728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Landscape & Deck Lighting or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit

Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit

Illuminate pathways and trees around your yard with the Malibu Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit. This low voltage lighting kit is a quick and simple way to enhance your curb appeal and add extra security. Cast-metal construction resists weathering and corrosion for long-lasting strength and offers a pleasant charcoal brown finish.
Overall rating:
3.928 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(83 reviews) 83
Open Ratings Snapshot
84%of customersrecommend this product67 of 80reviews
Rating Breakdown 83 reviews
3.9 out of 5.0
5
(41)
4
(19)
3
(7)
2
(8)
1
(8)
Appearance 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Quality 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
84%of customersrecommend this product67 of 80reviews
Customer questions and answers:
16 Questions | 109 Answers
Customer reviews for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit
Review 1 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit
from Overland Park, KS
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great design-- bright and easy to install!

PostedNovember 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Not sure if they changed anything but I had no problems with the wiring included with the kit. I had to squeeze down pretty tight on the connectors but each light worked without any issues. Light output was way better than I thought it would be! Very easy to install. Light is warm and doesn't look LEDish if you're used to the 5000k in solar lighting.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Very Bright, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit
from Monterey, CA

Good product, wrong wire

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
As with others, I found the wire width too narrow for the connectors provided. Rather than go through the hassle of returning them I just made a short split between the two wires and put a small piece of wood (toothpick size) which widened the wire enough for the points to make contact. Shouldn't have to do this and Malibu gets low marks for it but otherwise I was happy with the product.
Pros: Functional, Nice Design, not too bright for night lighting, color good for night lighting
Cons: wrong sized wiring for connectors
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit

love them!

PostedJune 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Yes, installing them can be a little tricky, but they are hands down the best looking for the money! They put out way more light than I expected and use so little energy! Not having to change bulbs because of the LED bulbs is a big plus. Really like the fact they are metal, not cheep plastic like so many landscape light kits! (well made for the money) Install took a couple of hours, hardest was the digging to hide the cabels. Turned them on for the first time last night and was so blown away on how good they looked, I went and bought two more floods for the front of the house! Very pleased with them and would highly recommend them to my neighbors!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit

Great Lights!!

PostedApril 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We just purchased and installed these lights. The installation was easy to complete. The charcoal brown description is a poor way to describe the color. The color is a rich chocolate brown color that blends really nice with the landscape and looks great! I was worried about the LED lights being the cold bright white color that most LED lights are. These are not!! They are a warm yellow light that looks like halogen lights! They look outstanding. I recommend these lights as they look great and really enhanced the look of our landscaping!!!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit
from Marana, AZ, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install, looks great, decent price.

PostedOctober 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit, purchased at Home Depot. At first, I was only looking to purchase the lights, since I already owned a power pack and 200 ft of wire. Purchasing the lights separately would have been much more expensive than buying this kit.
For the price, you can't get a better product. The lights are easy to install and come with everything you'll need, unless you need more wire... The power pack is very nice. I ended up using the new power pack instead of mine. The power pack has an integrated light sensor to be able to program the On/Off times however you want; very handy! I ended up placing each path light 12 feet apart from each other and they light up the path very nicely. I used the spot lights to light up the house walls and it creates a really nice view.
A couple of improvements I would like to see are metal stakes. The stakes that come with the kit are plastic. They are okay, but past lights I have purchased have had metal stakes and have proven to be much better, specially in the hard soil we have here in AZ. I already broke one of the stakes and will need to purchase a replacement.
Another thing I would like to see is a kit option without the power pack or wire, just lights. With the low wattage of the lights, some people (like me) will end up running several hundred feet of wire to finish lighting up the front and rear yards. The 75 feet of 18 gauge wire is a throw away for me. Also, I will end up buying about 4 of these kits but only using two of the power packs. I'll end up having two power packs that are wasted.
Overall, I would recommend this kit. Keep in mind, you'll likely end up buying more cable unless you have a really small area to light up and it is near an outlet.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Fast / Speed, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: plastic stakes, no option to buy a kit without power pack or wire
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit
from Coral Gables, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Product for the Money

PostedNovember 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
When you analyze what is included in this kit versus buying each lamp and transformer separately, it makes abundant sense to purchase - 4 walkway lights, 2 spots and a 45 watt transformer. If you need more lights, it makes even more sense to buy two kits, although the second transformer is redundant since one 45 watt transformer is enough to power 8 walkway lights and 4 spots. Installation was straightforward and easy. The clips from the lamps to the wire are a bit flimsy but work.
The bonus is the second transformer (and additional 75 feet of wire) which now provides me flexibility to mix in some additional spots.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Fast / Speed, Looks Great, Nice Design
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit
from Arizona, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Beautiful Landscape Lighting!

