

Great purchase from LG and Home Depot

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We've had this refrigerator for about 3 weeks now and are finally used to it and where things should go. Our old fridge was a side by side...
This LG french door on top fridge is wonderful. So much room, ample shelving, and very bright, even when full. The door shelves hold a lot of items free up your inner shelves for bulkier items.
The freezer section is great, too. Having a deep tray along with two shallow trays, I can store large bulky items below and freeze bags of soup, sauces, etc... flat in the other two trays.
I do have a few minor complaints about this fridge.
First is the ice maker. It works really well however, it is a low volume ice maker, say it makes two to three trays of ice every few hours, even on the faster setting. I use the included ice tray in the freezer to store several bins of ice in so that we have plenty of ice available when we need or want it. It's working out fine and I am not rating this fridge any less because of it, just something to think about if a large volume of ice is important to you.
Second is the finish. Oh, handprints, why do you plague me so? Or better yet, LG, why would you use this type of finish when you know it shows any smudge like a black shirt attracts every minuscule piece of fuzz... Be prepared to wipe it down daily. I found a microfiber cloth sprayed with Affresh does a great job of removing the prints and smudges and keeps the surface looking shiny and even.
Pros: Lots of Features, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
Cons: finger pints and smudges
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 30.7 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel, ENERGY STAR
from Montgomery Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

We love everything about this LG frig.

PostedJuly 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After reading other neg. reviews we almost didn't buy it. We saw a lady in the store that said she had bought it and loved it. Said it didn't make enough ice for her big family. We purchased it 1st of July, 2013. We love everything. It makes plenty of ice for us. All our fears were taken away. No problems with anything.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+18points
21out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 30.7 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel, ENERGY STAR
from Oklahoma, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Would buy it again!

PostedAugust 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have had this refrigerator for a year. I have had no problems with it at all. Keeps food cold and easily accessible due to spacious interior. It is beautiful and totally enhancing the look of my kitchen. I love it and so does everyone who enters kitchen area. Buy it !
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, High Quality, Looks Great, Stylish
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+14points
18out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 30.7 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel, ENERGY STAR

Poor Freezer Drawer Design

PostedFebruary 16, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this refrigerator mid-January 2012 and it has been serviced 3 times already and new unit was delivered today to replace the "defective" one. Long story short, the first unit required a replacement of one side refrigerator door, a new gasket on the freezer drawer, a new mother-board and a new bottom freezer drawer (rails and all). The problem is water and ice on the bottom of the freezer drawer (inside the gasket on the plastic as well as the actual frame). I was told originally that the gasket was defective and that the mother-board needed to be updated and that there was air entering in the freezer somehow. Apparently, they do not know how to fix it and are trying to cover it up. They replaced the unit today and I discovered the issue was very much the same on this new unit and so now I have to deal with having them come back and pick it up and trying to find a replacement. LG is of no help and their customer service is the worst I have ever had to deal with. No more LG for me...
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+79points
94out of 109found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 30.7 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel, ENERGY STAR
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Too bad this refrigerator does not work as well as it looks!

PostedOctober 15, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was not sure if I should give this frig two stars instead of one, two because I wanted to give some credit to the look and design of the fridge, I decided not to because if your very expensive refrigerator does not work it does not matter how good it looks! I received my first frig in February. I LOVED the size the blue lights, the draws in both top and bottom. I was disappointed that the ice maker was so small but I just keep dumping the ice into the freezer ice bin to make more ice. Within two months the frig broke. The freezer went into “defrost mode” and I was told I needed a mother board and gasket. At first I was all for the fix but then said, no way, I just bought this frig, I want a new one. LG was not too accommodating but Home Depot was awesome! I got a replacement frig right away. After a few months with the new frig I started noticing some icing up in the freezer and realized water from the dispenser was trickling down the refrigerator into the freezer. Then I got an error message on the water/ice dispenser and they both stopped working. I am now waiting for yet another frig from home depot only this time I said no more LG!!! It really upset me to let this refrigerator go because it is so roomy just a perfect size for my large family. I have four sons, I pack a lot into that frig. I did some research and found an American made appliance that I have used for years to be a nice replacement.
Pros: Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
Cons: Not Durable, freezer breaks, water/ice maker trouble, mother board/ gasket problems
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+64points
77out of 90found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 30.7 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel, ENERGY STAR
from Morgan Hill, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Second LG fridge, both had problems.

