728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Aqua Mix Sealers Choice Gold 24 oz. Penetrating Sealer

Aqua Mix Sealers Choice Gold 24 oz. Penetrating Sealer

The Sealer's Choice Gold 24 fl. oz. Sealer penetrates and seals for maximum protection yet has a water-based, low-odor formula. It is effective on all natural stone and grout.
Overall rating:
4.45 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product14 of 16reviews
Rating Breakdown 20 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(15)
4
(2)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Appearance 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Quality 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
88%of customersrecommend this product14 of 16reviews
Customer questions and answers:
19 Questions | 34 Answers
Customer reviews for Aqua Mix Sealers Choice Gold 24 oz. Penetrating Sealer
Review 1 for Aqua Mix Sealers Choice Gold 24 oz. Penetrating Sealer

Great product-a little pricey

PostedApril 9, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I have used other sealers from Custom but this one truely is superior to their standard sealer. It penetraded and was absorbed very well and evenly. This was the first time I tryed this particular sealer from Custom and I am pleased with it. It is pricey, however when compared to their standard sealer I found that you truely get what you pay for.
Pros: High Quality
Cons: a bit on the expensive side
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+14points
16out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Aqua Mix Sealers Choice Gold 24 oz. Penetrating Sealer
from Katy, TX
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Finally found a good sealer

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have used various products over the years and none of them have really worked. I applied the sealant to a shower and could visualize positive results immediately. As soon as I turned on the water I could see the droplets beading up around the grout lines. Only time will tell how long the sealant will hold up before I need to reapply.
The product is a bit costly for the size of the container but it is worth it. I measured the cost with the amount of time I was spending on fixing the shower yearly, plus the cost of sealant that didn't hold up. It is totally worth it.
Pros: High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Aqua Mix Sealers Choice Gold 24 oz. Penetrating Sealer
from San Jose, CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Recommended by a pro

PostedOctober 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Sealed grout very well. Application is a little sloppy, as there is much waste. I used a spray bottle on grout lines then wiped off excess after a few minutes.
Pros: Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Aqua Mix Sealers Choice Gold 24 oz. Penetrating Sealer
from Murphy, TX
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Aqua Mix Sealer Good for Keeping Your Stone Clean

PostedMay 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This product is VERY easy to apply to the surface. As well as a easy clean up. I will never have any porous surface that is not sealed with this product. It helps keep your kitchen, bathroom or tile floors grime free and much easier to clean.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Effective
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Aqua Mix Sealers Choice Gold 24 oz. Penetrating Sealer
from vero beach
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

easy cover workied as advertised

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
very easy to use but does have bad odor. had to open up house to air out
Pros: Easy to Use
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Aqua Mix Sealers Choice Gold 24 oz. Penetrating Sealer
from San Rafael, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Sealer

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great sealer and super easy to apply. I sponged two coats on our slate and the water just beads up. I have used this company's products for years. You can't go wrong.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Aqua Mix Sealers Choice Gold 24 oz. Penetrating Sealer
from San Rafael, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great tile & grout sealer

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Just applied it to new tile, grout and backsplash so hope it lives up to its name! Easy to apply, water cleanup. Says it lasts 15 years!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Aqua Mix Sealers Choice Gold 24 oz. Penetrating Sealer
from Janesville, WI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great but pricey sealer

PostedApril 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I applied this to both bathrooms within the last two weeks. It was easy to apply and seems to be an excellent sealer. Once applied water pools on the tile and does not absorb into it. It is a little early to tell how durable it is, but the directions says it should last 15 years. A bit pricey but if it lasts that long the price is worth it.
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Aqua Mix Sealers Choice Gold 24 oz. Penetrating Sealer
from longmont
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked well on travertine floor

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used it to re-seal a travertine floor after 3 years of use in a hallway with heavy traffic and dogs. Prior to the sealing, I repaired minor potholes and imperfections as well as stripped old sealer. I restored silky sheen and water dirt repellent properties to the floor.........yes, I tested with water afterwards.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Aqua Mix Sealers Choice Gold 24 oz. Penetrating Sealer
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

nice product

PostedAugust 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
we have natural stone tile in the bathroom and needed to seal it to prevent mold. Sealer's Choice Gold went on easily and its been a few weeks...no mold!!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Aqua Mix Sealers Choice Gold 24 oz. Penetrating Sealer
from Ramsey, MN, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works ok

