728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop LED Light Bulbs or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 4 in. 9.5-Watt (65W) Soft White (2700K) LED Downlight

4 in. 9.5-Watt (65W) Soft White (2700K) LED Downlight

The EcoSmart 9.5-Watt LED Downlight Light Bulb (E)* is an energy-efficient way to add extra lighting to your home. This long-lasting bulb features Cree TrueWhite technology for color accuracy and contains virtually no mercury for safe and environmentally friendly use. (E)* means this bulb meets Federal minimum efficiency standards.
Overall rating:
4.625 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(40 reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product35 of 37reviews
Rating Breakdown 40 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(31)
4
(6)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product35 of 37reviews
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 26 Answers
Customer reviews for 4 in. 9.5-Watt (65W) Soft White (2700K) LED Downlight
Review 1 for 4 in. 9.5-Watt (65W) Soft White (2700K) LED Downlight
from Virginia
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent can light upgrades

PostedJune 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have been experimenting with various bulbs for the 7 recessed can fixtures in my kitchen. I came across these 4" LEDs and tried one. I was blown away by the quality and amount of light it put out. I was quick to convert the other 6. These are fantastic lights that work with my dimmer so my wife can turn them down low in the evening. The installation was really easy. I learned to set the tabs so that they just touch the inside of the can and then once it is flush with the ceiling twist the trim ring to lock it in place. If you extend the tabs a push straight up into the can it doesn't sit flush with the ceiling. So I went from 455 watts to 66.5. I light the whole kitchen with the same energy I was using for one incandescent. You won't go wrong with these lights. I am now looking to convert more house lights to LED.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 4 in. 9.5-Watt (65W) Soft White (2700K) LED Downlight
from East Windsor, NJ, USA

BETTER Than Incandescent

PostedNovember 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Yes, it's BETTER than incandescent alternatives.
1) The light quality is on par with/better than 12V MR16 halogens. It's crisp, bright, and not in any way "artificial".
2) There is no radiant heat given off my the bulbs compared to regular PAR or MR type bulbs. This is good because you can get MUCH more light in an area where you might otherwise be restricted by heat.
3) The fixtures use much less energy so where you may have previously needed to add a new circuit (for example, if you are adding 20 new lights @ 50W each = 1000W), you can get away with using an existing circuit (20 x 9.5W = 190W), cutting down on your install costs.
4) While the cost may seem high, consider that buying trim alone will typically run $12 - $24 per fixture depending on the type of trim. Because this light has a built in trim, the cost ends up being much more economical when you factor that in if you are doing clean installs (obviously a sunk cost if you are replacing existing trim).
5) It's as bright as the CR6 6 inch units as far as I can tell but uses less energy.
6) Fits fine in standard Halo H99RICAT 4" remodel recessed fixtures available at Home Depot as well.
7) FANTASTIC with CFL/LED dimmer. The electrician remarked that he'd never seen a CFL/LED that dimmed this low.
The one negative that I can think of is that you cannot change the trim and thus you cannot direct the light. If you need to be able to match the trim to existing trim or if you need to have trim that allows aiming of the light, the CR4 will not meet your needs.
Honestly, having seen these myself, I would never buy incandescent ever again. There's simply no point because these are so good that they are EVEN BETTER than the incandescent PAR and MR bulbs.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+14points
16out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 4 in. 9.5-Watt (65W) Soft White (2700K) LED Downlight
from California
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great light with wide dispersion.

PostedJanuary 18, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The light from this is very good, and matches the 2700K rating. It dims down very low, at least down to 5%. The dispersion is rather wide. I did some measurements and it's just as wide as the 6" version. This is contrary to some stated opinions that 4" lights are for spotlighting only.
Actually it dims down to something like 2% but somewhere below 5% the light turns green. Some reviews here have been denying that it turns green, but it's because their dimmer isn't set as low as it can go. It only dims that low and turns green when I adjust the dimmer to it's lowest setting. And by the time it's green the light is so low you'd never set your dimmer setting that low. I'm not talking about the outward facing user dim control on the switch, I'm talking about the internal dimmer setting dial that the better dimmers have that give you control over the range of the user facing main control. So this green-ness is not a problem in practice and not a negative.
Pros: Eco-Friendly, Great Dimming, Nice Design, Easy Installation, wide dispersion.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 4 in. 9.5-Watt (65W) Soft White (2700K) LED Downlight
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Agreed with reviews, worth it!

