728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 120-Volt Inflator

120-Volt Inflator

The Husky 120-Volt Inflator inflates vehicle tires, bicycle tires, air mattresses and sports equipment. Direct-drive motor is powerful, quiet and fast. The inflator features an analog pressure gauge that glows in the dark for easy viewing.
Overall rating:
4.117 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(196 reviews) 196
Open Ratings Snapshot
85%of customersrecommend this product163 of 192reviews
Rating Breakdown 196 reviews
4.1 out of 5
5
(107)
4
(51)
3
(11)
2
(8)
1
(19)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
85%of customersrecommend this product163 of 192reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 5 Answers
Customer reviews for 120-Volt Inflator
Review 1 for 120-Volt Inflator
from Renton, WA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Inflator

PostedOctober 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have been using an inflator that plugs into my car's cigarette lighter for several years. It worked okay but it took forever to inflate even something as small as a bike tire. I also have a big compressor but it takes too long to set-up and put away for small jobs. The Husky 120 volt Inflator is just the right size for 90% of my projects. It is small enough to store and move, but it is powerful enough to fill a tire very quickly. The power cord is too short to reach my electrical outlet on the wall so I need to use an extension cord most of the time. I don't mind the short cord since it minimizes the space when I store it.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+27points
27out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 120-Volt Inflator
from Mission Viejo, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Beats 12vdc inflator 10x

PostedJune 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I like! The last 50 years since Service Stations stopped providing service, it’s been a pain keeping all the car’s tires properly inflated. I’ve been using a 100dB 12vdc cigarette lighter type inflator since I’m too cheap and can’t justify the space or expense of a several gallon compressor in the garage. I used an accurate pressure gage to verify the Husky gage. They say +/- 3psi @ 30psi, I found it to be within 1psi. And what usually takes 10 minutes per tire took ~30 seconds. 2 year warranty and relatively quiet too. It’s a keeper….
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+64points
65out of 66found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 120-Volt Inflator
from Ventura County
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works for me!

PostedJuly 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My sole intention for this pump was to use it for a high pressure road bike tire since the wife has a hard time using the manual pump to get to 100psi and higher. Even my large garage compressor could not accomplish this; I wanted something simple that she could use and one that is not 12 volt.
I was a little put off by it's measly 1.5 amp draw as I had been looking at 12v models that drew as much as 27 amps. Turns out, this works just fine for my intended purpose, although it did seem to struggle when it went past 70 psi. Once past 90 psi it seemed to catch it's breath and continue to push past 110 psi. Perfect: simple and cheap. Let's hope it lasts a bit.
As an added bonus, the dial gauge (at least on my unit) was dead on accurate when checked against an AccuGauge. 95 psi on the pump's dial was exactly 95 psi on the high end air gauge. Second added bonus, the unit includes a Presta to Schrader valve adapter with it's other adapters.Very nice!
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, dial gauge is accurate
Cons: very short power cord 21", only 1.5 amps?
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+34points
40out of 46found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 120-Volt Inflator
from Denton, TX
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice little inflator

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I picked this up for under $20 during a sale and it seems like a quality item. I replaced a 12 volt portable compressor that was noisy and falling apart and I was actually fine with this one being home-outlet-powered vs. cigarette-lighter-powered since I only used it in my garage anyway. I like that the externals are mostly metal and the cable management for the air hose is nice. The plug is only a few inches long so you just have to stick it inside the hose-body gap to keep it out of the way during storage. What I really like about this compressor is the psi gauge accuracy. I've never owned a cheap compressor that had a gauge that even worked much less showed the correct psi. I aired up my tires to what looked to be 32psi and sure enough my high end analog gauge confirmed the same. It's also fast compared to my previous experiences with portable compressors. For an all-around budget inflator I find this one to be top notch.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 120-Volt Inflator
from Florida

Good little machine

PostedFebruary 1, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Buy it on sale and test it before you take it home. keep the receipt handy because the air hose and air chuck with the lever that holds it on the tire valve is made a little flimsy.
The air chuck broke on the first unit after 4 months. I returned it and the 2nd one was DOA out of the box. I was totally y frustrated because I was at the campground and need it to add pressure to my trailer tires. I returned it for another one and tested it at the store before bringing it home. Good thin that there are a lot of Home Depot locations and they have a good return policy.
It appears that Husky is now making a cheaper line of tools so beware. I had another problem with a Husky tool that caused me serious trouble. Despite the warranty, a tool is not worth it if it will brake when you need it.
This pump is a good value ONLY when on sale. It works of 110VAC which is the benefit to this tool because you don't need to have a vehicle near by to use it. it's great around the house or trailer to fill up trailer tires, bicycle tires, & balls when 12VDC is not available.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Nice Design, works on 110vac, don't need a vehicle to use it, can be used in the house, good for rvs, small
Cons: Not Durable, air hose is flimsy, lever on part attaches to tire valve not durable
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 120-Volt Inflator
from Virginia
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Keeps the car tires inflated and TPMS happy

PostedSeptember 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I picked this up after the TPMS system in my car started yelling at me that one of my tires was low. It appears to have a slow leak so I've used this guy a few times on my car and once on the wife's car.
As others have mentioned, the pressure gauge is pretty accurate which I like. It's "close enough" that I can inflate a car tire to where it needs to be, check with a manual gauge if I feel like it, and get on the road. It has an air line long enough to inflate most normal sized tires if the inflator is put next to the tire. You will probably need an extension cord to make it all work, but this thing is good stuff.
It does make some noise but it's deeper than the 12volt models so I find that less offensive than the DC ones. This thing is good stuff.
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 120-Volt Inflator

Best little inflator for the price.

