728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Landscape & Deck Lighting or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit

Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit

Illuminate pathways and trees around your yard with the Malibu Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit. This low voltage lighting kit is a quick and simple way to enhance your curb appeal and add extra security. Cast-metal construction resists weathering and corrosion for long-lasting strength and offers a pleasant charcoal brown finish.
Overall rating:
3.841 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(69 reviews) 69
Open Ratings Snapshot
82%of customersrecommend this product54 of 66reviews
Rating Breakdown 69 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(33)
4
(14)
3
(7)
2
(8)
1
(7)
Appearance 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Quality 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
82%of customersrecommend this product54 of 66reviews
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 82 Answers
Customer reviews for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit
Review 1 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit
from Monterey, CA

Good product, wrong wire

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
As with others, I found the wire width too narrow for the connectors provided. Rather than go through the hassle of returning them I just made a short split between the two wires and put a small piece of wood (toothpick size) which widened the wire enough for the points to make contact. Shouldn't have to do this and Malibu gets low marks for it but otherwise I was happy with the product.
Pros: Functional, Nice Design, not too bright for night lighting, color good for night lighting
Cons: wrong sized wiring for connectors
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit

love them!

PostedJune 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Yes, installing them can be a little tricky, but they are hands down the best looking for the money! They put out way more light than I expected and use so little energy! Not having to change bulbs because of the LED bulbs is a big plus. Really like the fact they are metal, not cheep plastic like so many landscape light kits! (well made for the money) Install took a couple of hours, hardest was the digging to hide the cabels. Turned them on for the first time last night and was so blown away on how good they looked, I went and bought two more floods for the front of the house! Very pleased with them and would highly recommend them to my neighbors!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit

Great Lights!!

PostedApril 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We just purchased and installed these lights. The installation was easy to complete. The charcoal brown description is a poor way to describe the color. The color is a rich chocolate brown color that blends really nice with the landscape and looks great! I was worried about the LED lights being the cold bright white color that most LED lights are. These are not!! They are a warm yellow light that looks like halogen lights! They look outstanding. I recommend these lights as they look great and really enhanced the look of our landscaping!!!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit
from Marana, AZ, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install, looks great, decent price.

PostedOctober 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit, purchased at Home Depot. At first, I was only looking to purchase the lights, since I already owned a power pack and 200 ft of wire. Purchasing the lights separately would have been much more expensive than buying this kit.
For the price, you can't get a better product. The lights are easy to install and come with everything you'll need, unless you need more wire... The power pack is very nice. I ended up using the new power pack instead of mine. The power pack has an integrated light sensor to be able to program the On/Off times however you want; very handy! I ended up placing each path light 12 feet apart from each other and they light up the path very nicely. I used the spot lights to light up the house walls and it creates a really nice view.
A couple of improvements I would like to see are metal stakes. The stakes that come with the kit are plastic. They are okay, but past lights I have purchased have had metal stakes and have proven to be much better, specially in the hard soil we have here in AZ. I already broke one of the stakes and will need to purchase a replacement.
Another thing I would like to see is a kit option without the power pack or wire, just lights. With the low wattage of the lights, some people (like me) will end up running several hundred feet of wire to finish lighting up the front and rear yards. The 75 feet of 18 gauge wire is a throw away for me. Also, I will end up buying about 4 of these kits but only using two of the power packs. I'll end up having two power packs that are wasted.
Overall, I would recommend this kit. Keep in mind, you'll likely end up buying more cable unless you have a really small area to light up and it is near an outlet.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Fast / Speed, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: plastic stakes, no option to buy a kit without power pack or wire
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit
from Arizona, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Beautiful Landscape Lighting!

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This lighting set is very modern looking The color is a warm brown and really adds to the landscape. I had professional landscapers install and they didn't seem to have any problems, although they did use their own clips which others complained did not work well.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit
from Chandler, AZ, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Simple yet Elegant!!

PostedJuly 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We remodeled our front yard & I picked these for our contractor to install. He's a professional so it was very easy for him. My husband & I are so happy with the lights, especially the fact they're LED & never have to reset the timer since they're on photo cell. Like another reviewer said, the spot lights are not harsh but warm yellow & give just enough brightness. They survived heavy rain & gusty winds just fine in Arizona. We got so many compliments.
Pros: Well Made, Unique, High Quality of Material, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit
from Illinois
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Clean, simple lines, LED, landscape lights

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These are very clean looking and give excellent light directed downward where it best serves your path.
We already had landscape lighting installed so we did not have to install the power source, just removed the prior and hooked these to the existing cables. We have not been through an Illinois winter yet but I think the design will stand up to the wind. I'm excited about the savings of the LED and hope that they last a long while because I don't think they are replaceable, the whole light has to be replaced. They look great - day and night.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit
from Prescott Valley, AZ
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Piece of Junk!

