728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Door Knobs & Hardware or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Double Bolt Sliding Glass Door Black/White Lock

Double Bolt Sliding Glass Door Black/White Lock

Make a sliding glass door a high security door with Lockit. The first double-bolt secure sliding glass door lock. Your locked standard sliding glass door provides one of the easiest accesses to your home. LOCKiT! protects your family and gives you total peace of mind by securing your sliding glass door in your home or apartment with a patented double-bolt locking mechanism.
Overall rating:
4.458 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(59 reviews) 59
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product54 of 58reviews
Rating Breakdown 59 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(41)
4
(12)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(4)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product54 of 58reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for Double Bolt Sliding Glass Door Black/White Lock
Review 1 for Double Bolt Sliding Glass Door Black/White Lock
from Vancouver, WA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Thank You Now I Can Sleep

PostedOctober 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Pieces can be reversed for installation. Works great!
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Double Bolt Sliding Glass Door Black/White Lock
from Waterford, MI
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does not work on Vinyl Doors

PostedJune 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product did not install at all. This should have a large disclaimer saying it works great for wood windows, but very poorly on vinyl. The spacers, which I needed to use due to my jamb length, were a joke (cheap plastic, which bent when any torque was applied to the screws). The bracket made the door unable to close, until I bent it with a hammer. The lock part was unable to attach to my sliding door at all, which has a steel core behind the vinyl. I ended up having to use washers for the spacers, and double stick tape to attach the lock to the door itself, which I am lucky I had at home already. For a $30 product, I needed to improvise to get it to even work, which is aggravating when you spend so much. Also, with the double stick tape, it does not provide any real security. We mainly bought this as a child lock, so it works for this purpose, but I would not trust it against a burglar.
Also, more companies need to learn from Ikea. Diagrams speak louder then paragraphs of words, but a small picture of a woman holding the unit against the door is not even close to sufficient. Simple diagrams are very helpful, and should be used more often instead of small black and white photos.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy
Cons: Difficult to Install, poor instructions, does not work on some doors
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Double Bolt Sliding Glass Door Black/White Lock
from Chicago, IL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great replacement lock!

PostedMay 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The lock on my sliding glass door went bad and I was told due to the age of the door I needed to replace the entire door. I was able to remove the existing lock and replace it with LOCKiT. The ONLY complaint I would have is the color of it. I would have liked it to be completely white to match my door. But it still looks great even with the small amount of black in it. In my opinion, it works better that the old lock and is way more secure.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Well Made, Good Size & Fit, High Quality, Great Detail
Cons: color, need more color options
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Double Bolt Sliding Glass Door Black/White Lock
Age Range:18 to 24

DOUBLE BOLT SLIDING DOOR LOCK

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
BEST LOCK MONEY CAN BUY ! Will keep the whole family safe.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Double Bolt Sliding Glass Door Black/White Lock

Awesome

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought and installed 3 locks. They were easy to install and operate. They are a very secure solution.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Double Bolt Sliding Glass Door Black/White Lock
from PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Saved us 700 dollars

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
couldn't replace the lock and handle on patio doors that had been so badly damaged by previous owners. This product saved us from having to replace the whole door. It secures the door just like it says and for under 50 dollars!
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Double Bolt Sliding Glass Door Black/White Lock
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Easy to use sliding glass door lock.

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We like this lock. Easy to install. Looks good and is very simple to use. It adds to the security of our home.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Double Bolt Sliding Glass Door Black/White Lock
from California, USA
Age Range:45 to 54

Good Lock

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Overall this is a good product and worked fine on my sliding back door. The lock itself is great, but I highly advise you to open the products package and get an idea of the hardware sizes and counts. (Screws) Replace those with quality screws, I twisted the heads off 3 of them even with a reasonable pilot hole.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Nice Design
Cons: instructions are not very clear.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Double Bolt Sliding Glass Door Black/White Lock
from Indianapolis, IN
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Check your sliding glass door before ordering

PostedDecember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The Pros: The installation instructions are very straight forward and the lock feels much more secure than the standard lock on the door
.
The Cons: This product presumes you have a sliding glass door with a wood frame. Many standard sliding glass doors made after 2000 are now framed in metal and coated with vinyl. Good luck getting the installation screws into that. You'll need a cobalt drill bit and some kind of anchor to allow the screws into a metal frame. Given that hassle you might want to consider a different lock if you have this type of door.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install
Cons: need wood frame
+4points
8out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Double Bolt Sliding Glass Door Black/White Lock
from California
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Protecting a child's life.

