728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater

400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater

The original Econo-Heat 400 Watt wall panel convection heater will allow you to save up to 50% or more on your heating cost. Instead of heating an object or person, the heater uses efficient convection technology to warm an entire room up to 120 square ft.. Its ultra slim and compact design allows for discreet out-of-the way wall mounting and installs quickly and easily with the included installation hardware. Once installed, the heater can be painted to match the room decor and will operate silently and safely as there are no moving parts, no gas and no exposed heating elements. As the heater will not dry the air or burn up the oxygen in the room, you will experience warm, comfortable, efficient, safe and silent heating all season long. Come home to Econo-Heat, the warmth of a home.
Overall rating:
4.31 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(87 reviews) 87
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product72 of 81reviews
Rating Breakdown 87 reviews
4.3 out of 5
5
(54)
4
(21)
3
(3)
2
(3)
1
(6)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product72 of 81reviews
Customer reviews for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
Review 1 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from Calumet, Michigan
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Econo-Heat Wall Board Heater

PostedJanuary 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Econo-Heat 400 Watt Convection Flat Panel Space Heater with Programmable Thermostat
This unit will "Convection" heat your room. You have to leave it on in order for the air to circulate in the room! Immediate heat is not and has never been the intended purpose for this product!
I live in Upper Michigan where winters are very cold. These heaters work great! You need to follow the instructions in order for proper operation. Garage applications will not work well. An interior room of a home will work perfect. "TIP" Mount heater to interior wall, not a wall where outside temperatures are on the other side! This unit WILL draw cold air from the floor and heat it causing a natural rotation of air in the room!
You will not be disappointed! They do work! especially if you have a "cold" room and are looking to supplement your existing heat source!
Keep Warm! Summer will be back soon!
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, it works!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+44points
44out of 44found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from Illinois, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

We Like It.

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
We bought this heater as a supplement heater for our bedroom. We prefer to turn the furnace down at night and just heat the bedroom. This heater is a nice alternative to a space heater sitting in the middle of the floor. We like how it attaches to the wall so it is out of the way. Plus being able to paint it so it is not very noticeable. It doesn't put out a ton of heat though so if a person wants it for the only heat source I am not sure it would be enough.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+51points
51out of 51found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from Eugene, OR
Gender:Female

FABULOUS!

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We have had 3 econo-heaters warming up our house for over a year now. Just as they say, they heat up a small to medium sized room by about 10 degrees. They don't produce any dust and don't make any noise! We bought a small home a year and a half ago and the only source of heat is ceiling heat in the living room . We could have spent $5,000 to put in a mini ductless heating system but instead we thought we'd try out the econo-heaters first and save up for the ductless. We have been so happy with the efficiency and heat that we decided not to bother with the heat pump!
We even had our first problem today, one of the heaters won't turn on. I called Econo-Heat and they said send me your receipt and address and we will get you a new one shipped in the next day or two. Great company, they really stand by their warranty! Definitely a great option for a small home!!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from Framingham, MA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This product has great features ! We love !

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product has great features ! We love !
Very good ! Tks !
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from Lewis Center, OH
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pleasantly Surprised How Well It Works

PostedDecember 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My daughter's front room was always cold. We saw this heater advertised on sale and decided to give. It requires a minimal amount of labor to put up and even if you have limited handyman skills you should be fine. This does require you to drill four holes in your wall but they are not very big and I believe the bit was included. You mark them easily using a template on the box or the unit itself. I chose to use the unit just in case there was variations between the box and unit. It has to be mounted near the floor (6-8 inches) to be effective because of how it works. Once you drill the holes there are plastic inserts that you screw into the holes. You place the unit in front of the holes and slide plastic tapered pegs through the holes on the unit and into the plastic inserts. That's it! Took me about 10-15 minutes but I am pretty handy (built my own deck).
The unit operates quietly as there is no fan - it works by convection. As the unit heats the air it rises up and cool air below is heated and rises, etc. I was a bit skeptical about this but you can definitely feel the heat rising above the unit. The first time we used it I was concerned because it took a long time to heat up and we didn't feel any appreciable difference for some time. However, after that it has reached operating temperature quickly and warms the room noticeably in a relatively short period of time. The wall gets fairly warm to the touch (the plastic inserts are also spacers that hold it out a couple inches from the wall). The unit itself gets warm to the point of being almost too hot to touch. Instead you are able to touch it but it becomes uncomfortable enough that you remove it in a second or two. Not going to get burned by bumping into it for sure.
Now that she has this unit my daughter has the warmest room in the house (when running)!! We do leave it on all night for her and turn it off in the morning. There is no thermostat to adjust the temperature, just an on and off switch. Keep in mind that the unit is mounted low on the wall and the switch is in the lower right corner. You could in theory mount it differently but then the cord would come out the side or top? I have been thought about using one of those short remote controlled cords like one uses with Christmas lights so that you can leave the switch in the on position and just use the remote. It recommends not using extension cords though so not sure if I will or won't? We have been very pleased with this product and I would definitely recommend it. Hope this helps!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from Connecticut, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

