728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 14 Foam Dispensing Gun

14 Foam Dispensing Gun

The Great Stuff Pro 14 Foam-Dispensing Gun offers 30-day restart ability, accurate bead control and increased yield while providing a quick and convenient way to apply insulating foam sealant. It features a stainless steel check valve and durable construction.
Overall rating:
4.182 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product19 of 21reviews
Rating Breakdown 22 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(11)
4
(6)
3
(4)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product19 of 21reviews
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer reviews for 14 Foam Dispensing Gun
Review 1 for 14 Foam Dispensing Gun
from Northern NJ
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Good tool but don't remove half used cans!

PostedApril 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
I apparently didn't read the instructions and dutifully pulled off the cans (partially used) as needed and cleaned frequently... Basically I got build up in the gun and have disassembled and cleaned it once, but now I have permanent blockage as the needle (teflon coated) has accumulated gunk. Basically air is the enemy of this gun, so if you use the cleaner and then blow it out the foam will dry on the needle and you'll have it only for a short while before having to replace it. If I had read these reviews or the instructions more carefully maybe I would have had a better experience. My mistake, hopefully someone reads this and follows the guidelines better. Also it's nearly impossible to seal upside down as the cans have to be in the downward position, for most applications you're sealing stuff below you, but if it's a tight fit the giant cans can't be tilted much or they lose all their gas and you're left with a slow ooze. I had great availability at my home depot in Northern NJ for the large and small expansion cans as well as the cleaner which I used way too much because of my mistake.
Pros: Performs Well, Lots of Features
Cons: Maintenance
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 14 Foam Dispensing Gun

saves my fingers!

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My fingers were turning numb and blue from dumping 8 cans of spray foam onto my walls. Then I purchased this fun and the pro foam. The gun saves my fingers and wallet! There's so much waste from a spray can, but with the gun, there's no leakage, so there's hardly any waste! Takes a little getting used to, so you know how much to apply, but it's worth every cent!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 14 Foam Dispensing Gun
from VA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Great product - SKIP the frequent cleaning with recommended usage

PostedDecember 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bought one about two years ago (before my local HD stocked them) and have run about 10 cans of foam of various brands/types through it. HAVEN'T CLEANED IT ONCE!
I'm a home owner doing frequent energy efficiency upgrades and this gun fits my need perfectly. Using it is so much better than dealing with the disposable cans with plastic nozzles. The flow is controllable and there's no need to use a full can up. I just leave a can on mine and exchange with a new can when it runs out. The directions that came with mine suggested that if you did this you would not need to clean the gun frequently. I've found this to be true. I've found I only need to clean the tip externally and the gun works after sitting on the shelf for months with a can attached.
The thing is big and unwieldy and the cans seem more expensive per unit volume than the one-use cans but I waste far less foam so I think things roughly even out as far as foam costs.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Economical, Reliable
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 14 Foam Dispensing Gun
from Long Island , N.Y.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Worth the price

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Yes it is truly a great value, beats the regular dispenser cans by a long shot. Less waste and clean-up. You can put it down and use the next day, so it saves in the long run. Yes the cans are long and may be a little awkward or hard to use in a tight space, however, I placed a long fish tank pump air line on the tip and reached even the toughest places. Used it with "dual can home foam spray" insulation kit, these kits can't reach tight places because they have to be sprayed 12" to 18' away, so in tight places the Pro 14 helped around windows and door, and corners and saved me time, money and clean-up. 8 months after purchasing, the Check valve jammed up, called "Great Stuff" and was trying to buy a replacement Ck. Valve, they tok my name, phone and address and said they 'd pass on the complaint. 1 week later I received a whole new Gun! You can't lose purchasing this Gun!!!
Make sure the gun is in the upside down position when using the cleaner, and remove tip to fully clean! And On Long island, N.Y. Home Depot Valley Stream carries plenty of the cans.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Seals Well, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Economical
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 14 Foam Dispensing Gun
from Rutland, VT, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Worth the price - time saver

PostedNovember 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this product for the first time with excellent results. Much better control, less wasted foam, easy cleanup. The adapters should be longer . as long as the depth of the average windor frame ... so one can get into the recessed areas. The adapters must be placed on tightly. Re-read the instructions to get it right. All in all, a good product. The extra cost is worth it. Spare noozle adapters should be sold in various sizes as a separate accessory.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Work With, Easy to Clean, Reliable
Cons: longer tips would be helpful
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 14 Foam Dispensing Gun
from Middle Island, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Weekly

Most Home Depots don't sell the Pro-Cans of foam

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The pro-gun works as advertised and the cleaning fluid can exceeded expectations. However, no Home Depot, or any other area store, sells the required Pro-Can refills. You will have to order these on line and wait.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Clean
Cons: hard to find foam cans, will not fit in close spaces
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 14 Foam Dispensing Gun

Good product

PostedMarch 20, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Overall, the gun is nice to use but as others have stated, the cans are long and make can be difficult to use when maneuvering around pipes and such. Perhaps a solution would be to design a foam tank which connects to the gun via hose, just as the $400 spray kits, but just having one variable quantity tank instead of 2. Would give the other guys a run for their money!
All in all, I would recommend this gun as it is nice to use and also easy to control foam output and cleaning is simple enough. Just clean gun in a ventilated area. It's ok to spray cleaner thru gun and into house hold trash bags..
Now for the not so good. You will have to leave a can screwed on otherwise it (the can of foam) will leak when removed. Unless you don't mind the waste. As it's said, you can leave the gun for 30 days with gun attached.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Seals Well, Easy to Clean, Economical
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 14 Foam Dispensing Gun
from Central PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Good for what it is...

