728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Landscape & Deck Lighting or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit

Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit

Illuminate pathways and trees around your yard with the Malibu Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit. This low voltage lighting kit is a quick and simple way to enhance your curb appeal and add extra security. Cast-metal construction resists weathering and corrosion for long-lasting strength and offers a pleasant charcoal brown finish.
Overall rating:
3.92 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(75 reviews) 75
Open Ratings Snapshot
83%of customersrecommend this product60 of 72reviews
Rating Breakdown 75 reviews
3.9 out of 5.0
5
(38)
4
(15)
3
(7)
2
(8)
1
(7)
Appearance 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Quality 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
83%of customersrecommend this product60 of 72reviews
Customer questions and answers:
14 Questions | 86 Answers
Customer reviews for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit
Review 1 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit
from Monterey, CA

Good product, wrong wire

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
As with others, I found the wire width too narrow for the connectors provided. Rather than go through the hassle of returning them I just made a short split between the two wires and put a small piece of wood (toothpick size) which widened the wire enough for the points to make contact. Shouldn't have to do this and Malibu gets low marks for it but otherwise I was happy with the product.
Pros: Functional, Nice Design, not too bright for night lighting, color good for night lighting
Cons: wrong sized wiring for connectors
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit

love them!

PostedJune 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Yes, installing them can be a little tricky, but they are hands down the best looking for the money! They put out way more light than I expected and use so little energy! Not having to change bulbs because of the LED bulbs is a big plus. Really like the fact they are metal, not cheep plastic like so many landscape light kits! (well made for the money) Install took a couple of hours, hardest was the digging to hide the cabels. Turned them on for the first time last night and was so blown away on how good they looked, I went and bought two more floods for the front of the house! Very pleased with them and would highly recommend them to my neighbors!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit

Great Lights!!

PostedApril 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We just purchased and installed these lights. The installation was easy to complete. The charcoal brown description is a poor way to describe the color. The color is a rich chocolate brown color that blends really nice with the landscape and looks great! I was worried about the LED lights being the cold bright white color that most LED lights are. These are not!! They are a warm yellow light that looks like halogen lights! They look outstanding. I recommend these lights as they look great and really enhanced the look of our landscaping!!!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit
from Marana, AZ, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install, looks great, decent price.

PostedOctober 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit, purchased at Home Depot. At first, I was only looking to purchase the lights, since I already owned a power pack and 200 ft of wire. Purchasing the lights separately would have been much more expensive than buying this kit.
For the price, you can't get a better product. The lights are easy to install and come with everything you'll need, unless you need more wire... The power pack is very nice. I ended up using the new power pack instead of mine. The power pack has an integrated light sensor to be able to program the On/Off times however you want; very handy! I ended up placing each path light 12 feet apart from each other and they light up the path very nicely. I used the spot lights to light up the house walls and it creates a really nice view.
A couple of improvements I would like to see are metal stakes. The stakes that come with the kit are plastic. They are okay, but past lights I have purchased have had metal stakes and have proven to be much better, specially in the hard soil we have here in AZ. I already broke one of the stakes and will need to purchase a replacement.
Another thing I would like to see is a kit option without the power pack or wire, just lights. With the low wattage of the lights, some people (like me) will end up running several hundred feet of wire to finish lighting up the front and rear yards. The 75 feet of 18 gauge wire is a throw away for me. Also, I will end up buying about 4 of these kits but only using two of the power packs. I'll end up having two power packs that are wasted.
Overall, I would recommend this kit. Keep in mind, you'll likely end up buying more cable unless you have a really small area to light up and it is near an outlet.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Fast / Speed, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: plastic stakes, no option to buy a kit without power pack or wire
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit
from Arizona, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Beautiful Landscape Lighting!

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This lighting set is very modern looking The color is a warm brown and really adds to the landscape. I had professional landscapers install and they didn't seem to have any problems, although they did use their own clips which others complained did not work well.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit
from Illinois
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Clean, simple lines, LED, landscape lights

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These are very clean looking and give excellent light directed downward where it best serves your path.
We already had landscape lighting installed so we did not have to install the power source, just removed the prior and hooked these to the existing cables. We have not been through an Illinois winter yet but I think the design will stand up to the wind. I'm excited about the savings of the LED and hope that they last a long while because I don't think they are replaceable, the whole light has to be replaced. They look great - day and night.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit
from Huntington NY

LED lights are great

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These lights are much brighter than their incandescent brothers. This set is really only a good value if you need exactly the quantity of lights in this pack.. one or two less light and youre just breaking even than if you purchased everything separately.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit
from Chandler, AZ, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Simple yet Elegant!!