worked for us!

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Needed extra heat in a chilly alcove during the extra cold winter months we've begun experiencing. Looked at oil-filled radiators, which are very efficient, but wanted something with a low profile that could be wall-mounted not far from an outlet (comes with 6 ft of cord). At 400 WATTS it is the equivalent of four 100W incandescent light bulbs, but produces far more heat. (Read the safety instructions such as should not be under furniture, near drapes, etc., but is safe for pets and children.)
It was easy and fairly quick to mount (only needed to cut down one of the four plastic insulated spacer mounts because our older plaster wall was not perfectly even). We did experience the "new" chemical smell, but with continuous use the smell was gone within 48 hours.
Added bonus is that you can paint this to match the wall. Simple and aesthetically pleasing, it does not draw attention to itself. This is by far the best we could find until something better comes along. And the price (before the electric bill) is superb compared to more expensive oil-filled wall mounted radiators that take up more space.
Very pleased with this simple and inexpensive solution to our short-term needs.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, Energy Efficient
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater

Basic no frills and high in value.

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This is about as basic as you get. No fancy grills or readouts but wonderfully effective as an assisting or auxiliary heating panel. This is not a primary source of heat and shouldn't be considered as such. It works great to take the edge or chill off of a cooler spot in your home like the entry or bathroom. Like most heaters offs this type it can be mated with a thermostat to be automatic if needed.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from Orange county, california
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Simple, good looking solution

PostedNovember 26, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After reading through all the reviews, I decided to purchase three of these for areas of the house that were not well heated. In particular, a couple bathrooms that had no heat. In terms of performance, they do about what I expected of convective type heaters - plug them in and leave them on. These heaters work well for a smaller room, like a bathroom. One of them developed a crack and stopped working.
I contacted the company by phone and left a message. the product manager phoned me back the same day. I explained what happened and emailed him some photos. He thought it must have been damaged in shipping and then the heating/cooling cycles made the crack larger which eventually breached the heating element. He immediately sent a warranty replacement. Great customer service.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Nice Design
+31points
31out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater

Gets the job done

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I needed a heat source for a small bathroom with 3 outside walls. The temperature in the bathroom easily dipped into the teens in the winter time since it had no heat source. I bought this because it is efficient and it is low profile. So far, so good. It warms the room to a manageable temp but not anywhere near even 65 degrees b/c of the outside 3 walls. It also doesn't warm up the tile floor because of the nature of the heat.
It does get very hot so be careful around it with pets or kids.
Some people complain that it cracks but I haven't encountered that yet.
Installed and painted in 20 minutes..needed a second person to hold it in place while I screwed it in.
+31points
31out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater

Works Great

PostedDecember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Overall after 3 weeks with this product in early winter temps and I'm happy. I installed the unit in our large tiled bathroom and routed it through a timer that starts it 2 hours before we wake. Bathroom is easily 3-5 degrees warmer and the tile isn't as cold to walk on. I'd recommend this for any room where you want to cost effectively raise the temp a few degrees.
I have only two minor draw backs:
1. It is rather large so finding a good place to mount it low to the ground might be challenging depending on the room.
2. The mounting anchors are plastic and will not work if the location ends up being over a stud. I replaced them with nicer metal ones and it installed easily.
+28points
28out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from Brooklyn, NY
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Panel has cracked right in the middle

PostedMarch 16, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This manufacturer really has to take responsibility for the products it sells. One of the panels that I bough cracked in half right through the middle after barely 60 days of usage. Home depot allows returns within 60 days, but the manufacturer does not call back and is unwilling to take responsibility for the product. Overall it is very poor quality and needs substantial improvement to be usable for more than a season.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Not Durable, Not Sturdy, Cheap Material
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater

Had these 10 years. Still work great.

