728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Mailboxes & Mailbox Posts or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Rubbermaid Roughneck Plastic Post-Mount Mailbox in Black

Rubbermaid Roughneck Plastic Post-Mount Mailbox in Black

The Rubbermaid Roughneck Plastic Post Mount Mailbox is constructed from durable polymer plastic and features an attractive black color. The mailbox is weather and impact resistant for longevity against the weather elements and day-to-day use. The mailbox is a large size unit with plenty of room for high volume mail deliveries and the door opening allows for delivery of various mail types. The body of the mailbox features a ribbed design on top and textured side panels for a unique and stylish appearance. Includes a plastic mail indicator flag. This mailbox is proudly made in the United States.
Overall rating:
4.826 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(23 reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product20 of 21reviews
Rating Breakdown 23 reviews
4.8 out of 5.0
5
(20)
4
(2)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product20 of 21reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for Rubbermaid Roughneck Plastic Post-Mount Mailbox in Black
Review 1 for Rubbermaid Roughneck Plastic Post-Mount Mailbox in Black
from Asheville, NC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

THE Mailbox for home business!

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had one of these at my former home and it lasted some 20 years without a problem. It is perfect if you receive magazines or anything in a large envelope as they will lay flat in the mailbox. The 'door opened' indicator is great for saving trips to the mailbox to see if the mail carrier has stopped. SO happy they still make this for my NEW home!!!
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Stylish
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Rubbermaid Roughneck Plastic Post-Mount Mailbox in Black
from Bellmead Texas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

DURABLE AND BEST MAILBOX EVER

PostedDecember 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased this to replace a hit and run mailbox... all I can say is that it is durable Installed it mid November and December 25th it was hit again... NO damage at all just loosened the 4x4 post and had to reattach the mailbox lid.... works just fine I did move the mailbox back 1.5 feet to make sure that it is not as close to the street again.. MOST DEF BUY THIS!!!!
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Easy to Move, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Rubbermaid Roughneck Plastic Post-Mount Mailbox in Black
from Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best $30 Mailbox Available

PostedDecember 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just installed the 2nd one, after a vehicle took out the 1st one. Had the 1st one for about 15 years with never a problem. Door still worked like new, even the flags were still functional. Didn't hesitate for a moment when I found the same model still available. The only issue you'll have with this mailbox, it will fade if installed in direct full sun. But you can return it to its original shade with a vinyl treatment, like you would use on the black plastic on your car.
Installs easily - directly on a standard 4x4 - no special bracket needed. Note: Mounting screws are not included.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Rubbermaid Roughneck Plastic Post-Mount Mailbox in Black
from Richmond, VA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Best available! Recommend highly!

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have purchased three of these over the years. Three years ago, I sold the house where I installed the first one. One of the first things I did was purchase and install one at my new home. Hurricanes couldn't blow it down, falling trees couldn't crush it. It took a trash truck running over it to take it out of commission (I now use it outside my back door to stage things which need to go to my workshop. The week after installing the new one at the end of my driveway, the same trash truck claimed a return match, but couldn't get the job done. The Roughneck prevailed. If ever Godzilla comes through and stomps it, I will buy my fourth. You can't do better than this.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Rubbermaid Roughneck Plastic Post-Mount Mailbox in Black
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Mailbox!

PostedJune 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've had two of these mailboxes; one at my residence and one at my business. They've both been up since 1995! The one at the store is still in great shape; unfortunately, the one at home a truck took down along with the post set in concrete!!! But, I have gone to Home Depot to replace it!
It is large enough for packages so the mailman can stay in his truck and I don't have things left on my front porch. It's the best mailbox I've ever had. Oh, and the 'you have mail' yellow flag is great!!! I don't have to go to the mailbox to see if my mail came!!!!
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Easy to Move, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Nice Design, yellow 'you've got mail' flag, large enough for packages, large enough for large envelopoes without bending
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Rubbermaid Roughneck Plastic Post-Mount Mailbox in Black
from Manistique, MI 49854, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good quality

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this mailbox to replace a smaller size Rubbermaid Roughneck mailbox that was damaged by the snow plow. This box is bigger and made better than the smaller size. There is a little roof over the door and I think it will be less inclined to be blown open by a big vehicle driving by.
Other great features...the yellow pop up flag that you see when the door is opened. It can be attached to either side of the mailbox. Also, this mailbox mounts on the same frame used by all sizes so I did not have to purchase a new post and frame.
Pros: Durable, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Rubbermaid Roughneck Plastic Post-Mount Mailbox in Black
from Mechanicsburg, PA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

quality - holds up to elements

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
perfect product to use for built in mailbox style; no rust
Pros: Durable, Sturdy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Rubbermaid Roughneck Plastic Post-Mount Mailbox in Black
from Kingsford, MI, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Really nice Mailboxes

