728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Saws or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 15-Amp 12 in. Double Bevel Sliding Compound Miter Saw

15-Amp 12 in. Double Bevel Sliding Compound Miter Saw

The DEWALT 15 Amp 12 in. Sliding Compound Mitre Saw is driven by a powerful motor that delivers up to 3,800 RPM of cutting power. With extended bevel and mitre capacities and tall sliding fences, this saw powers through dimensional lumber and moulding at angles up to 50 degrees left and 60 degrees right for versatility. 10 positive stops and an XPS LED make accurate cutting intuitive and easy, and the gearbox and belt-drive design increases vertical cutting capacity. This saw comes conveniently supplied with a 12 in. carbide blade, blade wrench, vertical material clamp and dust bag.
Overall rating:
4.857 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(56 reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
96%of customersrecommend this product54 of 56reviews
Rating Breakdown 56 reviews
4.9 out of 5.0
5
(51)
4
(3)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
96%of customersrecommend this product54 of 56reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for 15-Amp 12 in. Double Bevel Sliding Compound Miter Saw
Review 1 for 15-Amp 12 in. Double Bevel Sliding Compound Miter Saw
from Central Texas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Shelf making easy

PostedDecember 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Needed a saw with enough reach to go through 15.75" shelving in one pass. Looked and looked. Sears has a radial arm saw, but the thing costs ~$800. As can be seen in the pic, if you want to make shelving using the full 15.75" melamine without having to flip the board this saw is for you. All you have to do is make the base out of two .75" particle boards as written in the manual. PS: I installed the 100 teeth Diablo blade to reduce chipping.
Pros: Accurate
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 15-Amp 12 in. Double Bevel Sliding Compound Miter Saw
from Indianapolis, IN, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This 12" compound, dual bevel, sliding miter saw is the best I have ever owned as a Pro

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
In my picture you will see my new DeWalt saw in action. My Builder likes it as much as me. He even commented on the LED light marker, " I have never, ever seen any other saw that has a perfectly accurate light marker as this one" Nice...
Pros: Durable, Strong Suction, Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting, contractor grade
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
10out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 15-Amp 12 in. Double Bevel Sliding Compound Miter Saw
from Pleasanton, CA, USA

Very Happy With This Saw

PostedAugust 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Have been replacing trim and siding on the outside of the house, and installing baseboard and window casings inside the house. I used my neighbor's Dewalt DW708 almost nonstop for 3 years to do all of this work, but he moved recently. I hated to see him, and it, go.
I purchased the DW780S with some reservations about quality, mostly the slide. My saw is a "type 2" (as opposed to the earlier(?) "type 1") and happily, its slides operate as smoothly as those on the DW708.
My new saw is accurate, large capacity, easy to use (love the LED light/cutting guide), and seems to be well made. Hopefully that means it will last as long as the 708 I had to give up.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 15-Amp 12 in. Double Bevel Sliding Compound Miter Saw
from Logan, UT
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great saw at a great value

PostedSeptember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The Dewalt 12 in. Compound Slide saw is my new favorite tool. I had to decide between the Rigid and Dewalt, both are very high-quality but I ultimately chose the Dewalt because it is lighter weight, thus easy for me to transport. It would be nice if Dewalt offered the lifetime warranty like the Rigid does, which makes it a tough decision. Anyway, I've used the saw for framing, crown and trim work. This saw is precise and the adjustment mechanisms are quick and easy to use. The backlit blade is also a nice feature and it gives you a pretty accurate idea as to where your cut will be made. The slide is the only way to go in my opinion. It allows you to make cuts on large boards in one swoop whereas in the past I would have to flip the board to finish the cut. The motor is very stout and has powered through everything I’ve cut thus far. I am happy with my purchase and look forward to using the saw for years to come.
Pros: Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful
+26points
27out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 15-Amp 12 in. Double Bevel Sliding Compound Miter Saw
from Mosinee, WI 54455, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Saw!!