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Just remodeled my kitchen and was first decided on a different led 4" solution... but found these lights and was intrigued. Looked up the reviews, and as everyone states - they do have fantastic color & brightness. 20' x 16' kitchen and put in (8) 4" (From my findings 4" cans are best at 4' apart based on a 8' ceiling) They dim great- go with a LED dimmer for best range...
They value does seem a little high - however, if you are doing new construction and recessed... you can save on the trim since these lights are built in with the trim. Also long term savings on rarely having to buy bulbs.
My last small praise is that I am happy that the design hides the LED look - many brands make their LED bulbs look over the top high tech with crazy silvers and ugly bulb coverings. These come with a frosted covering so you really can't even tell that they are LED!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 4 in. 9.5-Watt (65W) Soft White (2700K) LED Downlight

Very bright, excellent color, no pixelation.

PostedNovember 17, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ecosmart is HD house brand. The actual lamp is manufactured by Cree. I bought one to try out. Much brighter than the 40W halogen it replaced. Very good color reproduction. No hum. No pixelation; extremely diffuse light source over the entire lens. Baffle is a little small. If your cutout for the can is a bit too large, the baffle might not cover it.
The only complaint I have is that the depth of the lens from the baffle is a bit shorter than a standard downlight, which means that the cut-off is compromised. We have a 10' ceiling, and sometimes the lens and lamp are not blocked by the baffle. It probably won't bother me once I get used to it.
I am going back to the store for 11 more.
Cree / HD Ecosmart should offer a 5" version of this light. They have 6" & 4" but not 5" and our house is full of 5" cans!
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 4 in. 9.5-Watt (65W) Soft White (2700K) LED Downlight

Great for 4" remodel housing

PostedJanuary 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
For anyone wondering, these are shallow enough to fit a typical 4" remodel housing with a shallow depth. I installed some into the Halo H99RTAT without any issue.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 4 in. 9.5-Watt (65W) Soft White (2700K) LED Downlight

Cree is the best

PostedNovember 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The only ones that offer >90 CRI. Can't tell next to Halogen except they stay same color as dimmed. Slightly brighter than my 6' Crees but I can dimm to equivalency.
Don't buy any other brand. CRIs are 85 max.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 4 in. 9.5-Watt (65W) Soft White (2700K) LED Downlight

These recessed lights are the best

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I've been slowly replacing all of my recessed lights with these. The color matches the incandescent lights I had. But, it uses a fraction of the power. Before, I was constantly changing bulbs, but these last forever. Because they are pricey, I only rate them as average value. Everything else is excellent.
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly, Great Dimming, Easy Installation, long life
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 4 in. 9.5-Watt (65W) Soft White (2700K) LED Downlight

great product but!!

PostedMarch 20, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have used both the 4 inch and 6 inch diameter LED downlights with good results.nice even light.Have you got a similar unit for a 5 inch diameter downlight or a spring clip replacement that will allow a 4 inch unit to be used in a 5 inch downlight can?Please respond.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 4 in. 9.5-Watt (65W) Soft White (2700K) LED Downlight

Great downlight option

PostedMarch 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I looked hard to find an led kitchen light with a color as close to incandescent as I could find. These are rated at a color of 2700 Kelvin, which is in the incandescent range. They seem a little "whiter" than that, but aren't as offensive as a lot of the "clinical" white led lights floating around. They are also a Cree product, have had good experiences with their leds in the past. I also like the easy "twist" release feature to remove the light if desired.
Pros: great light
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 4 in. 9.5-Watt (65W) Soft White (2700K) LED Downlight

5 in to 4 inch adapter

PostedDecember 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Some of you will have, like I have 5 inch downlights and want to fit the 4 inch Cree in that housing. Well they fall out. Solution: buy a 4 inch ID schedule 40 PVC. A two foot section is $7.30. The outside (OD) diameter is 4.5 inches and thus you need to glue 3 each, spaced at 120 degrees each, 1/4 inch strips the the outside of the pipe and use RTV/ Construction/Silicone Adhesive to slide that into the 5 inch housing. Let it dry until the adhesive sets up and then connect the CREE bulb to the socket and push it in. Problem solved. I did 6 lights that way. Make sure the rim does not leave any gaps. I used the 5inch rims of the old lights and it stil looks great.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 4 in. 9.5-Watt (65W) Soft White (2700K) LED Downlight
from Miami, FL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

horrible product do not buy it

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought 7 of those and after 1 week installed they are 5 of them are not working properly. I have to switch it on and off 4 or 5 times to get the lights to come up. it was expensive and now I have to find another solution.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 4 in. 9.5-Watt (65W) Soft White (2700K) LED Downlight