PostedSeptember 29, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bought these as a replacement for some other low voltage lights that were looking dated. I followed all instructions and wouldn't you know it. 2 of the lights didn't work. I tried to reconnect them and the plastic connectors broke. I then wired them directly to the low voltage wire and still not working. So I started to check around and was only getting 4.9 volts out of the transformer. It should have been 12 volts per the decal on the transformer.
I plan on taking these back to the store tomorrow. Hopefully they don't give me a hard time about exchanging them out. They look good when they are off, but when on it is hard to say. I guess you get what you pay for!
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: junk, cheap plastic clips
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit
from Sarasota, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

wire size

PostedJanuary 17, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Lights look great, but the wire size provided in the kit is far to small for the connectors supplied. Malibu's customer service was worthless. Other than their representative coughing endlessly into the phone--- he provided absolutely no support. Home Depot might want to experience calling Malibu's support ( I don't think that they would be very pleased). Comment--- "So go buy a larger wire size". My point being-- I already paid for the wire supplied.
I am not making an issue of it since buying each piece individually would set me back more than what I paid for the kit, and for what I will be paying for the extra wire.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit
from San Diego, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

DO NOT USE the wiring that comes in the kit

PostedMay 24, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
I recently purchased 2 of these kits to install in my newly renovated yard and patio. I bought the kits because the kit price of all components was less expensive than buying on an individual piece basis and I needed this number of fixtures. I purchased additional flood lights to compliment the system.
Each kit comes with 75' of #18 gauge wiring included. Here's the problem... the width of the wire is too narrow to fit the fixture connectors properly. DO NOT USE THE WIRE PROVIDED in the kit. Save yourself the hassle of trying to get the connector pins to easily penetrate the narrow wire. It's not worth the effort to make it work without total frustration. I suggest you purchase at least #14 wire, which fits the Malibu connector fully and you should have no trouble connecting any of the kit provided lighting fixtures on the first attempt.
I discussed this problem with Malibu customer service and their answer was, "so buy bigger wire". I guess my problem is, if they're going to provide wire in the kit, why don't they provide wire of a size that works easily with the connector on their fixtures?? Why sell a product that makes it difficult for consumers to use without causing problems?
Other than this issue of too small of wire provided in the kit, I am happy with the look, style and light output of the fixtures themselves.
Pros: Stylish, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Assemble, wire provided in kit is too small
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit
from Newport Beach CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

BAD wire connectors

PostedJanuary 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Looks like a great set, LED is nice, but they use the same very poor quality connectors between the lights and the power wire. Infact, the LED wire is not as thick as the old non-LED kits, and the LED lights have the same connectors made for the thicker power line. This makes your connection between each light and the power line very unreliable. For this reason I am going to return this &&&& and will pay a little more for a more reliable product.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: unreliable connectors
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Try trimming the wire

PostedFebruary 22, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Like many others here, I found the wire included in the kit to be too narrow for the connectors to pierce. My solution wasn't to buy new wires, it was to trim a little notch of the insulation off of the wire with a utility knife (with the system powered off of course). That gives the connectors a fighting chance of making a connection with the power. To be safe I then bundled it all in electrical tape.
Overall, the system could be great, but a 'kit' needs to work together.
Pros: Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Very Bright
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit
from Wisconsin

