728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Tires & Tire Care or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 120-Volt Inflator

120-Volt Inflator

The Husky 120-Volt Inflator inflates vehicle tires, bicycle tires, air mattresses and sports equipment. Direct-drive motor is powerful, quiet and fast. The inflator features an analog pressure gauge that glows in the dark for easy viewing.
Overall rating:
4.09 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(233 reviews) 233
Open Ratings Snapshot
83%of customersrecommend this product190 of 228reviews
Rating Breakdown 233 reviews
4.1 out of 5
5
(130)
4
(55)
3
(12)
2
(11)
1
(25)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
83%of customersrecommend this product190 of 228reviews
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer reviews for 120-Volt Inflator
Review 1 for 120-Volt Inflator
from Mission Viejo, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Beats 12vdc inflator 10x

PostedJune 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I like! The last 50 years since Service Stations stopped providing service, it’s been a pain keeping all the car’s tires properly inflated. I’ve been using a 100dB 12vdc cigarette lighter type inflator since I’m too cheap and can’t justify the space or expense of a several gallon compressor in the garage. I used an accurate pressure gage to verify the Husky gage. They say +/- 3psi @ 30psi, I found it to be within 1psi. And what usually takes 10 minutes per tire took ~30 seconds. 2 year warranty and relatively quiet too. It’s a keeper….
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+73points
74out of 75found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 120-Volt Inflator
from st.louis
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked Fine Until Hose broke at end

PostedAugust 27, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've probably used this about 20 times over the past year and a half to top off my car tires and bike tires. It took a while on the cars tires but no big deal. The problem is that the part that clamps on the valve stem takes some pressure to clamp down and this ultimately puts pressure on the area where the rubber hose is crimped onto the clamp. Thus stressing the joint and tearing the hose. I just love wasting money!
Cons: Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 120-Volt Inflator
from Renton, WA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Inflator

PostedOctober 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have been using an inflator that plugs into my car's cigarette lighter for several years. It worked okay but it took forever to inflate even something as small as a bike tire. I also have a big compressor but it takes too long to set-up and put away for small jobs. The Husky 120 volt Inflator is just the right size for 90% of my projects. It is small enough to store and move, but it is powerful enough to fill a tire very quickly. The power cord is too short to reach my electrical outlet on the wall so I need to use an extension cord most of the time. I don't mind the short cord since it minimizes the space when I store it.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+39points
39out of 39found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 120-Volt Inflator
from Corona, Ca

Awesome Little Inflator

PostedApril 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Used the Husky 120V Inflator for filling tires and pool inflatables. The compressor is pretty quiet, small and compact therefore easy to store to in a cabinet or drawer. The hose nicely wraps around the base of the unit, but is long enough to reach the valve stem of a car in the up position while the unit is sitting on the floor. The inflator has a gauge which gives an approximation of the pressure (I used a hand held tire gauge and the inflator read about 2-3 psi higher). Only downside is the cord is relatively short, will need to use an extension cord. If you a re looking for a inflator for tires and other inflatables around the home, this unit is awesome for the price and quality.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 120-Volt Inflator
from Ventura County
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works for me!

PostedJuly 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My sole intention for this pump was to use it for a high pressure road bike tire since the wife has a hard time using the manual pump to get to 100psi and higher. Even my large garage compressor could not accomplish this; I wanted something simple that she could use and one that is not 12 volt.
I was a little put off by it's measly 1.5 amp draw as I had been looking at 12v models that drew as much as 27 amps. Turns out, this works just fine for my intended purpose, although it did seem to struggle when it went past 70 psi. Once past 90 psi it seemed to catch it's breath and continue to push past 110 psi. Perfect: simple and cheap. Let's hope it lasts a bit.
As an added bonus, the dial gauge (at least on my unit) was dead on accurate when checked against an AccuGauge. 95 psi on the pump's dial was exactly 95 psi on the high end air gauge. Second added bonus, the unit includes a Presta to Schrader valve adapter with it's other adapters.Very nice!
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, dial gauge is accurate
Cons: very short power cord 21", only 1.5 amps?
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+40points
46out of 52found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 120-Volt Inflator
from San Marcos, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product for this price.

