728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Washers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 3.7 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White

3.7 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White

The SmartRinse jet spray system of the LG Electronics 3.7 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer provides thorough, effective washing performance while using water efficiently to help you save time and money. Use the washer's intuitive electronic control panel with LED display to select among 8 wash programs, 5 wash speeds and 5 wash temperatures. A delay-start function helps you set the washer to begin up to 19 hours later to suit your schedule.
Overall rating:
4.468 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(761 reviews) 749
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product656 of 739reviews
Rating Breakdown 761 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(564)
4
(108)
3
(21)
2
(17)
1
(51)
Features 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product656 of 739reviews
Customer questions and answers:
63 Questions | 152 Answers
Customer reviews for 3.7 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White
Review 1 for 3.7 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White
from Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome washer!

PostedJuly 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I did a lot of research before buying this W/D, actually almost 8hrs of research, I did not want to regret my choice. I went back and forth first between either front load or top load, top load high efficiency or regular, making a choice but then reviews were bad, comparing prices, visiting retailers, etc. Final choice came down to this, and have to say that I am very happy with my choice. A high efficiency W/D just like a front loader but from the top, at a very good price, and no maintenance like a front loader requires. The machines look great, with great electronic functions, easy to use - and I love the fact that you can see inside the washer and dryer as they operate, just like a front loader. Best of all worlds IMO!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+48points
52out of 56found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 3.7 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White

Not sure if we keep it

PostedDecember 21, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Just got the new washer and dryer last week. Did not want a front loader and after some research decided on this LG model.
It looks great and have a lot of options. Build quality is high. Unfortunately, there are some problems with the washer.
First, the lid even when locked during a cycle is not entirely shut. There is about 1/2 of an inch space between the lid and the lid assembly (see first picture). As a result, a lot of steam is coming out of the washer when it's in use. We are about to rename our laundry room to steam room. Don't know if it is related, but after a few days of use we have a small water bubble inside the control panel, most noticeable on time display (see second picture).
I've read all of the reviews and nobody mentions this problem. Maybe we have a defective one?
TrueBalance so far did not work as expected. Small load of four towels made washer unbalanced. It's easy to fix, but I expected an automatic washer.
Clothes come out wrinkled after the washing and drying in a new set.
Also, I would really like an option to manually select water level. Between saving water and getting my clothes clean I prefer clean clothes.
I'll give it another week to see how it works and then will make a decision of whether to keep or return it.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+22points
24out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 3.7 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White
from Florida, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

LEMON ALERT!

PostedJune 10, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We purchased this LG WT4801CW washer 3 weeks ago and it has now stopped working. It stopped in midwash and will not power back up. The child lid lock won't unlock and our clothes are trapped inside the washer sitting in dirty water. After doing a quick google search for an answer to the problem we found out this is not an isolated incident. Apparently on the consumer affairs website there are hundreds of complaints from angry LG owners with chronic repair problems. After reading all the complaints and how LG handled them, I would definitely not recommend buying. I can only hope that HD will allow us to return it today before we break the lid to get our clothes out.
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 3.7 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White
from Shakopee, MN, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The best washer I have ever had!

PostedNovember 24, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This LG washer has push button ease,
flexible washing options,
completes its cycles effortlessly,
runs quietly, and delivers a perfect wash.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 3.7 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White
from St Louis, MO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

New LG Washer

PostedJuly 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just replaced my 18 year old Whirlpool; never had a service call in that time. Finally, the motor burned out. I shopped around, decided Home Depot had the largest selection. I looked at many brands and models. Of course, over 18 years, much had changed and improved. My new LG just came yesterday and I have already done two loads of wash in it. It runs quiet, is water efficient, has many features. I'm hoping that this machine will give me as much successful use in the years to come as my Whirlpool. From the reviews I have read here, and elsewhere, it looks as if I made a good choice. Even the delivery men said LG is the top brand, in their opinion.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Low Water Usage, Lots of Features, Nice Design
+20points
21out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 3.7 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White
from Northern Virginia
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Robot

