728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Hand Tool Sets or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1/2 in. Drive SAE Standard Socket and Wrench Set (12-Piece)

1/2 in. Drive SAE Standard Socket and Wrench Set (12-Piece)

The Husky 12-Piece 1/2 in. Drive SAE Standard Socket and Wrench Set features carbon steel construction for strength and long-lasting performance. The finish provides resistance to corrosion. The chamfered lead-in offers quick and easy placement onto fasteners.
Overall rating:
4.917 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product11 of 11reviews
Rating Breakdown 12 reviews
4.9 out of 5.0
5
(11)
4
(1)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product11 of 11reviews
Customer reviews for 1/2 in. Drive SAE Standard Socket and Wrench Set (12-Piece)
Review 1 for 1/2 in. Drive SAE Standard Socket and Wrench Set (12-Piece)
from Elkridge, MD, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Solid, heavy ratchet and a nice socket set

PostedFebruary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a solid, heavy ratchet. It's big - but that's the point of a 1/2" drive ratchet. The ratchet itself feels good in the hand and has a nice length to put adequate force on larger bolts. The sockets attach and detach easily with the detent release on the back of the ratchet head. That detent release is almost flush with the ratchet body, making it unobtrusive so that you do not unintentionally press it or beat it out of position (from, say, throwing your tools into a tool box or dropping them onto the concrete -- accidentally, of course!).
The sockets are 12 point sockets, meaning they have 12 points inside for making contact w/ the hex head of the bolt. I don't wrench professionally (I'm not a mechanic), so I have not had an issue w/ a 12-pt socket wearing out and/or rounding off the head of a bolt. I like the 12-pt sockets, but that's just me.
Finally -- I like the lifetime warranty. Other manufacturers have done this in the past and some have changed their policies. A lifetime warranty tells me that the manufacturer believes in the product and the quality of the tool. A solid tool like this one should last for a lifetime. Pass it on to one of your kids...
Pros: Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1/2 in. Drive SAE Standard Socket and Wrench Set (12-Piece)
from Seabeck, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good tool set with lifetime warrenty

PostedNovember 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Nice heavy tool with good chrome. Racket train is tight making for use in small spaces easy. Good grips that clean up nicely. I used it for some auto engine work and it proformed very well. Handy carrying case may not stand up to long term use, we'll see. With a lifetime warrenty there's not much more one could ask for in a socket set. It's a good bullet proof tool set.
Pros: Durable, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1/2 in. Drive SAE Standard Socket and Wrench Set (12-Piece)

Husky = Best

PostedApril 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I love husky products. When I started doing mechanic work I started out buying Craftsman and spending to much money. Then I stumbled upon these. Husky ratchets blow Craftsman and Kobalt out of the water and honestly are a foreign rival for Matco and Snap-On. For a fraction of the cost of any other brand you get an incredible product. The 72 teeth make for a nice feeling ratchet and it'll bust loose some of the toughest nuts. Seriously just get in on Husky mechanics tools.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1/2 in. Drive SAE Standard Socket and Wrench Set (12-Piece)
from San Antonio, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great over all tool

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I like the Handel grip conture of the 1/2" dive socket. Even with a tool lanyard ( for safety) I never lost grip or dropped my wrench or socket. Thank you for making a great quality tool at reasonable price.
Thank you
Project Supervisor of MIR Industrial
Daniel G. Ross
Pros: Easy to Use, Strong, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1/2 in. Drive SAE Standard Socket and Wrench Set (12-Piece)
from Hoosick Falls
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quality Socket and Ratchet Set

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This well constructed, heavy-duty, 12 piece 1/2” drive ratchet set has some quality features. It's constructed of die cast iron without any seams, a chrome finish for easy cleaning, and corrosion resistant. The 10” ratchet provides plenty of leverage for breaking those stubborn nuts and a locking/release button feature for the sockets and extensions. The 3” extension gives enough clearance to prevent your knuckles from scraping the surface. The sockets are 12 point with large numbers etched on the sides of the sockets for easier identification. A socket tray would have been a nice addition, but this in no way takes away from the quality of the tools.
This set won't fail the owner for quite sometime and if it does, it has the “Guaranteed Forever” warranty.
Pros: Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Strong, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1/2 in. Drive SAE Standard Socket and Wrench Set (12-Piece)
from New York, NY, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