PostedMay 7, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Overall, I'm pleasantly surprised at this little unit. Light and easy to move around. Does not take up much shelf space. It is much quieter than other models I've used.
As noted by other reviews, the power cord is REALLY short. You will need an extension cord. So far I haven't had any issues with the flimsy flip lever on the business end of the hose.
The area around the PSI gauge gets hot- be careful when picking up. The PSI gauge is WAY off. You must double check with an accurate one. Use the one on this unit as a guide. Mine is off 10 PSI at 42 PSI...
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 120-Volt Inflator
from LONG VALLEY NJ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

DON'T BUY THIS

PostedAugust 27, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I HAVE BEEN USING 12 VOLT TIRE INFLATORS IN MY 2 CARS FOR YEARS AND ALSO USE THEM ON MY DEERE LAWN TRACTOR BUT BACKING THE CAR CLOSE TO TRACTOR IS A PAIN. SO I BOUGHT THIS HUSKY 120 VOLT INFLATOR TO HAVE THE CONVENIENCE OF USING GARAGE OUTLET VOLTAGE. THE UNIT DOES NOT INFLATE THE TIRES! IT SEEMS THE FLIP TYPE ADAPTOR DOES NOT COMPRESS THE VALVE STEM PROPERLY TO ALLOW AIR INTO THE TIRE. YES, I KNOW HOW TO CLIP THE ADAPTER ON. THE UNITS PRESSURE GAGE GOES RIGHT TO MAX READING WHEN SWITCH TURNED ON, FURTHER INDICATING THE AIR IS TRAPPED IN THE HOSE. I WILL TRY ANOTHER HUSKY UNIT HOPING JUST MINE IS DEFECTIVE AS OTHER REVIEWS SAY THIS COMPRESSOR WORKS OK.
Cons: does not work
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 120-Volt Inflator
from Denton, TX
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice little inflator

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I picked this up for under $20 during a sale and it seems like a quality item. I replaced a 12 volt portable compressor that was noisy and falling apart and I was actually fine with this one being home-outlet-powered vs. cigarette-lighter-powered since I only used it in my garage anyway. I like that the externals are mostly metal and the cable management for the air hose is nice. The plug is only a few inches long so you just have to stick it inside the hose-body gap to keep it out of the way during storage. What I really like about this compressor is the psi gauge accuracy. I've never owned a cheap compressor that had a gauge that even worked much less showed the correct psi. I aired up my tires to what looked to be 32psi and sure enough my high end analog gauge confirmed the same. It's also fast compared to my previous experiences with portable compressors. For an all-around budget inflator I find this one to be top notch.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+29points
29out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 120-Volt Inflator
from Sunnyvale, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for bicycle tire inflation.

PostedAugust 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought this for inflating my bicycle tires. Is sturdy and works very quickly. I wanted a 120-volt wall plugin unit. My old inflator required using my car's 12-volt cigarette plug; it took forever, blew a car fuse, and eventually died after using only a few times a year for 10 years. This item is metal and feels pretty sturdy. I was pricing inflators and this one was the cheapest I could find, under $30 + tax.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 120-Volt Inflator
from Va Beach
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Disappointed

PostedAugust 25, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased this to replace an old 12v inflator. Both cords were fine in length. Upon "topping off" the tires on my Bronco the inflator was a huge disappointment! Started to smell "hot" upon reaching 42 psi, then on the 4th tire started making weird noises and shut it down. Taking it back to HD tomorrow.
Pros: price
Cons: Not Durable
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 120-Volt Inflator
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Doesn't last

PostedJune 29, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Had this for about a year, using it only a handful of times before the hose split making it useless. Not built to last at all.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 120-Volt Inflator
from Decatur, GA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Buy an extension cord if you don't have one.

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Was planning on buying a Goodyear/Bon-Aire, but my local store didn't carry it and my tires were running low so 'settled' for this. I was pleasantly surprised - the inflator is sturdier than I anticipated and gets the job done quickly.
My only, but serious, criticism is that the combined length of the electrical cord and tube connecting air to the valve amounts to about 4 feet (if you're lucky) so an extension cord is an absolute necessity if you are inflating car tires. That being said, for $30 you could do far worse.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 120-Volt Inflator
from Florida