PostedFebruary 27, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I need to be honest about my experience with 2 LG Fridges within one year. The first one lasted about 2-3 months and then started making weird noises and stoppped cooling every 5 days or so. I could get it cooling again by powering it down and then restarting it. After a couple of months and 5-6 service calls, LG bought the fridge back from me. I really loved the features and figured it was a fluke, so I bought another LG Fridge. However, that one also failed with a couple months (in a different way), after another 2-3 service calls and a few weeks of warm fridge, I called LG and asked them to buy that one back too and they did. I still think it might be a fluke, as other than those problems the fridges are great. The features are great and the storage area is bigger than most. Love the compact ice machine and the LED lighting.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
Cons: Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 30.7 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel, ENERGY STAR
from Old bridge, NJ

Design fault - high failure rate, be careful!

PostedJuly 30, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The LG French door refrigerator I bought from Home depot broken three times within the past 3 years, which cost me almost half the price of the refrigerator's There are two control boards in my LG refrigerator, and both were broken multiple times. I replaced 7 boards in total!! . I believe their design on electronic control circuit has reliable issue which is very difficult to fix. LG uses those circuits boards for fancy features and low energy consumption, but those boards are very vulnerable to regular power change or surge in household environment. Apparently, LG did not have a good design for power surge protection. So any LG model uses the similar circuit board design is inherently easier to be broken. I was attracted by those fancy features and good outlooks and bought a LG refrigerator, but it was really a huge mistake. My refrigerator was broken three times. All three times are some circuit boards broken. Each time, besides purchasing replaced boards, I lost all the foods in refrigerator and have no refrigerator for at least one week. Life was disrupted. And worst on worst, you cannot count on LG’s lousy customer service. LG just cannot stand behind their refrigerator products. LG’s service contractors are far away and less experienced. The contractor came with empty hands and just told me to replace the control circuit boards and charge full price for the visiting. I had to wait for another several days to order the boards separately. And they will charge full price for each time visiting!!
Cons: Not Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 30.7 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel, ENERGY STAR
from Baytown, TX
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Lasted Less Than Three Years

PostedJune 26, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The sealed unit failed after 30 months. Even though we live 30 miles east of downtown Houston, it has been nearly impossible to get service because the authorized service providers are all on the west and north side. Had to get LG in Huntsville, AL involved, and even though they found someone, that provider has yet to schedule an appointment with me and isn't returning my phone calls.
Have now been without refrigerator for 10 days with no schedule for repair.
I'll never buy another LG appliance.
Pros: Lots of Features, Looks Great
Cons: Not Durable, poor service
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 30.7 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel, ENERGY STAR
from PRESCOTT VALLEY, AZ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Absolutely love this french door refrigerator!

PostedNovember 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the 3rd time I had an opportunity to ever buy a new refrigerator. We needed one for our new house we moved in Dec 2011. We chose LG for not just on the looks, size, features, but warranties. I love the french doors as 2 previous SBS just didn't work for large dishes or trays. The adjustable shelves are wonderful and easy to clean. The wide deli drawer is my favorite! Never had a lower freezer unit before, but I really don't mind it. The benefits of the french doors were tops. The 3 storage areas/drawers in freezer make it so easy to find the foods I am looking for. Don't forget the little shelf within the drawer for small things which is so handy for bags of nuts, cubes of butter, ice packs, etc. My only real dislike is the small capacity ice maker! It's fine for the 3 of us, but when I had 3 other families stay with us for last 4th of July, we kept running out of ice. It is a hassle to try to build up a surplice of ice and poor into the extra lower tray in freezer compartment. Also, we live in an area with a well, so $50 filters have to be replaced often-2 so far in 9 months. All the other features well out-way this one negative!! I
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, High Quality, Nice Design, inside lighting
Cons: low capacity ice maker, mullion needs to stay retracted upon opening
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+18points
24out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 30.7 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel, ENERGY STAR

Worst purchase ever

PostedSeptember 13, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this refrigerator in April 2012. I have had nothing but trouble with the freezer. I have had 3 services calls so far (which I had to pay for) and it just starts doing the same thing again. The freezer drawer freezes up even after they have replaced the rails and back panel all at my expense. They cannot get it fixed and I am sinking more and more money into this expensive refrigerator. You would think as expensive as it was it would work right and not have services call already. It is very hard to open the freezer drawer and the two drawers inside. I will never buy another LG.
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 30.7 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel, ENERGY STAR
from Austin, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Do NOT Buy This Refrigerator!!

