728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Power Tool Combo Kits or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 20-Volt Max (3.0 Ah) Lithium-Ion Combo Kit (5-Tool)

20-Volt Max (3.0 Ah) Lithium-Ion Combo Kit (5-Tool)

DEWALT's new 20V Max Power Tools are designed to surpass professionals' expectations and address the need for tools that have the power to withstand rigorous jobsite applications, while also providing comfort and ease of use. 20V Max Tools deliver up to 57% faster application speed and up to 35% greater runtime than other leading 18 Volt lithium ion tools. The DCK590L2 20V Max Lithium Ion 5-Tool Combo Kit provides the convenience of maintaining one kit for many of your cordless power tools for the professional who demands the convenience and versatility of cordless. The DCK590L2 includes: DCD985 premium hammer drill, DCF885 impact driver, DCS393 6-1/2 in. circular saw, DCS381 reciprocating saw, DCL040 LED work light, (2) 3.0 Ah batteries, fast charger, 360 degree side handle, belt hook, carbide tipped circular saw blade and contractor bag.
Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(32 reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
86%of customersrecommend this product25 of 29reviews
Rating Breakdown 32 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(24)
4
(3)
3
(3)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
86%of customersrecommend this product25 of 29reviews
Customer reviews for 20-Volt Max (3.0 Ah) Lithium-Ion Combo Kit (5-Tool)
Review 1 for 20-Volt Max (3.0 Ah) Lithium-Ion Combo Kit (5-Tool)
from Arizona, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

The impact driver is great.

PostedApril 20, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The 36 volt dewalt sawzal and skill saw is hands down a much better match for a contractor. The 20 volt skill saw does not match the powerful 36 volt. Nor does it have a tool less reliece for the blade. The 20 volt one drains the battery way to fast. And I think it's just as heavy. The 20 volt sawzall has the power and longevity I like in a battery. And operates well. But the 36 volt one has more options with blade positioning and makes the 36 volt sawzall much nicer for tight places and funny angles. Overall I'm disappointed in the extra 10 years of technology the 20 volt saws have, verses the 10 year old awesome 36 volt saws. Looking back now I would much rather pay a few more dollars and get the 36 volt set again. Although the rest of the tool set is great. I love the impact driver and the drill. I do wish the light came with a hook to hook on my belt. But other than that its great too.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
Cons: Limited Features
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+9points
13out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 20-Volt Max (3.0 Ah) Lithium-Ion Combo Kit (5-Tool)
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Buyer Beware! Items included may not be what you think they are!

PostedMay 28, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
As far as the 20v Max system goes, I am totally 100% satisfied. I currently have a kit comprised of a half dozen tools using this platform, and I couldn't be happier with the performance of it all.
Now, talking about this specific kit-
Hammer Drill- Great, 5 stars. Packs a ton of power, punches through concrete like butter.
Impact Driver- Also phenomenal. This was my first Impact driver, and I can not understand how I ever lived without one
Light- It's a light. It works. The swivel on it is decent, although I wish it pointed downwards more. Also, the beam lacks any focus capability.
Reciprocating Saw- Garbage. Totally stopped working after one use. Please note- this is NOT the same tool that you would get when purchasing separately!!! This saw lacks the 4 way blade clamp and does not work nearly as well as the other model. The saw in this package is model DCS381, while the standalone unit is model DCS380. Big difference in performance and features.
Circular Saw- Also completely different than the standalone model! (DCS393 vs. DCS391) Big difference here is that the model in this package comes with a stamped metal foot and poor quality adjustment parts, where the standalone unit uses a nice magnesium base and higher quality parts.
I understand why companies take cost cutting measures like this, but it is unfair to the customer to not be more upfront about the difference in quality they are getting.
All in all, I am happy with the 20v MAX set I currently have, but was pretty upset upon learning that the tools I bought were not what I thought they were. Needless to say, I returned this set and went elsewhere to purchase the tools individually.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
Cons: items not as described
+82points
83out of 84found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 20-Volt Max (3.0 Ah) Lithium-Ion Combo Kit (5-Tool)
from Madawaska, Maine.
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome kit for the do-it-yourselfer!

