728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Chain & Rope or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1/8 in. x 50 ft. Assorted Colors Paracord Hank

1/8 in. x 50 ft. Assorted Colors Paracord Hank

Everbilt Paracord is ideal for camping, hiking, boating and general purpose use. It is rot proof, resists oil, water and most chemicals. It is flexible and lightweight.
Overall rating:
3.1 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
56%of customersrecommend this product5 of 9reviews
Rating Breakdown 10 reviews
3.1 out of 5.0
5
(4)
4
(1)
3
(0)
2
(2)
1
(3)
Quality 
3.3 out of 5.0
3.3 out of 5
Value 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
56%of customersrecommend this product5 of 9reviews
Customer reviews for 1/8 in. x 50 ft. Assorted Colors Paracord Hank
Review 1 for 1/8 in. x 50 ft. Assorted Colors Paracord Hank
RednexToyz
from Aromas, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

General Purpose Paracord

PostedOctober 19, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ive used this Paracord for a number of uses varying from tying tarps down to camping clothes line. Bought this pack recently for our emergency kit. Comes bundled up nicely for packing. Holds knots well and is quite strong. Affordable, multi-use cordage.
Pros: Durable, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1/8 in. x 50 ft. Assorted Colors Paracord Hank
Chipper
from Fort Worth
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great.

PostedMarch 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used 550 cord for nearly 25 years. From a weapons sling to a clothes line. This product is different. What I like about this product over regular 550 is it does not stretch. It also dry's out quickly. Anyone who wears those buddy bands knows those things get funky quick. You have to shower with them to get them clean in the field. This product dry's fast.
What I don't like is the ends do not melt like regular 550 cord. And the inside strings aren't as handy when you field strip the cord. If you don't understand what I just said, cut a 3ft piece and pull the insides out. There you go.
Pros: Sturdy
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1/8 in. x 50 ft. Assorted Colors Paracord Hank
ClydeBBD
from Baytown, TX
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Not Paracord

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I specifically needed paracord, so instead of driving to a military surplus store or ordering online, I searched and found it listed on Home Depot's site. I went to the local store and grabbed a 50' bundle of black (listed here). Hey, the price could not be beat. However, as I began to put it to use, cut it to length and melt/fuse the ends I discovered that THIS PRODUCT IS NOT ACTUAL 550 PARACORD (paracord, ie. parachute cord) like used by the military. It is nothing more than a simple thin, 1/8" nylon rope inside a woven nylon casing: FAR INFERIOR to the real thing! I'll keep what I bought for menial, around-the-house tasks, but I'll go to the surplus store to get the real stuff so I can proceed with my original project..
Pros: price
Cons: Not Durable, not the real deal
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1/8 in. x 50 ft. Assorted Colors Paracord Hank
Will
from Beaver Falls, PA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not as good as real paracord

PostedMarch 1, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
As stated, this is not nylon paracord. It is a polypropylene blend. It doesn't melt well, so sealing the ends is difficult. It is very stiff so tying knots is rather difficult and since it is a poly blend, it is very UV susceptible. For a general purpose, low yield cord, it is acceptable, as a "paracord" substitute, it is a very poor choice. At least its cheap, but you will get what you pay for.
This item should really be relabeled as calling it paracord is just false advertising. Real paracord is 100% nylon. This is just cheap rope.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1/8 in. x 50 ft. Assorted Colors Paracord Hank
John
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

THIS IS NOT PARACORD

PostedApril 25, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
For the price, this product is ok, but be forwarned, this is not true paracord. Home Depot needs to change their description. True paracord is a 7 strand cord with a load limit of 550 lbs. This only has a 100 lb limit and when you look at the inside of the cord it is obviously not a 7 strand cord. You can also tell that it is not paracord when you try to remelt the ends. It should melt evenly on the inside and the outside. Again, this product is ok for the price, but is marketed incorrectly.
Pros: inexspensive
Cons: Not Durable, incorrectly advertised
+21points
30out of 39found this review helpful.
Response from Home DepotBy THD Customer ServiceOctober 9, 2013
Hi John,

I apologize for your experience with this product.I did reach out to the MFG, for more information on this issue and below is their response to you.


“The breaking strength is over 550 lbs for this product. The label refers to the working load limit which is a safety limit to ensure customer safety and is defined by the cordage institute of America.”

Hope this helps.

Thanks You
Review 6 for 1/8 in. x 50 ft. Assorted Colors Paracord Hank
Veganman
from Mid-MO
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for bow strings.

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This string is great for making bow strings as it doesn't stretch as much as true paracord does. For the price, it can't be beat.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Durable
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1/8 in. x 50 ft. Assorted Colors Paracord Hank
Steve
from Cleveland, OH
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not real Paracord and it doesn't melt well.

PostedAugust 3, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
As another reviewer has said, this is not real paracord. It only has 3 inner strands instead of 7.
But the biggest problem is this "Contains one or more of: polypropylene, nylon, polyester"
I'm positive the inner strands and the outer sheath are made from different materials. The result is that instead of them melting together like a good rope should, they actually melt and separate.
I will not buy this garbage again.
Cons: not real paracord, ends don't melt well
+4points
10out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1/8 in. x 50 ft. Assorted Colors Paracord Hank
mjmarietta
from Marietta, GA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Strong Paracord!

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've used this paracord for a ton of different projects. It's really strong and has held up to some severe conditions. You can't beat the price. Much lower price than most Paracords. I keep a couple packages in my trunk for emergency situations. Will continue to use as my go-to cord.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, Strong
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1/8 in. x 50 ft. Assorted Colors Paracord Hank
Skydivinpro
from Springfield, Illinois
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Strong durable, and reliable

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product does not break easily, I used it on a parachute I used when I went skydiving and it showed no sign of fraying at all despite the momentum I had.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Move, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1/8 in. x 50 ft. Assorted Colors Paracord Hank
Pavo
from Cincinnati, Oh
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not good cord!

PostedOctober 9, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No this is not real Paracord for the reasons mentioned by others, not 550 lb, not uniform in its materials, also I wil add when I mistakenly bought a bundle to help someone learn knots, the material is stiff and does not take a knot well.
An overhand loop is difficult to make neatly with this cord, and a figure 8 loop would be difficult. Should have checked more closely to get nylon cord.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.