728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 120-Volt Inflator

120-Volt Inflator

The Husky 120-Volt Inflator inflates vehicle tires, bicycle tires, air mattresses and sports equipment. Direct-drive motor is powerful, quiet and fast. The inflator features an analog pressure gauge that glows in the dark for easy viewing.
Overall rating:
4.16 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(150 reviews) 150
Open Ratings Snapshot
86%of customersrecommend this product126 of 146reviews
Rating Breakdown 150 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(81)
4
(43)
3
(8)
2
(5)
1
(13)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
86%of customersrecommend this product126 of 146reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for 120-Volt Inflator
Review 1 for 120-Volt Inflator
from Mission Viejo, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Beats 12vdc inflator 10x

PostedJune 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I like! The last 50 years since Service Stations stopped providing service, it’s been a pain keeping all the car’s tires properly inflated. I’ve been using a 100dB 12vdc cigarette lighter type inflator since I’m too cheap and can’t justify the space or expense of a several gallon compressor in the garage. I used an accurate pressure gage to verify the Husky gage. They say +/- 3psi @ 30psi, I found it to be within 1psi. And what usually takes 10 minutes per tire took ~30 seconds. 2 year warranty and relatively quiet too. It’s a keeper….
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+46points
47out of 48found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 120-Volt Inflator
from Denton, TX
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice little inflator

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I picked this up for under $20 during a sale and it seems like a quality item. I replaced a 12 volt portable compressor that was noisy and falling apart and I was actually fine with this one being home-outlet-powered vs. cigarette-lighter-powered since I only used it in my garage anyway. I like that the externals are mostly metal and the cable management for the air hose is nice. The plug is only a few inches long so you just have to stick it inside the hose-body gap to keep it out of the way during storage. What I really like about this compressor is the psi gauge accuracy. I've never owned a cheap compressor that had a gauge that even worked much less showed the correct psi. I aired up my tires to what looked to be 32psi and sure enough my high end analog gauge confirmed the same. It's also fast compared to my previous experiences with portable compressors. For an all-around budget inflator I find this one to be top notch.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 120-Volt Inflator
from Renton, WA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Inflator

PostedOctober 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have been using an inflator that plugs into my car's cigarette lighter for several years. It worked okay but it took forever to inflate even something as small as a bike tire. I also have a big compressor but it takes too long to set-up and put away for small jobs. The Husky 120 volt Inflator is just the right size for 90% of my projects. It is small enough to store and move, but it is powerful enough to fill a tire very quickly. The power cord is too short to reach my electrical outlet on the wall so I need to use an extension cord most of the time. I don't mind the short cord since it minimizes the space when I store it.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 120-Volt Inflator
from Chandler, AZ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked Once

PostedSeptember 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased inflator assembly and on the first use, the hose burst. I submitted a request for a replacement hose on line and to date have not heard a reply. Very disappointed.
Pros: Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 120-Volt Inflator
from Pittsburgh, PA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not as powerful as last model

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had to replace my previous Husky 120-volt inflator. It was red, but not sure if there were any other differences than the color. But after my previous model's tip broke off, I had purchased a new one. This one takes so much longer to fill air into my tires.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 120-Volt Inflator
from Ventura County
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works for me!

PostedJuly 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My sole intention for this pump was to use it for a high pressure road bike tire since the wife has a hard time using the manual pump to get to 100psi and higher. Even my large garage compressor could not accomplish this; I wanted something simple that she could use and one that is not 12 volt.
I was a little put off by it's measly 1.5 amp draw as I had been looking at 12v models that drew as much as 27 amps. Turns out, this works just fine for my intended purpose, although it did seem to struggle when it went past 70 psi. Once past 90 psi it seemed to catch it's breath and continue to push past 110 psi. Perfect: simple and cheap. Let's hope it lasts a bit.
As an added bonus, the dial gauge (at least on my unit) was dead on accurate when checked against an AccuGauge. 95 psi on the pump's dial was exactly 95 psi on the high end air gauge. Second added bonus, the unit includes a Presta to Schrader valve adapter with it's other adapters.Very nice!
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, dial gauge is accurate
Cons: very short power cord 21", only 1.5 amps?
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+28points
33out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 120-Volt Inflator
from Virginia
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Keeps the car tires inflated and TPMS happy