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to install n safe for children who don't know how to swim well yet but also makes you feel you can be doing other things n children are safe from swimming pool .
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Double Bolt Sliding Glass Door Black/White Lock
from California, USA

Doesn't fit

PostedJune 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I would have loved to use this lock, but it doesn't fit either of my doors. It needs latch options for doors with a deeper jamb.
Cons: needs diagrams, needs more latch options
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Double Bolt Sliding Glass Door Black/White Lock
from Pawleys Island, SC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works as advertised

PostedSeptember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Had to add some washers for spacing so the lock would slide open and closed easily.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Stylish, Nice Design
Cons: had to add washers for spacers so slide would work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Double Bolt Sliding Glass Door Black/White Lock
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Disappointed

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Missing parts. Took it back to Home Depot and they do not carry the missing parts, so we have to return it and order another one. There goes another week our 2-year old can open the sliding glass door by himself and escape.
Cons: missing parts
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Double Bolt Sliding Glass Door Black/White Lock

GREAT but.... didn't exactly fit our door

PostedNovember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I LOVE this lock & would have given it 5 stars, but my husband had some installation problems.
As another reviewer stated, the installation instructions were not detailed enough. In addition, another reviewer stated it didn't fit all doors and we found that to be true in our case. Our door frame was too deep so my husband had to create his own spacer. That is why the installation took so long, otherwise, it would have been a piece of cake.
As far as function goes, it is very easy to lock & unlock! The lock that came with the door was flimsy & had been repaired several times & I don't think it provided much security so this is SO much better than the old one!
Pros: Sturdy, Great Value, Functional, Well Made
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Double Bolt Sliding Glass Door Black/White Lock
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Keeps the Ninja In the House

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My two year figured out the old lock and began to go outside by himself, the lock is still functional just not child proof. This item works great, now this lock is out of his reach and we don't have to worry about a silent escape. It was easy to install took about 45 minutes, but I worked slowly and deliberately. I was concerned about stripping out the screws with a drill, so I used a hand screw driver to finish the tightening. At the recommendation of the other reviewers, and after seeing the screws that were provided, I purchased my own from the hardware store, cost me about $0.50. I used a hammer to tap the bracket after I had screwed it in to get a little better alignment and to minimize rubbing with the door, the adjustment was minimal. There is no noticeable compromise of the weather stripping seal, even though there has to be at least some but extremely minor. The lock also provides me with some additional security that I have wanted on the door since we bought the house. This was the only item that would work for my set up as the door with the lock tracks on the outside of the fixed door eliminating all the other options.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Double Bolt Sliding Glass Door Black/White Lock
from Staten island, NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

DOUBLE BOLT SLIDING GLASS DOOR BLACK/WHITE LOCK

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Added security for any sliding glass door and easily installed within 10 to 15 mins.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Double Bolt Sliding Glass Door Black/White Lock
from Elkridge, MD, USA

Decent Solution

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This lock is relatively easy to install, if not quite as simple as they might make it sound. Once on, it mostly lets the door slide, although both doors I put this on were definitely snug against the bracket. It may displace the door just enough to leave slight gaps in the weather stripping, depending on your configuration, but for me both doors are OK.
No idea if it will stop an intruder; as far as I know no professional burglars have tried to get in, so I don't know their success rate!
Pros: Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Double Bolt Sliding Glass Door Black/White Lock
from Florida, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent product, easy to install

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I needed something to make my sliding glass door more secure because of recent break-ins in the neighborhood. This was definitely a good choice. Easy to install with a drill and screwdriver. It took a little over five minutes and my family and I now feel much safer. There's not much you can do to prevent the thief's from breaking the door, but this is the next best thing.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Stylish, Nice Design
Cons: installation instructions were a little vague.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Double Bolt Sliding Glass Door Black/White Lock
from Oklahoma

OK product, not as "universal as advertised.

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
It built ok, and looks ok, but it does not fit as described on every door. It took some imagination and it is not as discreet as I would like.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Double Bolt Sliding Glass Door Black/White Lock
from Florida, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Husband fussed about the price but when he saw how easy it was to install and how it REALLY secured the doors he agreed that it was well-worth the price!
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>