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Even as a serious DIYer, I was a little hesitant to purchase such a high end miter saw, but I must say that I am not disappointed. This is a great saw.
I am currently remodeling a 103 year old Victorian. The 60 degree swing cut the collar ties for my 8/12 roof with no problem. The XPS blade alignment feature is really nice. It is easy to make very accurate cuts when you can see exactly where the blade will hit. My old saw had a laser guide, but there was still some guess work when cutting. Not so with this saw.
The blade that comes with the saw is nice for rough carpentry, but order a finer tooth blade if you need to avoid tear-outs. Haven't tried the saw on crown molding yet, but with all the presets, and the fact that I bought the crown fence as well, I don't foresee any problems. The dust collection is adequate. You'll do some sweeping, but the bag does fill up fast, so it catches the majority of the mess.
Highly recommended.
Pros: Powerful, Accurate
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 15-Amp 12 in. Double Bevel Sliding Compound Miter Saw
from Metro Detroit
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Dewalt miter saw

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Had a earlier version or model of the same saw, but it got stolen. So I already knew what I wanted.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate
Cons: Too Heavy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 15-Amp 12 in. Double Bevel Sliding Compound Miter Saw
from Illinois, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worth every penny!

PostedApril 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this during the free stand offer was going on. I've made numerous cuts on different woods to test it and it cut thru all of them with ease! Checked it for accuracy of miter and bevel angles, was spot on. As soon as I took it out of the box I could tell it was built to last. Solidly built with strong construction and not a bunch of plastic that will wear out soon. Recommend it 100%
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 15-Amp 12 in. Double Bevel Sliding Compound Miter Saw
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

very nice saw

PostedAugust 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
been looking at replacing my old but trusty delta miter saw for the past 6 months at least, finally pulled the trigger on this dws 780 I belive the large capacity and that it is a slider will be well worth the big bucks, if you get this saw go ahead and get the dewalt rolling stand model dwx726 you will not be sorry you did
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 15-Amp 12 in. Double Bevel Sliding Compound Miter Saw
from Huntsville, AL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Absolutely Wonderful!

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had the DWS780 for about 5 months now and can tell you without hesitation that this is one of the best purchases I have made yet! I am an avid D-I-Y'r and have done everything from decks, fencing, and general construction to less forgiving things like furniture and cabinetry. This has been one of the most useful additions to my tool set in quite some time.
I read a lot of reviews about this saw before I purchased it and was a bit concerned about the reviews complaining about the LED light system. It seemed as if a number of reviewers preferred the laser over the LED light or they complained that it was hard to see when working outside. As for preferring a laser, all I can say to that is that you must not require perfect accuracy. I have built things that require better than 1/64" accuracy and you cannot always get that from a laser, there is no way you can get it wrong with the LED light. As for seeing it outside, I work outside almost exclusively in full Alabama sunlight and have absolutely no problem seeing it very clearly.
As for the rest of the saw, the action is very smooth. The slides work flawlessly! I have cut through 6X6 posts as well as wide pieces of oak and birch plywood and it comes out great every time. When cutting through larger pieces like the posts I love using the slide to take a few passes instead of cutting straight down. The saw will cut straight through it with no problem but I prefer taking a few slices. For the woodworkers out there, you know that any saw will create unacceptable tearout (because any amount is unacceptable) if you aren't careful. With this saw, when I am doing cross cuts (against the grain) of pieces that need to be flawless I can do a first pass using the slide at a shallow depth to just barely break the surface, without using the built-in stop, and then take the saw down the rest of the way to finish it off. Creates a perfect face every time! It's the same trick used on table saws when a zero clearance insert isn't available.
BTW, did I mention I do all this with the original included blade? Normally when I buy a new saw of any sort, the first thing I do is replace the blade with an 80-tooth or better Diablo, but the blade that came with it has be surprisingly good. It's only a 60-tooth but it produces a glass smooth finish when used properly. When it comes time, I will probably replace it with a Diablo, but until then I am happy. For those that complain about tear out, here's a hint, put a piece of scrap behind it to cut through. I have used $100+ blades and they will tear out the back of a piece as well. I have attached a picture of a stack of wood just before I cut through it, and yes, the saw cut through every bit of it with one cut. I was building a desk and needed every horizontal cross brace to be precisely the same length and even 1/64" was too much deviation to be acceptable. The only way to get them that perfect is to cut them all at the same time. Once finished, both sides were so smooth and flush that you could not feel the separation of the boards. For those trying to figure it out, that is 3 pieces of 3/4" oak ply on the bottom, 2 pieces of oak 1x4's, and another small piece of 3/4" ply on top, with a piece of 3/4" ply behind them all to ensure no tear out. A cheapo piece of hardboard would have also worked, but that ply was already sitting there so. :)
Also, for those not sure if they should go sliding miter or not, I just recently built some large drawers for a cabinet I built for my shop that needed 13" wide drawer bottoms. That's too wide for a regular miter and would be a pain on most table saws without the use of a sled. With this I was able to cut all 8 of them in a matter of about a minute. Sure I could have gotten by with a circular saw but it would have take a lot longer and this was just a lot more fun!
In short, get it, you won't regret it!
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
+21points
25out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 15-Amp 12 in. Double Bevel Sliding Compound Miter Saw
from Canada
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Amazing Tool for Hardwood Installation