PostedFebruary 2, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I repeat: DO NOT BUY THIS REFRIGERATOR!! THIS REFRIGERATOR DOES NOT STAY CONSISTENTLY COOL!! Look at the other customer reviews from about the end of 2012 through now and many are having the same issues. We have the refrigerator set to 33 degrees Farenheit and the freezer set to -6 degrees Farenheit and this barely keeps our food from going higher than the safe zone of a refrigerator which should never be higher than 40 degrees. We used several thermometers to verify the temperature. When you open the door for just a few seconds the temp can climb to well over 40 degrees and take a LONG time to get back to maybe 38 degrees at the lowest. That is barely safe enough for food. Also, if the freezer is not set to -6 degrees, the ice maker will not spit out the ice and jams. I found that it is because the ice melts and refreezes causing it to clog. Many people have had this issue with the icemaker. The problem is probably because the refrigerator is not staying cool enough.
Let me ask you this: Should the food be BARELY safe when the refrigerator is set to the lowest setting it will go (33)? From 33 degrees (fridge set temp) to 38 degrees (actual temp inside middle of fridge) is a whopping 5 degree difference! I have tried putting in more food and taking out food to see if that would make a difference. It did not! Also, should the icemaker only work when the freezer is set to the lowest setting it will go (-6 or -5 whichever it actually is since the -5 is missing)?
We decided to call LG but they were NO help!! Their systems are down all the time. We decided to use our refusal period through Home Depot to have a new refrigerator sent to replace this one. Guess what?! The new refrigerator's water line was pinched and broken. Luckily we saw this immediately and refused the delivery. Come on LG!! What is going on? Is it something in the assembly line right now or what? The same model refrigerator from the past has gotten really good reviews, but recent reviews seem to be showing a SERIOUS issue. Now I don't know what we are going to do. Maybe get our money back and go with another brand??
We REALLY liked this fridge for it's looks and design. It has a lot of space and is laid out very well. But NONE of that matters if it can't keep my food at a safe temp!! VERY DISAPPOINTED!
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: does not cool properly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+21points
33out of 45found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 30.7 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel, ENERGY STAR
from Hiawassee, GA 30546, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wish we had studied more

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We bought this about a year ago. Finger prints are a problem on the stainless steel model, The tiny ice maker has never kept up with our demand. The freezer continues to frost up. LOTS of frost. The Fan made a lot on noise and I think has quit. Hard to get warranty service when you live in a small town. Been working on that for 3 weeks and someone is finally coming out. For a $3000 refrigerator we have not been happy with it's performance. On a positive note, it does have lots of room. If I had it to do over again, I'd be sure that the ice-maker was large and put out lots of ice. We still depend on our basic 20 year old refrigerator to make the ice. I will spend much more time studying next time I invest in an appliance this expensive - Sometimes more basic might just be better.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
Cons: freezer frosts up, ice maker too small, fingerprints are hard to get off
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 30.7 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel, ENERGY STAR
from Salinas, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

The 6th time i have had mine repaired for the poor freezer design.

PostedFebruary 8, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The freezer has problems. There has been numerous times that they have come to replace parts that have been redesigned to fix the problem. Its one problem after another. I tried calling LG and since i have had my Fridge for 14 months, they blow me off. even thought most of the repairs took place withing the 12 months of there warranty. Based on the other reviews, I guess im not the only one with the same problem.
Pros: Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable, design flaw
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+8points
13out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 30.7 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel, ENERGY STAR

Good/Quiet Fridge with Lots of space

PostedMarch 31, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
All the features you would want. Very good design. Beautiful refridgerator to look at. So far no issues.
Gripes:
1) The water filter has to be replaced about every 3 months and costs about $50. It is small. If you don't change it, the water will just dribble out of the water spout. My last fridge would at least go a year before needing a new cartridge, and the cartridge was cheaper.
2) The ice maker will not keep up with a family of 4. We try to keep the speed ice on all the time and make a habit to dump the ice into the ice storage bin in the drawer when we go on trips to allow it to try to get ahead.
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 30.7 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel, ENERGY STAR
from Naples, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female

