728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Wall Heaters or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater

400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater

The original Econo-Heat 400 Watt wall panel convection heater will allow you to save up to 50% or more on your heating cost. Instead of heating an object or person, the heater uses efficient convection technology to warm an entire room up to 120 square ft.. Its ultra slim and compact design allows for discreet out-of-the way wall mounting and installs quickly and easily with the included installation hardware. Once installed, the heater can be painted to match the room decor and will operate silently and safely as there are no moving parts, no gas and no exposed heating elements. As the heater will not dry the air or burn up the oxygen in the room, you will experience warm, comfortable, efficient, safe and silent heating all season long. Come home to Econo-Heat, the warmth of a home.
Overall rating:
4.375 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(80 reviews) 80
Open Ratings Snapshot
91%of customersrecommend this product67 of 74reviews
Rating Breakdown 80 reviews
4.4 out of 5
5
(51)
4
(19)
3
(3)
2
(3)
1
(4)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
91%of customersrecommend this product67 of 74reviews
Customer reviews for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
Review 21 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from malvern, PA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

400 Watt Panel Convection Heater

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to install - great performance. This is the second one I've purchased
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from Arvada, Colorado
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I am using this in my patio that is just has plastic over the screens. It keeps the are at 40 or warmer depending ont he outside temp so I can keep my plants in there over the winter. Uses very little energy.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater

excellent for small spaces

PostedOctober 18, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Of all the electric heaters I have tried, this is my favorite. I first tried a couple, then bought several more. The Econo-heater uses only 400 watts, so does not trip breakers on a normal circuit. Yet it seems to heat as well as the bulky radiator-type electric heaters, and the noisy ceramic fan heaters, which will use up to 1500+ watts.
It is low profile, fitting close to the wall. It is quick and easy to install, and just plugs into a normal outlet. Plus it can be painted to match a room's decor.
It heats both by radiation and convection, and is completely quiet when operating. It is mounted low on a wall and slightly away from the wall, so as it warms up it pulls cool air up from the floor, heats it, and by natural convection the warm air begins to circulate into the room. Also, it is very warm to the touch, so you can stand next to it and really warm up. You won't want to touch it, but if you do it is not so hot it burns skin. If you mount it on a mass wall (brick, stone, adobe, even dry-wall) it will tend to heat the wall, too, over time. This stored heat in a mass material warms objects (like people) also by radiation, in addition to heating the air.
I found out that this heater - the Econo-Heater - is made in South Africa, and has had a long R&D history there. It's produced in an integrated factory, and this made me feel even better about the product. Recently I read a couple reviews about a look-alike heater called the "Eco-heater" which sounds like an inferior imitation of this product that people were unhappy with. So be sure you order the original "econo-heater".
Two caveats worth mentioning: This heater will not make up for a building with poor insulation (like mine). It has been very useful in bathrooms - but don't hang your towels on it. Also, it has no thermostat, so it must be turned on and off manually. Still, I have found it to be the most cost-effective and aesthetic solution to small room heating I have discovered.
+47points
47out of 47found this review helpful.
Review 24 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from Belmont, MA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So far it works....

PostedOctober 12, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Bought one to keep the baby room nice and cozy, but so far we only had to use it a few times yet so it maybe too early to comment on quality/value. The panel was safely packed when it arrived and looked intact coming out of the box. Installation is not difficult but may require two people to asure proper level hanging. The drill size they recommend for pre-drilling is a bit on the tight side for the dry-wall screws and you may need to use one size larger to not destroy the drywall.
Once installed and turned on the panel gets hot to the touch fairly quickly, but not enough to burn you. It certainly manages to keep the baby room at a cozy 73-74 F, allowing me to turn the heat in the rest of the house lower.
+19points
20out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 25 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from El Cajon, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect under desk in small office

