728*90 Advertising Space
Home>

Customer reviews for Custom Building Products SimpleMat 10 sq. ft. Tile Setting Mat

Custom Building Products SimpleMat 10 sq. ft. Tile Setting Mat

The quickest, easiest and cleanest way to install tile on countertops, backsplashes and shower walls. SimpleMat replaces traditional thinset mortar or mastic adhesive. The adhesive retains its bonding strength for extended periods of time, which means users have the flexibility to tile onto the mat an hour at a time or over several days. SimpleMat bonds instantly so you can start grouting immediately.
Overall rating:
3.57 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(467 reviews) 467
Open Ratings Snapshot
65%of customersrecommend this product242 of 375reviews
Rating Breakdown 467 reviews
3.6 out of 5
5
(235)
4
(67)
3
(18)
2
(23)
1
(124)
Quality 
3.5 out of 5
3.5 out of 5
Value 
3.4 out of 5
3.4 out of 5
65%of customersrecommend this product242 of 375reviews
Customer questions and answers:
126 Questions | 544 Answers
Customer reviews for Custom Building Products SimpleMat 10 sq. ft. Tile Setting Mat
Review 1 for Custom Building Products SimpleMat 10 sq. ft. Tile Setting Mat
from santa rosa, ca
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for first timers or if you're short on hands

PostedApril 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We used Simplemat to do a backsplash around a kitchen and had an overall positive experience. Having never done a backspalsh before, this allowed me to take my tile setting tiles and adjusting for complications along the way. I would recommend 2 things. One: make sure tiles are 100% dry before sticking them onto the Simplemat. In the past, traditional mud allowed us to get away with placing damp tiles. If a tile is too wet it falls off the Simplemat. 2. Simplemat is probably best for larger tiles. We ran into problems while putting on thin strips of piano tile since we would be left with small .5"x.5" pieces that didn't have much to stick to. I would definitely use thin in the future.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Modern, Great Instructions, Looks High End, Effective
Cons: little room for adjustment once tile is set
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Custom Building Products SimpleMat 10 sq. ft. Tile Setting Mat
from Downingtown, PA
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very easy to use

PostedDecember 30, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was a little nervous to use this product after reading the previous reviews and learning about tiles falling. However, I never tiled before and was dealing with a tight space between the wall and a faucet so I gave this product a try. I followed the directions that came in the box, including washing all the tiles and letting them completely dry before placing them onto Simplemat. When I came back the next day none of the tiles had moved off the wall from the day before, so I then grouted. The kitchen came out great! Simplemat saved a lot of time and clean up by not having to use a thinset. The only difficulties I had was using the 30 sq. ft. roll as compared to the 10 sq ft. sheets because the roll doesn't have paper on both sides of the Simplemat, which makes cutting a little difficult. Also a word of advice, cover the Simplemat with the paper if you aren't able to tile right away because you will lose the stickiness of the product when it is left in the open air.
Pros: Easy to Install, Effective, Great Instructions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+17points
18out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Custom Building Products SimpleMat 10 sq. ft. Tile Setting Mat
from Langhorne, PA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Negative reviews but positive results

PostedAugust 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
After reading the negative reviews on this product I was hesitant to embark on my back-splash project using SimpleMat. I can honestly say if it was any easier it would hang itself on the wall. I cut it using a utility knife, I pressed it to the wall using a paint roller, and I mounted 3" by 6" subway tiles onto it. I put the grout on 2 days later. It was easy to cut, there was little or no waste and I did not encounter any issues of tiles falling off or problems placing the tiles onto the SimpleMat. All you need is common sense and a reasonable amount of DIY ability. I had never done any tile work in my life, but the idea of avoiding the mess of a tile base held great appeal to me and the only thing I had to clean up was the paper backing from the SimpleMat. I consider it to be expensive but worth it. I only had to do 10 sf so it was not a big deal.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Install, Effective
Cons: very adhesive
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Custom Building Products SimpleMat 10 sq. ft. Tile Setting Mat
from San Diego, CA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Time Will Tell

PostedFebruary 19, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I was very skeptical about this product. I have many rental units and have been remodeling units for years. My experience has always been that if it's too good to be true then it probably is. After getting recommendations from a couple of sources I decided to try the product anyway. I used it to install glass tiles as a backsplash in a kitchen. It was pretty easy to install, but the stuff is darn sticky. Once the tiles go on, it's hard to move them. Even harder to get straight grout lines when the tiles didn't go on straight. I grouted right after installing. So far, the tiles are still on the wall. I think time will tell how well this stuff works. So far they've been on the wall two weeks, but my tenant doesn't move in until next week and that's when the abuse begins. I really hope it works or I'll be redoing the job and what a mess that will be.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Custom Building Products SimpleMat 10 sq. ft. Tile Setting Mat
from St Louis, MO, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Simplemat worked for my kitchen backsplash.

