728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Electrical Tape & Wire Connectors or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 3-Port Al/Cu Wire Connectors (10-Pack)

3-Port Al/Cu Wire Connectors (10-Pack)

King Innovation’s AlumiConn Aluminum to Copper Lug is approved by the Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC), UL, and numerous insurance companies as a safe method for aluminum wiring repair. Manufactured in Missouri, AlumiConn is a lug style connector with three separate ports to eliminate intermixing of conductors. It coats aluminum wires with a thin layer of silicone sealant to provide resistance from oxidation, and uses set screws to break up surface oxides and provide a secure mechanical connection. Avoid a complete re-wire by using AlumiConn, the most cost-effective aluminum wiring repair solution available.
Overall rating:
4.647 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product16 of 16reviews
Rating Breakdown 17 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(11)
4
(6)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product16 of 16reviews
Customer reviews for 3-Port Al/Cu Wire Connectors (10-Pack)
Review 1 for 3-Port Al/Cu Wire Connectors (10-Pack)
from Arizona
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A less expensive option than rewiring the house

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I started with a small order of these and ended up with the 100 count bag. They worked and are one of the only options for pig tailing aluminum house wire to copper only switches and plugs. I purchased a home in which all switches and plugs had cu or copper only stamped on them. The aluminum house wire was connected to these. (Fire Hazard). After much investigation I found out that you should install copper pig tails because most commonly found switches and plugs are copper only. This product is approved for aluminum (AL) to Copper (CU) connections. The wire connectors have anti corrosion gel in them to prevent the aluminum wire from corroding. The only issue I encountered was that the screw terminals were a little soft, make sure you use the right size screwdriver. Also they recommend using a torque screwdriver. The larger bag had optional instructions if you didn't have a torque driver.
Pros: Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 3-Port Al/Cu Wire Connectors (10-Pack)
from St. Louis, MO
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

The do-it-yourselfer solution to mitigating aluminum wiring risks

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My family moved in to a 1968 home about 6 months ago. Within the first month, we experienced two separate electrical issues, one of which was an outlet that was audibly and visibly arcing due to a loose wire connection. Concerned for my family's safety, I immediately began reading up on aluminum wiring. Not being at all experienced with electrical work, I then bought the Black & Decker Complete Guide to Electrical Wiring. Having read that cover to cover, I bought my first batch of Alumiconns, along with the reasonably priced Neiko torque screwdriver, and new receptacles and cover plates while I was at it (hey, they're cheap, and my time is valuable).
My house is just over 2000 square feet, and after going top to bottom, I determined that I have about 120 electrical devices (receptacles, switches, and light fixtures). Doing the math, that's a pretty hefty investment in Alumiconns, but I consider it worth it for my family's safety. Doing the work a little at a time on the weekends, and having started about 45 days ago, I'm probably about halfway done now, maybe a bit further. Here's what I've learned:
Yes, the Alumiconns are big, but if you make a point of bending both the existing and new wires in V's, you can stuff the Alumiconns pretty far back in the box.
If you have more than 3 existing connections in a box, you can save space and money by using the Ideal Insure connectors for the Aluminum wires, then run an aluminum pigtail to the Alumiconn, and run copper to the device from there. The Insure connectors are TINY, taking up very little space. Technically not rated for aluminum connections, but neither are the wire nuts that were on there before, and the bigger concern is where the aluminum meets the copper devices, not where the aluminum meets additional aluminum. I've only run into this situation twice thus far, so not a common occurrence in my house at least.
If necessary for space purposes, a remodeling box is surprisingly easy to install in finished drywall.
You can achieve much greater efficiency by first cutting and stripping a whole bunch of 6" pigtails, and then just carrying them around in a bag with you. Having done that, I can do a receptacle or switch in under 15 minutes, and a light fixture/fan, depending on complexity, in 30-45 minutes.
Tools like the Irwin Industrial self-adjusting Wire Strippers go a LONG way toward making wire stripping much easier.
For the minimal additional cost, you might as well go ahead and replace the devices and cover plates while you're at it. I went with the newer TR style receptacles, as I have a toddler and another one on the way.
If you're going to be putting in the time to take down a light fixture and put it back up again, are you happy with it? If not, now would be a great time to replace it.
I hope this helps!
Pros: Clear Instructions, Easy Installation
Cons: pricy
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 3-Port Al/Cu Wire Connectors (10-Pack)
from NEW YORK STATE
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

GOOD

PostedDecember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
PRODUCT IS PERFECT FOR THE JOB, AS STATED. A SAFE METHOD OF ATTACHING ALUMINUM WIRE TO COPPER WIRE.
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 3-Port Al/Cu Wire Connectors (10-Pack)
from Tempe, AZ
Age Range:17 or under
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is the best and only alternative to having a professional fix aluminum wiring dangers

