728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Charcoal & Wood Grills or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Kamado Pro Ceramic Charcoal Grill

Kamado Pro Ceramic Charcoal Grill

Experience the flavor of Kamado style cooking. The Vision Grills Kamado Pro replicates wood oven cooking and provides flexibility to sear, grill and smoke meats and vegetables as well as bake pizzas and bread. The Vision Grills Pro Zone will take your grilling experience to a new level with an electric starter port for lighting ease, dual calibrated draft vents for superior temperature control and a removable ash drawer for easy clean out. The grill is constructed of high grade ceramic and delivers 604 square in. with 2-tiered stainless steel flip grates. Includes 2-solid surface drop down shelves, cast iron calibrated top vent and cart with locking rollers for mobility and a full length heavy duty vinyl cover.
Overall rating:
4.742 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(178 reviews) 178
Open Ratings Snapshot
96%of customersrecommend this product164 of 170reviews
Rating Breakdown 178 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(151)
4
(19)
3
(1)
2
(3)
1
(4)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
96%of customersrecommend this product164 of 170reviews
Customer reviews for Kamado Pro Ceramic Charcoal Grill
Review 1 for Kamado Pro Ceramic Charcoal Grill
from Wilson, NC, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best value kamado on the market

PostedMarch 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This grill does it all. Make killer grilled food. Savory smokey food and awesome high heat foods like 700° degrees for cooking pizza. This grill is a steal if you look at the added features the other charge you for such as stand and side tables. This grill is sturdy also. Well built. If you purchase go over to kamado guru and use the forums to learn how to use a kamado. Great resource. You will not be disappointed.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly, nice looking, Great Value
Cons: poor directions on how to use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Kamado Pro Ceramic Charcoal Grill
from Sacramento

Great Grill! Quality Control Issue

PostedJanuary 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
When I received this grill, it was well packaged. The cardboard packaging is thick and protects well. That being said, the unit arrived with a couple of manufacturing defects. Seems this unit snuck past quality control at their overseas factory. Ceramic was molded incorrectly in the ash drawer area. Several large air leaks. I called Vision and they sent me out a new grill to replace this one and just asked that I donate the old one to a local fire dept. CSD Fire now has a kamado. :) The next grill I received was perfect and I'm quite happy with it. Cooking over lump in a kamado is so much better than gas grills or your basic Weber. It's a great product for the price as far as kamados go. Vision stands behind their product and they have good customer service.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Kamado Pro Ceramic Charcoal Grill
from Shalimar, FL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome Grill!

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have smoked on an offset smoker for years and grilled on everything from a Weber to gas to infra red and this hands down is the best grill I have ever owned. So far I have done a Boston butt, ribeyes, salmon, pork chops and a tenderloin and all have come out amazing! This grill maintains tempature anywhere you want it to from 225 to 650 without any issue, when smoking it hardly burns any charcoal. Be sure to use real hardwood charcoal and it won't let you down. After purchasing this grill I built a table from plans I found online and it is even more versatile now. I would recommend this grill for anyone from the novice to the professional it will not disappoint!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+13points
17out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Kamado Pro Ceramic Charcoal Grill
from Delta Township, MI, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

An absolutely outstanding grill!

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Having now used the grill for two weeks for smoking (low and slow) as well as grilling, I can honestly say that it is an awesome product! I am completely impressed with the construction of the grill, as well as features not offered on the Big Green Egg (ash drawer, electric charcoal starter slot, etc.). The grill holds temperatures perfectly with the use of the top vent and two bottom dial vents. I was extremely impressed by how accurately it maintains temperatures. This grill gets far hotter than my gas grill which allows steaks to be seared to perfection. I would reccomend purchasing the additional lava cooking stone heat deflector if you plan on doing any smoking/low slow cooking. All told, I couldn't be more impressed by this grill!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Distributes Heat Evenly, Durable, Easy to Clean, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
Products related to my review
 
+28points
28out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Kamado Pro Ceramic Charcoal Grill
from gaffney,s.c.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

best grill ever owned

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I did a lot of comparison and research on this grill before I FINALLY BOUGHT IT IN Jan. This Kamado not only is the best value, it has better features like the easy empty ash dump and port for electric starter. I cooked in competition bbq. for a number of years, and this is the best smoker I'VE EVER USED. Great for grilling burgers and steaks. cooking pizza, jalepeno poppers. If you plan on using it as a smoker for boston butts,ribs,chicken, go ahead and order the lava stone with the grill. BBQ. turned out so good I'm thinking about getting back in the competition circuit
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Kamado Pro Ceramic Charcoal Grill

Gorgeous..... once it finally arrived!