PostedJuly 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We remodeled our front yard & I picked these for our contractor to install. He's a professional so it was very easy for him. My husband & I are so happy with the lights, especially the fact they're LED & never have to reset the timer since they're on photo cell. Like another reviewer said, the spot lights are not harsh but warm yellow & give just enough brightness. They survived heavy rain & gusty winds just fine in Arizona. We got so many compliments.
Pros: Well Made, Unique, High Quality of Material, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit
from Kelso, Washington
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

They work just fine and brightness is perfect.

PostedAugust 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought three sets of these lights for front and back yards. Used spots to highlight windows for security and other lights for landscaping. A lot of complaining about the clips...just had to open a small hole for the prong to fit into and worked fine. Then I used a plastic slip tie to keep the connectors securely connected. No problems after rain or watering plants. You can't beat the price for the kit versus buying separate parts. Malibu and outdoor lighting is a quality product.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit
from Southwest Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Just What I'd Hoped For

PostedAugust 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was more than happy with the results. The design of the Equinox casts the light where it's needed.. downward onto the path/walkway and not outward. The quality of the light is very nice....cool and bright but not glaring. Assemby of the lights was very easy. I did experience just a small problem when pressing the contacts into the wire for one light. You need to be sure you have the wire under tension so it does not move. It may be helpful to have one person provide the tension and the other to press in the light fixture's "clamp".... just a suggestion. As some others mentioned, the metal fixtures are a plus and I plan to add a coat of car wax after they have "seasoned". Follow the instructions and you shouldn't have any problems, meaning don't press these into hard ground and risk breakage. I gave a four star rating for the 'Ease of Installation' factor only because there was quite a bit of digging involved and it was a hot day.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit
from Las Vegas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Landscape lights!

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Square lights looked awesome and easy to install. Price is just right
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Try trimming the wire

PostedFebruary 22, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Like many others here, I found the wire included in the kit to be too narrow for the connectors to pierce. My solution wasn't to buy new wires, it was to trim a little notch of the insulation off of the wire with a utility knife (with the system powered off of course). That gives the connectors a fighting chance of making a connection with the power. To be safe I then bundled it all in electrical tape.
Overall, the system could be great, but a 'kit' needs to work together.
Pros: Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Very Bright
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit
from San Diego, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

DO NOT USE the wiring that comes in the kit

PostedMay 24, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
I recently purchased 2 of these kits to install in my newly renovated yard and patio. I bought the kits because the kit price of all components was less expensive than buying on an individual piece basis and I needed this number of fixtures. I purchased additional flood lights to compliment the system.
Each kit comes with 75' of #18 gauge wiring included. Here's the problem... the width of the wire is too narrow to fit the fixture connectors properly. DO NOT USE THE WIRE PROVIDED in the kit. Save yourself the hassle of trying to get the connector pins to easily penetrate the narrow wire. It's not worth the effort to make it work without total frustration. I suggest you purchase at least #14 wire, which fits the Malibu connector fully and you should have no trouble connecting any of the kit provided lighting fixtures on the first attempt.
I discussed this problem with Malibu customer service and their answer was, "so buy bigger wire". I guess my problem is, if they're going to provide wire in the kit, why don't they provide wire of a size that works easily with the connector on their fixtures?? Why sell a product that makes it difficult for consumers to use without causing problems?
Other than this issue of too small of wire provided in the kit, I am happy with the look, style and light output of the fixtures themselves.
Pros: Stylish, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Assemble, wire provided in kit is too small
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit
from Newport Beach CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

BAD wire connectors

PostedJanuary 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Looks like a great set, LED is nice, but they use the same very poor quality connectors between the lights and the power wire. Infact, the LED wire is not as thick as the old non-LED kits, and the LED lights have the same connectors made for the thicker power line. This makes your connection between each light and the power line very unreliable. For this reason I am going to return this &&&& and will pay a little more for a more reliable product.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: unreliable connectors
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit
from Prescott Valley, AZ
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Piece of Junk!