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This heater is exactly what I needed to keep my small (8' x 8') office comfortable without having to heat the whole house. It's not the kind of thing you can turn on and have toasty feet right away. It works slowly. Turn it on in the morning, and turn it off when you're done for the day (or are warm enough).
I love that it's silent and doesn't blow dust around (no fan). I can be on conference calls and not have to deal with noise (unlike my AC unit). I also appreciate that it's safer and uses less power (400W) than the little glowing box kind (1200-1600W). If I or one of our cats touches it, it's not a problem. It does get hot - you would not want to leave your hand on it for long - but you can touch it without getting burned.
Reviews on similar products from another manufacturer mentioned odors, which would have been a definite deal-killer. This heater doesn't give off any odor. I have not painted it - I would think warm paint might smell.
A small detail, but handy for the way I'm using it (against a wall under my desk): The switch (rocker, lighted so you can see that it's on) is easy to reach and big enough that I can just flip it on/off with my toe, so I don't have to crawl under the desk each time. If you have to put it in an inconvenient spot you might want to get a thermostatically controlled outlet thingy to plug it into. Also, because it's silent and subtle, it's easy to forget it's on. Putting it on a timer might be a good idea (one rated for appliances) if you find yourself forgetting to shut it off.
I am in southern California, so when the rest of my house is "chilly" it's about 60F. This heater works great for keeping my little office warm in that case. If you're in a seriously cold area it might not be enough.
My little office is next to a small (10' x 11') den/guest room. When I slept in there one night I turned the heater on, aimed a small fan at it on low to circulate the air, and it took the chill off the whole space pretty well. I think if I'd turned it on a few hours ahead of time it would have been even better.
I don't write a lot of reviews, but had to for this heater. I hadn't even heard of panel heaters until I went searching. I've since told a few of my friends about it. It's the perfect thing for my application. I've had it for about a month, and am very happy with it.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Nice Design, easy to tell if it's on or off, easy to turn on/off, perfect for small space, warm not hot, takes no floor space, silent, doesn't stir up dust, simple
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater

most econimical heater

PostedDecember 31, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
was most impressed by the ease to install and how well it heats my Mom's 11 x 12 room. The heater runs on 4 watts so is very economical compared to the 1100 to 1500 watt heaters we have used in the past
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Nice Design
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 27 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater

Excellent product

PostedOctober 24, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I live in Northern NH and have used these heaters for about 4 years. Great for a bathroom or if you want to add several you can heat a larger room. Cheap to operate, each heater will run about 10 to 15 bucks a month to operate. I painted mine and you can hardly see them. Nobody believes they are heaters until they feel the warm glow they emit.......excellent product !
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 28 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater

Just what I needed

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I installed these as supplemental heat in three rooms in my house. They were easy to install and work great. I wired them each into a their own thermostat so I can actually control them. Comfortable heat for a reasonable price.
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 29 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater

Just okay

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
PROS:
easy to install
takes up no floor space
barely noticeable visually - I forget it's even there
completely silent
safe
CONS:
takes forever to heat up - more than a half hour
room becomes comfortable but it doesn't get really warm
our bathroom is 70 sq ft and so I doubt it would heat up a 120-sq ft space.
not sure it will save us money on heating costs as described
Still, I would recommend it but only if you have a very small space and are okay with the time it takes for the heat to kick in.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: takes a long time to heat up, doesn't get warm enough
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 30 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from Syracuse, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Safe and inexpensive way to heat a room.

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I ordered this 400 watt heater from Home Depot on Sunday night and it was delivered on Tuesday afternoon in perfect condition with free shipping.. 48 hours very impressive..
The heater works great in my 12'x14' bedroom that is over a unheated garage. It keeps the room about 6 to 9 degrees warmer(with the bedroom door shut) than the rest of the house when the main thermostat is on 62. Depends on the outside temp and how windy it is.
The heat is not a dry heat like the 3 electric heaters I used in the past, plus it takes zero floor space in my crowded room. It screws to the wall and looks nice after I painted it the same color as the walls.
The heater takes 2 to 3 hours to heat up the room so I turn it on 7-10pm and shut my bedroom door, again it depends how cold it is outside. This heater does not have any type of fan and uses 400 watts, this is why it's cheaper to use compared to 750/1500 watt heaters that uses any type of fan. It costs me about half of what the old electric heaters did heating the same room. This heater is child and pet friendly, you can touch it and you won't get burnt. I am using a wireless outlet switch ($14) to turn the heater on and off. I installed the switch next to the light switch, it looks good and turning it on and off is convenient. I couldn't be happier with my purchase..
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 31 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from Draper, Utah
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love it

PostedOctober 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have tried several heaters in my basement and this was worth every penny. It took about 10 minutes to install and works great.
The only downfall was that it said the front does not get too hot but it does. It did not cause a burn but it is really hot. I have a 2 year old and she felt the need to touch it and she flipped out because it was really hot. She walks clear around the room to avoid it now so I don't think it is a mistake she will make twice.
The plus is that it heats a really big family room. We turned it on and after about 45 minutes they had to turn it off because everyone was sweating to death. My family room is double the size of room that the heater says it will heat and it raised the temp by about 8 degrees in less than an hour. I also put these in two bedrooms and it works really well.
The price was more money than other heaters but I think it is worth it compared to the price of calling out a professional to the house. I spent $300 on 3 of them and now our basement is the warmest place in the house.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 32 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater

great

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I work in a shop and this is a great heater for under my desk against the cold cement floor
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from Asheville, NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I'm WARM again!