My Favorite Refrigerator Ever

PostedJune 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Have had our new refrigerator for just about one month and absolutely love it. Lots of room for everything, bright lights inside and in freezer makes it so easy to find what I'm looking for quickly. Very quiet, and looks terrific. Ice maker works well, love the size of the ice cubes, not the huge chunks our old refrigerator made but large enough to the job and they fit in all size glasses. Couldn't be happier, love LG appliances. It was a bonus to us that it went on sale within the month of our buying it and we received a credit/refund from Home Depot for the difference.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, High Quality, Looks Great, Stylish
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 30.7 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel, ENERGY STAR

LG stands for "Lackluster Goods"

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased an LFX31925ST French Door Stainless Steel refrigerator in late December 2012. I was very excited to replace my older model refrigerator with this new, top-of-the line product. It was delivered to my home the first week of January 2013 and I was in love. It was the best thing since sliced bread to me! I loved all of the space that it offered for me and my family.
This opinion quickly changed in February 2014 when I was working from home one day and noticed a horrible noise coming from my refrigerator/freezer and I discovered that my freezer was not cooling appropriately. My first though is that this cannot possibly be! This unit is only one year old! But it was. Since I have a home protection plan with DTE I contacted them for service. They sent out a repair person out to look at it. The first day he came he did not have the parts so he had to come back on a different date. So in the meantime (at least a week) I was losing food as well as the fact that the unit was running non-stop trying to properly cool (thus raising my electric bill). It was on the second visit that he determined that he was unable to correct the problem (though he did replace the fan unit that he had ordered) and referred us back to DTE. They sent a second company out to look at it on March 28, 2014 who determined that they are not authorized repair folks for LG and that the unit was low on free on however DTE does not cover the “sealed system”. So at this point I began to deal directly with LG to determine which repairpersons in my area were authorized to perform the service. I was referred to Saginaw Valley Service Company who came to my house on April 2, 2014.
On the first visit I was told that I would have to pay for labor as LG was only responsible for parts under the extended warranty. I told them fine, at this point I just wanted the unit repaired (after 3 appointments and still no success getting it repaired). I was told that the fee for this would be $99 plus whatever he determined was wrong with the unit. Upon his inspection it was determined that the sealed system was the issue so that on top of the $99 I would also have to pay an additional $272 when he returned the following week to complete the repair.
He returned on 4/9/14 to charge the free on and repair the system and I paid the remaining balance of $272. I was thinking “great! The issue is resolved and we can now move on!” Boy was I wrong! The following day when I awoke, there was an error code on the refrigerator and now the ice dispenser and water dispenser would not work! I quickly contacted Saginaw Valley as the invoice I had said that the labor was under a 30 day warranty to see what could be done. They told me that this was a new issue and that I would have to pay for any additional labor! I was NOT happy and contacted LG who said they would see what they could do to get the labor taken care of and would schedule a service call for me. So on 4/16/14 the service man came back to my house and replaced the freezing coils which were now determined to be the cause of the error code. Great, now we are all set, right? WRONG.
The next morning, there was ANOTHER error code on the unit. I again contacted LG and was told they would send someone out. This time they wanted the repair person to replace the control board. He arrived on 4/23/14 only to discover that they had sent him the wrong control board! He came AGAIN 4/30/14 and installed the correct new control board. I was assured that this had to be the end of it since all of the internal components of the unit have now been replaced. Great! WRONG AGAIN. Less than 48 hours later when I awoke there was an error code and the unit is now back to making the same noise that started this whole process in February!!!!! I am so dissatisfied at this point that I want the unit removed from my home and will NEVER purchase another LG product again in my life and will make sure all of my friends and family do the same. I called LG to relay this information and have the issue escalated to an “executive service e team member” who told me “I understand that you are frustrated, but his is our process. Until a service provider deems the unit unrepairable you will have to continue to have it repaired.” So when I pressed him about what type of “customer service” this is as there is NO attempt being made to satisfy me in any way shape or form he really could not answer my question other than, “this is our process” and provided me with the phone number to Saginaw Valley Repair Company.
For the record, this is more than frustrating. This is ridiculous. I spent over $3,000 on an appliance that I THOUGHT was top of the line. In less than 18 months I have now spent an additional $372 to have it repaired as well as missed time (every Wednesday for one month) from my job dealing with this situation only to be told that “yes, I understand it is frustrating but there is nothing I can do about it” continue to jump through hoops to have a functioning unit. This is absolutely UNACCEPTABLE. I have never experienced such low level “customer service” in my life. I was basically told “too bad so sad”, we got your money when you bought the product, anything after that is your problem. Never mind your time missed from work. Never mind the money in lost food. Never mind the money you spent on service calls. Never mind that LG’s low level of quality is surpassed by none and that they don’t care. Just keep jumping through their hoops. It is their process after all.
I hope no one else has to have the same experience that I am having… THREE MONTHS, three repair people who have made 8 (so far) visits to my home, 6 missed days from work, $400 out of pocket repair costs and who knows how much in lost food, and I STILL do not have a working appliance. Well done LG, well done.
More to come...
Cons: lemon
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 30.7 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel, ENERGY STAR