PostedJune 18, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
ADVANTAGES This is a beautiful product, comparable - if not much better - than the much hyped Big Green Egg. It works like a dream, and delivers delicious grilled foods quickly, from seared steakhouse style meats, to oven-baked pizzas and bread, slow-smoked brisket, to grilled corn and bananas. The temperature is controlled by a metal door that regulates how much air goes in and a daisy wheel vent on the top that regulates how much air goes out. We love it, BUT it took an eternity to get here!!! And arrived with a spot of damage after sitting at the freight depot for over two weeks!!
Pros: Durable, Superior Craftsmanship
Cons: Not Dishwasher Safe
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+17points
20out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Kamado Pro Ceramic Charcoal Grill
from Bellingham WA

Vision Professional Series Kamado Grill

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We bought this about two weeks ago and have cooked steak, whole chicken and brats and all turned out great. We've used both direct and indirect heat and hot and lower/slower methods. So far so good. It will be interesting to see how the expense of charcoal compares to the expense of propane on our Weber Genesis. We also like that we didn't need to pay extra for the electric starter, the indirect heat stone, and the "egg basket" that holds the grill -- it's a complete package.
Pros: complete package
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Kamado Pro Ceramic Charcoal Grill

great overall product

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
used it for the first time to cook a brisket and came out perfect. smoked at 225 for 12 hours and temp never changed.
Pros: Sturdy, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Kamado Pro Ceramic Charcoal Grill
from Georgia

A Very Good Buy

PostedJuly 22, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I did quite a bit of research before I chose a Kamado grill. There are a lot of them on the market now. There are a few that are less expensive than this one and there are many that are more. This model is the same size as the well known large model of kamado grill and a few hundred bucks less. It comes standard with shelves and a rolling stand that many of the more expensive brands don't have. For the price and Free Shipping, it was hard to ignore.
I purchased this Kamado grill via the website. I ordered it on a Thursday night and it shipped the next day. It was delivered the following Thursday by a two man crew (it is VERY heavy). The packaging of this grill was about as good as it gets. It was on a pallet that was not wood, but very rigid cardboard making it easy to recycle. It was double boxed and the outer box was held to the pallet with straps. Simply cut the straps with scissors and lift it off. Then everything else under that was boxed with some of the thickest cardboard I've seen. Once inside, every part that could move had foam and cardboard around it. Even the expansion joint in the firebowl had a strip of cardboard inserted for protection. The hinges on the lid were also very well protected.
Assembly was very minimal. The stand was very simple to assemble and then only the lid handle and shelves had to be attached.
You need two people to lift this onto the stand. I had my daughter hold the stand and then we lifted it onto the stand.
One accessory that is absolutely necessary if you plan to use this for anything other than high heat cooking is the Vision Volcano Stone or similar stone. The Vision stone is 3/4" thick and weighs 12.5lbs. It came with a spider bracket that hangs onto the fire bowl. Then the grill grate can be placed above that for indirect cooking.
The first thing I cooked was a pizza. I used the volcano stone right on top of the fire bowl. Then added the lower grill grate with my seasoned pizza stone. I let the grill heat to 550F and I also tossed in two small chunks of hickory right on top of the lump charcoal (*Immediately place your stones into the grill after you light it. They will break if they are added to an already hot grill). Then, I spread some corn meal onto the pizza stone and then placed the pie. It was the best pizza I have ever cooked on a grill. It only takes a few short minutes. I wanted a real stone brick oven, but did not have the room for it and that is another reason I bought this. But, the lower volcano/lava stone is absolutely necessary or the crust will burn before the toppings are ready. The lower stone leaves a gap on the outer edges and the heat travels up and around the top dome. This creates convection and allows the toppings on the pizza to cook/melt. I've since seared burgers and steaks with excellent results. Using lump charcoal is the only way to go.
This part is long, but very important:
My only concern at this point is the electric starter door on the front panel. While it is a nice idea...and it works...I believe it is also a source for introducing air. If all you do is cook at higher temps, it won't matter too much. But if you actually want to smoke something at 200-250F, it may be a problem. The entire front panel slides out with a nice ash catcher. I like this feature and it makes removing ash easy. I also like the slot for the electric starter. So my suggestion to Vision is to eliminate the lift up door on the front of that panel and simply slide out the entire drawer and then insert the electric starter. If you lift that door 180-degrees, like I imagine most people will, the spring does what over extended springs do and then the door does not close tightly and introduces air. I have sealed mine and I don't use it now. I pull out the drawer and insert the electric starter. The nice thing about lump charcoal is you can cut off the air and it will stop burning. That allows you to use what is left in the fire bowl again until it is gone. But if air is getting into the system, it does not snuff out so easily. I found that my grill was hot for several hours. Maybe this is normal for all these ceramic grills.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly
Cons: the electric starter door is not airtight.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+52points
57out of 62found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Kamado Pro Ceramic Charcoal Grill
from Atlanta, Ga
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I do not regret my new grill purchase!

