728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Mailboxes & Mailbox Posts or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Rubbermaid Roughneck Plastic Post-Mount Mailbox in Black

Rubbermaid Roughneck Plastic Post-Mount Mailbox in Black

The Rubbermaid Roughneck Plastic Post Mount Mailbox is constructed from durable polymer plastic and features an attractive black color. The mailbox is weather and impact resistant for longevity against the weather elements and day-to-day use. The mailbox is a large size unit with plenty of room for high volume mail deliveries and the door opening allows for delivery of various mail types. The body of the mailbox features a ribbed design on top and textured side panels for a unique and stylish appearance. Includes a plastic mail indicator flag. This mailbox is proudly made in the United States.
Overall rating:
4.846 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(39 reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
97%of customersrecommend this product36 of 37reviews
Rating Breakdown 39 reviews
4.8 out of 5
5
(34)
4
(4)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
97%of customersrecommend this product36 of 37reviews
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer reviews for Rubbermaid Roughneck Plastic Post-Mount Mailbox in Black
Review 1 for Rubbermaid Roughneck Plastic Post-Mount Mailbox in Black
from Asheville, NC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

THE Mailbox for home business!

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had one of these at my former home and it lasted some 20 years without a problem. It is perfect if you receive magazines or anything in a large envelope as they will lay flat in the mailbox. The 'door opened' indicator is great for saving trips to the mailbox to see if the mail carrier has stopped. SO happy they still make this for my NEW home!!!
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Stylish
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Rubbermaid Roughneck Plastic Post-Mount Mailbox in Black
from Louisville Kentucky
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best mailbox we've ever had.

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We've had this mailbox at our last three homes and will certainly buy it again if we ever need another one. It's a good bit wider than a conventional mailbox so magazines etc. lay flat when put inside. The additional space also allows the mailman to put boxes and it instead of putting them on the front porch or leaving a slip to pick it up later. Combining that with this great price and the fact that it holds up very well to all weather conditions makes a great combination.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Nice Design
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Rubbermaid Roughneck Plastic Post-Mount Mailbox in Black
from Stockbridge, GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent mailbox

PostedAugust 18, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The mailbox is well-constructed and very easy to mount. I really like the yellow flag that lets you know that the mail has arrived. This is the best mailbox I have ever owned, and I am 64 years old.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Rubbermaid Roughneck Plastic Post-Mount Mailbox in Black
from N CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A little larger than standard rural Mailbox

PostedJuly 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I bought the previous version of this box over twenty years ago and other than it starting to look a little weather warn from the sun, I would have been still using it. I replaced it after road equipment knocked down the mailbox post and decided it was time. The box was still in usable shape. The arm on the box lets you see if mail has arrived. If you prefer not to use it, you can take it off. It is larger than standard and allows for larger packages to be delivered. You do not need the bracket sold separately to mount in most applications.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Rubbermaid Roughneck Plastic Post-Mount Mailbox in Black
from Bellmead Texas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

DURABLE AND BEST MAILBOX EVER

PostedDecember 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Purchased this to replace a hit and run mailbox... all I can say is that it is durable Installed it mid November and December 25th it was hit again... NO damage at all just loosened the 4x4 post and had to reattach the mailbox lid.... works just fine I did move the mailbox back 1.5 feet to make sure that it is not as close to the street again.. MOST DEF BUY THIS!!!!
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Easy to Move, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Rubbermaid Roughneck Plastic Post-Mount Mailbox in Black
from Denton, TX

Bomb can't kill it

PostedAugust 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Had some kids put a mortar shell firework in mine and blew it up...
Only damage - Crack in side of the box and blew a hinge plug off the door.
Mailbox still very usable. Simply installed a bolt for the door and heat welded the plastic crack back together. Good as new.
You cannot go wrong with this mailbox..it's tough.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Rubbermaid Roughneck Plastic Post-Mount Mailbox in Black
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great quality, Sturdy

PostedAugust 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Definitely well designed product. Easy fit, all screw locations were provided,
Got done very quickly.
Its a little less sturdy that I would like, but strong enough to handle outside weather.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Rubbermaid Roughneck Plastic Post-Mount Mailbox in Black
from Richmond, VA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Best available! Recommend highly!

