728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Snow Equipment or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 2X 524 SWE 24 in. 208 cc Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Power Steering

2X 524 SWE 24 in. 208 cc Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Power Steering

The Cub Cadet 208 cc, OHV 4-Cycle 2-Stage 24 in. gas snow thrower is equipped with Zero-Turn Posi-Steer power steering which delivers effortless, single-hand turning so you can easily maneuver driveways of all shapes and sizes. The single-hand 4-way pitch and chute rotation allows you to quickly change the direction and the pitch of the snow you want to throw.
Overall rating:
4.517 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(89 reviews) 89
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product80 of 86reviews
Rating Breakdown 89 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(59)
4
(23)
3
(4)
2
(0)
1
(3)
Features 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product80 of 86reviews
Customer questions and answers:
31 Questions | 69 Answers
Customer reviews for 2X 524 SWE 24 in. 208 cc Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Power Steering
Review 1 for 2X 524 SWE 24 in. 208 cc Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Power Steering
from North Shore MA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Undecided over CubCadet 24" SWE and Husqvarna 24" w/heated grips

PostedOctober 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I decided on the Cub Cadet after visiting the stores to physically compare the models. Both the Cub Cadet and the Husqvarna have figured out some of us are not uber tall folks. Both units allow you to place the controls at a level very comfortable - even for a female 5'2". Both units are similar price point and both are quality built. I ultimately opted for the Cub Cadet because of the power steering. I've ordered the grip warmers and plan to install. I've bought in store and made arrangements for home delivery. The store staff were very helpful and made the whole transaction smooth. Ladies your drive will suddenly look smaller. ;)
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2X 524 SWE 24 in. 208 cc Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Power Steering
from Wisconsin, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does the job well.

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Starts easy. Moves snow well. Actually works best if snow is over 4 inches deep. Already used 6 times (Wisconsin) starts easy even at -15 degrees air temp. Power steering takes awhile to get the hang of but is very helpful.
I did call Cub Cadet about white grease inside the oil fill tube and on the oil dipstick. Not to much feedback from CC but went to Home Depot and looked at floor models. All had the white grease. Mine was just heavier. CC suggested removing the grease. Should not have been there according to CC tech.
Pros: Easy to Use, Self-Propelled
Cons: limited information on maintenance
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2X 524 SWE 24 in. 208 cc Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Power Steering
from Havertown, PA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just waiting for snow.

PostedOctober 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We started shopping for a compact snow blower(20"-24") a month ago. Price ranged from 500 to under 900. This CUB CADET wins between our final three: ARIENS 24 and HUSQUAVANA 24. Check three HD only the display left. It took us just under 2 minutes to put it into off season form so we can load it on to the Odyssey. We liked the Bright Yellow, plastic skid shoes whch do no harm to the driveway, joystick chute control, trigger power steering so the blower will track straight so you always have two drive wheels, sheer pins instead of bolts for tool free replacement when they break. Next is the Snow storm...
Pros: All In One, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Small Turn Radius, Easy to Store
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2X 524 SWE 24 in. 208 cc Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Power Steering
from Chardon, OH 44024, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I should have dropped the plowing service years ago.

PostedJanuary 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The product was easy to assemble and use. I have never owned a snow blower before. I have always used a plowing service. We live right in the heart of the snow belt and get 140" of snow every year. I have a 200 ft long drive with a turn-around area large enough to park six cars as well as two small sidewalks. The unit has gotten a pretty good test and works very well. I am able to clear 4-6 " of average weight snow in about 30-45 minutes. It has an electric start, but it is so easy to pull start that have not used the electric start yet. Our walks are very curved and the unit is maneuverable enough to handle them without a problem. The unit is easy enough to operate that it can be operated with one hand. I have been very happy with this product and would recommend it.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Self-Propelled, Small Turn Radius
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+13points
17out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2X 524 SWE 24 in. 208 cc Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Power Steering
from Loda IL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No snow insurance.

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
So far so good,bought this to make sure we didn't have another winter like last year. Looks really good sitting in my garage, hope I never have to use it, but if I do i'm sure it will work just as well as my other Cub Cadet products i have purchased in the past. Only four and a half months till spring.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2X 524 SWE 24 in. 208 cc Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Power Steering
from Hudson, OH
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

More than enough

PostedDecember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I did tons of research and decided that this model was the right combination of power and price for me. I live in NE OH and have a large, steep driveway and pad. I was initially worried that I should have bought a larger model but I am glad now that I did not. This has the features i wanted: electric start, two stage, power to the wheels, power steering, and a headlight, since I often use it at night and in the early morning. When it was delivered I had no issues putting it together, it was easy and very intuitive. It started right up with the electric start, but I have yet to be able to pull start it cold, the only flaw I have noticed. It has plenty of power and cut through a six inch wet snow with ease so i have no doubts about it if we get heavier amounts. I love the fact that it has plenty of power but not a big footprint in my garage. I may add the electric hand warmers but other than that it's everything I needed and wanted, and it's made in America.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Self-Propelled, Small Turn Radius, Easy to Store
Cons: tough to pull start
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2X 524 SWE 24 in. 208 cc Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Power Steering

Excited to Use!

