728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for SimpleMat 10 sq. ft. Tile Setting Mat

SimpleMat 10 sq. ft. Tile Setting Mat

The quickest, easiest, and cleanest way to install tile on countertops, backsplashes and shower walls. SimpleMat replaces traditional thinset mortar or mastic adhesive. The adhesive retains its bonding strength for extended periods of time, which means users have the flexibility to tile onto the mat an hour at a time or over several days. SimpleMat bonds instantly so you can start grouting immediately.
Overall rating:
3.466 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(208 reviews) 208
Open Ratings Snapshot
65%of customersrecommend this product129 of 198reviews
Rating Breakdown 208 reviews
3.5 out of 5
5
(98)
4
(32)
3
(8)
2
(9)
1
(61)
Appearance 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Quality 
3.5 out of 5
3.5 out of 5
Value 
3.4 out of 5
3.4 out of 5
65%of customersrecommend this product129 of 198reviews
Customer questions and answers:
37 Questions | 172 Answers
Customer reviews for SimpleMat 10 sq. ft. Tile Setting Mat
Review 1 for SimpleMat 10 sq. ft. Tile Setting Mat

Do not use this product!

PostedSeptember 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT! We decided to try this product at our own house before we started using it for our Home Improvement business. Thank goodness we did! The product went on super easy and we had our kitchen backsplash done within a few hours. The next day we used our oven (backsplash is on side and behind oven) and everything was still great. By the next morning, ALL of the backsplash literally fell off the walls. After reading the reviews below, I have now realized that this product does not hold up with any kind of heat. The oven was literally on for 30 minutes. Trust me, do not use this product or be ready to wake up with it on the floor.
Cons: does not hold with any kind of heat
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+22points
28out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 2 for SimpleMat 10 sq. ft. Tile Setting Mat
from Sibley, IA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Simply Amazing!!

PostedFebruary 22, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I did the glass tile installation all on my own using 1x2 inch glass tile with a mesh backing. I couldn't have done this without the Simple Mat. Why in the world would anybody use anything but this product. I am a 43 year old female and proud as heck of myself for a job well done!
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Install, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for SimpleMat 10 sq. ft. Tile Setting Mat
from Langhorne, PA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Negative reviews but positive results

PostedAugust 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
After reading the negative reviews on this product I was hesitant to embark on my back-splash project using SimpleMat. I can honestly say if it was any easier it would hang itself on the wall. I cut it using a utility knife, I pressed it to the wall using a paint roller, and I mounted 3" by 6" subway tiles onto it. I put the grout on 2 days later. It was easy to cut, there was little or no waste and I did not encounter any issues of tiles falling off or problems placing the tiles onto the SimpleMat. All you need is common sense and a reasonable amount of DIY ability. I had never done any tile work in my life, but the idea of avoiding the mess of a tile base held great appeal to me and the only thing I had to clean up was the paper backing from the SimpleMat. I consider it to be expensive but worth it. I only had to do 10 sf so it was not a big deal.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Install, Effective
Cons: very adhesive
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 4 for SimpleMat 10 sq. ft. Tile Setting Mat
from Beaverton, OR
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great if you follow the directions!

PostedJune 23, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The Simple Mat was very easy to use. The glue is super sticky, so we had no problem with tiles falling off the wall. I used metal tile edging to complete the look. I wish I would have attached this to the wall and then added the mat over it rather than sticking it onto the mat since I then had to add more mat which made the tile angle ever so slightly (pretty sure only I notice). I broke the rules on tile size. The mosaic tile I really wanted to use had some accent pieces smaller than the minimum recommend size. Because they were too small, they weren't stuck in place well enough and angled a bit when I was grouting. It isn't too bad, but would look better if they were straight. I would highly recommend this material as long as you have the correct size tiles!
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Install, Effective
Cons: not great for small tiles
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for SimpleMat 10 sq. ft. Tile Setting Mat
from Boston, MA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy for a First Timer to tile a Backsplash

PostedJuly 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This made it so easy to tile my backsplash over paint. The night before, I sanded with a coarse sanding block, wiped it down with a damp cloth, then cut and laid the Simple Mat. it was easy to cut with good scissors. In the morning I laid the tile (3x6 subway tile) then grouted and caulked. Every tile stuck without a problem, but when I made mistakes I could pry them off to move them. The whole project was done in a day without waiting for the thin-set to cure.
(Note on the photo: the white on the countertop dried clear. While installing I realized there wasn't any sealant so I was getting grout in the cracks between the countertop and back piece).
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Install, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for SimpleMat 10 sq. ft. Tile Setting Mat
from Cape Cod, MA

So easy to use!

