728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 120-Volt Inflator

120-Volt Inflator

The Husky 120-Volt Inflator inflates vehicle tires, bicycle tires, air mattresses and sports equipment. Direct-drive motor is powerful, quiet and fast. The inflator features an analog pressure gauge that glows in the dark for easy viewing.
Overall rating:
4.146 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(213 reviews) 213
Open Ratings Snapshot
85%of customersrecommend this product178 of 209reviews
Rating Breakdown 213 reviews
4.1 out of 5
5
(120)
4
(53)
3
(11)
2
(9)
1
(20)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
85%of customersrecommend this product178 of 209reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 6 Answers
Customer reviews for 120-Volt Inflator
Review 1 for 120-Volt Inflator
from Renton, WA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Inflator

PostedOctober 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have been using an inflator that plugs into my car's cigarette lighter for several years. It worked okay but it took forever to inflate even something as small as a bike tire. I also have a big compressor but it takes too long to set-up and put away for small jobs. The Husky 120 volt Inflator is just the right size for 90% of my projects. It is small enough to store and move, but it is powerful enough to fill a tire very quickly. The power cord is too short to reach my electrical outlet on the wall so I need to use an extension cord most of the time. I don't mind the short cord since it minimizes the space when I store it.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+31points
31out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 120-Volt Inflator
from Mission Viejo, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Beats 12vdc inflator 10x

PostedJune 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I like! The last 50 years since Service Stations stopped providing service, it’s been a pain keeping all the car’s tires properly inflated. I’ve been using a 100dB 12vdc cigarette lighter type inflator since I’m too cheap and can’t justify the space or expense of a several gallon compressor in the garage. I used an accurate pressure gage to verify the Husky gage. They say +/- 3psi @ 30psi, I found it to be within 1psi. And what usually takes 10 minutes per tire took ~30 seconds. 2 year warranty and relatively quiet too. It’s a keeper….
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+66points
67out of 68found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 120-Volt Inflator
from Corona, Ca

Awesome Little Inflator

PostedApril 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Used the Husky 120V Inflator for filling tires and pool inflatables. The compressor is pretty quiet, small and compact therefore easy to store to in a cabinet or drawer. The hose nicely wraps around the base of the unit, but is long enough to reach the valve stem of a car in the up position while the unit is sitting on the floor. The inflator has a gauge which gives an approximation of the pressure (I used a hand held tire gauge and the inflator read about 2-3 psi higher). Only downside is the cord is relatively short, will need to use an extension cord. If you a re looking for a inflator for tires and other inflatables around the home, this unit is awesome for the price and quality.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 120-Volt Inflator
from Ventura County
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works for me!

PostedJuly 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My sole intention for this pump was to use it for a high pressure road bike tire since the wife has a hard time using the manual pump to get to 100psi and higher. Even my large garage compressor could not accomplish this; I wanted something simple that she could use and one that is not 12 volt.
I was a little put off by it's measly 1.5 amp draw as I had been looking at 12v models that drew as much as 27 amps. Turns out, this works just fine for my intended purpose, although it did seem to struggle when it went past 70 psi. Once past 90 psi it seemed to catch it's breath and continue to push past 110 psi. Perfect: simple and cheap. Let's hope it lasts a bit.
As an added bonus, the dial gauge (at least on my unit) was dead on accurate when checked against an AccuGauge. 95 psi on the pump's dial was exactly 95 psi on the high end air gauge. Second added bonus, the unit includes a Presta to Schrader valve adapter with it's other adapters.Very nice!
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, dial gauge is accurate
Cons: very short power cord 21", only 1.5 amps?
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+37points
43out of 49found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 120-Volt Inflator
from San Marcos, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product for this price.

PostedMay 7, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Overall, I'm pleasantly surprised at this little unit. Light and easy to move around. Does not take up much shelf space. It is much quieter than other models I've used.
As noted by other reviews, the power cord is REALLY short. You will need an extension cord. So far I haven't had any issues with the flimsy flip lever on the business end of the hose.
The area around the PSI gauge gets hot- be careful when picking up. The PSI gauge is WAY off. You must double check with an accurate one. Use the one on this unit as a guide. Mine is off 10 PSI at 42 PSI...
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 120-Volt Inflator
from Denton, TX
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice little inflator

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I picked this up for under $20 during a sale and it seems like a quality item. I replaced a 12 volt portable compressor that was noisy and falling apart and I was actually fine with this one being home-outlet-powered vs. cigarette-lighter-powered since I only used it in my garage anyway. I like that the externals are mostly metal and the cable management for the air hose is nice. The plug is only a few inches long so you just have to stick it inside the hose-body gap to keep it out of the way during storage. What I really like about this compressor is the psi gauge accuracy. I've never owned a cheap compressor that had a gauge that even worked much less showed the correct psi. I aired up my tires to what looked to be 32psi and sure enough my high end analog gauge confirmed the same. It's also fast compared to my previous experiences with portable compressors. For an all-around budget inflator I find this one to be top notch.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 120-Volt Inflator
from Florida

