728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Washers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Bravos XL 4.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR

Bravos XL 4.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR

Take on that end-of-week laundry pile with confidence. You can power through more dirty clothes in fewer loads with this high-efficiency Bravos XL HE top load washer that boasts a 4.6 cu. ft. capacity. And you get the Best Cleaning in the Industry enabled by PowerWash system, plus an Allergen removal cycle that helps eliminate 95% of common household allergens. The SmoothClose wide-opening washer lid's unique hinge design allows the lid to close slowly, helping prevent fingers from getting smashed or clothes from getting snagged. You get all that and still use 76% less water and 78% less energy in this ENERGY STAR qualified model. Now go enjoy the rest of your weekend.
Overall rating:
4.572 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(2001 reviews) 2001
Open Ratings Snapshot
91%of customersrecommend this product1,791 of 1,968reviews
Rating Breakdown 2,001 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(1,565)
4
(246)
3
(47)
2
(56)
1
(87)
Features 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Value 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
91%of customersrecommend this product1,791 of 1,968reviews
Customer questions and answers:
51 Questions | 209 Answers
Customer reviews for Bravos XL 4.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
Review 1 for Bravos XL 4.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
from Massachusetts
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

I love this washer. First time for me with an HE washer and it works great.

PostedMay 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love all the settings. I just turn to whites or colors and towels and the machine automatically adjusts all the settings. I don't have to remember to change any water settings. I have a new laundry room on the first floor of my house and this machine is very quiet which was a concern for me.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Bravos XL 4.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
from Colorado
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

Mixed emotions, but mostly disappointed.

PostedMarch 27, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
While there are features I really like, such as the large capacity and ability to wash bulky items like a comforter, rugs and dog bedding, I have to say that my clothes come out more twisted and wrinkled than they did in my previous washer. I own several pets and I've noticed that there is still pet hair clinging to some of the washed items; this after hair-rolling the clothes before even putting them in the wash. I also find that there is a white residue that shows up occasionally on the darker clothes. I have tried using different settings and have even added an extra rinse cycle, (which defeats the purpose of buying a washer that is designed to save on water usage). I have contacted the company for some assistance with these issues, but have gotten very little help. If they would have taken it back, I would've gone that route. Unfortunately, I was told that returning it was not an option.
I plan to purchase a different detergent to see if that makes a difference. I donated my other washing machine; I wish I had it back along with the money spent on the new one.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, ability to wash large/bulky items
Cons: did not get the performance i was hoping for., twisted and wrinkled clothes., white residue on some not all darker items, pet hair remains on some washed items
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+14points
23out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Bravos XL 4.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
from Pensacola, FL, USA

so far so good

PostedFebruary 23, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I haven't had any of the problems mentioned in other reviews. All laundered items come out clean, not twisted, no laundry detergent residue, doesn't appear to be causing wear-and-tear on items laundered. Smooth quiet spin, even on Power Wash or Bulky. Finally able to wash all quilts, blankets and pillows at home. I can wash a BIG or small load with no problems. I took away one star for value only because I think the price is a bit much. This machine replaced a twenty year old Maytag so if it lasts that long I guess I might consider it a better value. I guess I'll have to wait and see as I have only used this machine for six days. Six days of heavy use and so far so good.
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Bravos XL 4.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Beware of all agitator less top loaders Returning for a front loader

PostedJanuary 14, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Realy thought I did my home work on this one Im going to say I believe these agitator less top loaders are just a bad design regardless of manufacture, with 6 days of use we decided to bring this one back. We read and followed the owner’s manual and It still leaves lots of wrinkles and we don’t think it consistently cleans the cloths. I actually sat and watched the whole cycle during the wash my son’s shirt stayed on the top of the load and never cycled through to the bottom. my wife washed just sheets and pillow cases using the sheets setting with no modifiers and the pillow cases were left with dirty creases where they were wrinkled. In fact they looked worse than when they were dirty. Some clothing never rotates through the wash and is only wet from the water sprayed out on it. This washer has left some of the loads so wrinkled that the dryer cant un wrinkle them. The max extract extracts no more water than the 15yr old top loader it replaced. The straw that broke the camel’s back was on day 6 when trying to wash 3 towels and a light queen comforter the machine could not spin even after manually re balancing several times. At that point I went to HD with the dirty pillow cases as proof and requested a return and purchased the GE GFWH2400LWW. Home Depot agreed to take it back, The Bravos 4.6 goes back tomorrow and I will cross my fingers for better luck with the GE. Attached is a picture of the "clean" nasty pillow cases refered to above never had this problem with the old washer NOTE picture doesnt even look as bad as it realy is.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+28points
44out of 60found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Bravos XL 4.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
from Iowa
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Don't waste your money!

