728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Tires & Tire Care or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 120-Volt Inflator

120-Volt Inflator

The Husky 120-Volt Inflator inflates vehicle tires, bicycle tires, air mattresses and sports equipment. Direct-drive motor is powerful, quiet and fast. The inflator features an analog pressure gauge that glows in the dark for easy viewing.
Overall rating:
4.162 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(80 reviews) 80
Open Ratings Snapshot
85%of customersrecommend this product66 of 78reviews
Rating Breakdown 80 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(45)
4
(22)
3
(2)
2
(3)
1
(8)
Quality 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
85%of customersrecommend this product66 of 78reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for 120-Volt Inflator
Review 1 for 120-Volt Inflator
UCLAfan
from Ventura County
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works for me!

PostedJuly 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My sole intention for this pump was to use it for a high pressure road bike tire since the wife has a hard time using the manual pump to get to 100psi and higher. Even my large garage compressor could not accomplish this; I wanted something simple that she could use and one that is not 12 volt.
I was a little put off by it's measly 1.5 amp draw as I had been looking at 12v models that drew as much as 27 amps. Turns out, this works just fine for my intended purpose, although it did seem to struggle when it went past 70 psi. Once past 90 psi it seemed to catch it's breath and continue to push past 110 psi. Perfect: simple and cheap. Let's hope it lasts a bit.
As an added bonus, the dial gauge (at least on my unit) was dead on accurate when checked against an AccuGauge. 95 psi on the pump's dial was exactly 95 psi on the high end air gauge. Second added bonus, the unit includes a Presta to Schrader valve adapter with it's other adapters.Very nice!
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, dial gauge is accurate
Cons: very short power cord 21", only 1.5 amps?
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+18points
19out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 120-Volt Inflator
Gitrdone
from Mission Viejo, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Beats 12vdc inflator 10x

PostedJune 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I like! The last 50 years since Service Stations stopped providing service, it’s been a pain keeping all the car’s tires properly inflated. I’ve been using a 100dB 12vdc cigarette lighter type inflator since I’m too cheap and can’t justify the space or expense of a several gallon compressor in the garage. I used an accurate pressure gage to verify the Husky gage. They say +/- 3psi @ 30psi, I found it to be within 1psi. And what usually takes 10 minutes per tire took ~30 seconds. 2 year warranty and relatively quiet too. It’s a keeper….
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 120-Volt Inflator
John
from Decatur, GA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Buy an extension cord if you don't have one.

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Was planning on buying a Goodyear/Bon-Aire, but my local store didn't carry it and my tires were running low so 'settled' for this. I was pleasantly surprised - the inflator is sturdier than I anticipated and gets the job done quickly.
My only, but serious, criticism is that the combined length of the electrical cord and tube connecting air to the valve amounts to about 4 feet (if you're lucky) so an extension cord is an absolute necessity if you are inflating car tires. That being said, for $30 you could do far worse.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 120-Volt Inflator
Quaismoor
from Nashville
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not the greatest

PostedFebruary 17, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This unit replaced a Black and Decker portable air pump that lasted for years and I was hoping this Husky 120 inflator would do as well. Not so. It takes much longer to fill the car tires as the little unit wanders all over the place and can sometime tip over as it tangles with the hose and wire so you must hold it still on the floor while pumping. It requires an extension cord as the wire is very short as is the air hose which requires the items to be filled be on the floor. On this pump the plastic cover over the pressure gauge became so clouded that it is necessary to remove the lens to check the reading. Attempts to clean the lens was unsuccessful so its only benefit is to protect the inside of the gauge from dust and debris. If you have plenty of time and patience it will eventually get the job done but my recommendation is to search for a more substantial unit.
Cons: Difficult to Use
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 120-Volt Inflator
Frank55
from Frederick, MD, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Product is great for its small size

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I like this air pump because it's small for convenience of storage and use.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 120-Volt Inflator
lefty
from Jacksonville, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

does the job as stated in the info.

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
aired my car tires in no time and did my spare to 65 lbs. very fast ,a very good unit.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Good Size & Weight
Cons: dont have one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 120-Volt Inflator
BeeJay
from Arizona
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

120 volt inflator

PostedApril 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this to fill my motorhome tires which require 85 to 90 psi.
I was pleased how it did on the bikes and jeep so I went to the class A motorhome. I ran the tires to 85 from 80 psi. It took a while but did the job.
It is sure easier to carry than my old air compressor I was hauling.
For $20.00 I should buy two more for the cars.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 120-Volt Inflator
Nhatorama

Perfect Tool For Minor Inflating Tasks.