PostedOctober 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
An employee talked us into using this product and my husband was skeptical. However, knowing that we were working with limited available time and energy, we decided to bite the bullet and absorb the additional cost of this product against the lesser cost of mastic.
Wow - were we glad we did. This product was so easy to use and there was zero clean up needed. Just throw away the paper backing. That's it! The tile stuck beautifully and our tile job took 2 hours as opposed to 4 or more. You also have the ability to grout the same day, instead of having to wait 24 hours. We will use this product again!
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+40points
43out of 46found this review helpful.
Review 7 for SimpleMat 10 sq. ft. Tile Setting Mat
from Chicopee, MA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easier than I thought

PostedFebruary 11, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I was a little nervous about using this but when I was at HD another customer (tile guy) said he had a friend that used it with success. I decided to give it a try. Super easy to use if you follow the directions. I had no issues putting it up or cutting it, It is very hard to move once you stick it. I grouted right away and as of a few days later my tile is firmly on the wall. This is the second time I've tiled, made the mistake of buying the premixed SimpleGrout on glass tile only to figure out that it's sanded grout. I have a few scrathes that I fixed with car wax-live and learn! Very happy with the product so far & I would use it again.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Install, Effective
Cons: Hard to Remove
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+19points
21out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 8 for SimpleMat 10 sq. ft. Tile Setting Mat
from Seattle, WA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product for LIGHT tile projects

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
We were facing a small project - our kitchen counter was wood slabs covered with a Bar Topper (clear epoxy). Limited product availability to adhere to epoxy made this project a bit tricky locating proper materials for quality outcome. Two choices that we had were epoxy-based tile adhesive (messy to deal with) and Simplemat. We took the risk and purchased Simplemat (one box) and Simplemat roll (30 feet). Reviews mostly came from home owners who used this product and we were not so sure that this product will work in our application. Here is what we experienced with this product.
Pros:
1. Yes, there is "no mess" using this product, as prior reviewers described it compared to thinset, tile adhesives, etc.
2. Product stays "on" smooth surfaces - painted, sanded-down.
3. Tiles adhere to the drops of glue well and can be re-adjusted (shifted) even a day later.
4. Works great for small-sized to-be-tiled surfaces, but we would not recommend this for "large" projects.
Cons:
1. Absolutely ZERO adhesion to wooden surfaces that are not smooth (rough cut lumber or non-sanded).
2. The worst experience if you have ANY uneven surface. We thought we had none, but to our surprise - we discovered a few spots that produced tile in masse coming off the wall with the tape still attached to them. Simply because there was 1/16 or so "bumps" between wooden boards.
3. The Simplemat recommendation is for 8"x8" tile sized (maximum). We utilized 6"x6" and we experienced a few "drops" of the tile because we did not press "hard enough," but we did manage to break a few by pressing on them with too much force - otherwise they would not adhere to Simplemat. We managed to clean each tile from dust, washed it with water, let it dry. However, for some reason STONE tile was not cooperating too well in some areas (splash area underneath the cabinets where it was hard-to-reach) where we had to practice yoga moves pressing on tile.
4. Some tiles came right off before we applied grout. It seems that grout is the base that solidifies the installation and makes the tiles one solid piece. Application of grout right after the installation is recommended.
Based on our experience, we would not recommend this product for "serious" projects such as shower tiles application, but for simple projects such as splashes and even counters. Our project involved stacking 4 tile columns max and even than we had some issues with tile coming off.
It's a great product for BASIC projects that homeowner can do. For "serious" projects - showers, for example, please do it the "old school" way - thinset, so no tile comes off right away or in a couple of years (God forbid your grout wears out and water starts escaping behind the "glued" tile). We ended-up using Liquid Nails (waterproof) for fixing the tile that came off Simplemat and would not adhere properly anymore - we caught out the Simplemat section with knife and applied LN to remedy the situation.
We do not see how this product can be used for commercial applications. But homeowners - sure, why not.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: wood adhesion is poor
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+38points
38out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 9 for SimpleMat 10 sq. ft. Tile Setting Mat
from Maryland
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Doesn't get any easier than this!

