728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Garden Tools or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for PowerGear 32 in. Titanium Bypass Lopper

PowerGear 32 in. Titanium Bypass Lopper

The first time you try our PowerGear Titanium Lopper, you’ll be amazed — but it’s not magic, it’s gears. Our patented gear technology multiplies your leverage to give you up to four times more power on every cut. This means you can power through thick branches that you wouldn’t be able to cut with traditional loppers. The fully hardened steel pruning blade is enhanced with a titanium coating to glide through branches without gumming up and resist rust for long-lasting value. PowerGear tools — the perfect choice for anyone who appreciates tools that make work easier. Lifetime warranty.
Overall rating:
2.833 / 5
2.8
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
44%of customersrecommend this product8 of 18reviews
Rating Breakdown 18 reviews
2.8 out of 5.0
5
(6)
4
(2)
3
(0)
2
(3)
1
(7)
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.3 out of 5.0
3.3 out of 5
44%of customersrecommend this product8 of 18reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 4 Answers
Customer reviews for PowerGear 32 in. Titanium Bypass Lopper
Review 1 for PowerGear 32 in. Titanium Bypass Lopper
from Lebanon, Ohio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Handle snapped off

PostedSeptember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This thing looks beefy but its not as strong as it looks. I was cutting 1 inch sticks with this like it was cutting through butter then all of a sudden the handle snapped off. See my picture. It says it has a life time warranty. I guess I am going to have to seek out a replacement now.
Pros: Sharp
Cons: Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PowerGear 32 in. Titanium Bypass Lopper
from Grove City, OH, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice loppers, but please read before buying.

PostedFebruary 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I am happy with the ease of cutting, however, I broke 2 titanium blades. I exchanged the first set at Home Depot with no problem, but when I broke the second blade, I ordered 3 replacement blades on the Fiskars website for $5.99 ea. I realized that unlike the traditional steel bladed loppers, the titanium blades can break easily if you force the cut or twist while cutting. Now that I know how to use these properly, I probably wont be breaking too many blades. Important: the titanium blade and powergear make it easy to cut, however, if you try to cut something too big or if you have to force a cut, the blade WILL break.
Pros: Durable, Functionality, Strong
Cons: blades can break if misused.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PowerGear 32 in. Titanium Bypass Lopper
from Plano, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works exactly as promised

PostedOctober 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We have a very large backyard for the suburbs (thank you corner lot) and we have over twenty trees back there. These particular trees, while upwards of 20-25 feet tall, also spread out on the bottom and encroach on the backyard.
Using this tool alone, it took my wife and I about three hours to trim all of those trees back, thus gaining nearly 200 more square feet of usable backyard. It's rated at a 2" capacity for the branch to trim, and we were able to slightly exceed that by about 1/2 an inch. Pretty much anything 1 1/2" or less was extremely simple to cut, and it allowed us to be far more precise than a chainsaw, and far more expedient than a standard saw. It's almost effortless and there is the instant gratification of seeing your results quickly and easily.
We got this one because of the titanium-coated blade. I don't know how much better than makes it, but I will say that we both actually enjoyed doing this work as the only strenuous part was carrying/dragging the branches out to the trash. The cutting and trimming became almost fun instead of a chore.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PowerGear 32 in. Titanium Bypass Lopper
from Anaheim, CA

Disappointed by weak blade

PostedAugust 25, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I absolutely love this tool, but can't keep it because of the weak blade.
This product cut through everything I threw at it with ease. My wife was cutting through 2" branches like they were nothing. The amount of power generated by the gears is astounding.
But then after maybe 30 cuts, I noticed a chunk of the blade missing. I read the online reviews and realized this was an issue so I opted to return rather than exchange.
I replaced with the standard forged steel loppers for about the same cost. They don't have anywhere near the power as these had, but I want a product that will last.
Pros: Functionality
Cons: Not Durable
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PowerGear 32 in. Titanium Bypass Lopper
from Floral City, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Cuts easily but poor quality.

PostedJuly 27, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this thinking it was higher quality but was disappointed after blade broke in half within the first month. Initially it made cutting very easy however it didn't take long before blade snapped rendering the tool useless.
After reading the other reviews I realized that I could have purchased additional blades however too late. I had cheaper loppers with a steel blade that lasted for two years. I thought titanium was tougher?
Pros: easy cutting.
Cons: Not Durable
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PowerGear 32 in. Titanium Bypass Lopper

Junk

PostedAugust 17, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Lopping branches, even the slightest side to side wiggle will cause a chunk of this paper thin blade to break off, leaving a gap in your lopper. Mine failed in the first 5 minutes. Shocked at the current quality of garden tools today.
Cons: Not Durable
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PowerGear 32 in. Titanium Bypass Lopper
from west palm beach
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Broken handle

PostedApril 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Handle broke after using a few times. made out of cheep nylon
Cons: Not Durable
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PowerGear 32 in. Titanium Bypass Lopper