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I used this to foam around my new windows and it generally worked well. I did have a can of foam that didn't want to come out with any force and that was very frustrating for how much they cost. The control and accuracy is SO much better than the can with plastic tube!
** BEWARE THAT YOU CAN'T TAKE A PARTIALLY USED CAN OFF **
I guess I didn't pay attention to that part of the instructions, only the fact that you can LEAVE a partially used can ON the gun and re-use LATER (within 30 days). I needed to foam a larger area and started a can of orange foam and then took it off only to have it slowly fizz foam out the top of the can and get ruined (it did produce quite an object of art though, but I digress). I plan to foam the top of my wall headers in the attic and use a combo of 2" foam panel/GreatStuff for the basement rim joists. I may then sell the gun online and if I even get 25% back I'll be happy with the whole purchase. Don't just buy this for casual use, it's pretty expensive for the foam refill cans, those should either contain more material or be less expensive. Also, where is the high expanding foam choice?? I did end up with a lot less waste then usual, and I got very little on myself or my hands. That almost makes it worth the cost alone.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Seals Well
Cons: Inconsistent, No Instructions, no high expanding choice, value
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 14 Foam Dispensing Gun

Good product, small drawbacks

PostedApril 16, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The gun is way better than the straw cans, and cans from the gun can be re-used days later as long as you turn the dial down in-between uses. Great Stuff minimal expanding foam expands a little too much though. OSI Teq foams are better. Great gun though.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Seals Well, High Quality
Cons: Maintenance
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 14 Foam Dispensing Gun
from NJ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Daily

Tube too short / can too tall/ will not fit in tight spots.

PostedFebruary 1, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
One of the advertised uses of this product is to airseal band joists. I use about 3-5 cans a day. Almost all of the homes I work on have plumbing, or other obstructions blocking access to the rim joist. A longer nozzle or a shorter wider can would make it fit better. I see that they have a much longer version, but it's not listed yet on the HD site or in the store. For open areas it is accurate, clean, and you can use less product , lowering your costs.
Pros: Easy to Work With, Easy to Clean, Economical
Cons: Tall, Too Big
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 14 Foam Dispensing Gun
from nyc
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Daily

used this for years

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
great product. recommend it for exclusion jobs. use it every day and never have an issue.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Work With, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Seals Well, Great Value, High Quality, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 14 Foam Dispensing Gun
from Philadelphia
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Great purchase!

PostedDecember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great and reliable tool. Way more accurate and precise with the application of the foam as compared to using the disposable cans. Much more control over amount as well as getting into tighter areas and also much less mess than the cans.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 14 Foam Dispensing Gun
Age Range:25 to 34

It works well

PostedNovember 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It works well, but you must also buy the gun cleaning spary
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 14 Foam Dispensing Gun

Great foam gun!

PostedMay 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a Great product. Works well, Easy to control the bead size and quantity. Well worth buying this system instead of regular foam cans with plastic tube.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Easy to Clean, High Quality
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 14 Foam Dispensing Gun
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Graet.

PostedApril 24, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have used this gun on many windows and door installs and found it to be more affective then the can you purchase at the stores. Easy to clean and store.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 14 Foam Dispensing Gun
from California, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Weekly

Exelant product very handy and cost effexctive

PostedJanuary 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Great feel easy to use makes sealing air leak easy and is very cost effective keeping the foam can from activating and wasting foam.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 14 Foam Dispensing Gun
from Atlanta, GA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Only in Limit stores

PostedNovember 2, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I have to give it an avg rating bc your gonna have use the spray foam can intented for the gun. Which is only sold online. So that means more shipping charges. Else order enough cleaner and foam to last a few jobs. The functionality of product is excellent even cleaning it was great.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Work With, Quiet, Good Size & Weight, Seals Well, Good Shape, Great Value, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Economical, Reliable, Light Weight
Cons: can only get can application online
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 14 Foam Dispensing Gun
from West Tennessee
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Extend your spray foams life....

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The gun gives you good control over the flow rate of the foam. Takes a little practice, but great after a few tries. Leave it on the can and the foam is still good months later. The gun cleaner and a rag is a must. Keep it clean when you stop for a while.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Seals Well
Cons: takes practice.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 14 Foam Dispensing Gun
from Industry, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Requires can not sold in store

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Cans required for this gun are not sold in store!!! Construction of gun is very good and allows application in tight areas. HD needs to show that the can for this is differant then the consumer can on self.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Work With, Easy to Clean
Cons: requires can not sold in store
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 14 Foam Dispensing Gun
from NC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Bad product

PostedOctober 12, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Great idea, bad product. I went through 4-5 cans and was never able to get more than half of the product out of the cans before it quit. Very frustrating. The stuff doesn't come out when you want it to, but repeatedly leaks out when you don't want it to. Finally threw the whole thong away.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Inconsistent
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>