728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Top Freezer Refrigerators or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 20.6 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black

20.6 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black

Combine efficiency and capacity in a top-freezer refrigerator. This ENERGY STAR qualified Maytag 20.6 cu. ft. refrigerator helps you save money on utility bills. The convenient ice maker produces fresh ice in the freezer, eliminating the need to refill ice cube trays. Plus, it's installed at the factory, so there's no need to purchase a kit. Full-width Spill-Catcher glass shelves provide plenty of room for extra-wide items, while the FreshLock humidity controlled crispers help preserve the freshness of vegetables and fruit.
Overall rating:
4.201 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(1578 reviews) 1578
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product1,342 of 1,533reviews
Rating Breakdown 1,578 reviews
4.2 out of 5
5
(779)
4
(531)
3
(143)
2
(56)
1
(69)
Features 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Quality 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
88%of customersrecommend this product1,342 of 1,533reviews
Customer questions and answers:
137 Questions | 277 Answers
Customer reviews for 20.6 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black
Review 1 for 20.6 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from Charlotte, NC, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Maytag Top Freezer/Refrigerator in Black

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The time had come when I had to have a refrigerator, mine was gone and using a dorm size borrowed one until my new one was delivered. Shopping for great Good Friday Deals, searching used ones also, Ebay, Craig's List, individual adv, scratch and dent stores, and other retail stores, after reviewing Home Depot through my Bill Me Later from Paypal deals to review, I saw this refrigerator and loved it right away, but kept searching for the best deal, 24 hours later this deal was the one to accept, the deal got better with further reduction, I bought a new one for the best deal between used ones, scratch and dents, etc, Home Depot is the chosen place to shop for great deals, great Customer Service. Thanks for the opportunity to share this with others.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, High Quality, Nice Design, nice color update
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 20.6 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black

Great Value Refrigerator

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
- Greater Energy Efficiency and Storage than Existing Fridge
- Includes an Ice Maker when Other Fridges in the Price Range did not
- Easy to Clean and Reconfigure
- Met Home Space Requirements
- Bottom Line: Great Value for the Cost
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 20.6 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from Ashford, AL 36312, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

20.6 CU. FT. TOP FREEZER REFRIGERATOR IN BLACK

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I love that it is self defrost. I like the room that I have in it. Just perfect for me. Love having an ice maker that works well. It is a very attractive looking refrigerator. Looks great in my kitchen. Now to get a matching stove and I am good to go. Customer service was great. It was shipped when it was said it would be here. Delivery men were very polite. Got in and out in a short amount of time. They new exactly what they were doing and got it done. Would certainly do business with Home Depot again in the future. I also love that it is an Energy Saver.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 20.6 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from Memphis, TN
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Perfect size for my space, and it's very quiet (contrary to some of the other reviews I've seen). Great buy.

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I love my new refrigerator! The ice maker works GREAT, the fridge fits perfectly in my space, it stays quiet, it's easy to adjust the temperature, and it holds a LOT of stuff. Can't beat it, hopefully it'll last me several years!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 20.6 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from Stockton, CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Good Refrigerator for the Price

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a very good refrigerator for the price. I purchased it on sale for about $200 off of the original price. I paid about $600 before tax and the ice maker water line. This is a nice size 20.6 CF and provides easy access to foods. The water line was about $10. The appliance is black which I wanted to match other appliances in my kitchen. The delivery was no cost, on time, and included the installation of the unit in my kitchen. The ice maker works great. And, it is very energy efficient. My only issue is that the freezer motor is a little noisy. Otherwise, this is a great value for the money.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: motor a little noisy but acceptable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 20.6 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I love it! It's as good as the other higher cost brands.

PostedMarch 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It's has the same room and features as other comparable refrigerators, but it cost about $300 less. It's big and has lots of shelves. The ice maker filled up with 24 hours.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, High Quality, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+12points
18out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 20.6 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from Delray Beach, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Food froze in the refrigerator compartment.