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had an older 18V Dewalt combo kit and replaced it with the 20V kit from the home depot. Order came in fast and was well packaged. Great products! My older set doesn't even compare to this. The lighted drills are awesome and the flashlight works super. I highly recommend this product. My older 18v kit had an hour charger and if you left the batteries on it, it would fry them! With this new kit, you can keep them on the charger all the time and they will never overcharge. The batteries also have a level indicator. Technology! The only downfall is the soft case. My older set had a hard case which protected the tools much better.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 20-Volt Max (3.0 Ah) Lithium-Ion Combo Kit (5-Tool)

its alright besided the saw zall

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Sawzall broke after just 3 uses took them a week to fix. Had to put new motor in it. Seems like junk to me
Pros: Powerful
Cons: Not Durable
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 20-Volt Max (3.0 Ah) Lithium-Ion Combo Kit (5-Tool)
from Huntington, WV, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

More Advanced then my last set.

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I debated on this or the 18v lith Ion. Glad i got this set. Quality made product, one thing i don't like is that the sawzaw does not have an LED nor does the Circular saw. I think all 5 pieces should have LED for someone finishing up work late. The LED on the hammer drill is new but it doesn't exactly point on the Hole. The drills are awesome though and i love the flashlight it's superbright! I'm very impressed with the LED light. I haven't had to charge my set yet and i've used it randomly for couple weeks. If you buy this product you will like it i am sure of it. Having a this Dewalt product will give you confidence in any job. I just wish the price was around 450.00 because i love walking away from a deal with a smile! Don't we all?
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
Cons: Limited Features, need led on sawzaw and circular saw.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 20-Volt Max (3.0 Ah) Lithium-Ion Combo Kit (5-Tool)
from miami fl
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

20-Volt Max (3.0 Ah) Lithium-Ion Combo Kit (5-Tool)

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
the best tools off all brand not spend the $ on others brands
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
Cons: Limited Features
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 20-Volt Max (3.0 Ah) Lithium-Ion Combo Kit (5-Tool)
from Houston, tx
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Awesome!!

PostedOctober 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The tools are super powerful and easy to use. Glad I made this purchase. I think online was cheaper. Like the free shipping
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 20-Volt Max (3.0 Ah) Lithium-Ion Combo Kit (5-Tool)
from Jacksonville, Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Another Great Dewalt Product

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have been using Dewalt battery operated drills and saws for years and this is by far the best yet. The torque and long battery life are un-matched
Pros: Powerful, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 20-Volt Max (3.0 Ah) Lithium-Ion Combo Kit (5-Tool)
from Fort Worth, TX, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great tools

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The flash light is the most powerful one I've ever owned. It shines 100 feet no problem. The impact driver has very nice lights. I love the 20 secnt delay after letting the trigger go. It is very powerful. The drill has so meany features I haven't used them all yet. One thing I rely like is in speed one it can go very slow. Witch is great for getting drill holes started. I only have one gripe about the drill, the light. It lights up every thing except write where the bit hits the wood. I wish is was mounted on the bottom of the handle above the battery pointing up at the chuck. I have not used the saws yet but I will soon in a new project. But they look high quality like all the other tools in this set.
Pros: Powerful
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 20-Volt Max (3.0 Ah) Lithium-Ion Combo Kit (5-Tool)

Only Drawback....

PostedDecember 4, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Home Depot & Dewalt cheapened the saws in the currently available combo packs... note the difference in model numbers from the individual saws. 381 vs 380 and 393 vs 391
+31points
42out of 53found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 20-Volt Max (3.0 Ah) Lithium-Ion Combo Kit (5-Tool)

Well built, great quality!

