728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Snow Equipment or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 2X 524 SWE 24 in. 208 cc Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Power Steering

2X 524 SWE 24 in. 208 cc Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Power Steering

The Cub Cadet 208 cc, OHV 4-Cycle 2-Stage 24 in. gas snow thrower is equipped with Zero-Turn Posi-Steer power steering which delivers effortless, single-hand turning so you can easily maneuver driveways of all shapes and sizes. The single-hand 4-way pitch and chute rotation allows you to quickly change the direction and the pitch of the snow you want to throw.
Overall rating:
4.475 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(99 reviews) 99
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product88 of 96reviews
Rating Breakdown 99 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(65)
4
(25)
3
(4)
2
(1)
1
(4)
Features 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
92%of customersrecommend this product88 of 96reviews
Customer questions and answers:
33 Questions | 72 Answers
Customer reviews for 2X 524 SWE 24 in. 208 cc Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Power Steering
Review 1 for 2X 524 SWE 24 in. 208 cc Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Power Steering
from North Shore MA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Undecided over CubCadet 24" SWE and Husqvarna 24" w/heated grips

PostedOctober 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I decided on the Cub Cadet after visiting the stores to physically compare the models. Both the Cub Cadet and the Husqvarna have figured out some of us are not uber tall folks. Both units allow you to place the controls at a level very comfortable - even for a female 5'2". Both units are similar price point and both are quality built. I ultimately opted for the Cub Cadet because of the power steering. I've ordered the grip warmers and plan to install. I've bought in store and made arrangements for home delivery. The store staff were very helpful and made the whole transaction smooth. Ladies your drive will suddenly look smaller. ;)
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2X 524 SWE 24 in. 208 cc Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Power Steering
from Havertown, PA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just waiting for snow.

PostedOctober 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We started shopping for a compact snow blower(20"-24") a month ago. Price ranged from 500 to under 900. This CUB CADET wins between our final three: ARIENS 24 and HUSQUAVANA 24. Check three HD only the display left. It took us just under 2 minutes to put it into off season form so we can load it on to the Odyssey. We liked the Bright Yellow, plastic skid shoes whch do no harm to the driveway, joystick chute control, trigger power steering so the blower will track straight so you always have two drive wheels, sheer pins instead of bolts for tool free replacement when they break. Next is the Snow storm...
Pros: All In One, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Small Turn Radius, Easy to Store
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2X 524 SWE 24 in. 208 cc Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Power Steering
from Wisconsin, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does the job well.

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Starts easy. Moves snow well. Actually works best if snow is over 4 inches deep. Already used 6 times (Wisconsin) starts easy even at -15 degrees air temp. Power steering takes awhile to get the hang of but is very helpful.
I did call Cub Cadet about white grease inside the oil fill tube and on the oil dipstick. Not to much feedback from CC but went to Home Depot and looked at floor models. All had the white grease. Mine was just heavier. CC suggested removing the grease. Should not have been there according to CC tech.
Pros: Easy to Use, Self-Propelled
Cons: limited information on maintenance
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2X 524 SWE 24 in. 208 cc Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Power Steering
from Chardon, OH 44024, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I should have dropped the plowing service years ago.

PostedJanuary 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The product was easy to assemble and use. I have never owned a snow blower before. I have always used a plowing service. We live right in the heart of the snow belt and get 140" of snow every year. I have a 200 ft long drive with a turn-around area large enough to park six cars as well as two small sidewalks. The unit has gotten a pretty good test and works very well. I am able to clear 4-6 " of average weight snow in about 30-45 minutes. It has an electric start, but it is so easy to pull start that have not used the electric start yet. Our walks are very curved and the unit is maneuverable enough to handle them without a problem. The unit is easy enough to operate that it can be operated with one hand. I have been very happy with this product and would recommend it.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Self-Propelled, Small Turn Radius
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+15points
19out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2X 524 SWE 24 in. 208 cc Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Power Steering
from NJ
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

An absoulute MONSTER!

PostedDecember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just bought this snowblower and had the chance to use it during the first snowstorm of the year here in NJ. The snow was extremely wet and heavy and I watched neighbors struggle with their snowblowers trying to move this heavy wet snow with not a lot of luck. I fired up my cub cadet and was easily throwing snow up to 30 feet! I'm sure the neighbors were envious and I was extremely happy! It did it with ease and was very easy to use. The power steering works like a charm and the capability of changing directions of the snow you are throwing with one hand is amazing! A+ in my book
Pros: Easy to Use, Powerful, Self-Propelled, Small Turn Radius
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2X 524 SWE 24 in. 208 cc Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Power Steering

Nice machine

PostedOctober 30, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased this machine online. Sime process and delivery was on time. It came in a huge box, so some assembly was required. The directions were easy to follow - it took me about an hour, but that was mostly just me trying to read in a dark garage. Machine started right up and I have had no problems - although I also have not used it yet in a snow storm.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2X 524 SWE 24 in. 208 cc Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Power Steering
from Hudson, OH
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

More than enough

PostedDecember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I did tons of research and decided that this model was the right combination of power and price for me. I live in NE OH and have a large, steep driveway and pad. I was initially worried that I should have bought a larger model but I am glad now that I did not. This has the features i wanted: electric start, two stage, power to the wheels, power steering, and a headlight, since I often use it at night and in the early morning. When it was delivered I had no issues putting it together, it was easy and very intuitive. It started right up with the electric start, but I have yet to be able to pull start it cold, the only flaw I have noticed. It has plenty of power and cut through a six inch wet snow with ease so i have no doubts about it if we get heavier amounts. I love the fact that it has plenty of power but not a big footprint in my garage. I may add the electric hand warmers but other than that it's everything I needed and wanted, and it's made in America.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Self-Propelled, Small Turn Radius, Easy to Store
Cons: tough to pull start
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2X 524 SWE 24 in. 208 cc Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Power Steering
from Lackawanna, NY
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Snowblower