PostedSeptember 13, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I stumbled upon simplemat while surfing The Home Depot website. At first I thought, this sounds too good to be true (as in too easy). I showed my husband the product and he decided to give it a try for our kitchen backsplash. We used porcelain tiles (I believe they are 4” by 8”). Simplemat is easy to use when it comes to sticking the product to the wall and making cut outs for outlets. I noticed another customer’s review stated, “it does not allow you to adjust tile” – this is somewhat true. Once we pressed on the tile, it was difficult to move it slightly but everything turned out fine. We did have a couple of issues with the tiles sticking to the wall but I wouldn’t totally blame Simplemat (it could have been my walls not being perfectly straight). I do recommend having some type of adhesive available for any tiles giving you trouble. We had a couple fall down but then we used adhesive and there weren’t any more issues. We let the tile sit for about 4-5 days before grouting. Two months later, it holds up just fine. Overall, the product worked and I would recommend it.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Clean
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+23points
28out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Custom Building Products SimpleMat 10 sq. ft. Tile Setting Mat
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

We went with the advice of a friend and got the same opinion from a Home Depot associate and used...

PostedNovember 28, 2016
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We went with the advice of a friend and got the same opinion from a Home Depot associate and used this product.
The tile we used was 12" x 12" sheets of mosaic tile on mesh backing and we experienced zero issues. The tile stuck very well and as a matter of fact it was very difficult to reposition a sheet or two I didn't get just right. But I did reposition them and they still stuck just fine to the simple mat.
I made sure and pressed each sheet firmly in place with my rubber grout float as I put the sheet up, I did each and every one that way.
I grouted 24 hours after I installed the tile and everything continued to hold during that process as well.
I guess now for the longevity test, but I still need to put up my trim and continue on down the wall to the right under the cabinets when the tile comes in, and seal the tiles.
This was my first tile job. It may not be perfect but I and more importantly the wife are pleased.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Custom Building Products SimpleMat 10 sq. ft. Tile Setting Mat
from Maryland
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Doesn't get any easier than this!

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Firstly, let me put out there that I am a busy mom, I do not have enough hours in the day to work outside and still take care of the home, but I digress.I had a small project for my half bath to install glass tile around the sink. I was shopping around for mortar for my project and stumbled across this product. I figured well, considering I have no experience installing tile other than vinyl floor tiles, I could give it a try. The hardest part about installing my backsplash was cutting a few tiles. This product made my project a breeze and I am very happy with the results. Unless I told them, no one would be able to know that I cheated.
My next project on my to-do list is kitchen backsplash and I will for sure be using this again.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Install, Great Instructions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Custom Building Products SimpleMat 10 sq. ft. Tile Setting Mat
from Cape Cod, MA

So easy to use!

PostedOctober 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
An employee talked us into using this product and my husband was skeptical. However, knowing that we were working with limited available time and energy, we decided to bite the bullet and absorb the additional cost of this product against the lesser cost of mastic.
Wow - were we glad we did. This product was so easy to use and there was zero clean up needed. Just throw away the paper backing. That's it! The tile stuck beautifully and our tile job took 2 hours as opposed to 4 or more. You also have the ability to grout the same day, instead of having to wait 24 hours. We will use this product again!
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+45points
50out of 55found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Custom Building Products SimpleMat 10 sq. ft. Tile Setting Mat
from Godley, TX
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Made a DIYer Out of ME!!