PostedJune 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had this machine plus the dryer for a year now and it is just like having a robot do my laundry. I never change the setting on either appliance and my clothes come out great. I use the medium cotton setting and it works for me. I learned a couple of tricks, if you think the water level is too low, I wouldn't worry about it but I have just paused the machine, moved the clothes around and when you start it again, it senses the water level again and often adds water. It's the same for the dryer, if you feel they are slightly damp, just start it as you would have from the beginning and it will probably only run six or so minutes, It's a robot!
+18points
19out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 3.7 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White

New Model LG Washer

PostedAugust 26, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased the WT4801 washer and matching DLE4801 dryer last week. I'm satisfied with the performance thus far. I got this set to replace front load LG washer and dryer and we like this set much better. Good vibration control; not too loud; no issues with clothes being damaged. The reduced cost on this model resulted in more plastic (top of washer and dryer) and it did not come with hoses like other LG.
Delivery and set up was professional. However, our area Home Depot did not offer next day delivery.
Thus far I recommend : )
+27points
27out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 3.7 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White
from Toledo
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good washer but need to know a few things

PostedJanuary 30, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Washer is very quiet. Excellent spin cycle and this cuts way down on your drying time, however, for clothing that is soiled, dampen, pretreat and rub in your stain remover. My husband got bacon grease on his t-shirt and just sprayed the resolve on it and it didnt come out. I usually put some water on the clothes, spray it, and rub it in and that does the trick. Also, it wouldnt hurt to have more water in the washing tub so set it on bulky items. Also I believe I would pause the load and add more bleach to the tub of water after it is filled seeing the machine doesnt add the bleach until the last 5 minutes of the wash cycle. I like my whites to come out really white. I hope this helps.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 3.7 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White
from Cleveland, OH

Fantastic Washer/Great Product

PostedSeptember 3, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just purchased this washer and I absolutely love it. I almost purchased a front loader and I am extremely grateful that I didn't. This washer is so quite you cannot even tell the machine is running. I like the fact that the glass door locks when the machine is washing yet there is a pause feature that let's you stop the cycle, and add more clothes if you forgot something. I think the appearance of the washer is top notch, love the electronic features and when the cycle is done, it sings a little tune. Just LOVE it. Cant wait until my current dryer breaks so I can get the dryer as well.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 3.7 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female

good washer but lid shattered & warranty didn't cover it.

PostedJune 26, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought this washer 2 months ago & I have absolutely loved it. Its very quiet & gets our clothes very clean. But, last week my son set a 13 lb. bottle of detergent on the see thru "Diamond glass" lid. We thought nothing of it & when I went back into the laundry room a few minutes later it looked like the lid was wet but, when I moved the detergent the lid was actually shattered. I had never sat anything on the lid but was surprised that it wasn't more sturdy than that. The next day my husband got all the glass out & I have some plastic wrap over the top for the time being (The washer still works perfectly fine). LG says its "cosmetic" & is not covered under the warranty but, I'm not about to spend $80 on a lid. My husband found a lid for $25 on another website so, we will be getting that & changing it out ourselves. So, overall, good washer but, just don't ever sit anything on the lid!
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 3.7 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White
from San Diego, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Works Great! Will save money!

PostedJune 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I read the reviews on this washer before I purchased the washer. I must say some people have strange ideas about what the washer should do and the appearance of the washer while doing its job.
I must admit I was worried as we watched the first load go through the cycles. It did not appear to be using enough water to clean the clothes. My mistake. The clothes came out clean as any washer we have had before and I know that our water bill is going to be much less than when using our old washer.
This washer is quiet to the point that you want to check to see if it is running. WOW!!!
This is a very remarkable washing machine. It works VERY well!
+11points
13out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 3.7 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White
from Denver, CO, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So far, we love it.

