728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Top Freezer Refrigerators or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 20.6 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black

20.6 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black

Combine efficiency and capacity in a top-freezer refrigerator. This ENERGY STAR qualified Maytag 20.6 cu. ft. refrigerator helps you save money on utility bills. The convenient ice maker produces fresh ice in the freezer, eliminating the need to refill ice cube trays. Plus, it's installed at the factory, so there's no need to purchase a kit. Full-width Spill-Catcher glass shelves provide plenty of room for extra-wide items, while the FreshLock humidity controlled crispers help preserve the freshness of vegetables and fruit.
Overall rating:
4.201 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(1526 reviews) 1526
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product1,299 of 1,482reviews
Rating Breakdown 1,526 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(751)
4
(517)
3
(138)
2
(54)
1
(66)
Features 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Quality 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
88%of customersrecommend this product1,299 of 1,482reviews
Customer questions and answers:
137 Questions | 277 Answers
Customer reviews for 20.6 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black
Review 1 for 20.6 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from Charlotte, NC, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Maytag Top Freezer/Refrigerator in Black

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The time had come when I had to have a refrigerator, mine was gone and using a dorm size borrowed one until my new one was delivered. Shopping for great Good Friday Deals, searching used ones also, Ebay, Craig's List, individual adv, scratch and dent stores, and other retail stores, after reviewing Home Depot through my Bill Me Later from Paypal deals to review, I saw this refrigerator and loved it right away, but kept searching for the best deal, 24 hours later this deal was the one to accept, the deal got better with further reduction, I bought a new one for the best deal between used ones, scratch and dents, etc, Home Depot is the chosen place to shop for great deals, great Customer Service. Thanks for the opportunity to share this with others.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, High Quality, Nice Design, nice color update
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 20.6 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from Ashford, AL 36312, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

20.6 CU. FT. TOP FREEZER REFRIGERATOR IN BLACK

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love that it is self defrost. I like the room that I have in it. Just perfect for me. Love having an ice maker that works well. It is a very attractive looking refrigerator. Looks great in my kitchen. Now to get a matching stove and I am good to go. Customer service was great. It was shipped when it was said it would be here. Delivery men were very polite. Got in and out in a short amount of time. They new exactly what they were doing and got it done. Would certainly do business with Home Depot again in the future. I also love that it is an Energy Saver.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 20.6 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black

Great Value Refrigerator

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
- Greater Energy Efficiency and Storage than Existing Fridge
- Includes an Ice Maker when Other Fridges in the Price Range did not
- Easy to Clean and Reconfigure
- Met Home Space Requirements
- Bottom Line: Great Value for the Cost
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 20.6 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from Stockton, CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Good Refrigerator for the Price

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a very good refrigerator for the price. I purchased it on sale for about $200 off of the original price. I paid about $600 before tax and the ice maker water line. This is a nice size 20.6 CF and provides easy access to foods. The water line was about $10. The appliance is black which I wanted to match other appliances in my kitchen. The delivery was no cost, on time, and included the installation of the unit in my kitchen. The ice maker works great. And, it is very energy efficient. My only issue is that the freezer motor is a little noisy. Otherwise, this is a great value for the money.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: motor a little noisy but acceptable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 20.6 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from Memphis, TN
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Perfect size for my space, and it's very quiet (contrary to some of the other reviews I've seen). Great buy.

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love my new refrigerator! The ice maker works GREAT, the fridge fits perfectly in my space, it stays quiet, it's easy to adjust the temperature, and it holds a LOT of stuff. Can't beat it, hopefully it'll last me several years!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 20.6 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I love it! It's as good as the other higher cost brands.

PostedMarch 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It's has the same room and features as other comparable refrigerators, but it cost about $300 less. It's big and has lots of shelves. The ice maker filled up with 24 hours.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, High Quality, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+12points
18out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 20.6 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from Utah
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Refrigerator, one little Hiccup to be solved.

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We are very happy with this new refrigerator. It replaced a 6 year old Whirlpool that was strikingly similar in design, but the fan died and stopped keeping the refrigerator cool.
This new refrigerator has one little troubling problem. The cheese drawer drops out of the track when you put much weight in it. I plan to call the manufacturer and see if there is a simple solution.
I am very happy with it otherwise. :)
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great
Cons: cheese drawer slips out of the track when loaded
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 20.6 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from Delray Beach, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Food froze in the refrigerator compartment.

PostedMay 10, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
We had this refrigerator delivered in early Dec. From the beginning food in the refrigerator section would freeze if we kept the freezer cold enough so that ice cream was not a semi-liquid mess.
Maytag sent repair people five times over period of over four months with no change in refrigerator's operation.
Initially Maytag said we had too much food in the freezer and that we should not fill the freezer more than half full.
Finally, representatives from Home Depot called Maytag and Maytag finally agreed after four months to replace the refrigerator.
I'll never buy another Maytag appliance due to the lack of customer care. One can always get a lemon. but one expects the manufacturer to stand behind their product. Maytag didn't.
Home Depot went the extra mile to make sure that they had a satisfied customer. I give them a lot of credit for that.
+41points
41out of 41found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 20.6 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from Brea, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Best Store and Price to Purchase Refrigerator

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was very happy with the delivery team and set up and very happy with this refrigerator. I had a smaller space with height limitations and this product was perfect. Great ice maker in record time.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 20.6 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from Henderson NV 89012
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Fantastic Value & Beautiful Refridgerator

