728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Laminate Wood Flooring or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for XP Grand Oak 10 mm Thick x 7-5/8 in. Wide x 47-5/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (20.25 sq. ft. / case)

XP Grand Oak 10 mm Thick x 7-5/8 in. Wide x 47-5/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (20.25 sq. ft. / case)

Pergo XP Grand Oak offers an ultra realistic wood grain finish with premium attached underlayment and PermaMax surface protection for double the wear, double the durability of ordinary laminates. ScratchGuard Advanced provides superior scratch and scuff protection.XP is an AC4 rated product, approved for general commercial traffic; suitable for your home, office, or other light commercial applications such as boutiques and hotel rooms. This rating was designated after being tested for resistance to abrasion, impact, staining and cigarette burns. Each plank is 10mm thick with a 2mm attached underlayment and 7-5/8 in. wide x 47-7/8 in. long. Easy to install, patented PerfectFold joint for a quick and secure installation. Our limited lifetime residential and 5 year light commercial warranty guarantees the floor will not wear, stain or fade. High style made simple. There's only one Pergo. Wear claim compared to standard AC3 laminate flooring and measured in accordance with NALFA/ANSI LF-01-2011 and/or EN13329:2006+A1:2008.
Overall rating:
4.135 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(37 reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
91%of customersrecommend this product29 of 32reviews
Rating Breakdown 37 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(19)
4
(10)
3
(4)
2
(2)
1
(2)
Appearance 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
91%of customersrecommend this product29 of 32reviews
Customer questions and answers:
13 Questions | 26 Answers
Customer reviews for XP Grand Oak 10 mm Thick x 7-5/8 in. Wide x 47-5/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (20.25 sq. ft. / case)
Review 1 for XP Grand Oak 10 mm Thick x 7-5/8 in. Wide x 47-5/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (20.25 sq. ft. / case)
from Twin Cities, Mn USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pergo XP GRAND OAK 10 MM

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We installed the Pergo XP flooring in a couple of small areas in an walkout level. The installation went well and the product looks GREAT!! I will comment on the packaging of the Pergo XP flooring tho. The packaging was substandard in our opinion. A couple of Pergo pieces had small indents caused by pallet straps. We had 7 boxes of the product and it's all packaged with a thin cardboard shell that does not cover the bottom piece, which caused damage to the padding layer attached to the actual flooring. Fortunately we were able to use most of the damaged product without incident but you'd think the Pergo folks would have packaged their product to minimize handling damage.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Looks Like Wood, Sturdy, Comfortable, Easy to Install, Looks Great
Cons: poorly packaged causing handling damage.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for XP Grand Oak 10 mm Thick x 7-5/8 in. Wide x 47-5/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (20.25 sq. ft. / case)
from Missouri
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pergo XP Grand Oak Installation

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This Pergo XP floor was really great to install. I had installed older style Pergo about 15 years ago when you had to glue it and have also installed other brands of Snap together flooring and this Pergo XP is a lot easier and fits together great. I really liked the way the ends snapped together so you don't have to tap the opposite end and take a chance on damaging the edge. Also the padding already being attached to the flooring is a lot better than having to lay the pad separately. My wife is in love with the floor and really likes the way it looks, instead of the old carpet.
I also watched a PERGO Video that really helped explain the new system and tips and techniques for working around door openings and finishing the trim.
Pros: Feels Like Wood, High Quality of Material, Looks Like Wood, Great Instructions, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 3 for XP Grand Oak 10 mm Thick x 7-5/8 in. Wide x 47-5/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (20.25 sq. ft. / case)
from Utah, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pergo Grand Oak laminate---Gorgeous!!

