728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Wall Heaters or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater

400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater

The original Econo-Heat 400 Watt wall panel convection heater will allow you to save up to 50% or more on your heating cost. Instead of heating an object or person, the heater uses efficient convection technology to warm an entire room up to 120 square ft.. Its ultra slim and compact design allows for discreet out-of-the way wall mounting and installs quickly and easily with the included installation hardware. Once installed, the heater can be painted to match the room decor and will operate silently and safely as there are no moving parts, no gas and no exposed heating elements. As the heater will not dry the air or burn up the oxygen in the room, you will experience warm, comfortable, efficient, safe and silent heating all season long. Come home to Econo-Heat, the warmth of a home.
Overall rating:
4.383 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(81 reviews) 81
Open Ratings Snapshot
91%of customersrecommend this product68 of 75reviews
Rating Breakdown 81 reviews
4.4 out of 5
5
(52)
4
(19)
3
(3)
2
(3)
1
(4)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
91%of customersrecommend this product68 of 75reviews
Customer reviews for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
Review 1 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from Calumet, Michigan
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Econo-Heat Wall Board Heater

PostedJanuary 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Econo-Heat 400 Watt Convection Flat Panel Space Heater with Programmable Thermostat
This unit will "Convection" heat your room. You have to leave it on in order for the air to circulate in the room! Immediate heat is not and has never been the intended purpose for this product!
I live in Upper Michigan where winters are very cold. These heaters work great! You need to follow the instructions in order for proper operation. Garage applications will not work well. An interior room of a home will work perfect. "TIP" Mount heater to interior wall, not a wall where outside temperatures are on the other side! This unit WILL draw cold air from the floor and heat it causing a natural rotation of air in the room!
You will not be disappointed! They do work! especially if you have a "cold" room and are looking to supplement your existing heat source!
Keep Warm! Summer will be back soon!
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, it works!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+39points
39out of 39found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from Eugene, OR
Gender:Female

FABULOUS!

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We have had 3 econo-heaters warming up our house for over a year now. Just as they say, they heat up a small to medium sized room by about 10 degrees. They don't produce any dust and don't make any noise! We bought a small home a year and a half ago and the only source of heat is ceiling heat in the living room . We could have spent $5,000 to put in a mini ductless heating system but instead we thought we'd try out the econo-heaters first and save up for the ductless. We have been so happy with the efficiency and heat that we decided not to bother with the heat pump!
We even had our first problem today, one of the heaters won't turn on. I called Econo-Heat and they said send me your receipt and address and we will get you a new one shipped in the next day or two. Great company, they really stand by their warranty! Definitely a great option for a small home!!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from Illinois, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

We Like It.

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
We bought this heater as a supplement heater for our bedroom. We prefer to turn the furnace down at night and just heat the bedroom. This heater is a nice alternative to a space heater sitting in the middle of the floor. We like how it attaches to the wall so it is out of the way. Plus being able to paint it so it is not very noticeable. It doesn't put out a ton of heat though so if a person wants it for the only heat source I am not sure it would be enough.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+46points
46out of 46found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from Framingham, MA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This product has great features ! We love !

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product has great features ! We love !
Very good ! Tks !
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from Lewis Center, OH
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pleasantly Surprised How Well It Works

