728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 16-Volt Max Cordless Lithium DustBuster Hand Vacuum

16-Volt Max Cordless Lithium DustBuster Hand Vacuum

The BLACK & DECKER 16-Volt Max Cordless Lithium Ion Hand Vac allows for quick and easy cleanup, with a battery that lasts longer year over year. Lightweight design allows for maximum portability. The easy-empty, bagless dirt bowl provides mess-free operation.
Overall rating:
4.505 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(101 reviews) 101
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product92 of 99reviews
Rating Breakdown 101 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(68)
4
(23)
3
(5)
2
(3)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Features 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product92 of 99reviews
Customer reviews for 16-Volt Max Cordless Lithium DustBuster Hand Vacuum
Review 1 for 16-Volt Max Cordless Lithium DustBuster Hand Vacuum
from Colleyville, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Daily

The Black & Decker Dustbuster is a GREAT PRODUCT

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Black & Decker 14.4 Li Dustbuster is a GREAT Product that is a high quality portable vacuum cleaner and has more suction power than any other Dustbuster type device I have previously owned. I was a little reluctant about it not having a wall hanging charger, but after receiving this item, I like the base mount charger base better than any other device I reviewed. The long snout reaches into hard to reach places that other type units could not reach.
In addition, I love the blue LED charge light as it works extremely well for a night light in our laundry room where we keep it.
Excellent Product and would highly recommend it to anyone who is interested in a portable vacuum device.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Looks Great, Good for All Surfaces, Quiet, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Lots of Features, Nice Design, great led charging/night light
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 16-Volt Max Cordless Lithium DustBuster Hand Vacuum
from Wilmington, OH 45177, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Daily

Fantastic product!

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great handheld vac. The best I've ever owned. Good suction, easy clean up, holds its charge long enough to get the job done properly. I'd recommend it to anyone. Great value too! Finally, Home Depot had this to me in two days from the moment of ordering. Can't ask for more from a product or company!
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Looks Great, Good for All Surfaces, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 16-Volt Max Cordless Lithium DustBuster Hand Vacuum
from TN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Great Hand Held Vac

PostedFebruary 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This Vac replaced previous B&D hand held Vac with ni-cadd batteries. The old vac was good but slowed down after a couple years then finally died. The lithium-ion batteries do not require constant charging, and maintain their charge several times longer. It was more prudent and to replace the old Vac rather than replace its batteries.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Looks Great, Good for All Surfaces, Strong Suction, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
Cons: wanted to pay less maybe someday
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 16-Volt Max Cordless Lithium DustBuster Hand Vacuum
from Maine, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Usage frequency:Weekly

Pricey but worth it!

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have 2 of these and just love them. They stay charged for a long time and have great suction. They charge back up quickly too. Once you go with lithium battery products, you will never go back to traditional battery pack. It's important to read instructions though. With lithium, don't keep on the charger after its fully charged. Also, they run full force till they run out of juice - no gradual fading like tradition batteries. Love this dust buster!
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Performs Well, Strong Suction, Easy to Empty Filter
Cons: pricey
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 16-Volt Max Cordless Lithium DustBuster Hand Vacuum
from Westchester County, NY, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Not like your OLD DustBuster

PostedOctober 15, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We've had Dust Busters for decades, using them for those relatively small jobs that mess up one's kitchen or bathroom. No Dust Buster -- including this one -- is a substitute for a full-size vacuum for big jobs.
That being said:
Pros:
1. Very fast charging.
2. Excellent vacuum suction
3. Handy built-in tools (nozzle extender so you don't have to bend as far and flip-up brush).
4. Lithium-ion battery with (supposedly) no memory effect.
Cons:
1. The nozzle extender slides in and out of the main vacuum area; this means that it reduces the size of the opening, thereby reducing the size object the Dust Buster can pick up.
2. Every Dust Buster we've ever owned was able to be wall mounted on a charging bracket. I assumed this one would be the same -- I saw nothing to lead me to believe otherwise. Bot this one doesn't mount on a wall bracket at all. Its bottom end sits on a circular charging base about 5" in diameter. If you have room to sit it on the FLOOR in the closet (or wherever you'll keep it), or on a SHELF, it'll be OK as is. But we keep it in our pantry/mudroom closet off the kitchen and didn't want it on the floor, and there wasn't any room on the head-high shelf either. That meant that to have it roughly where its predecessor was -- mounted on the wall near the electrical outlet -- I had to build a shelf (with a lip to keep the Dust Buster's base from sliding off the shelf). This was an unexpected job (and expense).
3. It has an amazingly bright BLUE light that indicates whether the Dust Buster is charging (flashing on and off during the charging) or when it's fully charged (constant on when fully charged). The light is so bright you could use it as a night light (or equivalent). To me it's much brighter than necessary and obtrusive.
If you know and understand what you're buying, this could very well be exactly what you're looking for. I rated it 4-Stars, and would buy it again.
Pros: Performs Well, Strong Suction, excellent suction., fast charging, handy built-in tools, lithium-ion battery
Cons: doesn't mount on a wall bracket, overly bright charging light
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 16-Volt Max Cordless Lithium DustBuster Hand Vacuum
from Roseville, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Daily

