728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Closet Organizer Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Aromatic Eastern Red Cedar Flake board Closet Liner Panels Project Pak, 21.3 sq. ft.

Aromatic Eastern Red Cedar Flake board Closet Liner Panels Project Pak, 21.3 sq. ft.

Enjoy the natural protection and forest-fresh aroma of Cedar Safe Aromatic Eastern Red cedar Weekend Project Pak panels. Each Project Pak contains 4 panels, 16 in. x 48 in. each, 21.3 sq. ft. total of closet and cabinet liner made only from flakes of 100% Aromatic Eastern Red cedar. Consumers are returning to the safe, natural, effective way to control pests and mildew by installing a cedar closet or lining storage cabinets and boxes with this Easy to handle cedar flake board panels. Say goodbye to chemical mothballs and harsh chemical odors, and say hello to the fresh aroma and natural protection that only Aromatic Eastern Red cedar brings to any closet, pantry or storage space. Do-it-yourselfers everywhere are discovering that Cedar Safe Project Pak Natural Closet Liner Panels provide fresh cedar aroma and excellent protection in a form that is safe, natural, inexpensive and easily installed. Line master bedroom and bathroom closets, attic or basement off-season storage areas, just about any application inside the home protected from the elements. Don’t forget, Pantries and under sink cabinet areas in the kitchen, bath and laundry rooms need natural cedar protection from insect pests too.
Overall rating:
4.091 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
81%of customersrecommend this product17 of 21reviews
Rating Breakdown 22 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(11)
4
(6)
3
(3)
2
(0)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
81%of customersrecommend this product17 of 21reviews
Customer reviews for Aromatic Eastern Red Cedar Flake board Closet Liner Panels Project Pak, 21.3 sq. ft.
Review 1 for Aromatic Eastern Red Cedar Flake board Closet Liner Panels Project Pak, 21.3 sq. ft.
from Northern, NJ
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Great for adding to existing closet

PostedJanuary 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If I was planning to do a whole closet I might be inclined to go with large sheets of flakeboard but I wanted to just line an existing closet that had a closet organizer already installed and I didn't want to have to go to the trouble of removing it. The smaller 16" x 48" sheets provided worked well for my needs.
Cedar flake board is the cheapest material to line a closet with cedar. It's not the prettiest way to do it and the flakeboard has a rough texture but I wasn't very concerned with the appearance since it's just a closet and it will be mostly obscured by clothing. These cedar flakeboards give me the benefits of a cedar lined closet at a fraction of the cost of cedar boards.
I only lined the areas around the hanging sections of the closet organizer as seen in the photo. Installation was quick and easy. The boards cut easily with a jig saw but leave a lot of chips as you cut. If you can manage to collect the chips you can wrap them up in cheesecloth and use it in a drawer. The cutoff peices were too small to use on the wall but they're a good size to line drawers and shelves. The boards are thin so be careful because they can chip or break if you're not careful but they're sturdy enough that they won't dissintegrate as you're working with them.
Tools I used for installation were: tape measure, pencil, straightedge, jig saw, stud finder nailgun and a power screwdriver to remove some of the components of the closet organizer.
Even though I didn't line all the walls the closet has that nice cedar smell and installation only took a couple of hours. Most of it seemed to be spent walking up and down the stairs to my cutting area.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Aromatic Eastern Red Cedar Flake board Closet Liner Panels Project Pak, 21.3 sq. ft.
from South Pasadena, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

Great product easy to install

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to install and cut. I did it my self. Great smell.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Vibrant Color, Well Made, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Great Instructions, Sturdy, Looks Great, Looks High End, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Aromatic Eastern Red Cedar Flake board Closet Liner Panels Project Pak, 21.3 sq. ft.
from Houston
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Panels were inconsistent in size, thickness and not labeled for inside/outside.

PostedMay 7, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of setup 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Panels were supposed to be 16X48. Some were up to 16 1/2 and thickness varied as well. Not pleased when planning for the closet was off by the variance in the panels. Also the video on the vendor site showed there was a right side to have out to the closet and one against the wall. This was not labeled and difficult to discern in low light.
These did work and seemed to be one of the best values for the purpose.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Aromatic Eastern Red Cedar Flake board Closet Liner Panels Project Pak, 21.3 sq. ft.

recommended for smaller projects only

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of setup 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: inexpensive, smells great, small, easy to handle panels
Cons: Panels are not quite the same size - might be a problem if you want to cover a bigger area, especially that edges are not straight (there might be gaps when you lay them side by side). Some panels are crumbly around the edges, making trimming difficult. Quality from panel to panel is inconsistent.
To summarize - might be ok for a small project, like around some shelves, or small areas. If you want to line a bigger closet, I'd recommend looking for bigger 4x8 panels, which seem to be of better quality, at just a couple of dollars more.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Aromatic Eastern Red Cedar Flake board Closet Liner Panels Project Pak, 21.3 sq. ft.
from Lower Bucks County, PA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female

I cannot image a situation where this would be a good purchase.

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We purchased the Aromatic cedar liner panels because of the convenient size boards, to use inside a wooden chest. Being 100% cedar it has that wonderful smell, however, the "flake board" part was the problem. All of the four panels, both sides, were very rough, and attempting to lightly sand the worse parts caused it to come apart. In hind sight, and in the future, we would only purchase cedar tongue and groove panels for ANY project where cedar is desired.
Cons: all of the above in my review
+4points
9out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Aromatic Eastern Red Cedar Flake board Closet Liner Panels Project Pak, 21.3 sq. ft.
from Norwalk, CT, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female

These panels do a good job in basement closets

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We've installed some of these panels in a basement closet many years ago, and they're still fresh smelling and doing their job. We just refinished another closet, so we hammered up several panels over raw sheetrock. Easy to use, and they do what they're supposed to do.
Pros: Functional, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
Cons: i wish they were less pricey.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Aromatic Eastern Red Cedar Flake board Closet Liner Panels Project Pak, 21.3 sq. ft.

easy and affordable

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used to cover walls in closet and make a headboard.
Looks graphic and modern. Easy and affordable too.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Aromatic Eastern Red Cedar Flake board Closet Liner Panels Project Pak, 21.3 sq. ft.
from Minneapolis, MN, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Top Notch Product!

