728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Landscape & Deck Lighting or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 12V Low Voltage LED 8 Piece Stainless Steel Deck Light Kit

12V Low Voltage LED 8 Piece Stainless Steel Deck Light Kit

Add style and enhance the beauty of your home and deck with this compact flush mount design LED deck and stair light. UV protected stainless steel finish and solid construction will last for years. This LED deck and stair light provides greater energy savings, reduces maintenance costs and creates less waste. This kit includes 8 LED deck lights, 5 feet cable between each light, 16.4 feet extension cable and SVT-24 gauge cable with quick connect system.
Overall rating:
4.074 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(54 reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
76%of customersrecommend this product37 of 49reviews
Rating Breakdown 54 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(28)
4
(13)
3
(5)
2
(5)
1
(3)
Appearance 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
76%of customersrecommend this product37 of 49reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for 12V Low Voltage LED 8 Piece Stainless Steel Deck Light Kit
Review 1 for 12V Low Voltage LED 8 Piece Stainless Steel Deck Light Kit
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice!

PostedSeptember 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Installation was easy except when your steps are turning a corner and in the dirt. I ran 80 ft. of 12awg then branched off w 2 sets of 14 lights. Thats the lower deck area. The Upper area ( only 6 ft. from transformer) I installed about 12 more LED lights and 12 more to go,. I'm using a 80watt transformer with built-in timer pluged in a GFCI and not using the supplyed transformer block. All those led lights will be less than half of the transformer capacity & transformer says it pulls one amp. Now thats efficient!
PS. don't use the free 1" drill bit, its so cheap it will ruin your wood
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 12V Low Voltage LED 8 Piece Stainless Steel Deck Light Kit
from Minneapolis, MN, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy install, look amazing and well made

PostedJune 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I installed a set of these today in a decking path that we built along the side of our house. They were easy to install and look great. They put off a lot of light. You have to be fine with the cool white light of the standard LEDs though. They aren't the newer warm white like you're starting to see in some stores. My ONLY recommendation is to buy a stub extension cord right away too. The transformer block that plugs in won't fit inside most outdoor electrical enclosures. Beyond that, I love them. Not sure why some reviews on here were saying they were hard to install. I thought they were pretty obvious and simple to figure out.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, Unique, High Quality of Material, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Nice Design, automatic dusk to dawn
Cons: transformer block plug in
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 12V Low Voltage LED 8 Piece Stainless Steel Deck Light Kit
from Flat Rock, Michigan
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Low Voltage lights

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great product, easy to install and look fantastic !!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Unique, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Well Made, Very Bright
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 12V Low Voltage LED 8 Piece Stainless Steel Deck Light Kit
from Raleigh, NC, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Seems low quality

PostedAugust 26, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The good: Product comes with 1" drill bit needed for installation. Very easy to install and connect. The transformer has a built in day-night sensor. LED Lights are very bright... much brighter than I expected.
The bad: After installing all 8 lights, I turned them on and found that one of the lights is defective. I am assuming the LED bulb is bad because the defective light was in the middle and didn't break the electrical connection with the surrounding lights connected to it.
Summary: If all 8 lights worked I'd give this 4 out of 5 stars. But that's not the case. I really don't want to uninstall all of them to send back. I'm hoping I can call the manufacturer and get a single replacement light. Not holding my breath...
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Nice Design
Cons: poorly made, defective part
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 12V Low Voltage LED 8 Piece Stainless Steel Deck Light Kit
from San Diego
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

AWESOME

PostedMarch 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These are awesome, first off, they are not oval (just the way the picture is) they are round. VERY bright and consistant. can hook up to 16 together. worth every cent. took me an hour to install and clean up after.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+19points
22out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 12V Low Voltage LED 8 Piece Stainless Steel Deck Light Kit
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Fabulous lights for a great price!

PostedAugust 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just installed (3 sets + 2 from the extension pack) of these on the perimeter and stairs of my new deck. They look fabulous! The thing friends and family kept commenting on was how great the lights look. I am very pleased, since I decided to mount them face up on the deck surface, and I wasn't sure if it would work or not. Only draw back is that if a light goes I will have to replace it, as the bulb is integrated. I ordered one extra kit, so I will keep it for replacement bulbs. I was worried about the glare as the lights are pointing straight up, but we've had no issues whatsoever. I don't mind the bright white color of the light either, it is neutral, not blue or yellow.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Unique, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 12V Low Voltage LED 8 Piece Stainless Steel Deck Light Kit
from VA

Very elegant and easy to install

PostedMay 14, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We did not get a chance yet to sit in our deck when it's completely dark with these lights on but in general, they look beautiful! We have it on the front panel of the stairs (hexagon shaped) and on the edge of the deck. It's bright enough to create a perfect mood. It wobbles a bit if the hole you drill is not precise. You can fix it with a few rounds of insulation tapes around it! Very easy to interconnect. I was pleasantly surprised to see even a transformer bundled with it!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Stylish, Functional
Cons: not highest quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 12V Low Voltage LED 8 Piece Stainless Steel Deck Light Kit
from CT
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Hampton Deck Lighting Kit