PostedSeptember 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I picked this up after the TPMS system in my car started yelling at me that one of my tires was low. It appears to have a slow leak so I've used this guy a few times on my car and once on the wife's car.
As others have mentioned, the pressure gauge is pretty accurate which I like. It's "close enough" that I can inflate a car tire to where it needs to be, check with a manual gauge if I feel like it, and get on the road. It has an air line long enough to inflate most normal sized tires if the inflator is put next to the tire. You will probably need an extension cord to make it all work, but this thing is good stuff.
It does make some noise but it's deeper than the 12volt models so I find that less offensive than the DC ones. This thing is good stuff.
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 120-Volt Inflator
from Michigan

Good alternative to 12V portables

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this after years of keeping my tires inflated with a 12V lighter socket portable air pump. With that old one, it took 22 sec to add 1 PSI to the family minivan't tire, and 11 sec for our smaller Protege 5.
With this one the tires inflate 2.5 times faster, I don't drain the car battery, and I can see the pressure in its built-in gauge so I don't have remove the nozzle to measure pressure and monitor my progress.
I like the small size and construction seems sturdy enough and so far it's being working like its supposed to. My only complain would be that it vibrates wildly so I have to hold it down to read the gauge but this is only a minor annoyance.
For the price and size of the unit, I think it is a great way to keep your car tires to their correct pressure without having to buy a large expensive tank-compressor combo.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: vibrates a lot
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 120-Volt Inflator
from Decatur, GA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Buy an extension cord if you don't have one.

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Was planning on buying a Goodyear/Bon-Aire, but my local store didn't carry it and my tires were running low so 'settled' for this. I was pleasantly surprised - the inflator is sturdier than I anticipated and gets the job done quickly.
My only, but serious, criticism is that the combined length of the electrical cord and tube connecting air to the valve amounts to about 4 feet (if you're lucky) so an extension cord is an absolute necessity if you are inflating car tires. That being said, for $30 you could do far worse.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 120-Volt Inflator
from Hoboken, NJ, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good product for the price.

PostedMay 30, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used this pump to fill up my air mattresses on several occasions and it has not disappointed. The fill up is quick and easy. The only drawback is the plug in cord is a little short. This pump beats using a foot pump any day of the week.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Good Size & Weight
Cons: short plug in cord
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 120-Volt Inflator
from Minneapolis

Failed on 2nd use

PostedJune 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Loved it the first time using it. Turned to garbage on 2nd use. Do not buy!
Cons: Not Durable
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 120-Volt Inflator
from NEW YORK
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Love it would purchase again only problem numbers should be larger for seniors to read but overall great product !

PostedOctober 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The inflator was easy to use no problems setting up would like for numbers on gauge to be larger especially for seniors like me.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, Light Weight
Cons: non
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 120-Volt Inflator
from Wisconsin

Extremely fragile, Poor quality

PostedNovember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Valve broke immediately upon first use. Returning this poor quality product to the store ASAP. Should have known I'd have to spend more than $25 for a product like this. Absolute garbage.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 120-Volt Inflator
from texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Inflator

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I thought about buying a compressor but found this inflator. The inflator meets my needs, it is a well made piece of equipment enjoy the ease of use and have no problem in moving it from place to place.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Good Size & Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 120-Volt Inflator
from New York
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

very good

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
works very well and I have recommended it to several people.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 120-Volt Inflator
from Saginaw,TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

