728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Snow Equipment or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 2X 524 SWE 24 in. 208 cc Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Power Steering

2X 524 SWE 24 in. 208 cc Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Power Steering

The Cub Cadet 208 cc, OHV 4-Cycle 2-Stage 24 in. gas snow thrower is equipped with Zero-Turn Posi-Steer power steering which delivers effortless, single-hand turning so you can easily maneuver driveways of all shapes and sizes. The single-hand 4-way pitch and chute rotation allows you to quickly change the direction and the pitch of the snow you want to throw.
Overall rating:
4.477 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(111 reviews) 111
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product99 of 107reviews
Rating Breakdown 111 reviews
4.5 out of 5
5
(72)
4
(29)
3
(5)
2
(1)
1
(4)
Features 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product99 of 107reviews
Customer questions and answers:
36 Questions | 80 Answers
Customer reviews for 2X 524 SWE 24 in. 208 cc Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Power Steering
Review 1 for 2X 524 SWE 24 in. 208 cc Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Power Steering
from North Shore MA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Undecided over CubCadet 24" SWE and Husqvarna 24" w/heated grips

PostedOctober 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I decided on the Cub Cadet after visiting the stores to physically compare the models. Both the Cub Cadet and the Husqvarna have figured out some of us are not uber tall folks. Both units allow you to place the controls at a level very comfortable - even for a female 5'2". Both units are similar price point and both are quality built. I ultimately opted for the Cub Cadet because of the power steering. I've ordered the grip warmers and plan to install. I've bought in store and made arrangements for home delivery. The store staff were very helpful and made the whole transaction smooth. Ladies your drive will suddenly look smaller. ;)
+12points
14out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2X 524 SWE 24 in. 208 cc Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Power Steering
from Havertown, PA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just waiting for snow.

PostedOctober 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We started shopping for a compact snow blower(20"-24") a month ago. Price ranged from 500 to under 900. This CUB CADET wins between our final three: ARIENS 24 and HUSQUAVANA 24. Check three HD only the display left. It took us just under 2 minutes to put it into off season form so we can load it on to the Odyssey. We liked the Bright Yellow, plastic skid shoes whch do no harm to the driveway, joystick chute control, trigger power steering so the blower will track straight so you always have two drive wheels, sheer pins instead of bolts for tool free replacement when they break. Next is the Snow storm...
Pros: All In One, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Small Turn Radius, Easy to Store
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2X 524 SWE 24 in. 208 cc Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Power Steering
from Wisconsin, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does the job well.

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Starts easy. Moves snow well. Actually works best if snow is over 4 inches deep. Already used 6 times (Wisconsin) starts easy even at -15 degrees air temp. Power steering takes awhile to get the hang of but is very helpful.
I did call Cub Cadet about white grease inside the oil fill tube and on the oil dipstick. Not to much feedback from CC but went to Home Depot and looked at floor models. All had the white grease. Mine was just heavier. CC suggested removing the grease. Should not have been there according to CC tech.
Pros: Easy to Use, Self-Propelled
Cons: limited information on maintenance
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2X 524 SWE 24 in. 208 cc Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Power Steering
from Chardon, OH 44024, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I should have dropped the plowing service years ago.

PostedJanuary 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The product was easy to assemble and use. I have never owned a snow blower before. I have always used a plowing service. We live right in the heart of the snow belt and get 140" of snow every year. I have a 200 ft long drive with a turn-around area large enough to park six cars as well as two small sidewalks. The unit has gotten a pretty good test and works very well. I am able to clear 4-6 " of average weight snow in about 30-45 minutes. It has an electric start, but it is so easy to pull start that have not used the electric start yet. Our walks are very curved and the unit is maneuverable enough to handle them without a problem. The unit is easy enough to operate that it can be operated with one hand. I have been very happy with this product and would recommend it.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Self-Propelled, Small Turn Radius
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+18points
22out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2X 524 SWE 24 in. 208 cc Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Power Steering
from USA,VA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good product

PostedJanuary 15, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Overall I would definitely recommend this snow blower. Easy to start even with pull cord, removes wet heavy snow, plenty of power. My only concern is my driveway is not level and at a fairly steep incline. I have not been able to stop the blower (lock the wheels) while going downhill to adjust my path. Once you start, other than stopping manually, the blower wheels will not lock even when self-propel is disengaged and steer controls will not lock wheels either. And obviously trying to manually stop the blower up or downhill is not the best way on snowy or icy conditions. Other than this the blower works great,
Pros: Sturdy, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Small Turn Radius
Cons: Limited Features
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2X 524 SWE 24 in. 208 cc Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Power Steering
from NJ
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

An absoulute MONSTER!

