728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Washers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Bravos XL 4.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR

Bravos XL 4.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR

Take on that end-of-week laundry pile with confidence. You can power through more dirty clothes in fewer loads with this high-efficiency Bravos XL HE top load washer that boasts a 4.6 cu. ft. capacity. And you get the Best Cleaning in the Industry enabled by PowerWash system. The SmoothClose wide-opening washer lid's unique hinge design allows the lid to close slowly, helping prevent fingers from getting smashed or clothes from getting snagged. You get all that and still use 76% less water and 78% less energy in this ENERGY STAR qualified model. Now go enjoy the rest of your weekend.
Overall rating:
4.37 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(592 reviews) 592
Open Ratings Snapshot
87%of customersrecommend this product504 of 581reviews
Rating Breakdown 592 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(402)
4
(100)
3
(33)
2
(21)
1
(36)
Features 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
87%of customersrecommend this product504 of 581reviews
Customer questions and answers:
13 Questions | 51 Answers
Customer reviews for Bravos XL 4.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
Review 1 for Bravos XL 4.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
from USA

Maytag in the next generation!

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
while visiting my daughter, she purchased a new washer and dryer and I noticed it was a Maytag. Since we have had ours for over 20 years, I decided to purchase one for us. My husband thinks the Maytag brand is the best, and judging from our previous washer and dryer (which is still working) I would agree with him.. I am very techie, so I love the new features and the KISS approach for those that are not so techie. Instructions were very clear and precise. so far, I love both washer and dryer...
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: rebate what rebate?
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Bravos XL 4.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
from Merritt Island, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Large capacity wash drum built handle big loads

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Simple & easy to operate. Really like large capacity to wash big objects - pillows, comforters, blankets, etc. Wash drum is stainless steel not enamel coated steel which can chip and cause rust stains on clothing. Washer uses less water than previous and much quieter. Spin cycle doesn't vibrate and clothes come out practically dry greatly reducing dryer time. Be sure to upgrade from included standard rubber hot/cold water connection hoses to reinforced braided staninless steel hoses. Can potentially save $$ years later as standard rubber hoses eventually wear and burst causing flooding. This happened to our neighbor while away on vacation and could have been prevented upon initial installation
Pros: Energy Efficient, Large Capacity, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Low Water Usage, Quiet, High Quality, maytag reliability
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Bravos XL 4.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
from Southern California
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Hate it ! does not wash well and has plastic parts

PostedSeptember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I hated it when I saw how badly it washed clothes as it uses no water and does not agitate enough.
But now I hate it even worse as a small plastic part broke on its own from the lid locking mechanism so I can not get the lid open... digital and plastic not a good combination for a $900 washing machine
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable, does not wash clothes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Bravos XL 4.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
from Kirksville, MO 63501, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Seems to clean well.

PostedJune 19, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I've not found other problems listed, no soap on clothes, if you follow the directions in the manual. The clothes appear clean and smell fresh. I have had trouble with a couple of stains, but I think the stains were set in, so not sure if that's the machine or the stains themselves. Quiet, I like that you can modify the settings. No balance problems thus far. When using the max extract setting for the spin cycle the clothes can be wrinkly, however dryer time using this setting is cut back dramatically. It used to take forever to dry my clothes and now they seem done very quickly. I hope it lasts for a long time.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
Cons: stain removal?
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Bravos XL 4.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
from Vancouver, WA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

maytag really

PostedMay 4, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The repair guy is coming today. Burnt rubber smell coming from the washer. It was installed on April 20th and by the 26th I was calling Maytag. Went on their web page and chatted with one of their employees, who told me I would be getting a call back within 24 hours to schedule my repair appointment. After 23 1/2 hours I called them myself to have them do what they said they would. Was told that it had not been 24 hours yet. Really!!! Was then transfer to another employee who made my appointment. Told me she was sorry about my washer.
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Bravos XL 4.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
from Prineville, OR 97754, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Happy wife, happy life

PostedDecember 31, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This set replaced a four year old Whirlpool set that was way too noisy plus it shook the entire house. I LOVE this washer and dryer, it is quiet, cleans well, does HUGE loads and doesn't shake everything even thought the extraction cycle is twice as fast. I didn't want a glass top on the washer and like that it is taller than some machines.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Bravos XL 4.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR

Stopped draining after first load.

PostedMay 5, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
First load worked fined. Has failed to drain on any cycle on subsequent loads, requiring me to drain it by using a water-vac to suck the water out through the drain hose. Service man has made one visit, ran it through diagnostic cycles and was unable to find anything wrong. Still doesn't drain in regular use. Have called for service again.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Bravos XL 4.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR

The wife is happy

PostedFebruary 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Our old maytag was not quite big enough and had developed a leak. The machine was at least 15 yrs. old but still worked and was probably worth fixing. Nonetheless, I bought this online after the wife saw and really liked the more-expensive version with the glass lid at Home Depot. The only difference I could detect, other than the price, was the see-through lid. I asked the wife how important it was to her to be able to watch the wash. She said she wasn't planning to do so and would perfectly happy with the less-expensive model with a solid white lid. Saving money makes me perfectly happy.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Bravos XL 4.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR

Like it....but

PostedFebruary 18, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I really do like this washer. The large wash load size is a plus, but the cloths do come out VERY twisted. And after just 3 1/2 years I have had to replace the mother board (brains - got the F1 code), and it's not a cheap part $175 and up. Of course that is cheaper than buying new, but at the cost I was hoping for a longer period before something went wrong.
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Bravos XL 4.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
from East Providence, RI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Not sure I would buy this product again or recommend it to someone else.

