728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 23 in. Electric Fireplace Insert

23 in. Electric Fireplace Insert

Instantly retrofit your existing fireplace by adding both flame effect and heat with this Pleasant Hearth Electric Insert. Energy efficient LED technology powers this log set, and it's easily installed by plugging into any 120 Volt outlet. Add instant ambience to your fireplace and heat a room up to 144 sq.ft. at the same time. Remote control included.
Overall rating:
4.133 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(83 reviews) 83
Open Ratings Snapshot
83%of customersrecommend this product67 of 81reviews
Rating Breakdown 83 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(44)
4
(23)
3
(4)
2
(7)
1
(5)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
83%of customersrecommend this product67 of 81reviews
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 19 Answers
Customer reviews for 23 in. Electric Fireplace Insert
Review 1 for 23 in. Electric Fireplace Insert
from Vermilion, OH
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not what you think

PostedOctober 18, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this unit to sit inside my existing fireplace mantle. The back is higher than expected and needed some fine tuning to get inside. This has a nice finished look to it. The heat is slightly less than advertised in my opinion. Although it kicks off and on like a heater should, the fan blower does not put out much heat. The most disappointing is the lighting. You just can't see it. Lit by a string of very small yellow LED lights, it is just washed out. No ambiance at all and no way to replace or upgrade the lighting to make brighter. If you just need a heater for your fireplace for a smaller room, this will do.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
Cons: poor lighting and heat.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Response from By GHP Group Inc. SupportOctober 21, 2014By GHP Group Inc. SupportOctober 21, 2014
Hey Steve,

We are sorry to hear that you are not completely satisfied with your unit. Please feel free to give us a call at 877-447-4768 and we can resolve this issue with you. Thanks.

- GHP Group Customer Service Teamghpgroupinc
Review 2 for 23 in. Electric Fireplace Insert
from St. Louis, MO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Great ambiance

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I enjoy my electric fireplace logs it gives you the real life effects of a fireplace burning. It is so relaxing!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Quiet, Good Size & Weight, Reliable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 23 in. Electric Fireplace Insert
from Knoxville, TN
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

23 in. Electric Fireplace Insert

PostedOctober 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Take it out of box, plug it in, turn it on, finished. What could be better? I thought it arrived really quick after I ordered it.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 23 in. Electric Fireplace Insert
from Bear, DE, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Love it!!

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just love this electric insert. It looks very real and I can have a "roaring" fire with just the flick of a remote, without the clean-up of ashes!! The heater does not exactly put out a lot of heat but it will take the chill off the room. And, it's a lot less expensive than having a gas insert installed.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Great Value
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 23 in. Electric Fireplace Insert
from Braintree, MA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great fireplace

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The fireplace warms up my entire 400 sq. foot living room. Love the flames! It makes my living room very cozy and inviting.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 23 in. Electric Fireplace Insert
from parma, Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great concept!

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love this concept. However, my electrician highly recommended that I have an outlet solely for this product which I cannot do due to the way the house is set up and the cost for the new wiring. Therefore, I need to return this product. This truly saddens me!
Pros: Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 23 in. Electric Fireplace Insert
from Umatilla, Fl
Age Range:55 to 64
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Really ads some warmth and coziness to my living room.

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought a 1925 Spanish bungalow with a fireplace in Florida. Didn't think I needed that much heat so I bought this little electric fireplace. It does warm up the living room and looks great. If I had more fireplaces in other rooms I would have bought one for each of them. I just love it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Durable, High Quality, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 23 in. Electric Fireplace Insert
from Evansville, IN, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Yearly

great product!!!

PostedNovember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have used it every day since we have gotten it even when it has been in the high 70s. We only use the flame, no heat on those days. We took the back off and it fit great into our fireplace. I just wish I would have known it came without the back also. That product was not available when I looked for it before my purchase, but I received an e-mail with suggested products that "I might like".
+28points
28out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 23 in. Electric Fireplace Insert
from Orlando, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

electric fireplaces

PostedOctober 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
the 23in electric fireplace insert we ordered is GREAT! I was afraid it would look too fake, but they did a good job making it look real, and we can use it all year long because it has on/off heater with a remote controllor so you don't even have to get up!!!! This is way better than fake logs or a DVD on the tv. We live in Florida so it is perfect!!!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Quiet, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Lots of Features, High Quality, Economical, Reliable
Cons: realistic flame, no clean up or smell, use all year long, is also a heater
+21points
22out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 23 in. Electric Fireplace Insert
from Midlothian, Tx
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Perfect Solution

