728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Wall Heaters or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater

400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater

The original Econo-Heat 400 Watt wall panel convection heater will allow you to save up to 50% or more on your heating cost. Instead of heating an object or person, the heater uses efficient convection technology to warm an entire room up to 120 square feet. Its ultra slim and compact design allows for discreet out-of-the way wall mounting and installs quickly and easily with the included installation hardware. Once installed, the heater can be painted to match the room decor and will operate silently and safely as there are no moving parts, no gas and no exposed heating elements. As the heater will not dry the air or burn up the oxygen in the room, you will experience warm, comfortable, efficient, safe and silent heating all season long. Come home to Econo-Heat, the warmth of a home.
Overall rating:
4.383 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(60 reviews) 60
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product48 of 54reviews
Rating Breakdown 60 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(39)
4
(14)
3
(1)
2
(3)
1
(3)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product48 of 54reviews
Customer reviews for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
Review 21 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from Toledo, OH, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect Supplemental Heat: Convection & Radiant Heat.

PostedNovember 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These panels do the trick: convection and radiant heat. I purchased a competitor's panel heaters but they only provide convection heat and they do not do as good a job and these Econoheat panels that provide both convection AND the radiant heat. The sink and toilet and even the mirror in my bathroom benefit from the radiant heat; they heat up too - just enough to notice a difference. The mirror does not fog up. And the convection process heats the air and quietly circulates around the bathroom. It's soooo much nicer than fanless panel heaters that are enclosed in protective housing that rely on stack effect and convection exclusively.
At 400 watts they use less energy that a long string of Christmas lights; in fact, less than a third of the energy of a ceramic heater. Best if left on. Don't expect instant heat but a small room will heat up noticeably by the time, e.g. you get out of the shower.
My home is an uninsulated Dutch colonial from the 1880's. These panels are a huge step forward in achieving the equivalent of "zone heating". The rest of the home can be turned down. Timers add to their effectiveness and cost savings.
Enjoy. Paint them if you like.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Quiet, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Economical
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 22 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from Alexandria, VA, USA

makes the room tolerable

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We bought this heater for an unheated addition/dog room that we have on the back of the house. This room has a doggie door, so it isn't completely sealed. We wanted a heater that would be out of the way of our dogs who sleep in the addition at night. It is hot to touch but won't burn you. Even with the doggie door letting cold in, the heater makes the room tolerable. I would think that in a small office or bedroom this heater would work very well. Overall we're very pleased.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 23 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from United States
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent for background heat - takes the chill off....

PostedDecember 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Highly recommend this product. Keeps the home cosy, without over-heating the rooms, rather taking the 'chill' out of the air from the bite of winter.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 24 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from 01730

Terrific bedroom heater. Silent, even warmth.

PostedNovember 17, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Just purchased my third unit. The two I've already got have been working to warm the bedrooms for 4 years now. These units allow me to "zone" the bedrooms and basically turn off the oil furnace for 9 hours per day. I've yet to run exact numbers, but imagine these to be saving a lot of money compared to heating the whole house 24 hours. Great product!
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 25 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from Chicago IL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I use it in a 9x12 room

PostedMarch 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
In a couple of hours heated a room to over 68 degrees with outside temperature in the 30's. This room has always been the coldest in our condo.
Installation is very easy with the tools they give you plus a Phillips screwdriver and a drill. They even supply the bit.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 26 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from Clarks Summit, PA 18411, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

my 3rd heater

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i love these heaters. i had 2 already that i love, so when the need arose for another i jumped at the chance to get the same type. very efficient! easy to mount, and blends in easily or you can contrast it with a splash of colors. whats not to love!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 27 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great space saver and safe

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have purchased these units over the years and have, for the most part, been very happy with them. They radiate sufficient heat (of course, I live in moderate climate) and are safe to the touch. Earlier panels have cracked over time as was the reason for me to purchase this unit. I am hopeful these units will last longer and not crack. Only time will tell.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 28 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from Shokan, New York
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product works well but is expensive to operate

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
I like the efficency and quality of the heater but electric is expensive where I live and when I leave the heater on full time it costs over $80.00 a month to operate.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 29 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from Denver, CO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I would buy this product again

PostedJanuary 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is the second week that I have had this heater. It not only looks great, the product does what it says.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 30 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Very good product and very fast shipping.

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Really easy to install, does the job and looks great.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Light Weight
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 31 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater

Great Heater!

PostedSeptember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Looked and compared 6 dif brands of this type of heater before I bought this one. Works great and does what it says. I wish it was a little smaller.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 32 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from Columbus, OH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

The heater is economical. Fits on a wall and out of the way of traffic.

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It's economical. Fits on the wall and out of the way of traffic. In our home, we installed it right near my husband's favorite chair so he can have an added burst of heat whenever he needs it. Our electrician recommended this type of heater and so far, it has worked like a dream.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 33 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater

Great heater

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We put this in a bedroom that we want to keep warmer than the rest of the house. It works great. I use it with a Lux plug in thermostat.
The only issue was that a small crack showed up when it first heated up. But I called the Econo-Heat company and they sent me a brand new one. They said they have had problems with damage in shipping. The box did have a big mashed spot, but I didn't think it damaged the heater. Either way, very good customer service.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 34 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater

Installed in an outside underdeck room

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this heater because of low voltage use because in the winter it will run 24 7. I built a room around my hot tub for use in the winter months but it was still a little chilly. I looked at several heat choices but felt for my application it would do the trick. It raises the temperature in the room 5 to 10 degrees. When it was twenty below it was around 30 degrees in my outside room. When it is in the 20’s it will be 45 to 50. I am satisfied with the performance.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 35 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from Clearwater, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works like a charm

PostedMay 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After reading the reviews, I was concerned that the heater might not be capable of heating my 10x14 room but my fears were misplaced.
I turn my heat low at night so the room where I spend most of my time is chilly in the mornings. I turn up the central heat in the morning when I power-on the unit. Then, when the room reaches the desired temperature, turn the central heat back down. This baby keeps the room comfortable all day. Who could ask for more?
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 36 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from Rio Rancho, NM, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

An excellent product!

PostedMarch 6, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
As advertised, a great little heater, easy to install, effective as asserted and so far worth the buy! The heater is out of the way, easy to clean and maintain and not bad looking, fits in!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 37 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater

Great product

PostedFebruary 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very easy to install works better then I was hoping it would
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Quiet, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, High Quality, Economical
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 38 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from Chicago, IL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

perfect! worth the money.

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought 2 of these last winter. Hung them on the walls and they heat 2 small rooms without the price of a gas heater or forced air or? i'm about to order another one for one other room. If i can heat the whole apartment with these, I'll really be saving some tall cash! It's like turning the oven on and leaving the door open. Get it, really. worth it!
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Quiet, Great Value, Economical, Light Weight
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 39 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from Vallejo, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Best heater for a small space

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought one and liked it so well, I ordered another.
If the space is small you don't want something else taking up room on the floor (especially if there are animals or children running around) and this one is perfect.
It takes the nip off the chill in the air and makes if bearable to be in a colder room.
The being able to paint it is just a bonus feature.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, space saving
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 40 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from Little Rock, AR, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This panel heater does keep room warmer.

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've only used the wall panel heater for a few weeks so I can't comment on utility bill savings. It does keep the room warmer and I can turn the heat down. It is hot to the touch. Stays warm long after it's been turned off.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 >>