728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Door Knobs & Hardware or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Double Bolt Sliding Glass Door Black/White Lock

Double Bolt Sliding Glass Door Black/White Lock

Make a sliding glass door a high security door with Lockit. The first double-bolt secure sliding glass door lock. Your locked standard sliding glass door provides one of the easiest accesses to your home. LOCKiT! protects your family and gives you total peace of mind by securing your sliding glass door in your home or apartment with a patented double-bolt locking mechanism.
Overall rating:
4.556 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(45 reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
98%of customersrecommend this product43 of 44reviews
Rating Breakdown 45 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(30)
4
(12)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
98%of customersrecommend this product43 of 44reviews
Customer reviews for Double Bolt Sliding Glass Door Black/White Lock
Review 1 for Double Bolt Sliding Glass Door Black/White Lock
ramman
from PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Saved us 700 dollars

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
couldn't replace the lock and handle on patio doors that had been so badly damaged by previous owners. This product saved us from having to replace the whole door. It secures the door just like it says and for under 50 dollars!
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Double Bolt Sliding Glass Door Black/White Lock
PhillipS
from Indianapolis, IN
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Check your sliding glass door before ordering

PostedDecember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The Pros: The installation instructions are very straight forward and the lock feels much more secure than the standard lock on the door
.
The Cons: This product presumes you have a sliding glass door with a wood frame. Many standard sliding glass doors made after 2000 are now framed in metal and coated with vinyl. Good luck getting the installation screws into that. You'll need a cobalt drill bit and some kind of anchor to allow the screws into a metal frame. Given that hassle you might want to consider a different lock if you have this type of door.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install
Cons: need wood frame
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Double Bolt Sliding Glass Door Black/White Lock
IRISHBULL
from Chicago, IL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great replacement lock!

PostedMay 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The lock on my sliding glass door went bad and I was told due to the age of the door I needed to replace the entire door. I was able to remove the existing lock and replace it with LOCKiT. The ONLY complaint I would have is the color of it. I would have liked it to be completely white to match my door. But it still looks great even with the small amount of black in it. In my opinion, it works better that the old lock and is way more secure.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Well Made, Good Size & Fit, High Quality, Great Detail
Cons: color, need more color options
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Double Bolt Sliding Glass Door Black/White Lock
BMoreE
from Elkridge, MD, USA

Decent Solution

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This lock is relatively easy to install, if not quite as simple as they might make it sound. Once on, it mostly lets the door slide, although both doors I put this on were definitely snug against the bracket. It may displace the door just enough to leave slight gaps in the weather stripping, depending on your configuration, but for me both doors are OK.
No idea if it will stop an intruder; as far as I know no professional burglars have tried to get in, so I don't know their success rate!
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Double Bolt Sliding Glass Door Black/White Lock
f3hunter
from California, USA
Age Range:45 to 54

Good Lock

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Overall this is a good product and worked fine on my sliding back door. The lock itself is great, but I highly advise you to open the products package and get an idea of the hardware sizes and counts. (Screws) Replace those with quality screws, I twisted the heads off 3 of them even with a reasonable pilot hole.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Nice Design
Cons: instructions are not very clear.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Double Bolt Sliding Glass Door Black/White Lock
Brucealan
from Florida, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent product, easy to install

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I needed something to make my sliding glass door more secure because of recent break-ins in the neighborhood. This was definitely a good choice. Easy to install with a drill and screwdriver. It took a little over five minutes and my family and I now feel much safer. There's not much you can do to prevent the thief's from breaking the door, but this is the next best thing.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Stylish, Nice Design
Cons: installation instructions were a little vague.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Double Bolt Sliding Glass Door Black/White Lock
diymama
from Florida, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Husband fussed about the price but when he saw how easy it was to install and how it REALLY secured the doors he agreed that it was well-worth the price!
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Double Bolt Sliding Glass Door Black/White Lock
Hammerhead