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've waited a long time to be able to remodel. This flooring was the first to go in. Already the room looks wonderful and I could hardly wait to walk on it barefooted! It installed very easily, and is thick and good quality. I am not disappointed with this product at all. Every time I walk past the room, I have to stop and stare. I would recommend this to anyone who is willing to do the work.
One note--make sure you "measure twice-cut once" as the saying goes. If you have to take a plank back up, do so very carefully, because you are taking the risk of the end damaging. Once it is in place though, it is solid and tough.
We will definitely order more for the other rooms as we move through the house's remodeling. Can't wait!
Pros: Feels Like Wood, High Quality of Material, Looks Like Wood, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Looks High End
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 4 for XP Grand Oak 10 mm Thick x 7-5/8 in. Wide x 47-5/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (20.25 sq. ft. / case)
from Green Bay, WI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Floor looks great

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The installation went well once I noticed pattern was limited. There are only 5 different planks. Once I noticed that I had same pattern close together I checked and found that there are only 5 different grain patterns. I then stacked the planks by pattern. This made it easier to keep the floor mixed and looking more random. If not for this issue I wood have rated it 5 stars. I only had one plank with a bad end and was able to use it on the start of a row. Also I had no problems with chipping like many have said. This was my first laminate install and I did a 13' x 17' room in about 12 hours with five rows having to be cut to meet a curved tile foyer.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Looks Like Wood, Great Accent, Looks Great
Cons: limited grain pattern
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for XP Grand Oak 10 mm Thick x 7-5/8 in. Wide x 47-5/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (20.25 sq. ft. / case)
from Fairfax, VA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Number of defective finish

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This is the second time we are installing Pergo XP Grand Oak. We love the first installation, so we decided to do our large family room. We received the product quickly and as before the delivery service was excellent (on time & no damage). When I started to pull the boards out I found that one entire pattern has a defect in the finish. We took time off work to do this installation, so we are now stuck with only 4 different wood patterns, instead of 5 and I'm hoping that I will be able to return the defective boards at a local home depot for exchange so that I can finish my flooring.
Pros: Looks Great
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for XP Grand Oak 10 mm Thick x 7-5/8 in. Wide x 47-5/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (20.25 sq. ft. / case)

Great looking floor that assembles easily

PostedMay 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
So far I am very happy with this Pergo XP floor. It assembled very easily. I have installed two other laminate floors from other manufacturers and this one installed the easiest. The floor looks great and the seams are very tight. I am not sure how the floor will wear yet since I just installed it. I did not have any problems with corners breaking like other reviewers have mentioned. Out of 14 boxes I had two defective boards, a 1% defect rate. The finish was not applied right to these boards resulting in huge blemishes. These were very blatant defects that I am surprised passed Pergo's quality control. Overall I am very happy with the floor and highly recommend it.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 7 for XP Grand Oak 10 mm Thick x 7-5/8 in. Wide x 47-5/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (20.25 sq. ft. / case)
from East Freedom, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

I'm extremely pleased with this product. Floor looks great

PostedMarch 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very easy to install. I love the appearance. Looks so much better than the previous carpet. Only had 2 defective pieces, which I was still able to use. Very little scrap, because the end piece that's cut off is used as the beginning piece on the next row.
Thanks to Home Depot, I was able to take a free sample of this Laminated Flooring and one of all-wood flooring. I was leaning towards purchasing the all-wood, until I did a hit test on both. No marks on the Laminated, but definitely saw dents on the all-wood. That clinched it for me - and thank goodness - I am well pleased with the finished product.
Pros: Feels Like Wood, High Quality of Material, Looks Like Wood, Sturdy, Comfortable, Easy to Install, Looks Great
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 8 for XP Grand Oak 10 mm Thick x 7-5/8 in. Wide x 47-5/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (20.25 sq. ft. / case)
from Denver, CO, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Looks great... Could be better quality and availability of additional needed items.

PostedMarch 25, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The product went down somewhat easily once we got around a smaller area. The corners seemed to chip easy during installation and it was a pain but expected with laminate flooring to a point. The major problem is that if you needed stair noses, moulding, etc- you have hard time finding the product.. If you run into shipping problems where the boxes are a little damaged and some product is unusable then you have to hope that they get to you in time. My project was on a tight schedule so I was more frustrated than most would be. Overall, love the appearance of the new flooring.
Pros: Feels Like Wood, Looks Like Wood, Looks Great, Modern, Easy to Clean, Effective
Cons: chipped corners, hard to find items
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 9 for XP Grand Oak 10 mm Thick x 7-5/8 in. Wide x 47-5/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (20.25 sq. ft. / case)
from Allerton Iowa
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Realistic wood grain finish

PostedAugust 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Realistic wood grain finish with attached underlayment and PermaMax surface protection for double the wear. Product installed 3 yrs.now in living/dining rooms and hallway. Product highly recommended just don't buy boxes of product with any visual damage to box. Hope to put product in bedrooms soon. Easily dusted and clean up with very slightly dampened mop using water only
Pros: High Quality of Material, Looks Like Wood, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for XP Grand Oak 10 mm Thick x 7-5/8 in. Wide x 47-5/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (20.25 sq. ft. / case)
from Buellton CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Looks good, hard to work with.