Water and ice dispenser failed

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We had noisy compressor problems. The door open alarm works sporadically, so we've had issues of freezer items thawing out. The worst was that one day, water started seeping out from behind the computer and water dispenser panel in the door. So thankful we bought the extended warranty. They sent us a check for the purchase amount plus tax.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 30.7 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel, ENERGY STAR

Optimizes standard fridge cut out with max storage possible

PostedFebruary 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Love all the space, plus smart design features like the drawers, extra deep door shelves and adjustable Quick slide half shelf for tall bottles. If needed, service access to the water and icemaker is easy swinging "door within the door." Overall most storage for a French door refrigerator to fit in a standard cabinet cut out/ existing kitchen. Sticks out a few more inches than previous old one but well worth it! Convenient freezer having sliding shelves at the top for frequent use items like ice cream, Froz dinners, and lower deep space for less used pie crusts, big warehouse store purchases, etc.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 30.7 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Stainless Steel, ENERGY STAR
from Texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Problems with ice maker and freezing up

PostedSeptember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is a feature-rich, stylish refrigerator. It is clear that LG tried very hard to create a full-featured premium product, and for the most part, succeeded. But there is at least one flaw that prevents me from recommending this product: ice forms in the ducts at the rear of the 'fridge where cold freezer air is blown into the refrigerator compartment. The result is freezing food in the refrigerator compartment. I just called technical support, and I was told the "fix" is to remove ALL the food from the refrigerator and unplug the 'fridge for 3 to 4 hours to let it defrost. Technical support says this should be done periodically, and is common for refrigerators. Sorry, but I have owned at least two side by side refrigerators of different makes, and I have NEVER had to "defrost" either of them to avoid this problem. Taking all of the food out and storing it in coolers for 3 to 4 hours is a huge pain in the rear. Unfortunately, for reasons discussed below, I think this is a design defect that I will have to live with as long as I own this product (which probably won't be a whole lot longer).
History: I have owned this 'fridge for three years. In that time, it has been repaired once on a recall, which involved a design-defect in the fan assembly that blows freezing air into the ice maker compartment in the door. Before the repair, ice formed on the fan causing a loud noise when the fan operated. Given this acknowledged design defect, the problem discussed above with icing is likely related.
Other flaw: Both before and after the recall repair, the ice in the ice bucket has a tendency to freeze together if the ice maker is not used frequently (i.e., daily). While all ice makers are to some extent prone to this problem, most ice makers will still be able to dispense ice after the stirring arm breaks up the chunks. But not on this LG--you have to open the ice maker compartment and shake the ice container to get the ice to break apart.
But for the icing problem (and even considering the inconvenience of the ice bucket issue), I would recommend this product given its features and appearance. But having to remove all of the food to "defrost" a frost-free refrigerator is absurd, and prevents me from recommending the product.
Pros: Lots of Features, Sturdy, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: periodic freeze-ups require removal of all food, ice in ice maker often freezes together
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 11 >>