High quality rachet set

PostedJune 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This Husky 1/2” socket set is an upgrade to my 3/8" Craftsman I've been using for years. It comes with a hefty 10" long wrench for much more torque. The set has an excellent polished surface finish. It has top of the line features, one-hand reverse lever and quick release button for mounting sockets. All the sockets are dimpled inside so they stay put which is not always found on some sets. Another plus, the ratchet gear sprocket has fine gradations for turning. I used the wrench this weekend changing my front struts and it felt good in my hands. Small point, set does not come with a storage case. I expect this set to be around for a long time in my tool box.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Strong, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1/2 in. Drive SAE Standard Socket and Wrench Set (12-Piece)
from Tennessee
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Heavy duty tool kit

PostedOctober 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This 1/2 inch tool set is indestructible. I bought this set to break loose a lot of rusted bolts on a restoration project and I didn't want to use my expensive tools because the job was going to be real rough. Grease, grime and frozen bolts were going to be hard on me and my tools. Not only did I complete the job but with the help of this and two other Husky tool kits, i did not bust one knuckle. I cleaned the tools with carb cleaner and they make a great addition to my tool box, not one of them broke.
Pros: Durable, Strong, tough tools, guaranteed forever !
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1/2 in. Drive SAE Standard Socket and Wrench Set (12-Piece)
from Gibsonton, Fl
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

QUALITY TOOL SET

PostedNovember 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
You can feel the quality of this set in your hands. It is highly polished steel. The 12-point sockets display the size in 3/8" tall easy to read numbers. The sizes are 7/16, 1/2, 9/16, 5/8, 11/16, 3/4, 13/16, 7/8, 15/16 & 1". The 72 tooth ratchet is formed at the bottom to fit comfortably in your hand. It comes in a plastic hanger that was immediately discarded. These tools will last rest of my lifetime.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
Cons: no case
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1/2 in. Drive SAE Standard Socket and Wrench Set (12-Piece)
from Kansas City, Mo
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quality I Expect From Husky

PostedOctober 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This 1/2 Inch Drive set has already saved my bacon! Just last weekend, I needed to change the brakes and rear shocks on my wife's 16 year-old mini-van we just bought. The shocks had been on there since the van was built. One bolt in particular was rusted in place. I put an enormous amount of stress on my Husky 1/2 inch ratchet and sockets, and not only did it hold up, it succeeded in breaking that bolt loose. A lesser quality tool would have no doubt been destroyed! Not only did the Husky hold up for that, but the next day, I used it for bolting a 20 year-old wood deck to a new support post underneath. The ratchet handle feels good and solid in the hand, and the sockets gave me a secure grip on the bolts and nuts I used them on. Add in the ability to handle tough jobs, and you have a tool that you'll want to keep forever! Thanks Husky, and Home Depot!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1/2 in. Drive SAE Standard Socket and Wrench Set (12-Piece)
from NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Sturdy set

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I liked this 1/2 inch drive set. It makes it easy to work on my truck. Ratchet is sturdy and so are the sockets. So much better than using my 3/8 inch drive.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1/2 in. Drive SAE Standard Socket and Wrench Set (12-Piece)
from West Virginia
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Well made socket set

PostedSeptember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used a 3/8 socket set for years and needed a larger drive for bigger jobs. This one from Husky fits the bill. The ratchet is heavy duty and is nicely curved for better grip. Both the ratchet and sockets have tough chrome finish that makes clean up from greasy jobs a breeze. I am getting a lot of use out of this already and wish I had purchased the 1/2 drive set earlier.
Pros: Durable, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1/2 in. Drive SAE Standard Socket and Wrench Set (12-Piece)
from Magee, MS
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Socket Set, Poor Holder

PostedJuly 1, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I think the Husky 1/2 in. Drive Standard Socket and Driver Set is a well-made, versatile addition to my growing tool collection. I used the socket set to assemble a piece of machinery and found the 12-point sockets (included) to be of very high quality and a precise fit for the standard nuts and bolts in my project. I was glad to have the 3 in. extension that came with the set as I used it in more than one location. The 11/16" socket also fit well on the square nuts that assemble the gates in my chain link fence. I admire the design of the sturdy 1/2 in. drive with it's recessed socket release to prevent inadvertent ejection of socket-in use. The handle was precision crafted, smooth and fit my hands well. I was disappointed in the plastic holder included with the set. I found it to be quite flimsy and broke easily when I tried to insert the 1/2 in. drive into the clips that keep it in place. The first time I tried to re-attach one of the sockets to it's retainer I broke the retainer from the flimsy plastic holder. I think the manufacturer should use metal when fabricating tool accessories. I will get many years of good use from this quality socket tool set.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
Cons: plastic holder not durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.