PostedOctober 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just got it, no snow yet. Came shipped to my door and 10 minutes to set up out of the crate. The shipping company (not Depot) was horrible but the product is awesome! Heard great things about the value and ease of use (including wives) so hoping that holds true. Will update once I actually get to use it. Very solid and well built. Note it comes with 4 spare shear pins so don't order more separately like I did lol.
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2X 524 SWE 24 in. 208 cc Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Power Steering
from PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just what we wanted

PostedFebruary 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Although we have not had any "whopper" snowstorms, my husband did have a chance to use it a few times. He does snow removal as part of his job, so he has used some snowblowers over the years.
He was very impressed with the ease of use, the turning radius and over all power. This snowblower was purchased by me, with my husband requesting certain specifications, for my use.
Unfortunately, I can't comment on it's use myself because each time it was used, I was at work.
Delivery was super. Delivery company called ahead and came at the time they said they would. They even placed it inside of my garage!
So far, we are pleased with our purchase.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Self-Propelled, Small Turn Radius
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2X 524 SWE 24 in. 208 cc Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Power Steering
from Michigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Very happy with this buy.

PostedOctober 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this unit before the winter.I can tell you about the shipping process.I bought this online it was a very fast shipping time.The delivery company made a appointment time for delivery.Very happy with the overall shipping process.The unit looks great it was easy to assemble.Bring on the snow.
Pros: Sturdy, Accurate, Self-Propelled
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2X 524 SWE 24 in. 208 cc Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Power Steering
from minnesota
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
was easy to assemble, very little to actually assemble. Have not had a chance to actually use yet
Pros: Accurate, Powerful, Self-Propelled
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2X 524 SWE 24 in. 208 cc Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Power Steering
from catskill,NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

nice machine

PostedNovember 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
snow blower was easy to setup. very simple to operate. quality built unit.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2X 524 SWE 24 in. 208 cc Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Power Steering
from Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Snow Blower

PostedNovember 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought one in the crate. The manual was simple to follow. I put it together and it fired up easily. Just waiting for snow.
Pros: Easy to Use, Powerful, Self-Propelled, Small Turn Radius
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2X 524 SWE 24 in. 208 cc Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Power Steering

Nice machine

PostedOctober 30, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased this machine online. Sime process and delivery was on time. It came in a huge box, so some assembly was required. The directions were easy to follow - it took me about an hour, but that was mostly just me trying to read in a dark garage. Machine started right up and I have had no problems - although I also have not used it yet in a snow storm.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2X 524 SWE 24 in. 208 cc Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Power Steering
from Griffith, IN.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Jon C.

PostedOctober 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Today is Oct. 27 and it is 75 degrees. I figured if I purchased a snow blower it would not snow this year:) Great shipping, easy assembly, started without a hitch. Now if it doesn't snow I will have desired request. 90" last year:(
Pros: i am ready!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2X 524 SWE 24 in. 208 cc Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Power Steering
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Looks to be a good purchase.

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Picked up at store and employees were very helpful loading it. Assembled easily and now must wait for snow to see if it performs as rated.
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2X 524 SWE 24 in. 208 cc Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Power Steering
from Omaha, NE, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product is easy to use

PostedNovember 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This snowblower is easy to start and easy to use. The power steering feature makes it easy to control. I would recommend this product to anybody.
Pros: Powerful, Great Engine, Easy to Use, Accurate, Self-Propelled, Small Turn Radius
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2X 524 SWE 24 in. 208 cc Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Power Steering

waiting for the snow

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Delivery was on time, some set-up was required but easy to do. Put gas in and fired right up. I only gave it 4 stars because I have not actually used it yet, but I am sure the cub cadet will not let me down.
-6points
0out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2X 524 SWE 24 in. 208 cc Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Power Steering
from Frisco, CO, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This snow blower is very well built.

PostedMay 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great snow blower. I bought it in late winter and have used it several times in deep heavy snow this spring. The power steering makes it easy to control with one hand so you can control the chute with the other hand even when you're right on the edge of the curb. With the zero turn radius you don't have to manhandle the machine to reverse course. It seems to be a very solid well built machine.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Powerful, Self-Propelled, Small Turn Radius
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2X 524 SWE 24 in. 208 cc Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Power Steering

cub cadet snowblower

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Although I haven't been able to use this unit in the snow, yet, I have envisioned a much more user friendly experience, due to its power steering option and overall ease of operation while test running. I believe this snow blower will give me many years of good service.
-8points
0out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2X 524 SWE 24 in. 208 cc Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Power Steering
from Wisconsin, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product has great features

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Work's great, runs great, starts 1st 2nd pull no need for electric start, but tried that 1st. Did not clog up on me at all. Throw's snow good enough for me
Pros: Great Engine, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Small Turn Radius
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>