728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Bathroom Hardware or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Infrared Heater Unit

Infrared Heater Unit

The Truman Electric infrared heater produces safe, clean, economical heat by utilizing six infrared quartz-heating elements that deliver ultimate comfort by keeping the heat even throughout your room.
Overall rating:
2.2 / 5
2.2
 / 
5
(35 reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
31%of customersrecommend this product10 of 32reviews
Rating Breakdown 35 reviews
2.2 out of 5.0
5
(8)
4
(1)
3
(1)
2
(5)
1
(20)
Quality 
2.3 out of 5.0
2.3 out of 5
Value 
2.1 out of 5.0
2.1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
31%of customersrecommend this product10 of 32reviews
Customer reviews for Infrared Heater Unit
Review 1 for Infrared Heater Unit
from Oakfield, NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Terrible. I'm taking it back. DON'T BUY THIS HEATER.

PostedOctober 8, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The FIRST one I bought didn't work AT ALL - - took it back the same day and got a replacement - that one worked, but not as well as the $89 fake fireplace that I already had. Plus, the fan rattles, and the cord REALLY gets super warm. VERY DISAPPOINTED - I'm taking it back and getting my money back. DON'T BUY THIS HEATER.
Pros: Looks Great, Good Size & Fit, Nice Design
Cons: Noisy, Performance, cord gets very warm
+30points
33out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Infrared Heater Unit
from Schuylkill, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Not worth the money!

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased this heater after about a month I called the company because the air was barely warm they sent a new one and it puts out warmer air but not enough to keep a room warm worst money I ever spent.
Cons: Quality
+21points
22out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Infrared Heater Unit

Don't buy

PostedOctober 11, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product worked great for 3 months, then stopped working (conveniently after the 90 day return policy expired)- error message E1 comes up, but I have no idea what this means since it wasn't included in the owner's manual. I tried to contact customer service but they couldn't find any info, either. Trouble shooted- filter is clean, etc., no reason that I can find that it should stop working and shut off...
+21points
23out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Infrared Heater Unit
from Mechanicsburg, PA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

HORRIBLE!! Don't waste your money!

PostedNovember 22, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
DISAPPOINTED HOME DEPOT WOULD CARRY SUCH A POOR QUALITY PRODUCT!!
This heater is a waste of money... Like most of the other reviews our heater only worked for a couple of months... First it started with only blowing cold air then there are times when it will go on and the unit heats up (ONLY to the touch if you touch the front vent where it should blow out warm air) but NOTHING blows out at all, not even cool air. I don't think it's the heating element I think it may be the blower? I attempted to email the manufacturer but get an error message saying bad website... I did find what I believe to be the company info on some online directory type thing which provided a link to send them an email but not sure if its current or good contact info... From reading everyone else's reviews I am doubtful the warranty will even be honored!
My best advice from owning this heater is DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY, I am extremely disappointed in the quality or rather LACK OF in this product
Cons: huge waste of money, only worked a couple of months, waste of $200, disappointed home depot would sell such junk!, junk, very poor quality
+22points
25out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Infrared Heater Unit
from Rutland, VT, USA

Don't buy it.

PostedNovember 15, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this last year and it worked pretty well for a space heater. This year I turned it on and there is hardly any heat coming out. Every once in a while the fan rattles and no matter which position you set it on low or high it makes no difference. Last year in the middle of the winter it kept us from freezing this year it uses more electricity and no warmth. Don't waste your money.
Cons: Not Durable
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Infrared Heater Unit
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Product is good quality for the price

PostedOctober 31, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product works very well. According to the Truman heater website this heater is rated at 5100 BTUs which is better heat output than you will find from many other 1500 w heaters. Heats up my living room fast. Keep in mind the heat doesn't kick back on automatically until the temp. drops 4 degrees from where it is set. I mistakenly thought the thermostat didn't work at first. Very good heater for the price.
+13points
15out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Infrared Heater Unit
from White Lake, MI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good thermostat, heats as I expected it to

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought my unit in September, in January it quit working, I contacted Truman via e-mail and informed them of the problem, this was on a Sunday evening, on Monday morning I received an e-mail with a Fed Ex tr, tracking number, today (Tues) the heater is already in Michigan, I should have it by tomorrow. This is the BEST customer service I have ever received from a company and I would recommend purchasing their product on this alone. They (Truman) take customer service very seriously and I would not be afraid to purchase any product this company makes based on that alone, not to mention that it is a great heater and worked very well. Kudos to Truman, Thank You for the Great Customer Service. David and Chris were great!!
Ed from Michigan
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Infrared Heater Unit