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Item arrived within a couple of days and I set it up in less than an hour. Main bowl was cracked, I was very unhappy, I called Vision directly and emailed photos, a very nice lady helped me out. She took simple info and a week later my new grill arrived in perfect condition. I am a very happy owner, I already smoked and grill on it every night last week. Only down fall I find is no heat deflector is included, I will buy again from vision.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Kamado Pro Ceramic Charcoal Grill

great cooking machine

PostedMarch 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Seen the kamado joe at a home show in January of this year. I was very impressed at the design and the salesman was quite the talker. Decided to do some research before purchasing since it was rather expensive. The vision pro grill had very good reviews and $300 less than its competitor. I went for it. Very prompt delivery and packaged for the upmost protection. After using it a dozen times, I'm glad I did. I do recommend watching the utube video on fire control. My first fire was out of control and it wouldn't cool down. After watching the video I seen what I did wrong. Now it's so easy to operate and the food comes out to perfection with that great BBQ flavor.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Kamado Pro Ceramic Charcoal Grill
from Massachusetts

If you like to grill, bake and smoke, this is the one!!

PostedMay 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Wow, this grill is great and much less expensive then the BGE. Putting it together took only 15-20 minutes and all tools are provided and each section has a numbered tab. Anyone can do it. Had to call customer service for what I thought was a missing part. Got right thru and Laurie the rep was fantastic. Explained that the part was not need because of the expansion joint. She even took the time to give me some extra tips. Easy to put together, great steaks and yes, pizza. Next step, smoking a brisket. Do yourself a favor and buy the lava stone deflector, it is worth it. Also, great website withe videos and recipes. So, if you like me love cooking then, this is the one. It has it all, superior construction, ease in cooking and getting the correct temperatures and great customer service.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly
Cons: none
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Kamado Pro Ceramic Charcoal Grill
from Jasper, GA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Easy to assemble and use. Food tastes great.

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My first grilling experience was great. The charcoal was easy to light with the heater. The temperature controls worked pretty well. My pork tenderloin came out tasty and juicy. My second time was good also. Marinated pork chops were delicious. Food tastes so much better than from my gas grill. I am getting ready to smoke some ribs for the ultimate test.
I am very satisfied with my purchase.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Distributes Heat Evenly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Kamado Pro Ceramic Charcoal Grill
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I'm very pleased with this grill!

PostedJune 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm more than pleased with this grill. It wasn't difficult to learn how to use and the food is great! I chose this particular grill because it had the ash drawer and I'm really glad I did. It's very handy. I also wanted the place to insert the electric starter. I'm not crazy about that because when I remove it some of the smaller coals drag out too. The easy solution is just insert the starter from the top. I'm very pleased!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Kamado Pro Ceramic Charcoal Grill
from Wentaville
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent value for the $$

