728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Snow Equipment or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 24 in. 208 cc 2-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Power Steering

24 in. 208 cc 2-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Power Steering

The Cub Cadet 208 cc, OHV 4-Cycle 2-Stage 24 in. gas snow thrower is equipped with Zero-Turn Posi-Steer power steering which delivers effortless, single-hand turning so you can easily maneuver driveways of all shapes and sizes. The single-hand 4-way pitch and chute rotation allows you to quickly change the direction and the pitch of the snow you want to throw.
Overall rating:
4.481 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(77 reviews) 77
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product68 of 74reviews
Rating Breakdown 77 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(50)
4
(20)
3
(4)
2
(0)
1
(3)
Features 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
92%of customersrecommend this product68 of 74reviews
Customer questions and answers:
27 Questions | 55 Answers
Customer reviews for 24 in. 208 cc 2-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Power Steering
Review 1 for 24 in. 208 cc 2-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Power Steering
from Chardon, OH 44024, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I should have dropped the plowing service years ago.

PostedJanuary 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The product was easy to assemble and use. I have never owned a snow blower before. I have always used a plowing service. We live right in the heart of the snow belt and get 140" of snow every year. I have a 200 ft long drive with a turn-around area large enough to park six cars as well as two small sidewalks. The unit has gotten a pretty good test and works very well. I am able to clear 4-6 " of average weight snow in about 30-45 minutes. It has an electric start, but it is so easy to pull start that have not used the electric start yet. Our walks are very curved and the unit is maneuverable enough to handle them without a problem. The unit is easy enough to operate that it can be operated with one hand. I have been very happy with this product and would recommend it.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Self-Propelled, Small Turn Radius
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 24 in. 208 cc 2-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Power Steering
from Wisconsin, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does the job well.

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Starts easy. Moves snow well. Actually works best if snow is over 4 inches deep. Already used 6 times (Wisconsin) starts easy even at -15 degrees air temp. Power steering takes awhile to get the hang of but is very helpful.
I did call Cub Cadet about white grease inside the oil fill tube and on the oil dipstick. Not to much feedback from CC but went to Home Depot and looked at floor models. All had the white grease. Mine was just heavier. CC suggested removing the grease. Should not have been there according to CC tech.
Pros: Easy to Use, Self-Propelled
Cons: limited information on maintenance
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 24 in. 208 cc 2-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Power Steering
from Hudson, OH
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

More than enough

PostedDecember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I did tons of research and decided that this model was the right combination of power and price for me. I live in NE OH and have a large, steep driveway and pad. I was initially worried that I should have bought a larger model but I am glad now that I did not. This has the features i wanted: electric start, two stage, power to the wheels, power steering, and a headlight, since I often use it at night and in the early morning. When it was delivered I had no issues putting it together, it was easy and very intuitive. It started right up with the electric start, but I have yet to be able to pull start it cold, the only flaw I have noticed. It has plenty of power and cut through a six inch wet snow with ease so i have no doubts about it if we get heavier amounts. I love the fact that it has plenty of power but not a big footprint in my garage. I may add the electric hand warmers but other than that it's everything I needed and wanted, and it's made in America.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Self-Propelled, Small Turn Radius, Easy to Store
Cons: tough to pull start
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 24 in. 208 cc 2-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Power Steering

cub cadet snowblower

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Although I haven't been able to use this unit in the snow, yet, I have envisioned a much more user friendly experience, due to its power steering option and overall ease of operation while test running. I believe this snow blower will give me many years of good service.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 24 in. 208 cc 2-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Power Steering
from Omaha, NE, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product is easy to use

PostedNovember 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This snowblower is easy to start and easy to use. The power steering feature makes it easy to control. I would recommend this product to anybody.
Pros: Powerful, Great Engine, Easy to Use, Accurate, Self-Propelled, Small Turn Radius
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 24 in. 208 cc 2-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Power Steering
from PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just what we wanted

PostedFebruary 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Although we have not had any "whopper" snowstorms, my husband did have a chance to use it a few times. He does snow removal as part of his job, so he has used some snowblowers over the years.
He was very impressed with the ease of use, the turning radius and over all power. This snowblower was purchased by me, with my husband requesting certain specifications, for my use.
Unfortunately, I can't comment on it's use myself because each time it was used, I was at work.
Delivery was super. Delivery company called ahead and came at the time they said they would. They even placed it inside of my garage!
So far, we are pleased with our purchase.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Self-Propelled, Small Turn Radius
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 24 in. 208 cc 2-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Power Steering
from Northern Suburbs of Chicago
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product. Effortless use, and Great Features.