Great Value

PostedNovember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a couple different infrared Heaters by different vendors. The Truman has a low setting which most don't in this price range don't offer. For its price range it has alot to offer. The thermostat is designed to have a temp drop before it resumes which eliminates the unit kicking on and off which I just assume less stress on the unit. The only other competitor to this one is smaller units that doesn't cover as much area. Will probably buy one more for the shop.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Infrared Heater Unit
from Indiana
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great

PostedNovember 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
have used this heater going on 3 years now and i love it we have a natural gas furnace ;so the heater helps me save on my gas bill and my electric bill has not gone up by using it . i would buy another when this doesn't work anymore
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Infrared Heater Unit

Heats well but thermostat controller is inadequate

PostedOctober 24, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
On my second heater. The first one lasted 2 weeks and heater would not cycle as temperature dropped, after it cycled once it stayed off until I manually raised the temperature. Controller went bad. Store gladly offered an exchange or refund.
+9points
22out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Infrared Heater Unit
Age Range:35 to 44
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Works great

PostedDecember 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought two to heat my 1000 square foot apartment which has leaky windows and electric baseboard heaters. I have completely turn off the baseboards and foot well blower heaters and am using only these. They are keeping the place a super comfy 21ºC, even when it's below zero outside. I have one in the office/livingroom/kitchen and one in my bedroom on the other side of the apartment. Very nice to wake up to a warm room. Much nicer than baseboard heat. Floors feel warm to the touch much more-so than with baseboards. I have one blowing on me constantly in my office. I roll them around sometimes as well. Got mine on sale. Love 'em!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, toasty!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Infrared Heater Unit

Good unit

PostedDecember 19, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
$200 for a heater is a little much but on high this unit does push out the heat. Electric bill went up but not a ton. We use it during the day to heater our living and dinning room (which are open) and unit heats it well. The unit does not cycle on and off so it will run 24/ if you let it. Also the thermostat is not correct it's off 2 degrees. It's a nice idea to have a built in thermostat but without cycle on and off it obviously is not needed.
Overall good unit i've had it about 3 months now and its quiet and reliable...
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Infrared Heater Unit
from Ithaca, NY, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just Didn't Work

PostedDecember 14, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This heater seemed like a good idea. However, it just doesn't seem to be able to do what the manufacturer says it can. We bought it in the hopes that it would warm the downstairs of our small home enough to make it comfortable (65-67 degrees) without the furnace kicking on. The manufacturer claims it can heat up to 1,500 sq. ft. However, this heater could only raise the temperature of a 550 sq. ft. space by 2 degrees (from 61 to 63, which was at least 2 degrees lower than comfortable), even after over 5 hours of continuous operation on high. I guess this is the right heater for you if you're looking to heat a small bedroom/den, but that's about it. Disappointing. Returned!
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Infrared Heater Unit
from Pa
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Non Performer

PostedJanuary 16, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased this product and it did not perform as claimed by the manufacturer, heats to around 62 degrees in a 700 sq ft basement that's insulated.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Infrared Heater Unit
from berlin center oh
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

does not keep up

PostedDecember 10, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
just bought 2 of these. they both work exactly as they are designed to.....that being said they are going back to the store. you get what you pay for...nuff said!
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Infrared Heater Unit
from Mich
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent buy.

PostedDecember 7, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this heater over a year ago. We have a 24 X 20 family room. This room is always cold because half is on a cement slab. The heater works great. It distributes the heat evenly throughout the entire room. It is safe to the touch as well. Great value for someone who wants zone heating without over driving your furnace. When I bought the unit, I called Truman with some questions. They were very helpful.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Looks Great, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Infrared Heater Unit

not a heat producer

PostedDecember 14, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have a 10' x 10' room i spend my evenings in. And rather than heat the whole house i just want my little room warm. Well apparently 100 sqft is just too much for this guy. i usually am comfortable at 66 deg, but even with the heater set to 70, not only was i cold but it ran for a good 10 minutes after it reached what it thought was proper temp., and blew cold air out. it is going back.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: did not heat properly
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Infrared Heater Unit

stay away

PostedJanuary 4, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This unit failed on day three of ownership. First the thermostat read 10 deg higher than it was in the room. I bought this unit to put in a bedroom so I could sleep while my furnace was out. Then the whole unit simply refused to turn on. It is going back to the store for a refund.
Cons: Not Durable, poor quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Infrared Heater Unit
from Sabattus, ME, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great heater for price

PostedDecember 12, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Does exactly what the others do keep in mind this is a slow even heat,it has to drop 4 degrees in order to go back up in temp.if set at 70 will come in at 66.great unit.will buy another again.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Infrared Heater Unit

Not enough heat

PostedDecember 2, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The highest temp it would heat to is 60 degrees. It took 1/2 hour to raise the room temp from 50 to 60 degrees, and would go no higher on the highest setting. Is this a faulty heater?
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>