728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater

400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater

The original Econo-Heat 400 Watt wall panel convection heater will allow you to save up to 50% or more on your heating cost. Instead of heating an object or person, the heater uses efficient convection technology to warm an entire room up to 120 square ft.. Its ultra slim and compact design allows for discreet out-of-the way wall mounting and installs quickly and easily with the included installation hardware. Once installed, the heater can be painted to match the room decor and will operate silently and safely as there are no moving parts, no gas and no exposed heating elements. As the heater will not dry the air or burn up the oxygen in the room, you will experience warm, comfortable, efficient, safe and silent heating all season long. Come home to Econo-Heat, the warmth of a home.
Overall rating:
4.318 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(88 reviews) 88
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product73 of 82reviews
Rating Breakdown 88 reviews
4.3 out of 5
5
(55)
4
(21)
3
(3)
2
(3)
1
(6)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product73 of 82reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 0 Answers
Customer reviews for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
Review 21 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from Minnesota
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great! Easy to install.

PostedMay 30, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I bought 2 of these 10 years ago for my bathrooms. They work great (still) even in larger rooms than stated. They were easy to install and are paintable. I like them so well I just bought one for my parents' bathroom. They are pleased with the safe, even heating and this one was even easier to install with the new (and very clever) bracket design.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, very safe heater
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from Sibley, Iowa
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

400-Watt wall panel convection heater

PostedDecember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This heater is very efficient. It works great as a supplemental heater in my daughter's upstairs bedroom.
It is safe for kids and pets. I have no worries with this heater. We had this same product in our other house and it worked great! We are pleased with this product! (We have three of these in our new home). Once you have one, you will wonder why you never had one before.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 23 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater

Great heater

PostedMarch 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Not a fast heat up but that's not what it was designed for. Works great, really exceeded my expectations. I have 2 of them planning to buy more.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 24 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from Washington, Seattle
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great supplement

PostedNovember 18, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
We purchased a home a couple years ago and the basement as well as 3 bedrooms had no heaters. I know... Weird, right?
Anyhow, we bought these to be used as the primary heaters until we installed a heat pump. These work great until winter. Once we hit winter things got cold. I had to get a space heater to make up the difference. The wall heater will take the edge off but it's by no means warm. If it was 30 degrees outside, the wall heater would make it 63 in my 10x10 kid bedroom.
All in all, it's a great little unit.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 25 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from Alexandria, VA, USA

makes the room tolerable

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
We bought this heater for an unheated addition/dog room that we have on the back of the house. This room has a doggie door, so it isn't completely sealed. We wanted a heater that would be out of the way of our dogs who sleep in the addition at night. It is hot to touch but won't burn you. Even with the doggie door letting cold in, the heater makes the room tolerable. I would think that in a small office or bedroom this heater would work very well. Overall we're very pleased.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 26 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from Jefferson, CO.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product

PostedFebruary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The wall heater was just the right size and the mounting was very easy. The only downside was that it does not have a thermostatic control, but it stays at the ambient temp in the house. It is only 400 watt so it should not use a lot of electricity. I will have to wait to review my electric bill for next month.
I am very pleased with the unit and the color as it matches my wall and I did not have to paint it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: no thermostatic controller
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 27 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater

Not bad

PostedDecember 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Installation was easier than I thought it would be. It does get hot to the touch. I have two smaller children that love to touch and grab everything. I turn this on only at night. Seems to do well warming their rooms. I would definitely recommend this.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 28 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater

Great Heater

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought two, one for a large living room in front of the house and one for the back bedroom. Neither room has heat directly run to it or insulation in the walls. The heater is all that is needed in the back bedroom which is 12x12 or so. I could use another one in the living room, which is a much larger room, maybe 15x15 which opens up into another room, but it does take the edge off for sure. I'll be putting a wood stove in the living room which will eliminate the need for the heater on very cold days anyway. They look great too, easy install.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 29 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Efficient and cost-saving

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Not too fancy, but inexpensive to use. Takes about an hour to warm up a 10 x 14 room.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 30 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from Surprise AZ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cracked in first use

PostedMay 19, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
it cracked the first time I plugged it in. Surface was hot to the touch.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from 01730

Terrific bedroom heater. Silent, even warmth.

