728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Gel Fuel (24-Pack)

Gel Fuel (24-Pack)

Real Flame is the leading brand of gel fuel in the market. Lasting up to three hours, each can creates bright yellow, orange, and red flames that crackle just like a real fire. Best of all, Real Flame gel is an environmentally friendly, clean-burning gel that doesn't leave any messy soot, smoke or ashes behind.
Overall rating:
3.933 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
87%of customersrecommend this product13 of 15reviews
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
3.9 out of 5.0
5
(6)
4
(5)
3
(2)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.8 out of 5.0
2.8 out of 5
87%of customersrecommend this product13 of 15reviews
Customer reviews for Gel Fuel (24-Pack)
Review 1 for Gel Fuel (24-Pack)
grandma
from Wisconsin, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Easy to use canned fuel

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
This product is easy to use and creates a nice glow and crackle, sounding like a real wood fire. It does not have the warmth of a wood fire...so it will not heat the whole room...but it produces a warmth that is cozy and comfortable. It gives off a slight odor when started..but the odor doesn't last long. Unfortunately neither does a can of this fuel. One can burns about 2 1/2 - 3 hrs. I purchased the 3 can insert and use 3 cans at a time. At the price of each can..it is upwards of $10.00 for 3 hrs of burning. Kind of steep, so I use it for special occasions only. The Holidays, when company comes over, and when it is really cold and snowy outside. Love the ambiance so I will keep using it. Just wish it was less expensive.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Gel Fuel (24-Pack)
Tigerrdawn
from Oklahoma City, OK 73162, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

It's real flame, or nothing!!

PostedJuly 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I will use nothing other than Real flame gel fuel, it's safe, you can put it out when ever you're ready, no harsh smells, it crackles, it provides a beautiful fire, very realistic looking, easy to use, ignite & extinguish. Even better, no loss of heat due to a damper, it's very economical in that aspect. You are able to have that great ambiance when & wherever you choose. The only changes I would make is sell incense that smells like burning wood with it, or add it to the gel, and make it more economical, burn longer.
I wish it were easier to purchase locally.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Seals Well, Easy to Clean, you don't have heat loss beause of a damper/flute.
Cons: you can't just go to the store and buy it., to purchase it you must place an order .
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Gel Fuel (24-Pack)
Jenn

Love it!

PostedNovember 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This is such a great product! No smell, easy to use and the heat it produces is amazing. I also love the crackle. However, the only flaw is that each can doesn't last long. About 2 hours. It would be great if they could make a denser version of this so it could last about 4 hours instead of just two. I'm glad I got the 24 pack cause these will go fast. Other than that, great product!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great
Cons: doesn't last long
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Gel Fuel (24-Pack)
BeeJay
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Gel fuel cans add a nice touch.

PostedDecember 13, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
I recently purchased a hanging gel fuel fireplace. The gel fuel cans are easy to use, remove label, shake, insert & light. A can lasts 2 - 2.5 hours. They provide a nice flame, the crackle sound is nice to listen to. The cans are a bit expensive.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
Cons: a bit pricey.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Gel Fuel (24-Pack)
Karen
from Kapaa, HI

Delivery quicker than promised.

PostedFebruary 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent fuel. High flames and spark sounds enhance the enjoyment of an indoor "fire."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Gel Fuel (24-Pack)
Carousel
from Pittsburgh
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Great Fuel

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've used Real Flame since I purchased my fireplace 10 years ago. Will not use any other brand.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Gel Fuel (24-Pack)
LaFayette
from Jacksonville, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

The sterno cans produce a warm fire within the firelogs, I was hoping that you had liquid sterno in gallon bottles that could

PostedFebruary 19, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
I wish the sterno came in gallon containers so that the cans themselves could be re-used. I know that there must be liquid sterno available in gallon containers somewhere. It just seems wasteful to use new cans everytime you want to use the firelogs. I was hoping that the sterno would produce a little heat, but the glowing flames are quite pretty
Cons: Difficult to Use, Not Durable, Difficult to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Gel Fuel (24-Pack)
Bono
from Frederick, MD, USA
Age Range:45 to 54

Our favorite fuel gel

PostedMarch 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have several fireplaces and use them alot in the winter months. We have used Flameglo before then went to a cheaper one. We are now back to Flameglo. By far the best and you can't beat Home Depots customer service.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Gel Fuel (24-Pack)
Emerald13
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

Love my gel fuel Fireplace!

PostedJanuary 14, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My fireplace can take 3 cannisters, but I typically only use one at a time in center slot. For ambiance, looks fine and helps to conserve on fuel. I find burning three actually can make the room too hot . . . although 3 worked great to keep room heated during an extended power outage.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Gel Fuel (24-Pack)
Birdie
from Ohio, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good product

PostedJanuary 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
These cans of gel fuel have a nice looking flame. We have not noticed any odor from the burning gel. I love the crackling sound, makes it seem like real wood burning. The flames last about 2 1/2 hours.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Gel Fuel (24-Pack)
Nate
from Wentzville, MO, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Real fire but pricey if you want to use everyday

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
I like the real flame. I shopped around a lot and found the best price here. However, this can get very expensive if you want to use these everyday. I like the crackling sound it produces.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great
Cons: expensive
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Gel Fuel (24-Pack)
Marcia64
from Canyon Country, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

Inconsistent burn

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I can't complain too much about the cost, as it is challenging to find canned gel fuel inexpensively. However, out of each 3-can burn, I noticed that 2 of the 3 would only burn partially. You can scoop the unburned fuel out with a spoon once the cans cool and add it to the top of another new can, but I'd prefer not to have to do this. Don't forget to remove the paper label from the cans before placing in the fireplace. I'm not sure why the company makes much of the 'crackling' as it burns, as all that's necessary for that, is adding a little water to the gel when it is being mixed. It isn't special, and it's definitely not costly. I'm ambivalent about this brand. I will have to try some others, and see if the incomplete burn is typical for fuel gels, or if it is limited primarily to this brand.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Gel Fuel (24-Pack)
Dave

Average value

PostedFebruary 7, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This fuel pack worked fine in our gel set. The colors of the flames were nice and also made simulated wood popping noises which helped our gel set's realism. However none iof the cans lasted more than 2.5 hours instead of the 3 as advertised. Overall though, for the cost these worked well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Gel Fuel (24-Pack)
bunnie
from Philadelphia, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Monthly

This product is excellent

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a wood burning fire-place but hate the soot &ashes
This product is easy to use and provides real warmth. The clean up is just a matter of removing the empty containers and placing them in the recycle bin. The order was shipped
So quickly I hardly placed the order before it was here.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Gel Fuel (24-Pack)
lynda
from Mississippi, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Real Flame Gel Fuel

PostedDecember 26, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This did not work as well as the Fire Glow gel, it always leaves a lot in the bottom that won't burn.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.