728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Tile Setting or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for SimpleMat 10 sq. ft. Tile Setting Mat

SimpleMat 10 sq. ft. Tile Setting Mat

The quickest, easiest, and cleanest way to install tile on countertops, backsplashes and shower walls. SimpleMat replaces traditional thinset mortar or mastic adhesive. The adhesive retains its bonding strength for extended periods of time, which means users have the flexibility to tile onto the mat an hour at a time or over several days. SimpleMat bonds instantly so you can start grouting immediately.
Overall rating:
3.443 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(158 reviews) 158
Open Ratings Snapshot
65%of customersrecommend this product96 of 148reviews
Rating Breakdown 158 reviews
3.4 out of 5.0
5
(76)
4
(23)
3
(3)
2
(7)
1
(49)
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Quality 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
Value 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
65%of customersrecommend this product96 of 148reviews
Customer questions and answers:
30 Questions | 134 Answers
Customer reviews for SimpleMat 10 sq. ft. Tile Setting Mat
Review 1 for SimpleMat 10 sq. ft. Tile Setting Mat
from Boston, MA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy for a First Timer to tile a Backsplash

PostedJuly 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This made it so easy to tile my backsplash over paint. The night before, I sanded with a coarse sanding block, wiped it down with a damp cloth, then cut and laid the Simple Mat. it was easy to cut with good scissors. In the morning I laid the tile (3x6 subway tile) then grouted and caulked. Every tile stuck without a problem, but when I made mistakes I could pry them off to move them. The whole project was done in a day without waiting for the thin-set to cure.
(Note on the photo: the white on the countertop dried clear. While installing I realized there wasn't any sealant so I was getting grout in the cracks between the countertop and back piece).
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Install, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for SimpleMat 10 sq. ft. Tile Setting Mat
from Seattle, WA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product for LIGHT tile projects

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
We were facing a small project - our kitchen counter was wood slabs covered with a Bar Topper (clear epoxy). Limited product availability to adhere to epoxy made this project a bit tricky locating proper materials for quality outcome. Two choices that we had were epoxy-based tile adhesive (messy to deal with) and Simplemat. We took the risk and purchased Simplemat (one box) and Simplemat roll (30 feet). Reviews mostly came from home owners who used this product and we were not so sure that this product will work in our application. Here is what we experienced with this product.
Pros:
1. Yes, there is "no mess" using this product, as prior reviewers described it compared to thinset, tile adhesives, etc.
2. Product stays "on" smooth surfaces - painted, sanded-down.
3. Tiles adhere to the drops of glue well and can be re-adjusted (shifted) even a day later.
4. Works great for small-sized to-be-tiled surfaces, but we would not recommend this for "large" projects.
Cons:
1. Absolutely ZERO adhesion to wooden surfaces that are not smooth (rough cut lumber or non-sanded).
2. The worst experience if you have ANY uneven surface. We thought we had none, but to our surprise - we discovered a few spots that produced tile in masse coming off the wall with the tape still attached to them. Simply because there was 1/16 or so "bumps" between wooden boards.
3. The Simplemat recommendation is for 8"x8" tile sized (maximum). We utilized 6"x6" and we experienced a few "drops" of the tile because we did not press "hard enough," but we did manage to break a few by pressing on them with too much force - otherwise they would not adhere to Simplemat. We managed to clean each tile from dust, washed it with water, let it dry. However, for some reason STONE tile was not cooperating too well in some areas (splash area underneath the cabinets where it was hard-to-reach) where we had to practice yoga moves pressing on tile.
4. Some tiles came right off before we applied grout. It seems that grout is the base that solidifies the installation and makes the tiles one solid piece. Application of grout right after the installation is recommended.
Based on our experience, we would not recommend this product for "serious" projects such as shower tiles application, but for simple projects such as splashes and even counters. Our project involved stacking 4 tile columns max and even than we had some issues with tile coming off.
It's a great product for BASIC projects that homeowner can do. For "serious" projects - showers, for example, please do it the "old school" way - thinset, so no tile comes off right away or in a couple of years (God forbid your grout wears out and water starts escaping behind the "glued" tile). We ended-up using Liquid Nails (waterproof) for fixing the tile that came off Simplemat and would not adhere properly anymore - we caught out the Simplemat section with knife and applied LN to remedy the situation.
We do not see how this product can be used for commercial applications. But homeowners - sure, why not.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: wood adhesion is poor
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+28points
28out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 3 for SimpleMat 10 sq. ft. Tile Setting Mat
from Maryland
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Doesn't get any easier than this!

