728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Landscape & Deck Lighting or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit

Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit

Illuminate pathways and trees around your yard with the Malibu Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit. This low voltage lighting kit is a quick and simple way to enhance your curb appeal and add extra security. Cast-metal construction resists weathering and corrosion for long-lasting strength and offers a pleasant charcoal brown finish.
Overall rating:
4.105 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(105 reviews) 105
Open Ratings Snapshot
87%of customersrecommend this product88 of 101reviews
Rating Breakdown 105 reviews
4.1 out of 5
5
(58)
4
(24)
3
(7)
2
(8)
1
(8)
Appearance 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
87%of customersrecommend this product88 of 101reviews
Customer questions and answers:
18 Questions | 127 Answers
Customer reviews for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit
Review 1 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit

love them!

PostedJune 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Yes, installing them can be a little tricky, but they are hands down the best looking for the money! They put out way more light than I expected and use so little energy! Not having to change bulbs because of the LED bulbs is a big plus. Really like the fact they are metal, not cheep plastic like so many landscape light kits! (well made for the money) Install took a couple of hours, hardest was the digging to hide the cabels. Turned them on for the first time last night and was so blown away on how good they looked, I went and bought two more floods for the front of the house! Very pleased with them and would highly recommend them to my neighbors!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit
from Monterey, CA

Good product, wrong wire

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
As with others, I found the wire width too narrow for the connectors provided. Rather than go through the hassle of returning them I just made a short split between the two wires and put a small piece of wood (toothpick size) which widened the wire enough for the points to make contact. Shouldn't have to do this and Malibu gets low marks for it but otherwise I was happy with the product.
Pros: Functional, Nice Design, not too bright for night lighting, color good for night lighting
Cons: wrong sized wiring for connectors
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit
from Brea Ca
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great purchase no negatives on the cord here...

PostedJune 11, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I also read the reviews of this light set before I purchased it and was concerned about the negatives on the cord they use for this set and the difficulty people had making the connection..I had "0" problems with any of the connections. I actually bought an extra light to add to the set and had no problem at all. As long as the cord is flat between the connectors and you push them together straight they will "click" in place and the light should come on..It did everytime, and I love the amount of light they put out and how they blend into my walkway landscape..I am very glad I have these...If you have difficulty you know Home Depot will let you return them...Give 'em a try....
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Very Bright, Nice Design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit

Great Lights!!

PostedApril 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We just purchased and installed these lights. The installation was easy to complete. The charcoal brown description is a poor way to describe the color. The color is a rich chocolate brown color that blends really nice with the landscape and looks great! I was worried about the LED lights being the cold bright white color that most LED lights are. These are not!! They are a warm yellow light that looks like halogen lights! They look outstanding. I recommend these lights as they look great and really enhanced the look of our landscaping!!!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+26points
27out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit
from Wake Forest, NC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Tall with Modern low profile

PostedApril 5, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Love the modern low profile of the lights. Super easy to assemble and install. Wanted a downward light for the front walkway, this set fits in the garden bed nicely without looking busy in the garden bed. The set comes with 4 path and 2 flood ...We needed 5 path lights for our walkway and 3 flood to highlight our trees so we were happy you could order single lights. The Led is a warm light glow!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Fast / Speed, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit
from Overland Park, KS
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great design-- bright and easy to install!

PostedNovember 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Not sure if they changed anything but I had no problems with the wiring included with the kit. I had to squeeze down pretty tight on the connectors but each light worked without any issues. Light output was way better than I thought it would be! Very easy to install. Light is warm and doesn't look LEDish if you're used to the 5000k in solar lighting.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Very Bright, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit
from Melbourne Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Looks GREAT!! Easy To Install!! The Wife loves Them!!

