728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Outdoor Security Lighting or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 270-Degree Outdoor Motion White LED Security Light-DISCONTINUED

270-Degree Outdoor Motion White LED Security Light-DISCONTINUED

The Defiant 270-Degree Outdoor White LED Motion Security Light features adjustable heads for an optimal light spread and tool-free aiming for convenient installation. This security light automatically turns on when motion is detected and turns off when no motion is detected within a designated time range.
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
20%of customersrecommend this product3 of 15reviews
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
2.0 out of 5.0
5
(1)
4
(1)
3
(2)
2
(4)
1
(7)
Appearance 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.2 out of 5.0
2.2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
20%of customersrecommend this product3 of 15reviews
Customer reviews for 270-Degree Outdoor Motion White LED Security Light-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for 270-Degree Outdoor Motion White LED Security Light-DISCONTINUED
from Portland, OR, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Absolute garbage! Do not waste your time!

PostedFebruary 24, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am only gonna give 2 stars for the looks and ease of installation. Other then that this light has some issues either stays on or does not come on at all. I have referred to the manual which is also really poorly thought out. I put it into test mode as recommended and set the sensitivity but that is where the motion detection stops. When I set it to a time limit it does not come on. This product is garbage! i called customer support only to get an answering machine..... if this is what your customer support is I do not want he product anyways. Buyers beware do not waste time or effort on this spend the few extra bucks and get that Lithonia price is a little more for a reason.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 270-Degree Outdoor Motion White LED Security Light-DISCONTINUED
from Altoona PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Poor product

PostedMarch 17, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Installed a week ago. It will not shut off, day or night.
Instructions are poorly written.
Wasted two hours of my time.
I'm taking back.
Very disappointing!
One star because I can get my money back.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 270-Degree Outdoor Motion White LED Security Light-DISCONTINUED
from Texas
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pure junk

PostedApril 8, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Do not waste your money on these lights! I bought 2 of them ane one was broken out of the box and the other did not work, no matter how I adjusted it it stayed on even in daylight. It is made mostly of plastic which probably won't out last the life of the LED's. DO NOT BUY!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 270-Degree Outdoor Motion White LED Security Light-DISCONTINUED
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Do Not Buy!

PostedJuly 15, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Two lights and both were junk. The sensor would not tighten up to stay in position. The sensor would not pick up motion until right at the light.
Cons: unreliable
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 270-Degree Outdoor Motion White LED Security Light-DISCONTINUED

Not worth the premium price, or any for that matter

PostedMarch 16, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased in January and installed without a hitch. The unit looks really nice and its got some heft to it, so it appears quality made. It worked great... until about a week ago (mid-March). It is really bright too, so I was really happy with it. Originally, it would only come on at night, and only if motion was detected which is exactly what I wanted. But then, all of a sudden it started staying on all the time, light or dark, motion or not. So I went to see if putting it back in test mode would 'reset' the thing. That did nothing. I was almost content to just leave it on, it's LED after all. I moved one of the arms to adjust where the light would be aimed and it broke off in my hand. Apparently there is a metal nut that holds on the arm from the backside, only the 'bolt' is hollow (for the wires) and made of plastic. Total piece of junk I now see..
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 270-Degree Outdoor Motion White LED Security Light-DISCONTINUED
from Toledo Ohio

Don't know why everyone else is having a problem

PostedApril 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Well I saw a stack of these yellow boxes and decided to give one a try. I love the ideo of LED but up until now I was unable to find a BRIGHT led motion light that I approved of. I installed the 1st unit on the side of my house, and put the sensitivity to the highest level "I think it is 40ft" and it would pick up cars driving past the house and that is actually 50 feet from the house, the timer setting worked just fine and I never needed the instructions to instal as I have done this type of installation many times. I was so impressed with just how bright these lights were I went back to HD and bought 2 more to replace my existing lights on the deck. So now 2 weeks into it all 3 units are functioning properly, no install issues, damages, or sensor issues, anothing. I am giving the product 5 stars because of just how easty the product is to install, the fact that they work, and also that they are B R I G H T! with 2 lights in my backyard it is almost day light......
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 270-Degree Outdoor Motion White LED Security Light-DISCONTINUED
from PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Not great for the money.

PostedMarch 17, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This light is bright but the operating instructions and product description is misleading. Dusk til dawn is only for one night then you have to reset it to stay on. There is no way to make the light stay without going to the shed where I mounted it and flicking the switch every night. It is going back.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 270-Degree Outdoor Motion White LED Security Light-DISCONTINUED
from Atlanta, GA, USA

Terrible. DO NOT BUY

PostedApril 11, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Difficult to install, cheap construction. One brokern right out of the box. Garbage.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 270-Degree Outdoor Motion White LED Security Light-DISCONTINUED
from Connecticut
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Do not purchase unless you have time to find a working unit!

