728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop CFL Light Bulbs or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 60W Equivalent Soft White (2700K) Spiral A-Line CFL Light Bulb (4-Pack) (E*)

60W Equivalent Soft White (2700K) Spiral A-Line CFL Light Bulb (4-Pack) (E*)

The Philips 13-Watt T2 Soft White CFL Light Bulbs (4-Pack) (E)* are Energy Star compliant and can shine for up to 12,000 hours, making them ideal for commercial or residential lighting applications. The bulbs cast a soft white glow for pleasant illumination. Their compact size allows them to fit in a variety of fixtures. (E)* means this bulb meets Federal minimum efficiency standards.
Overall rating:
3.895 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
79%of customersrecommend this product15 of 19reviews
Rating Breakdown 19 reviews
3.9 out of 5.0
5
(10)
4
(4)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(3)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
79%of customersrecommend this product15 of 19reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for 60W Equivalent Soft White (2700K) Spiral A-Line CFL Light Bulb (4-Pack) (E*)
Review 1 for 60W Equivalent Soft White (2700K) Spiral A-Line CFL Light Bulb (4-Pack) (E*)
from Mount Clemens, MI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

They're still working !!

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
First of all, they are Phillips brand bulbs. Thats not mentioned in the title. Bought that brand for the coach lights on the front of the condos where I live, as an experiment. Put them in the first part of June and they are still working. If they last a longer than a year I will be amazed since they are not rated as heavy duty or for exterior use. We will see !!
Pros: Eco-Friendly, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 60W Equivalent Soft White (2700K) Spiral A-Line CFL Light Bulb (4-Pack) (E*)
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Brighter than the other

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I like the overall brightness and ease on the eyes.
Pros: Very Bright, Easy Replacement
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 60W Equivalent Soft White (2700K) Spiral A-Line CFL Light Bulb (4-Pack) (E*)
from Phoenix, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Lots of light for 60 watt equivalent

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These bulbs put out a lot of light for 60 watt equivalent. I think brighter then a 60 watt incandescent. For my application a 40 watt equivalent might be better.
Pros: Eco-Friendly, Very Bright, Nice Design, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
Cons: maybe too bright
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 60W Equivalent Soft White (2700K) Spiral A-Line CFL Light Bulb (4-Pack) (E*)
from West Fargo, ND, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product at an exceptional price !

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought these for 2 bathroom fixtures with 6 exposed bulbs per fixture. I was concerned about aesthetics of the exposed bulbs, but I actually prefer them to the "decorator" bulbs previously installed. At 13 watts, the bulbs appear to give off more light than the 60 watt bulbs they replaced. When on, the bulbs are so bright that the spirals and open center are nearly invisible. Instead, the bulbs appear to be a full circle and are definitely as aesthetically appealing as the previous bulbs. If they save the energy they are expected to, these bulbs can't be beat for the sale price that Home Depot had them available for.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 60W Equivalent Soft White (2700K) Spiral A-Line CFL Light Bulb (4-Pack) (E*)
from New Orleans
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good bulbs

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bulbs used to light a bedroom. Worked fine for use.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 60W Equivalent Soft White (2700K) Spiral A-Line CFL Light Bulb (4-Pack) (E*)
from San Diego, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great lighting features

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product has lowered my electric bill. I like the light it gives off. I had to get use to the lack of reflection it gave off. I also like that they have made them smaller, so that now I can replace my ceiling light covers and they go in my ceiling fans nicely.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Very Bright, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 60W Equivalent Soft White (2700K) Spiral A-Line CFL Light Bulb (4-Pack) (E*)
from West Allis, WI, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

makes the room light

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Its a light bulb, it makes the room light, I'm happy
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly, Easy Replacement
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 60W Equivalent Soft White (2700K) Spiral A-Line CFL Light Bulb (4-Pack) (E*)
from Virginia, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cheap but poor light quality

PostedApril 23, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought because inexpensive. Light takes a long time to achieve full brightness. Had to move them places where we don't care about light quality.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 60W Equivalent Soft White (2700K) Spiral A-Line CFL Light Bulb (4-Pack) (E*)
from Buffalo, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

underwhelming

PostedFebruary 7, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Have been buying spiral bulbs for several years now. While selection and variety have improved, longevity has not. They never seem to reach the 12,000 hour range. I have started dating the base when installing, and seem to get about half that.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 60W Equivalent Soft White (2700K) Spiral A-Line CFL Light Bulb (4-Pack) (E*)
from Southern California
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Didn't last as long as stated!

PostedJanuary 26, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought a 4 pack for a new 3-light fixture for a 1/2 (guest) bath. 2 died in less than 3 years of use. They may save energy, but not money at this rate! From now on will save the receipt and contact Phillips I guess!
Pros: Eco-Friendly, Very Bright, Easy Replacement
Cons: Burns Out, life no where near as long as stated
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 60W Equivalent Soft White (2700K) Spiral A-Line CFL Light Bulb (4-Pack) (E*)
from Mechanicsville, VA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Terrible!