PostedMay 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of setup 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very nice product. Not only that but it is shipped free to my door. The product installs easily even for someone like me who has not used it before. I used it behind my pantry shelves. You should have seen the spiders and other bugs common to unfinished basements scurrying away. I also bought cedar closet liner to line my basement stair way, and after a couple of months it is just as nice as when I installed it. I recommend using a pneumatic brad gun which speeds up the process greatly and you don't have to worry about split boards. If you use nails and hammer I recommend your pre-drilling the holes for the same reason. Oddly enough I was just going to order more to finish my basement pantry and laundry room as well. The cedar closet liner and the cedar flake board have immensely enhanced the livability factor in our previously unfinished basement...not a hint of mildew anywhere. I have had numerous compliments from friends and visitors. After my experience with these two products I am also planning on order the cedar closet liner paneling as well, for another project.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Aromatic Eastern Red Cedar Flake board Closet Liner Panels Project Pak, 21.3 sq. ft.
from Marin County, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

doesn't cover much

PostedOctober 31, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have a very small closet, and it only covered the bottom and a little more than one row up the side (and looks kind of stupid now!). It would end up costing almost a hundred dollars to do the whole closet...I can't figure out how it can possibly be 21+sq.ft. Did a large walk-in closet using cedar boards, and only had to use a couple of boxes, so this is just pretty weird and disappointing.
Pros: Functional, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Appearance, not enough to do much with
-4points
0out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Aromatic Eastern Red Cedar Flake board Closet Liner Panels Project Pak, 21.3 sq. ft.

was exactly what we wanted and expected

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works great for putting on the floor of closets. Nice odor.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Aromatic Eastern Red Cedar Flake board Closet Liner Panels Project Pak, 21.3 sq. ft.
from St Clair Shores, MI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

Cedar Panels - no one else carried these!!

PostedSeptember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Years ago we had our basement closet lined with cedar panels picked up locally. Almost impossible to find the small panels - the lumber yards have large panels that are extremely expensive and have to be cut!! SO happy Home Depot have these smaller panels online and you can order with free shipping!! We redid a closet and a few drawers(up north at the cottage)where it will surely help keep the place smelling sweet.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Excellent Quality, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Install, smells wonderful
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Aromatic Eastern Red Cedar Flake board Closet Liner Panels Project Pak, 21.3 sq. ft.

Covenient way to add cedar flake panel.

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Convenient size for shipping, but do not expect too much. It is a rough, not always square or straight, open "chunk-ed" cedar panel. It does the job if you properly support it and are bot concerned about the panel seams not exactly lining up. Good cedar smell.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Good Size & Weight
Cons: a bit rough
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Aromatic Eastern Red Cedar Flake board Closet Liner Panels Project Pak, 21.3 sq. ft.

Works but poor value.

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
It was sold in 4x8ft panels, now 2x4ft "packages". The 4x8's were cheaper and easier to use, plus all the unnecessary packaging...progress in reveres.
Pros: Functional
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Aromatic Eastern Red Cedar Flake board Closet Liner Panels Project Pak, 21.3 sq. ft.
from Kennesaw, GA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

smells delicious

PostedMarch 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of setup 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
A little thinner than I th but still a terrific product
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Aromatic Eastern Red Cedar Flake board Closet Liner Panels Project Pak, 21.3 sq. ft.
from Mississippi, USA
Age Range:55 to 64

Bought for strong cedar smell to line closet - excellent aroma

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works well for our needs - to line a closet to store hunting clothes to mask house hold odors. Easy to nail to inside of closet. Bought two packages, but will need to buy one more to fully line.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Durable, strong cedar aroma
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Aromatic Eastern Red Cedar Flake board Closet Liner Panels Project Pak, 21.3 sq. ft.
from Tulsa, OK, USA
Gender:Male

Easy installation. Convenient size. Strong aroma.

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The aromatic cedar chip board did exactly what I expected as a closet liner.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, High Quality of Material, Good Size & Weight, Functional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Aromatic Eastern Red Cedar Flake board Closet Liner Panels Project Pak, 21.3 sq. ft.
from Ferndale, MI, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Wonderful product! Smells great!

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent product to work with - cut well and easily installed. Walk-in closet and clothes smell great!
Pros: High Quality of Material
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Aromatic Eastern Red Cedar Flake board Closet Liner Panels Project Pak, 21.3 sq. ft.
from West Bloomfield Township, MI, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Great value and easy to work with.

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Some pieces are not even when trying to cover a large closet area. Thickness may vary slightly. However, great value and easy to work with.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Good Size & Weight, Functional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Aromatic Eastern Red Cedar Flake board Closet Liner Panels Project Pak, 21.3 sq. ft.
from Pensacola, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Great product

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works as designed. Great for closet use. Installation is quick and easy with the 16 x 48 panels.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Excellent Quality, Good Size & Weight, Functional, Well Made, Nice Design
Cons: No Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Aromatic Eastern Red Cedar Flake board Closet Liner Panels Project Pak, 21.3 sq. ft.

Easy to work with.

PostedSeptember 5, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to others. It was versatile and all that it was advertised as.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>