728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Wall Heaters or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater

400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater

The original Econo-Heat 400 Watt wall panel convection heater will allow you to save up to 50% or more on your heating cost. Instead of heating an object or person, the heater uses efficient convection technology to warm an entire room up to 120 square feet. Its ultra slim and compact design allows for discreet out-of-the way wall mounting and installs quickly and easily with the included installation hardware. Once installed, the heater can be painted to match the room decor and will operate silently and safely as there are no moving parts, no gas and no exposed heating elements. As the heater will not dry the air or burn up the oxygen in the room, you will experience warm, comfortable, efficient, safe and silent heating all season long. Come home to Econo-Heat, the warmth of a home.
Overall rating:
4.39 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(59 reviews) 59
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product47 of 53reviews
Rating Breakdown 59 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(39)
4
(13)
3
(1)
2
(3)
1
(3)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product47 of 53reviews
Customer reviews for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
Review 21 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
fokkerflyer

Excellent product

PostedOctober 24, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I live in Northern NH and have used these heaters for about 4 years. Great for a bathroom or if you want to add several you can heat a larger room. Cheap to operate, each heater will run about 10 to 15 bucks a month to operate. I painted mine and you can hardly see them. Nobody believes they are heaters until they feel the warm glow they emit.......excellent product !
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 22 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
Ancient1one
from Syracuse, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Safe and inexpensive way to heat a room.

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I ordered this 400 watt heater from Home Depot on Sunday night and it was delivered on Tuesday afternoon in perfect condition with free shipping.. 48 hours very impressive..
The heater works great in my 12'x14' bedroom that is over a unheated garage. It keeps the room about 6 to 9 degrees warmer(with the bedroom door shut) than the rest of the house when the main thermostat is on 62. Depends on the outside temp and how windy it is.
The heat is not a dry heat like the 3 electric heaters I used in the past, plus it takes zero floor space in my crowded room. It screws to the wall and looks nice after I painted it the same color as the walls.
The heater takes 2 to 3 hours to heat up the room so I turn it on 7-10pm and shut my bedroom door, again it depends how cold it is outside. This heater does not have any type of fan and uses 400 watts, this is why it's cheaper to use compared to 750/1500 watt heaters that uses any type of fan. It costs me about half of what the old electric heaters did heating the same room. This heater is child and pet friendly, you can touch it and you won't get burnt. I am using a wireless outlet switch ($14) to turn the heater on and off. I installed the switch next to the light switch, it looks good and turning it on and off is convenient. I couldn't be happier with my purchase..
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 23 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
JonH
from Vermont, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fine for small rooms

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We bought this unit to supplement the heat in our kitchen, understanding that the specs clearly said it wouldn't handle a room that large. They are correct! I does a wonderful job of providing heat to a small area. It would be perfect in a small bathroom. Don't expect it to throw a ton of heat. It really isn't helping the kitchen (unless you stand next to it!), so we'll be moving it to another room and patching the drywall.
My one major gripe (as stated by others) is that the wall mounts make no provision for mounting to a stud. It expects you to use the open spaces between studs. So, be careful and make sure you miss the studs or you'll be fighting with it or moving.
It is a nice unit and works well within the expected room size (10x12).
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Nice Design
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 24 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
Mick
from Toronto Canada
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Worst Purchase

PostedDecember 1, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Great looking product but does not heat up a room. I was very disappointed. Canadian winters are harsher than that of South Africa or warmer southern parts of Europe.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
Cons: does not heat up a room
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 25 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
BronsonPlace
from Toledo, OH, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect Supplemental Heat: Convection & Radiant Heat.

PostedNovember 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These panels do the trick: convection and radiant heat. I purchased a competitor's panel heaters but they only provide convection heat and they do not do as good a job and these Econoheat panels that provide both convection AND the radiant heat. The sink and toilet and even the mirror in my bathroom benefit from the radiant heat; they heat up too - just enough to notice a difference. The mirror does not fog up. And the convection process heats the air and quietly circulates around the bathroom. It's soooo much nicer than fanless panel heaters that are enclosed in protective housing that rely on stack effect and convection exclusively.
At 400 watts they use less energy that a long string of Christmas lights; in fact, less than a third of the energy of a ceramic heater. Best if left on. Don't expect instant heat but a small room will heat up noticeably by the time, e.g. you get out of the shower.
My home is an uninsulated Dutch colonial from the 1880's. These panels are a huge step forward in achieving the equivalent of "zone heating". The rest of the home can be turned down. Timers add to their effectiveness and cost savings.
Enjoy. Paint them if you like.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Quiet, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Economical
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 26 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
JohnTheConqueror
from Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Efficient and cost-saving