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Firstly, let me put out there that I am a busy mom, I do not have enough hours in the day to work outside and still take care of the home, but I digress.I had a small project for my half bath to install glass tile around the sink. I was shopping around for mortar for my project and stumbled across this product. I figured well, considering I have no experience installing tile other than vinyl floor tiles, I could give it a try. The hardest part about installing my backsplash was cutting a few tiles. This product made my project a breeze and I am very happy with the results. Unless I told them, no one would be able to know that I cheated.
My next project on my to-do list is kitchen backsplash and I will for sure be using this again.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Install, Great Instructions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 10 for SimpleMat 10 sq. ft. Tile Setting Mat
from San Diego, CA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Time Will Tell

PostedFebruary 19, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I was very skeptical about this product. I have many rental units and have been remodeling units for years. My experience has always been that if it's too good to be true then it probably is. After getting recommendations from a couple of sources I decided to try the product anyway. I used it to install glass tiles as a backsplash in a kitchen. It was pretty easy to install, but the stuff is darn sticky. Once the tiles go on, it's hard to move them. Even harder to get straight grout lines when the tiles didn't go on straight. I grouted right after installing. So far, the tiles are still on the wall. I think time will tell how well this stuff works. So far they've been on the wall two weeks, but my tenant doesn't move in until next week and that's when the abuse begins. I really hope it works or I'll be redoing the job and what a mess that will be.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 11 for SimpleMat 10 sq. ft. Tile Setting Mat
from Hampton, VA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best time saving product

PostedOctober 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
All of the other reviews of the simple mat appear to read like the customer did not fully follow the directions. I first went to a tile laying class at HD and the simple mat was used as well as thinset. I put up a backsplash in my kitchen with the simple mat, I can not say this enough YOU MUST FOLLOW THE DIRECTIONS!!!!!! First measure everything out, you may have to cut the mat, then only work in sections you can handle. You must press the mat to the cleaned and dried wall with your grout trowl, then when you set your tile, you must press that in again. It is hard to move once it is set, but if you realize your mistake fast, you can pull the tile back off of the wall. After you finish laying your tile, you must grout! This product does not have the same qualities as thinset, it is meant to be grouted the same day, you can not wait untill the next day. Follow the directions when you use the simple mat, if you need help ask the employees in the department or if you have time go to a class, it took about two hours but it is very informative and hands on. The first thing they gave us in the class was a pair of gloves, then the education of the different choices, then you actually got to practice laying tiles, right there in the store. It was an awesome and empowering experience. This product is highly reccommended.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+61points
64out of 67found this review helpful.
Review 12 for SimpleMat 10 sq. ft. Tile Setting Mat
from Darby, Pa
Age Range:35 to 44
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

saved me tons of money

PostedMay 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Purchased this product after a home depot associate suggested it to me when I told him that I was going to tackle my kitchen backsplash alone.I am a 38 year old woman who has no experience in this area and I must say it was very easy to use and my backsplash came out beautiful
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for SimpleMat 10 sq. ft. Tile Setting Mat
from santa rosa, ca
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for first timers or if you're short on hands

PostedApril 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We used Simplemat to do a backsplash around a kitchen and had an overall positive experience. Having never done a backspalsh before, this allowed me to take my tile setting tiles and adjusting for complications along the way. I would recommend 2 things. One: make sure tiles are 100% dry before sticking them onto the Simplemat. In the past, traditional mud allowed us to get away with placing damp tiles. If a tile is too wet it falls off the Simplemat. 2. Simplemat is probably best for larger tiles. We ran into problems while putting on thin strips of piano tile since we would be left with small .5"x.5" pieces that didn't have much to stick to. I would definitely use thin in the future.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Modern, Great Instructions, Looks High End, Effective
Cons: little room for adjustment once tile is set
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for SimpleMat 10 sq. ft. Tile Setting Mat
from Baltimore, MD, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Invention Ever!

PostedFebruary 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've never installed a backsplash before and this stuff made it a piece of cake! I've very impressed with it. Was able to install our backsplash from start to finish in about 3 hours (that included cutting the tiles).
Be careful when handling- it's seriously sticky!
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+20points
21out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 15 for SimpleMat 10 sq. ft. Tile Setting Mat
from Lake Stevens, WA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I love this product!