PostedDecember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The wall panel convection heater was super easy to mount on the wall and works fabulously! The air circulates across and behind the panel resulting in a slow, steady, even heat in the room. This is only intended as an auxiliary heater as the main gas heater is in the living room. The quality is very good and the value exceeded my expectations. AWESOME!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product has been a life saver with the bitter cold weather we have had this year.

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased three wall panel heaters hoping that they would help cut down the chill in three rooms that are extremely cold in my 100 year old house. Two of the rooms are bedrooms that are exposed on three sides to the outside, the other room is an all glass sunporch which also has exposure on three sides of the room.
The difference in the temperature of the rooms now makes them livable and very comfortable. I also love the fact that the wall panels can be painted so that they blend in nicely with the room.
I highly recommend this product to anyone who needs the extra warmth in a room and does not like the dryness that a space heater causes to the room and to the skin.
The difference in the bedrooms has been unbelievable. The rooms are nice and toasty warm without being too hot or dry. Just right for a good nights sleep. I am thrilled with the difference in the sunroom. It is comfortable enough even with the bitter cold weather that we have experience this year to sit out in the sunroom and watch TV comfortably.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 35 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from Souther Delaware
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect heating unit with very low power consumption

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought this unit to take the chill out of the finished, insulated but not conditioned basement and was very pleased with the results. Area is more than 3 times the heater is intended for, yet it raised the temperature by 3 degrees. Would recommend this unit to anyone looking to boost cooler areas at a very small electrical usage.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 36 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from Alexandria, VA, USA

makes the room tolerable

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
We bought this heater for an unheated addition/dog room that we have on the back of the house. This room has a doggie door, so it isn't completely sealed. We wanted a heater that would be out of the way of our dogs who sleep in the addition at night. It is hot to touch but won't burn you. Even with the doggie door letting cold in, the heater makes the room tolerable. I would think that in a small office or bedroom this heater would work very well. Overall we're very pleased.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 37 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater

Great Heater

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought two, one for a large living room in front of the house and one for the back bedroom. Neither room has heat directly run to it or insulation in the walls. The heater is all that is needed in the back bedroom which is 12x12 or so. I could use another one in the living room, which is a much larger room, maybe 15x15 which opens up into another room, but it does take the edge off for sure. I'll be putting a wood stove in the living room which will eliminate the need for the heater on very cold days anyway. They look great too, easy install.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 38 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Efficient and cost-saving

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Not too fancy, but inexpensive to use. Takes about an hour to warm up a 10 x 14 room.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 39 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from 01730

Terrific bedroom heater. Silent, even warmth.

PostedNovember 17, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Just purchased my third unit. The two I've already got have been working to warm the bedrooms for 4 years now. These units allow me to "zone" the bedrooms and basically turn off the oil furnace for 9 hours per day. I've yet to run exact numbers, but imagine these to be saving a lot of money compared to heating the whole house 24 hours. Great product!
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 40 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from Toledo, OH, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect Supplemental Heat: Convection & Radiant Heat.

PostedNovember 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
These panels do the trick: convection and radiant heat. I purchased a competitor's panel heaters but they only provide convection heat and they do not do as good a job and these Econoheat panels that provide both convection AND the radiant heat. The sink and toilet and even the mirror in my bathroom benefit from the radiant heat; they heat up too - just enough to notice a difference. The mirror does not fog up. And the convection process heats the air and quietly circulates around the bathroom. It's soooo much nicer than fanless panel heaters that are enclosed in protective housing that rely on stack effect and convection exclusively.
At 400 watts they use less energy that a long string of Christmas lights; in fact, less than a third of the energy of a ceramic heater. Best if left on. Don't expect instant heat but a small room will heat up noticeably by the time, e.g. you get out of the shower.
My home is an uninsulated Dutch colonial from the 1880's. These panels are a huge step forward in achieving the equivalent of "zone heating". The rest of the home can be turned down. Timers add to their effectiveness and cost savings.
Enjoy. Paint them if you like.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Quiet, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Economical
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 >>