728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 23 in. Electric Fireplace Insert

23 in. Electric Fireplace Insert

Instantly retrofit your existing fireplace by adding both flame effect and heat with this Pleasant Hearth Electric Insert. Energy efficient LED technology powers this log set, and it's easily installed by plugging into any 120 Volt outlet. Add instant ambience to your fireplace and heat a room up to 144 sq.ft. at the same time. Remote control included.
Overall rating:
4.162 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(74 reviews) 74
Open Ratings Snapshot
84%of customersrecommend this product61 of 73reviews
Rating Breakdown 74 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(40)
4
(21)
3
(3)
2
(5)
1
(5)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
84%of customersrecommend this product61 of 73reviews
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer reviews for 23 in. Electric Fireplace Insert
Review 1 for 23 in. Electric Fireplace Insert
Rbond
from St. Louis, MO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Great ambiance

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I enjoy my electric fireplace logs it gives you the real life effects of a fireplace burning. It is so relaxing!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Quiet, Good Size & Weight, Reliable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 23 in. Electric Fireplace Insert
Diana
from Bear, DE, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Love it!!

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just love this electric insert. It looks very real and I can have a "roaring" fire with just the flick of a remote, without the clean-up of ashes!! The heater does not exactly put out a lot of heat but it will take the chill off the room. And, it's a lot less expensive than having a gas insert installed.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Great Value
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 23 in. Electric Fireplace Insert
Cozy
from CT
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love it

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It is perfect and tucks right into the mantle I have in my bedroom. The flames are so real looking and it throws off nice heat if u want it. There is a fan u hear when heat is on but it's not annoying. I love the remote that I keep on my bed stand.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Great Value
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 23 in. Electric Fireplace Insert
Kidsrn
from Columbus, OH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Great warmth!!!

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased to warm a basement rec room. Placeed in non-working fireplace. Does a great job warming the room and looks real!! I purchased another similar fireplace insert for our upstairs fireplace and we love it as well!
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Quiet, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, High Quality, Economical, Reliable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 23 in. Electric Fireplace Insert
Debbie

Warm in Missouri

PostedNovember 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We love our new fireplace insert. For several years we quit building fires in our fireplace because of the many steps to build and clean up after the fire. Hence, I didn't even use our living room because of the high ceiling and draft in the cold winter. Now, I thoroughly enjoy this main room in our house immensely because of our new beautiful and warm fireplace. It takes the chill off the room and looks elegant at the same time without any fuss!! I turn it on daily even without the heat on those nicer days. We love it!! Great buy for the dollars!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Quiet, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Economical
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 23 in. Electric Fireplace Insert
Amanda

Love it

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love the look! It looks so real but less mess. Awesome buy;)
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Great Value, Easy to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 23 in. Electric Fireplace Insert
njk636
from MA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Perfect solution!

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Installed easily. Electric cord went down the trash flap in the fireplace and connected in the basement. No plug upstairs required. I sat my unit on black cat andirons and it looks terrific. The remote works instantly, the insert throws adequate heat and adds charm and coziness to the room. Everyone exclaims how lovely it looks. I am VERY pleased with it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Quiet, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Lots of Features, High Quality, Economical, Light Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 23 in. Electric Fireplace Insert
Bev4710
from Midlothian, Tx
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Perfect Solution

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We removed our old propane gas logs and replaced with this fireplace insert. Now I can have a "fire" anytime I want without the "dirty" mess of propane. Now I "burn" my fireplace all the time (with or without the heat option). The installation was as easy as 1-2-3. Product is well made and fit our situation perfectly. The ONLY thing I would change is I wish it crackled more like a real fire.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Great Value, Reliable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 23 in. Electric Fireplace Insert
Gena
from Evansville, IN, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Yearly

great product!!!

PostedNovember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have used it every day since we have gotten it even when it has been in the high 70s. We only use the flame, no heat on those days. We took the back off and it fit great into our fireplace. I just wish I would have known it came without the back also. That product was not available when I looked for it before my purchase, but I received an e-mail with suggested products that "I might like".
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 23 in. Electric Fireplace Insert
butchie
from Orlando, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

electric fireplaces

PostedOctober 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
the 23in electric fireplace insert we ordered is GREAT! I was afraid it would look too fake, but they did a good job making it look real, and we can use it all year long because it has on/off heater with a remote controllor so you don't even have to get up!!!! This is way better than fake logs or a DVD on the tv. We live in Florida so it is perfect!!!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Quiet, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Lots of Features, High Quality, Economical, Reliable
Cons: realistic flame, no clean up or smell, use all year long, is also a heater
+20points
21out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 23 in. Electric Fireplace Insert
Snickers
from Moody, Wells, ME 04090, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Nice

