728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop CFL Light Bulbs or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 23-Watt (100W) Daylight (5000K) Spiral CFL Light Bulb (4-Pack) (E)*

23-Watt (100W) Daylight (5000K) Spiral CFL Light Bulb (4-Pack) (E)*

The 23-Watt Spiral Full Spring Daylight CFL Light Bulbs (4-Pack) (E)* are energy-efficient and offer a daylight glow in your home or business. These long-lasting bulbs shine up to 10,000 hours, making them great for your general lighting needs or for use in table lamps and sconces. (E)* means this bulb meets Federal minimum efficiency standards. (E)* means this bulb meets Federal minimum efficiency standards.
Overall rating:
2.588 / 5
2.6
 / 
5
(34 reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
31%of customersrecommend this product10 of 32reviews
Rating Breakdown 34 reviews
2.6 out of 5.0
5
(11)
4
(2)
3
(1)
2
(2)
1
(18)
Quality 
2.4 out of 5.0
2.4 out of 5
Value 
2.6 out of 5.0
2.6 out of 5
31%of customersrecommend this product10 of 32reviews
Customer reviews for 23-Watt (100W) Daylight (5000K) Spiral CFL Light Bulb (4-Pack) (E)*
Review 1 for 23-Watt (100W) Daylight (5000K) Spiral CFL Light Bulb (4-Pack) (E)*
from FL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

The bulbs failed to last more than 3 months

PostedSeptember 30, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I installed three of the bulbs in my home office hoping to have a really bright workspace. It seemed like an ideal environment to give them a try as the lights are rarely cycled more than once a day and while the 9 year lifespan is on an estimated 3hrs/day using these for 9hrs/day should still see a 3 year lifespan and plenty of energy savings. After three months the first bulb failed in a loud pop, I replaced it with the fourth bulb from the pack that I still had as a spare, within three days the new bulb failed along with one of the two remaining originally installed bulbs from the 4 pack. These bulbs also were also slow to warm up to full brightness when initially turned on each day.
Pros: Very Bright
Cons: Burns Out, slow to come up to full brightness
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 23-Watt (100W) Daylight (5000K) Spiral CFL Light Bulb (4-Pack) (E)*
from Chicago, IL, USA
Gender:Male

Extremely IFFY

PostedFebruary 10, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have been using these as grow lights for several months now and I have been on the edge with them.
While they are bright, lately, with any package that I have been getting from my local HD, I have had nothing but issues with these bulbs- mainly with them burning out after only a few hours use, or having them "dim out" to which I have to turn off the lamp for 10-15 minutes and then turn it back on every couple of hours.
From November '12- Feb '13, I had basically no issues. Now in Feb '13, its seems like that is all I am getting. Yes, they are cheap- but now I am going to invest in another brand (albeit more expensive) in hopes of finding a better bulb that will actually last how long they are rated for (in number of hours used).
Pros: Very Bright, Easy Installation
Cons: Burns Out
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 23-Watt (100W) Daylight (5000K) Spiral CFL Light Bulb (4-Pack) (E)*

Really, really slow to full brightness!

PostedNovember 27, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought these for my wood shop so I could see the true color of my work without having to carry it outside. Works in that regard, but they take close to 5 minutes to come up to full brightness (base up, shop heated to 70 degrees). Very, very annoying.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 23-Watt (100W) Daylight (5000K) Spiral CFL Light Bulb (4-Pack) (E)*

Junk

PostedSeptember 26, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Average lifespan of 4 bulbs is about 3 hours each. They lasted any where from 1 - 6 hours. Now all four are dead.
Cons: Burns Out
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 23-Watt (100W) Daylight (5000K) Spiral CFL Light Bulb (4-Pack) (E)*
from Capitol Heights, MD
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent value!

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These bulbs are not only an economical choice in the aisle, but also month after month in your electric bill. Will continue to replace every bulb in my house with these.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Compact, Eco-Friendly, Very Bright, Nice Design, Easy Replacement
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 23-Watt (100W) Daylight (5000K) Spiral CFL Light Bulb (4-Pack) (E)*

Worst CFL yet!

PostedJanuary 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is now the fourth brand of CFL I've tried in our kitchen. With out a doubt, these have been the worst. I started replacing my Longstar CFLs, as they died, with these Philips Ecosmart 23W 5000K CFL bulbs. The 1st one died after 1 day! The 2nd one lasted 14 days and the 3rd lasted 23 days. The 4th is still hanging on. These bulbs don't even last long enough to turn brown, like most other brands. They don't pop, or fizz, they just stop working. One came back to life for a day but then never came back. Please don't waste your money on these pathetic bulbs.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 23-Watt (100W) Daylight (5000K) Spiral CFL Light Bulb (4-Pack) (E)*
from Great Falls
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Best Bulbs for the Price!

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love these light bulbs! Talk about a lot of "bang for your buck"! These bulbs give you a dramatically brighter light wherever you use them .... interior or exterior light fixtures. I own a fifty unit motel, and we are slowly converting all our light bulbs to these daylight bulbs. Highly recommend these bulbs!
Pros: Easy to Use, Very Bright, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 23-Watt (100W) Daylight (5000K) Spiral CFL Light Bulb (4-Pack) (E)*
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not a good choice

PostedApril 7, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought 2 four packs. One didn't work out of the box. The next day three more went out. Bad product Home depot should get rid of these they are junk.
Cons: Burns Out
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 23-Watt (100W) Daylight (5000K) Spiral CFL Light Bulb (4-Pack) (E)*
from Idaho
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Avoid these.