PostedJuly 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
We used this product last year for a tile project in our remodeled kitchen last year, we spent $600 on glass tiles and it has held up perfectly. We didn't have any problems applying it to the walls and the tiles were set on the sheets within 24 hours...one year later still loving our tiles. We are using it again for tiles on the wall in our bathroom, again it has been easy, no mess.
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for SimpleMat 10 sq. ft. Tile Setting Mat
from Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Tiling made easy with SimpleMat

PostedMay 12, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have been using traditional methods to set wall tile and thought I would give SimpleMat a try on a backsplash project. I install a lot of self-adhesive vinyl tile so I felt right at home with this product. I recommend priming the wall first before installing SimpleMat to insure optimum adhesion. I also recommend peeling off just one side of the backing paper to make handling and aligning it a lot easier. If you are working with heavy ceramic tile, there is a good chance that they might slide down from their weight. In this instance, make sure that your bottom row of tile are securely in place and use the “hard” plastic spacers to help support the remaining rows of tile.
As with self-stick vinyl tile, you have to be very careful when placing tile on SimpleMat as you can’t reposition the tile once set in place as with mortar. All in all, I was very happy with my first experience with SimpleMat. I will certainly be using this product whenever I can on tiling projects.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+32points
39out of 46found this review helpful.
Review 17 for SimpleMat 10 sq. ft. Tile Setting Mat
from St Louis, MO, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Simplemat worked for my kitchen backsplash.

PostedSeptember 13, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I stumbled upon simplemat while surfing The Home Depot website. At first I thought, this sounds too good to be true (as in too easy). I showed my husband the product and he decided to give it a try for our kitchen backsplash. We used porcelain tiles (I believe they are 4” by 8”). Simplemat is easy to use when it comes to sticking the product to the wall and making cut outs for outlets. I noticed another customer’s review stated, “it does not allow you to adjust tile” – this is somewhat true. Once we pressed on the tile, it was difficult to move it slightly but everything turned out fine. We did have a couple of issues with the tiles sticking to the wall but I wouldn’t totally blame Simplemat (it could have been my walls not being perfectly straight). I do recommend having some type of adhesive available for any tiles giving you trouble. We had a couple fall down but then we used adhesive and there weren’t any more issues. We let the tile sit for about 4-5 days before grouting. Two months later, it holds up just fine. Overall, the product worked and I would recommend it.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Clean
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+22points
26out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 18 for SimpleMat 10 sq. ft. Tile Setting Mat
from New Braunfels, Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect product for small tile installation

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have used this product before to edge a builder's grade bathroom mirror with glass tile. It turned out great. This project was installation of white penny tile to act as a backdrop for plain shelves in the hallway outside of the master bedroom. The product cuts easily with a utility knife or scissors. Just pull off the back protective film and press it against the wall. It works great for small tiles and holds well. Check out the picture I have attached.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Install, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for SimpleMat 10 sq. ft. Tile Setting Mat
from Greater Boston, MA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

It's a nice idea, it just doesn't work

PostedJanuary 30, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product was used to install the backsplash in my home (an installation area they claim it's perfect for). It appeared to work well, however, all the tiles behind the stove have pealed off in just a few months. It seems the heat from the stove is enough to soften the adhesive. I can't just get that area reinstalled the right way since the mortar would cause it to appear more raised from the wall with the rest of the installation, so I'm forced to completely retile my backsplash. Oh yeah, it really saves a lot of time... as long as you don't count the time taking it all off and doing it again the right way. Oh and good luck matching the same grout or tile a year later. I don't think I could dislike a product more.
Cons: unfit for purpose
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+15points
28out of 41found this review helpful.
Review 20 for SimpleMat 10 sq. ft. Tile Setting Mat
from Tampa, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

LOVE IT LOVE IT

PostedSeptember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I just did a small tile project in my laundry room with this product. I did a back splash around the tub that i bathe my dogs in...OMG, how easy and beautiful...the picutres I took are like day and night...Anyone can do this women or children...men included. I give this a thumbs up. Thank you...the product I had for a year but that didn't keep it from going bad..it was like butter..no problems. Easy to come off the backing and cut into whatever shape you want it to be in. In no time I was able to grout it..and put on the trim.
Pros: Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 11 >>