From Toys to Tires

PostedNovember 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Anyone who rides a bicycle, drives a car, plays basketball, soccer, inflates mattresses, or pool toys needs this. The last time I had to buy air it was $1.00. I believe this little air compressor will pay for itself. It's handy & I recommend it.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, High Quality, Good Size & Weight
Cons: the power cord could be longer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 120-Volt Inflator
from Saint Louis, MO
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Value In A Light Duty Compressor

PostedNovember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased this compressor to replace a 12v compressor that broke after a couple years of light use. While shopping, I noted this compressor was significantly heavier than competing models offered at the store appearing to contain more metal components. I planned to use this unit primarily to top off cold tires at home to maintain proper pressure and the use of 120v power was a plus. Initial use inflated car tires from 29 psi to 33 psi in approximately 30 seconds per tire. I then used compressor to inflate a Porsche’s tires from 28 psi to maximum inflation of 51 psi (car was being stored for the winter). This process took about 4 ½ minutes per tire not including a 15 minute break after 2 tires to allow the unit to cool off. I have found excessive heat quickly ruins these compressors. I noted that the inflation rate slowed significantly once 40 psi was reached. As prior reviewers noted, like all small compressors this unit vibrates moving all over the floor if not held. I placed the unit on an upside down milk crate which kept it stable and in place. Based on initial use, this compressor inflates at a higher rate and is significantly quieter than previous inexpensive 12v compressors I have owned. It appears well built with a good quality hose. Hopefully, it will prove more durable than the others I purchased before.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 120-Volt Inflator

Perfect Tool For Minor Inflating Tasks.

PostedMay 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This little inflator takes slightly less space than a 10lb dumbbell, but generates noise comparable to a vacuum cleaner. I read all the Home Depot user reviews and did some research on my own. People using compressors/inflators with a "latch on" hose would sometimes have trouble getting a good connection and end up deflating whatever they were supposed to inflate. My solution would be to purchase a portable compressed air tank and fill it up using the Husky inflator. 10 minutes of inflation by the Husky should get around 50-60 psi of air inside the tank, which is plenty if you ask me. Some other benefits of using a portable tank are: you minimize your exposure from the loud noise of the inflator, flip the on/off switch constantly, and you don't have to deal with extension cords. For the reviewer complaining about the inflator breaking after one use I would like to point out that the user manual states you should only use the inflator for 10 minutes at a time with 10 minute breaks in between.
Bottom line is if you:
1) Like to keep your tires inflated for the added benefit of better gas mileage.
2) Hate to spend $2-$3 in quarters at gas station air hoses.
3) Easily keep all your household vehicles' tires properly inflated.
4) Don't have space/money for an air compressor.
Then buy this product.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+10points
16out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 120-Volt Inflator

nice, little inflator

PostedOctober 31, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My old Model # HD12120 died after 10 months, returned to HD and bought this one.
Works fine so far, still needs time to test its reliability.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 120-Volt Inflator
from Idaho

Average Inflator

PostedOctober 26, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I recently purchased this inflator at the Ponderay, ID store. When I returned home and plugged it in, nothing. The inflator was DOA. It did not work at all. This was very disappointing to me since it is a 90 mile round trip for me to the nearest Home Depot. I returned to the store to get a replacement and had it tested before I left the store. I am a little concerned about the quality since the first one was inoperable. I have now used it to inflate the tires on my Jeep and my 3/4 ton truck. It is slow, especially with the larger pickup truck tires at 60lbs front and 80 lbs rear. It eventually got there but was very hot. I actually think that my old 12 volt DC powered inflator was faster but this new one is convenient because it is 120 volt and I can inflate tires without running the engine and wasting fuel. I wanted to purchase the best inflator possible (and would have spent $100 +) but nobody makes anything other than cheap, less than $50 inflators so I decided to take a chance on this one. It seems to meet my needs but I am wary about it long term quality given that the first one was inoperable. The price is good compared to others I researched.
Pros: Easy to Use, low price
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>