728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Power Sander Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 4-1/2 in. x 5/8 in. -11 in. Non-Woven Quick-Strip Disc

4-1/2 in. x 5/8 in. -11 in. Non-Woven Quick-Strip Disc

Avanti PRO Quick-Strip Disc is ideal for removing rust, corrosion, scale, paint and epoxy as well as preparing materials prior to coating or welding. This disc is for use on an angle grinder and is designed for metal, wood, plastic and fiberglass materials. Design: rust and paint removal, and coating/welding preparation.
Overall rating:
2.913 / 5
2.9
 / 
5
(23 reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
50%of customersrecommend this product11 of 22reviews
Rating Breakdown 23 reviews
2.9 out of 5.0
5
(7)
4
(3)
3
(0)
2
(7)
1
(6)
Quality 
3.2 out of 5.0
3.2 out of 5
Value 
2.6 out of 5.0
2.6 out of 5
50%of customersrecommend this product11 of 22reviews
Customer reviews for 4-1/2 in. x 5/8 in. -11 in. Non-Woven Quick-Strip Disc
Review 1 for 4-1/2 in. x 5/8 in. -11 in. Non-Woven Quick-Strip Disc
from AZ

Geat for rust and paint removal!

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This thing does a great job removing rust and mill scale! Not to be used like a sanding pad or flap disk.. Does not remove steel, just paint, rust and muck!
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 4-1/2 in. x 5/8 in. -11 in. Non-Woven Quick-Strip Disc
from Huntington Beach, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Avanti just didn't do a very good job replicating the name brand stripping wheel HD use to carry.

PostedDecember 18, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
First off, I have to say that in general abrasive impregnated nylon pads like these do a very good job of removing paint and rust from metal with out removing the base material. These pads do work. With that said, this brand is lacking in the longevity department. My guys go through 2 to 3 time more of these discs than they used to with the Norton rapid strip brand Home Depot use to carry. That might be acceptable if they cost 2 to 3 times less, but they don't. They're about the same. You should purchase these if you are doing small projects sporatically, but if you get into large projects or commercial work you should seek out their old supplier.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 4-1/2 in. x 5/8 in. -11 in. Non-Woven Quick-Strip Disc
from Detroit, MI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Removes paint well.

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Removed paint well using it with my recently purchased Ryobi cordless angle grinder.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 4-1/2 in. x 5/8 in. -11 in. Non-Woven Quick-Strip Disc
from Denton, Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cheap disc

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The disk removed paint and rust with ease but lasted 20 minutes before the material on the disk was gone. I have used disks by 3 different companies and 2 were like this one. The Milwaukee brand last several months. That material was blue in color and didn't disintegrate so fast.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 4-1/2 in. x 5/8 in. -11 in. Non-Woven Quick-Strip Disc
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

great product , strips paint to bare metal in no-time , very cost effective

PostedSeptember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
these discs saved a lot of time stripping paint off our pick-up restoration project. we would recommend them to anybody trying to remove surface material.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 4-1/2 in. x 5/8 in. -11 in. Non-Woven Quick-Strip Disc
from Aromas, CA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great features, SHORT lived!

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The results provided during use were great; removing rust & paint from metal surfaces. The downfall was the life of the item; I got about a half-hour of use before the pad was gone. It got my little intended job done but at the cost of about $10, I could not see myself making this purchase again. It got 2 stars because it DID do the job I needed but had no life cycle to it.
Cons: poor life
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 4-1/2 in. x 5/8 in. -11 in. Non-Woven Quick-Strip Disc
from Pittsburgh, PA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Definitly did the job.

PostedAugust 21, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Product did better than I expected. Made my job much easier to perform. Only wish they put more material on the wheel, had to buy 9 wheels at $10.00 a piece to complete my job.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 4-1/2 in. x 5/8 in. -11 in. Non-Woven Quick-Strip Disc
from Northern Minnesota
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Works, But Not For Long

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Same experience as everyone else - these do the job, but wear really fast. Get Norton Rapid Strips instead. About the same price with much better life. Too bad Home Depot dropped those in favor of these. I use this type of product often to strip paint from log and log sided buildings.
Cons: wears fast
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 4-1/2 in. x 5/8 in. -11 in. Non-Woven Quick-Strip Disc
from Colorado
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Works great but wont last 10 minutes!