PostedFebruary 8, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This sealer was easy to use and no odor.
However, after I had put 2 coats on the grout on our shower walls, the grout still seems to absorb water in some places. Not sure why but left it at that.
Pros: Easy to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Aqua Mix Sealers Choice Gold 24 oz. Penetrating Sealer

No smell alternative

PostedJune 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Great product, goes on easy, has no smell, easy cleanup
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Aqua Mix Sealers Choice Gold 24 oz. Penetrating Sealer
from Lakeland, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Just what I wanted!

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The biggest attraction this product had for me was that it was not solvent based. I applied it per directions with a small brush. It does take some time and as I was doing shower walls and floor plus bathroom floor. I worked in sections and went back and wiped off excess before the maximum time was up. After it was applied and allowed to cure I spot check the grout lines for water resistance and found it had worked as promised. Time will tell as far as how long it holds up but I believe I got the best product for the job.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Aqua Mix Sealers Choice Gold 24 oz. Penetrating Sealer
from Las Vegas, NV, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Custom Building Products - Sealers Choice Gold

PostedOctober 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We won't know how well this sealer lasts for a few years, or after we spill something. Our bathroom marble looks great after using it, as it enhanced the details in the mable. Our installer said it was easy to use, and 24oz covered all the marble in our bathroom. All of the reviews and information I read before purchasing say that it is one of the best sealers available, and it will last better than most, at up to 15 years... Maybe beyond! I loved being able to order online & pick up in the store, where it was waiting for us at the front desk.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Looks Great
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Aqua Mix Sealers Choice Gold 24 oz. Penetrating Sealer
from Riverside, CA

Terrific

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Best sealer I've ever used. Easy to apply. Easy to clean up. Very clear and way to follow instructions.
Pros: Great Instructions, Easy to Clean, Looks Great, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Aqua Mix Sealers Choice Gold 24 oz. Penetrating Sealer
from Cedar Creek, Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

super sealer

PostedNovember 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Work flawless after first coat. Clay tile & grout in new shower installation. Will apply 2nd coat for good measure. Should last many years.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: none
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Aqua Mix Sealers Choice Gold 24 oz. Penetrating Sealer
from Destin, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Waiting to see if it stands the test of time!

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Product is very runny. If you have too much it runs down the wall tile. Not sure how much gets absorbed by the tile, so we gave it two coats and probably will do again shortly. We will see the quality and value, if/when it does it's job. (We sealed the tile grout in the kids bathroom).
Didn't discolor white grout on application which was good. Expensive but if it does seal the grout it will be worth the cost.
Pros: does not discolor the grout
Cons: very/too runny
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Aqua Mix Sealers Choice Gold 24 oz. Penetrating Sealer
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked great

PostedApril 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It worked really great, easy to put on and wipe off
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, High Quality
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Aqua Mix Sealers Choice Gold 24 oz. Penetrating Sealer
from Marietta, GA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product seems great at first but doesn't last...

PostedOctober 4, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Luckily I forgot to write a summary right away so I didn't give it the same 5-stars as others have... At first glance this seems like a solid product, but as the week ended I noticed the sheen fade away as fast as it showed up and trying to mop it with just warm water since there is very little product knowledge out there, and I feel I wasted my money now.
-3points
3out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Aqua Mix Sealers Choice Gold 24 oz. Penetrating Sealer

Poor Instructions

PostedAugust 11, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I read the specs, instructions, and viewed the manufacturer's video but none answered my questions before I cracked open this $30 bottle. I will call Home Depot again after I write this but so far nobody seems to know much about this product and it is a Sunday so the manufacturer is unavailable. I suggest a go-slow approach as Custom Building Products is not a company that provides much product information other than marketing material. I do not recommend this product on the basis of not enough product information.
Pros: Lots of Features, Good Size & Weight
Cons: No Instructions, too risky for the price
-9points
2out of 13found this review helpful.