728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Home>

Customer reviews for 20-Volt Max (3.0 Ah) Lithium-Ion Combo Kit (5-Tool)

20-Volt Max (3.0 Ah) Lithium-Ion Combo Kit (5-Tool)

The DEWALT 20-Volt Max (3.0 Ah) Lithium-Ion Combo Kit (5-Tool) is high-powered to tackle a wide range of applications. Providing superior comfort and control, this kit is suitable for the jobsite or for DIY projects and features long-lasting and strong lithium-ion batteries for exceptional performance. Durably made for years of use, this cordless kit gives you convenient and reliable power wherever you need it so you can tackle your jobs with confidence.
Overall rating:
4.575 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(40 reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product33 of 37reviews
Rating Breakdown 40 reviews
4.6 out of 5
5
(31)
4
(4)
3
(3)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product33 of 37reviews
Customer reviews for 20-Volt Max (3.0 Ah) Lithium-Ion Combo Kit (5-Tool)
Review 1 for 20-Volt Max (3.0 Ah) Lithium-Ion Combo Kit (5-Tool)
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Buyer Beware! Items included may not be what you think they are!

PostedMay 28, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
As far as the 20v Max system goes, I am totally 100% satisfied. I currently have a kit comprised of a half dozen tools using this platform, and I couldn't be happier with the performance of it all.
Now, talking about this specific kit-
Hammer Drill- Great, 5 stars. Packs a ton of power, punches through concrete like butter.
Impact Driver- Also phenomenal. This was my first Impact driver, and I can not understand how I ever lived without one
Light- It's a light. It works. The swivel on it is decent, although I wish it pointed downwards more. Also, the beam lacks any focus capability.
Reciprocating Saw- Garbage. Totally stopped working after one use. Please note- this is NOT the same tool that you would get when purchasing separately!!! This saw lacks the 4 way blade clamp and does not work nearly as well as the other model. The saw in this package is model DCS381, while the standalone unit is model DCS380. Big difference in performance and features.
Circular Saw- Also completely different than the standalone model! (DCS393 vs. DCS391) Big difference here is that the model in this package comes with a stamped metal foot and poor quality adjustment parts, where the standalone unit uses a nice magnesium base and higher quality parts.
I understand why companies take cost cutting measures like this, but it is unfair to the customer to not be more upfront about the difference in quality they are getting.
All in all, I am happy with the 20v MAX set I currently have, but was pretty upset upon learning that the tools I bought were not what I thought they were. Needless to say, I returned this set and went elsewhere to purchase the tools individually.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
Cons: items not as described
+92points
95out of 98found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 20-Volt Max (3.0 Ah) Lithium-Ion Combo Kit (5-Tool)
from Arizona, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

The impact driver is great.

PostedApril 20, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The 36 volt dewalt sawzal and skill saw is hands down a much better match for a contractor. The 20 volt skill saw does not match the powerful 36 volt. Nor does it have a tool less reliece for the blade. The 20 volt one drains the battery way to fast. And I think it's just as heavy. The 20 volt sawzall has the power and longevity I like in a battery. And operates well. But the 36 volt one has more options with blade positioning and makes the 36 volt sawzall much nicer for tight places and funny angles. Overall I'm disappointed in the extra 10 years of technology the 20 volt saws have, verses the 10 year old awesome 36 volt saws. Looking back now I would much rather pay a few more dollars and get the 36 volt set again. Although the rest of the tool set is great. I love the impact driver and the drill. I do wish the light came with a hook to hook on my belt. But other than that its great too.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
Cons: Limited Features
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
14out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 20-Volt Max (3.0 Ah) Lithium-Ion Combo Kit (5-Tool)