PostedMay 10, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
We had this refrigerator delivered in early Dec. From the beginning food in the refrigerator section would freeze if we kept the freezer cold enough so that ice cream was not a semi-liquid mess.
Maytag sent repair people five times over period of over four months with no change in refrigerator's operation.
Initially Maytag said we had too much food in the freezer and that we should not fill the freezer more than half full.
Finally, representatives from Home Depot called Maytag and Maytag finally agreed after four months to replace the refrigerator.
I'll never buy another Maytag appliance due to the lack of customer care. One can always get a lemon. but one expects the manufacturer to stand behind their product. Maytag didn't.
Home Depot went the extra mile to make sure that they had a satisfied customer. I give them a lot of credit for that.
+41points
41out of 41found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 20.6 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black

Basic Refrigerator - no wheel locks

PostedMay 17, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The refrigerator works fine. Storage space is good, ice maker works fine. The one negative I have is there is no built in lock for the wheels to keep the unit from moving forwards & backwards when you open and close the door. The owners manuel indicated that some models have a stabilizer leg thate screw down to the floor. I called the manufacture about it and they determined that this unit doesn't have that feature. they did say the wheels have a built in lock, but they do not. That actually mailed us extra wheels after the call and they didn't have locks either. We ended up getting some pieces of rubber and cutting out squares to place under the wheels.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 20.6 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from Edmonds, WA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very spacious!

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I'm very happy with all the space in this fridge. The dairy drawer came off it's tracks five minutes after installation, but a friend of mine was able to fix it pretty easily. The only problem with this fridge is it only has one temp control for both the freezer and the fridge. On the recommended default setting, some of my food froze in the fridge. I'm still working to find a setting to keep my freezer food frozen, without freezing the food in the fridge. If not for this issue, this would definitely be a five star fridge.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Easy to Use, Performs Well, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Convenient, Good Use of Space, Nice Design, Useful
Cons: one temp control for both fridge and freezer
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 20.6 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from 44321
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Cheap version of the former product

PostedApril 2, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
No light in the freezer is definitely a poor design when rooting around at night. The single temperature control for both the freezer and the refrigeration compartment is weak, food in freezer not cold enough, things in refrig too cold. As far as energy efficiency, the setting for max efficiency doesn't allow you to freeze ice in the freezer, and forget about ice cream which is best at 20 degrees or lower. I thought the whole idea of a freezer was to FREEZE food. We had a Maytag previously and due to space constraints we were matching up best with the Maytag product we liked before. It didn't dawn on us that they would cheapen up the design so severely. Caveat Emptor!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install
Cons: cheaply designed, no freezer controls, no light in the freezer compartment
+12points
15out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 20.6 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from Tallahassee FLorida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Only One Small Design Flaw

PostedSeptember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It doesn't have a light in the freezer. It's a deep big freezer and a light would make it perfect! I do love the space on the door- I can fit 2 gallons of milk plus all my condiments, butter, eggs with ample space. The shelves are wonderful-easy to clean. The outside has a design pattern, it's not flat or shiny, it's an added touch to the outside that looks really good.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 20.6 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black

Very happy with purchase

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We had an old old old fridge that had broken shelves and storage drawers and sucked down electricity like it was candy so we decided to get a new one. This one is bigger than our old one and comes with many nice features and plenty of storage. It runs very quiet and keeps the food cold. I haven't hooked up the ice maker yet so no idea how well that works. We've had it for about 3 months now so we'll see how it stands over the test of time but Maytag is generally a very good brand. And for the sale they had on it and free haul away of our junker was the icing on the cake.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, High Quality, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 20.6 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from Bluffton, SC
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not a good buy

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this refrigerator in May 2013, installed in June 2013. From day 1 the fridge has not been cold enough to keep my milk from spoiling, even on the coldest setting. I called Maytag, who is only open during business hours, and was told that they only do warranty repairs and do not replace units, even if defective. I have had a repairman out who has said ALL components need to be replaced and currently 6 weeks out Maytag has not made the parts available to them. I would not purchase another Maytag appliance.
Cons: Not Durable, does not work, very poor customer service
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 20.6 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from Worcester

Great Fridge - works like a charm

PostedJuly 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Love this and it works great - highly recommend it! Have had it for a while no and nothing has broken in it.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 20.6 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from Vermont
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

Probably shouldn't have bought online w/o looking :(

PostedAugust 16, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I liked the price but when I compare it to the Kenmore I had before its weaker. Drawers seem to be less hardy, Cant hold a gallon of milk in the door and I HATE the fact that it doesn't have a freezer light. What was I thinking? The ice maker takes up a lot of room in the freezer and I will rarely use it. Probably didn't make the best choice but more my fault than anything else. I can't NOT recommend it because the dislikes I have, I chose. What I can recommend is that you pick your fridge from the store!!!
Pros: Energy Efficient
Cons: Quality
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 20.6 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

WORST FRIG EVER!