PostedNovember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We had our LG washer delivered 10/28 and have done maybe 20 or so loads of all different types (delicates, bulky bedding, regular clothes). Only had one instance of the machine becoming unbalanced (and I think it was my fault for putting in something bulky with regular clothes). I had read some complaints about clothes being very wrinkled or twisted together, and we have not had that problem. We had an old school tower aggitator on our old machine so I was a little skeptical of the lower water usage and no tower. But this machine gets everything super clean. Even my sons very soiled clothes. We've had great experiences with all of our LG purchases. It holds a ton of clothes by the way. I can get a lot more laundry done in a shorter amount of time now. Don't hesitate to get this!
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 3.7 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White

Don't hesitate!

PostedJuly 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Buying a larger washer isn't necessary, and this is coming from someone who does wash for 6 on a regular basis. The interior space of this is actually larger than the space of the one it replaced, and that was a "larger" front-loader (I will never go back...the mold issues were revolting). There is no tower, so all space is utilized for the purpose of washing! It's whisper quiet (and sings to you to signal it's done!) and it WORKS. Far superior results. Home Depot follow thru was great too...delivery was on promised date, guys were on time, careful and professional. I've absolutely no complaints...and don't forget to check the rebate section...our power company currently has a rebate on certain purchases.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Large Capacity, Looks Great, Low Water Usage, High Quality
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 3.7 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White

Works great if you follow the instructions

PostedMarch 27, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This washer works so much better than the old, loud agitator type I replaced. On large loads, I have found that I really need to use the extra rinse feature to avoid soap residue....just like the instructions tell me. This increases the wash time to an hour per load, but I don't mind. And I need to slow down the spin cycle for permanent press clothing in order to avoid excessive wrinkles.....again, just like the instructions indicate. Even with the extra rinse, I don't use as much water as I used to. I am happy with this machine for the moderate price I paid.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 3.7 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White
from Auberry, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Broke after 9 days!

PostedJanuary 5, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had this washer for 9 days when it died mid cycle! I took LG a full week to get a service call out. The computer boards had fried and parts had to be ordered, it took another week to find out that the parts would not be available for a month! LG would not exchange the washer until the parts had been on order for a full 10 days despite the fact that it had been 2 full weeks since the service call went in and had an estimated delivery day for the parts a full month after the unit broke! In the meantime the child safety lock in engaged and the drum is full of wet clothes! My brand new linins are ruined and LG has not even bothered to give status updates for their poor product and even worse service! DO NOT BUY FROM THIS COMPANY!
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 3.7 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White
from Nashville, TN, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Best washer I have ever owned!

PostedJune 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After extensive research and reading thousands of reviews, I purchased this LG HE toploader. I love it! It has passed every challenge with flying colors. I have a very large yard, which requires a lot of manual labor to maintain, which means piles of really dirty, grass stained clothing. I also have 2 cats and 2 large dogs, so add in pet hair and more mud, grass stains and mystery muck. I worried that by using less water, and having no agitator, the dirt and stains would never come out--but they do. It also has a much larger capacity than my old agitator super capacity model. This washer is extremely quiet, even when spinning. Loads take longer to wash (about 1 hour depending on soil level selected), but spin clothes so dry that loads that used to take over 1 hour to dry are now done in ~ 20 min. So the time balances out, but uses much less energy. I also like that I can outsmart the machine by selecting bulky items setting, if I need more water than usual. This washer also has a delayed start timer, which is convenient, because you don't want to leave wet clothes sitting in the washer a long time-they tend to wrinkle more, since they are drier. These new machines are totally computerized. I recommend reading the owners manual, because this is a whole new way of washing (e.g. place heavier items on the bottom). The detergent/softener drawer does fill w/ water, so will need to be pulled out and emptied if you use liquid detergent. This does not happen if you use laundry powders. I have had no mildew problems, but I do leave the lid open when not in use. Unfortunately, all new washers today come w/ a 1 yr warranty. If you purchase your machine w/ a credit card, check to see if your card offers to double your warranty for free(many of them do)--just keep the receipt --it is better than purchasing an extended warranty. There are so many negative reviews out there, on every machine, that it is hard to make a decision. This washer had more positive reviews than the others. I now know why. I love my new LG washer.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 3.7 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White

Great buy!

