728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Home>

Customer reviews for 15-Amp 12 in. Double Bevel Sliding Compound Miter Saw

15-Amp 12 in. Double Bevel Sliding Compound Miter Saw

The DEWALT 15 Amp 12 in. Sliding Compound Miter Saw is driven by a powerful motor for advanced cutting power in a compact, lightweight design. With extended bevel and miter capacities, this saw powers through dimensional lumber and moulding at angles up to 50 degrees left and 60 degrees right for versatility. Tall sliding fences support crown moulding up to 7-1/2 in. nested, base moulding up to 6-1/2 in. vertically against the fence while easily sliding out of the way for bevel cuts.
Overall rating:
4.843 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(70 reviews) 70
Open Ratings Snapshot
97%of customersrecommend this product68 of 70reviews
Rating Breakdown 70 reviews
4.8 out of 5
5
(64)
4
(3)
3
(1)
2
(2)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
97%of customersrecommend this product68 of 70reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 4 Answers
Customer reviews for 15-Amp 12 in. Double Bevel Sliding Compound Miter Saw
Review 1 for 15-Amp 12 in. Double Bevel Sliding Compound Miter Saw
from Indianapolis, IN, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This 12" compound, dual bevel, sliding miter saw is the best I have ever owned as a Pro

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
In my picture you will see my new DeWalt saw in action. My Builder likes it as much as me. He even commented on the LED light marker, " I have never, ever seen any other saw that has a perfectly accurate light marker as this one" Nice...
Pros: Durable, Strong Suction, Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting, contractor grade
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+24points
27out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 15-Amp 12 in. Double Bevel Sliding Compound Miter Saw
from Central Texas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Shelf making easy

PostedDecember 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Needed a saw with enough reach to go through 15.75" shelving in one pass. Looked and looked. Sears has a radial arm saw, but the thing costs ~$800. As can be seen in the pic, if you want to make shelving using the full 15.75" melamine without having to flip the board this saw is for you. All you have to do is make the base out of two .75" particle boards as written in the manual. PS: I installed the 100 teeth Diablo blade to reduce chipping.
Pros: Accurate
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 15-Amp 12 in. Double Bevel Sliding Compound Miter Saw

Excellent Saw. A trim carpenter will be happy.

PostedApril 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very nice saw. Exactly square out of the box. Slide extension maintains square cut as well. 12" blade requires slower cut to minimize blade deflection, but that is required on any 12" mitre saw. I am thrilled with this saw!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 15-Amp 12 in. Double Bevel Sliding Compound Miter Saw
from Houston
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great saw

PostedMarch 31, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have spent years cutting things off "as well as I can" with a hand-held power saw, but nothing every looked really straight and square. No more! Love this saw.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 15-Amp 12 in. Double Bevel Sliding Compound Miter Saw
from Pleasanton, CA, USA

Very Happy With This Saw

PostedAugust 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Have been replacing trim and siding on the outside of the house, and installing baseboard and window casings inside the house. I used my neighbor's Dewalt DW708 almost nonstop for 3 years to do all of this work, but he moved recently. I hated to see him, and it, go.
I purchased the DW780S with some reservations about quality, mostly the slide. My saw is a "type 2" (as opposed to the earlier(?) "type 1") and happily, its slides operate as smoothly as those on the DW708.
My new saw is accurate, large capacity, easy to use (love the LED light/cutting guide), and seems to be well made. Hopefully that means it will last as long as the 708 I had to give up.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 15-Amp 12 in. Double Bevel Sliding Compound Miter Saw
from New Braunfels, Texas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Sweet Saw with accurate fence, built in dust collection average