Great all around set

PostedMarch 12, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I am an avid do it yourselfer, let me say this is more than I needed. More for guys who make a living with these tools but got it for 350 out the door so couldn't pass it up. Used all these tools so far in a variety of ranges. Built a patio porch using drill, circ saw. Replaced rear main seal, oil pan n valve cover gaskets using impact and flashlight. Trimmed Palm trees and cut sheet metal weather stripping with the SAWZALL and more little stuff. Let me start with the positive. The battery life is amazing!! With doing all that stuff I've only had to charge the batteries twice so far. All tools have a ton of power. CiIRC SAW cut thru 2x's like butter, IMPACT n FLASHLIGHT loosened and tightened old stuck nuts on an 99 truck, the flashlight was like the sun and very handy adjustable head. Also made easy work in sinking lag bolts into 4x4's. DRILL easliy drilled into stucco on hammer setting and hung plants and speakers. SAWZALL made nice clean cuts thru Palm tree and thin sheet metal. Blades can be changed fast and easily. All tools are very powerful and durable.
Now for the negatives, only two of them. And I hate to sound repetitive but like other reviews say the sawzall n circ saw are the heavy bulky versions not the better model sold individually. Circ saw is very heavy n a bit unbalanced. The guide boot is bulky and doesnt have a very clean sharp guide line. The sawzall is verg heavy as well and with tons of power, shoe isn't adjustable and vibrates the heck out UR hands so wear gloves. Overall a great set and for the price I got it for U can't beat it! I've had Ryobi set in the past n this blows it away in quality, power and battery life. Highly reccomend just wish dewalt would step up n put the better model circ n sawzall in this package
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 20-Volt Max (3.0 Ah) Lithium-Ion Combo Kit (5-Tool)
from Huntington, WV, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

More Advanced then my last set.

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I debated on this or the 18v lith Ion. Glad i got this set. Quality made product, one thing i don't like is that the sawzaw does not have an LED nor does the Circular saw. I think all 5 pieces should have LED for someone finishing up work late. The LED on the hammer drill is new but it doesn't exactly point on the Hole. The drills are awesome though and i love the flashlight it's superbright! I'm very impressed with the LED light. I haven't had to charge my set yet and i've used it randomly for couple weeks. If you buy this product you will like it i am sure of it. Having a this Dewalt product will give you confidence in any job. I just wish the price was around 450.00 because i love walking away from a deal with a smile! Don't we all?
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
Cons: Limited Features, need led on sawzaw and circular saw.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 20-Volt Max (3.0 Ah) Lithium-Ion Combo Kit (5-Tool)

its alright besided the saw zall

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Sawzall broke after just 3 uses took them a week to fix. Had to put new motor in it. Seems like junk to me
Pros: Powerful
Cons: Not Durable
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 20-Volt Max (3.0 Ah) Lithium-Ion Combo Kit (5-Tool)
from Kentucky
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Dewalt tool kit

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great tools we bought two sets for Christmas gifts they loved them great tools and great price
Pros: Accurate
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 20-Volt Max (3.0 Ah) Lithium-Ion Combo Kit (5-Tool)

Only Drawback....

PostedDecember 4, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Home Depot & Dewalt cheapened the saws in the currently available combo packs... note the difference in model numbers from the individual saws. 381 vs 380 and 393 vs 391
+31points
42out of 53found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 20-Volt Max (3.0 Ah) Lithium-Ion Combo Kit (5-Tool)

Exactly what I expected

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Each of the tools in the combo set has met or exceeded my expectations! In purchasing the 20V Dewalt set, I was looking for quality tools that will outlast me. Hopefully they will .
Pros: Durable, Powerful
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 20-Volt Max (3.0 Ah) Lithium-Ion Combo Kit (5-Tool)
from Fenton Michigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Tool Combination

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The tool kit is comprehensive and well made for projects around the house.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 20-Volt Max (3.0 Ah) Lithium-Ion Combo Kit (5-Tool)
from Oxnard Ca.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Must have tool

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Light weight and batteries last longer wish I would of got them sooner
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 20-Volt Max (3.0 Ah) Lithium-Ion Combo Kit (5-Tool)

Great quality

PostedApril 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I origanally picked up the Rigid set with similar tools, but it lacked the feel and power of the Dewalts. With the online price only $30 more it was an easy switch.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 20-Volt Max (3.0 Ah) Lithium-Ion Combo Kit (5-Tool)

So far so Good

PostedDecember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Love the Led lights. Haven't used much yet. But wish I got batteries for all the tools vs 2.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 20-Volt Max (3.0 Ah) Lithium-Ion Combo Kit (5-Tool)
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Check for the Honey DO List

PostedDecember 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a great kit for some of things that need to get done around the house, the Light is great when you need to fix a fan and need to cut the electric. I now look for things to fix.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 20-Volt Max (3.0 Ah) Lithium-Ion Combo Kit (5-Tool)
from Madawaska, Maine.
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome kit for the do-it-yourselfer!

