728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater

400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater

The original Econo-Heat 400 Watt wall panel convection heater will allow you to save up to 50% or more on your heating cost. Instead of heating an object or person, the heater uses efficient convection technology to warm an entire room up to 120 square ft.. Its ultra slim and compact design allows for discreet out-of-the way wall mounting and installs quickly and easily with the included installation hardware. Once installed, the heater can be painted to match the room decor and will operate silently and safely as there are no moving parts, no gas and no exposed heating elements. As the heater will not dry the air or burn up the oxygen in the room, you will experience warm, comfortable, efficient, safe and silent heating all season long. Come home to Econo-Heat, the warmth of a home.
Overall rating:
4.353 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(85 reviews) 85
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product71 of 79reviews
Rating Breakdown 85 reviews
4.4 out of 5
5
(54)
4
(20)
3
(3)
2
(3)
1
(5)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product71 of 79reviews
Customer reviews for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
Review 21 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater

excellent for small spaces

PostedOctober 18, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Of all the electric heaters I have tried, this is my favorite. I first tried a couple, then bought several more. The Econo-heater uses only 400 watts, so does not trip breakers on a normal circuit. Yet it seems to heat as well as the bulky radiator-type electric heaters, and the noisy ceramic fan heaters, which will use up to 1500+ watts.
It is low profile, fitting close to the wall. It is quick and easy to install, and just plugs into a normal outlet. Plus it can be painted to match a room's decor.
It heats both by radiation and convection, and is completely quiet when operating. It is mounted low on a wall and slightly away from the wall, so as it warms up it pulls cool air up from the floor, heats it, and by natural convection the warm air begins to circulate into the room. Also, it is very warm to the touch, so you can stand next to it and really warm up. You won't want to touch it, but if you do it is not so hot it burns skin. If you mount it on a mass wall (brick, stone, adobe, even dry-wall) it will tend to heat the wall, too, over time. This stored heat in a mass material warms objects (like people) also by radiation, in addition to heating the air.
I found out that this heater - the Econo-Heater - is made in South Africa, and has had a long R&D history there. It's produced in an integrated factory, and this made me feel even better about the product. Recently I read a couple reviews about a look-alike heater called the "Eco-heater" which sounds like an inferior imitation of this product that people were unhappy with. So be sure you order the original "econo-heater".
Two caveats worth mentioning: This heater will not make up for a building with poor insulation (like mine). It has been very useful in bathrooms - but don't hang your towels on it. Also, it has no thermostat, so it must be turned on and off manually. Still, I have found it to be the most cost-effective and aesthetic solution to small room heating I have discovered.
+48points
48out of 48found this review helpful.
Review 22 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from Belmont, MA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So far it works....

PostedOctober 12, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Bought one to keep the baby room nice and cozy, but so far we only had to use it a few times yet so it maybe too early to comment on quality/value. The panel was safely packed when it arrived and looked intact coming out of the box. Installation is not difficult but may require two people to asure proper level hanging. The drill size they recommend for pre-drilling is a bit on the tight side for the dry-wall screws and you may need to use one size larger to not destroy the drywall.
Once installed and turned on the panel gets hot to the touch fairly quickly, but not enough to burn you. It certainly manages to keep the baby room at a cozy 73-74 F, allowing me to turn the heat in the rest of the house lower.
+20points
21out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 23 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater

Excellent product

PostedOctober 24, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I live in Northern NH and have used these heaters for about 4 years. Great for a bathroom or if you want to add several you can heat a larger room. Cheap to operate, each heater will run about 10 to 15 bucks a month to operate. I painted mine and you can hardly see them. Nobody believes they are heaters until they feel the warm glow they emit.......excellent product !
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 24 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater

Just what I needed

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I installed these as supplemental heat in three rooms in my house. They were easy to install and work great. I wired them each into a their own thermostat so I can actually control them. Comfortable heat for a reasonable price.
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 25 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from Syracuse, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Safe and inexpensive way to heat a room.

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I ordered this 400 watt heater from Home Depot on Sunday night and it was delivered on Tuesday afternoon in perfect condition with free shipping.. 48 hours very impressive..
The heater works great in my 12'x14' bedroom that is over a unheated garage. It keeps the room about 6 to 9 degrees warmer(with the bedroom door shut) than the rest of the house when the main thermostat is on 62. Depends on the outside temp and how windy it is.
The heat is not a dry heat like the 3 electric heaters I used in the past, plus it takes zero floor space in my crowded room. It screws to the wall and looks nice after I painted it the same color as the walls.
The heater takes 2 to 3 hours to heat up the room so I turn it on 7-10pm and shut my bedroom door, again it depends how cold it is outside. This heater does not have any type of fan and uses 400 watts, this is why it's cheaper to use compared to 750/1500 watt heaters that uses any type of fan. It costs me about half of what the old electric heaters did heating the same room. This heater is child and pet friendly, you can touch it and you won't get burnt. I am using a wireless outlet switch ($14) to turn the heater on and off. I installed the switch next to the light switch, it looks good and turning it on and off is convenient. I couldn't be happier with my purchase..
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 26 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from Everett. Wash.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Space saving purchase for the renovation

PostedJanuary 14, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I needed something to replace the base board heater in my room. These are going to stick half the distance out from the wall;and provide a steady warmth to the space.
There is no sound at all, they can be painted to match the wall ( read suggestions before buying paint ), easy to install.
The packing foam is the drill template, drill included, you might want a level to make it square to the wall.
In the two weeks of renovations here all mt contractors have asked about them; they are going in all the bed rooms.
The 400 watt can be touched by a child with little concern, there is no heat adjustment ( on or off only ), it might look a little large on the wall but once painted it can not be noticed.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, can be painted
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from Rome, NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

