728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Landscape & Deck Lighting or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit

Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit

Illuminate pathways and trees around your yard with the Malibu Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit. This low voltage lighting kit is a quick and simple way to enhance your curb appeal and add extra security. Cast-metal construction resists weathering and corrosion for long-lasting strength and offers a pleasant charcoal brown finish.
Overall rating:
3.989 / 5
4.0
 / 
5
(91 reviews) 91
Open Ratings Snapshot
85%of customersrecommend this product75 of 88reviews
Rating Breakdown 91 reviews
4.0 out of 5
5
(46)
4
(22)
3
(7)
2
(8)
1
(8)
Appearance 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Quality 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
85%of customersrecommend this product75 of 88reviews
Customer questions and answers:
16 Questions | 113 Answers
Customer reviews for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit
Review 1 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit
from Monterey, CA

Good product, wrong wire

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
As with others, I found the wire width too narrow for the connectors provided. Rather than go through the hassle of returning them I just made a short split between the two wires and put a small piece of wood (toothpick size) which widened the wire enough for the points to make contact. Shouldn't have to do this and Malibu gets low marks for it but otherwise I was happy with the product.
Pros: Functional, Nice Design, not too bright for night lighting, color good for night lighting
Cons: wrong sized wiring for connectors
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit

love them!

PostedJune 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Yes, installing them can be a little tricky, but they are hands down the best looking for the money! They put out way more light than I expected and use so little energy! Not having to change bulbs because of the LED bulbs is a big plus. Really like the fact they are metal, not cheep plastic like so many landscape light kits! (well made for the money) Install took a couple of hours, hardest was the digging to hide the cabels. Turned them on for the first time last night and was so blown away on how good they looked, I went and bought two more floods for the front of the house! Very pleased with them and would highly recommend them to my neighbors!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit
from Overland Park, KS
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great design-- bright and easy to install!

PostedNovember 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Not sure if they changed anything but I had no problems with the wiring included with the kit. I had to squeeze down pretty tight on the connectors but each light worked without any issues. Light output was way better than I thought it would be! Very easy to install. Light is warm and doesn't look LEDish if you're used to the 5000k in solar lighting.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Very Bright, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit

Great Lights!!

PostedApril 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We just purchased and installed these lights. The installation was easy to complete. The charcoal brown description is a poor way to describe the color. The color is a rich chocolate brown color that blends really nice with the landscape and looks great! I was worried about the LED lights being the cold bright white color that most LED lights are. These are not!! They are a warm yellow light that looks like halogen lights! They look outstanding. I recommend these lights as they look great and really enhanced the look of our landscaping!!!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit
from Chandler, AZ, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Simple yet Elegant!!

PostedJuly 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We remodeled our front yard & I picked these for our contractor to install. He's a professional so it was very easy for him. My husband & I are so happy with the lights, especially the fact they're LED & never have to reset the timer since they're on photo cell. Like another reviewer said, the spot lights are not harsh but warm yellow & give just enough brightness. They survived heavy rain & gusty winds just fine in Arizona. We got so many compliments.
Pros: Well Made, Unique, High Quality of Material, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit
from Marana, AZ, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install, looks great, decent price.

PostedOctober 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit, purchased at Home Depot. At first, I was only looking to purchase the lights, since I already owned a power pack and 200 ft of wire. Purchasing the lights separately would have been much more expensive than buying this kit.
For the price, you can't get a better product. The lights are easy to install and come with everything you'll need, unless you need more wire... The power pack is very nice. I ended up using the new power pack instead of mine. The power pack has an integrated light sensor to be able to program the On/Off times however you want; very handy! I ended up placing each path light 12 feet apart from each other and they light up the path very nicely. I used the spot lights to light up the house walls and it creates a really nice view.
A couple of improvements I would like to see are metal stakes. The stakes that come with the kit are plastic. They are okay, but past lights I have purchased have had metal stakes and have proven to be much better, specially in the hard soil we have here in AZ. I already broke one of the stakes and will need to purchase a replacement.
Another thing I would like to see is a kit option without the power pack or wire, just lights. With the low wattage of the lights, some people (like me) will end up running several hundred feet of wire to finish lighting up the front and rear yards. The 75 feet of 18 gauge wire is a throw away for me. Also, I will end up buying about 4 of these kits but only using two of the power packs. I'll end up having two power packs that are wasted.
Overall, I would recommend this kit. Keep in mind, you'll likely end up buying more cable unless you have a really small area to light up and it is near an outlet.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Fast / Speed, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: plastic stakes, no option to buy a kit without power pack or wire
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit
from Arizona, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Beautiful Landscape Lighting!

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This lighting set is very modern looking The color is a warm brown and really adds to the landscape. I had professional landscapers install and they didn't seem to have any problems, although they did use their own clips which others complained did not work well.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit
from Ashland, Oregon
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worth the money

PostedFebruary 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought several outdoor lighting systems and took them all back because they were little more than night lights. This system is both functional and sleek looking. I will but another one shortly. The system also has enough capacity to add on other light attachments, which is what I did. Well worth the money!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Lots of Features, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit
from Coral Gables, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Product for the Money

PostedNovember 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
When you analyze what is included in this kit versus buying each lamp and transformer separately, it makes abundant sense to purchase - 4 walkway lights, 2 spots and a 45 watt transformer. If you need more lights, it makes even more sense to buy two kits, although the second transformer is redundant since one 45 watt transformer is enough to power 8 walkway lights and 4 spots. Installation was straightforward and easy. The clips from the lamps to the wire are a bit flimsy but work.
The bonus is the second transformer (and additional 75 feet of wire) which now provides me flexibility to mix in some additional spots.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Fast / Speed, Looks Great, Nice Design
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit
from Santa Barbara California
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Path lights

