728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Recessed Lighting or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 6 in. LED Recessed White Disk Light for Can Lighting

6 in. LED Recessed White Disk Light for Can Lighting

The Commercial Electric 6 in. LED Disc Light for Recessed Can Lighting helps you save money by providing an alternative to an incandescent bulb. The light installs in an existing can for retro-fit installation and in a standard 4 in. J-box for new construction.Damp rated.
Overall rating:
4.339 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(56 reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
83%of customersrecommend this product45 of 54reviews
Rating Breakdown 56 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(37)
4
(10)
3
(3)
2
(3)
1
(3)
Appearance 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
83%of customersrecommend this product45 of 54reviews
Customer reviews for 6 in. LED Recessed White Disk Light for Can Lighting
Review 1 for 6 in. LED Recessed White Disk Light for Can Lighting
from Phoenix, AZ, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bright for an LED

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Caveat emptor!
Make sure that you are purchasing the *NEWEST* T91 lights. They have longer leads (wires) and they light-up much faster than their predecessors. There is typically an 1 to 2 second delay with the older style T91 lights. I don't know what the store policy is, but you would be wise to open the box and inspect the light to make sure that it has the longer wires, as I've found both new and old T91's are <almost> indistinguishable by the packaging alone.
If you are doing a new install with the round J-boxes, please be sure to purchase the DEEP J-boxes, as you will appreciate the extra space needed for the wiring - especially if you have 20-AMP/12 Gauge wiring! This really becomes important when you are wiring a series of lights, and/or using 3-way switch controlled wiring.
Pros: Functional, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: initially somewhat difficult to install.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 6 in. LED Recessed White Disk Light for Can Lighting
from Tacoma, WA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

greatly surpassed expectations

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have owned other LEDs that have not lived up to the hype. This product exceeded my expectations. Easy to install: existing can or 4" J-box. Value: under $40. Quality: solid design and never have to change a bulb. Appearance: these put out a lot of light and are dimmable. Thinking of putting some up in other places in the house they work so well. Looking forward to other designs.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, Unique, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 6 in. LED Recessed White Disk Light for Can Lighting

Very versatile light

PostedNovember 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This light mounts almost anywhere - in a can or on a box.
I used it in a small ceiling under some ductwork in the basement, in a closet, and in a new bathroom.
Easy to install, comes on almost immediately, and gives off a nice white light.
Will buy more for other closets and the garage...
Pros: Well Made, High Quality of Material, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Very Bright, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 6 in. LED Recessed White Disk Light for Can Lighting
from Detroit, MI, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Read carefully and it will all work

PostedDecember 28, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have read all the reviews on here about these lights and I have just installed 10 of them in my basement rec room where recessed cans wouldn't fit properly. First, the j-box. You NEED a deep j-box, just as they state on the packaging. 2.25" minimum. Preferably one with the old-fashioned punchouts and not integral clamps, similar to a SKU 338214. It's a tight fit, but everything goes in, even with two wire nuts and 4x14 ga wires. Second, dimmers - there is a list on Lighting Sciences Group's webpage. Use one of the approved dimmers. I tried 3 different ones - I am using Lutron DVW-603-PGH-WH dimmers and they work great. The LED/CFL dimmers don't work at all, nor does the Lutron Maestro.
+27points
27out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 6 in. LED Recessed White Disk Light for Can Lighting
from IL
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great for closet

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Wanted to replace pull chain/bare bulb in closet with something safer. Compared with the price of a recessed fixture and led bulb this is the way to go. Had to change ceiling box to a deeper box but it was not a problem. Had access to box from attic. The LED is much brighter and safer. It would be nice if they could make it to fit in a standard depth box
Pros: Looks Great, Functional, Well Made, Eco-Friendly, Very Bright
Cons: needs a deep box
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 6 in. LED Recessed White Disk Light for Can Lighting