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Not too fancy, but inexpensive to use. Takes about an hour to warm up a 10 x 14 room.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 27 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
Cloudaround

Great Heater

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought two, one for a large living room in front of the house and one for the back bedroom. Neither room has heat directly run to it or insulation in the walls. The heater is all that is needed in the back bedroom which is 12x12 or so. I could use another one in the living room, which is a much larger room, maybe 15x15 which opens up into another room, but it does take the edge off for sure. I'll be putting a wood stove in the living room which will eliminate the need for the heater on very cold days anyway. They look great too, easy install.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 28 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
VitamanC

Great heater

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We put this in a bedroom that we want to keep warmer than the rest of the house. It works great. I use it with a Lux plug in thermostat.
The only issue was that a small crack showed up when it first heated up. But I called the Econo-Heat company and they sent me a brand new one. They said they have had problems with damage in shipping. The box did have a big mashed spot, but I didn't think it damaged the heater. Either way, very good customer service.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
ritodcin03
from Alexandria, VA, USA

makes the room tolerable

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We bought this heater for an unheated addition/dog room that we have on the back of the house. This room has a doggie door, so it isn't completely sealed. We wanted a heater that would be out of the way of our dogs who sleep in the addition at night. It is hot to touch but won't burn you. Even with the doggie door letting cold in, the heater makes the room tolerable. I would think that in a small office or bedroom this heater would work very well. Overall we're very pleased.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 30 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
Pete
from United States
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent for background heat - takes the chill off....

PostedDecember 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Highly recommend this product. Keeps the home cosy, without over-heating the rooms, rather taking the 'chill' out of the air from the bite of winter.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 31 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
Anonymous
from 01730

Terrific bedroom heater. Silent, even warmth.

PostedNovember 17, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Just purchased my third unit. The two I've already got have been working to warm the bedrooms for 4 years now. These units allow me to "zone" the bedrooms and basically turn off the oil furnace for 9 hours per day. I've yet to run exact numbers, but imagine these to be saving a lot of money compared to heating the whole house 24 hours. Great product!
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 32 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
bgriffin43
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Very good product and very fast shipping.

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Really easy to install, does the job and looks great.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Light Weight
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 33 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
vbvicg
from Clarks Summit, PA 18411, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

my 3rd heater

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i love these heaters. i had 2 already that i love, so when the need arose for another i jumped at the chance to get the same type. very efficient! easy to mount, and blends in easily or you can contrast it with a splash of colors. whats not to love!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 34 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
LAMaddog
from Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great space saver and safe

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have purchased these units over the years and have, for the most part, been very happy with them. They radiate sufficient heat (of course, I live in moderate climate) and are safe to the touch. Earlier panels have cracked over time as was the reason for me to purchase this unit. I am hopeful these units will last longer and not crack. Only time will tell.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 35 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
Mx328

Great product

PostedFebruary 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very easy to install works better then I was hoping it would
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Quiet, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, High Quality, Economical
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 36 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
Shelly
from Denver, CO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I would buy this product again

PostedJanuary 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is the second week that I have had this heater. It not only looks great, the product does what it says.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 37 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
Barbee
from Chicago, IL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

perfect! worth the money.

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought 2 of these last winter. Hung them on the walls and they heat 2 small rooms without the price of a gas heater or forced air or? i'm about to order another one for one other room. If i can heat the whole apartment with these, I'll really be saving some tall cash! It's like turning the oven on and leaving the door open. Get it, really. worth it!
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Quiet, Great Value, Economical, Light Weight
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 38 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
DCN60048
from Libertyville, IL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Very effective, out-of-the-way, easy to install, and very much worth what we paid for.

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This unit is perfect for colder rooms which are normally heated with temporary floor heaters. Eliminates the need to bring down temporary heaters from the attic, and run wires all over the room. Low-profile, easy to look at (and you can paint it). Also very easy to install. Highly recommend this unit.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
twocrows
from Clearwater, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works like a charm

PostedMay 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After reading the reviews, I was concerned that the heater might not be capable of heating my 10x14 room but my fears were misplaced.
I turn my heat low at night so the room where I spend most of my time is chilly in the mornings. I turn up the central heat in the morning when I power-on the unit. Then, when the room reaches the desired temperature, turn the central heat back down. This baby keeps the room comfortable all day. Who could ask for more?
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 40 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
PeoplesChoice

Great Heater!

PostedSeptember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Looked and compared 6 dif brands of this type of heater before I bought this one. Works great and does what it says. I wish it was a little smaller.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 >>