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had an older 18V Dewalt combo kit and replaced it with the 20V kit from the home depot. Order came in fast and was well packaged. Great products! My older set doesn't even compare to this. The lighted drills are awesome and the flashlight works super. I highly recommend this product. My older 18v kit had an hour charger and if you left the batteries on it, it would fry them! With this new kit, you can keep them on the charger all the time and they will never overcharge. The batteries also have a level indicator. Technology! The only downfall is the soft case. My older set had a hard case which protected the tools much better.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 20-Volt Max (3.0 Ah) Lithium-Ion Combo Kit (5-Tool)

Awesome

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
love the dewalt brand. HD is an easy access point. Delivered right to my front door.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 20-Volt Max (3.0 Ah) Lithium-Ion Combo Kit (5-Tool)
from Fort Worth, TX, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great tools

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The flash light is the most powerful one I've ever owned. It shines 100 feet no problem. The impact driver has very nice lights. I love the 20 secnt delay after letting the trigger go. It is very powerful. The drill has so meany features I haven't used them all yet. One thing I rely like is in speed one it can go very slow. Witch is great for getting drill holes started. I only have one gripe about the drill, the light. It lights up every thing except write where the bit hits the wood. I wish is was mounted on the bottom of the handle above the battery pointing up at the chuck. I have not used the saws yet but I will soon in a new project. But they look high quality like all the other tools in this set.
Pros: Powerful
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 20-Volt Max (3.0 Ah) Lithium-Ion Combo Kit (5-Tool)
from Jackson, MI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

best deal I've made in years

PostedDecember 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
my old Dewalt 18 volt Ni-Cad stuff was getting worn out, I didn't want to make a purchase for the 3rd set of batteries.
This combination let me enter the next level without emptying my wallet - I saved a ton by purchasing the combo, and I got it all, the driver is bonus surprise you must have.
The battery gauges really put this tool on the upper plane.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 20-Volt Max (3.0 Ah) Lithium-Ion Combo Kit (5-Tool)

Well built, great quality!

PostedDecember 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Dewalt makes a great tool. I really like how the lights on the drill and the impact stay on a little after you have released the trigger. I upgraded to this set from a Porter Cable set. I also have the Dewalt 12 volt drill and impact of which I like the weight (good for jobs going up and down a ladder), so getting use to the heavier weight of the 20v will take some time getting use to. But with heavier weight comes more power, longer battery life. I did notice that Dewalt makes 20v batteries that are about half the size of the 20v batteries that come with the combo set. I don't know how much less they weigh or if you loose battery life.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Long-Lasting
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 20-Volt Max (3.0 Ah) Lithium-Ion Combo Kit (5-Tool)
from Lake Mary, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

20 v mac dewalt 5 piece set

PostedOctober 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
When I purchased the 18v set....I loved it....this set has essentially the same equipment with one reception: the reciprocating saw blade can not do sideways cutting.....sort of aggravating but I can work around it....much lighter......I don't know what others say bout the batteries having 18v levels but they hold level better.....I say 100% worth it.
+7points
11out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 20-Volt Max (3.0 Ah) Lithium-Ion Combo Kit (5-Tool)
from Birch Run, MI 48415, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

totaly love dewalt

PostedJanuary 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
i hated getting rid of my last my last set of drills they where 18 volt and helped me make i living for 7 years ,7years considering i m a contracter concrete decks basement remo whatever and my guys dont have soft hands but after doing a basement with my new 20 volt i can sleep easy i love my new drills and saws
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 >>