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We removed our old propane gas logs and replaced with this fireplace insert. Now I can have a "fire" anytime I want without the "dirty" mess of propane. Now I "burn" my fireplace all the time (with or without the heat option). The installation was as easy as 1-2-3. Product is well made and fit our situation perfectly. The ONLY thing I would change is I wish it crackled more like a real fire.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Great Value, Reliable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 23 in. Electric Fireplace Insert

Noisy

PostedSeptember 25, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Very noisy, has a loud hum to it, then is even noisier when you turn the heat on. Power cord should be longer, ours sits in the fireplace and the outlet isn't that close.heat doesn't come on all the time, it actually turns off. I don't know if this is suppose to happen, there is nothing in the manual about self-heat-control so I'm calling the company in the morning
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By GHP Group Inc. SupportSeptember 29, 2014By GHP Group Inc. SupportSeptember 29, 2014
Hey Bonbon,

We are sorry to hear you are having issues with your unit. We hope that you reached out to us. Please update your review to reflect whether or not this issue was resolved. Thank you!

- GHP Group Customer Service Teamghpgroupinc
Review 12 for 23 in. Electric Fireplace Insert
from Rockaway Township, NJ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Electric FIreplace Heater

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product performs well, looks great, and is priced right. It does not make a crackling sound, but for me that is a plus, as I like to watch TV while it is on. The flames are realistic looking.......pictures do not do it justice. The remote control feature is awesome. It was well protected in the packaging when it arrived. Overall, one of my better purchases.
Pros: Performs Well, Quiet, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, High Quality, Economical, Light Weight
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 23 in. Electric Fireplace Insert
from Brazoria, TX 77422, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Looks great; quiet; reasonable heat output; great remote control

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It looks surprisingly realistic. The only sound is from the heater fan and only when the heat function is selected.
Other reviews mentioned low heat output. I found it low at first but left on for over 30 minutes or so, it does build up enough to be comfortable in my 200 sf space. 400 sf maybe a stretch. Higher fan capacity would distribute more heat faster with a little more noise but it would be the user's choice to pick a lower quieter setting after the room is comfortable.
When I bought this fireplace insert, I wasn't thinking about the remote control. It turned out to be a much appreciated convenience.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Quiet, Stylish, Light Weight
Cons: could use higher fan settings to heat faster
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 23 in. Electric Fireplace Insert
from West Chicago, IL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very enjoyable to watch the fire and the heat is nice if needed. I would recomend

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very easy to install and works great. Just removed the old fire grate and set this in place and pluged it in.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: no negative comments, well worth the money
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 23 in. Electric Fireplace Insert
from CT
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love it

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It is perfect and tucks right into the mantle I have in my bedroom. The flames are so real looking and it throws off nice heat if u want it. There is a fan u hear when heat is on but it's not annoying. I love the remote that I keep on my bed stand.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Great Value
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 23 in. Electric Fireplace Insert
from Columbus, OH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Great warmth!!!

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased to warm a basement rec room. Placeed in non-working fireplace. Does a great job warming the room and looks real!! I purchased another similar fireplace insert for our upstairs fireplace and we love it as well!
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Quiet, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, High Quality, Economical, Reliable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 23 in. Electric Fireplace Insert

Warm in Missouri

PostedNovember 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We love our new fireplace insert. For several years we quit building fires in our fireplace because of the many steps to build and clean up after the fire. Hence, I didn't even use our living room because of the high ceiling and draft in the cold winter. Now, I thoroughly enjoy this main room in our house immensely because of our new beautiful and warm fireplace. It takes the chill off the room and looks elegant at the same time without any fuss!! I turn it on daily even without the heat on those nicer days. We love it!! Great buy for the dollars!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Quiet, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Economical
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 23 in. Electric Fireplace Insert

Great Looking and Very Functional

PostedDecember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The price is a little steep for this unit, but that is the only con. I'm actually glad we sprung for the more expensive one considering how great it looks in our fireplace compared to others I've seen. Since putting it in we've received several compliments. It looks as close to a real fireplace on and off as you can get.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Quiet, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Good Shape, Lots of Features, High Quality, Reliable
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 23 in. Electric Fireplace Insert
from Moody, Wells, ME 04090, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Nice

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We like these electric inserts as they add a bit of ambience and heat the room also. The only issue is that they give off a funny smell when you use them for the first few times.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
Cons: ambience, gives off a odor when used for the first few times
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 23 in. Electric Fireplace Insert
from Daytona Beach, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very happy with this product

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I could not ask for anything more , shipped right away and works perfect , like the heater option.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Quiet, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Lots of Features
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>