PostedJuly 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this wonderful saw one week ago. This is the second Dewalt miter saw in my professional life. It has good power and lots of possibilities for wood cutting. Very easy to use! Highly recommend for everybody: for professionals and beginners.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
7out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 15-Amp 12 in. Double Bevel Sliding Compound Miter Saw
from Liberty, IN 47353, USA
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Saw

PostedJanuary 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have owned this saw about a month. I have other saws with lasers & never really liked them, because many times the red laser will hide the pencil line. I have had to turn the laser off to be able to see the cut mark. That dose not happen with the XPS LED light on this saw. The LED light is white & projects a shadow of the blade onto the piece to be cut.It makes the pencil mark much easier to see. The saw is also quite, smooth & makes great cuts.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 15-Amp 12 in. Double Bevel Sliding Compound Miter Saw
from Kansas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does all the cuts

PostedJuly 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Makes cuts I use to have problems with quick and easy.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Accurate, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 15-Amp 12 in. Double Bevel Sliding Compound Miter Saw
from Summerville, SC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Can't go wrong with this saw

PostedFebruary 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've researched just about every miter saw and read just about every review, but you never really know until you've used it for yourself. I haven't had this 12 inch slider for long, but for the few time's I've use it ..man-o-man, it's worth the price. I also purchased the compact stand that comes with mounting brackets. Yeah, it's expensive, but if I have to look at them for the next ten years, I better like what I see and never have to say, "I shoulda". Spend the cash now and get a top contender in the 12 inch sliders market. I had to make a couple simple adjustments on the bevel and miter angles, but like I said, simple. So far every thing has worked as expected. I would recommend hooking up a shop vac instead of using the dust bag. It says the bag catches 75 percent of the dust, but that still leave quite a bit to clean up. Attaching a shop vac increases the dust collection by another 15 to 20 percent plus there's no dust bag to keep emptying. Absolutely no regrets for the cash dropped on this puppy. It's true that it may be more saw than I need, but knowing that I'll be able to handle any job that comes up.... PRICELESS!
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: quality ain't cheap
 
Products related to my review
 
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 15-Amp 12 in. Double Bevel Sliding Compound Miter Saw

Excellent saw, horrible slide

PostedApril 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
So far this saw has been a huge money saver. After years of staring hard at my work its hard to see, and that light makes a world of difference. I can make an accurate cut down to a 1/32 in under 2 seconds with the light. Which is huge when u have 1000 ft of base, 750 ft of door casing and 250 ft of crown to install. The light and new rolling stand saved me an hour of work right out of the box. I dont like the lock on the back of the saw when changing the bevel. Easy to do crown molding with 31.6 and 33.9 pre-marked.
Cuts thru 4x10's with ease.
Dewalt should include crown stops with the saw.
The only negative is that the slide can be hard to slide at times and requires a lot of force
I couldn't resist buying the saw when home depot threw in a free rolling stand with it.
+11points
14out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 15-Amp 12 in. Double Bevel Sliding Compound Miter Saw