PostedApril 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Very poor life span, as others have said. Don't bother getting them. I've been very frustrated with the whole forced move to more "efficient" bulbs. These bulbs are expensive, do not last, and are overall worse for the environment than regular incandescent bulbs, since they have to be replaced ever more often. I don't know in what universe you would get 9 years out of one of these, but it ain't this one.
Pros: Easy Installation
Cons: Burns Out, expensive
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 23-Watt (100W) Daylight (5000K) Spiral CFL Light Bulb (4-Pack) (E)*
from New Mexico, USA

Nice light but worry about other reviews

PostedApril 2, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I did my entire house in EcoSmart Daylight CFLs. Where I wanted the most lumens, I inserted these guys. These are fine when left on, but they take longer to reach full brightness than the others. And they're pretty tall.
Although none of the bulbs failed on install, I hear these 100-W equivalents may have a shorter lifespan than the others. If they fail, I'll replace them with the 16-Watt (65W) product. But at this point, I can not recommend this particular product.
Pros: Very Bright
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 23-Watt (100W) Daylight (5000K) Spiral CFL Light Bulb (4-Pack) (E)*
from E. Tennessee
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

bright when they work

PostedJuly 5, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
works fine in over head fixture, bright white, not noisy like some, will not work in desk lamps, gets hot after 30 minutes and goes out, cools off and comes back on. had a sylvania cfl in my lamp for over a year that has worked fine, wanted a whiter light so bought these.was skeptical about buying these from other reviews, lesson learned!
Pros: Eco-Friendly, Very Bright
Cons: unstable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 23-Watt (100W) Daylight (5000K) Spiral CFL Light Bulb (4-Pack) (E)*
Gender:Male

These bulbs willl not last

PostedJanuary 27, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased a 4 pack, to change the 3 bulbs in the fixture that we have in living room. I chose the bulbs because of the daylight cool rating. One bulb went out after less than three hours. When I turned the fixture on the next day, I lost another one. Stay away from these bulbs! The other brand bulbs had been working fine, for sever years.
Cons: Burns Out
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 23-Watt (100W) Daylight (5000K) Spiral CFL Light Bulb (4-Pack) (E)*
from Eureka, CA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

High Failure Rate

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Very high failure rate. Had 3 out of 8 that I bough fail within 3-5 months. They where used in bedrooms and a bathroom. They where not even used close to the 3 hour day at our house. They are claiming 9 years of life out at 3 hours a day on the package. My local Costco quit carrying the cool white CFL's which we have had real good luck with at an even better price than these. I bough 12 of the Phillips 60 watt equivalent and have had better luck with those...only one of the 12 has died....which still isn't great after less than 5 months, but a little better than the 100w equivalent.
Cons: Burns Out
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 23-Watt (100W) Daylight (5000K) Spiral CFL Light Bulb (4-Pack) (E)*

4 different brightnesses in one package even after warmup

PostedFebruary 9, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Have a fixture with 3 sockets. Inserted 3 of these from the same package containing 4 bulbs and they were of 3 different brigtnesses, even after letting them warm up. Wasn't subtle, either; the brightest one looked like twice as bright as the dimmest. Turned them off, let them cool down, and moved to other sockets; the bright one is still the brightest no matter where I put it and the dimmest one is the dimmest.
Cons: not uniform brightness
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 23-Watt (100W) Daylight (5000K) Spiral CFL Light Bulb (4-Pack) (E)*
from New Jersey
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female

The bulb lasts only 2 months

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
On the package it says that the bulb's life is 9.1 years (based on 3hrs/day use). I use my bulb for 9 hours every day, so the bulb is supposed to last about 3 years. Now, I'm already on my third bulb from the 4-pack bulb package that I purchased this fall. So, in reality, each bulb lasts about 2 months only.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 23-Watt (100W) Daylight (5000K) Spiral CFL Light Bulb (4-Pack) (E)*

Waste of Money

PostedApril 3, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
3 of the 4 bulbs in the package went out in less than a day. I replaced them with the Phillips brand and have not had a problem. Save the headache and get a name brand.
Cons: Burns Out
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 23-Watt (100W) Daylight (5000K) Spiral CFL Light Bulb (4-Pack) (E)*

not good - burns out

PostedMarch 30, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
One bulb lasted 3 hours; the second only 20 minutes. Not much else to say.
Cons: Burns Out
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 23-Watt (100W) Daylight (5000K) Spiral CFL Light Bulb (4-Pack) (E)*
from New Hope, PA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

very poor reliability

PostedMarch 18, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
These bulbs do not last very long. I replaced 12 bulbs recently and 50% of them stopped working after as little as 2 days! Stay away from this brand!
Pros: Eco-Friendly
Cons: Burns Out, poor reliability
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 23-Watt (100W) Daylight (5000K) Spiral CFL Light Bulb (4-Pack) (E)*
from Ocean, NJ
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent investment

PostedFebruary 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought three or four packs of these about 4 years ago, and the first one just failed so I'm looking to get more. I use these a lot longer than the 3 hours/day estimate the box gives, more like 8 hours/day, so the life hours estimate is fairly accurate. The difference in our electricity bill from replacing all the incandescents with CFLs was easily noticeable when we compared it to the previous year's bill.
They did seem blue when I first started using them, since I was used to warm white or soft white, but within a few days I got used to seeing everything its actual color. Now I can't stand the orangey color distortion of warm white.
The only 'con' of these is that the bulb part of a 100W CFL is larger than traditional incandescent bulbs and won't fit in every fixture - I have a desk lamp that I have to use a 75W bulb with because the 100Ws are too long and stick out the end of the lamp.
Pros: Eco-Friendly, Very Bright
Cons: larger than standard bulbs
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 23-Watt (100W) Daylight (5000K) Spiral CFL Light Bulb (4-Pack) (E)*

Very bright - perfect for utility room

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this bulb mainly to use in utility room. It's very bright.
Pros: Very Bright, Easy Replacement
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 >>