PostedAugust 12, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have had this machine for about 2 years but I call this machine a wetting machine NOT a washing machine. It randomly wets your clothes but doesn't remove stains. It will not save you water when you have to do a load 3 times to try, unsuccessfully I might add, to get your clothes clean. Just purchased another washing machine because I could not stand this machine 1 more day. I have studied the manual, use the machine properly, use HE detergent & even written Maytag about my issues with it not getting all the detergent out. It leaves detergent stains in your dark clothes, maybe you just can't see what it leaves in the whites. I cannot wait to receive my new WASHING machine!
Cons: doesn't clean
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Bravos XL 4.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
from Parker, CO, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Can you love a machine? Yes!

PostedFebruary 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We were hesitant to purchase an HE washer & dryer after reading reviews on all products, both here and the major consumer review site. We spoke to employees, friends, etc. It was scarier than buying a new car! Felt that way when it came to pricing, too, but I was down to turning knobs with pliers on my old machines, so it was jump in and hope for the best.
Well, I didn't need to worry. After all, it's a Maytag. A Maytag from Home Depot. After reassurance from a friend who owns a Maytag, the consumer review site mentioned, and a very helpful employee who owns this machine, we decided to go with the Bravos. I am SO glad we did. I've done countless loads over the past three weeks, from sheets to delicates, whites to darks, and including our king comforter (one of the reasons for wanting a high capacity machine: king comforter & four dogs!).
I am more than satisfied. I have had no problems with "white residue" on the darks (a problem I read in a review). I really think that issue was someone using too much detergent. I know, I know: they used the recommended amount. Okay, I won't argue. But I don't have that problem. I had no problem with "dirt in the creases". I use the bulky setting if I need extra water, bleach for the whites, set the soil level to extra heavy if I've been extra dirty that week (heh), and I pre-treat stains. But who doesn't? That "scream" product has been around forever - it's not unreasonable to have to pre-treat.
As far as the dryer, I find that if I have a mixed load such as tee shirts with a few socks, the socks may not get totally dry - the dryer senses the tee shirts more, I guess. So I just leave the socks in there to run with my next load. No big deal. This is the reason for "energy efficiency", right?
Overall, I'm highly satisfied. I know I said a lot, but I hope my review was helpful and answered some questions, not just on this product, but for those of you trying to decide between products as we were trying to do.
Oh, and this is just frivolity, but I love the lights and sounds - it's like a Pink Floyd laser show in my laundry room! *giggle*
+87points
87out of 87found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Bravos XL 4.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR

big machine

PostedJune 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
When we first did laundry it did make the clothes stink to me but husband didn't think so but we have had it now for a few weeks and the smell has gone away. You do need to load the laundry a certain way and it does take a while for it to wash your clothes but it is big and does a good job. It's also fun to watch since the top is see through. Our first load we stood there for over an hour watching it to see what happens, yes that was our excitement:) Over all it was a good investment
+34points
35out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Bravos XL 4.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
from Centerville, GA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Outstanding Washer/Dryer BRAVOS 850 (In Granite)