PostedJune 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
These lights look GREAT! They put the light where you want it "On The Sidewalk", and plenty of it. This now completes my outside change over to all LED lighting, I now have less light fixtures cluttering the house and yard and MORE light... and a lower electric bill :-)'.! I will pass on a little hint that made the install Extra easy, when you get the wire set in the connector use a hair dryer on high heat for about 15 - 20 seconds then press the connector together, the heat makes the wire a little softer and easier for the probes to bite in the wire.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Nice Design
Cons: none
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit
from Chandler, AZ, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Simple yet Elegant!!

PostedJuly 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We remodeled our front yard & I picked these for our contractor to install. He's a professional so it was very easy for him. My husband & I are so happy with the lights, especially the fact they're LED & never have to reset the timer since they're on photo cell. Like another reviewer said, the spot lights are not harsh but warm yellow & give just enough brightness. They survived heavy rain & gusty winds just fine in Arizona. We got so many compliments.
Pros: Well Made, Unique, High Quality of Material, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit
from Marana, AZ, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install, looks great, decent price.

PostedOctober 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit, purchased at Home Depot. At first, I was only looking to purchase the lights, since I already owned a power pack and 200 ft of wire. Purchasing the lights separately would have been much more expensive than buying this kit.
For the price, you can't get a better product. The lights are easy to install and come with everything you'll need, unless you need more wire... The power pack is very nice. I ended up using the new power pack instead of mine. The power pack has an integrated light sensor to be able to program the On/Off times however you want; very handy! I ended up placing each path light 12 feet apart from each other and they light up the path very nicely. I used the spot lights to light up the house walls and it creates a really nice view.
A couple of improvements I would like to see are metal stakes. The stakes that come with the kit are plastic. They are okay, but past lights I have purchased have had metal stakes and have proven to be much better, specially in the hard soil we have here in AZ. I already broke one of the stakes and will need to purchase a replacement.
Another thing I would like to see is a kit option without the power pack or wire, just lights. With the low wattage of the lights, some people (like me) will end up running several hundred feet of wire to finish lighting up the front and rear yards. The 75 feet of 18 gauge wire is a throw away for me. Also, I will end up buying about 4 of these kits but only using two of the power packs. I'll end up having two power packs that are wasted.
Overall, I would recommend this kit. Keep in mind, you'll likely end up buying more cable unless you have a really small area to light up and it is near an outlet.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Fast / Speed, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: plastic stakes, no option to buy a kit without power pack or wire
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit
from Arizona, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Beautiful Landscape Lighting!

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This lighting set is very modern looking The color is a warm brown and really adds to the landscape. I had professional landscapers install and they didn't seem to have any problems, although they did use their own clips which others complained did not work well.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit

Great Buy!

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Couldn't be happier with this purchase. Easy to install with the exception of getting the lights adjusted to come on with the clips that pierce the wire for connection. It takes a little patience but well worth it. The lighting looks awesome.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit
from Golden, CO
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice light set but very limited amount of light

PostedJuly 2, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
It is too early to tell how long these will last, but they look nice and were relatively easy to install. However, the path lights provide very little light. They are mostly decorative. The spot lights helped. We put them above the walkway and shown them down onto the sidewalk and that helped a lot.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Stylish
Cons: limited light
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit
from Palm Springs
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great addition to front yard

PostedJune 30, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This LED set was very easy to install and very sturdy. It has held up well in the Desert Winds we get.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The clips are a pain, but...

PostedMarch 8, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
As other reviews have indicated, getting the clips to "bite" the wire is tricky and frustrating if you don't get that connection the first time. I found getting the clip un-clipped for a second (and third, fourth) attempt was challenging but I did it, got them to connect and the lights look fantastic. Tip: Use a hairdryer on high heat, hold the section of the wire you are going to clip into in front if it for 10 seconds or so, making the wire will become more pliable, thus making the clip connection much easier. I tried this on the last three lights after a lot of cursing over the first three, and they went much faster. BTW, I am sure Home Depot and Malibu would NOT endorse doing this, I'm just telling you what worked for me.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Eco-Friendly
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit
from Avon Lake, OH
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent landscape lighting kit for DIYer!