PostedJanuary 24, 2016
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Back in 2012 we remodeled our kitchen and used this product. It is still holding up perfectly after 3 years. Installation was easy, and I was able to cut just what I needed for the areas to be covered. I used this on the end of the cabinet first to see how it'd work and if I could really do it myself, and it came out so nice, we went ahead and bought several boxes of this to use not only for our stove/microwave surround, I used it all around the the counter top for the back splash, and did the counter top too!
I used it with the mesh backed tile for the walls, and loose tiles for the counter tops and it came out exactly as I had hoped, even better. This product is great. Just be sure to follow the directions.
When you put this on the wall you MUST have the glue strips in the VERTICAL position! I noticed in one of the "bad" reviews of this product, where they had the tiles falling off and included a photo of it, the glue strips were in the horizontal position. I'll bet my bottom dollar that the positioning of the glue strips had EVERYTHING to do with their issues!!
I HIGHLY recommend this product - even to newbies, such as myself. It not only saved us money on having to hire someone to do this for us, it was super easy to use and the results speak for themselves!
Pros: Looks Great, Easy to Install, Effective, Great Instructions, Very Adhesive, can cut to size
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Custom Building Products SimpleMat 10 sq. ft. Tile Setting Mat
from Seattle, WA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product for LIGHT tile projects

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
We were facing a small project - our kitchen counter was wood slabs covered with a Bar Topper (clear epoxy). Limited product availability to adhere to epoxy made this project a bit tricky locating proper materials for quality outcome. Two choices that we had were epoxy-based tile adhesive (messy to deal with) and Simplemat. We took the risk and purchased Simplemat (one box) and Simplemat roll (30 feet). Reviews mostly came from home owners who used this product and we were not so sure that this product will work in our application. Here is what we experienced with this product.
Pros:
1. Yes, there is "no mess" using this product, as prior reviewers described it compared to thinset, tile adhesives, etc.
2. Product stays "on" smooth surfaces - painted, sanded-down.
3. Tiles adhere to the drops of glue well and can be re-adjusted (shifted) even a day later.
4. Works great for small-sized to-be-tiled surfaces, but we would not recommend this for "large" projects.
Cons:
1. Absolutely ZERO adhesion to wooden surfaces that are not smooth (rough cut lumber or non-sanded).
2. The worst experience if you have ANY uneven surface. We thought we had none, but to our surprise - we discovered a few spots that produced tile in masse coming off the wall with the tape still attached to them. Simply because there was 1/16 or so "bumps" between wooden boards.
3. The Simplemat recommendation is for 8"x8" tile sized (maximum). We utilized 6"x6" and we experienced a few "drops" of the tile because we did not press "hard enough," but we did manage to break a few by pressing on them with too much force - otherwise they would not adhere to Simplemat. We managed to clean each tile from dust, washed it with water, let it dry. However, for some reason STONE tile was not cooperating too well in some areas (splash area underneath the cabinets where it was hard-to-reach) where we had to practice yoga moves pressing on tile.
4. Some tiles came right off before we applied grout. It seems that grout is the base that solidifies the installation and makes the tiles one solid piece. Application of grout right after the installation is recommended.
Based on our experience, we would not recommend this product for "serious" projects such as shower tiles application, but for simple projects such as splashes and even counters. Our project involved stacking 4 tile columns max and even than we had some issues with tile coming off.
It's a great product for BASIC projects that homeowner can do. For "serious" projects - showers, for example, please do it the "old school" way - thinset, so no tile comes off right away or in a couple of years (God forbid your grout wears out and water starts escaping behind the "glued" tile). We ended-up using Liquid Nails (waterproof) for fixing the tile that came off Simplemat and would not adhere properly anymore - we caught out the Simplemat section with knife and applied LN to remedy the situation.
We do not see how this product can be used for commercial applications. But homeowners - sure, why not.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: wood adhesion is poor
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+44points
44out of 44found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Custom Building Products SimpleMat 10 sq. ft. Tile Setting Mat
from Albuquerque, NM

Great for small projects

PostedDecember 18, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used the SimpleMat for installing a kitchen backsplash with 3x6 subway tiles. This proved to be a great alternative to backer board and thinset. I liked the thin profile. There was just the thickness of a piece of paper and a thin layer of glue versus a minimum of 1/4" for backerboard plus the thickness of the thinset. You also avoid the mess of mixing and cleanup for the thinset. I discovered one advantage is the ability to make changes. After installing the tile on a wall, I decided I did not like the layout. I was able to carefully pry off the tiles without losing any tiles and removed the SimpleMat sheets and threw them away to make sure I had good sheets for the new layout. Although some have downgraded the Simplemat for poor adhesion, making this change with traditional materials would have been a real pain. It is also very important to make sure the surface is absolutely flat as recommended. I had issues around two electrical receptacles with uneven gypsum board and a generous amount of liquid nail solved the problem. To deal with the adhesion issue I found that heating the glue with a hair dryer until the glue was soft was very effective. As a result, I have no problem whatsoever with tiles falling off. I am very pleased with final result.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: none
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Custom Building Products SimpleMat 10 sq. ft. Tile Setting Mat
from Sibley, IA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Simply Amazing!!