PostedApril 23, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have done a lot of research on the topic of aluminum wiring in homes and it turns out it is a very big potential fire danger. Many insurance companies will specifically not insure homes with aluminum wiring so if you have it ask if they do because you can potentially be left in a situation that they would not cover.
The only other repair method for pig tailing copper wire to aluminum is called copalum which can only be performed by an electrician certified by the manufacturer. The special crimp tool for it is only leased and is quite expensive so the electrician that can do this repair method is quite expensive as well. The benefit to it is that it's a small cold weld crimp which is heat shrink wrapped so it fits inside existing electrical boxes easily.
Alumiconn by comparison is a more do it yourself method. Basically it's a small three place bus bar which separates dissimilar metals so they can be electrically connected together in a safe manner. The manufacturer claims zero fires with this repair method. It has also carried both UL and US consumer product safety commission approval.
Installation is straight forward. You remove a switch, outlet etc., clip the end of the aluminum wire off and strip some fresh material, insert in to one port and tighten the screw. Insert a small piece of copper wire in to another port and tighten, connect it to the device. If there is an out going wire it goes to the remaining port. The alumiconn connectors are only a little larger than a wire nut, but the entrance method does add some size and fitting three in to a standard box can be a challenge, but it doable.
I had areas where there were seven wires joined in to one large wire nut. This type of connection requires the box to be cut out from the wall and a larger old work box to be installed in its place. This type of junction required eight alumiconn's to be used.
Price wise these do add up quickly. As mentioned three are needed per box at least, possibly more. Still, it's cheaper than copalum and cheaper than a re-wire. There is a list on the manufacturers web site with a list of insurance companies which recognize alumiconn as a repair method so it theoretically is possible to get a discount on home owners insurance.
I will say that it would have been nice if these were carried in stores, they are very difficult to come by, but ordering from the Home Depot's web site is easy and they can be returned unlike other sites which sell this product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design, makes wiring safer
Cons: expensive, may require a large quantity
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 3-Port Al/Cu Wire Connectors (10-Pack)
from Austin
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to use, work great!

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Perfect for pig-tailing / splicing copper into aluminum. Compact enough to fit in electrical boxes.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Stylish, Nice Design, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 3-Port Al/Cu Wire Connectors (10-Pack)

It is a good solution to Aluminum Wiring pigtails

PostedMay 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
UL and CSA approved. Home depot should make them available to all of their stores. If you can not find them look up King Innovation, they make them.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 3-Port Al/Cu Wire Connectors (10-Pack)

alumiconn connectors

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I live in a one bedroom condo of about 900 sqr feet and ended up ordering 3 twenty-five count bags. Glad they were 3 terminal as they were easier to grip than what i imagine a 2 terminal lug would afford but also allowed for connecting 2 common wires and a pigtail at outlets. Gfci outlets require more of course if they have a load. Indeed the set screws are soft and i found that the proper size bit is very important. The slotted bit that comes with the neiko torque screw driver has a narrow footprint and can damage the set screw. A great product if you have aluminum wiring and non compliant switches and outlets.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 3-Port Al/Cu Wire Connectors (10-Pack)
from southwest
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

easy to use

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
was not able to find locally internet sale was quick. Wish you carried them in local home depots
Pros: Compact, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Cons: bulky packages
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 3-Port Al/Cu Wire Connectors (10-Pack)
from Columbiana, AL 35051, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Solution to Aluminum-Copper connections

PostedJuly 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These connectors are the only method available to electricians to join aluminum & copper #14 & #12 gauge wires.I use these connectors often in my business.
The only other approved method is available only to factory trained & equipped professionals and are very expensive.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy Replacement, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 3-Port Al/Cu Wire Connectors (10-Pack)

This product works well

PostedFebruary 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
These work very well for splicing aluminum wire and converting over to copper wire so regular switches and receptacles can be used. These are a little expensive though.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 3-Port Al/Cu Wire Connectors (10-Pack)
from Virginia, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Repair aluminum circuits with confidence

PostedMay 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My 1964 house still has several circuits of aluminum wire. I had real concerns about wiring modifications needed for a current remodeling product, and read all of the precautions about mixing aluminum and copper wire. I was pleasantly surprised to find this product. In my opinion, this IS THE ONLY WAY TO MIX ALUMINUM AND COPPER WIRE! Installation is simple, and the connector takes up no more room than a wire nut.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 3-Port Al/Cu Wire Connectors (10-Pack)
from Euless, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product when you have aluminum wiring in your home

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This is a great product that makes working with aluminum wire much safer as it allows connections without touching the aluminum to the copper. A bit pricey even in bulk but the best alternative available.
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design, Easy Installation
Cons: expensive
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 3-Port Al/Cu Wire Connectors (10-Pack)
from O'Fallon, MO, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

A Must for Aluminum Wire

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This is pretty much the only safe and acceptable option for splicing aluminum branch cables. The purple twist on nuts are terrible. Proprietary "cold weld" methods are too expensive.
Quality product, made in the USA. I just wish they were a little more affordable.
Pros: Nice Design, cpsc approved, ul approved
Cons: price, not available in store, bulkiness (when used in standard boxes)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 3-Port Al/Cu Wire Connectors (10-Pack)

Does the job

PostedFebruary 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a high quality part that makes a safe aluminum to copper connection. They do take up some room in a standard outlet box making some repairs very tight, if not impossible.
Pros: Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 3-Port Al/Cu Wire Connectors (10-Pack)
from Columbus, OH, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Compact Safety

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Great product that converts the wiring inside the house from aluminum to copper at the end terminal locations. Only problem is that it takes up a lot of space, but safety trumps that! National Fire Protection Agency -NFPA 70 recommended permanent fix should say it all.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 3-Port Al/Cu Wire Connectors (10-Pack)
from United States
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Must have for aluminum wiring

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
A well designed / well made product that you can feel confident about using for aluminum to copper connections. It even has anti-corrosion gel in the wire port so the wires are coated on insert. Although not technically larger that a pigtail it does seem to require a little more room. the installation instructions do call for a "torque screwdriver", but those go for around $100.00. Alternate methods where are torque driver is not required are listed for installation.
Pros: ease of use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 3-Port Al/Cu Wire Connectors (10-Pack)

Does what it needs to.

PostedApril 9, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
These are easy to use, slide the wire in and tighten based on the specs on the packaging. Originally I thought I needed a torque screwdriver, but as long as your wiring is solid and not stranded, you can use the guide on the box for how many turns to tighten.
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.