Excellent amount of light, great natural color like incandescent

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We had these installed 2 months ago. We bought them because they were one of the few LED kids at the 2700 temperature, which is VERY close to incandescent lighting. So far we are thrilled with the color and amount of light these emit in our living room. These seem very easy to install, though I had our electrician do it because he had to run all the wiring anyway. Highly recommend if you are looking for LED lights that look natural, like incandescent bulbs.
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly, Stylish, Great Dimming, Nice Design, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 4 in. 9.5-Watt (65W) Soft White (2700K) LED Downlight
from Darien, IL, USA

A light that works as described

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
All parts worked as designed. Good quality so far. A little on the pricy side.
Pros: Eco-Friendly, Great Dimming, Easy Replacement
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 4 in. 9.5-Watt (65W) Soft White (2700K) LED Downlight

excellent light

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Can't say too many good things about this product. I went against the advise of my kitchen designer who recommended a more expensive fixture. Couple this bulb with a $15 recessed can and you've got a top quality LED light fixture for $50 instead of $200.
Pros: Stylish, Easy Replacement, Eco-Friendly, Very Bright, Great Dimming, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 4 in. 9.5-Watt (65W) Soft White (2700K) LED Downlight
from Denver, CO
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Product

PostedFebruary 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The product installs easily, looks great and provides excellent light.
Pros: Great Dimming, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 4 in. 9.5-Watt (65W) Soft White (2700K) LED Downlight
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great light

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Put one of these over the kitchen to replace an incandescent. The light is much brighter and very clean. I have used the 6" versions in other places in the house and this is just as nice. The unit is high quality and is on almost 24/7. Instant on/off and it only uses 10W. Highly recommend these for applications where you keep the light on for extended periods or hard to access places as they should last a long time. The price is a little high is my only complaint.
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly, Great Dimming, Nice Design, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
Cons: price
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 4 in. 9.5-Watt (65W) Soft White (2700K) LED Downlight
from Edmonton Alberta
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

1 year later - failed. Nice light not for damp locations

PostedNovember 30, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Looking for a replacement light in ceiling of open shower. Installed in existing pot light box in insulated attic above shower in main bath. Installed real easy, see other comments about twisting to insure flush with ceiling. Great color and brightness and aesthetically pleasing.
Light specified designed for damp locations. Lasted 14 months (generous estimate would be 3000 hrs rated aprox 30 000 hrs). Pulled apart and found droplets of water dripping from circuit board casing and electronics fried. There was minor condensation on inside of insulated box (-15 C in attic) but no condensation damage to drywall etc....
Advice: see if product has been improved with sealed electronics otherwise don't install in damp locations.
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly, Very Bright, Nice Design, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
Cons: Burns Out
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 4 in. 9.5-Watt (65W) Soft White (2700K) LED Downlight
from California, USA

Gorgeous color rendering Bright Beautiful light

PostedJune 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am doing a kitchen, dining and living room remodel and was looking for something to go in the Helo 99RTAT 4" inch cans. I came across these and the Commecial Electric models at my local HD. These were nothing short of fantastic. Instant on, gorgeous bright diffused light. Works well with dimmer. Ended up buying another 10 and put them throughout. My only potential concern is the stated wattage. At the local HD store, they had the similar 6" 9.5 watt plugged into a Kill A Watt wattage
Tester. It was showing a 18-20 watt draw. Not a deal breaker but wondered if others had same result.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 4 in. 9.5-Watt (65W) Soft White (2700K) LED Downlight
from Connecticut
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A great bulb and money saver

PostedMay 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We've had these recessed lights in our kitchen for about a year. Just bought more for the family room. The color is soft white 2700K, dispersed and appears identical to the old recessed flood. Best of all since our kitchen lights stay on for long periods, at least 4 to 5 hours a day on average these bulbs pay for themselves in KW savings.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>