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have only had this for a few weeks, but so far, we love it.
Pros:
*Cost -- The base price was good, plus we got an instant rebate and a state energy incentive.
*Capacity -- We have 4 kids and have already seen a reduction in the number of loads we need to do because we can fit so much more into a single load than we could in our old top-loader with an agitator.
*Quiet! -- This machine is sooooo quiet -- and not just compared to my old one that was noisy as all get-out. It is so quiet that I forget that it's even running. Thank goodness for the load finished indicator.
*Timer -- I never would have imagined that I would care, but it's kind of nice to see how long a load will take or how long it has left before it's done. It gives me a better sens of when I will need to grab a load for drying or if I can start a load before I leave the house, etc.
*Features: I like the number of cycles that are available and that I can change most settings, such as water temp, if I want to. Even the LCD board set up is growing on me.
Cons:
*Water stays trapped in the detergent dispenser, so when you open it, water pours out. We have learned to NOT open the dispenser to empty this water before removing the freshly spun clothes and to leave the top of the machine and dispenser open between cycles so the dispenser and drum can dry.
*Spin only -- There may be a way to do this, but I haven't found it yet and may have to go online to the complete manual . . .sometimes I set the spin speed lower for items but find that they could use some extra spin time. Right now, I can only see a RINSE and spin. Sometimes, I don't want to rinse, just spin items.
Potential Con: I am not sure yet how I feel about the glass top. We have limited counter space in our adjacent kitchen and used to put things on the top of our old washer to cool or even to store (birthday cakes pre-party, holiday feast items, full laundry basket as we sorted, etc.). Now I'm afraid to put anything on top of the new machine because I'm afraid of scratching or cracking the glass!
I have heard others with HE top loaders complain that the clothes get very wrinkled from the high speed, but this hasn't been a problem for us.
Overall, we have been very happy with the machine so far. Hopefully, we will continue to be!
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 3.7 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

So far, so good

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've had this washing machine for around six weeks now. I've used it extensively and it's been very easy to use. Not having the agitator in the middle makes it easy to load - just dump a laundry bag in or a load of towels. I'm still a bit apprehensive about the low water levels during the wash cycle, but it appears to be doing a good job.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 3.7 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White
from Teaneck, NJ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