PostedMay 30, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product worked very well stripping paint off my fireplace brick wall. That being said, I burned through one disc in a 1 foot by 1 foot area. At a ridiculous $10 a piece it would cost me several hundred dollars to finish my fireplace and expose the original brick. I guess I stand where everyone else does on the product, way too expensive and it doesn't hold up.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 4-1/2 in. x 5/8 in. -11 in. Non-Woven Quick-Strip Disc
from Denver, CO
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great product

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was totally surprised by this product. The disk striped off layers and even rust with no problems. I will recommend this disk to everyone.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Scratches Easily
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 4-1/2 in. x 5/8 in. -11 in. Non-Woven Quick-Strip Disc
from Belleville, MI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not the best for our project

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We wanted to use it to grind down high spots on my son-in-law's basement floor. It wore out WAY too fast to be useful for that.
Pros: Easy to Use
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 4-1/2 in. x 5/8 in. -11 in. Non-Woven Quick-Strip Disc

Abrasive gone in no time

PostedMarch 24, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used this wheel tonight to remove paint on the ends of 4 pieces of metal to prep for welding. Worked well while it lasted but didn't even get thru all 4 pieces. Won't buy them again.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 4-1/2 in. x 5/8 in. -11 in. Non-Woven Quick-Strip Disc

waterproof and last very well.

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Waterproof, easy to use, quick to change, right size for many applications, sturdy-wont fall apart.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Use, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 4-1/2 in. x 5/8 in. -11 in. Non-Woven Quick-Strip Disc
from Afton, MN, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great!

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Removes paint at a good rate, not to fast or slow.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 4-1/2 in. x 5/8 in. -11 in. Non-Woven Quick-Strip Disc
from Albuquerque, NM, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Avanti Pro Quick-Strip Disc

PostedApril 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is the very best product I have found yet for stripping scale, rust and paint quickly and easily down to bare metal without cutting into the metal. I definitely consider this product a consumable as they wear down very quickly. They are kind of pricey in that they don't last long, but again they work very well.
Pros: Easy to Use, best product for designed use
Cons: Not Durable, wear quickly and pricey
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 4-1/2 in. x 5/8 in. -11 in. Non-Woven Quick-Strip Disc
from New Auburn, MN 55366, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

perfect for my use

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I use the product often, it has many applications for several mediums.very stable on an angle grinder,good for course areas wear proximity is an issue..does not expel particles in an unacceptable rate..customer service was as good as home depot has always provided in my 17 years of patronage...
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Long-Lasting, time saving
Cons: Limited Features, larlarger variety of sanding grades
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 4-1/2 in. x 5/8 in. -11 in. Non-Woven Quick-Strip Disc

Works well, but wears out prematurely

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Works excellent for its advertised purpose. The only thing they leave out is that it has an EXTREMELY short lifespan. If you are going to strip the paint off one car door, you'd better buy at least four of these. I can't justify wasting that kind of money.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 4-1/2 in. x 5/8 in. -11 in. Non-Woven Quick-Strip Disc
from Chicago
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

I wish there was another product

PostedSeptember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We have gone through about 70 of these in the last week. They do the job but they last about 15 minutes even with gentle use. There has to be something better out there that might last longer yet do the job.
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 4-1/2 in. x 5/8 in. -11 in. Non-Woven Quick-Strip Disc

NO WAY!

PostedAugust 30, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I agree with everyone before me. I went through 3 of these discs within 20mins. They do a great job, but just don't last long at all. No more for me.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable, doesn't last
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 4-1/2 in. x 5/8 in. -11 in. Non-Woven Quick-Strip Disc
from Oregon
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Horrible! Bring Back Norton Rapid Strip discs!!!

PostedOctober 14, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Are these made of chalk? I can't believe how quickly these get eaten up. Home Depot used to carry Norton Rapid Strip discs which were sooooo much better. I've been buying the Norton ones through a different source. Bring back the Norton discs and bring back your customers!!!
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>