PostedDecember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I just bought this snowblower and had the chance to use it during the first snowstorm of the year here in NJ. The snow was extremely wet and heavy and I watched neighbors struggle with their snowblowers trying to move this heavy wet snow with not a lot of luck. I fired up my cub cadet and was easily throwing snow up to 30 feet! I'm sure the neighbors were envious and I was extremely happy! It did it with ease and was very easy to use. The power steering works like a charm and the capability of changing directions of the snow you are throwing with one hand is amazing! A+ in my book
Pros: Easy to Use, Powerful, Self-Propelled, Small Turn Radius
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2X 524 SWE 24 in. 208 cc Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Power Steering
from Hudson, OH
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

More than enough

PostedDecember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I did tons of research and decided that this model was the right combination of power and price for me. I live in NE OH and have a large, steep driveway and pad. I was initially worried that I should have bought a larger model but I am glad now that I did not. This has the features i wanted: electric start, two stage, power to the wheels, power steering, and a headlight, since I often use it at night and in the early morning. When it was delivered I had no issues putting it together, it was easy and very intuitive. It started right up with the electric start, but I have yet to be able to pull start it cold, the only flaw I have noticed. It has plenty of power and cut through a six inch wet snow with ease so i have no doubts about it if we get heavier amounts. I love the fact that it has plenty of power but not a big footprint in my garage. I may add the electric hand warmers but other than that it's everything I needed and wanted, and it's made in America.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Self-Propelled, Small Turn Radius, Easy to Store
Cons: tough to pull start
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2X 524 SWE 24 in. 208 cc Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Power Steering

Nice machine

PostedOctober 30, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I purchased this machine online. Sime process and delivery was on time. It came in a huge box, so some assembly was required. The directions were easy to follow - it took me about an hour, but that was mostly just me trying to read in a dark garage. Machine started right up and I have had no problems - although I also have not used it yet in a snow storm.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2X 524 SWE 24 in. 208 cc Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Power Steering
from PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just what we wanted

PostedFebruary 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Although we have not had any "whopper" snowstorms, my husband did have a chance to use it a few times. He does snow removal as part of his job, so he has used some snowblowers over the years.
He was very impressed with the ease of use, the turning radius and over all power. This snowblower was purchased by me, with my husband requesting certain specifications, for my use.
Unfortunately, I can't comment on it's use myself because each time it was used, I was at work.
Delivery was super. Delivery company called ahead and came at the time they said they would. They even placed it inside of my garage!
So far, we are pleased with our purchase.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Self-Propelled, Small Turn Radius
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2X 524 SWE 24 in. 208 cc Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Power Steering
from South Glens Falls, NY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

It does the job...

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I bought this snow blower because it is a bit smaller and lighter than other ones, which allows for my wife and stepson to use it if ever necessary. The electric starter works very well and it throws the snow perfectly. There are two cons, however, from my view: 1) the augers have a difficult time getting at icy/wet snow, of which there is a whole lot during the winters in the Adirondacks; 2) it can be difficult to move the direction of the blower at times, especially if there is icy/wet snow to blow.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Self-Propelled, Small Turn Radius, Light Weight
Cons: see the review summary
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2X 524 SWE 24 in. 208 cc Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Power Steering
from Orange County, NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Very pleased. Snow was FLYIN'...

PostedJanuary 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Snow flew 30 feet easy.
Electric start rules.
Auger lock-on while in motion so you can steer chute while throwing is handy.
Chute adjuster takes some practice though.
Reverse 2 could be faster, I was dragging it faster being machine is not too heavy. Very easy to maneuver with steering brakes on each handle.
Great machine.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, throws snow far
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2X 524 SWE 24 in. 208 cc Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Power Steering
from Chicago

Reliable 2-stage design that's easy for a small person to handle.