Modern washer generally good

PostedMay 22, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This LG unit replaced a leaky front loader that I have had for the past 11 years. Let me begin by saying that other than the tub leaking (which it has done for the past 5 years), I LOVED my front loader and felt it did an excellent job. It was one of the first generation of widely available front loaders, so nothing fancy, but gravity really works to get clothes clean. I only wish they could figure out how to make one that didn't develop a leak, as they all seem to do that.
On to the LG: I am limited in the size washer I can fit into my 1930's house, as the stairwell to the basement simply won't accept anything bigger than 27" as one of the dimensions and about 28" as the other. Essentially there are about 4 front loaders that would fit into my house -- the rest are all too big. That, escalating front loader prices, plus the ubiquitous front loader leaking issue led me to explore high effeciency top loaders, which accept a much larger load in a conventional (27") size package. This LG seemed pretty universally liked, was the right size, was on sale, gave me a NJ rebate, and uses far less water than conventional top loaders (but probably more than my front loader).
I've had the machine for about a month and have tested it with just about every type of wash load: area rugs (fine), jeans (okay), permanent press (fine), towels (fine), and really grubby work clothes (sorta okay). The fact is that this washer doesn't put very much water into the load, which I knew. Unlike a front loader, it doesn't have gravity working in its favor, so there is less agitation, because the wash isn't falling some 18 inches back down into the water, but is instead being slooshed & jiggled around. Slooshing and jiggling can only do so much, so you need to really prepare a very dirty load by pretreating & scrubbing. I did not need to do that as much with the front loader, but then again I can't fit a new one in my basement. I have found that using the "soak" feature helps to get out more dirt, as it does agitate initially during the soak, then keeps the soapy water to go on and do the regular wash cycle you've selected.
I need to address the hot water issue many people have mentioned, as it is my biggest beef with this machine. Others have complained that a hot wash isn't truly hot, and depending upon how your pipes are set up and which cycle you choose, I believe those complaints. My washer is next to a slop sink, so I always run the hot water tap at the sink for a few seconds to be sure that the when the washer fills, the water will be at its hottest coming into the machine. If your washer is on the second floor, I would imagine that if you did a small load and didn't make sure the water was hot first, you would not be getting a hot water wash; the machine simply doesn't fill with much water (as expected) and doesn't have time for the water to get hot while it's filling. Also -- and I believe this is so it can get & keep its energy star rating -- when you do a bulky items load and select hot water wash, the water that fills the tub is NOT all hot. It begins by filling with hot, then about a third of the way from filling the tub (which is does on the bulky items cycle), it switches over to the cold tap. So if you have a barf-covered blanket, you are not really going to get the hot water wash you want. Most of the time, this will not be an issue for us, but with a messy kid in the house, it would be nice to be able to know I could get a hot water wash every time I select it. This doens't seem to happen with normal loads, I'm guessing because the tub doesn't ever come close to filling completely with water on normal cycles, only on the bulky cycle. Yes, I could swap the hoses, but most of the time it isn't a problem.
I saw complaints about clothes being more wrinkled. Guess what? They are. Again, the old front loader managed to spin fast without tying my clothes in knots, but this machine tangles things on the normal/cotton setting, for instance. So, I've come to do the bulk of my pants/jeans/shirts on the permanent press setting, which tangles less. I'm also always sure to shake out the clothes before putting them in the dryer. I've always done that, but it's become more important with this washer.
The clothes come out quite dry, as they did with my front loader, so it does a nice job of extracting the water and saving hugely on dryer time over a conventional top loader. In addition, this machine is QUIET. Really, really quiet. Much quieter than my old front loader. Also in its favor is the fact that it doesn't have the same tendency (thus far) to get unbalanced. Since my machine is in the basement, these issues aresn't as important to me as they are to some people, but it is nice to not have the machine sounding like a jet engine.
Longer cycle times are the nature of newer machines and I have no issue with the cycle times, especially since you can always tell how much time you have left.
The stainless steel tub is nice, as is the ability to soak something in it if you'd like. That feature isn't really an option on a front loader. The glass lid seems nice -- you can watch your wash -- although the rest of the top is plastic, and I'm guessing it will yellow over time.
Overall, I think it's a pretty decent value given what's available. I have no use for steam cleaning or other fancy gadgets, but I do like clean wash and clothes that aren't ruined by the washer. I also think energy savings and environmentally friendly features are important. This machine cost me about $100 less than the front loader I purchased 11 years ago. It has a much bigger capacity for its footprint and is able to wash large items that my old machine couldn't handle. It doesn't wash quite as well as my old front loader, but I pretty much figured that would be the case. For the price, it seems like a solid choice. I looked at a lot of reviews and machines before picking this one. Time will tell how long it holds up, but planned obsolescence seems rampant. That's part of why I refuse to get a fancier machine; they all seem to break sooner rather than later these days.
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 3.7 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White
from California, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

WT4801CW

PostedJuly 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
washer runs great.i use low spin speed. i use triple rinse, tap the extra rinse button twice. when you are done with washing clothes, pull out detergent tray to its full length, but do not pull out, so the excess water will drain out of the tray then push back in and leave one quarter inch open to air out and leave washer lid open. if this washer lasts for at least 8 years without a service call like my other brand washer did, i will be happy.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 17 >>