728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Outdoor Security Lighting or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 180-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing White LED Security Light-DISCONTINUED

180-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing White LED Security Light-DISCONTINUED

The Defiant 180-Degree Outdoor White LED Motion-Sensing Security Light features a 180-degree range and 70 ft. perimeter for protection. This motion-sensing security light has adjustable heads for optimal light spread and can be wall mounted or soffit mounted for convenience. This security light has bulbs that are rated for 25,000 hours of use for a long life.
Overall rating:
2.019 / 5
2
 / 
5
(52 reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
26%of customersrecommend this product13 of 50reviews
Rating Breakdown 52 reviews
2.0 out of 5.0
5
(7)
4
(3)
3
(4)
2
(8)
1
(30)
Appearance 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
2.1 out of 5.0
2.1 out of 5
Value 
2.2 out of 5.0
2.2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
26%of customersrecommend this product13 of 50reviews
Customer reviews for 180-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing White LED Security Light-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for 180-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing White LED Security Light-DISCONTINUED
from North Carolina
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Motion Detector issues

PostedApril 24, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The LED lights are bright and illuminate the area nicely. Unfortunately, the motion detector appears to be detecting ghost. I've spent hours adjusting the range. The only way I could get it to work is to turn down the range. Now the light only comes on when someone is 6' from the light. It does look quite nice on the corner of my house. If I can figure out a setting that actually works, I would recommend this product to others. I like the Bright LEDs and I'm hoping I don't have to go back to my old $25.00 100 watt lighting system that had great range. One last item, I had to drill two holes in the mounting plate 3 1/8" apart to fit my existing light box.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 180-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing White LED Security Light-DISCONTINUED
from Bellevue,WA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does what it's supposed to do..

PostedJuly 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Shame this product got discontinued (Though I think Amazon still sells them). I have purchased two of these and they light up my patio nicely in the evening. The sensor detects my animals so at least they know where they are going when they reach the patio...
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Eco-Friendly, Very Bright
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 180-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing White LED Security Light-DISCONTINUED
from CT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The Light that NEVER goes off...

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
nice looking fixture but doesn't need a sensor as it doesn't work anyway.....light comes on all the time...even if air passes by...(with lowest sensitivity setting too!) Directions say if it comes on a lot it may be in a dark spot....( I had an old light there for 25 years that worked fine in its shaded area, just wanted an LED for energy efficiency.) So I removed it and relocated to a spot where I had another old sensor light in the direct sun. NOW IT NEVER SHUTS OFF! G.A.R.B.A.G.E......don't wasted the money on this expensive piece of uselessness. It's going back to HD for sure.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 180-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing White LED Security Light-DISCONTINUED

Worst Product EVER!!

PostedDecember 26, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This has got to be the worst designed security lighting product ever created. I had to return 3 of these before ever completing installation due to the lighting stems being broken. Upon finally getting one that wasn't broken out of the box, the installation is a nightmare due a completely poor design not allowing for sufficient room for the wiring between the light and the back plate. You would have thought for the amount you pay for this product, the quality would have been much better. DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME OR MONEY!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 180-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing White LED Security Light-DISCONTINUED
from West Chester, PA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bad motion sensors 2 of 3 and waiting on 3rd.

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have experience with 3 devices. One was a purchase to replace a return. So far two of the devices (one of which has been returned) have failed the same way. The motion sensor becomes "unstable" and keeps turning the device off after the delay and then immediately back on. The response is independent of sensitivity setting until it is "off" or nearly "off". The first light, that was returned, went into this mode within two days of installation. The second failure is the companion of the one returned. They were purchased together. The second light was in service for about a month before it failed. During the month it functioned fine. Powering the units "off" and then back "on" does not change behavior. Service time is shorter than elapsed time from purchase.
The manufacturer has not responded to an e-mail (about a week). Unless you can verify that the motion sensor problem has been corrected, stay away from this device.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 180-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing White LED Security Light-DISCONTINUED

Nice looking poor performance

PostedMay 3, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Really frustrating because it seems to be super efficient... just works when it wants to!!! No sensitivity adjustment prevents it from engaging in broad daylight! Going back to the store.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 180-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing White LED Security Light-DISCONTINUED
from Florida, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Updated Review

PostedFebruary 5, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Wow, the reviews on this product are a deal killer. If I had read the reviews first, I would have purchased a different item. That said, purchased 2 Units for front of house....
2/5/11:
- Out of box/perfect condition/Excellent appearance.
- Tight fit for wires. Consider recessed J-Box but not needed.
- Adjustments very/very sensitive. Spent hours adjusting.
- Should have bought the 240 Degree for Driveway.
- Will monitior settings for a few days and adjust ratings.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 180-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing White LED Security Light-DISCONTINUED
from MA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

great light not lasting

PostedMarch 9, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought 4 of these led outdoor motion LED lights 3 of them work great for about 9 moths then started flckering could hear the transformer inside arching inside to get a new one need reciept have no idea i would need to save it like i said great light doesnt last I will most like to go back to old lighting most you have to do is replace a bulb
Pros: Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 180-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing White LED Security Light-DISCONTINUED
from Downingtown, PA 19335, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great in theory, poor in quality