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Firstly, let me put out there that I am a busy mom, I do not have enough hours in the day to work outside and still take care of the home, but I digress.I had a small project for my half bath to install glass tile around the sink. I was shopping around for mortar for my project and stumbled across this product. I figured well, considering I have no experience installing tile other than vinyl floor tiles, I could give it a try. The hardest part about installing my backsplash was cutting a few tiles. This product made my project a breeze and I am very happy with the results. Unless I told them, no one would be able to know that I cheated.
My next project on my to-do list is kitchen backsplash and I will for sure be using this again.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Install, Great Instructions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for SimpleMat 10 sq. ft. Tile Setting Mat
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Terrible

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Two hours later was falling off, my husband had to put liquid nail on to help. So hoping this helps or I am not going to be a happy lady! Followed all instructions still not a good product! Save yourself time and do it the right way!
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: doesn't stick
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for SimpleMat 10 sq. ft. Tile Setting Mat
from Chicopee, MA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easier than I thought

PostedFebruary 11, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was a little nervous about using this but when I was at HD another customer (tile guy) said he had a friend that used it with success. I decided to give it a try. Super easy to use if you follow the directions. I had no issues putting it up or cutting it, It is very hard to move once you stick it. I grouted right away and as of a few days later my tile is firmly on the wall. This is the second time I've tiled, made the mistake of buying the premixed SimpleGrout on glass tile only to figure out that it's sanded grout. I have a few scrathes that I fixed with car wax-live and learn! Very happy with the product so far & I would use it again.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Install, Effective
Cons: Hard to Remove
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+18points
20out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 6 for SimpleMat 10 sq. ft. Tile Setting Mat
from Cape Cod, MA

So easy to use!

PostedOctober 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
An employee talked us into using this product and my husband was skeptical. However, knowing that we were working with limited available time and energy, we decided to bite the bullet and absorb the additional cost of this product against the lesser cost of mastic.
Wow - were we glad we did. This product was so easy to use and there was zero clean up needed. Just throw away the paper backing. That's it! The tile stuck beautifully and our tile job took 2 hours as opposed to 4 or more. You also have the ability to grout the same day, instead of having to wait 24 hours. We will use this product again!
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+37points
40out of 43found this review helpful.
Review 7 for SimpleMat 10 sq. ft. Tile Setting Mat
from Baltimore, MD, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Provides very strong adhesion for our counter and backsplash tiles

PostedApril 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We used this tile mat to install the counter and backsplash tiles in the attached picture. It is easy to install the mat and has terrific adhesive properties. One issue with this mat is that once you place the tile it is difficult, if not impossible, to adjust the tile without taking it back up and resetting it. It holds the tile securely in place-even on the wall.
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Effective
Cons: cost
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for SimpleMat 10 sq. ft. Tile Setting Mat
from Baltimore, MD, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Invention Ever!

PostedFebruary 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've never installed a backsplash before and this stuff made it a piece of cake! I've very impressed with it. Was able to install our backsplash from start to finish in about 3 hours (that included cutting the tiles).
Be careful when handling- it's seriously sticky!
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 9 for SimpleMat 10 sq. ft. Tile Setting Mat
from Hampton, VA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best time saving product