PostedApril 11, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have a 05 Chevy Trailblazer. Didn't think this would work but needed to put air the in the tires in a pinch. Low and behold, it did work. It didn't take very long and the gauge was pretty accurate. I used a couple of manual PSI gauges to see and they all showed what I thought I was putting in. Normally I air up at the gas station, but they wanted to charge for the air and I needed one for other purposes so took a chance. Glad I did, it's a great little pump. If it can pump my car tire, I'm sure it can pump anything smaller with less resistance.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 120-Volt Inflator
from Decatur, GA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Buy an extension cord if you don't have one.

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Was planning on buying a Goodyear/Bon-Aire, but my local store didn't carry it and my tires were running low so 'settled' for this. I was pleasantly surprised - the inflator is sturdier than I anticipated and gets the job done quickly.
My only, but serious, criticism is that the combined length of the electrical cord and tube connecting air to the valve amounts to about 4 feet (if you're lucky) so an extension cord is an absolute necessity if you are inflating car tires. That being said, for $30 you could do far worse.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 120-Volt Inflator

Does the job ... but can't register

PostedDecember 7, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Woke up to find two of my tires flat. In a pinch, and in the process of divesting myself of my C3 collection, I ran to Home Depot to grab this model (marked down to $25, making it the same as HFT's offering). Did the job; filled up two empty tires in around 15 minutes total, then topped off the other two in about another 10. As others have mentioned, it does tend to run hot and it certainly doesn't like to stay in place. The gauge said +/- 3 at 30 psi, and I found that to be pretty accurate. Only problem I'm having is the model number doesn't come up when I try to register it for the Husky Warranty (yes, I'm the guy that registers all his gadgets and gizmos for their manufacturer's warranties). So if anyone from HD can lend some insight, it would be appreciated.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: not sturdy on its own feet
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 120-Volt Inflator
from Indian Land, SC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Inflator

PostedDecember 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The Husky Inflator is a great product for things around the house that require air, including the tires for your car, truck, ATV, bikes or golf cart. Very compact and replenishes the air requirements very quickly.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 120-Volt Inflator
from Longmont, Colorado

Works Great

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this yesterday to inflate my garden cart tires, volleyballs, and bikes. It works really well, lots of power and super quick. It also feels much more substantial than the previous inflators I've bought.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 120-Volt Inflator
from Chandler, AZ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked Once

PostedSeptember 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased inflator assembly and on the first use, the hose burst. I submitted a request for a replacement hose on line and to date have not heard a reply. Very disappointed.
Pros: Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 120-Volt Inflator
from 34293
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
They give you a very short electric cord & air hose. every time you use it you need an extension cord.
Cons: Difficult to Use
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 120-Volt Inflator

Perfect Tool For Minor Inflating Tasks.

PostedMay 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This little inflator takes slightly less space than a 10lb dumbbell, but generates noise comparable to a vacuum cleaner. I read all the Home Depot user reviews and did some research on my own. People using compressors/inflators with a "latch on" hose would sometimes have trouble getting a good connection and end up deflating whatever they were supposed to inflate. My solution would be to purchase a portable compressed air tank and fill it up using the Husky inflator. 10 minutes of inflation by the Husky should get around 50-60 psi of air inside the tank, which is plenty if you ask me. Some other benefits of using a portable tank are: you minimize your exposure from the loud noise of the inflator, flip the on/off switch constantly, and you don't have to deal with extension cords. For the reviewer complaining about the inflator breaking after one use I would like to point out that the user manual states you should only use the inflator for 10 minutes at a time with 10 minute breaks in between.
Bottom line is if you:
1) Like to keep your tires inflated for the added benefit of better gas mileage.
2) Hate to spend $2-$3 in quarters at gas station air hoses.
3) Easily keep all your household vehicles' tires properly inflated.
4) Don't have space/money for an air compressor.
Then buy this product.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+11points
17out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 120-Volt Inflator

Works Great

PostedDecember 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Used it right away. Truck Tire was at 25 psi. Needed 30 psi to get it at recommended pressure. Took half a minute to get there. I likey
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 120-Volt Inflator

it's a good and portable inflator

PostedMarch 31, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I bought this for my car and my kids bicycle and overall it has performed really well. Hopefully it will stay like that for some more years. It's easy to use and you can place in your garage on shelf and doesn't take space.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 120-Volt Inflator
from Tulsa
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Poor quality air hose

PostedMarch 29, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Compressor is fine but the connector air hose is of very poor quality. The connector end that clamps on the tire inflation valve broke after several uses. Poorly designed to last.
I would not recommend you buy this portable small compressor until the air hose is re-engineered.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 120-Volt Inflator
from Michigan

Good alternative to 12V portables

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I bought this after years of keeping my tires inflated with a 12V lighter socket portable air pump. With that old one, it took 22 sec to add 1 PSI to the family minivan't tire, and 11 sec for our smaller Protege 5.
With this one the tires inflate 2.5 times faster, I don't drain the car battery, and I can see the pressure in its built-in gauge so I don't have remove the nozzle to measure pressure and monitor my progress.
I like the small size and construction seems sturdy enough and so far it's being working like its supposed to. My only complain would be that it vibrates wildly so I have to hold it down to read the gauge but this is only a minor annoyance.
For the price and size of the unit, I think it is a great way to keep your car tires to their correct pressure without having to buy a large expensive tank-compressor combo.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: vibrates a lot
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 120-Volt Inflator
from Minneapolis

Failed on 2nd use

PostedJune 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Loved it the first time using it. Turned to garbage on 2nd use. Do not buy!
Cons: Not Durable
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 120-Volt Inflator

WC

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Works as stated, keeps my tires inflated, reads pressure as soon as it's attached, just turn on and inflate to the correct pressure vehicle calls for, Pressure readings are usually on Passenger door Jam, don't have to be a rocket scientist to use this product
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 10 >>