PostedMay 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This little inflator takes slightly less space than a 10lb dumbbell, but generates noise comparable to a vacuum cleaner. I read all the Home Depot user reviews and did some research on my own. People using compressors/inflators with a "latch on" hose would sometimes have trouble getting a good connection and end up deflating whatever they were supposed to inflate. My solution would be to purchase a portable compressed air tank and fill it up using the Husky inflator. 10 minutes of inflation by the Husky should get around 50-60 psi of air inside the tank, which is plenty if you ask me. Some other benefits of using a portable tank are: you minimize your exposure from the loud noise of the inflator, flip the on/off switch constantly, and you don't have to deal with extension cords. For the reviewer complaining about the inflator breaking after one use I would like to point out that the user manual states you should only use the inflator for 10 minutes at a time with 10 minute breaks in between.
Bottom line is if you:
1) Like to keep your tires inflated for the added benefit of better gas mileage.
2) Hate to spend $2-$3 in quarters at gas station air hoses.
3) Easily keep all your household vehicles' tires properly inflated.
4) Don't have space/money for an air compressor.
Then buy this product.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+9points
15out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 120-Volt Inflator
SyrTyce

You get what you pay for

PostedApril 3, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product lasted me all of a week. I blew multiple fuses in my vehicle and then the device wouldn't turn on.
I returned it and upgraded to a better Husky inflator thats powered by both a 12v vehicle input and a standard home 120v.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 120-Volt Inflator
ligball

WORTH IT.

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Just bought this for the shop. Inflated six tires from 30 to 35 lbs each. About 3 min for each one.
Solid construction. Easy to attach to the valve stem. Happy with the purchase.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 120-Volt Inflator
panda33

Very handy.

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Husky 120-Volt Inflator inflates many kinds of tires, mattresses, and sports' equipment. It's easy to use as well as versatile.
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 120-Volt Inflator
JamesK

Good enough

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Just as slow as the coin-op machines at the gas station, but it gets the job done and at $2 a fill at the station it should pay for itself in a short time.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: vibrates around the floor.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 120-Volt Inflator
JustanotherDad
from Poway, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I ordered it, I picked it up, it works as intended.

PostedNovember 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works great. Quick to use and easy to store in a small garage. My cars all require around 34 lbs of air and this inflator makes short order of it.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 120-Volt Inflator
SoCalGuy
from So, Cal
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great purchase! No more gas station trips for air.

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just got this today and it worked great. I used it on a soccer ball and two bikes. Inflated the bike tires from fully flat to fully inflated in about 10-15 seconds. Haven't used it on the car tires yet. It has a gauge that glows and seems very accurate.
Great value at $29. Beats having to load up the bikes to get air at the gas station.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 120-Volt Inflator
JTKell
from Acton, MA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Died on second tire inflation

PostedAugust 22, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Stopped working the second time I used it. Motor would stop if you rolled the pump sideways and then died. The hose is also difficult to latch on to the stem as it is under designed for the force required to lock it on.
Pros: All In One, Good Size & Weight
Cons: poor quality
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 120-Volt Inflator
jeff
from Pittsburgh

It was great until it failed

PostedJuly 8, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Until today I would have given this inflator a much better rating (I've owned it about 6 months). I don't use it too often, about once a week during biking season. My problem is that the inflator "nozzle" at the end of the hose is entirely plastic, and it just broke off. In retrospect, most parts of this pump are metal, and I would expect them to last years. But the nozzle is plastic, and that is what failed. Without it, the pump is useless (the nozzle is integrated into the hose and and cannot be replaced). I am investigating getting a new hose (unsure if this can be changed). I would spend more and get something without plastic parts that can fail so easily with infrequent use.
+8points
15out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 120-Volt Inflator
Lester

Great machine for the money!!!

PostedJanuary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent'e + size = Husky inflator. . . .. . . ..
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 120-Volt Inflator
BabylonSteve
from Babylon NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Nozzle Plastic!! Breaks off so easily!! Shame everything fine except cheap nozzle! Dont Buy

PostedNovember 13, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
First time I used it nozzle components all plastic broke right off
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 120-Volt Inflator
VetteObsessed

Fantastic value!!!

PostedApril 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
You open the box and feel the product, the weight, the design, the steel construction, and you feel like you've purchased a quality item.
After using it, you'll realize that it performs flawlessly. Corvette tires are very expensive, so I like to maintain a proper inflation in each tire. This does the job beautifully.
I found the built in gauge accurate within 1 lb., at 30 psi. This little gem is well worth the regular price of $29.98. BUT, at the reduced price of $19.98, it is a steal!!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, accurate pressure gauge, solid construction, excellent price vs. performance value
Cons: none
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 120-Volt Inflator
PatC
from Harpers Ferry, WV
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Love this inflator

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This inflator is definitely worth the cost (and economical). It's works much FASTER than my previous inflator, is not nearly as noisy & came w/multiple nozzles. Use for lots of inflations (tires, inflatable decorations, beach balls, volleyballs, etc.). Absolutely NO REGRETS. Highly recommend.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Economical
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>