PostedJanuary 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I looked around bunches of places and different manufacturers. At the time Cubs were on sale at independent dealers and also local chains like F&F and TS, so the Cubs beat out other similar models with LESS features. That and the Cub name really drew me to this one.
Anyways, on to the blower (besides HD):
The engine is made by MTD. It is not really a cold-specific model like some other snow-blowers advertise having, but I am not exactly sure what advantage that would bring as this one has no issues in close to zero temps. It fires up after one pull or a short press on the electric start if you follow the manual and choke and prime three times. Simple! And the pull is very light and easy.
The trigger power-steering is great and makes it real easy to get this big guy turned around.
The joystick chute control is a little difficult to use though VERY convenient. Some lithium grease or similar around the chute where it attaches, and other rotating items helps a lot. Keep it lubed! Probably will just take some time getting used to it. On-the-move adjustments of the chute direction and angle should be done with your left hand as the interlock will allow you to remove your hand from the left-side auger control while holding onto the right-side drive control. This takes some practice for anyone with a really dominant right side! ME!
It powered through the 6 inches of semi-wet snow we got a couple days ago just fine. It had a little more "trouble" with the plow tailings, though never really bogged down to the point I was scared it would die, and certainly never did die. I did a couple neighbors' plow tailings too just to see if I could kill it!
The headlight, while not uber-bright, is enough to light up what you are doing and a feature I've been told by more than a few that, once they've had one, they wouldn't do without. An added benefit of one equipped with the headlight is you can add handle-heaters with a simple and relatively inexpensive plug-and-play kit from MTD (the maker of the motor). (Currently awaiting my installing it!)
I've never had a two-stage before, so it is taking some getting used to and I think I must need to adjust the shave blade and/or the skids to get a closer finish on my drive and walk.
All in all a great product!
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 24 in. 208 cc 2-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Power Steering
from Wisconsin, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product has great features

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Work's great, runs great, starts 1st 2nd pull no need for electric start, but tried that 1st. Did not clog up on me at all. Throw's snow good enough for me
Pros: Great Engine, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Small Turn Radius
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 24 in. 208 cc 2-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Power Steering
from Frisco, CO, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This snow blower is very well built.

PostedMay 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great snow blower. I bought it in late winter and have used it several times in deep heavy snow this spring. The power steering makes it easy to control with one hand so you can control the chute with the other hand even when you're right on the edge of the curb. With the zero turn radius you don't have to manhandle the machine to reverse course. It seems to be a very solid well built machine.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Powerful, Self-Propelled, Small Turn Radius
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 24 in. 208 cc 2-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Power Steering
from Winchester, VA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very easy to use and operate.

PostedDecember 30, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It took 2 tries to receive a fully functional machine. The first 524 SWE leaked gas all over my garage. Returning it and replacing with a new one was very easy, however. The second machine was easy to assemble and operated perfectly.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Quality
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 24 in. 208 cc 2-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Power Steering
from Dover, NH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great at handling snow; a bit on the heavy side

PostedDecember 15, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Woke up to between 11-15" this morning, and it was my first time using this snowblower. It handled the snow and 22" drifts great, and made short work of handling mounded snow at the end of the drive. The snow was light, and it had no problem throwing it 30+ feet. The joystick to control the chute and discharge pitch is great, it's easy to adjust on the fly. It is "sure-footed" and goes where it's directed. I felt comfortable coming within 3 inches or so of the cars parked in the drive; I couldn't get that close with the old single stage unit.
I do have a concern that my wife may have trouble using it because of it's weight. Will wait for the next snow to see.
The choke and engine throttle could be positioned better. They're kind of tough to get at with gloves on. It was 10 degrees and windy this morning, so I kept them on. Aa bit more room to get at them or a different location would be good. It could also use a more robust reverse gear. At times, I found it easier to disengage both wheels and pull it back rather than using reverse.
All in all a good snowblower, will have to wait for the next storm to teach my wife how to use it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Self-Propelled, joystick chute control
Cons: Too Heavy, location of choke & throttle
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 24 in. 208 cc 2-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Power Steering
from Pawling, NY 12564, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great machine ! I would buy another if I need be. Neighbors loved it too!