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have purchased three of these over the years. Three years ago, I sold the house where I installed the first one. One of the first things I did was purchase and install one at my new home. Hurricanes couldn't blow it down, falling trees couldn't crush it. It took a trash truck running over it to take it out of commission (I now use it outside my back door to stage things which need to go to my workshop. The week after installing the new one at the end of my driveway, the same trash truck claimed a return match, but couldn't get the job done. The Roughneck prevailed. If ever Godzilla comes through and stomps it, I will buy my fourth. You can't do better than this.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+15points
16out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Rubbermaid Roughneck Plastic Post-Mount Mailbox in Black
from Commerce Township, Michigan
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

just what I was looking for

PostedJuly 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to assemble and mount on mail box post for my neighbor and myself
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Rubbermaid Roughneck Plastic Post-Mount Mailbox in Black
from Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best $30 Mailbox Available

PostedDecember 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Just installed the 2nd one, after a vehicle took out the 1st one. Had the 1st one for about 15 years with never a problem. Door still worked like new, even the flags were still functional. Didn't hesitate for a moment when I found the same model still available. The only issue you'll have with this mailbox, it will fade if installed in direct full sun. But you can return it to its original shade with a vinyl treatment, like you would use on the black plastic on your car.
Installs easily - directly on a standard 4x4 - no special bracket needed. Note: Mounting screws are not included.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Rubbermaid Roughneck Plastic Post-Mount Mailbox in Black

Mailbox upgrade

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Well built and easy to install. Would recommend for upgrading the house
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Rubbermaid Roughneck Plastic Post-Mount Mailbox in Black
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Mailbox!

PostedJune 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've had two of these mailboxes; one at my residence and one at my business. They've both been up since 1995! The one at the store is still in great shape; unfortunately, the one at home a truck took down along with the post set in concrete!!! But, I have gone to Home Depot to replace it!
It is large enough for packages so the mailman can stay in his truck and I don't have things left on my front porch. It's the best mailbox I've ever had. Oh, and the 'you have mail' yellow flag is great!!! I don't have to go to the mailbox to see if my mail came!!!!
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Easy to Move, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Nice Design, yellow 'you've got mail' flag, large enough for packages, large enough for large envelopoes without bending
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Rubbermaid Roughneck Plastic Post-Mount Mailbox in Black
from Rochester, New York
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good replacement

PostedJuly 11, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My steel mailbox finally gave up the ghost. The mailbox was simple to install on to my existing post. The yellow flag feature is a nice touch.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Rubbermaid Roughneck Plastic Post-Mount Mailbox in Black
from Tampabay, Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best mailbox ever!

PostedJune 16, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I love this mailbox! I had one exactly like this one--that lasted 25 years..........and I just bought a replacement. The main reason I like it is because it is wide enough that magazines lay flat when delivered.......and can even hold packages! Also it is well made---and at a good price!
Pros: Durable, Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Rubbermaid Roughneck Plastic Post-Mount Mailbox in Black
from Dewey, AZ, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great purchase

PostedJune 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Arrived at my house promptly. Was very easy to mount and looks great!
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Rubbermaid Roughneck Plastic Post-Mount Mailbox in Black
from Beaverdam, VA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Mailbox

PostedApril 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is our second Rubbermaid Roughneck mailbox - after 13 years, vandals smashed ours with repeated poundings on it on a cold night. We heard them but didn't realize what was happening. Anyway, we bought another mailbox that weekend, but it was too small. This one holds all the mail, even holiday catalogs, for a couple days. Everything lies flat and orderly. So, we ordered this one and installed it immediately. We love the yellow flag which tells us that we have mail. You won't be disappointed with this mailbox, after 13 years of faithful service, it didn't owe us a thing when the vandals cracked it up.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Rubbermaid Roughneck Plastic Post-Mount Mailbox in Black
from Palm Bay, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great purchase

PostedMay 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I love the mailbox especially since it has a lever that lets me know if the mailman has put mail in the box, very convenient for me.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Rubbermaid Roughneck Plastic Post-Mount Mailbox in Black

Awesome !

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very easy to put together though , mounting hardware does not come with. It is very sturdy and durable . Customer service was great, I ordered online and picked up in store, very prompt and and polite .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Rubbermaid Roughneck Plastic Post-Mount Mailbox in Black
from Shawnee, KS
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice No Maintenance Mail Box...

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Nice, no-maintenance mail box. Nothing fancy, but should hold up well against the elements and not require any painting or maintenance. Which should be what you are looking for if you are looking at plastic options.
Pros: Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Rubbermaid Roughneck Plastic Post-Mount Mailbox in Black
from lake havasu city, az
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice mailbox

PostedMarch 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The mailbox I ordered was exactly what I wanted. It was delivered in a timely manner and I was notified immediately when it arrived at the store.
Pros: Sturdy, Stylish, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>