14.4 Volt Rechargeable Lithium battery...bad motor

PostedJune 18, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The lithium battery had sufficient power while it lasted. I purchased the B&D 14.4 volt, lithium chargeable battery in May 2014, thinking it would last longer than my previous B&D NiCad battery. My NiCad vacuum lasted approx. one year. After fully charging the Lithium model, the vacuum motor actually froze up in less than one month of usage. Obviously, there was a problem with this model and I hope it's not a product design defect. I choose to have the 14.4 Volt Lithium model replaced with the B&D 20 Volt Lithium model.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Performs Well, Strong Suction, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
Cons: Noisy, Performance, motor froze up after one month
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 16-Volt Max Cordless Lithium DustBuster Hand Vacuum

Strong suction that didn't weaken

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This one performed the way I wished the early models could have. I gave it less on features because i would have preferred a long reach on the nozzle to save my back from having to bend. I made a longer extension by taking two crevis spouts with a piece of round plastic pipe joining them together, then shoved one of the flat ends inside the dustbuster flat crevis extension. This caused the suction to become a bit less, but still strong enough to suck up a dime on the floor. I guess that's why they didn't design a long spout into the product. It would have reduced the suction strength.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Good for All Surfaces, Strong Suction, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 16-Volt Max Cordless Lithium DustBuster Hand Vacuum
from Denver, CO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Daily

This vacuum really sucks!

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This vacuum sucks - but for a vacuum, that's a good thing. And this vacuum sucks very well. And I love the battery because it never seems to run down. But the best thing about this design of mini vacuum is that the exhaust blows... out the back end, like it should do. This design prevents blowing away tiny bits of stuff that you were intending to remove, but instead blow throughout the room, which has always been a problem with every other hand vacuum I've owned. I like it.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 16-Volt Max Cordless Lithium DustBuster Hand Vacuum
from Saratoga, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Daily

Second One

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After using the first one of these we bought earlier this year, we got a second one to have handy. It's powerful, a great size and weight, and the lithium battery is a huge improvement over the older NiCad models. I don't worry about leaving it on the charger so it's always ready for use. The pullout snout is solid and stays in place if you're just a bit careful. You can reach most places conveniently with the snout adjusted to suit. Easy to clean. Stores compactly on the stand. Nicely designed and good quality product. It's a bit noisy - but it's a vacuum!
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Performs Well, Looks Great, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
Cons: Noisy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 16-Volt Max Cordless Lithium DustBuster Hand Vacuum
from Eugene, OR, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Usage frequency:Daily

Just what I was looking for ....

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was looking for something that would pick up the small kitchen jobs and hit the window sills, where bugs tend to die for daily work. The extender does not hold its position but is not needed to get the job done. I'm pleased with how easy it is to pick it up from it's stand quickly and do the work.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Good for All Surfaces, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Lots of Features, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 16-Volt Max Cordless Lithium DustBuster Hand Vacuum
from Fort Myers, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

A Step Up

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Hand-vac's are hand-vac's, pretty much, so this was less about the basic functions/features and more about the unit being powered by Lithium battery. I've had a lot of them over the years, and the usual NiCAD batteries do not last all that long... and replacing them is either impossible or too expensive to justify. So... I assume this one will age much better than the previous ones. So far, so good.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 16-Volt Max Cordless Lithium DustBuster Hand Vacuum
from Chicago, IL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Weekly

It Sucks! In the good way.