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
OK so I love this thing - I couldn't give it 4.5 stars so it gets 5.
I haven't upgraded the blade yet (Diablo coming soon) but with the stock blade on construction lumber and Knotty Alder this thing has done very well.
The Stand for this is a must unless you're going to build a cabinet or station for it.
I have three small gripes about this saw:
The Fence, hold down clamp and Dust collection.
The Fence is built with a top and bottom "rail" on both sides of the blade. The bottom is fixed (its part of the saw base) whereas the top slides out to help with longer stock. If you are cutting long thin stock it doesn't sit well against the extended fence. I will have to build a miter station to alleviate this for my shop.
Keep in mind if your lumber is not straight - your miter cuts may be off - use materials that are as straight as possible or plane them before attempting complex miter cuts
Hold down clamp has limited range (you can put it on the right or left side of the blade.
The clamp was not that well thought out. It works well on long, thick boards but is pretty useless on small, thin or awkward pieces which forces you to get creative with clamps (or get your hands closer to the blade - avoid this at all costs!)
The hold down clamp is like a half C clamp where you screw it down to hold the piece to the saw before you cut. The pad that rests on the workpiece has a tendency to move the piece you just lined up when you tighten it down. A flip lock and more adjustable hold down would have been better.
Dust Collection - OK the little bag at the back of the saw works OK but shouldn't be your permanent solution - hook up a vacuum/shop vac to it. That will help a lot. You can't expect 100% dust collection from a saw like this, not even Festool
All in all I love this saw! Really happy to have it in the shop - makes quick work of repeat cuts on lumber and the slide mechanism works great
Pros: Powerful, Sturdy, Accurate
Cons: fence needs improvement or custom build your own, hold down clamp almost worthless on small pieces, could have better dust collection
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 15-Amp 12 in. Double Bevel Sliding Compound Miter Saw

Love the saw

PostedFebruary 28, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
The saw excellent in its ability to cut. I'm going to make this real quick. The dust collector bag is garbage. If you want to hook up a vacuum attachment.. While your using the saw and the vacuum at the same time the leather wrap around the shroud is poorly designed and gets sucked into the port tube and defeats the purpose of using a wet/dry vac. Poor design for dust bag. Other than that saw is quiet and cuts wood like most saws do
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 15-Amp 12 in. Double Bevel Sliding Compound Miter Saw
from Illinois, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worth every penny!

PostedApril 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought this during the free stand offer was going on. I've made numerous cuts on different woods to test it and it cut thru all of them with ease! Checked it for accuracy of miter and bevel angles, was spot on. As soon as I took it out of the box I could tell it was built to last. Solidly built with strong construction and not a bunch of plastic that will wear out soon. Recommend it 100%
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 15-Amp 12 in. Double Bevel Sliding Compound Miter Saw

Miter saw

PostedMarch 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I found this saw to be one of the most easy tool to use. It saved me time to complete my projects without any professional assistance.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 15-Amp 12 in. Double Bevel Sliding Compound Miter Saw
from Eagleville, PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I now know why so many contractors own DeWalt

PostedNovember 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a great tool. As a weekend warrior, I have owned Miter Saws from Bosch, Craftsman, and Ryobi. I never thought I would own a Dewalt. I didn't think I could justify the cost.
Recently I came into some money and decided to find out what all of the fuss was about. Results: This is the absolute best tool purchase I have ever made. I can hardly imagine surpassing the quality of this tool.
It came out of the box fully assembled and ready to go. I did not need to calibrate for the 90 degree miter or bevel, they were both dead on out of the box. The scale markings for the miter are easy to read and large enough to make accurate angle settings easy. The miter handle releases and locks with ease. For a saw this size, it is surprisingly easy to turn the miter table. The slide is also quite easy to operate.
As for weight, it is not bad. I had a Bosch with similar features, and I would never have taken that saw to a remote jobsite. It was about 20 pounds heavier. This saw is just about light enough to be considered portable. The RIGID sittting on display next to it in the store was 14 pounds heavier and extremely bulky. This saw is fairly compact when compared to most of its peers,
The XPS(cross-cut positioning system) is great. This saw does not use a laser to show where the blade will cut. Instead it has LED lghts that shine down either side of the blade. The result is not only a well lit cutting area, but a shadow line indicating exactly where the blade will fall. You can even see the profile of the carbide blade tips in the shadow so you know just how wide the kerf will be. If you can't make accurate cuts with this saw, you should probably not be allowed near tools in general. I have not yet tried out in direct sunlight, so I admit this could be a potential problem.
I was working on a deck recently and I was cutting 4 x 4 pressure treated posts. It cut through them like they weren't even there. Talk about power to spare!
I have not really owned the saw long enough to talk about reliability, but hey, It's a DeWalt...
As to value, I'll admit the price is high.but when tempered with the outstanding quality, it alllevels out. I would absolutely recommend this saw to a friend. I would also buy it again in a second.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 15-Amp 12 in. Double Bevel Sliding Compound Miter Saw
from Logan, UT
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great saw at a great value