Nice Saw

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Black Friday made this the excellent value, not so much if I'd paid full price. So far, I've only cut my gable end wall studs with this saw. I'm pretty happy with how easy it is to get into the position you need. The LED light works very well, no need for a laser. Only a couple of downsides so far that I've found. If you don't have a dust collection system the small bag that comes with the saw fills very quickly so it's kind of a pain. The other thing is the clip that keeps the slider from sliding doesn't make a good positive latch and will pop off after a few cuts allowing the saw to slide when you might not expect it to.
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 15-Amp 12 in. Double Bevel Sliding Compound Miter Saw
from Hermitage, Pa
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

wow what a saw

PostedMay 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had no hesitation buying this saw because I own many Dewalt tools and have for years. They're all workhorses and this machine is no exception. This saw is built to last, easy to set up and use and very accurate. Great features beyond the power and cutting capacity. The LED light is great. I also got the rolling stand for it and it is great too. I would recommend this saw to anyone.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 15-Amp 12 in. Double Bevel Sliding Compound Miter Saw

Good Saw

PostedMarch 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was looking for a saw with maximum capacity and this was it. The LED is useful although sometimes I have to hold the guard up on a large piece to see the shadow of the blade. I looked around for awhile liked some of the features better on The Bosch such as the smaller footprint but this was a couple hundred cheaper and free shipping. Thanks Home Depot
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 15-Amp 12 in. Double Bevel Sliding Compound Miter Saw

Another five star review...buy it already

PostedJuly 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If you are a serious DIY'er like myself, you've probably lusted after this saw or similar. You've probably put it off and gotten by just fine. I say wait until the saw goes on sale with the stand included, bite the bullet, buy the saw, and live happy.
This saw simply makes my work safer, faster, better, and more comfortable than a circular saw. The accessory portable saw stand is also a must have. If you watch HD sales, occasionally the saw comes with the stand included for free.
Behind my cordless drill, this is my most used power tool. It is professional grade, but even us hobbyists will get their money's worth. With the portable stand, it is quick and easy enough to pull out for even a few cuts, it stores in the corner of my garage, and it makes work precise and enjoyable. My wife even loves this saw for her crafty projects and she finds it very easy to use.
Pros:
*Accurate and square right out of the box
* Good value, especially with the free stand
*Cuts through 4x8's and wide boards.
* Overall, a great value
Cons:
*It's a big heavy saw, which has pluses and minuses
* The XPS cut guide cannot be seen well in bright daylight. I've never used a laser guide, so I cannot say that it is better or worse. Not a big deal at any rate.
* You must set it up a healthy distance from a wall so that the slide rails have space to swing
* The included blade is adequate for most work and light finish work. If I ever have a big moulding job, I'll probably upgrade to something that gives a cleaner cut.
WISH LIST:
* I wish this saw had a power plug that was wired into the saw trigger so I could plug my shop vac into it and have it turn on only when cutting. This saw kicks alot of sawdust.
* I wish this had a pencil tray to hold glasses, a tape measure, and pencil.
*The slide rails are not as smooth as the hitachi I've used, but that hitachi was double the money.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 15-Amp 12 in. Double Bevel Sliding Compound Miter Saw

Great for Home Projects

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this saw and the stand when I began building my outdoor kitchen and wore out my old one. I could not be happier. I was able to fly through construction and make the cuts I needed accurately and quickly. Best saw I have ever owned and well worth the $$$.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 15-Amp 12 in. Double Bevel Sliding Compound Miter Saw
from Co
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The best!!!

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Does it all and more. Pay the higher price. It's well worth it!
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>