PostedJanuary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
During my extensive research, I was looking for a reliable, high-quality 2-stage design that can handle the deep snow but is easy enough for my 120 lb wife to start and use. And also for a fair price. This is it. Power steering is a great feature for anyone that would struggle to turn a typical snowblower. The augers even chewed up a newspaper without breaking any shear pins. Electric start is a also great feature. Very happy with the product so far.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Small Turn Radius
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2X 524 SWE 24 in. 208 cc Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Power Steering
from Aurora, IL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Machine!

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had to special order this unit, as the Ariens 24" machine that I wanted was sold out. After reviewing the features, I'm glad I went with the Cub Cadet. The joy stick control for the chute position works great and the power steering levers make turning around a snap. The only assembly was to connect the chute and raise the handle to insert the bolts, similar to a lawn mower with a folding handle.It only took about 20 minutes after removing the box. The machine clears snow very easily, though we've only had a 3" event so far.
Pros: Easy to Use, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Small Turn Radius
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2X 524 SWE 24 in. 208 cc Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Power Steering
from Norwalk, CT
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So Far So Good

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
After an hour or so of unpacking and setup, the manual photos/drawings should be clearer, as they aren't quite clear enough. After I got it done, I added some gas and it started up on the first pull!
Took it out in the driveway for a training/test run, and all seems okay.
Still no real snow (Only 1 inch or so twice, easy to push shovel the driveway out in a few minutes) in my area yet for a full test.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Small Turn Radius
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2X 524 SWE 24 in. 208 cc Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Power Steering

cub Cadet Snow Blower

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Goes to getter easy starts right IP I love the machine. All I need now is Snow the most important think. Thanks Home Depot for your service. Send Snow, Thanks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2X 524 SWE 24 in. 208 cc Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Power Steering
from Erie, pa
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

JOYSTICK PAIN

PostedNovember 20, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have owned this model for 4 years, Ignition coil went first time out this year (300$ fix) but biggest issue is the Joystick control.
The Joystick was directly responsible for a very painful tennis elbow problem that has nagged me for over 2 years, the twisting and squeezing required to manuver this is extremely hard on the tendons.
I DONT PLAY TENNIS!
The joystick is common on other models as well and I strongly advise against this type of joystick chute control.
Other readers have complained as well about the "ease" of this joystick.
PS>>made in China!
Cons: joystick
-4points
3out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2X 524 SWE 24 in. 208 cc Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Power Steering
from Moorestown, NJ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quick Start

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Honestly, haven't had a chance to use it yet. Assembly was fairly straightforward, started right up on first pull. I find the chute "joystick" a little cumbersome, but will know more when we get a chance to use it in the real world. The steering is really easy, but watch out, this thing is fast. Should be a good work out.
Pros: Self-Propelled, Small Turn Radius
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2X 524 SWE 24 in. 208 cc Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Power Steering
from La Crosse wi
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great snowblower for the price

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The snowblower was easy to assemble and when we added gas it started on the third pull. The blower is easy to operate with power steering and has plenty of power
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2X 524 SWE 24 in. 208 cc Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Power Steering
from Bozeman, MT
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Worth every penny

PostedDecember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I was a little intimidated by this machine when I took it out of the box. But once I put it together and fired it up, operating it was a piece of cake. I was missing one of the pieces related to the snow chute, but I called Cub Cadet and they were very friendly and shipped it to me right away for free. I've been using this snow blower for 2 Montana winters now and can't imagine not having it. I have a gravel driveway and it handles it like a champ. I've sucked up tons of gravel and it doesn't even bat an eye. (Obviously, I'm too lazy to adjust the height each time going from the sidewalk to the driveway.) I would really love this if it had headed handles, but I guess you can't have it all. My favorite feature is definitely the electric start. I'm a female and have no trouble maneuvering this bad boy around. Buy it....seriously.
Pros: Durable, Powerful
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2X 524 SWE 24 in. 208 cc Two-Stage Electric Start Gas Snow Blower with Power Steering
from Lackawanna, NY
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Snowblower

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Works great even with heavy snow, went right through the stuff plowed into the end of my driveway. The power steering is useful and the controls are very simplistic, very easy to use. The only issue I've seen is that the chute does not tend to stay where you aimed it using the joystick for distance, as it seems to edge up as snow is thrown through it. The snowblower was pre-assembled, so it is likely that some adjustment can be made. Overall, this was one of the best purchases that I have.made.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Small Turn Radius
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>