PostedOctober 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
All of the other reviews of the simple mat appear to read like the customer did not fully follow the directions. I first went to a tile laying class at HD and the simple mat was used as well as thinset. I put up a backsplash in my kitchen with the simple mat, I can not say this enough YOU MUST FOLLOW THE DIRECTIONS!!!!!! First measure everything out, you may have to cut the mat, then only work in sections you can handle. You must press the mat to the cleaned and dried wall with your grout trowl, then when you set your tile, you must press that in again. It is hard to move once it is set, but if you realize your mistake fast, you can pull the tile back off of the wall. After you finish laying your tile, you must grout! This product does not have the same qualities as thinset, it is meant to be grouted the same day, you can not wait untill the next day. Follow the directions when you use the simple mat, if you need help ask the employees in the department or if you have time go to a class, it took about two hours but it is very informative and hands on. The first thing they gave us in the class was a pair of gloves, then the education of the different choices, then you actually got to practice laying tiles, right there in the store. It was an awesome and empowering experience. This product is highly reccommended.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+57points
59out of 61found this review helpful.
Review 10 for SimpleMat 10 sq. ft. Tile Setting Mat
from San Diego, CA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Time Will Tell

PostedFebruary 19, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I was very skeptical about this product. I have many rental units and have been remodeling units for years. My experience has always been that if it's too good to be true then it probably is. After getting recommendations from a couple of sources I decided to try the product anyway. I used it to install glass tiles as a backsplash in a kitchen. It was pretty easy to install, but the stuff is darn sticky. Once the tiles go on, it's hard to move them. Even harder to get straight grout lines when the tiles didn't go on straight. I grouted right after installing. So far, the tiles are still on the wall. I think time will tell how well this stuff works. So far they've been on the wall two weeks, but my tenant doesn't move in until next week and that's when the abuse begins. I really hope it works or I'll be redoing the job and what a mess that will be.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 11 for SimpleMat 10 sq. ft. Tile Setting Mat
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked Great

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Follow the directions, anything smaller then a 1"x1" will need additional mastic to hold in place. We experienced this around outlets for our kitchen back splash. Make sure you do not take the plastic surface sheet off until your ready to apply the back splash and ensure your using a grout float to push the tile on the mat.
Pros: Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for SimpleMat 10 sq. ft. Tile Setting Mat
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Why would you use thinset??

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am a DIY'er, not a professional, so when one of the workers at HD recommended this to me, I was like, "Yes, less mess." but I wasn't sure if it would work as well as thinset.
This works BETTER. I am not kidding. It's so simple to put up. It's like a big sticker. It's tacky enough to hold your tiles initially, while you arrange them, and then it will hold everything permanently once you press it all in. Holds the grout, listellos, tiles, etc. perfectly. I have used this product twice. The first time was 5 years ago and the backsplash hasn't budged. No cracks. Nothing. I will never use thinset again.
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Effective
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for SimpleMat 10 sq. ft. Tile Setting Mat
from Lewistown, IL 61542, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great product

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is so easy to use! Cut to size, peel & stick, then place tiles! True to its description, it holds the tile in place and makes installation very simple! And no thin set mess or waiting to grout! Recommend highly!
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Install, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for SimpleMat 10 sq. ft. Tile Setting Mat
from Tampa, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

LOVE IT LOVE IT

PostedSeptember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just did a small tile project in my laundry room with this product. I did a back splash around the tub that i bathe my dogs in...OMG, how easy and beautiful...the picutres I took are like day and night...Anyone can do this women or children...men included. I give this a thumbs up. Thank you...the product I had for a year but that didn't keep it from going bad..it was like butter..no problems. Easy to come off the backing and cut into whatever shape you want it to be in. In no time I was able to grout it..and put on the trim.
Pros: Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for SimpleMat 10 sq. ft. Tile Setting Mat
from Greater Boston, MA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

It's a nice idea, it just doesn't work

PostedJanuary 30, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product was used to install the backsplash in my home (an installation area they claim it's perfect for). It appeared to work well, however, all the tiles behind the stove have pealed off in just a few months. It seems the heat from the stove is enough to soften the adhesive. I can't just get that area reinstalled the right way since the mortar would cause it to appear more raised from the wall with the rest of the installation, so I'm forced to completely retile my backsplash. Oh yeah, it really saves a lot of time... as long as you don't count the time taking it all off and doing it again the right way. Oh and good luck matching the same grout or tile a year later. I don't think I could dislike a product more.
Cons: unfit for purpose
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+16points
27out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 16 for SimpleMat 10 sq. ft. Tile Setting Mat
from St Louis, MO, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Simplemat worked for my kitchen backsplash.

