728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Polishing Kits or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 4-1/2 in. x 5/8 in. -11 in. Non-Woven Quick-Strip Disc

4-1/2 in. x 5/8 in. -11 in. Non-Woven Quick-Strip Disc

Avanti PRO Quick-Strip Disc is ideal for removing rust, corrosion, scale, paint and epoxy as well as preparing materials prior to coating or welding. This disc is for use on an angle grinder and is designed for metal, wood, plastic and fiberglass materials. Design: rust and paint removal, and coating/welding preparation.
Overall rating:
2.1 / 5
2.1
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
33%of customersrecommend this product3 of 9reviews
Rating Breakdown 10 reviews
2.1 out of 5.0
5
(1)
4
(1)
3
(0)
2
(4)
1
(4)
Quality 
2.6 out of 5.0
2.6 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
33%of customersrecommend this product3 of 9reviews
Customer reviews for 4-1/2 in. x 5/8 in. -11 in. Non-Woven Quick-Strip Disc
Review 1 for 4-1/2 in. x 5/8 in. -11 in. Non-Woven Quick-Strip Disc
MachineDesignEngineer
from Huntington Beach, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Avanti just didn't do a very good job replicating the name brand stripping wheel HD use to carry.

PostedDecember 18, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
First off, I have to say that in general abrasive impregnated nylon pads like these do a very good job of removing paint and rust from metal with out removing the base material. These pads do work. With that said, this brand is lacking in the longevity department. My guys go through 2 to 3 time more of these discs than they used to with the Norton rapid strip brand Home Depot use to carry. That might be acceptable if they cost 2 to 3 times less, but they don't. They're about the same. You should purchase these if you are doing small projects sporatically, but if you get into large projects or commercial work you should seek out their old supplier.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 4-1/2 in. x 5/8 in. -11 in. Non-Woven Quick-Strip Disc
hoecherl
from New Auburn, MN 55366, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

perfect for my use

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I use the product often, it has many applications for several mediums.very stable on an angle grinder,good for course areas wear proximity is an issue..does not expel particles in an unacceptable rate..customer service was as good as home depot has always provided in my 17 years of patronage...
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Long-Lasting, time saving
Cons: Limited Features, larlarger variety of sanding grades
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 4-1/2 in. x 5/8 in. -11 in. Non-Woven Quick-Strip Disc
VatoLoco

Works well, but wears out prematurely

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Works excellent for its advertised purpose. The only thing they leave out is that it has an EXTREMELY short lifespan. If you are going to strip the paint off one car door, you'd better buy at least four of these. I can't justify wasting that kind of money.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 4-1/2 in. x 5/8 in. -11 in. Non-Woven Quick-Strip Disc
Skippy

Abrasive gone in no time

PostedMarch 24, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used this wheel tonight to remove paint on the ends of 4 pieces of metal to prep for welding. Worked well while it lasted but didn't even get thru all 4 pieces. Won't buy them again.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 4-1/2 in. x 5/8 in. -11 in. Non-Woven Quick-Strip Disc
deminimis
from Oregon
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Horrible! Bring Back Norton Rapid Strip discs!!!

PostedOctober 14, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Are these made of chalk? I can't believe how quickly these get eaten up. Home Depot used to carry Norton Rapid Strip discs which were sooooo much better. I've been buying the Norton ones through a different source. Bring back the Norton discs and bring back your customers!!!
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 4-1/2 in. x 5/8 in. -11 in. Non-Woven Quick-Strip Disc
rockawaymechanic
from Rockaway, NJ
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quickly Strips rust...It's like Quickly Diminishes

PostedOctober 11, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I bought this nifty disk to strip rust off some steel stock. First it was a little snug threading onto my angle grinder. Next it DID remove rust fast...It wore down fast too. After 10 minutes of medium pressure, the disk was 80% gone. I can't justify spending $10 for 10 minutes of use.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 4-1/2 in. x 5/8 in. -11 in. Non-Woven Quick-Strip Disc
dep1983
from Wideman, AR 72585, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product has great features

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The quick-strip disc is great for taking paint off of wood, it won't leave burn marks on the wood unless you go to far down on the disc without changing it out. This is by far better than other disc that I've tried on wood. Went thru 2-3 layers of paint down to the bare wood, just wish the disc would last a bit longer but can deal with that as good a job as they do.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Strong, Good Size & Weight
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 4-1/2 in. x 5/8 in. -11 in. Non-Woven Quick-Strip Disc
ArtB
from Chicago
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

I wish there was another product

PostedSeptember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We have gone through about 70 of these in the last week. They do the job but they last about 15 minutes even with gentle use. There has to be something better out there that might last longer yet do the job.
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 4-1/2 in. x 5/8 in. -11 in. Non-Woven Quick-Strip Disc
Jay303

NO WAY!

PostedAugust 30, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I agree with everyone before me. I went through 3 of these discs within 20mins. They do a great job, but just don't last long at all. No more for me.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable, doesn't last
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 4-1/2 in. x 5/8 in. -11 in. Non-Woven Quick-Strip Disc
brainhub

Doesn't last

PostedNovember 10, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Used it for minor stripping of the paint on a 4x7 ft painted wood fence section (with about 50% holes). Mostly was stipping the 2 horizontal 4x1" rails on the two most exposed surfaces. Actually, I only stripped to bare wood the 1" wide surface that is horizontal, for the total of 14 sq. inches. The consumption is 1.5 disks for this work. I am unhappy with the consumption. I could do this with the manual scrapper that I can re-sharpen, so the cost is about zero v.s. $15 for minor relief of the muscle work. This is quite expensive and I am not even sure I save time. I think there is better disc product that should make using the power tool more cost effective. Will not buy AvantiPRO again. I will try 3M or Norton brand next, or fall back to the manual scrapper.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.