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I remember when these bad boys came out in the 80s; and this one, is definitely in a league of its own. The boss (wife) did a fair amount of research and this vacuum received excellent ratings across the Internet board. I am happy with the product, and have actually stole it from the wife a couple times to take care of the man cave. Gentleman, it is one appliance you will buy for the boss, but will use just the same. Powerful, easy to charge and holds a good charge, and it is my new addition to my power tools...when the boss is away.
Pros: Sturdy, Strong Suction, Good Size & Lightweight
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 16-Volt Max Cordless Lithium DustBuster Hand Vacuum
from Sacramento, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Daily

Best Handheld Vacuum Available

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Suction 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Weight 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Home Depot had a great price on this item, and I remember a DustBuster that I had owned years ago. With this model, however, Black & Decker has completely changed the game. With a 14.4 volt lithium ion battery and new design, this beauty has tremendous suction and is very balanced and easy to hold. Powerful, light, and long time between charges. A very intelligent upgrade of an old classic.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 16-Volt Max Cordless Lithium DustBuster Hand Vacuum
from Queens County, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Daily

Good product - holds a charge for a long time

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Product works well, has good suction, and holds a charge for a long time.
Pros: Easy to Use, Great Value, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 16-Volt Max Cordless Lithium DustBuster Hand Vacuum
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Daily

So far, so good!

PostedMarch 25, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Suction 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Weight 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
So far, this iteration of Black & Decker's Dustbuster line is living up to its reputation as a decent product. With two kids who make a lot of crumbs, this unit gets a lot of use in our house. The design has evolved considerably since the last one that I bought in 2005 and it seems to be more functional, esp. since there are fewer small parts that could get lost (they are integrated into the unit now). Performance is good overall, no complaints on its ability to clean up. Only time will tell if the upgrade to the Li ion battery is worth the investment - I hope it is!
A few annoying things to be aware of: 1) the charging unit cannot be wall-mounted, so the vacuum can only be charged in the upright position (the upside of this is that it fits nicely into corners, but it must be kept on a flat surface). It is also tricky to properly seat the unit in the charger. 2) The power switch and filter housing release buttons are right next to each other - very easy to strike the wrong button and send the filter housing crashing to the floor! The dust bowl is fairly easy to empty, but I can tell it will need a thorough cleaning when it is time to change the filter - lots of crumbs and dust have crusted up in the corners.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 16-Volt Max Cordless Lithium DustBuster Hand Vacuum
from Lakewood Ranch, FL 34202, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Weekly

An effective, quality product

PostedApril 23, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I selected this vacuum to use where a corded vacuum would be awkward to use, such as car interiors, bookcases, and cramped bathroom areas and corners. I also wanted a lithium ion battery, which unlike other rechargeable batteries, holds more charge, and doesn't hold a decreasing charge over its lifetime, like other batteries, with their somewhat unpredictable longevity.
I found the Lithium ion Dustbuster easy to use, and easy to empty and clean . It doesn't have as much suction as I had hoped for, but works well for most of the tasks for which I purchased it. The charging station is compact, and doesn't take up much floor space. The blue pilot light on the station may be annoying to some users, but I keep it in our laundry room, where it doesn't present a problem.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
Cons: Suction
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 16-Volt Max Cordless Lithium DustBuster Hand Vacuum
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Usage frequency:Daily

this vac really sucks

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Love it... Has great suction and looks good. Battery lasts long enough to clean car and birdcage.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Performs Well, Looks Great, Good for All Surfaces, Strong Suction, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
Cons: Noisy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 16-Volt Max Cordless Lithium DustBuster Hand Vacuum
from Tennessee, USA
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Daily

Love it

PostedApril 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love this dust buster. It was expensive but well worth the money. It has a funny little way of sitting on the charger but it let's the light serve as a night light just in case you need light.
I would definitely buy it again even at the high price.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 16-Volt Max Cordless Lithium DustBuster Hand Vacuum
from Boynton Beach, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Usage frequency:Daily

DustBuster is great, but don't like the way it sets on charger

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Like the Dustbuster itself, but prefer the old method of attaching the charger solid on the wall.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 16-Volt Max Cordless Lithium DustBuster Hand Vacuum
from Massachusetts, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Best handvac EVER

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Don't confuse thios with the non lithium rechargable handvac. This is the best handvac ever. Easy to charge. Past vacuums I bought had a HEAVY plug. In my old house they became loose in the outlet. THIS vacuum has a light weight plug and and interesting charging stand. The vac holds it's charge long enough to do a large staircase and more. Spend the extra money for this. It is fantastic.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Strong Suction, Easy to Empty Filter
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>