728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Primers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1-gal. Lead Based Paint Sealant and Treatment Latex Primer

1-gal. Lead Based Paint Sealant and Treatment Latex Primer

Eco bond LBP 1-gal. Latex primer, a unique sealant and treatment formula for lead based paint mitigation, is now easy, safe, and inexpensive for both contractors and homeowners. The easy one step Paint It On and Leave It On formula readily adheres to most lead paint surfaces, providing an eco-protective sealant and lead treatment. When used prior to renovation, repair and painting (RRP) activities, remediation and demolition, or lead paint stabilization Eco bond LBP creates a layer that binds lead dust, supporting final clean certification, minimizes health and safety hazards, and greatly simplifies cleanup. The flexibility of Eco bond LBP allows for (1) the application of a top coat to leave in place or (2) removal and non-hazardous environmentally protective waste for disposal. The active ingredient of Eco bond LBP that binds the lead will create a rough final finish. As commercial contractors have discovered nationwide, only Eco bond LBP provides a sealant and treatment solution for commercial and industrial LBP activities.
Overall rating:
3.882 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
79%of customersrecommend this product11 of 14reviews
Rating Breakdown 17 reviews
3.9 out of 5.0
5
(7)
4
(5)
3
(2)
2
(2)
1
(1)
Quality 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
79%of customersrecommend this product11 of 14reviews
Customer reviews for 1-gal. Lead Based Paint Sealant and Treatment Latex Primer
Review 1 for 1-gal. Lead Based Paint Sealant and Treatment Latex Primer
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

REALLY thin

PostedJune 18, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The primer is very thin. Easy to apply, but I'm worried that I may need two coats to cover. How can something so thin create a barrier for lead?
Pros: Easy to Apply, Dries Quickly
Cons: thin
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1-gal. Lead Based Paint Sealant and Treatment Latex Primer
from St. Michael, MN, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Easy to work with, covers well.

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
It is easy to work with, goes on easy, covers well. We use it for our encapsulation of lead, don't know long term but short term it has good adhesion. I wish that the store would carry it so it wouldn't have to be ordered, sometimes it is hard waiting for product when you are in process of regulated lead work.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1-gal. Lead Based Paint Sealant and Treatment Latex Primer
from Lakeland, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great product. Goes on well. Bonds well. Fantastic appearance.

PostedDecember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is much better product than I ever expected. It goes on as a thick, pure white covering. One coat was enough. It even looks good on its own without further covering. And it's easy to clean up after because it's a latex paint. Once the Ecobond LBP was applied and it dried thoroughly(24-48 hours), I put on a top coat of a premium latex semi-gloss white. It now shines and looks fantastic. I am using it to cover all the trim/moldings in my home.It bonded so well with the top coat, I think it could serve as a great primer for any paint job, even if you were not interested in just covering lead paint. I am definitely impressed with this product and would recommend it without reservation.
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1-gal. Lead Based Paint Sealant and Treatment Latex Primer

Seems ok

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This is a thick primer, so I'm assuming it provides adequate protection from a lead paint undercoat. However, it dries to a rough, chalky surface so it can't be used on anything that you want to look smooth and polished.
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1-gal. Lead Based Paint Sealant and Treatment Latex Primer
from Denver Colorado

This product worked great

PostedAugust 1, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I used this product in a variety of conditions and found it treated the lead, I will use and recommend this product in the future for sure!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1-gal. Lead Based Paint Sealant and Treatment Latex Primer
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

easy to use

PostedAugust 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
worked as described, fast-acting, thne removed paint with smart strip paint remover
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Dries Quickly
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1-gal. Lead Based Paint Sealant and Treatment Latex Primer

Product covers very well, but a bit poor on latex areas

PostedApril 3, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Coverage 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Low odor 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This product looks great once applied. Application was easy and paint smell was non existent. It did cover very thin where latex paint was already; two coats did a satisfactory job for these areas.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1-gal. Lead Based Paint Sealant and Treatment Latex Primer

so far so great.