PostedOctober 15, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have purchased Phillips as well as other brands of these bulbs. They advertise up to 11 years and 12,000 hours of use. I have not had a single bulb last even 2 years in infrequently used fixtures. With the price of these bulbs, you should be able to expect much more. Of course most (if not all) are made in China or Mexico. I won't buy any more of these until I'm forced to by the discontinuation of incandescent bulbs.
Cons: Burns Out, too expensive
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 60W Equivalent Soft White (2700K) Spiral A-Line CFL Light Bulb (4-Pack) (E*)
from Downers Grove
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Energy Saving Bulbs

PostedJanuary 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have replaced most of my home lighting with CFL Energy Saver bulbs and when I was looking for replacement bulbs for some of my large light up Christmas decorations I thought I would give those bulbs a try in them too. Worked great!! They were brighter and more electricity efficient.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 60W Equivalent Soft White (2700K) Spiral A-Line CFL Light Bulb (4-Pack) (E*)
from Melville, Long Island, NY, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

"New Smaller Size" was the major selling point - and bright to boot!

PostedSeptember 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These are great for use in tight-fitting light fixtures. My application is outdoor lighting - standard two-tier pagoda lanterns, spaced 19 feet apart along a driveway. These 13W, T2 CFLs were purchased as a substitute for 60W, A15 incandescent lamps. Due to the fixture's short height and limited clearance inside its globe, most 13W CFLs would not fit (the same applies to LED bulbs). I did not want to continue using inefficient 60W incandescent bulbs (which are being phased out).
These new "MiniTwister" CFLs fit, with room to spare.
They appear to be brighter than anticipated (considering that they are rated as direct replacements for the 60W bulbs). In fact, they have more "punch" than I expected when set against the dark background of night (they are being used in fixtures with clear glass globes - frosted globes would likely reduce the output and produce a softer, more diffuse light).
Color rendering and light quality are as expected for a CFL with a 82 CRI rating and a 2700*K "soft white" color temp. (just ever-so-slightly "whiter" than a comparable tungsten bulb). For outdoor use, I was hoping for a 3000*K "bright white" version, which more resembles natural sunlight (similar to a halogen lamp).
For my application, I am considering switching over to Phlips 9W CFLs (40W equivalent) - also available in a smaller size like these, with a more subdued output (500 vs. 840 lm) and even lower energy consumption.
The Home Depot also sells a similar "MiniTwister" 13W bulb in a four-count blister pack (Philips # 821236, rated 900 lm) in stores for the same price, but they are not listed on this site. A great value if you can find them. Same situation with the 9W version as well. (Store #1267 - Farmingdale, NY)
Pros: Compact, Eco-Friendly, Very Bright, good color rendering, Great Value
Cons: no 3000*k "bright white" version available
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 60W Equivalent Soft White (2700K) Spiral A-Line CFL Light Bulb (4-Pack) (E*)
from Columbia, MO, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female

light given seems to be satisfactory

PostedApril 10, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
These bulbs were installed in a bathroom. The amount of light given seems to be satisfactory for bathroom use. It's not overly bright, but there is also no problem seeing in the bathroom mirror clearly. I cannot comment on longevity because they were just recently installed; however, I expect them to hold up well. I'm satisfied with my purchase.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 60W Equivalent Soft White (2700K) Spiral A-Line CFL Light Bulb (4-Pack) (E*)
from Illinois USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Bad quality

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Two of the lightbulbs burned out after two days and they are supposed to last 11 years
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy Replacement
Cons: Burns Out
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 60W Equivalent Soft White (2700K) Spiral A-Line CFL Light Bulb (4-Pack) (E*)
from Whitesville, NY 14897, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very bright

PostedFebruary 22, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
One of the four bulbs right from the package did not light at all and we need four in our bathroom fixture but I will purchase again when needed...The bulbs give off high strength lighting immediately and see to remain at high power. We have had ones that take a little time to get to high power before they are totally warmed up.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 60W Equivalent Soft White (2700K) Spiral A-Line CFL Light Bulb (4-Pack) (E*)
from Mechanicsburg, PA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product - can't go wrong with Philips

PostedJuly 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have been using Philips for few years and notice that they last longer than non-branded bulbs. I love these bulbs as they have "Instant On" feature. The other olus is that the sprial tube is not as big and thick like some other brands, they kinda hide in lamp shade, which is what I wanted.
Pros: Compact, Eco-Friendly, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 60W Equivalent Soft White (2700K) Spiral A-Line CFL Light Bulb (4-Pack) (E*)

Great lights

PostedFebruary 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Really like the low profile of these lights. Really like that they fit nicely in the fixture and put out a lot of light. Seem to last a lot longer than some of the other brands with a higher profile.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 60W Equivalent Soft White (2700K) Spiral A-Line CFL Light Bulb (4-Pack) (E*)

This produce has great features

PostedDecember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The softening effect of these light bulbs is very peaceful. They do not have the glare of the old light bulbs.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.