PostedJune 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Owned for one month now and have run approx 15 loads. Replaced an 11 year old Maytag.
This washer's loading capacity is huge (4.6 CU FT) - wife thought our old Maytag handled large loads with ease (Neptune -Extra Large Capacity). This BRAVOS handles even more with out breathing hard! Easily handles a Queen size comforter.
Pro's:
- Definitely uses less water to wash a load;
- Appears to wash faster (read: less electricity);
- Quieter than previous Maytag
- Appears to clean better
- Like the separate disperser for the HE Soap, Softener, and Bleach.
CONS:
- Pricier than the "old school" top load washer.
Did NOT even consider the "HE" Front Load - recommendations from my local washer repairman (who tried to resurrect old washer, but at the end it was deemed cheaper to buy new than to spend the repair cost), and from leading consumer magazine's convinced us to steer away from HE Front Loaders as being much less reliable (and the smell issue with old stagnant water).
In addition, we purchased the companion BRAVOS Electric Dryer (both are GRANITE in color; lost the argument with the wife for the cheaper "white" option) - the dryer (BRAVOS 850) was a also a good buy - dry's the clothes in half the time of previous dryer. We bought our PAIR from Home Depot during their pre-Memorial Day Sale last month and saved over $400 from what is advertised here! (out the door with free delivery and setup - only catch is you have to purchase the dryer cord and stainless steel washer hoses and the dryer duct from Home Depot at time of purchase or else they will not do the "free" Setup - just the delivery). In addition, we are still waiting for the Maytag $100 Rebate they were running last month for purchasing the Washer and Dryer!
Advice: Wait for the good sale, if your situation allows.
+71points
72out of 73found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Bravos XL 4.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
from Illinois, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

SOOO HAPPY WITH THIS WORK HORSE

PostedOctober 14, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I wrote one review, but, they never posted it. Not sure why. because I only wrote good about this machine. I received this washing machine last Saturday and have used almost all the cycles.(which I believe is about 14 cycles) I was able to wash my extra large heavy king size comforter in this machine and it handled it just fine. Actually, I still had room to put more in. Some of the cycles are about 1 hour long, but, this has a rapid wash which works perfect for getting a quik wash in. I think it was about 35 minutes. I did use the rinse and spin cycle once and it only got my new shirts barely damp (so I could get wrinkles out) but, I believe it must have been something I did wrong. It has a lot of settings for different load size, water temperatures, and spin speeds, so I just need to use it more to learn exactly how it works. Looking forward to being off work Sunday again so I can play with my new washing machine. This washer does have default settings but, you can reset them with each wash, which makes it Great! It does have a locked lid while washing, but, you just hit the pause button to add more laundry and then just hit start. All in all, I love this washing machine and glad we decided on this one. I hope this one last as long as my last maytag.
+49points
49out of 49found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Bravos XL 4.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
from Minnesota
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love it! Love it! Love it! But you have to use it correctly! You must read the manual..

PostedNovember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had it 1+ years, If you don't read the manual you won't be happy, if you read it you will love the machine!! You can't wash one blanket, 2 makes an even load same with rugs. CANT use DRY deturgent or you will get soap spots, have to use LIQUID in the machines despencer. BULKY gives you the most water. I wash my hubby's jeans and dirtest cloths on bulky. My electric bill has gone way down (elec water heater) and my city water bill has taken a nose dive.. This machine is a win win for me. My gas bill is down cause my dryer does not take as long anymore, this machine spins the water out like crazy.. When I got it delivered and set up I just wanted to get my laundry caught up and started to throw stuff in it.. mistake.. after 3 loads on the wrong settings, I was so mad.. then I read the manual... Love the machine.. would buy it a gain in a heart beat.. I do tend to use "bulkey' setting alot, like the extra water... but NEVER with sheets or blankets, they will knot up.. dont own comforters. I own white towles so I use cholrine bleach so never have to run drum clean cycle.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, saves on utilities bills
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Bravos XL 4.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
from Valrico, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

HUGE is not a big enough word for this washer!