PostedDecember 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My daughter's front room was always cold. We saw this heater advertised on sale and decided to give. It requires a minimal amount of labor to put up and even if you have limited handyman skills you should be fine. This does require you to drill four holes in your wall but they are not very big and I believe the bit was included. You mark them easily using a template on the box or the unit itself. I chose to use the unit just in case there was variations between the box and unit. It has to be mounted near the floor (6-8 inches) to be effective because of how it works. Once you drill the holes there are plastic inserts that you screw into the holes. You place the unit in front of the holes and slide plastic tapered pegs through the holes on the unit and into the plastic inserts. That's it! Took me about 10-15 minutes but I am pretty handy (built my own deck).
The unit operates quietly as there is no fan - it works by convection. As the unit heats the air it rises up and cool air below is heated and rises, etc. I was a bit skeptical about this but you can definitely feel the heat rising above the unit. The first time we used it I was concerned because it took a long time to heat up and we didn't feel any appreciable difference for some time. However, after that it has reached operating temperature quickly and warms the room noticeably in a relatively short period of time. The wall gets fairly warm to the touch (the plastic inserts are also spacers that hold it out a couple inches from the wall). The unit itself gets warm to the point of being almost too hot to touch. Instead you are able to touch it but it becomes uncomfortable enough that you remove it in a second or two. Not going to get burned by bumping into it for sure.
Now that she has this unit my daughter has the warmest room in the house (when running)!! We do leave it on all night for her and turn it off in the morning. There is no thermostat to adjust the temperature, just an on and off switch. Keep in mind that the unit is mounted low on the wall and the switch is in the lower right corner. You could in theory mount it differently but then the cord would come out the side or top? I have been thought about using one of those short remote controlled cords like one uses with Christmas lights so that you can leave the switch in the on position and just use the remote. It recommends not using extension cords though so not sure if I will or won't? We have been very pleased with this product and I would definitely recommend it. Hope this helps!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from Connecticut, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

worked for us!

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Needed extra heat in a chilly alcove during the extra cold winter months we've begun experiencing. Looked at oil-filled radiators, which are very efficient, but wanted something with a low profile that could be wall-mounted not far from an outlet (comes with 6 ft of cord). At 400 WATTS it is the equivalent of four 100W incandescent light bulbs, but produces far more heat. (Read the safety instructions such as should not be under furniture, near drapes, etc., but is safe for pets and children.)
It was easy and fairly quick to mount (only needed to cut down one of the four plastic insulated spacer mounts because our older plaster wall was not perfectly even). We did experience the "new" chemical smell, but with continuous use the smell was gone within 48 hours.
Added bonus is that you can paint this to match the wall. Simple and aesthetically pleasing, it does not draw attention to itself. This is by far the best we could find until something better comes along. And the price (before the electric bill) is superb compared to more expensive oil-filled wall mounted radiators that take up more space.
Very pleased with this simple and inexpensive solution to our short-term needs.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, Energy Efficient
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from Orange county, california
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Simple, good looking solution

PostedNovember 26, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After reading through all the reviews, I decided to purchase three of these for areas of the house that were not well heated. In particular, a couple bathrooms that had no heat. In terms of performance, they do about what I expected of convective type heaters - plug them in and leave them on. These heaters work well for a smaller room, like a bathroom. One of them developed a crack and stopped working.
I contacted the company by phone and left a message. the product manager phoned me back the same day. I explained what happened and emailed him some photos. He thought it must have been damaged in shipping and then the heating/cooling cycles made the crack larger which eventually breached the heating element. He immediately sent a warranty replacement. Great customer service.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Nice Design
+30points
30out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from Washington, Seattle
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great supplement

PostedNovember 18, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
We purchased a home a couple years ago and the basement as well as 3 bedrooms had no heaters. I know... Weird, right?
Anyhow, we bought these to be used as the primary heaters until we installed a heat pump. These work great until winter. Once we hit winter things got cold. I had to get a space heater to make up the difference. The wall heater will take the edge off but it's by no means warm. If it was 30 degrees outside, the wall heater would make it 63 in my 10x10 kid bedroom.
All in all, it's a great little unit.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater

Gets the job done

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I needed a heat source for a small bathroom with 3 outside walls. The temperature in the bathroom easily dipped into the teens in the winter time since it had no heat source. I bought this because it is efficient and it is low profile. So far, so good. It warms the room to a manageable temp but not anywhere near even 65 degrees b/c of the outside 3 walls. It also doesn't warm up the tile floor because of the nature of the heat.
It does get very hot so be careful around it with pets or kids.
Some people complain that it cracks but I haven't encountered that yet.
Installed and painted in 20 minutes..needed a second person to hold it in place while I screwed it in.
+30points
30out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater

Works Great

PostedDecember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Overall after 3 weeks with this product in early winter temps and I'm happy. I installed the unit in our large tiled bathroom and routed it through a timer that starts it 2 hours before we wake. Bathroom is easily 3-5 degrees warmer and the tile isn't as cold to walk on. I'd recommend this for any room where you want to cost effectively raise the temp a few degrees.
I have only two minor draw backs:
1. It is rather large so finding a good place to mount it low to the ground might be challenging depending on the room.
2. The mounting anchors are plastic and will not work if the location ends up being over a stud. I replaced them with nicer metal ones and it installed easily.
+27points
27out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from Sibley, Iowa
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

400-Watt wall panel convection heater

PostedDecember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This heater is very efficient. It works great as a supplemental heater in my daughter's upstairs bedroom.
It is safe for kids and pets. I have no worries with this heater. We had this same product in our other house and it worked great! We are pleased with this product! (We have three of these in our new home). Once you have one, you will wonder why you never had one before.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from Jefferson, CO.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product

PostedFebruary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The wall heater was just the right size and the mounting was very easy. The only downside was that it does not have a thermostatic control, but it stays at the ambient temp in the house. It is only 400 watt so it should not use a lot of electricity. I will have to wait to review my electric bill for next month.
I am very pleased with the unit and the color as it matches my wall and I did not have to paint it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: no thermostatic controller
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from Denver, CO, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

What a difference this heater made!

PostedDecember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My bedroom, which is in the north west corner of my 1950's brick and cinder block walled home, would never get above 55 to 58 degrees in the winter, unless I put the rest of the house at 80 degrees. With this heater, we are now comfortable around 70 to 72 degrees with only turning it on 2 or 3 hours before bed time and off before we go to sleep. No more ice cold sheets:-) I would highly recommend this to anyone with a cold room in the house. It says for a 10x10 room, but my room is 12x12, and it works well.
+34points
34out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater

Just okay

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
PROS:
easy to install
takes up no floor space
barely noticeable visually - I forget it's even there
completely silent
safe
CONS:
takes forever to heat up - more than a half hour
room becomes comfortable but it doesn't get really warm
our bathroom is 70 sq ft and so I doubt it would heat up a 120-sq ft space.
not sure it will save us money on heating costs as described
Still, I would recommend it but only if you have a very small space and are okay with the time it takes for the heat to kick in.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: takes a long time to heat up, doesn't get warm enough
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from Rome, NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

EXACTLY WHAT I NEEDED

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This heater provides gentle heat and still won't burn you.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater

wall panel heater

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
good heater, easy to install and not a space heater eye sore.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater

Not bad

PostedDecember 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Installation was easier than I thought it would be. It does get hot to the touch. I have two smaller children that love to touch and grab everything. I turn this on only at night. Seems to do well warming their rooms. I would definitely recommend this.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Does the job!

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We purchased this heater for a small sunroom (about 100 sq. ft) and it has done a good job of keeping the room comfortable, not overly warm but also not cold. This is great considering we have below freezing weather in winter and one wall of the room is basically all windows and doors.
We connected it and have left it on non-stop. I like that it keeps the room ready for use at all times at a low cost, it is silent, and it does not produce dry air. My only complaint is that it looks big. I knew the measurements but did not realize how big it wold look in the room. I am considering painting it to match the wall color. Good, solid, cost-effective product.
+18points
20out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from Dundee, Mi
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Broken when we received it.

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We bought this heater to install in one of the bedrooms in our vacation home. The heater is porcelain, and was broken when we received it. Home Depot was great about returning it, and didn't push us to order another. We decided because it was broken we would not reorder one.
Cons: Not Durable
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from Everett. Wash.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Space saving purchase for the renovation

PostedJanuary 14, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I needed something to replace the base board heater in my room. These are going to stick half the distance out from the wall;and provide a steady warmth to the space.
There is no sound at all, they can be painted to match the wall ( read suggestions before buying paint ), easy to install.
The packing foam is the drill template, drill included, you might want a level to make it square to the wall.
In the two weeks of renovations here all mt contractors have asked about them; they are going in all the bed rooms.
The 400 watt can be touched by a child with little concern, there is no heat adjustment ( on or off only ), it might look a little large on the wall but once painted it can not be noticed.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, can be painted
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>