Good little machine

PostedFebruary 1, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Buy it on sale and test it before you take it home. keep the receipt handy because the air hose and air chuck with the lever that holds it on the tire valve is made a little flimsy.
The air chuck broke on the first unit after 4 months. I returned it and the 2nd one was DOA out of the box. I was totally y frustrated because I was at the campground and need it to add pressure to my trailer tires. I returned it for another one and tested it at the store before bringing it home. Good thin that there are a lot of Home Depot locations and they have a good return policy.
It appears that Husky is now making a cheaper line of tools so beware. I had another problem with a Husky tool that caused me serious trouble. Despite the warranty, a tool is not worth it if it will brake when you need it.
This pump is a good value ONLY when on sale. It works of 110VAC which is the benefit to this tool because you don't need to have a vehicle near by to use it. it's great around the house or trailer to fill up trailer tires, bicycle tires, & balls when 12VDC is not available.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Nice Design, works on 110vac, don't need a vehicle to use it, can be used in the house, good for rvs, small
Cons: Not Durable, air hose is flimsy, lever on part attaches to tire valve not durable
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 120-Volt Inflator
from Virginia
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Keeps the car tires inflated and TPMS happy

PostedSeptember 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I picked this up after the TPMS system in my car started yelling at me that one of my tires was low. It appears to have a slow leak so I've used this guy a few times on my car and once on the wife's car.
As others have mentioned, the pressure gauge is pretty accurate which I like. It's "close enough" that I can inflate a car tire to where it needs to be, check with a manual gauge if I feel like it, and get on the road. It has an air line long enough to inflate most normal sized tires if the inflator is put next to the tire. You will probably need an extension cord to make it all work, but this thing is good stuff.
It does make some noise but it's deeper than the 12volt models so I find that less offensive than the DC ones. This thing is good stuff.
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 120-Volt Inflator
from Decatur, GA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Buy an extension cord if you don't have one.

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Was planning on buying a Goodyear/Bon-Aire, but my local store didn't carry it and my tires were running low so 'settled' for this. I was pleasantly surprised - the inflator is sturdier than I anticipated and gets the job done quickly.
My only, but serious, criticism is that the combined length of the electrical cord and tube connecting air to the valve amounts to about 4 feet (if you're lucky) so an extension cord is an absolute necessity if you are inflating car tires. That being said, for $30 you could do far worse.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 120-Volt Inflator
from Tulsa
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Poor quality air hose

PostedMarch 29, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Compressor is fine but the connector air hose is of very poor quality. The connector end that clamps on the tire inflation valve broke after several uses. Poorly designed to last.
I would not recommend you buy this portable small compressor until the air hose is re-engineered.
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 120-Volt Inflator
from Middlesex New Jersey
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great all around pump

PostedMay 22, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This pump was very easy to use, worked great and the pressure readings were accurate. Great for bikes as well as cars.. This pump works so good that this is actually the second one I have. The first one I keep at home and this one I keep in the car. You need an AC adapter if you keep it in the car.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 120-Volt Inflator
from King of Prussia, PA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Much better than 12v compressors

PostedMay 19, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Since most of my tire inflating is done in the garage, this 120v compressor makes more sense. It's quieter and faster. It does vibrate a lot though, so be ready to stop it from running away.
Pros: Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 120-Volt Inflator
from Toledo, Ohio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great purchase

PostedMay 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This pump is perfect for filling car and truck tires as well as rafts for the pool!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 120-Volt Inflator
from North Carolina
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Machine - Just What I Needed

PostedMay 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have had this machine for about 2 years; it has done everything I have asked of it. I have NOT tried to inflate tractor or large truck tires, so I can't speak to those areas. However, for keeping the spare car tire, bicycle tires, footballs, soccer balls, etc. properly inflated, it has done the job. No issues with the build quality or the operation. I will gladly recommend this tiny machine (wonderfully easy to store!) to anyone with typical homeowner needs.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 120-Volt Inflator
from Tucson, Az
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Greast buy

PostedMay 19, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to use, shows the pressure as you inflate, low noise. It also is quick.
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 120-Volt Inflator
from Phoenixville, PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not good quality construction

PostedMay 14, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am on my second one of these. BOTH units broke very easily at the joint where the air hose enters the machine, after a month or so of very light use (inflating tires on my car). Cheap metal connection. It gets bumped, it breaks. Stupid design; cheap material used in construction.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 120-Volt Inflator
from michigan
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great for my bike tires

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this to replace an inflator I had which worked from my car's lighter. This one works from a wall plug. It has more power and inflates my bike tires quickly. Also it has a quick release which keeps me from letting out a lot of the air after inflation.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 120-Volt Inflator
from Trumbull Co. OH
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Husky 120 volt tire inflator

PostedMay 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
much better than the 12 volt pump I had. Less than 5 min. for a completely deflated tire. Also much quieter.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 120-Volt Inflator

did the job

PostedMay 6, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I needed to inflate the tires on my pickup. after spending the previous weekend trying to do that with one that plugged into the cigarette lighter I gave up and purchase this. well worth the money. inflating three tires went well. although I have to say I over inflated the tires but I'm ridiculously proud that was able to accomplish getting air in my tires.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 120-Volt Inflator
from Las Vegas, NV
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Exceeded expectations

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My son had a car that had been sitting at an outside storage lot for three years. The tires were all very low. I purchased this unit and took an extension cord with me. I was very skeptical due to the small size. Once at the storage lot, I plugged the car into my car's interior plug and ran the extension cord to each of the low tires. WOW! It actually worked. It filled each of the tires and we were able to drive the car off the lot. I am considering buying an extra one to keep on hand in case one of my kids want to "borrow" it. "borrow" meaning I'll never see it again.
My guess is that this pump will work very well for bike tires, balls, ect, but for bigger jobs as I used it for, you should keep it to a minimum. To pump an occasional low car tire is fine.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 11 >>