728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Saws or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 15 Amp 12 in. Double-Bevel Sliding Miter Saw

15 Amp 12 in. Double-Bevel Sliding Miter Saw

DEWALT 15 Amp 12 in. Sliding Compound Miter Saw incorporates a precise miter system and a machined base fence support to help you make accurate cuts. With its double-bevel design, this saw bevels 0 - 48 degrees left and right with positive stops at 0, 22.5, 33.9 and 45 degrees in both directions, and a cam-lock miter handle with detent override deliver quick and accurate miter angles. This UL-listed saw incorporates an electric brake to promote safe use.
Overall rating:
4.429 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
81%of customersrecommend this product17 of 21reviews
Rating Breakdown 21 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(16)
4
(1)
3
(1)
2
(3)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
81%of customersrecommend this product17 of 21reviews
Customer reviews for 15 Amp 12 in. Double-Bevel Sliding Miter Saw
Review 1 for 15 Amp 12 in. Double-Bevel Sliding Miter Saw
from Manchester, Ct
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good saw with plenty of power

PostedAugust 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Everything works fine but....the dust bag is worthless & there is no laser marking
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate
Cons: dust bag is worthless
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 15 Amp 12 in. Double-Bevel Sliding Miter Saw
from Collierville, TN, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Saw

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I checked the blade with my machinists square right out of the box and it was dead on. Plugged it in and started cutting. . . what else can I say?
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 15 Amp 12 in. Double-Bevel Sliding Miter Saw
from Lake Mary, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Get the 780 instead, the new one

PostedMay 29, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The dust collection system on the 718 is terrible, wood dust and small chips fly all over the place on soft and hardwoods, the rails do not glide smooth as they should, i bought this at a discount for $399 the other day, brought it back in less than an hour. The newer model has a larger dust port mouth to actually fill the little bag that comes with it. My 10" miter saw was actually doing a better job with cuts and dust, at a fraction of the cost. Slide features are great if you really need them, miter cutting large 2 x 12's or over-sized crown is the only time I saw it necessary. Everything else can be done with a non-sliding miter saw, really.
+8points
17out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 15 Amp 12 in. Double-Bevel Sliding Miter Saw
from Tacoma, WA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Never even plugged it in...

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have been in the market for a quality miter saw since purchasing my home last year as I am going to be doing a lot of trim work, crown, and installing hardwood floors. I bought this DW718 SCMS as an impulse purchase because of the Black Friday deal. I should have read the reviews first...
When I received the SCMS I unpackaged it and immediately noticed an extreme amount of play in the bevel angle. I could "flop" the saw left-to-right with slight finger pressure. I placed a digital angle finder on the saw blade and it measured 1.8° of deflection!!! This is completely UNSAT for finish carpentry! You will never be able to get tight miters with this amount of inaccuracy. I also did not like the bevel angle adjustment notches/detents. It was next to impossible to lock in an angle near the 22.5°, 33.9° and 45° detents. The weight of the saw kept pulling it into the detent itself. I didn't even waste time checking the rest of the saw angles. I returned the saw to the nearest HD and instead spent a little more money for a whole lot more saw - I bought the DWS780 and couldn't be happier. (This is the saw the DW718 should have been!) I recommend you do the same.
That being said the DW718 would probably make an excellent saw on a rough construction site or with a deck builder where large cut capacity is needed but precision is not.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, excellent cut capacity
Cons: not accurate!!!, poor quality control, poor precision
+9points
14out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 15 Amp 12 in. Double-Bevel Sliding Miter Saw

I like this saw

PostedJune 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I really like this saw, just used it to make kerf's in trim piece to bend it.
It was easy to set up and to repeat cuts.
I also like that it will cut 16 in crosscut.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 15 Amp 12 in. Double-Bevel Sliding Miter Saw
from Wayne, WV, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

this product has it all !