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Many different mounting options. You could just use a piece of plywood if it was cut properly, or a 4x4 (which is what I'm going to do).
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Rubbermaid Roughneck Plastic Post-Mount Mailbox in Black
from Beaverdam, VA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Mailbox

PostedApril 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is our second Rubbermaid Roughneck mailbox - after 13 years, vandals smashed ours with repeated poundings on it on a cold night. We heard them but didn't realize what was happening. Anyway, we bought another mailbox that weekend, but it was too small. This one holds all the mail, even holiday catalogs, for a couple days. Everything lies flat and orderly. So, we ordered this one and installed it immediately. We love the yellow flag which tells us that we have mail. You won't be disappointed with this mailbox, after 13 years of faithful service, it didn't owe us a thing when the vandals cracked it up.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Rubbermaid Roughneck Plastic Post-Mount Mailbox in Black
from Clifton Park, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very sturdy & roomy

PostedJuly 31, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a great mailbox. My last one was dented and rusty. This one will not dent nor rust.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Rubbermaid Roughneck Plastic Post-Mount Mailbox in Black
from Flowery Branch, GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice Mailbox

PostedFebruary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is my 2nd from Rubbermaid. The first lasted for 15 years. The only issue I have is they left off the
yellow indicator that lets you know that mail has been delivered. Don't let the picture fool you. It's not
included with the model.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: no yellow notification flag
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Rubbermaid Roughneck Plastic Post-Mount Mailbox in Black
from Rustburg VA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome mailbox, except....

PostedNovember 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Mailbox met all our expectations until this overnight period. Was leaving to run errands and found the door off the box. Later found out that 14 boxes of various design had been part of "mail box tag" overnight. One other box like ours is in worse shape, but others that are plastic and metal suffered more (and less) damage than ours. Still have to replace it and unfortunate we had just replaced our old one about 3 to 4 months ago. Too bad we tossed the old one. Anyway, this one is a good mailbox but not made to withstand vandalism. Highly recommend it to folks that want a box that is wider than standard.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Easy to Move, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Rubbermaid Roughneck Plastic Post-Mount Mailbox in Black

Product is pretty much as advertised

PostedJune 4, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Not the greatest mailbox, but it does what it's supposed to. They deteriorate with age, which is why it's getting replaced and it has to match the others. So now there's a shiny new plastic box next to the faded, cracked boxes alongside... And not cheap enough to replace them all...
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Move, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Rubbermaid Roughneck Plastic Post-Mount Mailbox in Black
from Potomac, MD, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great all-around mailbox

PostedJune 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I installed this new Rubbermaid mailbox to replace my previous exact same one I had for 15 years. Took me just a few minutes. The old one was fully operational but the black plastic faded a bit to a gray and my HOA didn't allow the change in color. The indicator flag is worth the full price of the box. Large area where magazines lay flat and pkgs fit inside as well. Better than others 2-3x it's price.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Easy to Move, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Rubbermaid Roughneck Plastic Post-Mount Mailbox in Black
from Newpaltz ny
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I like this mail box it's a bit bigger than normal mail boxes...

PostedJanuary 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I like this mail box it is durable and is a nice size. The installation is not that difficult although you will need an extension for the screwdriver to I stall.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Rubbermaid Roughneck Plastic Post-Mount Mailbox in Black

well made mailbox

PostedOctober 4, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
large mailbox, the front opening is a little larger than the back end. Wish it was the same size from front to back. Holds magazines flat and small packages. Like the flag that tells you if the mailperson has been there. Very well made for the price
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Rubbermaid Roughneck Plastic Post-Mount Mailbox in Black
from Rochester, NY, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I'd buy again.

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the third box I have had of this style. It is a roomy box that holds alot of mail and small packages. I have only had to replace it because the snowplow has destroyed it 3 times.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Rubbermaid Roughneck Plastic Post-Mount Mailbox in Black
from Massachusetts
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great mailbox

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This mailbox is very sturdy and is wide enough to hold a lot of mail without folding it over.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Easy to Move, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Rubbermaid Roughneck Plastic Post-Mount Mailbox in Black
from Dixon, IL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This is the perfect size mailbox for envelopes as well as packages - love it!

PostedJuly 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These are my 3rd & 4th purchase of this same item. I love the quality, size and durability. Would highly recommend this box. Afterall, it is a Rubbermaid too so you know the quality is there as well.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Rubbermaid Roughneck Plastic Post-Mount Mailbox in Black
from Sheffield, MA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Best ever!

PostedDecember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love this mailbox . ...I have had this one for many years - it withstands the fierce New England winters! My mail carrier also loves it because it is very easy to insert packages of all shapes and sizes. Indeed my post office has told me that they wish more people had this mailbox...
I definitely would purchase this one again if I ever needed to.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>