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I uncrated the snowblower the morning we got 14" of snow. Assembly was really easy! The Cub Cadet was up and running in less than 40 minutes and it did a fantastic job clearing over 14" of snow. Really easy to maneuver too!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 24 in. 208 cc 2-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Power Steering
from MN
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Machine

PostedJanuary 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this because it had the steering option and had heard good things about it from other people. Was easy to assemble-starts up on first or 2nd pull, unless it's cold then I use the electric start. This machine has plenty of power to go through heavy snow and turns easy with the steering option. So far so good. Would definitely recommend it to others.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 24 in. 208 cc 2-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Power Steering

This product is much better than expected.

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I am mechanically challenged, but even I was able to unpack and assemble the snow blower in about an hour. After a quick check on the oil level and filling it up with gas. One pull and it started right up. I tested it on some packed down week old snow and it cleared it very easily. I have a pebble driveway, and with the skid shoes set high, it cleared just the snow and left the pebbles.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 24 in. 208 cc 2-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Power Steering
from Wisconsin
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works like a charm!

PostedJanuary 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Moved 5 inches of wet, dense snow and threw it well away from the driveway. Easy to start without the electric start. Easy to put together although getting the chute to rotate 180 degrees took a little horsing around. Deliveryman was excellent and pushed it uphill 200' of driveway and delivered it right to my garage. took only 30 minutes to plow out my driveway despite the length of my driveway. Only thing that seems a litte strange is the gearing. anything past 2nd gear is really wasted unless you want to chase it up the driveway. I have only used it once and am learning how to use the steering function.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Small Turn Radius, Easy to Store
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 24 in. 208 cc 2-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Power Steering
from Boulder.
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor chute control

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
There is a cable with a ball end that is used to engage/disengage your ability to move the chute. Mine quickly stopped working and I tried repairing it only to have it happen again. Cub cadet said I would have to somehow get this beast in my car and deliver it 30 mi away for repairs. I ended up using epoxy to keep the cable end in place. That solution has worked for some time now. Poor design. Today, the engine started surging and then quit. 2 hours later and it's working again. Uneasy about this piece of equipment.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 24 in. 208 cc 2-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Power Steering
from Scranton, PA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Excellent machine

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am replacing a 14 year old Cub Cadet snow blower 524WE . I Paid $300 more for the old snowblower with fewer features. I compared prices of various makes and models before purchasing the 524SWE from Home Depot. Delivery was easy (4 days from online purchase). The driver used a pallet jack to roll the snow blower to my garage. Assembly was simple (20 min). The 524SWE performs well. Operates without fail in wet heavy snow. The controls are placed to ensure ease in operation. I hope to get another 15 years. CON: I had to use the starter cord from my original Snow blower.
Pros: Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Self-Propelled
Cons: it did not come with the electric start cord.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 24 in. 208 cc 2-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Power Steering
from Minnesota
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent machine for a 2-car driveway.

PostedJanuary 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It has the power I need to easily clear away the snowplow ridge at the end of the driveway and yet is compact enough to fit in a standard 2-car garage. The wide tires dig in and give this machine good traction on my gently sloping driveway. I don't need to get tire chains. I hesitated to spend the extra $ for the zero-turn power steering but I am glad I did because it turns on a dime without gorilla arms and that for me is the the best feature.
Pros: Easy to Use, Self-Propelled, Small Turn Radius, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 24 in. 208 cc 2-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Power Steering
from Western PA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

524SWE Cub Cadet Snow Blower Is A Great Choice!

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased the 524 SWE model and have been well pleased with its performance. The user manual and literature that was provided made initial set-up easy to accomplish. During the first initial attempt to start after priming, my snow blower started on the second pull and right away every time afterwards. Did not try the electric start yet. Have only needed to use it once so far, clearing 7 inches of snow including about 20 inches of wet snow piled up at the edge of the road by the local city snow plow. It handled the load well. The reverse speed was slower than expected and I found it faster to pull the blower backwards myself as it moves easily that way. It's still nice to know I have 2 reverse speeds if needed. Cleared 3 double-wide driveways and adjoining sidewalks in about 1 1/2 hours and found my Cub easy to use.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 24 in. 208 cc 2-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Power Steering
from Nassau, New York, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cub Cadet 524 SWE

PostedNovember 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
So far so good 3 year warranty a plus. Waiting for first snowfall and I can review the unit itself. Seen alot of 2 stage snowblowers over the last 2 years. This model looks and sounds well built started right up and is ready to go. Ordered unit on a Saturday and it was delivered the following saturday. Pretty awsesome.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>