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Compared to other Kamado grills on the market this has great features at a great price. We have cooked many different things on this and everything has turned out wonderful. These grills do an amazing job of sealing the juices inside the meat.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Kamado Pro Ceramic Charcoal Grill
from southeast ok
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

easy to use

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent product. Easy to assemble. Easy to regulate temperature. Owned about 2 weeks. Have cooked ribs, burgers, pizza, steaks, pork tenderloin, and brisket. All came out great. Good buy.
Pros: Easy to Assemble
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Kamado Pro Ceramic Charcoal Grill
from North Las Vegas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Value and Superior Quality

PostedJuly 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Best Value in terms of price and quality. Great Packaging and easy setup (20 Minutes with 2 people and you need 2 to lift into the nest). First time smoking a Boston Butt/Pork Shoulder and got rave reviews from everyone - absolutely delicious! Same results with the Ribs and Chicken. Best ever I have smoked in my 30 years BBQing. I'm a big Weber Fan but Weber can't touch this grill from a smoking and hold temp stand point. Smoked the Butt for about 7 1/2 hours and 7 hours after that the grill was still holding a temp of 230F - Simply amazing. Recommend a wireless thermometer that has probes for meat and temp. There will be variation from the wireless thermometer and the grill thermometer - go with the readings from the wireless as they tend to be more accurate (probe is on the grill). I went with the Charbroil Wireless and works like a champ. Again, Great Product and best on the market in terms of price and quality. Can't beat it.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Kamado Pro Ceramic Charcoal Grill

Should've bought it sooner

PostedMay 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
For a girls' weekend, my friend's husband stayed around just to cook for us, every meal being prepared on his new Vision grill. I finally got around to buying one for my husband, who wants to cook on it every single day. Now I'm wondering why it took me so long to order one.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Kamado Pro Ceramic Charcoal Grill
from Upper Marlboro, MD 20772, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

GREAT ALL-AROUND COOKER

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had been looking for a certain other popular cooking device originally but wanted more features at this price point, This unit had all the things I would want for my cooking styles. I have a smoker and grill that was dying out and it was time for a "one shot one kill" cooking device. Home Depot has a credit card that and made the purchase a no-brainer at 24 mos interest free. So I have had this unit for 2 weeks and all I can say is wow... I catch myself sitting down in front of the grill tipping back some frosties and admiring it's beauty.. Not the reason for going this route but this thing is made very well, also shipped very well for free to my house. After a few rounds of faux cooking I got the temperatures down pat and started to cook. I'm not used to such and efficient cooker, it just took me time! The foods out of this is out of this world, no joke. Any of the kamado's are great cooking devices but at this value for this unit with everything combined is 5 star all the way. I have been told by friends that the food I cook is insane on this. I was heckled at from owners of other popular cooking units to tel me that I had a "fake" popular cooking device but now they just call the popular cooking device a "kamado" Buy this if you grill/sear/smoke because it does it all. The only draw backs are starting the lump charcoal and having to wait a little bit to cook, mind you this is coming from a guy that had a gas grill. it's way easier with the electric starter that's sold separately. Coming from a gas grill that was easy snap to start up and get to temp I wouldn't change a thing from where I'm at now. Secondly to properly set the temps you will have to let less air in on the dials and on the top as the convenient pull out ash drawer has leaks. nothing you cant figure out with what comes with the unit. Some serious smoking individuals may want to modify this drawer to let less air in but my smokes in my opinion with the lava rock heat diffusor have turned out much better than on my smoker that only smoked things and was a pain in the butt. I also recommend using a shop vac to clean the ashes from inside the Kamado... super fun and easy. Great job Vision grills, for putting together a solid unit that rivals any unit, 600-3,000 that's out there today, and that says a lot, it's not that you can make the most trusted and loved cooking devices that have been around for ages and make it much better. One of those things that just work well. Cheers!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Distributes Heat Evenly, Durable, Easy to Clean, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Kamado Pro Ceramic Charcoal Grill
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Vision Grill Kamado Grill

PostedJuly 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great grill for the money and Vision Grills has great customer service. I was putting the grill together which is not difficult and then when I opened the lid and removed the grates to put the grill into the cart I noticed the ceramic firebowl was cracked into 5 pieces. I called Vision Grills and spoke to Laurie who provided excellent customer service. I live in St. Louis which is where Vision Grills is located. Laurie said that one of their employees, Sebastian, would bring a new firebowl to me so that I could use the grill that weekend. Smoking on it is easy and makes the food better tasting than a propane grill.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 9 >>