PostedMarch 27, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was very excited when the washer was finally delivered and installed (which happened twice as the first washer they delivered wouldn't start and had to be returned.) This thing has more lights on it than an airport runway. Then I went to wash a load. For a product that claims to be "high efficiency" I can't understand why the wash cycles are so long. The cycle time for sheets is over an hour....seriously? Even though the machine used less water, surely, this isn't very efficient for the electricity it uses during that time. I usually use the rapid cycle, which is approximately 40 minutes, for everything. This is the "shortest" cycle with this machine. The "clean washer" light stays lit even though I ran the washer with the cleaner tablet provided (which didn't completely dissolve, by the way.) I even "cleaned" it again using Clorox Washing Machine Cleaner. Still lit. I just live with it. I do like the "Max Extract" feature, which cuts down on drying time. If you're going to use a dryer, it does remove the wrinkles left by this feature, which some other posters have complained about. All in all, I'm not sure I would buy this washer if I knew then what I know now.
Pros: Lots of Features
Cons: wash cycles are too long, clean washer light stays lit
+11points
14out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Bravos XL 4.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
from SURPRISE ARIZONA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

BIGGEST PIECE OF JUNK AROUND

PostedApril 2, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
WE HAVE HAD OUR BRAVO OF 19 MONTHS AND WE HAVE JUST BEEN INFORMED BY THE REPAIR TECHNICIAN IT IS OVER EIGHT HUNDRED DOLLARS IN REPAIRS. THIS IS COVERED UNDER OUR NEW HOME WARRANTY YET THEY WILL NOT FIX IT AS IT IS MORE THEN IT WAS NEW. LID SWITCH IS BAD, THE ACTUATOR HAS TO BE REPLACED. IT SITS IN THE SPIN CYCLE AND DOES NOT SPIN AND THEN YOU HAVE TO RE-WASH THE LOAD. I GAVE IT 1 START BECAUSE THAT IS THE LOWEST NUMBER. TOTAL JUNK!
Cons: Not Durable, junk, usless
+9points
14out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Bravos XL 4.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
from Excelsior Springs
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This product is very efficient.

PostedFebruary 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The load capacity of this washer is great. The amount of laudry I do used to take me two days. By the time I was done doing all the laundry, there would be more laundry waiting. Now I can get all the laundry done within a day and actually take a day to two off from it. It has given me freedom to do other things with my time.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Bravos XL 4.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
from Fairfield, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

excellent washer!

PostedApril 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this washer almost 2 years ago and I am so happy with it.It holds so many clothes,that it does not take me all day to do laundry.The drum is so spacious that I can wash my throw rugs as well as my queen comforters in it.I highly recommend this washer,you will not be disappointed!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Bravos XL 4.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
from Alabama, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked fine for 3½ years, then failed.

PostedJuly 24, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The Bravos gives results similar to a front load but without some of the drawbacks (inability to add clothes during cycles, potential for odors) and ours worked fine for 3½ years, then it started making a terrible howling sound -- especially during the spin cycles. Apparently this is a common problem and the repair cost of $600 is not worth it because the same design flaw exists in the new parts. The tub bearing gets a small amount of water/detergent/bleach and it fails. The repair involves a complete tub replacement. Maytag refuses to acknowledge the design problem and offers no break on the repair. Beware! cost/load will end up being VERY HIGH if you include the service costs to keep it running.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Not Durable
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Bravos XL 4.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
from Poplar Grove, IL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

We are very impressed with this washing machine!

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My family and I have been elated with the efficiency of this washing machine! Our prior machine was poor at spinning the extra water out of the clothes. This washing machine does an excellent job with removing the maximum amount of water during the spin cycle - ultimately reducing the drying time! It's fantastic!
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Bravos XL 4.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
from Marietta, GA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Love this machine

PostedJuly 11, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased this machine based on the Consumer Reports review. It is extremely quiet and I love the large capacity.
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Bravos XL 4.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
from Lexington, SC, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Nice in Graphite color

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Have had the washer and dryer for over a week. Great features and drum takes a lot of clothes reducing loads. I didn't notice the scratches the delivery men made on the side of my dryer till I wiped the machine down 3 days later. Its a shame to pay all that money and start odd with scratches. Very disappointed every time I see them. Satisfaction automated calls were done before I found the scratches. The drum has recently started making a banging noise like it's off it's balance.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: Not Durable, loud machines, drum off balance after a week
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Bravos XL 4.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
from Boston, MA
Gender:Female

Good product, with reservations

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Since this is my first high-efficiency washer, I've had to do some learning - especially how to choose the right cycle so that typical stains (which were no problem with the old washing machine) are removed reliably. I'm puzzled about fabrics that are labeled for the gentle cycle: the hand washables cycle is too gentle, so I guess I have to use the normal cycle. With the large number of cycles available, it's bothersome that the slow spin speed is not available with the normal cycle. The extra rinse option seems to be a good idea most of the time. The other minor complaint I have is the lack of any flat working space on top of the machine when the lid is open. I have had to clear off space next to it.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Lots of Features, High Quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Bravos XL 4.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
from Lakeland, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

I do not like this Maytag washer.

PostedMay 14, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
This washer does not live up to the Maytag name. Very disappointed with it. I have to rinse my clothes twice. I have tried to use less detergent and clothes still does not have the fresh clean smell. hate it!
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Bravos XL 4.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
from Memphis, TN, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

takes more attention but results are good.

PostedFebruary 14, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
You can't just throw clothes into a HE washer, need to follow directions. Seems to be rougher on clothes unless you use the gentle settings. Clothes come out somewhat wrinkled but clean and drier. We had an early model HE washer before so familiar with some foibles. Too early to judge energy savings (3 weeks).
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>