Dimming details

PostedFebruary 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
For those that are having trouble dimming these. As has been posted by several others (but obviously not being read by subsequent posters who are still confused), to dim these lights, you need a standard analog 600W dimmer switch. To put it another way, the cheapest $15 dimmer that is labeleld "incandescent" NOT the $30+ dimmers labeled (CFL/LED).
As confusing as this seems, there appears to be logic built into the LED circuitboard of this light fixture that is expecting a standard incandescent dimmer (simply a resistor in parallel). The fancier CFL/LED dimmers have a more complex system that modulates the current frequency. That works for a single LED bulb or CFL bulb which is just expecting 120V AC but it DOES NOT work for this, more sophisticated fixture.
Personally, I'm using the LG-600H-XX (XX is the color code, could be WH for white or other letters for other colors). This works well. The slider will give you about 30% intensity at its lowest setting, so not quite as low as incandescent. Obviously, you can turn it off completely.
Do not wire more than 4 fixtures on a single dimmer or it will also not work.
There is a slight buzz noticeable when at about 60% output, goes away if you go decrease or increase the intensity. But, trust me, you won't be trying to sleep with these things on at 60% intensity anyway they're very bright.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 6 in. LED Recessed White Disk Light for Can Lighting
from Cleveland, OH, USA

5 Stars after doing my homework...

PostedJune 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought 5 of these and 1 started up very fast and the others took about a second. After returning them since I didn't like the delay and looking at the boxing in the store, it appears they have just updated these as the packaging is different on some. Also, the jbox wires are longer on the newest design. After picking out (5) of the ones I determined to be the newest design thay all start up at the exact same time and it is almost instant on now (.1-.2 sec). I am glad I did some homework as I love these now!!! BTW, the new packaging has light beams coming off the "D" in LED. Just make sure it also has the longer leads (3"-4") on the plug in the clear bag that has the wire nuts in it. If the leads are only 1-2" its the old style. Hope this helps everyone out. Would be nice if the mfg just recalled them and fixed them, but I don't see that happening.
+17points
20out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 6 in. LED Recessed White Disk Light for Can Lighting
from Lynnwood
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Highly recommended.

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These were exactly what I was looking for to replace some sub standard builder grade fixtures in the hallway of my town home. I was lucky to discover them when on sale. Installation was a snap, though I did need to get some new J boxes as the ones that I had were too small in diameter. I added a 3 way switch dimmer to the circuit which is a nice feature in the location eliminating the need for nightlights for the kids. The look good, are super bright and the light is clean.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, High Quality of Material, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Very Bright
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 6 in. LED Recessed White Disk Light for Can Lighting
from California, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This was the best LED light that you discontinued!

PostedMarch 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This light was great for bathrooms,bedrooms,closets and any room that you you wanted to light up. The warm white light was brite and crisp and everything that you wanted it to be. When in the store looking at your display all of your lights are dark and dim, Please re-evaluate this light and bring it back to us as I would buy 10 of them at the blink of an eye. If you have any hiden around I will buy them!!! Why is it that when you get something good you discontinue it?
Pros: Easy to Assemble, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Functional, Well Made, Very Bright
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 6 in. LED Recessed White Disk Light for Can Lighting

Easy Installation

PostedAugust 1, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We purchased 8 of these lights and put 4 in our kitchen and 4 in our dining room. They hooked up very easily to our 6" cans. Each set of lights was connected to 3 way switch and we wanted to add dimmers. A lot of the reviews said that the CFL/LED dimmers did not work, however, the regular dimmers did not work for us. With the regular dimmers the lights would just randomly flash. So we tried the CFL/LED dimmer and now they work great! And look nice too. They are super bright and we like the color of the light.
Pros: Fast / Speed, Looks Great, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 6 in. LED Recessed White Disk Light for Can Lighting
from Lancaster, PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Lights

PostedNovember 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These lights a great way to go if you are looking for quality recessed lighting and are not looking for the light itself to be part of the make up of the room. The light they put out is very friendly to reading (my wife loves it for make up etc). The low operating cost is a bonus. They were a little hard to get at first, not sure if it was a stocking issue or demand. I had to orders some, wait, get a couple more - hopefully we are past that stage now as the lights we a new item when I bought them. I actually laid in a couple extra ones. I'm currently electrifying a barn on my property and these will be the go-to lights for that project as well
Pros: Well Made, High Quality of Material, Eco-Friendly, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 6 in. LED Recessed White Disk Light for Can Lighting
from Pleasant Valley, NY 12569, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install!