PostedDecember 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Dewalt makes a great tool. I really like how the lights on the drill and the impact stay on a little after you have released the trigger. I upgraded to this set from a Porter Cable set. I also have the Dewalt 12 volt drill and impact of which I like the weight (good for jobs going up and down a ladder), so getting use to the heavier weight of the 20v will take some time getting use to. But with heavier weight comes more power, longer battery life. I did notice that Dewalt makes 20v batteries that are about half the size of the 20v batteries that come with the combo set. I don't know how much less they weigh or if you loose battery life.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Long-Lasting
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 20-Volt Max (3.0 Ah) Lithium-Ion Combo Kit (5-Tool)

great tools

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
makes life so much easier to have all the tools in one bag.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Long-Lasting
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 20-Volt Max (3.0 Ah) Lithium-Ion Combo Kit (5-Tool)

Great quality

PostedApril 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I origanally picked up the Rigid set with similar tools, but it lacked the feel and power of the Dewalts. With the online price only $30 more it was an easy switch.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 20-Volt Max (3.0 Ah) Lithium-Ion Combo Kit (5-Tool)
from Jackson, MI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

best deal I've made in years

PostedDecember 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
my old Dewalt 18 volt Ni-Cad stuff was getting worn out, I didn't want to make a purchase for the 3rd set of batteries.
This combination let me enter the next level without emptying my wallet - I saved a ton by purchasing the combo, and I got it all, the driver is bonus surprise you must have.
The battery gauges really put this tool on the upper plane.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 20-Volt Max (3.0 Ah) Lithium-Ion Combo Kit (5-Tool)
from Birch Run, MI 48415, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

totaly love dewalt

PostedJanuary 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i hated getting rid of my last my last set of drills they where 18 volt and helped me make i living for 7 years ,7years considering i m a contracter concrete decks basement remo whatever and my guys dont have soft hands but after doing a basement with my new 20 volt i can sleep easy i love my new drills and saws
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 20-Volt Max (3.0 Ah) Lithium-Ion Combo Kit (5-Tool)
from Lake Mary, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

20 v mac dewalt 5 piece set

PostedOctober 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
When I purchased the 18v set....I loved it....this set has essentially the same equipment with one reception: the reciprocating saw blade can not do sideways cutting.....sort of aggravating but I can work around it....much lighter......I don't know what others say bout the batteries having 18v levels but they hold level better.....I say 100% worth it.
+7points
11out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 20-Volt Max (3.0 Ah) Lithium-Ion Combo Kit (5-Tool)
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

The product is well worth the money

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
So far I have had great luck with this combo kit. It performs like a person would expect a Dewalt to operate. I have noticed the skill saw and saws all have a few less details then if purchased separate. Nothing that really affects the performance. I understand a company needs to cut costs somewhere and it would be better here. The saws all doesn't have an adjustable depth and the skill saw has a less expensive cutting guide. The drill and impact drill have no difference that I have noticed. Which for me are good, these two need to be built strong and limited on there functions. This kit it we'll worth the money.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 20-Volt Max (3.0 Ah) Lithium-Ion Combo Kit (5-Tool)
from Freeman, MO 64746, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

20v Cordless Set

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Dwalt has done it again. Great tools as always and now lighter and more powerful. I love the added light in the drills!
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Good Size & Weight
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 20-Volt Max (3.0 Ah) Lithium-Ion Combo Kit (5-Tool)
from Charlotte, NC, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

better but questionable compared to 18v

PostedFebruary 23, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Circular saw has no guide included. Don't know when or how many new tools will be introduced. Look at the circular saws cheap metal base compared with the 18v cast base which was easier to see the cut line and was just plain better quality. I am not sure I am sold. Yes the bateries are better. I need a grinder, vaccum, cordless nailer, the big impact wrench that changes tires that I have in 18v, rip fence for sure???? Bring these items soon and ill be in love. Check out the tough system storage, it looks awsom I just orders one xl case to see how it stacks up. Good luck
+3points
9out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 20-Volt Max (3.0 Ah) Lithium-Ion Combo Kit (5-Tool)
from Minneapolis, MN, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice Package for Nice Price

PostedOctober 3, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I got this as a replacement for my old 18v "other brand name" cordless tool set. Each of these tools has outperformed my 18v "other brand name" set in battery life, power, and usefulness.
I have yet to witness the deficiencies the other raters have given these tools, probably because I'm only an occasional user of my Dewalt set. But so far I am satisfied with the purchase and have continually added more tools to the 20v set.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Long-Lasting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>