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This lighting set is very modern looking The color is a warm brown and really adds to the landscape. I had professional landscapers install and they didn't seem to have any problems, although they did use their own clips which others complained did not work well.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit
from Lincoln, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great LED lighting set

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Beautiful addition to my entrance. The only issue I have with Malibu electric lighting is clamping the lamp wire to the main wire - what a pain - there must be a better way.
Pros: Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Nice Design
Cons: clamping to power line
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit
from Chandler, AZ, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Simple yet Elegant!!

PostedJuly 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We remodeled our front yard & I picked these for our contractor to install. He's a professional so it was very easy for him. My husband & I are so happy with the lights, especially the fact they're LED & never have to reset the timer since they're on photo cell. Like another reviewer said, the spot lights are not harsh but warm yellow & give just enough brightness. They survived heavy rain & gusty winds just fine in Arizona. We got so many compliments.
Pros: Well Made, Unique, High Quality of Material, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit
from Phoenix, Arizona
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Clips and wire worked fine for me

PostedNovember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just wanted to say that I had no problems clipping into the given 18 gauge wire (unlike other reviewers). I've gotten a solid connection on every attempt and without using spacers. I'm not sure what the difference was in my case.
I bought 3 of these sets. I used 4 path lights around my fire pit area and 4 around our 150' tricycle path. I didn't attempt to light up the entire path with these because it would have been too many for my taste, instead I'm using them more as visual references. I mounted some spots in several of my trees throughout the yard to provide down lighting were needed. I haven't started on the front yard yet, but I'll probably put a couple of path lights on the walkway (not the driveway) and use spots to shine the tree and graze the stone facade.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit
from Atlanta, GA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Looks great but install has its issues

PostedNovember 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Just installed these after reading every review I could find. Thanks to everyone who took the time to post solutions to the problem of the wire being too small. I found that using channel locks to crimp the two sides of the connector together equaled every one of them lighting up on the first go. Mind you prior to that I did try splitting the wire and putting a toothpick between it to make the wire "wider" and the connection solid (thanks for that tip from another reviewer). By doing this I was no longer able to close the connector by hand which led to the use of the pliers. This somehow pushes the tabs that pierce the wire in far enough to make the connection without having to alter the wire. I did wrap each connector in electrical tape to prevent any chance of losing contact later on. Overall a good product after it's installed, minus the headache of dealing with the wire which could be avoided if they included the right size. A definite improvement over solar LED's which are blue.
Pros: Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Assemble, poor design to sold as a set., cheap plastic connectors can easily break
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit
from San Diego, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

DO NOT USE the wiring that comes in the kit

PostedMay 24, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
I recently purchased 2 of these kits to install in my newly renovated yard and patio. I bought the kits because the kit price of all components was less expensive than buying on an individual piece basis and I needed this number of fixtures. I purchased additional flood lights to compliment the system.
Each kit comes with 75' of #18 gauge wiring included. Here's the problem... the width of the wire is too narrow to fit the fixture connectors properly. DO NOT USE THE WIRE PROVIDED in the kit. Save yourself the hassle of trying to get the connector pins to easily penetrate the narrow wire. It's not worth the effort to make it work without total frustration. I suggest you purchase at least #14 wire, which fits the Malibu connector fully and you should have no trouble connecting any of the kit provided lighting fixtures on the first attempt.
I discussed this problem with Malibu customer service and their answer was, "so buy bigger wire". I guess my problem is, if they're going to provide wire in the kit, why don't they provide wire of a size that works easily with the connector on their fixtures?? Why sell a product that makes it difficult for consumers to use without causing problems?
Other than this issue of too small of wire provided in the kit, I am happy with the look, style and light output of the fixtures themselves.
Pros: Stylish, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Assemble, wire provided in kit is too small
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit
from Prescott Valley, AZ
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Piece of Junk!