PostedApril 21, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
First time using. It does leave a texture, which in my recent case was prefferable, because the house was so rough, with chipped and pealed paint. Went on great. When done, it looked amazingly even. It will be 10 years before i can comment on the durability and longevity, but so far, it performed awesome.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1-gal. Lead Based Paint Sealant and Treatment Latex Primer
from Michigan, USA

Thick paint

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I did notice that I was able to make the paint go much further by adding a fraction of water that they recommend. It does leave a strong paint smell for much longer than expected.
Saying that, it's the only lead-paint encapsulation really in the market, so thanks for that.
Con: Home Depot's shipping was so slow! Should offer an option to pay to receive the product faster, but it's nice they offer free shipping in this economy.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Dries Quickly, lead-encapsulator, few lead encapsulators in the market, use for lead paint encapsulating only
Cons: thick paint, strong lasting odor, needs a good two coats to cover well, very rough feeling
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1-gal. Lead Based Paint Sealant and Treatment Latex Primer
from Canal Winchester, OH, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Female

Works great

PostedSeptember 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
My gf's and my first apartment and the landlord gave us a pamphlet about lead paint. I asked my dad about it and he researched it and told us what to do. He gave us a gallon of Ecobond LBP and 2 quarts of Glidden High Gloss Latex paint and on Friday after work and before moving in, my brother and my roomie and I masking taped and painted all the window sills and trims and the inside of the front door with the Ecobond primer. We used less than half the can and it wasnt' smelly. The next morning it was dry and there were some bumps that we didnt' notice when it was wet, but it wasn't bad. My gf and i painted on the Glidden while my brother and his friend did most of the moving in (hehe). The Glidden was a little smelly, but not bad. We used all the first can. Anyway by Sunday the apartment looked awesome. We were settled in and the new painted areas are smooth and beautiful! They shine much more than before we moved in. I only marked average on value cuz I didn't buy it and I dont' know how much it should cost, but we're very happy with the results.
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1-gal. Lead Based Paint Sealant and Treatment Latex Primer
from Bettendorf, IA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

lead paint primer sealant helped with cleanup

PostedNovember 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used Ecobond to seal the lead dust and peeling paint during our room renovation. The stuff stuck well and we had almost no lead dust to clean up. I think this will be safer for our family. Great Product!
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1-gal. Lead Based Paint Sealant and Treatment Latex Primer
from Tinley Park, IL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A lead treatment that goes on like paint, I like it!

PostedNovember 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was pleasently surprised that the lead treatment is just like regular latex paint primer. It took an overcoat with no problem after 24 hours. The white base color worked well with the beige BEHR Interior/Exterior.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1-gal. Lead Based Paint Sealant and Treatment Latex Primer

Lousy Paint

PostedSeptember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
I assume the stuff works properly at sealing lead (I don't have any way to test that). It's terrible, though, as a paint. It's surprisingly runny and thin, which makes it difficult to apply. Worse, though, is that it is terrible as a base to paint on top of. Other paint will not stick to it at all well - I had a terrible time getting the paint to go on smoothly and to cover the surface thoroughly.
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1-gal. Lead Based Paint Sealant and Treatment Latex Primer
from Bedminster, NJ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good and Simple Was to Deal with Lead-Based Paint

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
When considering the alternatives of how to deal with old lead-based paint on floors, EcoBond is a great solution! Goes on like any other paint, and works just like a regular primer. We'd buy it again if we knew or suspected we had lead based paint!
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Dries Quickly
Cons: expensive
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1-gal. Lead Based Paint Sealant and Treatment Latex Primer
from Boston, MA, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

It's good price for a good paint

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Good for the price. Good idea to have coverage for lead based paint as lead is a dangerous metal that can hurt children and pregnant women.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Protection, Dries Quickly
Cons: Difficult to Clean, No Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1-gal. Lead Based Paint Sealant and Treatment Latex Primer

do not use

PostedJuly 23, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
this product does not paint smoothly. do not use on molding, ever. terrible directions. cost me more in time and labor than benefit could ever off set.
-12points
2out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1-gal. Lead Based Paint Sealant and Treatment Latex Primer
from Columbus, OH

It does not offer a clear coating.

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
For some reason I thought the product would allow the natural brick color to show, but it goes on white and dries white.
-13points
0out of 13found this review helpful.