PostedDecember 19, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This was a very difficult item to install having to wirenut both lights and the sensor, and after only a few days I have trouble with sensitivity issues- the light comes on and off with no motion around, and after a week- the light stays on constantly! I have tried as the instructions say, but no go. Its a shame- the lights ARE super bright, but the product is rather diappointing for the $$ paid =(
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 180-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing White LED Security Light-DISCONTINUED

don't bother

PostedNovember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought the 270º version, and it's malfunctioning. Can't get any sensitivity beyond a couple of inches, and I've adjusted all of the sensor settings possible. You can''t find any documentation online other than a manual that is pretty sparse. And to make matters worse, INSIDE the manual (not outside on the box) it indicates that if the security lights don't come on, it may be because there's not enough light. SO... you need to light the area where you want to have the security light? jeeezzzz, come on.
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 180-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing White LED Security Light-DISCONTINUED
from Chattanooga TN
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Beware of sketchy sensor

PostedMarch 25, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My experience is consistent with other reviews here. The sensor is totally useless. The light stays on all night, triggers during broad daylight, and is totally unpredictable.
Too bad, because the light is solid, durable looking, and the light quality is very good. This one is going back to the store.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Very Bright, Nice Design
Cons: just doesn't work
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 180-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing White LED Security Light-DISCONTINUED

Waste of money

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Should of read the reviews before purchasing this light. I only bought because I wanted to save money using LED. However, this light constantly goes on for no reason. Set to the lowest range and pointing straight down and it comes on every 5 minutes.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 180-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing White LED Security Light-DISCONTINUED
from Charles Town, West Virginia
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Piece Of Chinese Junk!!!

PostedJanuary 27, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Boy, did I make a mistake in not reading the reviews before I purchased this product. The first one broke as it was being taken out of the box. When I opened the box of the replacement, it too was broke (still in the box). I finally got the third one installed without it breaking. It worked 2 nights and then died. I cannot even begin to imagine why Home Depot still carries this worthless product.
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 180-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing White LED Security Light-DISCONTINUED
from Cheshire, CT
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Absolute Garbage

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Installed five of these on a customers home, was assured by the electrical department guy that these were just rebranded Heath Zenith. (I would have just bought HZ's, but the store only stocked this garbage) Worst junk ever. After the boxes have been thrown away, customer is rightfully demanding different brand of lights after THREE, that's right THREE fail to shut off after coming on and a 4th never shuts off day or night. That's 4 out of 5 that failed. Garbage. Going to be a fight to try and return these.
Cons: poor sensitivity, no adjustments
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 180-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing White LED Security Light-DISCONTINUED
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Update

PostedFebruary 11, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Wow, the reviews on this product are a deal killer. If I had read the reviews first, I would have purchased a different item. That said, purchased 2 Units for front of house....
2/5/12:
- Out of box/perfect condition/Excellent appearance.
- Tight fit for wires. Consider recessed J-Box but not needed.
- Adjustments very/very sensitive. Spent hours adjusting.
- Should have bought the 240 Degree for Driveway.
- Will monitior settings for a few days and adjust ratings.
2/9/12:
- Issues with one light. Can't get adjustment correct.
- Light sensor seems a little unstable.
- Will make more adjustments before returning.
2/11/12:
- Just exchanged 1-light at Home Depot.
- Installation still a pain due to tight fit of wires.
- Set motion in test mode and will report back.
- Other light working fine so far.
- Home Depot exchange never a problem.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 180-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing White LED Security Light-DISCONTINUED
from NJ

A waste of time and money !

PostedDecember 12, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Although I do not see it as a listed product on the Home Depot website, I paid $100 for the 270 degree version of this light. The first issue I had was installation: as I tried to connect it to existing wiring, I had to use one hand to support the light fixture, my other hand to hold the wires together and my third hand to twist on the wire nuts. I had to spend some time making a temporary hanger so that I could actually make the wire connections. (I replaced this light with a Heath-Zenith fixture and they provided a plastic hanger so you could install their light with no problems!)
Once installed, it looked great and worked fine...for 4 days. Then, I noticed that the light wouldn't turn off! I readjusted it, I reset it, I took it apart and checked all my wiring. The thing just stayed on non-stop. Using the website listed in the instructions, I tried to get some technical support. The manufacturer's website does not show this light in their list of products.
Don't waste your money or your time.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 180-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing White LED Security Light-DISCONTINUED
from Tucson, AZ, USA

Excellent brightness - Overall GOOD!

PostedJuly 2, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought the 180* and 270* models, I think the instructions are not descriptive enough, but overall it was easy to install. It took me awhile to figure out how to set the range - put it in "test" mode, turn the "range" knob about halfway and slowly walk around your yard, re-adjust as needed. The only thing I didn't like was that the light output was more of a spot, than flood - meaning it won't fill up your yard with light, just certain areas. The brightness is 2nd to none, my home really stands out in a sea of dim incandescent floods around the neighborhood!
(note - it hasn't been rained on yet and has only been one week since install - will keep you posted on longevity)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 180-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing White LED Security Light-DISCONTINUED

Looks great, bright, just wish it worked fully

PostedMarch 27, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The LED lights are bright and illuminate the area nicely. Unfortunately, the motion detector appears to be detecting worms moving beneath the soil or geological changes, as it never actually shuts off the light. It does, however, look quite nice, sitting on the corner of my house. If I can figure out a setting that actually works, I would recommend this product to others.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 180-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing White LED Security Light-DISCONTINUED

Nice LED security light.

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Works well. Settings are easy, floods a large portion of the back yard!
Pros: Well Made, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 180-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing White LED Security Light-DISCONTINUED
from Cleveland, OH, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Seeing things

PostedMarch 20, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Have to agree with the others here, after trying repeatedly to prevent false activations, even laughably covering the motion sensor completely with opaque tape, the motion sensor still turns the light on at frequent, irregular intervals. Its sensitivity is too hyper to be practical anywhere. Now looking for a light that has a sensitively control as I had prior to this one.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: sensitivity kills practical use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>