PostedSeptember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The Dewalt 12 in. Compound Slide saw is my new favorite tool. I had to decide between the Rigid and Dewalt, both are very high-quality but I ultimately chose the Dewalt because it is lighter weight, thus easy for me to transport. It would be nice if Dewalt offered the lifetime warranty like the Rigid does, which makes it a tough decision. Anyway, I've used the saw for framing, crown and trim work. This saw is precise and the adjustment mechanisms are quick and easy to use. The backlit blade is also a nice feature and it gives you a pretty accurate idea as to where your cut will be made. The slide is the only way to go in my opinion. It allows you to make cuts on large boards in one swoop whereas in the past I would have to flip the board to finish the cut. The motor is very stout and has powered through everything I’ve cut thus far. I am happy with my purchase and look forward to using the saw for years to come.
Pros: Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful
+31points
33out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 15-Amp 12 in. Double Bevel Sliding Compound Miter Saw
from Bastop TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Awsome. I should have had a stand before.

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
What a great saw and get the stand. My third saw and I never had a stand before. Beat the heck out of my last Dewalt. The last one shattered when I went to lift it by the lift handle.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Accurate
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 15-Amp 12 in. Double Bevel Sliding Compound Miter Saw
from Liberty, IN 47353, USA
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Saw

PostedJanuary 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have owned this saw about a month. I have other saws with lasers & never really liked them, because many times the red laser will hide the pencil line. I have had to turn the laser off to be able to see the cut mark. That dose not happen with the XPS LED light on this saw. The LED light is white & projects a shadow of the blade onto the piece to be cut.It makes the pencil mark much easier to see. The saw is also quite, smooth & makes great cuts.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 15-Amp 12 in. Double Bevel Sliding Compound Miter Saw
from Las vegas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

SMOOTH as SILK!!!

PostedFebruary 19, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have been doing Renovations for many years now. This SAW is the best tool I have ever owned, hands down. I am not prone to hyperbole so for me to say that means a lot. The light, which I thought might be gimmicy is fantastic. The way the saw cuts, slides and rotates is as smooth as silk. Great Job DeWalt. Great Job.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate
Cons: heavy but expected
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 15-Amp 12 in. Double Bevel Sliding Compound Miter Saw
from Huntsville, AL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Absolutely Wonderful!