PostedSeptember 13, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I stumbled upon simplemat while surfing The Home Depot website. At first I thought, this sounds too good to be true (as in too easy). I showed my husband the product and he decided to give it a try for our kitchen backsplash. We used porcelain tiles (I believe they are 4” by 8”). Simplemat is easy to use when it comes to sticking the product to the wall and making cut outs for outlets. I noticed another customer’s review stated, “it does not allow you to adjust tile” – this is somewhat true. Once we pressed on the tile, it was difficult to move it slightly but everything turned out fine. We did have a couple of issues with the tiles sticking to the wall but I wouldn’t totally blame Simplemat (it could have been my walls not being perfectly straight). I do recommend having some type of adhesive available for any tiles giving you trouble. We had a couple fall down but then we used adhesive and there weren’t any more issues. We let the tile sit for about 4-5 days before grouting. Two months later, it holds up just fine. Overall, the product worked and I would recommend it.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Clean
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+21points
25out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 17 for SimpleMat 10 sq. ft. Tile Setting Mat
from Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Tiling made easy with SimpleMat

PostedMay 12, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have been using traditional methods to set wall tile and thought I would give SimpleMat a try on a backsplash project. I install a lot of self-adhesive vinyl tile so I felt right at home with this product. I recommend priming the wall first before installing SimpleMat to insure optimum adhesion. I also recommend peeling off just one side of the backing paper to make handling and aligning it a lot easier. If you are working with heavy ceramic tile, there is a good chance that they might slide down from their weight. In this instance, make sure that your bottom row of tile are securely in place and use the “hard” plastic spacers to help support the remaining rows of tile.
As with self-stick vinyl tile, you have to be very careful when placing tile on SimpleMat as you can’t reposition the tile once set in place as with mortar. All in all, I was very happy with my first experience with SimpleMat. I will certainly be using this product whenever I can on tiling projects.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+28points
35out of 42found this review helpful.
Review 18 for SimpleMat 10 sq. ft. Tile Setting Mat
from Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Don't Trust this

PostedJuly 4, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used this product to do my shower as it is recommended for and it has now cost me alot of money. After installing the tile and grouting it, two days later it all started falling off the wall. The tile was still grouted together and it just peeled right off the wall. The tile all shattered on the floor and destroyed my shower floor. I now have to replace everything! WORST EXPERIENCE I HAVE EVER HAD WITH TILE!!
Cons: gives you a false sense of confidence.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+3points
13out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 19 for SimpleMat 10 sq. ft. Tile Setting Mat
from Claskville, TN
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked awesome, easy as taping an area.

PostedJuly 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We installed our first back splash. It took us about 12 hours to put up 26 square feet. THe hardest part of the project was grouting vertical walls. The simplemat was very simple and adhered perfectly. Grout removal was the only issue because we left a little too much grout on the wall.It cost us about $400 total to do the job. 3 boxes of simplemat, one bucket of grout, sponges, scissors, spacers, grout tool, tape, plastic to cover countertops, razor blade for cutting, and we borrowed a tile saw for cutting the glass tile. I recommend long sleeve shirt and goggles for cutting with wet saw. Wow, the kitchen looks brand new! This is tiresome and you need to be ready for some medium duty work. Have a good time updating your kitchen. I think I might do the top of the shower area???
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Modern, Great Instructions, Easy to Clean, Great Accent, Looks High End, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for SimpleMat 10 sq. ft. Tile Setting Mat
from Wichita Kansas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good concept but doesn't work!

PostedJuly 14, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
The directions are simple enough, and easy to follow. I had read other reviews about the product not working, but purchased it anyway. I installed my kitchen tiles per directions of product, and other than having to make sure I got my kitchen tiles set properly when placing on wall it went smoothly. It is really hard to move the tile once it's been placed. The job went quickly, and I would have given this product a five, but I waited a few days to see if my tile would start falling off the wall like I read in other reviews, and they did. What a mess. Since its hard to get the product off the wall once its been placed, I decided to use construction adhesive to put my tiles back on the wall over Simplemat . It worked, so now waiting a day or so before I grout. I liked the product but they need to work out the sticking issue!!!
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Hard to Remove, does not work as advertised
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>