PostedFebruary 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Outstanding value. Great light and color. Not bright white or blue tone. Looks great and install was a snap. I installed six fixtures in j boxes with dimmer in less than an 1 1/2 hours. Use an inexpensive dimmer - they work great.
I picked up all the materials from Home-Depot trhat were needed for this project.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 6 in. LED Recessed White Disk Light for Can Lighting
from NJ
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Bright Light but bit slow to lightup

PostedJune 20, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I got 4 of these and installed into an existing Jbox in hall way. Install was easy ( under 5 mins each), instructions were appropriate and light was amazingly bright. It surpassed my existing simple globe light fixtures.
Con: The only issue like most pointed out was it takes 1.5 secs to start up.
Though expencive when compared to regular bulb and fixture, I will be buying more of these to replace regular bulbs all accross house. This gives a clean look, with bright light.
FYI>, I am replacing the recessed bulbs and trims with CREE led and not these. I prefer these light to go into my existing jbox.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 6 in. LED Recessed White Disk Light for Can Lighting

Easy to install, great value

PostedAugust 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I picked up four of these on an impulse buy and have been really pleased with them in the kitchen. They are VERY easy to install, the last one took about 3 minutes including getting it out of the box and taking the old bulb out of the fixture. The light output (lumens) I would say is very good, my kitchen seems brighter than the Reveal PAR 38 bulbs I had before. They do dim, but not quite as great as the incandescent bulbs I had. This is the only negative thing, but I don't think it's any problem for the kitchen, as I can get them to a good enough dim level for in there. Much more energy efficient in terms of closing up the hole in the ceiling as my old rings were not air tight. LED is much more efficient as well and you simply can't even buy a PAR 38 LED bulb for this price, so it is a great value.
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 6 in. LED Recessed White Disk Light for Can Lighting
from Hillsboro, OR, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great lights, all as advertised.

PostedJanuary 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very ambient. Dimmable - BUT not with all dimmers. cheapest $9.97 works fine, but $35 dimmer didn't work. So you may be limited on dimmer selection.
Definitely recommend dimmer - they are very bright.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 6 in. LED Recessed White Disk Light for Can Lighting

Outstanding

PostedNovember 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Looks great and very easy to install. The light provided is excellent. I cant's say anything as to value as I only installed recently, but supposedly they will last 22 years and the price is very competitive.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 6 in. LED Recessed White Disk Light for Can Lighting

Great product

PostedJanuary 11, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This LED light looks just like a can light on the outside, but is so easy to install compared to can lights that it makes can lights obsolete.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 6 in. LED Recessed White Disk Light for Can Lighting

Beats CFLs hands-down, Easy Install, Work & Look Great

PostedMarch 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Did a retro install in the basement, using "Halo 6 in. Recessed LED Remodel Insulation Contact Air-Tite Housing" units w/ the disk lights, so didn't use the "screw-in converter", just used the standard connectors supplied w/ both units, hooked up the fixture springs, and snapped into place. The light is a good intensity, the convex diffuser gives a good light spread (better than recessed) w/ no glare, and looks much better than a flood lamp. Yes, there is a fractional delay between switch on & light on, but then the light is ON (unlike a CFL). May be on the pricey side, but they are attractive, work great, and no worries about mercury or disposal of CFLs. Don't yet know if these will actually last as long as rated, but all good so far.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 6 in. LED Recessed White Disk Light for Can Lighting
from Detroit, MI, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great LED Fixtures, with the right dimmers

PostedJanuary 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought switches made for LED dimming but they did not work with these lights. Then I found the Review left by Keener from Detroit, MI, USA in this Home Depot listing and thought I would give it a try. Sure at $-hit, the 600W Incandescent dimming switches Keener recommended using indeed work great! The dimming variance is superb too. The lights flicker a bit when you change the dimming (due to change in voltage), but they stabilize once you stop moving the dimmer.
Kudos to Keener!
'Unlike' / Minus -1 to Lutron faulty LED dimmer switches.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 6 in. LED Recessed White Disk Light for Can Lighting
from Stockton, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great lighting for the kitchen!

PostedNovember 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I originally purchased the T85 recessed lights, and though they were bright the output angle was too narrow and produced more of a spot effect. I exchanged them for these T91 lights with the convex disk diffuser and what a difference! The kitchen sparkles! The 2700K color temperature makes the area so warm and welcoming - much better than the warm white fluorescents they replaced.
Installation was simple. The only unexpected task was to install a self-tapping screw (included with the light kit) to ground the LED trim to the recessed can - green wire has a crimped ring terminal simplifying the connection. There was no convenient hole in the can for the screw as I installed air-tight recessed cans.
I have had no problems with startup delay and no infant mortality failures during the first week. Time will tell.
I have a second house that will get these in the kitchen next year.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Very Bright
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>