Very poor quality

PostedNovember 3, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased a pair of these loppers and they broke within about 15 minuets of cutting. All bushes with at most 1" diameter. Blade broke clean in half. Exchanged them for a second pair thinking it was a fluke defect. Second pair the blade is chipping off in huge chunks again after just a few minuets of cutting. The cutting metal is just to thin and poorly designed for the job esp considering the gear they put in for power. Can't imagine approaching a 2" cut.
Cons: Not Durable
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PowerGear 32 in. Titanium Bypass Lopper
from PA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Lifetime warranty means something

PostedDecember 28, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These work great but the best thing is that when a piece broke out of the cutting blade, I sent a photo to Fiskars by email, and they fed-ex'd an entire replacement lopper. When they say lifetime warranty, they mean it.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PowerGear 32 in. Titanium Bypass Lopper

Cut like a DREAM

PostedMay 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I can't believe how easily these cut through thick branches. Super sharp, seriously could amputate a horse with these suckers. I have had for two seasons, no issues with the blade breaking.
Pros: Durable, Strong, Sharp, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PowerGear 32 in. Titanium Bypass Lopper
from Chicago, IL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

One of the Best Loppers Around

PostedSeptember 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this lopper in the sping after we moved into a new house that needed a bunch of landscaping. I have used several loppers over the years, but this one cut through various size branches with ease. This lopper is large, but still pretty light weight. My wife ended up using this lopper, and gave me "her" old one because it was much easier for her. The alleged reason for the easy cutting is the geared head and titanium blades. I'm not sure if that's marketing speak, but whatever Fiskars has done with this lopper is working. The lifetime warranty doesn't hurt either. I would recommend this lopper to anyone.
Pros: Durable, Functionality, Strong, Sharp, Stylish, Great Quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PowerGear 32 in. Titanium Bypass Lopper
from MN
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Blade is brittle

PostedMay 1, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Got as a xmas gift from my wife and was excited to use it this spring, Got about a day or two of use out of it before the blade broke and it will no longer cut. Its says it cuts up to 2", I never cut anything that big but it did cut well while it lasted. I submitted a claim to the manufacturer and I am hoping they atleast can send me a replacement blade.
Pros: Vibrant Color, Easy to Install, Sharp
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PowerGear 32 in. Titanium Bypass Lopper

This thing turns a 10 year old into a chore machine

PostedMay 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I read the reviews and thought it would come in handy. I planned on using these to trim dead branches on my 4 acres of wooded area and to also clear cut shubs and thin out thick clusters of new trees growing deeper in the woods.
The first day it came, my son said those are some "epic" scissors and wanted to use them. I told him to cut some 1-2 inch oak branches so we could have a bonfire. He did this task with ease.
After he proved the power and effectiveness of the loppers I now send him on a 20 minute daily mission to do everything I planned on doing... He cuts the unwanted saplings, shrubs, and dead branches and has a constant supply of kindling.
This purchase could be the best 34 bucks I ever spent. He feels like Hercules and loves doing the chores. I can spend that saved time doing other landscaping chores.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Functionality, Sharp, Great Quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PowerGear 32 in. Titanium Bypass Lopper
from Boston
Age Range:55 to 64

Expensive, but makes you into a hercules

PostedApril 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I have an old compound action lopper and this one takes about a third the strength. I've gone right up to the 2" limit and barely had to use any body mechanics to get through. I experimented with a tough green mulberry stick. The old lopper, my wife couldn't do it and I barely could. This one, she could. Haven't experienced the breakage others have, but will not twist them. The gearing amplifies the force so much, it is understandable. Don't twist!
Pros: Strong
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PowerGear 32 in. Titanium Bypass Lopper
from Iowa, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great tool for someone who isn't very strong.

PostedSeptember 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this because I found reviews from women who weren't very strong and in particular, had problems with their wrists. I'm recovering from a broken wrist and also have problems with the other wrist. This tool is amazing--it very easily cuts branches that I could never have cut with my "non ratcheting" pruners. I would give the same recommendation--it you aren't very strong and have problems with arms and wrists, this is the pruner for you.
Pros: Durable, Functionality, Strong, Sharp
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PowerGear 32 in. Titanium Bypass Lopper
from Germantown, MD, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Older ones were excellent, new ones break.

PostedSeptember 15, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought these when they first came out. Outstanding loppers. The ratcheting function greatly magnifies your effort. Now years later the new ones are not nearly as robust; the handles break, the blades break, the replacements break. What was once a mechanical innovation is now a hassle.
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PowerGear 32 in. Titanium Bypass Lopper
from Burlington, VT, USA

Fragile Blade

PostedApril 9, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The blade on this lopper lasted not even two cuts on a one and a half inch branch. Halfway through the second cut, about 1/3 of cutting edge snapped off. The blade does not appear to be made of forged steel, it appears to be cast. Castings are brittle and can't handle side stresses. My other lopper has lasted years without breaking or dulling. Don't waste your money.
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PowerGear 32 in. Titanium Bypass Lopper
from ohio
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

handle broke after only 3 or 4 times

PostedSeptember 23, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
cut okay but handle broke off after only 3 times using it the handle on 1 3/4 are heaver not sure why unless they want them to break on the 2 inch ones
lifetime warranty if you want to jump through hoops to get a replacement
Pros: Vibrant Color, Sharp, Stylish
Cons: Not Durable, break handles easy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.