PostedFebruary 22, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I did the glass tile installation all on my own using 1x2 inch glass tile with a mesh backing. I couldn't have done this without the Simple Mat. Why in the world would anybody use anything but this product. I am a 43 year old female and proud as heck of myself for a job well done!
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Install, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Custom Building Products SimpleMat 10 sq. ft. Tile Setting Mat
from Baltimore, MD, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Invention Ever!

PostedFebruary 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've never installed a backsplash before and this stuff made it a piece of cake! I've very impressed with it. Was able to install our backsplash from start to finish in about 3 hours (that included cutting the tiles).
Be careful when handling- it's seriously sticky!
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+20points
21out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Custom Building Products SimpleMat 10 sq. ft. Tile Setting Mat
from Beaverton, OR
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great if you follow the directions!

PostedJune 23, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The Simple Mat was very easy to use. The glue is super sticky, so we had no problem with tiles falling off the wall. I used metal tile edging to complete the look. I wish I would have attached this to the wall and then added the mat over it rather than sticking it onto the mat since I then had to add more mat which made the tile angle ever so slightly (pretty sure only I notice). I broke the rules on tile size. The mosaic tile I really wanted to use had some accent pieces smaller than the minimum recommend size. Because they were too small, they weren't stuck in place well enough and angled a bit when I was grouting. It isn't too bad, but would look better if they were straight. I would highly recommend this material as long as you have the correct size tiles!
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Install, Effective
Cons: not great for small tiles
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Custom Building Products SimpleMat 10 sq. ft. Tile Setting Mat
from Hyattsville Md
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product!

PostedDecember 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was not sure if the SimpleMate sheets would work with my stone peddle backsplash. I am remodeling my half bath with a stone peddle backsplash around the sink cabinet. The SimpleMate sheets were very easy to install, took no time at all and to my surprise the stone peddles stayed put and did not fall. The outcome turned out wonderful. I will for sure buy SimpleMate again. I am so glad I purchase this product.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Install, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Custom Building Products SimpleMat 10 sq. ft. Tile Setting Mat
from Darby, Pa
Age Range:35 to 44
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

saved me tons of money

PostedMay 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Purchased this product after a home depot associate suggested it to me when I told him that I was going to tackle my kitchen backsplash alone.I am a 38 year old woman who has no experience in this area and I must say it was very easy to use and my backsplash came out beautiful
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Custom Building Products SimpleMat 10 sq. ft. Tile Setting Mat

Super easy to use and just as tough as traditional mortar. Plus surprise, it still works three y...

PostedSeptember 24, 2017
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Super easy to use and just as tough as traditional mortar. Plus surprise, it still works three years later! I used this for glass tiles on a backsplash for my master bath, just a small area so it was easy to do. I had a lot of sheets left over, so three years later I did the backsplash above my kitchen island. The sheets from the same box were still sticky, very forgiving, and whole project done in just a few hours, including grout! Can't say the same for some old grout which had hardened into an unusable block in the container.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Custom Building Products SimpleMat 10 sq. ft. Tile Setting Mat
from Tampa, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

LOVE IT LOVE IT

PostedSeptember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I just did a small tile project in my laundry room with this product. I did a back splash around the tub that i bathe my dogs in...OMG, how easy and beautiful...the picutres I took are like day and night...Anyone can do this women or children...men included. I give this a thumbs up. Thank you...the product I had for a year but that didn't keep it from going bad..it was like butter..no problems. Easy to come off the backing and cut into whatever shape you want it to be in. In no time I was able to grout it..and put on the trim.
Pros: Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Custom Building Products SimpleMat 10 sq. ft. Tile Setting Mat
from Lewistown, IL 61542, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Verified Purchase:Yes

great product

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This is so easy to use! Cut to size, peel & stick, then place tiles! True to its description, it holds the tile in place and makes installation very simple! And no thin set mess or waiting to grout! Recommend highly!
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Install, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Custom Building Products SimpleMat 10 sq. ft. Tile Setting Mat
from Philadelphia, PA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Verified Purchase:Yes

Makes Tiling Easy!

PostedMay 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have never tiled before and I saw this product and knew that this was for me. It saved hours. I did not have to worry about mortar or other related products and tools. I just applied to the wall, stuck the tiles on, and grouted. The whole project took me two hours to finish my backsplash! I would definitely use this product again!
Pros: Very Adhesive, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 24 >>