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this saw has all the features you will need. Cuts great and does much more than most miter saws.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 15 Amp 12 in. Double-Bevel Sliding Miter Saw
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quality Product

PostedJune 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this saw to build my deck. I have purchased other DEWALT tools and as expected DEWALT has lived up to its name. set up easy and cut square right out of the box. easy to adjust for any angle. smooth operation with almost no vibration.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 15 Amp 12 in. Double-Bevel Sliding Miter Saw

Very nice, but heavy, saw

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this saw on sale and couldn't wait for it to be shipped to my house. It does everything I hoped it "wood" quickly and easily. My only issue will be transporting to a work site; it is rather heavy and I'm not sure the cardboard shipping box can last for years. It is probably an advantage for a miter saw to be heavy, but if you take to a work site frequently you may want to make a case.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
+1point
5out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 15 Amp 12 in. Double-Bevel Sliding Miter Saw

great saw

PostedMarch 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
great saw dust collection is not the best its messy thats wood work. got it on sale with the rolling stand the
combination is awesome it can be moved loaded so easy sets up in seconds
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 15 Amp 12 in. Double-Bevel Sliding Miter Saw
from Kansas, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A well designed and built tool for the homeowner.

PostedDecember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Pros: Sturdy, smooth gliding rails, upscale blade, power, brand history.
Cons: Does not come with laser alignment - add on only
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 15 Amp 12 in. Double-Bevel Sliding Miter Saw
from Coffeyville, KS, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

accurate and easy to use

PostedMay 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
One of the most accurate cutting miter saws that I have used. I used one in Joplin, Mo. During a Rebuild.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 15 Amp 12 in. Double-Bevel Sliding Miter Saw
from Sun Prairie
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Miter Saw

PostedJuly 7, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
From a professional: Cuts are accurate. Easy to move with its built in handel. The only thing better is the newer model. It does a better job with the dust collection, unless you have a vacuum setup.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 15 Amp 12 in. Double-Bevel Sliding Miter Saw
from Nampa, ID, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Saw cuts fine, but poor dust collector

PostedNovember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Very disappointed in the design of the dust collector. It might as well not even have it, for dust goes everwhere, but through the collector. Took the saw back. Took the money and bought a Hitachi C12RSH with laser for the same price.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: poor dust collector
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 15 Amp 12 in. Double-Bevel Sliding Miter Saw

great saw, great value

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
dewalt as always is great. we love the durability and precision.
-4points
3out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 15 Amp 12 in. Double-Bevel Sliding Miter Saw
from Saint Paul, MN, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

You get what you pay for.

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've been interested in this saw for a year, I finally pulled the trigger on it when it was 200 dollars off during the black friday sale. It's expensive but I'm happy with the features and quality of the saw. My first project was cutting 1/4 log siding in an interior application. I like how it comes with a blade I can start finishing work with. I put mine on a portable saw stand.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable, Long-Lasting
Cons: expensive
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 15 Amp 12 in. Double-Bevel Sliding Miter Saw
from Cypress, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love it

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Was just going to get a single bevel, non sliding, but the one I wanted wasn't in stock, so this one was on special, so i splurged and am so happy. Cuts like butter. Thought my old ryobi was fine, but this is like a mercedes compared to that.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 15 Amp 12 in. Double-Bevel Sliding Miter Saw
from Florida, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

exceptional value, outstanding tool

PostedJanuary 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this on Black Friday to replace/upgrade from an old Craftsman. The sale price made an already good value an exceptional one.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 15 Amp 12 in. Double-Bevel Sliding Miter Saw

The best saw i have ever bought!!!!

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Love how smooth it moves and cuts. Also is very clean looking.
Pros: Accurate
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 15 Amp 12 in. Double-Bevel Sliding Miter Saw
from Dallas, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Saw

PostedDecember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Love this saw. I have been trim carpenter for twenty years now use this saw at work it the best. I would recommend this saw to everyone.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 15 Amp 12 in. Double-Bevel Sliding Miter Saw

wasnt impressed

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
No power and bad dust collection...buy the milwaukee
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 >>