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Delivery guys were really fast & efficient. Answered all my questions too. New Maytag Refride was fantastic value, makes a little more noise than my last, but bedroom is far away so fine with me. Got cold really fast and has a lot more room than I expected. I have always had large double door with many bells & whistles but do not need anymore, only me and eat less than ever! So I really hope this one lasts awhile as I love the black shiny color, shows no dirt at all! I painted all small silver screws and other silver hinges etc, all black, so very sleeklooking now, with no other color showing! I love it! Thanks for the good deal, free deliver, and taking away old refridge. All quick & easy! Thank you.....Regina A / Henderson NV 89012
Pros: Easy to Clean, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 20.6 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black

Basic Refrigerator - no wheel locks

PostedMay 17, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The refrigerator works fine. Storage space is good, ice maker works fine. The one negative I have is there is no built in lock for the wheels to keep the unit from moving forwards & backwards when you open and close the door. The owners manuel indicated that some models have a stabilizer leg thate screw down to the floor. I called the manufacture about it and they determined that this unit doesn't have that feature. they did say the wheels have a built in lock, but they do not. That actually mailed us extra wheels after the call and they didn't have locks either. We ended up getting some pieces of rubber and cutting out squares to place under the wheels.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 20.6 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from Edmonds, WA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very spacious!

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I'm very happy with all the space in this fridge. The dairy drawer came off it's tracks five minutes after installation, but a friend of mine was able to fix it pretty easily. The only problem with this fridge is it only has one temp control for both the freezer and the fridge. On the recommended default setting, some of my food froze in the fridge. I'm still working to find a setting to keep my freezer food frozen, without freezing the food in the fridge. If not for this issue, this would definitely be a five star fridge.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Easy to Use, Performs Well, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Convenient, Good Use of Space, Nice Design, Useful
Cons: one temp control for both fridge and freezer
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 20.6 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black

very worthwhile

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
less money than others, but works as well as any other simple fridge. Good shelf system. The only noise was from ice maker when admitting water into the system. We don't need that feature and now the fridge is silent.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 20.6 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black

Very happy with purchase

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We had an old old old fridge that had broken shelves and storage drawers and sucked down electricity like it was candy so we decided to get a new one. This one is bigger than our old one and comes with many nice features and plenty of storage. It runs very quiet and keeps the food cold. I haven't hooked up the ice maker yet so no idea how well that works. We've had it for about 3 months now so we'll see how it stands over the test of time but Maytag is generally a very good brand. And for the sale they had on it and free haul away of our junker was the icing on the cake.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, High Quality, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 20.6 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from Orange City, Fl
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Love this refrigerator!

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
very pleased with my Maytag refrigerator. Very quiet...can not even hear it running. Delivery & installation was seamless!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 20.6 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from Covington, Wa
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

Maytag refrigerators are cool

PostedOctober 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The refrigerator is nice looking and seems to work well. It is easy to see inside. The door doesn't self close as well as it should though. The size is good. I have the freezer on top unlike our previous one and I like it better for seeing what is inside. I had a little trouble placing a shelf as there is a wall next to the door. I like the see through shelves and drawers. The ice maker works well.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 20.6 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from MUSKEGON,MICHIGAN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

QUIET RUNNER!

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
NICE BUILT IN ICE MAKER. EASY TO INSTALL! GOOD TO LOOK AT!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 20.6 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from 44321
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Cheap version of the former product

PostedApril 2, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
No light in the freezer is definitely a poor design when rooting around at night. The single temperature control for both the freezer and the refrigeration compartment is weak, food in freezer not cold enough, things in refrig too cold. As far as energy efficiency, the setting for max efficiency doesn't allow you to freeze ice in the freezer, and forget about ice cream which is best at 20 degrees or lower. I thought the whole idea of a freezer was to FREEZE food. We had a Maytag previously and due to space constraints we were matching up best with the Maytag product we liked before. It didn't dawn on us that they would cheapen up the design so severely. Caveat Emptor!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install
Cons: cheaply designed, no freezer controls, no light in the freezer compartment
+12points
15out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 20.6 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black

Great for us!

PostedJuly 31, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Compared to our 1997 side-by-side this fridge is FABULOUS! Lots more room. Makes ice. The one down side is the fridge part is really low. My husband says he has to get on his knees to get anything out of it. :) But for our really small spot for a fridge this is great!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 20.6 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from Brighton, IL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Perfect, love this frig

PostedAugust 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Due to a recent move to a new home, I needed to buy 4 major appliances at one time! Very scary and unable to do the careful research I would normally do, I bought all 4 from Home Depot and had them delivered at the same time. I chose appliances that were low in price, with features that I wanted and had good reviews. I have had them for about 6 weeks. This Maytag refrigerator met my requirements and the price was very good for the features. I am glad I didn't go smaller, and this isn't a big refrigerator but it works great for me. I am now living alone but I have various family members stopping by and visiting grandchildren and they are all accustomed to walking in and opening my frig. I am able to keep fav drinks, quick lunches, leftover dinners in it with no problem and room to spare. The freezer is great, I wanted an ice maker and it has one that comes with it, but still plenty of room to keep stocked up for my country home as well as keep the ice cream and frozen treats on hand for the grandkids. I have noticed that produce is keeping very well in the adjustable drawers. Plus, it looks great!
Pros: Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 30 >>