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Works great even with heavy snow, went right through the stuff plowed into the end of my driveway. The power steering is useful and the controls are very simplistic, very easy to use. The only issue I've seen is that the chute does not tend to stay where you aimed it using the joystick for distance, as it seems to edge up as snow is thrown through it. The snowblower was pre-assembled, so it is likely that some adjustment can be made. Overall, this was one of the best purchases that I have.made.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Small Turn Radius
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2X 524 SWE 24 in. 208 cc Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Power Steering
from PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just what we wanted

PostedFebruary 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Although we have not had any "whopper" snowstorms, my husband did have a chance to use it a few times. He does snow removal as part of his job, so he has used some snowblowers over the years.
He was very impressed with the ease of use, the turning radius and over all power. This snowblower was purchased by me, with my husband requesting certain specifications, for my use.
Unfortunately, I can't comment on it's use myself because each time it was used, I was at work.
Delivery was super. Delivery company called ahead and came at the time they said they would. They even placed it inside of my garage!
So far, we are pleased with our purchase.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Self-Propelled, Small Turn Radius
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2X 524 SWE 24 in. 208 cc Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Power Steering
from Erie, pa
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

JOYSTICK PAIN

PostedNovember 20, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have owned this model for 4 years, Ignition coil went first time out this year (300$ fix) but biggest issue is the Joystick control.
The Joystick was directly responsible for a very painful tennis elbow problem that has nagged me for over 2 years, the twisting and squeezing required to manuver this is extremely hard on the tendons.
I DONT PLAY TENNIS!
The joystick is common on other models as well and I strongly advise against this type of joystick chute control.
Other readers have complained as well about the "ease" of this joystick.
PS>>made in China!
Cons: joystick
-4points
1out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2X 524 SWE 24 in. 208 cc Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Power Steering
from Cincinnati, OH
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

No Quality check in assembly process

PostedDecember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Ordered my first gas blower before Thanks giving , received during the first week of Dec 2014. When i started to assemble as per manual found the chute head is missing. I was in shock as how this can be, since it is part of manufacturing and assembly process. The connecting metal assembly from engine to chute head is missing too. As per assembly instruction i have to only assemble the chute snow thrower to the chute base and head. I am alarmed on how this could be missed in a quality check during the assembly process. This speaks about horrible quality control/check on their assembly process. If this is the case not sure on their product quality. When i contacted Home depot customer service they said they can order that part and ship to me. Seriously are they expecting the customer to do the manufacturer assembly process???. I have opted to return the product with no other charges (shipping) to my account as confirmed by the customer service. Hope they honor that which i will know in another 3 weeks. I am moving away from Cub Cadet to other brand either Troy or Toro .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2X 524 SWE 24 in. 208 cc Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Power Steering
from Brunswick, Ohio
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Great Snow Blower

PostedDecember 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The Club Cadet Snow Blower is great buy. I reviewed several Snow-blowers. I really wanted the 3 stage but was unable to afford the price. It works great and started right up. No problems so far. I purchased it about month ago. I
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled
Cons: Limited Features
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2X 524 SWE 24 in. 208 cc Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Power Steering

Making snow removal easy

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This snow machine was easy to assemble (I had it shipped direct to my house) and the instructions were very clear. My son in law has one in MD and used it in 12" snows last winter and it worked great. It was easy to start and a snap to turn with the handles. I'm relaxed about winter now
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2X 524 SWE 24 in. 208 cc Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Power Steering

Excited to Use!

PostedOctober 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just got it, no snow yet. Came shipped to my door and 10 minutes to set up out of the crate. The shipping company (not Depot) was horrible but the product is awesome! Heard great things about the value and ease of use (including wives) so hoping that holds true. Will update once I actually get to use it. Very solid and well built. Note it comes with 4 spare shear pins so don't order more separately like I did lol.
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2X 524 SWE 24 in. 208 cc Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Power Steering

Seems like a good machine.

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I believe that I would give this machine a higher ranking, but we haven't had any snow to try it out. it was easy to assemble and started right up. Just haven't been able to do any actual work with it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Great Engine
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2X 524 SWE 24 in. 208 cc Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Power Steering

GREAT MACHINE!

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
never owned a snowblower before this one, its very easy to use and has handled everything I've thrown at it...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2X 524 SWE 24 in. 208 cc Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Power Steering
from Ohio
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No Snow Yet

PostedDecember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Had the snow blower shipped to my house. No problem with the assembly very easy.Have not tried it yet
no snow. So far have only one complaint not a big deal but is annoying. After spending money for a
electric start I find out they do not supply the 110v extension cord. You need to purchase this seperate.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2X 524 SWE 24 in. 208 cc Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Power Steering
from New Hampshire
Age Range:55 to 64
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Big power, little package

PostedNovember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I got to use the snowblower two days after my purchase on some very heavy wet snow. I was amazed how far it threw the slop without ever clogging, something my previous machine with a larger engine could never have done. I was skeptical about the power steering, but it's a great feature and works very well.
Pros: Great Engine, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: none so far
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2X 524 SWE 24 in. 208 cc Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Power Steering
from Loda IL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No snow insurance.

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
So far so good,bought this to make sure we didn't have another winter like last year. Looks really good sitting in my garage, hope I never have to use it, but if I do i'm sure it will work just as well as my other Cub Cadet products i have purchased in the past. Only four and a half months till spring.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2X 524 SWE 24 in. 208 cc Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Power Steering
from minnesota
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
was easy to assemble, very little to actually assemble. Have not had a chance to actually use yet
Pros: Accurate, Powerful, Self-Propelled
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>