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I bought 3 sets of these lights nearly 2 years ago and love the look. We receive lots of compliments. I added two more path ways and recently ordered two more sets. They look so wonderful and the light they throw off is quite nice. I was thrilled when they arrived earlier than expected; in time for Thanksgiving. The price is quite fair for lighting that appears more special order. Thank you Home Depot.
Pros: Looks Great, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit
from Portland, OR
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good path lighting

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Installed along path that runs down the side of my house. The path is now easy to follow at night. Wiring was easy. The lights look reasonably attractive and the kit solved my problem at a reasonable cost. Given the nature of the connections I expect to get 3 to 5 years out of the system. A good bundle at a good price.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Eco-Friendly, Nice Design, inexpensive as a bundle
Cons: not likely to last past 5 years
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit
from Fl
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice,bright lights

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bright, attractive lights. Only complaints would be could supply a thicker gauge wire and better clips as I've had corrosion problems in the past with this style.
Pros: Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Nice Design
Cons: small gauge wire
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit
from San Diego, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

DO NOT USE the wiring that comes in the kit

PostedMay 24, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
I recently purchased 2 of these kits to install in my newly renovated yard and patio. I bought the kits because the kit price of all components was less expensive than buying on an individual piece basis and I needed this number of fixtures. I purchased additional flood lights to compliment the system.
Each kit comes with 75' of #18 gauge wiring included. Here's the problem... the width of the wire is too narrow to fit the fixture connectors properly. DO NOT USE THE WIRE PROVIDED in the kit. Save yourself the hassle of trying to get the connector pins to easily penetrate the narrow wire. It's not worth the effort to make it work without total frustration. I suggest you purchase at least #14 wire, which fits the Malibu connector fully and you should have no trouble connecting any of the kit provided lighting fixtures on the first attempt.
I discussed this problem with Malibu customer service and their answer was, "so buy bigger wire". I guess my problem is, if they're going to provide wire in the kit, why don't they provide wire of a size that works easily with the connector on their fixtures?? Why sell a product that makes it difficult for consumers to use without causing problems?
Other than this issue of too small of wire provided in the kit, I am happy with the look, style and light output of the fixtures themselves.
Pros: Stylish, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Assemble, wire provided in kit is too small
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works well

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
we put them together and they worked great just enough light
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit
from Lake Orion, MI

Looks great. Two didn't work...HORRIBLE Customer Service

PostedJune 9, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased a set of these about 3 months ago. The spot lights are bright for LED's and they give off a nice light. The tall height of the path lights allow the light to disperse well. However, two of the canopy path lights didn't work out of the box. The box strictly says, do not return to the store, contact Malibu Customer Service. I contacted them, finally got them to agree to send me new lights and to expect them within 10 days. After two weeks, nothing received. I contacted them again, they said they apologize and will send them out right away. I get a tracking number shortly after. I get the shipment, it is two stakes for the base of the lights. Thinking this was a joke, I called them up, they said the lights are backordered for 2-3 weeks and will ship out as soon as they are in stock. This was on May 7th. Over a month later, no lights. I called them up once again and they gave me the tracking number from the shipment of the two stakes and say the replacements were already sent and the warranty claim is complete. I've been thrown around by them so many times and now I am just over the return policy for taking them back to Home Depot. I would advise to go with a different brand. I will no longer buy their products.
+24points
25out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit
from Newark de
Age Range:65 or over
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great lighting

PostedDecember 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After having 2 landscaping companies give me a 2000.00 bid to install lights. I purchased 2 sets of these lights. Laid everything out before dusk and with the help of a good lantern connected them at dark. Beautiful light color soft not LED white....Did purchase a couple additional, wall floods. Did have
trouble with a splitter connector but that was a cheap fix..Love these lights...Proud that I at 72 yo female did them myself....
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit
from Prescott Valley, AZ
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Piece of Junk!

PostedSeptember 29, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Bought these as a replacement for some other low voltage lights that were looking dated. I followed all instructions and wouldn't you know it. 2 of the lights didn't work. I tried to reconnect them and the plastic connectors broke. I then wired them directly to the low voltage wire and still not working. So I started to check around and was only getting 4.9 volts out of the transformer. It should have been 12 volts per the decal on the transformer.
I plan on taking these back to the store tomorrow. Hopefully they don't give me a hard time about exchanging them out. They look good when they are off, but when on it is hard to say. I guess you get what you pay for!
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: junk, cheap plastic clips
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit
from Lincoln, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great LED lighting set

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Beautiful addition to my entrance. The only issue I have with Malibu electric lighting is clamping the lamp wire to the main wire - what a pain - there must be a better way.
Pros: Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Nice Design
Cons: clamping to power line
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit

Great set

PostedDecember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very pleased with these. Bright, warm light. Metal bodies, nice power supply with photo eye offers 2,4,6,8,10 hrs operation after dusk or dusk till dawn or on or off. I didn't use push thru connectors as I've found this is first trouble spot, I chose to split wires and solder connections. Not for everyone I'm sure, but solid. These blow solar lights out of the water.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Charcoal Brown 6-Piece Modern LED Light Kit
from New Orleans, LA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wire in kit is too small

PostedOctober 23, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Like others have already said, the 75' of wire included in the kit just isn't large enough. VERY hard to get a connection. Frustrating to say the least. Had to return the first set because I thought the lights were the problem! Will now buy larger wire and re-connect all lights. I'm disappointed in Malibu for this reason. Otherwise the lights are an inexpensive way to light up a portion of the yard. All the other lights in the large yard were professionally installed and not Malibu. WIshing I had the crew dig up the bricks in a portion of the yard and continue the small area with the professional (expensive) LED landscape lights. It would have been worth the extra money to have it all done right.
Cons: Difficult to Assemble, wire too small
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>