PostedSeptember 29, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bought these as a replacement for some other low voltage lights that were looking dated. I followed all instructions and wouldn't you know it. 2 of the lights didn't work. I tried to reconnect them and the plastic connectors broke. I then wired them directly to the low voltage wire and still not working. So I started to check around and was only getting 4.9 volts out of the transformer. It should have been 12 volts per the decal on the transformer.
I plan on taking these back to the store tomorrow. Hopefully they don't give me a hard time about exchanging them out. They look good when they are off, but when on it is hard to say. I guess you get what you pay for!
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: junk, cheap plastic clips
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit
from Illinois
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Clean, simple lines, LED, landscape lights

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These are very clean looking and give excellent light directed downward where it best serves your path.
We already had landscape lighting installed so we did not have to install the power source, just removed the prior and hooked these to the existing cables. We have not been through an Illinois winter yet but I think the design will stand up to the wind. I'm excited about the savings of the LED and hope that they last a long while because I don't think they are replaceable, the whole light has to be replaced. They look great - day and night.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit
from New Orleans, LA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wire in kit is too small

PostedOctober 23, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Like others have already said, the 75' of wire included in the kit just isn't large enough. VERY hard to get a connection. Frustrating to say the least. Had to return the first set because I thought the lights were the problem! Will now buy larger wire and re-connect all lights. I'm disappointed in Malibu for this reason. Otherwise the lights are an inexpensive way to light up a portion of the yard. All the other lights in the large yard were professionally installed and not Malibu. WIshing I had the crew dig up the bricks in a portion of the yard and continue the small area with the professional (expensive) LED landscape lights. It would have been worth the extra money to have it all done right.
Cons: Difficult to Assemble, wire too small
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit
from Newport Beach CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

BAD wire connectors

PostedJanuary 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Looks like a great set, LED is nice, but they use the same very poor quality connectors between the lights and the power wire. Infact, the LED wire is not as thick as the old non-LED kits, and the LED lights have the same connectors made for the thicker power line. This makes your connection between each light and the power line very unreliable. For this reason I am going to return this &&&& and will pay a little more for a more reliable product.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: unreliable connectors
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit
from Lake Orion, MI

Looks great. Two didn't work...HORRIBLE Customer Service

PostedJune 9, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased a set of these about 3 months ago. The spot lights are bright for LED's and they give off a nice light. The tall height of the path lights allow the light to disperse well. However, two of the canopy path lights didn't work out of the box. The box strictly says, do not return to the store, contact Malibu Customer Service. I contacted them, finally got them to agree to send me new lights and to expect them within 10 days. After two weeks, nothing received. I contacted them again, they said they apologize and will send them out right away. I get a tracking number shortly after. I get the shipment, it is two stakes for the base of the lights. Thinking this was a joke, I called them up, they said the lights are backordered for 2-3 weeks and will ship out as soon as they are in stock. This was on May 7th. Over a month later, no lights. I called them up once again and they gave me the tracking number from the shipment of the two stakes and say the replacements were already sent and the warranty claim is complete. I've been thrown around by them so many times and now I am just over the return policy for taking them back to Home Depot. I would advise to go with a different brand. I will no longer buy their products.
+24points
25out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Try trimming the wire

PostedFebruary 22, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Like many others here, I found the wire included in the kit to be too narrow for the connectors to pierce. My solution wasn't to buy new wires, it was to trim a little notch of the insulation off of the wire with a utility knife (with the system powered off of course). That gives the connectors a fighting chance of making a connection with the power. To be safe I then bundled it all in electrical tape.
Overall, the system could be great, but a 'kit' needs to work together.
Pros: Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Very Bright
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit
from Huntington NY

LED lights are great

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These lights are much brighter than their incandescent brothers. This set is really only a good value if you need exactly the quantity of lights in this pack.. one or two less light and youre just breaking even than if you purchased everything separately.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit
from FL

Good path lights

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Look more professional than expected. In place for nearly a year and still look fine. Easy to install. Plastic spike a bit weak and will snap if the post is pushed (ie large dog or kicked by a person) so not a good choice if you expect lights to get hit by anything. One off for value because of cost, but assuming it lasts this will theoretically be overshadowed by savings in electricity. The small floods are great--I ordered more. Just the right amount of light for plants and small trees. Not available in stores (only 20W equiv. in stores--these are smaller). 20W is actually too much light for garden plants/bushes, which was a surprise.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Stylish
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>