PostedJuly 29, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product has major QC issues. I bought this light because of its' low profile and clean lines as it was going to be installed on my deck. I had some insurance work being done, due to a house fire. The electrician, who was replacing damaged wires installed it. The unit did light up when the switch was turned on so I figured it was working OK. At night I went out to adjust the distance for the sensor. The sensor never detected motion.
Returned that unit and was given another. This time I installed it. Tested it before mounting by letting it hang from the wires and seemed to work OK. I mounted the unit and turned the light on and the lights lit but blew the breaker. OH GOSH! I must have pinched a wire. Upon inspection I noticed that there were loose bare wires sticking out 3/4 of an inch from the sensor shrink wrap. They hit the mounting plate which is grounded and blew the circuit. I brushed away the wires and retried the light hanging not mounted. NO LIGHT but the unit was active because it would click when I turned the wall switch on and off.
Returned that unit and got another replacement. Carefully inspected it and mounted it. Put it in test mode and walked a good 60 feet away. The unit turned on and off (there is a 2 second delay from the click from the sensor till the lights turn on).
Another 1/4 inch clearance for the base would be nice.
I would recommend that one uses electrical tape to help manage all the loose wires. I could see that it would be very easy to pinch a wire. It wouldn't take much to break one of the wires as they are an extremely small gauge!
Will test tonight and add to comments if it doesn't work.
What do they say... The third time is the charm...
No hassle from Home Depot on the returns. I'll give Home Depot 5 stars but as I said this light has some major QC issues that doesn't make up for its' clean lines. Thank goodness I'm retired and have a little extra time to fiddle around as the entire process with driving time took over 4 hours.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 270-Degree Outdoor Motion White LED Security Light-DISCONTINUED
from Santa Ana, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I'm 50/50

PostedSeptember 25, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It looks great and puts out enough light for my 20x20 patio. The only issue I have is the delay between detecting motion and the light coming on. I can here a 'click' when it knows someone has been detected, but it takes another 10 seconds for the light to come on.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 270-Degree Outdoor Motion White LED Security Light-DISCONTINUED
from Omaha, NE, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

motion is junk!

PostedOctober 28, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this on clearance for 40.00 knowing motion prob would'nt work and just installed a RAB motion in its place. The LED portion is nice and worth it to me for that alone.
I do this with many LED units from box stores, use just the LED and buy a quality RAB sensor and makes a high quality light.
Pros: Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
Cons: poor motion
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 270-Degree Outdoor Motion White LED Security Light-DISCONTINUED

BAD SENSOR

PostedAugust 18, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
SAME PROBLEM AS EVERYONE ELSE. SENSOR WAS UNPREDICTABLE. WISH I'D HAVE READ THE REVIEWS FIRST.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 270-Degree Outdoor Motion White LED Security Light-DISCONTINUED

Bright light

PostedMarch 11, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It's a nice looking light and installs easily. I mounted mine about 12 ft. above the window in my backyard for my dog. He does not set it off that easily which is not good. Now for the worst part, these lights are bright. I'm talking blinding bright. My daughter looked out and said it looks like the police just caught someone in the act. I went out to check myself and was temporarily blinded. I'm going to take this back once my sight returns.
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 270-Degree Outdoor Motion White LED Security Light-DISCONTINUED
from Los Angeles
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

One Light Fixture Bad Feature

PostedNovember 13, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Like all the features of this light fixture except the fact that there is no way to replace the bulbs.
Cons: non-replaceable bulbs
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 270-Degree Outdoor Motion White LED Security Light-DISCONTINUED
from Orlando, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Second unit was the charm

PostedFebruary 1, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought the first unit and installed it, and like the others, I could not make the motion detector activate until I was 5 or 6 feet away. Reading the comments on this page almost made me give up and concur with the poor rating. I ended up calling their tech support and spoke with a guy that acted surprised at my findings and he advised me to try another unit. I wasn't so sure that I was buying his advice but I decided to take mine back and try another one. Installed the second one and it works perfectly. I've only had it installed for one full evening at this point and I am prepared for the possibility that it could still malfunction at some point in the near future. I hope not, because it is a nice compact little unit with very bright yet thrifty led lamps. Obviously the quality control on this Defiant product is not up to my standards so I admit to having some hesitation to recommend it to others.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: inconsistant quality control, not impressively robust
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.