Good little machine

PostedFebruary 1, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Buy it on sale and test it before you take it home. keep the receipt handy because the air hose and air chuck with the lever that holds it on the tire valve is made a little flimsy.
The air chuck broke on the first unit after 4 months. I returned it and the 2nd one was DOA out of the box. I was totally y frustrated because I was at the campground and need it to add pressure to my trailer tires. I returned it for another one and tested it at the store before bringing it home. Good thin that there are a lot of Home Depot locations and they have a good return policy.
It appears that Husky is now making a cheaper line of tools so beware. I had another problem with a Husky tool that caused me serious trouble. Despite the warranty, a tool is not worth it if it will brake when you need it.
This pump is a good value ONLY when on sale. It works of 110VAC which is the benefit to this tool because you don't need to have a vehicle near by to use it. it's great around the house or trailer to fill up trailer tires, bicycle tires, & balls when 12VDC is not available.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Nice Design, works on 110vac, don't need a vehicle to use it, can be used in the house, good for rvs, small
Cons: Not Durable, air hose is flimsy, lever on part attaches to tire valve not durable
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 120-Volt Inflator
from Virginia
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Keeps the car tires inflated and TPMS happy

PostedSeptember 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I picked this up after the TPMS system in my car started yelling at me that one of my tires was low. It appears to have a slow leak so I've used this guy a few times on my car and once on the wife's car.
As others have mentioned, the pressure gauge is pretty accurate which I like. It's "close enough" that I can inflate a car tire to where it needs to be, check with a manual gauge if I feel like it, and get on the road. It has an air line long enough to inflate most normal sized tires if the inflator is put next to the tire. You will probably need an extension cord to make it all work, but this thing is good stuff.
It does make some noise but it's deeper than the 12volt models so I find that less offensive than the DC ones. This thing is good stuff.
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 120-Volt Inflator
from Seekonk,Ma
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Does the job.

PostedAugust 17, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Purchased primarily to inflate bicycle tires to 90psi. Does the job nicely. Recommend this product.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 120-Volt Inflator

Perfect Tool For Minor Inflating Tasks.

PostedMay 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This little inflator takes slightly less space than a 10lb dumbbell, but generates noise comparable to a vacuum cleaner. I read all the Home Depot user reviews and did some research on my own. People using compressors/inflators with a "latch on" hose would sometimes have trouble getting a good connection and end up deflating whatever they were supposed to inflate. My solution would be to purchase a portable compressed air tank and fill it up using the Husky inflator. 10 minutes of inflation by the Husky should get around 50-60 psi of air inside the tank, which is plenty if you ask me. Some other benefits of using a portable tank are: you minimize your exposure from the loud noise of the inflator, flip the on/off switch constantly, and you don't have to deal with extension cords. For the reviewer complaining about the inflator breaking after one use I would like to point out that the user manual states you should only use the inflator for 10 minutes at a time with 10 minute breaks in between.
Bottom line is if you:
1) Like to keep your tires inflated for the added benefit of better gas mileage.
2) Hate to spend $2-$3 in quarters at gas station air hoses.
3) Easily keep all your household vehicles' tires properly inflated.
4) Don't have space/money for an air compressor.
Then buy this product.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+11points
17out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 120-Volt Inflator
from Orlando, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Worked great, started breaking

PostedAugust 5, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Great price and niche. Worked great for two years. Then plastic hose attachment started popping apart when clamped to tire valve stem. Recently the air hose began to leak on the end closest to the pump. I've looked high and low and can't find a replacement hose which will fit. Because of a poorly made hose assembly, I have a perfectly good tire inflator that is now useless.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 120-Volt Inflator
from Boston
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Some Questions after 3rd. use

PostedAugust 2, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Worked just fine the first two times but on the third try after about 3 months the gage went off-scale when switched on so I could not dertermine the pressure until I shut it off. Also, the gage glass has clouded over so it's very hard to read. Returned it to HD and got another, we'll see how this one behaves!!
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 120-Volt Inflator
from Florida
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Air hose MUCH too short

PostedJuly 28, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this to inflate my automobile tires.... Air hose is too short to reach valve unless one
moves the car so that the air hose reaches the valve.....
Cons: air hose too short
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 120-Volt Inflator
from Cincinnati, OH
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Lasted about two years

PostedFebruary 15, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Primarily used to inflated tires on a sedan and minivan. Yes, it's slow, but expected that for the size and the task at hand. Lasted two years before the hose started with a small leak, which over the course of 2-3 uses became so large it's not usable any longer. Hoping I can replace the hose - if not, I essentially rented an inflator for $15/year. Might as well go drop quarters at the gas station, because that pump works much faster.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Not Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 12 >>