PostedMay 12, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
They handed me a paper when they brought the frig in and I signed it before looking it over carefully, my fault. I had someone installing a new door from Home Depot also at the same exact time and there were issues with that, that I was attending to. They delivered with white stuff on it. I thought it was just Styrofoam. It was actually the insulation they blow inside of it, I found out later that is hard and wouldn't come off. Still there. It also had a dent in it. I told them to take it back. They were spanish and didn't understand me. Finally they said call company and left. I called Home Depot immediately, then got a number from them to call Maytag. They set up an appointment for someone to come. They came out twice. One took what looked like black nail polish paint and painted the insulation. You can still see the texture difference. Refused to do anything else. They came again about noise and temp. It's VERY noisy and runs alot. It only has 1 thermostat. To keep the freezer frozen, it makes the frig too cold. If you turn it down the slightest bit your freezer unfreezes and your food spoils. Now Sour cream and lettuce partially freezes and you have to throw it away.They said that's how they are these days. Not made like they used to and just noted the problem and left. Called the company and they refused to do anything. I gave a poor mark for value as well because I would have rather paid someone for a used frig over this thing. I'd NEVER buy a Maytag again. The product and service are horrible. This is the worst product I've ever bought. P.S. Home Depot wouldn't do anything either.
+24points
26out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 20.6 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from Utah
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Refrigerator, one little Hiccup to be solved.

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We are very happy with this new refrigerator. It replaced a 6 year old Whirlpool that was strikingly similar in design, but the fan died and stopped keeping the refrigerator cool.
This new refrigerator has one little troubling problem. The cheese drawer drops out of the track when you put much weight in it. I plan to call the manufacturer and see if there is a simple solution.
I am very happy with it otherwise. :)
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great
Cons: cheese drawer slips out of the track when loaded
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 20.6 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black

Happy With My Purchase

PostedMarch 13, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This is a simple refrigerator. Nothing in the door. Regular freezer on top. I had a side by side which I hated. I like the roominess of the freezer. I love the space on the shelves. I would love to have more storage compartments because we have a lot of fruits and vegetables. But this refridgerator comes with the standards. The bins in the door work great.
We are an all adult household though with lower than average shopping and eating habits. Its great for those who don't overstock and like a nice neat refrigerator to hold the basics.
I bought the black one which I love. Looks great in my kitchen.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 20.6 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Maytage Refrigerator

PostedFebruary 10, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I really love the refrigerator when it works. We had the ice maker replaced after 2nd repair visit as ice maker was making about 8 cubes in 24 hours. Maytag tried to tell us that was normal! 3rd visit for repair was because food freezes, repair came out and replaced whole temp. control, now few months later the food freezes. I should of kept my old refrigerator but I thought getting a newer one would benefit me. Instead nothing but grief. We have a 4th repair coming on Monday. I want them to replace this lemon. Obviously from previous reviews this freezing food is an issue for Maytag. I don't want any refrigerator with one control but it seems they are like that. Wish me luck!!!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 20.6 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in Black
from Henderson NV 89012
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Fantastic Value & Beautiful Refridgerator

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Delivery guys were really fast & efficient. Answered all my questions too. New Maytag Refride was fantastic value, makes a little more noise than my last, but bedroom is far away so fine with me. Got cold really fast and has a lot more room than I expected. I have always had large double door with many bells & whistles but do not need anymore, only me and eat less than ever! So I really hope this one lasts awhile as I love the black shiny color, shows no dirt at all! I painted all small silver screws and other silver hinges etc, all black, so very sleeklooking now, with no other color showing! I love it! Thanks for the good deal, free deliver, and taking away old refridge. All quick & easy! Thank you.....Regina A / Henderson NV 89012
Pros: Easy to Clean, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 30 >>