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have had the DWS780 for about 5 months now and can tell you without hesitation that this is one of the best purchases I have made yet! I am an avid D-I-Y'r and have done everything from decks, fencing, and general construction to less forgiving things like furniture and cabinetry. This has been one of the most useful additions to my tool set in quite some time.
I read a lot of reviews about this saw before I purchased it and was a bit concerned about the reviews complaining about the LED light system. It seemed as if a number of reviewers preferred the laser over the LED light or they complained that it was hard to see when working outside. As for preferring a laser, all I can say to that is that you must not require perfect accuracy. I have built things that require better than 1/64" accuracy and you cannot always get that from a laser, there is no way you can get it wrong with the LED light. As for seeing it outside, I work outside almost exclusively in full Alabama sunlight and have absolutely no problem seeing it very clearly.
As for the rest of the saw, the action is very smooth. The slides work flawlessly! I have cut through 6X6 posts as well as wide pieces of oak and birch plywood and it comes out great every time. When cutting through larger pieces like the posts I love using the slide to take a few passes instead of cutting straight down. The saw will cut straight through it with no problem but I prefer taking a few slices. For the woodworkers out there, you know that any saw will create unacceptable tearout (because any amount is unacceptable) if you aren't careful. With this saw, when I am doing cross cuts (against the grain) of pieces that need to be flawless I can do a first pass using the slide at a shallow depth to just barely break the surface, without using the built-in stop, and then take the saw down the rest of the way to finish it off. Creates a perfect face every time! It's the same trick used on table saws when a zero clearance insert isn't available.
BTW, did I mention I do all this with the original included blade? Normally when I buy a new saw of any sort, the first thing I do is replace the blade with an 80-tooth or better Diablo, but the blade that came with it has be surprisingly good. It's only a 60-tooth but it produces a glass smooth finish when used properly. When it comes time, I will probably replace it with a Diablo, but until then I am happy. For those that complain about tear out, here's a hint, put a piece of scrap behind it to cut through. I have used $100+ blades and they will tear out the back of a piece as well. I have attached a picture of a stack of wood just before I cut through it, and yes, the saw cut through every bit of it with one cut. I was building a desk and needed every horizontal cross brace to be precisely the same length and even 1/64" was too much deviation to be acceptable. The only way to get them that perfect is to cut them all at the same time. Once finished, both sides were so smooth and flush that you could not feel the separation of the boards. For those trying to figure it out, that is 3 pieces of 3/4" oak ply on the bottom, 2 pieces of oak 1x4's, and another small piece of 3/4" ply on top, with a piece of 3/4" ply behind them all to ensure no tear out. A cheapo piece of hardboard would have also worked, but that ply was already sitting there so. :)
Also, for those not sure if they should go sliding miter or not, I just recently built some large drawers for a cabinet I built for my shop that needed 13" wide drawer bottoms. That's too wide for a regular miter and would be a pain on most table saws without the use of a sled. With this I was able to cut all 8 of them in a matter of about a minute. Sure I could have gotten by with a circular saw but it would have take a lot longer and this was just a lot more fun!
In short, get it, you won't regret it!
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
+24points
28out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 15-Amp 12 in. Double Bevel Sliding Compound Miter Saw
from lancaster, ca
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

awesome just awesome

PostedFebruary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
very well engineered saw. very accurate. LED is brilliant.
Pros: Durable, Strong Suction, Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 15-Amp 12 in. Double Bevel Sliding Compound Miter Saw
from Canada
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Amazing Tool for Hardwood Installation

PostedJuly 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this wonderful saw one week ago. This is the second Dewalt miter saw in my professional life. It has good power and lots of possibilities for wood cutting. Very easy to use! Highly recommend for everybody: for professionals and beginners.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
8out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 15-Amp 12 in. Double Bevel Sliding Compound Miter Saw

The best one yet

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is the best and most versatile saw on the market. It makes a hard job simple and makes your cuts look expert!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 15-Amp 12 in. Double Bevel Sliding Compound Miter Saw
from Summerville, SC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Can't go wrong with this saw

PostedFebruary 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've researched just about every miter saw and read just about every review, but you never really know until you've used it for yourself. I haven't had this 12 inch slider for long, but for the few time's I've use it ..man-o-man, it's worth the price. I also purchased the compact stand that comes with mounting brackets. Yeah, it's expensive, but if I have to look at them for the next ten years, I better like what I see and never have to say, "I shoulda". Spend the cash now and get a top contender in the 12 inch sliders market. I had to make a couple simple adjustments on the bevel and miter angles, but like I said, simple. So far every thing has worked as expected. I would recommend hooking up a shop vac instead of using the dust bag. It says the bag catches 75 percent of the dust, but that still leave quite a bit to clean up. Attaching a shop vac increases the dust collection by another 15 to 20 percent plus there's no dust bag to keep emptying. Absolutely no regrets for the cash dropped on this puppy. It's true that it may be more saw than I need, but knowing that I'll be able to handle any job that comes up.... PRICELESS!
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: quality ain't cheap
 
Products related to my review
 
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 15-Amp 12 in. Double Bevel Sliding Compound Miter Saw
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

12 Inch Miter Saw

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Saw was right on the numbers from the first cut. It has been a great saw.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>