Nice inexpensive outdoor lighting system

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
While you likely would never confuse this system with a more expensive kit (as the entire kit costs less than many single lights from other manufacturers), it's an OK looking system at a distance. The pieces them selves are lightweight and don't feel particularly sturdy. However, under normal situations, I wouldn't expect this to be an issue. Other than being buried in snow in the winter as our path lights often are, they don't need to be sturdy.
Installation went OK. Like some others, I did have trouble on occasion with the quick connectors. Some worked on the first time and others took many attempts to get right. I don't know why some were easy and the others were not. On one connector, I ended up needing to use a knife to cut away the outer cable protecting layer to make a more consistent connection.
We replaced some older lights from the same manufacturer that were showing their age as the outer glass had cracked on more than one. They were using a traditional outdoor light bulb at 7W. At the same time we replaced the old ones, I added an additional LED light (purchased separately) to increase the brightness of the system. I was EXTREMELY glad I had as these lights simply do not emit an equivalent amount of light. While the old lights were path lights and threw light all over (as they weren't shaded like these), they were bright enough to easily illuminate the sidewalk at night. These new lights I'd consider path lights still, but more like "mood" path lights as they simply are not as bright. In the few weeks since installation, we've grown accustomed to the change, but I would have preferred a slightly brighter light. I was glad I had bought and installed the extra light.
I originally bought this kit as it was cheaper to buy the kit with 4 lights than it was to buy 4 individual lights. As a bonus, it came with a smaller transformer and two additional lights for highlighting a tree/etc. (However, our deed restrictions prevent us from using that style of lighting).
We would have preferred a transformer that supported a remote light sensor (this one does not as it does not have the typical 3rd connection for the light sensor).
In summary, we like these lights. We liked them better because they were inexpensive and look decent enough. We'll be happy to not need to replace the bulbs as frequently as we had been with the older models.
Pros: Stylish, Functional, Nice Design
Cons: connectors
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit
from Greater NYC Area
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Okay if You Replace the Wire

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Other reviewers have said, and I agree, the poor wire supplied with this kit makes it very time consuming to install. Had I taken the reports of other reviewers to heart I would not buy this product. You will not get reliable connections using the supplied 18 gauge wire. I called Malibu to ask them how to use the supplied wire and I was told that "...you don't need more than 18 gauge wire with the LED lights because they draw so little power." When I asked how to properly connect the cables he then said "You have to turn the cable slightly off perpendicular in the connector and it will pierce the insulation." He was right, sometimes that did work. But it was a tedious, time consuming process that usually did not work. I finally gave up and bought 14 gauge wire, which connected perfectly the first time with each fixture. Factoring in all the time I wasted, including two calls to Malibu support and a second trip to buy wire, which cost $40.81 at Home Depot for a 100 foot roll, this product is a turkey. If I hadn't waited so long after my purchase (last Fall) to install it I would return it. If you are willing to accept the fact that you will need to also purchase new wire, then I'd say the product is worth 3 Stars, but you can do better at far less cost.
Pros: Looks Great, Stylish
Cons: Difficult to Assemble, wire doesn't work with connectors, unreliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit
from New Orleans, LA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wire in kit is too small

PostedOctober 23, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Like others have already said, the 75' of wire included in the kit just isn't large enough. VERY hard to get a connection. Frustrating to say the least. Had to return the first set because I thought the lights were the problem! Will now buy larger wire and re-connect all lights. I'm disappointed in Malibu for this reason. Otherwise the lights are an inexpensive way to light up a portion of the yard. All the other lights in the large yard were professionally installed and not Malibu. WIshing I had the crew dig up the bricks in a portion of the yard and continue the small area with the professional (expensive) LED landscape lights. It would have been worth the extra money to have it all done right.
Cons: Difficult to Assemble, wire too small
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit
from New York, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Looks Great but Installation Tricky

PostedAugust 22, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Many of the reviews have it right. The set looks well made and is attractive. The wire however, needs to be heavier gauge. The clips that connect each fixture to the wire are obviously made for thicker wire. It took a lot of work get each light connected so that it would light. with that small change, it would have been 5 stars all around.
Pros: Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit

Lousy way to connect lights

PostedNovember 23, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Couldn't get even one to light because of the size of the wire being too small to make contact with the connectors- or so I'm reading from the reviews. I wanted anything besides Malibu because their connectors were always something you have to jiggle the wire or bulb to get all of them to light up. Is it the wire or is it the bulb or did I set off the ground fault. LEDs take jiggling the bulb out of the equation. I had a set that had a twist on connector- so much better, but didn't see those in any stores. I ended up taking the screw on connectors from the old set and putting them on this set. Two hour project took a whole day. Hate, hate, hate Malibu's connectors.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit
from Anthem, Phoenix, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great lights but poor connectors

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
The LED lights work great, good product quality and illumination. The only problem was the quick-connect connectors do not work. Had to cut the wires and connect them using twist-on wire connectors.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: connectors do not work.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit
from Pomona, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

LED low voltage lighting - walk way

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Nice lights and easy to install. The quick connections are designed for 12 gauge wire. they do not work well with 14 gauge.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Fast / Speed, Looks Great, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Connectors are junk

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
See other reviews about the junk connectors they give you. They absolutely positively do NOT WORK with the 18 gauge wire provided.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: poor connectors
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>