PostedNovember 17, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Just purchased my third unit. The two I've already got have been working to warm the bedrooms for 4 years now. These units allow me to "zone" the bedrooms and basically turn off the oil furnace for 9 hours per day. I've yet to run exact numbers, but imagine these to be saving a lot of money compared to heating the whole house 24 hours. Great product!
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 32 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater

Great Small Room Heater

PostedApril 29, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This heater was very easy to install on the wall surface with the included mounting pattern. Just line it up, choose the correct wall anchor and use the provided anchors. I placed it in a family room bathroom which is on the lower level of our quad-level home. My brother and his wife used it during their visit and it functioned very well. Just remember to switch it on about 30 minutes before using the room and it will warm up the space.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from United States
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent for background heat - takes the chill off....

PostedDecember 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Highly recommend this product. Keeps the home cosy, without over-heating the rooms, rather taking the 'chill' out of the air from the bite of winter.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 34 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from Toledo, OH, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect Supplemental Heat: Convection & Radiant Heat.

PostedNovember 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
These panels do the trick: convection and radiant heat. I purchased a competitor's panel heaters but they only provide convection heat and they do not do as good a job and these Econoheat panels that provide both convection AND the radiant heat. The sink and toilet and even the mirror in my bathroom benefit from the radiant heat; they heat up too - just enough to notice a difference. The mirror does not fog up. And the convection process heats the air and quietly circulates around the bathroom. It's soooo much nicer than fanless panel heaters that are enclosed in protective housing that rely on stack effect and convection exclusively.
At 400 watts they use less energy that a long string of Christmas lights; in fact, less than a third of the energy of a ceramic heater. Best if left on. Don't expect instant heat but a small room will heat up noticeably by the time, e.g. you get out of the shower.
My home is an uninsulated Dutch colonial from the 1880's. These panels are a huge step forward in achieving the equivalent of "zone heating". The rest of the home can be turned down. Timers add to their effectiveness and cost savings.
Enjoy. Paint them if you like.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Quiet, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Economical
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 35 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from Clarks Summit, PA 18411, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

my 3rd heater

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
i love these heaters. i had 2 already that i love, so when the need arose for another i jumped at the chance to get the same type. very efficient! easy to mount, and blends in easily or you can contrast it with a splash of colors. whats not to love!
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 36 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from Souther Delaware
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect heating unit with very low power consumption

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought this unit to take the chill out of the finished, insulated but not conditioned basement and was very pleased with the results. Area is more than 3 times the heater is intended for, yet it raised the temperature by 3 degrees. Would recommend this unit to anyone looking to boost cooler areas at a very small electrical usage.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 37 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product has been a life saver with the bitter cold weather we have had this year.

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased three wall panel heaters hoping that they would help cut down the chill in three rooms that are extremely cold in my 100 year old house. Two of the rooms are bedrooms that are exposed on three sides to the outside, the other room is an all glass sunporch which also has exposure on three sides of the room.
The difference in the temperature of the rooms now makes them livable and very comfortable. I also love the fact that the wall panels can be painted so that they blend in nicely with the room.
I highly recommend this product to anyone who needs the extra warmth in a room and does not like the dryness that a space heater causes to the room and to the skin.
The difference in the bedrooms has been unbelievable. The rooms are nice and toasty warm without being too hot or dry. Just right for a good nights sleep. I am thrilled with the difference in the sunroom. It is comfortable enough even with the bitter cold weather that we have experience this year to sit out in the sunroom and watch TV comfortably.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 38 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great space saver and safe

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have purchased these units over the years and have, for the most part, been very happy with them. They radiate sufficient heat (of course, I live in moderate climate) and are safe to the touch. Earlier panels have cracked over time as was the reason for me to purchase this unit. I am hopeful these units will last longer and not crack. Only time will tell.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 39 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from Shokan, New York
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product works well but is expensive to operate

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
I like the efficency and quality of the heater but electric is expensive where I live and when I leave the heater on full time it costs over $80.00 a month to operate.
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 40 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from Denver, CO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I would buy this product again

PostedJanuary 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This is the second week that I have had this heater. It not only looks great, the product does what it says.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5 >>