PostedAugust 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
It looks good once it is in. With 3/8" gap requirement, we needed the original molding plus 1/4 round to cover the gaps. I hope it is durable. We just put it in. It is hard to lay down and fit with it sliding around on the plastic underlayment.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Clean, Looks Great
Cons: Difficult to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for XP Grand Oak 10 mm Thick x 7-5/8 in. Wide x 47-5/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (20.25 sq. ft. / case)

Easy Installation, Great Look

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is the second Pergo floor I've purchased and the first XP product. Installed easier than the original Pergo I installed 4 years ago. I purchased 17 boxes and had none of the "damaged" issues that others have experienced.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 12 for XP Grand Oak 10 mm Thick x 7-5/8 in. Wide x 47-5/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (20.25 sq. ft. / case)
from Yakutat, AK, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Finished project looks great and was fairly straightforward to install. Was able to install 500 sq ft over a weekend.

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
End tabs are very easily damaged so great care must be taken while assembling.
Pros: Looks Like Wood, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Looks High End
Cons: end tabs could be more sturdy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for XP Grand Oak 10 mm Thick x 7-5/8 in. Wide x 47-5/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (20.25 sq. ft. / case)
from Baltimore, MD, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Glad I went for the higher grade flooring.

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This was the first time I've worked with this product. Once I got the hang of it, installation was easy. I gave a scrap piece of flooring a scratch test and it passed with flying colors. I'ts hard stuff, burned up one saw blade making cuts. Overall, I am very pleased.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 14 for XP Grand Oak 10 mm Thick x 7-5/8 in. Wide x 47-5/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (20.25 sq. ft. / case)
from Naples, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

very good product

PostedApril 10, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
fairly easy dyi installation. Recommend product but not Home Depot install. See customer service comments.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 15 for XP Grand Oak 10 mm Thick x 7-5/8 in. Wide x 47-5/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (20.25 sq. ft. / case)
from Hillsboro, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Made for high traffic and looks great!

PostedDecember 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had a professional install flooring. He had no problems. Job went quickly. Had almost full box left. Floor has been down three months. Resists moisture well since is laid next to back door. We have five dogs that can track in mud. Floor looks great and cleans easily. I would highly recommend it.
Pros: Feels Like Wood, High Quality of Material, Looks Like Wood, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Looks High End
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for XP Grand Oak 10 mm Thick x 7-5/8 in. Wide x 47-5/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (20.25 sq. ft. / case)
from Bronx, New York City, NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Want to do the dining room next!!

PostedApril 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I wanted to purchase this product to cover the floor in a small "sun room"; "front porch room". The instructions sounded fairly decent to follow; but, everyone suggested that we have it installed so I don't know the ease of installation first-hand. I do know that the installer was using a small, soft, rubber mallot to "knock" them into place where they clicked. He said that it was easier than others he'd installed before; and, the attached underlayment made the ease of installation just that - EASIER. I checked each box when I went to buy them to be sure that the corners of the boxes were not dented (indicating that the box may have been dropped etc. and the boards inside damaged) and none were damaged or chipped upon opening each box. (Actually, the "box" is only a box on five sides as the bottom is just the heavy plastic, overwrap). The installer was pleased with the product and I did not hear him grumbling or cursing while cutting/installing the floor. So far I am very pleased with the look of the flooring and the overall way that it came out. In fact, so much so, that I am thinking of putting this Pergo XP flooring in the dining room. The only hesitation that I have is that this version of 10 mm thickness Grand Oak is a little bit pricier if you need maybe 10-15 boxes; but, I am leaning more towards the idea then against it !
Pros: Looks Like Wood, Easy to Clean, Looks Great
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for XP Grand Oak 10 mm Thick x 7-5/8 in. Wide x 47-5/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (20.25 sq. ft. / case)
from NH
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy and fast to install - looks terrific

