728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Wall Heaters or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater

400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater

The original Econo-Heat 400 Watt wall panel convection heater will allow you to save up to 50% or more on your heating cost. Instead of heating an object or person, the heater uses efficient convection technology to warm an entire room up to 120 square feet. Its ultra slim and compact design allows for discreet out-of-the way wall mounting and installs quickly and easily with the included installation hardware. Once installed, the heater can be painted to match the room decor and will operate silently and safely as there are no moving parts, no gas and no exposed heating elements. As the heater will not dry the air or burn up the oxygen in the room, you will experience warm, comfortable, efficient, safe and silent heating all season long. Come home to Econo-Heat, the warmth of a home.
Overall rating:
4.383 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(60 reviews) 60
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product48 of 54reviews
Rating Breakdown 60 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(39)
4
(14)
3
(1)
2
(3)
1
(3)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product48 of 54reviews
Customer reviews for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
Review 1 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from Calumet, Michigan
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Econo-Heat Wall Board Heater

PostedJanuary 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Econo-Heat 400 Watt Convection Flat Panel Space Heater with Programmable Thermostat
This unit will "Convection" heat your room. You have to leave it on in order for the air to circulate in the room! Immediate heat is not and has never been the intended purpose for this product!
I live in Upper Michigan where winters are very cold. These heaters work great! You need to follow the instructions in order for proper operation. Garage applications will not work well. An interior room of a home will work perfect. "TIP" Mount heater to interior wall, not a wall where outside temperatures are on the other side! This unit WILL draw cold air from the floor and heat it causing a natural rotation of air in the room!
You will not be disappointed! They do work! especially if you have a "cold" room and are looking to supplement your existing heat source!
Keep Warm! Summer will be back soon!
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, it works!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from Illinois, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

We Like It.

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We bought this heater as a supplement heater for our bedroom. We prefer to turn the furnace down at night and just heat the bedroom. This heater is a nice alternative to a space heater sitting in the middle of the floor. We like how it attaches to the wall so it is out of the way. Plus being able to paint it so it is not very noticeable. It doesn't put out a ton of heat though so if a person wants it for the only heat source I am not sure it would be enough.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+37points
37out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from Framingham, MA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This product has great features ! We love !

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product has great features ! We love !
Very good ! Tks !
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from Orange county, california
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Simple, good looking solution

PostedNovember 26, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After reading through all the reviews, I decided to purchase three of these for areas of the house that were not well heated. In particular, a couple bathrooms that had no heat. In terms of performance, they do about what I expected of convective type heaters - plug them in and leave them on. These heaters work well for a smaller room, like a bathroom. One of them developed a crack and stopped working.
I contacted the company by phone and left a message. the product manager phoned me back the same day. I explained what happened and emailed him some photos. He thought it must have been damaged in shipping and then the heating/cooling cycles made the crack larger which eventually breached the heating element. He immediately sent a warranty replacement. Great customer service.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Nice Design
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater

Gets the job done

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I needed a heat source for a small bathroom with 3 outside walls. The temperature in the bathroom easily dipped into the teens in the winter time since it had no heat source. I bought this because it is efficient and it is low profile. So far, so good. It warms the room to a manageable temp but not anywhere near even 65 degrees b/c of the outside 3 walls. It also doesn't warm up the tile floor because of the nature of the heat.
It does get very hot so be careful around it with pets or kids.
Some people complain that it cracks but I haven't encountered that yet.
Installed and painted in 20 minutes..needed a second person to hold it in place while I screwed it in.
+28points
28out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from Connecticut, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

worked for us!

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Needed extra heat in a chilly alcove during the extra cold winter months we've begun experiencing. Looked at oil-filled radiators, which are very efficient, but wanted something with a low profile that could be wall-mounted not far from an outlet (comes with 6 ft of cord). At 400 WATTS it is the equivalent of four 100W incandescent light bulbs, but produces far more heat. (Read the safety instructions such as should not be under furniture, near drapes, etc., but is safe for pets and children.)
It was easy and fairly quick to mount (only needed to cut down one of the four plastic insulated spacer mounts because our older plaster wall was not perfectly even). We did experience the "new" chemical smell, but with continuous use the smell was gone within 48 hours.
Added bonus is that you can paint this to match the wall. Simple and aesthetically pleasing, it does not draw attention to itself. This is by far the best we could find until something better comes along. And the price (before the electric bill) is superb compared to more expensive oil-filled wall mounted radiators that take up more space.
Very pleased with this simple and inexpensive solution to our short-term needs.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, Energy Efficient
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater

Works Great

PostedDecember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Overall after 3 weeks with this product in early winter temps and I'm happy. I installed the unit in our large tiled bathroom and routed it through a timer that starts it 2 hours before we wake. Bathroom is easily 3-5 degrees warmer and the tile isn't as cold to walk on. I'd recommend this for any room where you want to cost effectively raise the temp a few degrees.
I have only two minor draw backs:
1. It is rather large so finding a good place to mount it low to the ground might be challenging depending on the room.
2. The mounting anchors are plastic and will not work if the location ends up being over a stud. I replaced them with nicer metal ones and it installed easily.
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from Denver, CO, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

What a difference this heater made!

PostedDecember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My bedroom, which is in the north west corner of my 1950's brick and cinder block walled home, would never get above 55 to 58 degrees in the winter, unless I put the rest of the house at 80 degrees. With this heater, we are now comfortable around 70 to 72 degrees with only turning it on 2 or 3 hours before bed time and off before we go to sleep. No more ice cold sheets:-) I would highly recommend this to anyone with a cold room in the house. It says for a 10x10 room, but my room is 12x12, and it works well.
+32points
32out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Does the job!

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We purchased this heater for a small sunroom (about 100 sq. ft) and it has done a good job of keeping the room comfortable, not overly warm but also not cold. This is great considering we have below freezing weather in winter and one wall of the room is basically all windows and doors.
We connected it and have left it on non-stop. I like that it keeps the room ready for use at all times at a low cost, it is silent, and it does not produce dry air. My only complaint is that it looks big. I knew the measurements but did not realize how big it wold look in the room. I am considering painting it to match the wall color. Good, solid, cost-effective product.
+16points
18out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from Seattle
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great customer service

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Product works well. It is efficient and stylish. I would recommend this to others.
Pros: Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater

excellent for small spaces

PostedOctober 18, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Of all the electric heaters I have tried, this is my favorite. I first tried a couple, then bought several more. The Econo-heater uses only 400 watts, so does not trip breakers on a normal circuit. Yet it seems to heat as well as the bulky radiator-type electric heaters, and the noisy ceramic fan heaters, which will use up to 1500+ watts.
It is low profile, fitting close to the wall. It is quick and easy to install, and just plugs into a normal outlet. Plus it can be painted to match a room's decor.
It heats both by radiation and convection, and is completely quiet when operating. It is mounted low on a wall and slightly away from the wall, so as it warms up it pulls cool air up from the floor, heats it, and by natural convection the warm air begins to circulate into the room. Also, it is very warm to the touch, so you can stand next to it and really warm up. You won't want to touch it, but if you do it is not so hot it burns skin. If you mount it on a mass wall (brick, stone, adobe, even dry-wall) it will tend to heat the wall, too, over time. This stored heat in a mass material warms objects (like people) also by radiation, in addition to heating the air.
I found out that this heater - the Econo-Heater - is made in South Africa, and has had a long R&D history there. It's produced in an integrated factory, and this made me feel even better about the product. Recently I read a couple reviews about a look-alike heater called the "Eco-heater" which sounds like an inferior imitation of this product that people were unhappy with. So be sure you order the original "econo-heater".
Two caveats worth mentioning: This heater will not make up for a building with poor insulation (like mine). It has been very useful in bathrooms - but don't hang your towels on it. Also, it has no thermostat, so it must be turned on and off manually. Still, I have found it to be the most cost-effective and aesthetic solution to small room heating I have discovered.
+43points
43out of 43found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from Souther Delaware
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect heating unit with very low power consumption

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this unit to take the chill out of the finished, insulated but not conditioned basement and was very pleased with the results. Area is more than 3 times the heater is intended for, yet it raised the temperature by 3 degrees. Would recommend this unit to anyone looking to boost cooler areas at a very small electrical usage.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from Belmont, MA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So far it works....