PostedMarch 18, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Somebody told my mom about these years 10 years ago. We bought 2 then, and 1 later. I am thinking about buying more now. They are all still working in various sized rooms. We have never painted them, but reading these reviews reminded me that we could. Glad to see they are still available.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from Denver, CO, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

What a difference this heater made!

PostedDecember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My bedroom, which is in the north west corner of my 1950's brick and cinder block walled home, would never get above 55 to 58 degrees in the winter, unless I put the rest of the house at 80 degrees. With this heater, we are now comfortable around 70 to 72 degrees with only turning it on 2 or 3 hours before bed time and off before we go to sleep. No more ice cold sheets:-) I would highly recommend this to anyone with a cold room in the house. It says for a 10x10 room, but my room is 12x12, and it works well.
+35points
35out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from Surprise AZ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cracked in first use

PostedMay 19, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
it cracked the first time I plugged it in. Surface was hot to the touch.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Does the job!

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We purchased this heater for a small sunroom (about 100 sq. ft) and it has done a good job of keeping the room comfortable, not overly warm but also not cold. This is great considering we have below freezing weather in winter and one wall of the room is basically all windows and doors.
We connected it and have left it on non-stop. I like that it keeps the room ready for use at all times at a low cost, it is silent, and it does not produce dry air. My only complaint is that it looks big. I knew the measurements but did not realize how big it wold look in the room. I am considering painting it to match the wall color. Good, solid, cost-effective product.
+19points
21out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater

Great heater

PostedMarch 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Not a fast heat up but that's not what it was designed for. Works great, really exceeded my expectations. I have 2 of them planning to buy more.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater

Great Small Room Heater

PostedApril 29, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This heater was very easy to install on the wall surface with the included mounting pattern. Just line it up, choose the correct wall anchor and use the provided anchors. I placed it in a family room bathroom which is on the lower level of our quad-level home. My brother and his wife used it during their visit and it functioned very well. Just remember to switch it on about 30 minutes before using the room and it will warm up the space.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from Jefferson, CO.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product

PostedFebruary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The wall heater was just the right size and the mounting was very easy. The only downside was that it does not have a thermostatic control, but it stays at the ambient temp in the house. It is only 400 watt so it should not use a lot of electricity. I will have to wait to review my electric bill for next month.
I am very pleased with the unit and the color as it matches my wall and I did not have to paint it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: no thermostatic controller
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from Sibley, Iowa
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

400-Watt wall panel convection heater

PostedDecember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This heater is very efficient. It works great as a supplemental heater in my daughter's upstairs bedroom.
It is safe for kids and pets. I have no worries with this heater. We had this same product in our other house and it worked great! We are pleased with this product! (We have three of these in our new home). Once you have one, you will wonder why you never had one before.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater

excellent for small spaces

PostedOctober 18, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Of all the electric heaters I have tried, this is my favorite. I first tried a couple, then bought several more. The Econo-heater uses only 400 watts, so does not trip breakers on a normal circuit. Yet it seems to heat as well as the bulky radiator-type electric heaters, and the noisy ceramic fan heaters, which will use up to 1500+ watts.
It is low profile, fitting close to the wall. It is quick and easy to install, and just plugs into a normal outlet. Plus it can be painted to match a room's decor.
It heats both by radiation and convection, and is completely quiet when operating. It is mounted low on a wall and slightly away from the wall, so as it warms up it pulls cool air up from the floor, heats it, and by natural convection the warm air begins to circulate into the room. Also, it is very warm to the touch, so you can stand next to it and really warm up. You won't want to touch it, but if you do it is not so hot it burns skin. If you mount it on a mass wall (brick, stone, adobe, even dry-wall) it will tend to heat the wall, too, over time. This stored heat in a mass material warms objects (like people) also by radiation, in addition to heating the air.
I found out that this heater - the Econo-Heater - is made in South Africa, and has had a long R&D history there. It's produced in an integrated factory, and this made me feel even better about the product. Recently I read a couple reviews about a look-alike heater called the "Eco-heater" which sounds like an inferior imitation of this product that people were unhappy with. So be sure you order the original "econo-heater".
Two caveats worth mentioning: This heater will not make up for a building with poor insulation (like mine). It has been very useful in bathrooms - but don't hang your towels on it. Also, it has no thermostat, so it must be turned on and off manually. Still, I have found it to be the most cost-effective and aesthetic solution to small room heating I have discovered.
+48points
48out of 48found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>