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We like these electric inserts as they add a bit of ambience and heat the room also. The only issue is that they give off a funny smell when you use them for the first few times.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
Cons: ambience, gives off a odor when used for the first few times
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 23 in. Electric Fireplace Insert
Joey
from Daytona Beach, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very happy with this product

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I could not ask for anything more , shipped right away and works perfect , like the heater option.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Quiet, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Lots of Features
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 23 in. Electric Fireplace Insert
Jama
from California, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Yearly

These product has great features

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We are extremely pleased with the function and performance of the product. It looks beautiful and the heating mechanism works very well. I love the variation and the intensity of the colors of the burning wood and embers and the way the flames dance is a cute touch.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Quiet, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 23 in. Electric Fireplace Insert
Dave
from Brazoria, TX 77422, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Looks great; quiet; reasonable heat output; great remote control

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It looks surprisingly realistic. The only sound is from the heater fan and only when the heat function is selected.
Other reviews mentioned low heat output. I found it low at first but left on for over 30 minutes or so, it does build up enough to be comfortable in my 200 sf space. 400 sf maybe a stretch. Higher fan capacity would distribute more heat faster with a little more noise but it would be the user's choice to pick a lower quieter setting after the room is comfortable.
When I bought this fireplace insert, I wasn't thinking about the remote control. It turned out to be a much appreciated convenience.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Quiet, Stylish, Light Weight
Cons: could use higher fan settings to heat faster
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 23 in. Electric Fireplace Insert
mark
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Monthly

nice

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
it is a nice piece , the look is good , as far as low flames,but as far as the heater it does not supply much. we put it in the existing fireplace and you can not feel any heat at the front of the fireplace, so we keep the heat mode off and just use the flame feature.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Economical
Cons: Noisy, Inconsistent, heater part not what is advertised
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 23 in. Electric Fireplace Insert
jess
from Norwood, MA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Yearly

disappointing appearance when not in use.

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I wish they had taken more attention to the details. When not in use the insert is flat black. Doesn't even closely resemble burnt embers. In use it does produce great heating and somewhat of an ambiance although clearly I got what I paid for.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from By GHP Group Inc. SupportMarch 11, 2014By GHP Group Inc. SupportMarch 11, 2014
Hi Jess,
Please let us know if there is anything we can assist you with. We can be reached at customerservice@ghpgroupinc.com, just put "6440" in the subject line please. Thank you.
- GHP Group Customer Service Teamghpgroupinc
Review 17 for 23 in. Electric Fireplace Insert
Shivers
from Cahokia, lL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Yearly

I like the remote control and it adds beauty to our room.

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We are very happy with the fireplace insert we purchased It heats our large living room very well. I would recommend this product to a friend.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Great Value
Cons: Noisy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 23 in. Electric Fireplace Insert
ComparisonShopper
from Rockaway Township, NJ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Electric FIreplace Heater

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product performs well, looks great, and is priced right. It does not make a crackling sound, but for me that is a plus, as I like to watch TV while it is on. The flames are realistic looking.......pictures do not do it justice. The remote control feature is awesome. It was well protected in the packaging when it arrived. Overall, one of my better purchases.
Pros: Performs Well, Quiet, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, High Quality, Economical, Light Weight
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 23 in. Electric Fireplace Insert
seniornetman
from Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Worked somewhat for a short time

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The visual was fine and it did work a little. It could help warm the room some if it was not too cold. It lasted a few weeks and then just did not power up any more. I plan to return it soon.
Pros: Quiet, Good Size & Weight
Cons: not powerful enough and not durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By GHP Group Inc. SupportFebruary 18, 2014By GHP Group Inc. SupportFebruary 18, 2014
Please let us know if there is still anything else we can do for you. We can be reached at 877-447-4768 or customerservice@ghpgroupinc.com. We look forward to assisting you, thank you.
- GHP Group Customer Service Teamghpgroupinc
Review 20 for 23 in. Electric Fireplace Insert
Nannee
from Arizona, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Goodbye to no burn days we can have fireplace on anytime!

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We have a large wool burning fire place and didn't want to have the expense of putting in a gas burning log set so this worked great for us. Logs have a nice flame and with the heater on it puts out just enough warm air in our family room. Easy to turn off and on with remote control. Cord could be just a bit longer for the fireplace unit. Best part no ashes to clean up and clean outside air..
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>