PostedSeptember 29, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bought these as a replacement for some other low voltage lights that were looking dated. I followed all instructions and wouldn't you know it. 2 of the lights didn't work. I tried to reconnect them and the plastic connectors broke. I then wired them directly to the low voltage wire and still not working. So I started to check around and was only getting 4.9 volts out of the transformer. It should have been 12 volts per the decal on the transformer.
I plan on taking these back to the store tomorrow. Hopefully they don't give me a hard time about exchanging them out. They look good when they are off, but when on it is hard to say. I guess you get what you pay for!
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: junk, cheap plastic clips
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit
from Dover New Hampshire
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good quality for the price

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased two sets of these lights as I needed additional lights for a long path. This was definitely the least expensive option vs. buying individual lights to add to the kit. I also used the power pack from the second set to setup a separate circuit for the spotlights which I have set to turn off after a few hours. I also used the low voltage cable and a couple of spotlights from the second kit to complete my install. Remaining items from the second kit will be used as spares if necessary.
Overall appearance and quality is good and having the light sensor built into the power pack is a bonus over previous products that needed an external sensor. Fit and finish is good and I like the brown color as it compliments the House siding. Assembly was simple but needed to pay attention to the wires inside the path lights when attaching them to the stakes. I left the lamp head hanging while attaching the stakes so as not to twist the wires.
Install was easy and I payed special attention to the wire clamp connectors to ensure they pierced the cable correctly. As mentioned in previous reviews, the low voltage cable supplied is a smaller gauge than the internal dimensions of the connectors so care needs to be taken positioning and clamping the cable in the connector. It took me an additional minute or so per connector to ensure good contact. Larger gauge cable looks to be more expensive and maybe not necessary for these low voltage LED lights but with that said, the cable should fit the connectors for ease of install.
Product has been installed approximately three weeks and everything is working as expected. I have the path lights set to Auto so they come on at dusk and shut off at dawn. The spot lights are pointed at the house and shut off after a few hours in the evening so as not to shine directly into bedrooms.
The outdoor enclosure/GFCI combo product I purchased when buying the lights failed within a week and the GFCI will not reset. I load tested the circuit and tested with a spare (different brand) GFCI that I had on hand and everything tested out well with no faults. Will return the failed GFCI for a refund or replacement.
All in all, a good product for the price and easy enough to install. Time will tell as far as reliability and quality are concerned.
Pros: Functional, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
Cons: somewhat fiddly to install due to cable gauge
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit
from Sarasota, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

wire size

PostedJanuary 17, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Lights look great, but the wire size provided in the kit is far to small for the connectors supplied. Malibu's customer service was worthless. Other than their representative coughing endlessly into the phone--- he provided absolutely no support. Home Depot might want to experience calling Malibu's support ( I don't think that they would be very pleased). Comment--- "So go buy a larger wire size". My point being-- I already paid for the wire supplied.
I am not making an issue of it since buying each piece individually would set me back more than what I paid for the kit, and for what I will be paying for the extra wire.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit

Exactly fits my needs

PostedJuly 31, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a circular walkway leading to the front. Spaced the lights about 6 feet apart along the walkway. After I was done I waited for night time. It was absolutely stunning and already a few neighbor asking how it was done. Easy installation and dramatic results.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit
from New York, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Looks Great but Installation Tricky

PostedAugust 22, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Many of the reviews have it right. The set looks well made and is attractive. The wire however, needs to be heavier gauge. The clips that connect each fixture to the wire are obviously made for thicker wire. It took a lot of work get each light connected so that it would light. with that small change, it would have been 5 stars all around.
Pros: Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit
from New Orleans, LA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wire in kit is too small

PostedOctober 23, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Like others have already said, the 75' of wire included in the kit just isn't large enough. VERY hard to get a connection. Frustrating to say the least. Had to return the first set because I thought the lights were the problem! Will now buy larger wire and re-connect all lights. I'm disappointed in Malibu for this reason. Otherwise the lights are an inexpensive way to light up a portion of the yard. All the other lights in the large yard were professionally installed and not Malibu. WIshing I had the crew dig up the bricks in a portion of the yard and continue the small area with the professional (expensive) LED landscape lights. It would have been worth the extra money to have it all done right.
Cons: Difficult to Assemble, wire too small
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>