PostedNovember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought the Bravos to replace a 14-yr-old Maytag Neptune front loader... our comforters would 'ball up' in the front loader, and the top loaders were available in a larger capacity... all I can say is if you think the Bravos looks huge in the store, wait until you actually put a king size comforter in it! The machine is truly quiet, and washes like a dream... the different cycles give you options for all your laundry needs, and still allow you to adjust the water temperatures, spin speed, and light/med/heavy 'dirty' levels... also option for extra rinse. My husbands work clothes were coming out smelly in our old Neptune, and now they are fresh as new! Had to contain myself from washing everything in our closets just for the fun of it! You can't go wrong with this washer... no regrets here.
+26points
27out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Bravos XL 4.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
from Carrollton, GA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very pleased, solid performer, big improvement!

PostedNovember 5, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Our family of nine (seven kids 2 months to 17 years) replaced a ten year old agitator with this Maytag HE top loader. We had concerns about HE technology based on reviews for a number of brands at several appliance web sites. However the results from a leading consumer magazine convinced us that HE technology would clean clothes better and with less resources so long as we made a good choice with the machine.
We ran our Maytag (empty) through its first cycle with the Affresh sample that came with it and we have been careful to follow the instructions for loading the clothes and detergent and haven't had any problems with residue, unbalanced loads or inability to clean. The clothes do get very dry in the spin cycle but we've had very little problem with wrinkles setting into the clothes when we move them promptly to the dryer. Besides you can override the spin speed if wrinkle issues occur - just realize that your clothes will be damper.
The machine has a good sound deadening package and runs much quieter than our old agitator in both the cleaning and spinning cycles.
The top is two or three inches higher than traditional laundry room machines which makes it a tough reach to the bottom of the drum for shorter people. My wife is 5' 3" and she has to stand on her tip toes to reach the bottom. This shouldn't be a reason to avoid this high capacity washer but just know that somewhere around this height and shorter you may need a step stool.
Other features that we love:
- see-thru glass lid with soft close
- display to see how much time is left before load is complete
- huge capacity
- super dry clothes
- a lot of options for almost every kind of clothing
To be fair two weeks isn't enough time to judge long-term quality and we opted to purchase a 4 year extended warranty. However, we wash 3 to 5 loads a day and so far the machine has performed reliably.
Based on our experience so far we are very pleased with this purchase.
+33points
33out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Bravos XL 4.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
from Long Island, New York, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

I hate this machine

PostedMarch 7, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I read the reviews and bought the machine. The next day I had to have a repair person here because I didn't feel the machine worked properly. Apparently, the machine works the way it is suppose to, but:
It does clean well
It tangles and pills clothes
Whites are dull
Takes too long
Cannot wash large items without unbalanced load
I hate it, I hate it, I hate it.
I read and reread the instuctions to no avail. I felt compelled to warn others as I sit here and wait endlessly for a mattress pad to finish washing after repeatly rebalancing, rerinsing, etc. Not only not worth the money, not worth my time. I do not understand the positive reviews. I have had this machine for almost 3 months and hate it more each time I use it.
Cons: Difficult to Use, takes too long, clothes tangle and pill, whites are dull, cannot wash a blanket or large object, clothes don't smell fresh, manual doesn't help, need to wash the washer??, takes to long to artfully load clothes
+26points
34out of 42found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Bravos XL 4.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
from Louisville, KY, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great value for the money

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this washer is great. it handled our king size quilt very well, plus it does very large loads with ease. very quiet. uses small amounts of detergent as well. very pleased with my purchase.
Pros: Easy to Use, Lots of Features, High Quality
+17points
18out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Bravos XL 4.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
from Portland, OR, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Washer

PostedMay 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We've had this machine for about 8 months now and have had absolutely no problems with it. If you read the instructions on how to operate the machine everything will work properly. Loading this macine is a little more time consuming but necessary for it to function as it was designed to. The clothes always come out clean even with regular detergent and the high spin cycle cuts down on drying time.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Bravos XL 4.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
from Illinois
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Happy with ours

PostedMarch 6, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We bought this machine and matching dryer 2 years ago, its been problem free. One minor thing bothers me, it seems noiser in the spin cycle then 2 years ago.
Gets the clothers and whatever clean but you can't just toss in the stuff wiiy-nilly, they need to be put in so you have a balanced load. That was one on the many criticisms of the machine which I found to easily overcome. If you don't have time to put the clothers in neatly then go with one of the older machines that uses a lot more water.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Bravos XL 4.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
from Gainesville, GA 30506
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This hybrid design twists, wrinkles and tears clothes and doesn't clean well