PostedJune 2, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Was looking for a stylish LED lighting kit and this one from Malibu really fit the requirements. The styling of the lights was very good and the light output was very good. With LED lighting, the power supply is very small and compact. In other reviews there were some that struggled with connecting the lights to the wire. I did not really find this to be the case. By poking one of the wires into one side of the plug and then lining up the other wire as you squeezed the connector it worked first time, every time.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Very Bright, Nice Design
Cons: tricky connecting lights to wire
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit
from Des Moines, IA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Simple Installation, Great Light Set.

PostedJune 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this set to replace my existing landscape lighting, which burned through 25-watt, incandescent bulbs regularly. Like others, I was skeptical about the installation of this kit due to the gauge of the wire included in relation to the connectors on each fixture. To complete my setup, I also bought an additional light to add to the group. Once I got my lights laid out how I wanted them, including a flood light across the yard, the setup went extremely fast. The connectors snapped onto the wire with little effort and I was done in no time. The lights look great and I am extremely happy with the results and how quickly I was done with this project.
Setting up the Power Pack is really simple, unlike some of the timers I’ve used on my old system in the past. It has many time settings as well as dusk-till-dawn mode. Its 45-watts offers plenty of power to support a large number of lights. My setup with 6 path lights and 1 floodlight only consumes 6.6-watts. My old system, which used incandescent bulbs consumed 25-watts per fixture.
The folks who had trouble with this kit either did not take their time or did not follow the instructions, because it could not have been simpler. Time will tell if this set stands up to winters in Iowa, but they looks great for the time being.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Fast / Speed, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit
from Salt Point, NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Lighting Kit

PostedJune 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Light fixtures look good and provide good lighting along the path. So far everything is working fine. As usual with low voltage lighting, it is not the easiest thing to clip the fixtures to the wire and get both pins to contact the wire correctly.
Pros: Looks Great, Very Bright
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit
from Lake Orion, MI

Looks great. Two didn't work...HORRIBLE Customer Service

PostedJune 9, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased a set of these about 3 months ago. The spot lights are bright for LED's and they give off a nice light. The tall height of the path lights allow the light to disperse well. However, two of the canopy path lights didn't work out of the box. The box strictly says, do not return to the store, contact Malibu Customer Service. I contacted them, finally got them to agree to send me new lights and to expect them within 10 days. After two weeks, nothing received. I contacted them again, they said they apologize and will send them out right away. I get a tracking number shortly after. I get the shipment, it is two stakes for the base of the lights. Thinking this was a joke, I called them up, they said the lights are backordered for 2-3 weeks and will ship out as soon as they are in stock. This was on May 7th. Over a month later, no lights. I called them up once again and they gave me the tracking number from the shipment of the two stakes and say the replacements were already sent and the warranty claim is complete. I've been thrown around by them so many times and now I am just over the return policy for taking them back to Home Depot. I would advise to go with a different brand. I will no longer buy their products.
+25points
26out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit
from Newark de
Age Range:65 or over
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great lighting

PostedDecember 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After having 2 landscaping companies give me a 2000.00 bid to install lights. I purchased 2 sets of these lights. Laid everything out before dusk and with the help of a good lantern connected them at dark. Beautiful light color soft not LED white....Did purchase a couple additional, wall floods. Did have
trouble with a splitter connector but that was a cheap fix..Love these lights...Proud that I at 72 yo female did them myself....
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit
from Coral Gables, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Product for the Money

PostedNovember 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
When you analyze what is included in this kit versus buying each lamp and transformer separately, it makes abundant sense to purchase - 4 walkway lights, 2 spots and a 45 watt transformer. If you need more lights, it makes even more sense to buy two kits, although the second transformer is redundant since one 45 watt transformer is enough to power 8 walkway lights and 4 spots. Installation was straightforward and easy. The clips from the lamps to the wire are a bit flimsy but work.
The bonus is the second transformer (and additional 75 feet of wire) which now provides me flexibility to mix in some additional spots.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Fast / Speed, Looks Great, Nice Design
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>