PostedMay 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was initially skeptical of the fiber board appearance of the core material but if you follow the instructions and take your time, this stuff goes down easy and the finished surface is really tough. I dropped my screw gun, point down, and it didn’t ding the surface.
I watched a few videos on line that helped with installation tricks (like pre-cutting under doorways and how to install the final row). Also good to buy a tube of the matched calking. IT flows well is easy to use and pretty close on the color.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Looks Great
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for XP Grand Oak 10 mm Thick x 7-5/8 in. Wide x 47-5/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (20.25 sq. ft. / case)
from Edwardsville
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Reasonably happy with the product

PostedMarch 28, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This was not the first PERGO flooring product that I had installed. I had done another bedroom a couple of years back using PERGO Prestige flooring but it is no longer available and has been replaced with PERGO XP. The PERGO XP is actually a little thicker and has a longer warranty. The thing that I did NOT like about it was how fragile the locking mechanism on the tongue portion of each panel was. If it was necessary to remove a section for any reason, it was almost impossible to do so without breaking off that part of the tongue. It seemed to be made from just pressed fiberboard and broke very easily. I ruined 3 or 4 sections, but fortunately had enough to finish. Delivery was excellent except I had to pick it up at the trucking company depot because there was no-one home to sign for it. Not a big deal though. There were no installation instructions in the box but they were available on PERGO'S web site. Over all I was happy, but I would investigate alternate brands before doing another room with this product.
Pros: Looks Like Wood, Easy to Install, Looks Great
Cons: Hard to Remove, No Instructions, tongue was fragile and easily broken
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for XP Grand Oak 10 mm Thick x 7-5/8 in. Wide x 47-5/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (20.25 sq. ft. / case)
from Fairfax, VA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Flooring at a decent price

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We installed our flooring a few weeks ago. It was a tough choice between flooring types for our family room. We have hardwood throughout our main level of our split level home, so we needed something that would blend well. Our family room and 2 adjacent bedrooms needed a water 'resistant' floor due to a pool directly outside. The flooring would get much damp/dirty foot traffic. I obtained 2 samples from HD hooked them together and used them as a coaster for a few weeks. The water did seep through the joints but didn't damage the planks. Seemed to work well enough for what I needed.
Never having installed laminate, but are average DIYers, it went fairly smoothly. Our first row was pretty tricky and required cuts, as a result it took about 2 hours to install the first 2 rows. We also needed to experiment with how hard we could tap the boards. We found out that they are pretty sturdy and would take some hard knocking. Afterwards, the flooring went in like a snap. Probably took 4 hours to complete the basic floor install in our 10x12 room and another 2 hours to install the quarter round. We intend on completing 2 more rooms and I expect it will go in much faster the second time around.
The one issue we had was laying the moisture barrier down. After installing a few rows and with all the tapping on the board to ensure a tight seal, the barrier shifted under the flooring. This shifting created a crunching sound in one corner of the room. All in all I can't complain since this is the only imperfection in the entire floor.
Thanks to those who shared their installation experiences, we picked up a few great tricks. 1) sort out the various patterns ahead of time. 2) use a dry erase marker to mark the top side of the board for cutting.
Few more lessons learned.. the morning of installation we couldn't find out right angle ruler and instead used my acrylic quilter's ruler. Not quite as good, but worked in a pinch. If you are working with 2 people and installing the second row, have one person stand on the planks and the other tap them in otherwise the first row will start to move around.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Looks Like Wood, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for XP Grand Oak 10 mm Thick x 7-5/8 in. Wide x 47-5/8 in. Length Laminate Flooring (20.25 sq. ft. / case)
from Dayton, OH, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Love this new floor

PostedJuly 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I ordered this product from Home Depot website. My family and I could not be happier. We had it installed by our own contractor and he gave a great deal of praise to the product. Also, it was delivered timely and had very few flaws or defects. The customer service was great to work with. I will definitely order with confidence in the future.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Looks Like Wood, Sturdy, Looks Great, Modern, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>