PostedOctober 12, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bought one to keep the baby room nice and cozy, but so far we only had to use it a few times yet so it maybe too early to comment on quality/value. The panel was safely packed when it arrived and looked intact coming out of the box. Installation is not difficult but may require two people to asure proper level hanging. The drill size they recommend for pre-drilling is a bit on the tight side for the dry-wall screws and you may need to use one size larger to not destroy the drywall.
Once installed and turned on the panel gets hot to the touch fairly quickly, but not enough to burn you. It certainly manages to keep the baby room at a cozy 73-74 F, allowing me to turn the heat in the rest of the house lower.
+17points
18out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater

Just what I needed

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I installed these as supplemental heat in three rooms in my house. They were easy to install and work great. I wired them each into a their own thermostat so I can actually control them. Comfortable heat for a reasonable price.
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product has been a life saver with the bitter cold weather we have had this year.

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased three wall panel heaters hoping that they would help cut down the chill in three rooms that are extremely cold in my 100 year old house. Two of the rooms are bedrooms that are exposed on three sides to the outside, the other room is an all glass sunporch which also has exposure on three sides of the room.
The difference in the temperature of the rooms now makes them livable and very comfortable. I also love the fact that the wall panels can be painted so that they blend in nicely with the room.
I highly recommend this product to anyone who needs the extra warmth in a room and does not like the dryness that a space heater causes to the room and to the skin.
The difference in the bedrooms has been unbelievable. The rooms are nice and toasty warm without being too hot or dry. Just right for a good nights sleep. I am thrilled with the difference in the sunroom. It is comfortable enough even with the bitter cold weather that we have experience this year to sit out in the sunroom and watch TV comfortably.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater

Excellent product

PostedOctober 24, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I live in Northern NH and have used these heaters for about 4 years. Great for a bathroom or if you want to add several you can heat a larger room. Cheap to operate, each heater will run about 10 to 15 bucks a month to operate. I painted mine and you can hardly see them. Nobody believes they are heaters until they feel the warm glow they emit.......excellent product !
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from Syracuse, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Safe and inexpensive way to heat a room.

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I ordered this 400 watt heater from Home Depot on Sunday night and it was delivered on Tuesday afternoon in perfect condition with free shipping.. 48 hours very impressive..
The heater works great in my 12'x14' bedroom that is over a unheated garage. It keeps the room about 6 to 9 degrees warmer(with the bedroom door shut) than the rest of the house when the main thermostat is on 62. Depends on the outside temp and how windy it is.
The heat is not a dry heat like the 3 electric heaters I used in the past, plus it takes zero floor space in my crowded room. It screws to the wall and looks nice after I painted it the same color as the walls.
The heater takes 2 to 3 hours to heat up the room so I turn it on 7-10pm and shut my bedroom door, again it depends how cold it is outside. This heater does not have any type of fan and uses 400 watts, this is why it's cheaper to use compared to 750/1500 watt heaters that uses any type of fan. It costs me about half of what the old electric heaters did heating the same room. This heater is child and pet friendly, you can touch it and you won't get burnt. I am using a wireless outlet switch ($14) to turn the heater on and off. I installed the switch next to the light switch, it looks good and turning it on and off is convenient. I couldn't be happier with my purchase..
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from VA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just Right

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This panel heater is exactly right to take the chill off of a bedroom, hallway, or any other place that isn't cozy. We use the panels everywhere, with the newest purchase going in our breezeway full of windows to keep the window seat pleasant. It installs in minutes, heats immediately, and really is much less expensive than a space heater. It does get hot to the touch, though, so children and pets must be kept away. The panels were originally purchased to help with a dust allergy, as there is neither duct nor fan, and were a great success. The simplicity might be the panel's best feature: with only an on/off switch, there are no decisions to make. GREAT PRODUCT
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, helps with dust allergy
Cons: can't be used in a bathroom
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater

Great Heater

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought two, one for a large living room in front of the house and one for the back bedroom. Neither room has heat directly run to it or insulation in the walls. The heater is all that is needed in the back bedroom which is 12x12 or so. I could use another one in the living room, which is a much larger room, maybe 15x15 which opens up into another room, but it does take the edge off for sure. I'll be putting a wood stove in the living room which will eliminate the need for the heater on very cold days anyway. They look great too, easy install.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Efficient and cost-saving

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Not too fancy, but inexpensive to use. Takes about an hour to warm up a 10 x 14 room.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>