PostedJuly 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
OK, so I have to tell you my search for affordable, good quality lights was not going good till I found these on homedepot.com.
To tell you the truth, I did buy some other brand first off of a little known website/dealer and when I got them they were cheap junk.
The Hampton Bay lights are heavy duty and well made. Each string comes with a dusk to dawn sensor and you can string up to thirty lights together onto one transformer.
Another consideration is that they are 5 ft apart. This is important when you need to get to next tier or to a corner.
My contractor drilled the holes and installed them for me. I noticed he did not cuss or complain when installing them. I believe it must have been pretty painless because he had us go out and admire his handywork and then suggested we get more. Project is on hold while I wait for my overnighted packed of three more kits. Check out my picture....
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, no need to buy a transformer or timer.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 12V Low Voltage LED 8 Piece Stainless Steel Deck Light Kit
from Leesburg, VA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome lights, give off great light

PostedAugust 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
lights give off great light and are very stylish. very easy to install and the auto sensor works perfectly. installed 2 sets of these in under 2 hours which included running electric to the stairs
Pros: Easy to Assemble, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 12V Low Voltage LED 8 Piece Stainless Steel Deck Light Kit
from Niceville, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

What a great addition to my new deck. The bright white LEDs provide a soft glow and add safety to the deck levels and steps.

PostedJanuary 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bright white LEDs provide soft lighting for my deck surfaces and the steps. Easy to install and the photoelectric light sensor saves me steps each day by coming on automatically. I had an electrician install three sets of lights into my bi-level deck. A great value.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, Looks Great, Very Bright, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 12V Low Voltage LED 8 Piece Stainless Steel Deck Light Kit
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm building a ground-level addition to our deck and wanted something to help define the edge at night. These lights were the right price for me and easy to install. The wiring comes pre-attached but comes apart easily for installation and goes back together securely. The lights themselves are encases in epoxy at the top and bottom and appear totally waterproof. I installed them yesterday, it rained last night, and they're working fine.
Pros: Looks Great, Very Bright, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 12V Low Voltage LED 8 Piece Stainless Steel Deck Light Kit
from Vadnais Heights, MN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome and Easy!!

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought three sets and had them installed in my deck and steps in less than an hour. The plugs on the lights made for a real simple installation. I used an existing 12V Transformer/timer. The included drill bit lasted for all three sets. They have been in since Father's Day and look great!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 12V Low Voltage LED 8 Piece Stainless Steel Deck Light Kit
from Northglenn, CO, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Updated review

PostedOctober 17, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After a week or so of pondering these lights and their cool-white color, I remembered when I had gone about replacing my incandescent and CFL light bulbs in my house. The LED standard 60W-equivalent bulbs I was using, manufactured by Philips and sold by HD, used a yellow plastic lens to refine the light color temperature to a warm-white color. Building on this idea, I recalled an automotive headlight lens film product that was offered in yellow (Lamin-X). I ordered a 4"x8" sheet of this product from the manufacturer and overlaid it to the lens of these lights. The results were a warmer light output, but with a noticeably yellow lens color- that is to say if you look directly at the light source, it's obviously a yellow tinted color, but the output and surfaces that are illuminated are only slightly yellow, and in my opinion a large bound better than the stock cool-white. Same rating on the lights- 4-stars. But perhaps if this is the most economical or desirable design of riser lights, this will help some installers who prefer not to have the cool color.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Very Bright, Nice Design
Cons: Appearance
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
5out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 12V Low Voltage LED 8 Piece Stainless Steel Deck Light Kit

Close but could use some redesigning

PostedJune 5, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have only had these for a month. Bottom line, they do seem to be well made.
Here are the problems:
1) you must use them in one location.
2) they are connected by a single power transformer and wires that are specific to the product.
3) Concerned about getting replacement parts.
4) Concerned that if one light goes out the rest behind that light will go out as well.
Pros: Well Made, Looks Great
Cons: design of product
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 12V Low Voltage LED 8 Piece Stainless Steel Deck Light Kit
from St Louis, MO
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Transformer that came with the kit not working. Makes 8 light kit as well as 4 light kit inoperable.

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Transformer with this kit was not working. I have spoken with customer service reps Joseph & Ryan and so far do not have a replacement. My last conversation was with Ryan & he said he would call me when the replacement part has shipped.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: one component part not working
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 12V Low Voltage LED 8 Piece Stainless Steel Deck Light Kit

Best value.

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This product is a great value with lights under $10 each compared to $30 to $40 for each light in other systems.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 12V Low Voltage LED 8 Piece Stainless Steel Deck Light Kit
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

My husband said they are awesome.

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The lights are really bright. We put them on our back deck stairs. My husband said the way they are setup is perfect. Worth every penny. Highly recommend.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 12V Low Voltage LED 8 Piece Stainless Steel Deck Light Kit
from snellville, ga
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great lights, provide just the right amount of lighting for our deck stairs

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
love the lights, provide perfect lighting for our deck stairs
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 12V Low Voltage LED 8 Piece Stainless Steel Deck Light Kit
from Las Vegas, NV, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

I love the look of these lights, very sleek.

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was surprised how bright they are, especially for their size. Almost too bright for the area I installed them.
Pros: Looks Great, Stylish, Eco-Friendly, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 12V Low Voltage LED 8 Piece Stainless Steel Deck Light Kit
from Snohomish, WA

Great product

PostedApril 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We installed these lights on our deck and they are great. Just enough lighting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>