Patio door lock

PostedFebruary 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This lock is excellent, and one of the best security locks I have ever purchased. The product was easy to install and arrived ahead of the projected date. I wii definitely recommend this product to family, friends, and associates.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Easy to Move, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Double Bolt Sliding Glass Door Black/White Lock
myname123

Not universal

PostedMay 9, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Does not fit all sliding doors. Comes with two different options both of which are for the standard low end sliding door.
Cons: not functional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Double Bolt Sliding Glass Door Black/White Lock
vixx
from Colorado, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

LOVE THIS LOCK

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is by far the best sliding door lock. It prevents burglers from lifting door off to get in. Also child proof. I live alone and feel very safe now with this lock installed.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Double Bolt Sliding Glass Door Black/White Lock
Alan

Overall Good

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Good product - well made - not quite as easy to install as would have liked. There was not enough "shim" variations to account for my door.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Difficult to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Double Bolt Sliding Glass Door Black/White Lock
NGS72
from San Jose, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

The lock is designed well and easy to install.

PostedNovember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Order was done online and shipping was free because the minimum purchase was made! Great incentive to do online orders.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Nice Design
Cons: needed to use higher grade screws!
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Double Bolt Sliding Glass Door Black/White Lock
Cleaninglady

GREAT but.... didn't exactly fit our door

PostedNovember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I LOVE this lock & would have given it 5 stars, but my husband had some installation problems.
As another reviewer stated, the installation instructions were not detailed enough. In addition, another reviewer stated it didn't fit all doors and we found that to be true in our case. Our door frame was too deep so my husband had to create his own spacer. That is why the installation took so long, otherwise, it would have been a piece of cake.
As far as function goes, it is very easy to lock & unlock! The lock that came with the door was flimsy & had been repaired several times & I don't think it provided much security so this is SO much better than the old one!
Pros: Sturdy, Great Value, Functional, Well Made
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Double Bolt Sliding Glass Door Black/White Lock
JhimmyDingo

Works well if it fits your door

PostedJanuary 19, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I have 4 sliding doors in my home from the mid 60s. This lock fit two of the four. It fit the two panel doors. The larger doors that have 3 glass panels with the door in between had no place to anchor the screws. Just be aware this is not a one size fits all solution.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Double Bolt Sliding Glass Door Black/White Lock
DYIbry
from Oklahoma

OK product, not as "universal as advertised.

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
It built ok, and looks ok, but it does not fit as described on every door. It took some imagination and it is not as discreet as I would like.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Double Bolt Sliding Glass Door Black/White Lock
RonSr
from Florida, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just installed 3 on our sliding patio doors. GREAT!

PostedMay 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Installation was easy and the locks look good. Just the added security we needed.
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Good Size & Fit
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Double Bolt Sliding Glass Door Black/White Lock
Debbie
from Florida, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It was very easy to install on my sliding glass door, it really only took a few minutes. It holds the door tight and now I can get rid of my broomstick that I had stuck in the track.
Pros: Easy to Install, Well Made
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Double Bolt Sliding Glass Door Black/White Lock
karter18
from So Cal
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy install and they work very good

PostedJanuary 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought an older house and the sliding door locks are not very sturdy. Installed the double bolts and it is much more secure now. Easy install and they give you extra brackets for different types of doors. Installed up high out of reach or children and doors are much easier to open compared to locks on the floor. Very convenient and product has very nice finish.
Pros: Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Double Bolt Sliding Glass Door Black/White Lock
PMCodyDog
from Kansas City
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Had an old Pella slidding glass door and the lock stripped out and would no longer lock. Pella's solution was to replace the door. I called around and everyone said it could not be fixed. The door is fine so I only needed a way to lock it. This did the trick and very well at that. Very good lock.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Well Made, Good Size & Fit, High Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Double Bolt Sliding Glass Door Black/White Lock
eric
from Longmont, CO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great security

PostedAugust 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Instructions for installation were easy to follow. I feel much more secure with this lock in place rather than relying on the sliding patio door lock and a stick on the tracks.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Well Made, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>