PostedApril 10, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this washer a year ago and have not been happy with how this washer leaves the clothes very knotted, wrinkled and torn up, especially shirts and sheets. The clothes come out so wrinkled, that when you dry the clothes, they dry in one solid ball and have to be shaken out individually before drying them (especially sheets). I use liquid Downy on my clothes yet the clothes don't smell clean and sometimes I will run the washer twice to try to get the clothes clean. I can't load the washer to full capacity because the clothes don't seem to get clean due to the low water level, and they come out dirty and don't smell clean. I have had many luxury sheets torn and I have had to set the spin cycle to low for all items, including towels, which greatly increases my drying time. I have noticed that the detergent leaks out through the detergent cup in the washer before the load starts. I don't recommend this washer - stick with either a traditional top loading washer or an true HE front load. Also, you have to baby this washer when loading clothes - you have to lay clothes in the washer so that the agitator at the bottom is visible, and try to visually make the load balanced. This washer does not hande mixed loads of lightweight and heavy clothing mixed together -- you can't just throw in a bunch of towels or you will get an error for unbalanced load. I have yet to see how this washer can handle 21 towels - maybe hand towels, but there is no way my washer can do 21 towels and clean them properly. I have to use alot of pre-stain boosters, Clorox and Resolve to help my washer get clothes clean so I don't think this washer does a good job of cleaning, maybe just on lightly soiled clothes. I have had many sheets ruined due to holes, shirts with missing buttons or shirts with holes in the sleeves. I have never had this problem with any other washer. I wouldn't recommend this washer for the money. If you do buy the washer, buy the extended warranty, because a simple repair will cost you more out of pocket than the entire cost of the 4 year warranty.
+38points
42out of 46found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Bravos XL 4.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
from Phoenix, AZ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love this washer!

PostedNovember 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We moved into a new house last week -- ordered this washer and matching dryer after reading tons and tons of reviews on all brands. I've done 8 loads now and love, love, love this washer and dryer! I'm only 5'4" and it is a stretch to the bottom of the washer, but even I can make it work on my tiptoes. It is very quiet -- sounds like a spinning top with gears.
I had read the reviews about it leaving wrinkled clothes, but our last set were front loaders and we had the same problem when we first got them. You have to actually read the instructions on how to load this washer and which setting to use. If you spin the load too fast, it will set in wrinkles that the dryer can't shake loose. I've washed everything from towels to dress shirts on the "normal" cycle and haven't had one bit of problem!
The only negative I'd say is the length of time it takes to run a load -- averages a little over an hour. Otherwise, I'd highly recommend this set.
Pros: Lots of Features, High Quality, Looks Great
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Bravos XL 4.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR

This product is very efficient

PostedJune 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I read the reviews for this washer before going to Home Depot to get a feel for the machine in person. It is my first HE washer and I am trying to change the way I think of doing laundry and that more water is not better. It is a very big washer and I have to stand on my tip toes to get the clothes out. I would suggest reading the manual so that you know what all the bells and whistles mean. I love that my quilts fit easilly in the machine.
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Bravos XL 4.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White, ENERGY STAR
from Maryland
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Beauty Machine

PostedApril 26, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased a BRAVOS in November 2007 and purchased a three year warranty. Often I had to re wash my clothes because they didn't really look clean. I used the appropriate detergent and did not put a lot of clothes in the machine at one time; although machine size is pretty large. I am giving it three stars because 2 months after the extended warranty ended the machine would not spin (flashing: F 50 code on the machine) and the repair person told me it would cost more for the parts and labor than it would cost to purchase a new machine. So if you don't mind washing clothes twice and having the machine only last 4 years or less before getting F50, go for it. I highly suggest you review the rating on internet.
+14points
18out of 22found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 9 >>