EXACTLY WHAT I NEEDED

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This heater provides gentle heat and still won't burn you.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater

wall panel heater

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
good heater, easy to install and not a space heater eye sore.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from Newark, DE
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does a nice job

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have a laundry room on an outside wall. Last year we had long stretches of really low temps and my pipes froze twice. I purchased this heater to try to keep that room at a warmer temperature to avoid the pipes freezing again. I found the heater very easy to install. We've had some cold weather, so I turn it on whenever I'm in the house and it keeps the room really toasty. I think it's the warmest room in my house now! I haven't received an electric bill since I've started using it, so I can't comment on what effect it's had on that cost. Overall, I think it was a good investment.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from Dundee, Mi
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Broken when we received it.

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We bought this heater to install in one of the bedrooms in our vacation home. The heater is porcelain, and was broken when we received it. Home Depot was great about returning it, and didn't push us to order another. We decided because it was broken we would not reorder one.
Cons: Not Durable
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 31 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from Alexandria, VA, USA

makes the room tolerable

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
We bought this heater for an unheated addition/dog room that we have on the back of the house. This room has a doggie door, so it isn't completely sealed. We wanted a heater that would be out of the way of our dogs who sleep in the addition at night. It is hot to touch but won't burn you. Even with the doggie door letting cold in, the heater makes the room tolerable. I would think that in a small office or bedroom this heater would work very well. Overall we're very pleased.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 32 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater

Great Heater

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought two, one for a large living room in front of the house and one for the back bedroom. Neither room has heat directly run to it or insulation in the walls. The heater is all that is needed in the back bedroom which is 12x12 or so. I could use another one in the living room, which is a much larger room, maybe 15x15 which opens up into another room, but it does take the edge off for sure. I'll be putting a wood stove in the living room which will eliminate the need for the heater on very cold days anyway. They look great too, easy install.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 33 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Efficient and cost-saving

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Not too fancy, but inexpensive to use. Takes about an hour to warm up a 10 x 14 room.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 34 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from Palmer, Alaska

Great heater

PostedFebruary 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great heater. Works great in my infant's room, and very economical. After a few months it developed a small crack but the company responded with great customer service.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from 01730

Terrific bedroom heater. Silent, even warmth.

PostedNovember 17, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Just purchased my third unit. The two I've already got have been working to warm the bedrooms for 4 years now. These units allow me to "zone" the bedrooms and basically turn off the oil furnace for 9 hours per day. I've yet to run exact numbers, but imagine these to be saving a lot of money compared to heating the whole house 24 hours. Great product!
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 36 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product has been a life saver with the bitter cold weather we have had this year.

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased three wall panel heaters hoping that they would help cut down the chill in three rooms that are extremely cold in my 100 year old house. Two of the rooms are bedrooms that are exposed on three sides to the outside, the other room is an all glass sunporch which also has exposure on three sides of the room.
The difference in the temperature of the rooms now makes them livable and very comfortable. I also love the fact that the wall panels can be painted so that they blend in nicely with the room.
I highly recommend this product to anyone who needs the extra warmth in a room and does not like the dryness that a space heater causes to the room and to the skin.
The difference in the bedrooms has been unbelievable. The rooms are nice and toasty warm without being too hot or dry. Just right for a good nights sleep. I am thrilled with the difference in the sunroom. It is comfortable enough even with the bitter cold weather that we have experience this year to sit out in the sunroom and watch TV comfortably.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 37 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from Souther Delaware
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect heating unit with very low power consumption

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought this unit to take the chill out of the finished, insulated but not conditioned basement and was very pleased with the results. Area is more than 3 times the heater is intended for, yet it raised the temperature by 3 degrees. Would recommend this unit to anyone looking to boost cooler areas at a very small electrical usage.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 38 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from malvern, PA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

400 Watt Panel Convection Heater

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to install - great performance. This is the second one I've purchased
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from Arvada, Colorado
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I am using this in my patio that is just has plastic over the screens. It keeps the are at 40 or warmer depending ont he outside temp so I can keep my plants in there over the winter. Uses very little energy.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for 400-Watt Wall Panel Convection Heater
from Toledo, OH, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect Supplemental Heat: Convection & Radiant Heat.

PostedNovember 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
These panels do the trick: convection and radiant heat. I purchased a competitor's panel heaters but they only provide convection heat and they do not do as good a job and these Econoheat panels that provide both convection AND the radiant heat. The sink and toilet and even the mirror in my bathroom benefit from the radiant heat; they heat up too - just enough to notice a difference. The mirror does not fog up. And the convection process heats the air and quietly circulates around the bathroom. It's soooo much nicer than fanless panel heaters that are enclosed in protective housing that rely on stack effect and convection exclusively.
At 400 watts they use less energy that a long string of Christmas lights; in fact, less than a third of the energy of a ceramic heater. Best if left on. Don't expect instant heat but a small room will heat up noticeably by the time, e.g. you get out of the shower.
My home is an uninsulated Dutch colonial from the 1880's. These panels are a huge step forward in achieving the equivalent of "zone heating". The rest of the home can be turned down. Timers add to their effectiveness and cost savings.
Enjoy. Paint them if you like.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Quiet, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Economical
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5 >>